DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-10, drawn to a camera device heating module and a camera device, classified in H05B 3/84, in the reply filed on 10/23/25 is acknowledged.
Claims 11-14 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group II, claims 11-14, drawn to a camera device heating method, classified in H05B 11/00, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: “a second soft electric heater54” in para. 0039, “the second first soft electric heater” in para. 0084, 90, 93.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
The following claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph:
Claim 1 (and similarly, claim 7):
lines 1-4 recite: “A camera device heating module, comprising: a set of soft electric heater; and a control circuit block configured to… control the set of soft electric heater” is used by the claim to mean a module for heating a camera device, comprising controlling flexible resistive plate heaters
“camera device” is used by the claims to indicate a conventional digital camera having at least a lens, an image sensor, and an image signal processor (ISP) chip [para. 0003]
“heater” in “soft electric heater” for heating a camera device is being interpreted as a resistive heating element of the conventional flexible two-dimensional plate type [e.g., H05B3/34], and equivalents thereof [para. 0039].
lines 3-10 recite:
“unit/circuit” in “a control circuit block configured to… control the set of soft electric heater and comprising: a low-temperature heating switch unit comprising a low-temperature protecting circuit having a positive temperature coefficient and connected with the set of soft electric heater; an over-temperature turnoff switch unit comprising an over-temperature protecting circuit having a negative temperature coefficient and connected with the set of soft electric heater” is being interpreted as a conventional switch for controlling the flow of electricity, including a conventional semiconductor type of resistor unit [i.e., a thermistor, which may be categorized as a PTC (positive temperature coefficient) type or an NTC (negative temperature coefficient) type, and wherein PTC thermistors inherently have a Curie point temperature; para. 0087] and conventional semiconductor electronics [e.g., MOS switches; paras. 0047-48], and equivalents thereof [i.e., wherein a switch unit may comprise a PTC thermistor for low-temperature heating (para. 0047), and/or wherein a switch unit may comprise an NTC thermistor and a MOS switch for over-temperature turnoff (para. 0048)].
“low-temperature heating” is used by the claims to indicate a common practice in conventional temperature regulation [i.e., wherein a switch is operated according to a sensed, actual temperature, e.g., such that power is delivered to a heating element when the actual temperature is lower than a predetermined, target temperature; paras. 0011, 47]
“over-temperature turnoff” is used by the claims to indicate a common practice in conventional temperature regulation [i.e., wherein a switch is operated according to a sensed, actual temperature, e.g., such that delivery of power to the heating element is stopped when the actual temperature is greater than a predetermined, target temperature; paras. 0011, 48]
lines 11-12 recite:
“microcontroller unit” in “a microcontroller unit electrically connected with the low-temperature heating switch unit and the over-temperature turnoff switch unit” is used by the claims to mean a conventional microcontroller [i.e., an MCU configured to control the set of soft electric heater; para. 0045; para. 0094-95: “the microcontroller unit is programmed…”]
Claim 2 (and similarly, claim 8):
lines 3-5 recite:
“module/processor” in “an image processing module comprised in a camera device, wherein the image processing module comprises an image signal processor” is being interpreted as a conventional image signal processor (ISP) chip [paras. 0003-4], and equivalents thereof [i.e., a circuit board 142 comprising an image signal processor 144 thereon, the circuit board comprised in a camera device 100; figs. 1-2].
Claim 3 (and similarly claim 8):
lines 6-9 recite:
“configured between/so to configure” in “the first soft electric heater is configured between the control circuit block and the image processing module, so to configure at one side of the image processing module; and the first soft electric heater is attached to the surface” is used by the claim to mean that the first soft electric heater is disposed on/attached to a surface of the image processing module [para. 0044].
“attached” is used by the claim to mean the common practice of using bonding means to secure a heater to a surface [e.g., with adhesive; para. 0041]
Claim 4 (and similarly claim 9):
lines 2-13 recite:
“unit” in “the low-temperature heating switch unit is configured to switch to enter into a conductive status to permit an electric current flowing into the set of soft electric heater when a space temperature is lower than a heating temperature; the over-temperature turnoff switch unit is configured to switch to enter into a cutoff state to cease the electric current flowing into the set of soft electric heater when a space temperature is greater than an over-heat temperature; the low-temperature heating switch unit takes over a power of control for the set of soft electric heater prior to the microcontroller unit, when the space temperature is lower than the heating temperature; the over-temperature turnoff switch unit takes over the power of control for the set of soft electric heater prior to the microcontroller unit, when the space temperature is greater than the over-heat temperature” is used by the claim to mean the conventional practice of using a switch electrically connected to a heating element, arranged so as to take direct control of a power delivered to the heating element [i.e., the switch, in response to a signal to open/close, either allows or prohibits the flow of current to the heater]
“space temperature” is used by the claim to mean the actual temperature inside of the camera device [para. 0049]
“heating temperature” and “over-heat temperature” are used by the claim to indicate the common practice of establishing thresholds for controlling a heating response of a heater [i.e., so as to achieve and maintain a target temperature or target range of temperatures, e.g., to avoid extreme temperatures/maintain a desirable operational temperature (paras. 0004-5), or to maintain a specific relative temperature to reduce fog (para. 0006); para. 0046]
“takes over the power of control for” is used by the claim to indicate the relative control of the heater following the corresponding permission/ceasing of current flow of either the PTC or NTC thermistors, specifically wherein, in lines 14-17, the microcontroller controls (i.e., takes over a power of control for) the heater when the low-temperature heating switch unit and the over-temperature turnoff switch unit allow the electric current to flow, e.g., a “normal” operative state wherein the space temperature is within a safe working zone temperature range of the electronics in the digital camera, as opposed to a heating protection zone temperature range (i.e., a low-temperature extreme) and an over-heat protection zone temperature range (i.e., an over-temperature extreme) [para. 0046].
Claim 6 (and similarly, claim 10):
lines 10-12 recite:
“independent” in “wherein the low-temperature heating switch unit and the over-temperature turnoff switch unit have a circuit layout independent from that of the microcontroller unit” is used by the claim to indicate the common practice of having safety related components operate independently from a controller [i.e., through the automatic operation of switches to measured/detected temperatures, a heater may have current flow permitted therethrough, e.g., to avoid extreme cold or hot temperatures that may damage equipment or negatively affect the functionality of equipment; paras. 0002-6, 49]
lines 13-16 recite:
“Curie point temperature” is used by the claim to indicate a conventional and inherent feature of thermistors [i.e., the known and predictable response of a thermistor’s resistance relative to temperature, e.g., the conventional practice of using a thermistor as a self-regulating heating element, in circuit protection, to avoid thermal runaway/overheating, or as a temperature sensor]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 2-6 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 2,
the phrase “one of” in “wherein the set of soft electric heater further comprises one of: a first soft electric heater... and a second soft electric heater” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear if the claim requires both the first and second soft electric heaters, or at least one of either the first or second heater. In order to avoid any potential 112 issues with claim 3, Examiner will interpret claim 2 as requiring both a first and second heater.
the limitation “a camera device” in line 4 renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear if this is intended to be distinct from the camera device of claim 1. For the purposes of this office action, Examiner will interpret claim 2 as referring to the camera device of claim 1.
Regarding claim 3,
the limitation “the second first soft electric heater” in line 2 lacks sufficient antecedent basis, and will be interpreted as referring to the second soft electric heater of claim 2.
the term “flexible” in “the first soft electric heater and… are flexible element” is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “flexible” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Specifically, it is unclear what level of flexibility is required by the claim, thus, Examiner will interpret the claim as indicating that soft electric heaters generally have a level of flexibility that allows for conforming to an attaching surface [para. 0041].
the term “selectively” in “the first soft electric heater directly contacts a surface comprising the image signal processor selectively” is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. For the purposes of this office action, Examiner will interpret the claim as indicating that “the first soft electric heater directly contacts a surface comprising the image signal processor ”.
Regarding claim 4,
the limitation “a space temperature” in line 7 renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear if this is intended to be distinct from the space temperature of line 4. For the purposes of this office action, Examiner will interpret line 7 as reciting “[[a]]the space temperature”.
Regarding claim 5,
the limitation “the over-temperature” in lines 2-3 lacks sufficient antecedent basis, and will be interpreted as referring to the over-heat temperature of claim 4.
Regarding claim 6,
the phrase “one of” in “wherein the control circuit block further comprises one of…” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear if the claim requires all the listed elements or only one of the listed elements. For the purposes of this office action, Examiner will interpret claim 6 as requiring all the listed elements.
the limitation “the over-temperature” in line 16 lacks sufficient antecedent basis, and will be interpreted as referring to the over-heat temperature of claim 4.
Regarding claim 8,
the phrase “one of” in “further comprising one of…” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear if the claim requires all the listed elements or only one of the listed elements. For the purposes of this office action, Examiner will interpret claim 8 as requiring all the listed elements.
Regarding claim 9,
the limitation “a space temperature” in line 7 renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear if this is intended to be distinct from the space temperature of line 4. For the purposes of this office action, Examiner will interpret line 7 as reciting “[[a]]the space temperature”.
the limitation “the second first soft electric heater” in line lacks sufficient antecedent basis, and will be interpreted as referring to the second soft electric heater of claim 8.
the term “flexible” in “the first soft electric heater and… are flexible element” is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “flexible” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Specifically, it is unclear what level of flexibility is required by the claim, thus, Examiner will interpret the claim as indicating that soft electric heaters generally have a level of flexibility that allows for conforming to an attaching surface [para. 0041].
Regarding claim 10,
the phrase “one of” in “wherein the control circuit block further comprises one of…” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear if the claim requires all the listed elements or only one of the listed elements. For the purposes of this office action, Examiner will interpret claim 10 as requiring all the listed elements.
the limitation “the heating temperature” in line 14 lacks sufficient antecedent basis, and will be interpreted as referring to the heating temperature of claim 9.
the limitation “the over-temperature” in line 16 lacks sufficient antecedent basis, and will be interpreted as referring to the over-heat temperature of claim 9.
Claims 3, 5-6, and 9-10 are also rejected due to dependence on a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leblond (US 20090288424 A1) in view of Nakagawa (US 20230178976 A1).
Regarding claim 1,
Leblond discloses:
A camera device heating module [a controller configured to activate one or more heating elements (para. 0017) to heat a digital camera in an enclosure (paras. 0013-14)], comprising:
a set of soft electric heater [a number of heating elements are selected and arranged according to the requirements of a given application, e.g. with regards to the object to be warmed; para. 0184-185: “The control system may also include or be connected to a heating element 1016 in one or more embodiments which generates heat to warm a chamber, component, or part therein. For example, a heating element 1016 may be used to warm a support or component chamber or their respective parts/components… Placement of a heating element 1016 may be determined on environmental conditions and operating conditions of the components or parts. In one or more embodiments, a heating element 1016 will be placed next to or in contact with the component or part to be warmed. The heating element 1016 may be any device, now known or later developed, configured to generate heat as described herein. Typically, the heating element 1016 will be an electrical heating element.”]; and
a control circuit block configured to electrically connected with and control the set of soft electric heater [a control system; para. 0174: “It is contemplated that the environmental control features of the support chamber 836 may be controlled by a control system in one or more embodiments.”] and comprising:
a low-temperature heating switch unit comprising a low-temperature protecting circuit [the control system includes at least a temperature sensor for measuring the temperature of a chamber of the enclosure (para. 0188), such that one or more heating elements are activated if the temperature is below a cold threshold; paras. 0021];
an over-temperature turnoff switch unit comprising an over-temperature protecting circuit [the control system includes at least a temperature sensor for measuring the temperature of a chamber of the enclosure (para. 0188), such that power to heat generating components (e.g., heating elements, camera) is disabled if the temperature is above a heat threshold; paras. 0021]; and
a microcontroller unit electrically connected with the low-temperature heating switch unit and the over-temperature turnoff switch unit [a controller in the control system may be a conventional microprocessor, wherein a microprocessor is typically and conventionally configured with (i.e., electrically connected to) conventional semiconductor switches (e.g., MOSFETs, IGBTs, etc.) for controlling external components [e.g., the heating elements, a fan assembly 924, or motors to move the camera (para. 0073)] on an isolated circuit, such that different voltages/currents can be used, e.g., heating element currents/voltages relative to low current/voltage required for microcontrollers; para. 0152; para. 0176-0177: “… In some embodiments, the controller may directly receive external power and not be dependent upon the support's chamber power system to operate.”;].
However, although Leblond’s control system performs the functions of the claimed switch units and that the sensors used therein may be various devices capable of detecting environmental or other conditions inside or outside the enclosure [para. 0175], Leblond does not explicitly disclose:
the low-temperature protecting circuit having a positive temperature coefficient;
the over-temperature protecting circuit having a negative temperature coefficient;
Nakagawa, in the similar field of endeavor of controlling an electrical motor [i.e., detecting failure of semiconductor switches in the power delivery current path; para. 0005], teaches the use of conventional PTC and NTC thermistors as known and predictable sensors in a temperature sensing process [para. 0026: “The temperature sensors 11-1 to 11-m serve as elements having their resistance values between terminals that change in response to a change in temperature. Examples of the temperature sensors 11-1 to 11-m may include PTC thermistors that increase in resistance value with rising temperature, and NTC thermistors that decrease in resistance value with rising temperature.”].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the heating module of Leblond by substituting a PTC and NTC thermistor as temperature sensors, such that the low-temperature protecting circuit has a positive temperature coefficient and the over-temperature protecting circuit has a negative temperature coefficient, since Nakagawa teaches thermistors as equivalent elements to temperature sensors, and since it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to select a negative or positive temperature coefficient for a component in a switching circuit based on the requirements of the given application, e.g., according to the desired cold and heat threshold temperatures.
Regarding claim 2, Leblond in view of Nakagawa discloses the camera device heating module as claimed in claim 1.
Leblond further discloses:
wherein the set of soft electric heater further comprises one of:
a first soft electric heater configured at one side of an image processing module comprised in a camera device, wherein the image processing module comprises an image signal processor [i.e., a heating element in contact with a conventional component of the camera (e.g., an ISP chip); para. 0184-185: “The heating element 1016 is beneficial especially in cold environments to ensure that components or parts of a node are not damaged or destroyed by cold. In one or more embodiments, the heating element 1016 may be used to warm up components or parts of a node prior to turning them on. This prevents damage to the components or parts caused by starting them in a cold or very cold temperature. Once the components or parts are on, they may generate their own heat and the heating element 1016 may be shut off.”]; and
a second soft electric heater [i.e., additional heating elements to heat, e.g., a chamber of the camera as well as the ISP chip component; para. 0184] configured at an unviewable area out of a field of view of a lens comprised in the camera device.
In this case, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to select a position of any additional elements [para. 0185: “Placement of a heating element 1016 may be determined on environmental conditions and operating conditions of the components or parts. In one or more embodiments, a heating element 1016 will be placed next to or in contact with the component or part to be warmed”] according to the requirements of a given application, e.g., to maintain a desired humidity level within the enclosure suited for the camera [paras. 0128, 0135]
Regarding claim 3, Leblond in view of Nakagawa discloses the camera device heating module as claimed in claim 2.
Leblond further discloses:
wherein:
the first soft electric heater and the second first soft electric heater are flexible element [i.e., the heating element is selected such that it conforms to the surface of the component; para. 0185];
the first soft electric heater directly contacts a surface comprising the image signal processor selectively [i.e., a surface of the conventional ISP chip of the camera];
the first soft electric heater is configured between the control circuit block and the image processing module, so to configure at one side of the image processing module [i.e., the selection of a position of any heating element being an obvious design choice]; and
the first soft electric heater is attached to the surface [i.e., the conventional practice of using attaching means to secure components to the enclosure or other structures in the enclosure; para. 0066: “A component may be supported by the enclosure through one or more other structures. For example, a component held within or attached to its own case or support is considered supported by the enclosure as long as its case or support is attached to the enclosure.”].
Regarding claim 4, Leblond in view of Nakagawa discloses the camera device heating module as claimed in claim 1.
Leblond further discloses:
wherein:
the low-temperature heating switch unit is configured to switch to enter into a conductive status to permit an electric current flowing into the set of soft electric heater when a space temperature is lower than a heating temperature [i.e., the heating elements are activated when a temperature is below a cold threshold of a component, e.g., to heat a component up to a safe operating temperature wherein it can then self-generate enough heat to not necessitate further external heating; paras. 0021, 184];
the over-temperature turnoff switch unit is configured to switch to enter into a cutoff state to cease the electric current flowing into the set of soft electric heater when a space temperature is greater than an over-heat temperature [i.e., electrical power is disabled if a temperature is greater than a heat threshold of a component, e.g., the conventional practice of preventing damage to components from extreme heat; paras. 0021; 0181];
the low-temperature heating switch unit takes over a power of control for the set of soft electric heater prior to the microcontroller unit, when the space temperature is lower than the heating temperature [i.e., the control system controls the heater if a temperature is below the cold threshold];
the over-temperature turnoff switch unit takes over the power of control for the set of soft electric heater prior to the microcontroller unit, when the space temperature is greater than the over-heat temperature [i.e., the control system controls the heater if a temperature is above the heat threshold]; and
the microcontroller unit takes over the power of control for the set of soft electric heater prior to the low-temperature heating switch unit and the over-temperature turnoff switch unit, when the space temperature is in a range between the heating temperature and the over-heat temperature [when the temperature is between the thresholds, the temperature/humidity is maintained to desirable levels for the camera and conventional components thereof, i.e., a normal working/operating environment; para. 0135].
Regarding claim 5, Leblond in view of Nakagawa discloses the camera device heating module as claimed in claim 4.
Leblond further discloses:
wherein the heating temperature is selected from one of 0°C, 10°C, 20°C and 30°C and the over-temperature is selected from one of 50°C, 60°C, 70°C and 80°C.
In this case, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to select the heating temperature such that it is 0°C, 10°C, 20°C or 30°C, and select the over-temperature such that it is 50°C, 60°C, 70°C and 80°C, since Leblond discloses components and parts may have different cold and heat thresholds (i.e., design considerations according to the operating conditions of components or parts; para. 0185), and a given application might require a component with a cold threshold of 0°C, 10°C, 20°C or 30°C and a high threshold of 50°C, 60°C, 70°C or 80°C, e.g., a conventional semiconductor chip with a typical operating temperature corresponding to being in a room temperature environment.
Regarding claim 6, Leblond in view of Nakagawa discloses the camera device heating module as claimed in claim 4.
Leblond as modified by Nakagawa discloses:
wherein the control circuit block further comprises one of:
the low-temperature heating switch unit connected with the set of soft electric heater and comprising a positive temperature thermistor having the positive temperature coefficient to form the low-temperature protecting circuit; and
the over-temperature turnoff switch unit connected with the set of soft electric heater and comprising a negative temperature thermistor having the negative temperature coefficient to form the over-temperature protecting circuit,
wherein the low-temperature heating switch unit and the over-temperature turnoff switch unit have a circuit layout independent from that of the microcontroller unit,
wherein the positive temperature thermistor is configured to have a Curie point temperature the same with that of the heating temperature,
wherein the negative temperature thermistor is configured to have a Curie point temperature the same with that of the over-temperature.
In this case, since Nakagawa teaches the conventional practice of using thermistors, inherently having Curie points and a corresponding resistance that predictably responds to a temperature [para. 0039], wherein it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to arrange the current path of the heaters to be separate from a current path of a microcontroller (e.g., the heaters require a different current and voltage from the microcontroller, or to electrically isolate the microcontroller), it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to select a Curie point of a thermistor to correspond to the cold and heat thresholds of any components in the enclosure.
Regarding claim 7,
Leblond discloses:
A camera device, comprising: a lens [a digital camera in an enclosure; paras. 0013-14]; and a camera device heating module [a controller configured to activate one or more heating elements to heat the camera; para. 0017], comprising:
a set of soft electric heater [a number of heating elements are selected and arranged according to the requirements of a given application, e.g. with regards to the object to be warmed; para. 0184-185: “The control system may also include or be connected to a heating element 1016 in one or more embodiments which generates heat to warm a chamber, component, or part therein. For example, a heating element 1016 may be used to warm a support or component chamber or their respective parts/components… Placement of a heating element 1016 may be determined on environmental conditions and operating conditions of the components or parts. In one or more embodiments, a heating element 1016 will be placed next to or in contact with the component or part to be warmed. The heating element 1016 may be any device, now known or later developed, configured to generate heat as described herein. Typically, the heating element 1016 will be an electrical heating element.”]; and
a control circuit block electrically connected with, configured to control the set of soft electric heater [a control system; para. 0174: “It is contemplated that the environmental control features of the support chamber 836 may be controlled by a control system in one or more embodiments.”] and comprising:
a low-temperature heating switch unit comprising a low-temperature protecting circuit [the control system includes at least a temperature sensor for measuring the temperature of a chamber of the enclosure (para. 0188), such that one or more heating elements are activated if the temperature is below a cold threshold; paras. 0021];
an over-temperature turnoff switch unit comprising an over-temperature protecting circuit having [the control system includes at least a temperature sensor for measuring the temperature of a chamber of the enclosure (para. 0188), such that power to heat generating components (e.g., heating elements, camera) is disabled if the temperature is above a heat threshold; paras. 0021]; and
a microcontroller unit electrically connected with the low-temperature heating switch unit and the over-temperature turnoff switch unit [a controller in the control system may be a conventional microprocessor, wherein a microprocessor is typically and conventionally configured with (i.e., electrically connected to) conventional semiconductor switches (e.g., MOSFETs, IGBTs, etc.) for controlling external components [e.g., the heating elements, a fan assembly 924, or motors to move the camera (para. 0073)] on an isolated circuit, such that different voltages/currents can be used, e.g., heating element currents/voltages relative to low current/voltage required for microcontrollers; para. 0152; para. 0176-0177: “… In some embodiments, the controller may directly receive external power and not be dependent upon the support's chamber power system to operate.”;].
However, although Leblond’s control system performs the functions of the claimed switch units and that the sensors used therein may be various devices capable of detecting environmental or other conditions inside or outside the enclosure [para. 0175], Leblond does not explicitly disclose:
the low-temperature protecting circuit having a positive temperature coefficient;
the over-temperature protecting circuit having a negative temperature coefficient;
Nakagawa, in the similar field of endeavor of controlling an electrical motor [i.e., detecting failure of semiconductor switches in the power delivery current path; para. 0005], teaches the use of conventional PTC and NTC thermistors as known and predictable sensors in a temperature sensing process [para. 0026: “The temperature sensors 11-1 to 11-m serve as elements having their resistance values between terminals that change in response to a change in temperature. Examples of the temperature sensors 11-1 to 11-m may include PTC thermistors that increase in resistance value with rising temperature, and NTC thermistors that decrease in resistance value with rising temperature.”].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the heating module of Leblond by substituting a PTC and NTC thermistor as temperature sensors, such that the low-temperature protecting circuit has a positive temperature coefficient and the over-temperature protecting circuit has a negative temperature coefficient, since Nakagawa teaches thermistors as equivalent elements to temperature sensors, and since it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to select a negative or positive temperature coefficient for a component in a switching circuit based on the requirements of the given application, e.g., according to the desired cold and heat threshold temperatures.
Regarding claim 8, Leblond in view of Nakagawa discloses the camera device as claimed in claim 7.
Leblond further discloses:
further comprising one of:
the lens having a viewable area with a field of view and an unviewable area without the field of view [In view of the camera directed at a surveillance process, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to establish viewable areas and unviewable areas relative to the lens of a conventional camera, according to the requirements of a given application, e.g., in order to provide desired surveillance at appropriate locations];
an image processing module comprising an image signal processor [i.e., a conventional component of the camera (e.g., an ISP chip); para. 0184-185: “The heating element 1016 is beneficial especially in cold environments to ensure that components or parts of a node are not damaged or destroyed by cold. In one or more embodiments, the heating element 1016 may be used to warm up components or parts of a node prior to turning them on. This prevents damage to the components or parts caused by starting them in a cold or very cold temperature. Once the components or parts are on, they may generate their own heat and the heating element 1016 may be shut off.”]; and
the set of soft electric heater further comprising:
a first soft electric heater configured at one side of the image processing module [i.e., a heating element in contact with the ISP chip];
a second soft electric heater [i.e., additional heating elements to heat, e.g., a chamber of the camera as well as the ISP chip component; para. 0184] configured at the unviewable area ; and
In this case, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to select a position of any additional elements [para. 0185: “Placement of a heating element 1016 may be determined on environmental conditions and operating conditions of the components or parts. In one or more embodiments, a heating element 1016 will be placed next to or in contact with the component or part to be warmed”] according to the requirements of a given application, e.g., to maintain a desired humidity level within the enclosure suited for the camera [paras. 0128, 0135].
a light-transmittable protecting cover comprising a first surface, wherein the second soft electric heater is configured within the unviewable area by attaching to the first surface [i.e., a surface of the chamber of the camera and the conventional practice of using attaching means to secure components to the enclosure or other structures in the enclosure; para. 0066: “A component may be supported by the enclosure through one or more other structures. For example, a component held within or attached to its own case or support is considered supported by the enclosure as long as its case or support is attached to the enclosure.”].
Regarding claim 9, Leblond in view of Nakagawa discloses the camera device as claimed in claim 8.
Leblond further discloses:
wherein:
the low-temperature heating switch unit is configured to switch to enter into a conductive status to permit an electric current flowing into the set of soft electric heater when a space temperature is lower than a heating temperature [i.e., the heating elements are activated when a temperature is below a cold threshold of a component, e.g., to heat a component up to a safe operating temperature wherein it can then self-generate enough heat to not necessitate further external heating; paras. 0021, 184];
the over-temperature turnoff switch unit is configured to switch to enter into a cutoff state to cease the electric current flowing into the set of soft electric heater when a space temperature is greater than an over-heat temperature [i.e., electrical power is disabled if a temperature is greater than a heat threshold of a component, e.g., the conventional practice of preventing damage to components from extreme heat; paras. 0021; 0181];
the low-temperature heating switch unit takes over a power of control for the set of soft electric heater prior to the microcontroller unit, when the space temperature is lower than the heating temperature [i.e., the control system controls the heater if a temperature is below the cold threshold];
the over-temperature turnoff switch unit takes over the power of control for the set of soft electric heater prior to the microcontroller unit, when the space temperature is greater than the over-heat temperature [i.e., the control system controls the heater if a temperature is above the heat threshold];
the microcontroller unit takes over the power of control for the set of soft electric heater prior to the low-temperature heating switch unit and the over-temperature turnoff switch unit, when the space temperature is in a range between the heating temperature and the over-heat temperature [when the temperature is between the thresholds, the temperature/humidity is maintained to desirable levels for the camera and conventional components thereof, i.e., a normal working/operating environment; para. 0135];
the first soft electric heater and the second first soft electric heater are flexible element [i.e., the heating element is selected such that it conforms to the surface of the component; para. 0185];
the first soft electric heater directly contacts a surface comprising the image signal processor selectively [i.e., a surface of the conventional ISP chip of the camera];
the first soft electric heater is configured between the control circuit block and the image processing module, so to configure at one side of the image processing module [i.e., the selection of a position of any heating element being an obvious design choice]; and
the first soft electric heater is attached to the surface [i.e., the conventional practice of using attaching means to secure components to the enclosure or other structures in the enclosure; para. 0066: “A component may be supported by the enclosure through one or more other structures. For example, a component held within or attached to its own case or support is considered supported by the enclosure as long as its case or support is attached to the enclosure.”].
Regarding claim 10, Leblond in view of Nakagawa discloses the camera device as claimed in claim 8.
Leblond as modified by Nakagawa discloses:
wherein the control circuit block further comprises one of:
the low-temperature heating switch unit connected with the set of soft electric heater and comprising a positive temperature thermistor having the positive temperature coefficient to form the low-temperature protecting circuit; and
the over-temperature turnoff switch unit connected with the set of soft electric heater and comprising a negative temperature thermistor having the negative temperature coefficient to form the over-temperature protecting circuit,
wherein the low-temperature heating switch unit and the over-temperature turnoff switch unit have a circuit layout independent from that of the microcontroller unit,
wherein the positive temperature thermistor is configured to have a Curie point temperature the same with that of the heating temperature,
wherein the negative temperature thermistor is configured to have a Curie point temperature the same with that of the over-temperature.
In this case, since Nakagawa teaches the conventional practice of using thermistors, inherently having Curie points and a corresponding resistance that predictably responds to a temperature [para. 0039], wherein it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to arrange the current path of the heaters to be separate from a current path of a microcontroller (e.g., the heaters require a different current and voltage from the microcontroller, or to electrically isolate the microcontroller), it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to select a Curie point of a thermistor to correspond to the cold and heat thresholds of any components in the enclosure.
Conclusion
/THEODORE J EVANGELISTA/ Examiner, Art Unit 3761 /EDWARD F LANDRUM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761