DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the application filed on 12/27/2022. Claims 1-25 are pending.
Drawing
The drawing submitted on 12/27/2022 is acknowledged and accepted by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 11-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or (a)(2) as being anticipated by Tang et al. (US Patent or PG Pub. No. 20090224731, hereinafter ‘731).
Claim 1, ‘731 teaches an apparatus (e.g., see Fig. 1-15) comprising:
a voltage regulator circuit (e.g., the first phase of the multiphase power regulator) to generate a regulated voltage output at a voltage output node (e.g., the voltage regulator output voltage, see [0060], Fig. 1, 7, 12, 13), the regulated voltage output associated with a regulated current level (e.g., see Fig. 12-13); and a supplemental current source circuit (e.g., the remaining phases of the multiphase power regulator) to generate a supplemental current (e.g., the corresponding added phase current) at the voltage output node when the regulated current level has exceeded a current level threshold (e.g., the respective threshold, see Fig. 2-5, , Fig. 8, 14A, 14B, 15).
Claim 2, ‘731 teaches the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. It further teaches that the supplemental current source circuit including: a variable current source (e.g., the remaining phases of the multiphase power regulator) coupled to the voltage output node; and a current control circuit to: receive the regulated current level (e.g., 705, see [0059], Fig. 7); determine the regulated current level has exceeded the current level threshold (e.g., see Fig. 7, 14A, 14B, 15); and cause the variable current source to generate the supplemental current at the voltage output node (e.g., see Fig. 7, 14A, 14B, 15).
Claim 3, ‘731 teaches the limitations of claim 2 as discussed above. It further teaches that wherein the supplemental current source circuit includes a parallel current source circuit (e.g., the remaining phases of the multiphase power regulator), the parallel current source circuit including an alternate current path to apply the supplemental current to the voltage output node (e.g., the corresponding output of the remaining phases of the multiphase power regulator, see Fig. 1-15).
Claim 4, ‘731 teaches the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. It further teaches that the voltage regulator circuit further to reduce the regulated current level in response to the supplemental current at the voltage output node (e.g., the phase drop, see [0053][0071][0072], Fig. 14-15).
Claim 5, ‘731 teaches the limitations of claim 4 as discussed above. It further teaches that the voltage regulator circuit further to reduce the regulated current level to be substantially equal to a voltage regulator maximum efficiency current level (e.g., see Abstract, [0052][0053], Fig. 2-3).
Claim 6, ‘731 teaches the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. It further teaches that wherein the current control circuit includes a digital control circuit (e.g., 10), the digital control circuit to cause the variable current source to increase the supplemental current at the voltage output node such that a supplemental current increase is substantially equal to a regulated current decrease (e.g., see Fig. 1).
Claim 7, ‘731 teaches the limitations of claim 6 as discussed above. It further teaches that the digital control circuit further to: receive the regulated current level from a current sensing circuit (e.g., the output of 11 and/or 704, see Fig. 1, 7); and identify a regulated current reduction in the regulated current level (e.g., when I_ave<I_dropN, see Fig. 4-6); wherein the supplemental current at the voltage output node is increased based on the regulated current reduction (e.g., when [0052], see Fig. 2-3 4-6).
Claim 11, ‘731 teaches the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. It further teaches that the voltage regulator circuit including a control loop (e.g., the voltage control loop, see Fig. 1, 7) coupled to the voltage output node, a phase controller (e.g., 10, see Fig. 1, 7) coupled to the control loop, an inverter circuit (e.g., the corresponding buck circuit of the respective phase) coupled to the phase controller, and an inductor (e.g., the corresponding output inductor of the respective phase) coupled between the inverter circuit and the voltage output node (e.g., see Fig. 1).
For method claims 12-17, note that under MPEP 2112.02, the principles of inherency, if a prior art device, in its normal and usual operation, would necessarily perform the method claimed, then the method claimed will be considered to be anticipated by the prior art device. When the prior art device is the same as a device described in the specification for carrying out the claimed method, it can be assumed the device will inherently perform the claimed process. In re King, 801 F.2d 1324, 231 USPQ 136 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Therefore the previous rejections based on the apparatus will not be repeated.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Tang et al. (US Patent or PG Pub. No. 20090224731, hereinafter ‘731), in view of Tang (US Patent or PG Pub. No. 20180316255, hereinafter ‘255).
Claim 8, ‘731 teaches a voltage regulator circuit comprising the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. ‘731 does not explicitly disclose that determining the current level threshold based on at least one of a maximum voltage regulator reliability current, a voltage regulator inductor saturation level, and a voltage regulator circuit temperature.
‘255 discloses a Multiphase Regulator With Thermal Adaptive Phase Add/Drop Control (e.g., see Fig. 1), and further teaches that determining the current level threshold based on at least the voltage regulator circuit temperature (e.g., see Abstract, Fig. 2-5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify ‘731 by including the Thermal Adaptive Phase Add/Drop Control as taught by ‘255 in order of being able to maximize the peak and average power demand, while also providing efficient light load operation, robust operation under peak load condition, and minimizing system cost (e.g., see [0007][0019]).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Tang et al. (US Patent or PG Pub. No. 20090224731, hereinafter ‘731), in view of Chen et al. (US Patent or PG Pub. No. 20220166314, hereinafter ‘314).
Claim 10, ‘731 teaches a voltage regulator circuit comprising the limitations of claim 6 as discussed above. ‘731 does not explicitly disclose that wherein the voltage regulator circuit includes a switched capacitor voltage regulator.
‘314 discloses a multiphase converter further including switched-capacitor based multiphase converter (e.g., see Fig. 20b, 20c, 20d).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify ‘731 by including the switched-capacitor based multiphase converter as taught by ‘314 in order of being able to leverage the state-of-the-art control techniques that have been developed for standard voltage regulation modules (VRMs). (e.g., see [0085]).
Claims 18-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Tang et al. (US Patent or PG Pub. No. 20090224731, hereinafter ‘731), in view of Luo et al. (US Patent or PG Pub. No. 20230402931, hereinafter ‘931).
Claim 18, ‘731 teaches a voltage regulator circuit comprising the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. ‘731 does not explicitly disclose a system comprising: a memory unit; and a processing unit, the processing unit including: the voltage regulator circuit.
‘931 discloses an Information handling system (e.g., 400, see Fig. 4) comprising a memory unit (e.g., 420, 425); and a processing unit, the processing unit including voltage regulator circuit to power the processing unit (e.g., the processing unit of 400 comprising 402, 402, 495, see Fig. 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify ‘731 by including the system as taught by ‘931 in order of being able to process the information the system received (e.g., see [0002][0021]-[0028], Fig. 4).
Claim 19, the combination of ‘731 and ‘931 teaches the limitations of claim 18 as discussed above. ‘731 further teaches that wherein the supplemental current source circuit includes a parallel current source circuit (e.g., the remaining phases of the multiphase power regulator), the parallel current source circuit including an alternate current path to apply the supplemental current to the voltage output node (e.g., the corresponding output of the remaining phases of the multiphase power regulator, see Fig. 1-15).
Claim 20, the combination of ‘731 and ‘931 teaches the limitations of claim 18 as discussed above. ‘731 further teaches that the voltage regulator circuit further to reduce the regulated current level in response to the supplemental current at the voltage output node (e.g., the phase drop, see [0053][0071][0072], Fig. 14-15).
Claim 21, the combination of ‘731 and ‘931 teaches the limitations of claim 20 as discussed above. ‘731 further teaches that the voltage regulator circuit further to reduce the regulated current level to be substantially equal to a voltage regulator maximum efficiency current level (e.g., see Abstract, [0052][0053], Fig. 2-3).
Claim 22, the combination of ‘731 and ‘931 teaches the limitations of claim 18 as discussed above. ‘731 further teaches that wherein the current control circuit includes a digital control circuit (e.g., 10), the digital control circuit to cause the variable current source to increase the supplemental current at the voltage output node such that a supplemental current increase is substantially equal to a regulated current decrease (e.g., see Fig. 1).
Claim 23, the combination of ‘731 and ‘931 teaches the limitations of claim 22 as discussed above. ‘731 further teaches that the digital control circuit further to: receive the regulated current level from a current sensing circuit (e.g., the output of 11 and/or 704, see Fig. 1, 7); and identify a regulated current reduction in the regulated current level (e.g., when I_ave<I_dropN, see Fig. 4-6); wherein the supplemental current at the voltage output node is increased based on the regulated current reduction (e.g., when [0052], see Fig. 2-3 4-6).
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Tang et al. (US Patent or PG Pub. No. 20090224731, hereinafter ‘731), in view of Luo et al. (US Patent or PG Pub. No. 20230402931, hereinafter ‘931), and further in view of Tang (US Patent or PG Pub. No. 20180316255, hereinafter ‘255).
Claim 24, the combination of ‘731 and ‘931 teaches a voltage regulator circuit comprising the limitations of claim 23 as discussed above. None of ‘731 nor ‘931 explicitly disclose that determining the current level threshold based on at least one of a maximum voltage regulator reliability current, a voltage regulator inductor saturation level, and a voltage regulator circuit temperature.
‘255 discloses a Multiphase Regulator With Thermal Adaptive Phase Add/Drop Control (e.g., see Fig. 1), and further teaches that determining the current level threshold based on at least the voltage regulator circuit temperature (e.g., see Abstract, Fig. 2-5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify ‘731 and ‘931 by including the Thermal Adaptive Phase Add/Drop Control as taught by ‘255 in order of being able to maximize the peak and average power demand, while also providing efficient light load operation, robust operation under peak load condition, and minimizing system cost (e.g., see [0007][0019]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9, 25 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matters:
For claim 9, the prior art does not disclose or suggest, in combination with the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, primarily, … the digital control circuit further to: receive the regulated voltage output and an input voltage level; … determine the current level threshold based on …, the input voltage level, and voltage regulator resistance.
For claim 25, the prior art does not disclose or suggest, in combination with the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, primarily, … the digital control circuit further to: receive the regulated voltage output and an input voltage level; … determine the current level threshold based on …, the input voltage level, and voltage regulator resistance.
Examiner's Note:
Examiner has cited particular columns and line numbers in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
In the case of amending the claimed invention, Applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
Conclusion
/JUE ZHANG/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838