DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to amendments filed October 8, 2025.
Election/Restriction
Applicant’s election of Species I (Fig. 1-15) in the reply filed on My 27, 2025 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)). Accordingly claims 3, 5, 13, 18-22 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Status of claims
Claims 1, 3-22 are pending. Examiner notes the cancellation of claim 2 in the reply filed October 8, 2025. Claims 3, 5, 13, 18-22 are withdrawn as being drawn to a nonelected species. See above.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 7, 10-12, 14-16 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 1 and 7 each have been amended to recite that the first fastening body is “movably provided [[in]]at the seat body”. Examiner suggests amending these limitations to recite that the first fastening body is --movably provided [[at]]in the seat body-- as the specification clearly states that the first fastening body is movably provided in the seat body and is a more clear statement with regards to the relationship between the first fastening body and the seat body.
Claims 1, 10, 15, 16 each have been amended to recite that the second fastening body is “movably provided [[in]]at the first fastening body”. Examiner suggests amending these limitations to recite that the second fastening body is --movably provided [[at]]in the first fastening body-- as the specification clearly states that the second fastening body is movably provided in the first body and is a more clear statement with regards to the relationship between the first and second fastening bodies.
The limitation in lines 6-7 of claim 11 should be corrected to read --wherein when the positioning part is combined in the second restriction part, the second fastening body is located in [[a]]the fastening position or the unfastening position-- as both the fastening and unfastening positions are already defined within line 5 of the claim.
Claims 12 and 14 each define of “a second fixing part” within the claims. However, being that claims 12 and 14 directly depend from claim 1, nowhere within the scope of either claim is there defined “a first fixing part”. Potential ambiguity arises within the claims as being that “a second fixing part” is being defined, such would normally imply that a first fixing part has already been defined, which is not the case. Examiner suggests amending the limitation “a second fixing part” to read --a
Claim 14 also defines the limitation “a second setting part” within the claim. However, being that claim 14 depends directly from claim 1, nowhere within the scope of the claim is there defined “a first setting part”. Potential ambiguity arises within the claims as being that “a second setting part” is being defined, such would normally imply that a first setting part has already been defined, which is not the case. Examiner suggests amending the limitation “a second setting part” to read --a
Claim 14 further defines the limitation “a second limiting flange” within the claim. However, being that claim 14 depends directly from claim 1, nowhere within the scope of the claim is there defined “a first limiting flange”. Potential ambiguity arises within the claims as being that “a second limiting flange” is being defined, such would normally imply that a first limiting flange has already been defined, which is not the case. Examiner suggests amending the limitation “a second limiting flange” to read --a
Claims 15 and 16 each define of “a second elastic element” within the claims. However, being that claims 15 and 16 directly depend from claim 1, nowhere within the scope of either claim is there defined “a first elastic element”. Potential ambiguity arises within the claims as being that “a second elastic element” is being defined, such would normally imply that a first elastic element has already been defined, which is not the case. Examiner suggests amending the limitation “a second elastic element” to read --an .
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 recites “wherein the seat body has a first setting part; and either the first fastening body has a first fixing part, so that the first fixing part cooperates with the first setting part for fastening and unfastening to couple with or separate from the second object; or the second object has a recess part, the recess part is fitted into a first limiting flange of the first fixing part”. Claim 8 is presented with an “either/or” situation within the claim. The “either” limitation first states that “either the first fastening body has a first fixing part”. However, the “or” limitation goes on to define “a first limiting flange of the first fixing part”. Being that the limitation “first fixing part” is present in both the either/or situations of the claim, it is therefore unclear what exactly is required between both either/or scenarios. Based upon Examiner’s understanding of Applicant’s disclosure, it would appear that the first fixing part is able to cooperate with a first setting part for fastening and unfastening to couple with or separate form the second object, and/or the first fixing part can have a first limiting flange to fit with a recess part of the second object, as stated in [0014]-[0015] and [0070] of Applicant’s specification. As such, for the purpose of this action, Examiner will interpret claim 8 as reading the following:
“The fastening device according to claim 1,
wherein the seat body has a first setting part, and
the first fastening body has a first fixing part, and
either
the second object has a recess part, the recess part is fitted into a first limiting flange of the first fixing part”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 6, 8, 10-12, 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shao (CN-111857258) in view of Wang et al. (TW-M542798; hereinafter Wang).
Regarding claim 1, Shao (Fig. 1-12) discloses of a fastening device, comprising:
a seat body (1, see Annotated Fig. 1 below), disposed on a first object (see Annotated Fig. 2 below, see Fig. 9-10);
a first fastening body (2, see Annotated Fig. 1) movably provided at the seat body (see moveability in Fig. 1-2 vs. Fig. 3-4) and configured to horizontally move to couple with or separate from a second object (see horizontal movement in Fig. 1-2 vs. Fig. 3-4, see first fastening body coupled with second object in Fig. 9-10); and
a second fastening body (comprising 2, 3, see Annotated Fig. 1), movably provided at the first fastening body (see moveability in Fig. 1-2 vs. Fig. 3-4), to couple with or separate from a third objection (see Annotated Fig. 2, see Fig. 9-10).
Annotated Figure 1 Annotated Figure 2
Shao does not explicitly disclose wherein the second fastening body is configured to horizontally rotate to couple with or separate from the third object.
Wang (Fig. 5 – Fig. 8-6) teaches of a similar fastening device comprising a first fastening body (6) and a second fastening body (8) that is movably provided in the first fastening body (see Fig. 5 – Fig. 8-6), the second fastening body to be coupled with or separated from an object (5a), wherein the second fastening body comprises a swing portion (81), through holes (831), a positioning part (84), a fixing part (87) at an end of the second fastening body (see Fig. 5 – Fig. 8-6), and a give-way part (82) another end of the second fastening body (see Fig. 5 – Fig. 8-6), the first fastening body comprising shaft parts (63), a first restriction part (61), a second restriction part (outer surface above 61), a setting part (7), and an elastic element (85), wherein the shaft parts of the first fastening body are received in the through holes of the second fastening body to combine the first and second fastening bodies (see Fig. 8-1 – Fig. 8-6, see [0094] of the translated description), wherein when coupling the second fastening body to the object, the second fastening body is rotated about a horizontal axis, such that ends of the second fastening body move in the horizontal direction (horizontal axis is aligned with shaft parts 63 and through holes 831, see horizontal movement of 811 in Fig. 8-2 – Fig. 8-3) and the object is retained within the fixing part (see Fig. 8-2 and 8-5), and wherein when the object separates from the second fastening body, the second fastening body is rotated by pressing downward on the swing portion to release the object (see Fig. 8-6, see [0097] of the translated description), thus allowing for a quick assembly, stable fastening and easy removal of the object to the fastening device (see [0097] of the translated description).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shao with the teachings of Wang, to have the second fastening body be movably provided in the first fastening body, wherein the second fastening body comprises a swing portion, through holes, a positioning part, a fixing part at an end of the second fastening body, and a give-way part at another end of the second fastening body, wherein the first fastening body comprises shaft parts, a first restriction part, a second restriction part, a setting part, and an elastic element, wherein the shaft parts of the first fastening body are received in the through holes of the second fastening body to combine the first and second fastening bodies, wherein when coupling the second fastening body to the third object, the second fastening body is rotated about a horizontal axis, such that ends of the second fastening body move in a horizontal direction and the third object is retained within the fixing part, and wherein when the third object separates from the second fastening body, the second fastening body is rotated by pressing downward on the swing portion to release the third object, thus allowing for a quick assembly, stable fastening and easy removal of the third object to the fastening device. In doing such, the second fastening body will thereby be configured to horizontally rotate to couple with or separate from the third object
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Shao and Wang further teach wherein the seat body (1 of Shao, see Annotated Fig. 1) has at least one assembling part (6 of Shao) or at least one elastic fastening part, wherein either the assembling part is provided for the seat body to be disposed on the first object (see Fig. 9-10 of Shao, see [0038] of the translated description of Shao) or the at least one elastic fastening part abuts against the first object.
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Shao and Wang further teach wherein the seat body (1 of Shao, see Annotated Fig. 1) has an accommodating area, the first fastening body (2 of Shao, see Annotated Fig. 1) is movably provided in the accommodating area (see accommodating area in Annotated Fig. 3 below, see movement of first fastening body in accommodated area in Fig. 1-2 of Shao vs. Fig. 3-4 of Shao).
Annotated Figure 3
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Shao and Wang further teach wherein the seat body (1 of Shao, see Annotated Fig. 1) has a first setting part (6 of Shao), and
the first fastening body (2 of Shao, see Annotated Fig. 1) has a first fixing part (in the form of a first limiting flange 8), and
either the first setting part corresponds to the first fixing part, so that the first fixing part cooperates with the first setting part for fastening and unfastening to couple with or separate from the second object; or
the second object (see Annotated Fig. 2) has a recess part (see Annotated Fig. 4 below), the recess part is fitted into a first limiting flange of the first fixing part (see Fig. 9-10 of Shao showing the first limiting flange 8 received within the recess of the second object, see [0039] of the translated description of Shao).
Annotated Figure 4
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Shao and Wang further teach wherein the second fastening body is movably provided at the first fastening body with a shaft part (as taught in claim 1), and the shaft part is pressured by external force to combine the first fastening body and the second fastening body by expanding connection (claim 1 teaches that the shaft parts of the first fastening body are received in the through holes of the second fastening body, thus an external clamping force is applied between the shaft parts and the through holes to retain the second fastening body in the first fastening body by expanding connection of the shaft parts within the through holes).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Shao and Wang further teach wherein the second fastening body has a positioning part, and the first fastening body has a first restriction part and a second restriction part (as taught in claim 1).
Wang further teaches wherein when their position part (84) is combined in the first restriction part (61, see Fig. 5, Fig. 8-5 and 8-6), the second fastening body is located in a fastening position (as the second fastening body fastens to object 5a), and wherein when the positioning part is combined in the second restriction part (see Fig. 8-3 and 8-6, showing the second body adjacent the outer surface about the first restriction part 61, which is the second restriction part of the first fastening body), the second fastening body is located in an unfastening position (as the second fastening body is unfastened with object 5a).
Being that the fastening device of Wang provides for a quick assembly, stable fastening and easy removal of the object to their fastening device, it would be further obvious to modify Shao with the teachings of Wang, such that wherein when the positioning part is combined in the first restriction part, the second fastening body is located in a fastening position, and wherein when the positioning part is combined in the second restriction part, the second fastening body is located in an unfastening position, thereby providing fastening and unfastening positions of the second fastening body relative to the third object.
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Shao and Wang further teach wherein one end of the second fastening body has a second fixing part, the other end of the second fastening body has a give-way part (as taught in claim 1 that the second fastening body has a fixing part and give-way parts at ends of the second fastening body).
Wang further teaches that when their object (5a) passes through the give-way part (82), the second fastening body is configured to rotate such that the object is coupled within the fixing part (fixing part 87; see Fig. 8-1 – Fig. 8-6 showing that after the object passes the give-way part, the second fastening body rotates to have the object coupled within the fixing part).
Being that the fastening device of Wang provides for a quick assembly, stable fastening and easy removal of the object to their fastening device, it would be further obvious to modify Shao with the teachings of Wang, such that when the third object passes through the give-way part, the second fastening body rotates such that the third object is coupled within the second fixing part, thus coupling the second fixing part to the third object, and thereby providing securement of the second fastening body to the third object.
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Shao and Wang further teach wherein one end of the second fastening body has a second fixing part, the other end of the second fastening body has a give-way part (as taught in claim 1 that the second fastening body has a fixing part and give-way parts at ends of the second fastening body), the first fastening body has a second setting part (as taught in claim 1 that the first fastening body is provided with a setting part).
Wang further teaches that their object (5a) is disposed on the setting part (7) of the first fastening body (6) after passing through the give-way part (82), and then the second fastening body is rotated to cause the fixing part (87) to couple with the object (see Fig. 8-1 – Fig. 8-6 showing that the object is disposed on the setting part after passing the give-way part and then the second fastening body is rotated to have the object coupled with the fixing part).
Being that the fastening device of Wang provides for a quick assembly, stable fastening and easy removal of the object to their fastening device, it would be further obvious to modify Shao with the teachings of Wang, such that when the third object is disposed on the second setting part of the first fastening body after passing through the give-way part of the second fastening body, the second fastening body is rotated to cause the third object to be coupled within the second fixing part, thus coupling the second fixing part to the third object, and thereby providing securement of the second fastening body to the third object.
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Shao and Wang further teach wherein the second fastening body is movably provided in the first fastening body, the first fastening body is provided with shaft parts, and the first fastening body is provided with a second elastic element (as taught in claim 1; see the elastic element taught in claim 1).
Wang further teaches wherein an end of their elastic element (85) abuts against the first fastening body (6, see Fig. 5-7, a bottom end of the elastic element is located within portion 61 of the first fastening body, i.e. it abuts against the first fastening body), the other end of the elastic element abuts against one end of the shaft part (63, see Fig. 5-7, ends of the elastic element are located between portions 83 of the second fastening body that have the through holes 831 which receive the shaft parts, i.e. ends of the elastic element abut against an end of the shaft parts), the elastic element causes the second fastening body to be normally located at a top of the first fastening body (see [0094] and [0096]-[0097] of the translated description discussing how the elastic element is positioned between the first and second fastening bodies and biases the second fastening body to an initial position atop the first fastening body, i.e. normally located at a top of the first fastening body).
Being that the fastening device of Wang provides for a quick assembly, stable fastening and easy removal of the object to their fastening device, it would be further obvious to modify Shao with the teachings of Wang, to have one end of the second elastic element abut against the first fastening body, to have another end of the second elastic element abut against one end of the shaft part, and to have the second elastic element cause the second fastening body to be normally located at a top of the first fastening body, thereby securing the second fastening body with the first fastening body such that it is able to properly secure with the third object.
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Shao and Wang further teach wherein the second fastening body is movably provided in the first fastening body, the first fastening body is provided with shaft parts, and the first fastening body is provided with a second elastic element (as taught in claim 1; see the elastic element taught in claim 1).
Wang further teaches wherein an end of their elastic element (85) abuts against the first fastening body (6, see Fig. 5-7, a bottom end of the elastic element is located within portion 61 of the first fastening body, i.e. it abuts against the first fastening body), the other end of the elastic element abuts against one end of the shaft part (63, see Fig. 5-7, ends of the elastic element are located between portions 83 of the second fastening body that have the through holes 831 which receive the shaft parts, i.e. ends of the elastic element abut against an end of the shaft parts), the elastic element enables the second fastening body to apply a coupling force of normal elastic downward pressure to press against the object (see [0096] of the translated description saying that the second fastening body presses against a top surface of the object 5a, i.e. the second fastening body applies a coupling force of normal elastic downward pressure to press against the object).
Being that the fastening device of Wang provides for a quick assembly, stable fastening and easy removal of the object to their fastening device, it would be further obvious to modify Shao with the teachings of Wang, to have one end of the second elastic element abut against the first fastening body, to have another end of the second elastic element abut against one end of the shaft part, and to have the second elastic element enable the second fastening body to apply a coupling force of normal elastic downward pressure to press against the third object, thereby securing the second fastening body with the first fastening body such that it is able to properly secure with the third object.
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Shao and Wang further teach wherein the second fastening body is configured to apply a coupling force of normal elastic downward pressure to press against the third object (being that the third object is retained within the fixing part of the second fastening body as taught in claim 1, a coupling force or normal elastic downward pressure will press against the third object).
Claims 7, 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shao in view of Wang as applied to claim 1 above and in further view of Wang et al. (TW-M545193; hereinafter Wang2).
Regarding claim 7, Shao nor Wang explicitly disclose wherein the first fastening body or the seat body is provided with a sliding part, the sliding part has a bolt part, so that the first fastening body is movably provided at the seat body.
Wang2 (Fig. 1-8) teaches of a similar fastening device comprising a seat body (1) and a first fastening body (2) that is movably provided in the seat body, wherein the seat body is disposed on a first object (4) and the first fastening body can move to couple with or separate from a second object (5, see movement of first fastening body in Fig. 4-6), wherein the first fastening body is provided with a sliding part comprising an elongated slot (23) and a bolt part (24), wherein the bolt part is received within the elongated slot of the first fastening body and a through hole (16) of the seat body (see Fig. 2-3), wherein the sliding part of the first fastening body, which comprises the elongated slot and bolt part, allows for the first fastening body to be movably provided in the seat body (see [0068] of the translated description), while also being able to limit the desired amount of lateral movement of the first fastening body relative to the seat body due to the length of the elongated slot.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shao with the teachings of Wang2, to have the first fastening body be provided with a sliding body, wherein the sliding part comprises an elongated slot and a bolt part, wherein the bolt part is received within the elongated slot of the first fastening body and a through hole of the seat body, thus allowing the first fastening body to be movably provided in the seat body, while also being able to limit the desired amount of lateral movement of the first fastening body relative to the seat body due to the length of the elongated slot.
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Shao and Wang further teach wherein the first fastening body (2 of Shao, see Annotated Fig. 1) and the seat body (1 of Shao, see Annotated Fig. 1) therebetween have a first elastic element (5 of Shao, see Fig. 3 of Shao), one end of the first elastic element abuts against the seat body (elastic element abuts against protrusion 9 of the seat body of Shao, see Fig. 3, 5 of Shao), and the first elastic element causes the first fastening body to be normally located in a locking position or normally located in an unlocking position (see [0010] of Shao stating the first elastic element is used to keep the first fastening body at a front position relative to the seat body, i.e. in the locking position seen in Fig. 9-10 of Shao).
Shao nor Wang explicitly disclose wherein the first fastening body has a blocking part and the other end of the first elastic element abuts against the blocking part.
Wang2 (Fig. 1-8) teaches of a similar fastening device comprising a seat body (1) and a first fastening body (2) that is movably provided in the seat body, wherein the seat body is disposed on a first object (4) and the first fastening body can move to couple with or separate from a second object (5, see movement of the first fastening body in Fig. 4-6), wherein an elastic element (3) is positioned therebetween the fastening body and the seat body (see Fig 3), wherein the fastening body has a blocking part (22), one end of the elastic element abutting against a protrusion (15) of the seat body (see Fig. 3, see [0069] of the translated description) and the other end of the elastic element abuts against the blocking part (see [0069] of the translated description), thereby allowing the fastening body to reset to a fastened position to secure it to the second object (see [0072] of the translated description).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shao with the teachings of Wang2, to have the first fastening body comprise a blocking part and wherein the other end of the first elastic element abuts against the blocking part, as such would allow the first fastening body to return to the fastened/locking position in order to secure it to the second object.
Response to Arguments
The amendments to the claims filed October 8, 2025 have been received. Accordingly, the prior objections to the claims and grounds of rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) have been overcome and withdrawn in response to the claim amendments. However, note the new objections of claims 1, 7, 10-12, 14-16 and rejection of claim 8 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) issued as a result of the amendments to the claims. See above.
As to the prior art rejections, Examiner agrees with Applicant that the amendments to claim 1 overcome the prior grounds of rejection of 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shao, as Shao does not explicitly disclose of the second fastening body being “configured to horizontally rotate to couple with or separate from the third object”. Applicant further argues that the prior art of Wang fails also fails to provide a teaching for “a second fastening body, movably provided at the first fastening body and configured to horizontally rotate to couple with or separate form a third object”, as required by claim 1. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
As to Shao, Examiner has identified that Shao discloses of a seat body (1, Annotated Fig. 1) that is disposed on a first object (see Annotated Fig. 2, see Fig. 9-10); a first fastening body (2, see Annotated Fig. 1) movably provided at the seat body (see Fig. 1-4) and configured to horizontally move to couple with or separate from a second object (see Fig. 1-4, see coupling with second object in Fig. 9-10). Shao also discloses of a second fastening body (comprising 2, 3, se Annotated Fig. 1), movably provided in the first fastening body (see moveability in Fig. 1-2 vs. Fig. 3-4), so that the second fastening body moves to couple with or separate form a third object (see Annotated Fig. 2, see Fig. 9-10). As stated above, Shao does not explicitly disclose of the second fastening body being configured to horizontally rotate to couple with or separate from the third object.
As to Wang, Examiner has identified that Wang (Fig. 5 – Fig. 8-6) teaches of a fastening device comprising a first fastening body (6) and a second fastening body (8) that is movably provided in the first fastening body (Fig. 5 – Fig. 8-6), wherein the second fastening body is to be coupled with or separated from an object (5a), and when coupling the second fastening body to the object, the second fastening body is rotated about a horizontal axis (see Annotated Fig. below), such that ends of the second fastening body move in the horizontal direction (see Annotated Fig. below), thus allowing for the object to be retained by portions (82, 87) of the second fastening body, and providing a fastening device that allows for a quick assembly, stable fastening and easy removal of the object (see [0097] of the translated description). As such, based upon Examiner’s understanding of the prior art, and when giving the claims their broadest reasonable interpretation, Wang does provide teaching for a second fastening body that is configured to horizontally rotate to couple with or separate from a third object, due to the second fastening body of Wang rotating about a horizontal axis and wherein ends of the fastening body move horizontally during rotation of the second fastening body.
As such, based upon Examiner’s interpretation of Wang, and the combined teaches of Shao in view of Wang, the combination of Shao and Wang together teach of a fastening device that comprises all of the limitations of claim 1, including wherein the second fastening body is “configured to horizontally rotate to couple with or separate form a third object”. Therefore, a new grounds of rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Shao in view of Wang has been issued with respect to claims 1, 4, 6, 8, 10-12, 14-17. Further, a new grounds of rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Shao in view of Wang and Wang2has been issued with respect to claims 7 and 9. See above.
Conclusion
10. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. See attached PTO-892.
11. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/K.J.B./Examiner, Art Unit 3678
/AMBER R ANDERSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3678