DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to the application filed on 12/27/2022. Claims 1-16 are presently pending and are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/27/2022 and 8/6/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Kobayashi (US 20210313815).
As to claim 1, Kobayashi discloses a device for managing a battery (Fig. 2 and 6), the device comprising:
a battery cell input terminal (Fig. 6 above) configured to be connected to the battery and supplied with electric power (Fig. 6 above);
a communication signal input terminal through which a communication signal is input from the outside of the device (Fig. 6 S1,S2);
a regulator unit (Fig. 6 power source circuit 11) configured to convert the electric power input from the battery into electric power that is used inside the device for managing the battery, and to provide a resulting electric power (Fig. 6 power source circuit 11, [0030] The power source voltage of the battery cell B1 is inputted to the power source circuit 11 via the start-up switch 15, and the power source circuit 11 converts the input power source voltage into a predetermined operating voltage and supplies the operating voltage to the second control circuit 10. [0042] In this case, the battery monitoring control circuit further includes the start-up circuit 30 that starts the second control circuit 10, which is, for example, a cell management unit (CMU), from the sleep state, which is the standby state, and the power converter 20 that starts and controls the start-up circuit 30 by the start-up signals S1 and S2);
an electric power line comprising at least one switch (Q1) that is turned off in a sleep mode for the device for managing the battery and connecting between the battery cell input terminal and the regulator unit ([0036] [0038] The start-up circuit 30 (includes Q1) turn on at the time of starting, generates the start-up control signal Sc of a predetermined L-level, and outputs the start-up control signal Sc to the start-up switch 15. The start-up switch 15 includes, for example, a P-channel MOS transistor Q2 of a switching element, and a resistor R2 connected between a gate and a source of the P-channel MOS transistor Q2. The start-up switch 15 turns on in response to the start-up control signal Sc of the L-level, and supplies the power source voltage of the battery cell B1 to the power source circuit 11. …. As a result, the battery management IC BM1, which is the battery monitoring control circuit, is activated from the sleep mode, which is the standby state (the sleep state before starting the battery monitoring control circuit); and
a charge pump (power converter 20) configured to output a voltage for turning on the at least one switch using a signal that is input through the communication signal input terminal ([0039] FIGS. 6 and 7, the differential signal is used as the start-up signals S1 and S2 due to the following reason. [0042].. power converter 20 that starts and controls the start-up circuit 30 by the start-up signals S1 and S2).
As to claim 8, Kobayashi discloses the device of claim 1, wherein the charge pump is configured to output a voltage that is amplified using the signal that is input through the communication signal input terminal ([0036] The DC-DC converter 23 sequentially steps up the input DC voltage signal S3).
As to claim 9, Kobayashi discloses the device of claim 8, wherein the signal that is input through the communication signal input terminal is a differential signal ([0039] FIGS. 6 and 7, the differential signal is used as the start-up signals S1 and S2 due to the following reason).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2-7 and 10-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobayashi (US 20210313815) in view of Mok (US 20130093242).
As to claim 2, Kobayashi discloses the device of claim 1, wherein the electric power line comprises: a line for electric power to be pre-supplied (Fig. 6, Power to power source circuit 11), the line comprising the at least one switch (Q1) that is turned on by the charge pump ([0042].. the battery monitoring control circuit further includes the start-up circuit 30 that starts the second control circuit 10, which is, for example, a cell management unit (CMU), from the sleep state, which is the standby state, and the power converter 20 that starts and controls the start-up circuit 30 by the start-up signals S1 and S2.)
Kobayashi does not disclose/teach a main electric power line comprising a switch that is turned on according to operation of the regulator unit due to the pre-supplied electric power.
Mok teaches a main electric power line comprising a switch (Fig. 6 element 330) that is turned on according to operation of the regulator unit due to the pre-supplied electric power ([0044] switch 310 is manually pushed to complete an electrical circuit connecting mains power to the AC/DC power converter 320. The power switch circuit 340 can receive power from either the power converter 320… As soon as relay 330 is activated, a new, parallel electrical circuit is created to connect mains power to the power converter 320).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the device of Kobayashi to include a main electric power line comprising a switch that is turned on according to operation of the regulator unit due to the pre-supplied electric power in order to minimize mains power consumption ([0009] and Abstract of Mok).
As to claim 3, Kobayashi in view of Mok teaches the device of claim 2, wherein the at least one switch of the line for electric power to be pre-supplied comprises: a first switch (Q1) connected to the charge pump and turned on by the charge pump ([0036] FIGS. 6 and 7, … the DC-DC converter 23 … ..outputs the converted DC voltage to the start-up circuit 30. The start-up circuit 30 includes, for example, an N-channel MOS transistor Q1 of a switching element, …. The start-up circuit 30 turn on at the time of starting, generates the start-up control signal Sc. [0042].. power converter 20 that starts and controls the start-up circuit 30 by the start-up signals S1 and S2)); and a second switch arranged between the battery cell input terminal and the regulator unit (Q2) and turned on when the first switch is turned on ([0036]-[0038] The start-up circuit 30 … generates the start-up control signal Sc of a predetermined L-level, and outputs the start-up control signal Sc to the start-up switch 15. ... The start-up switch 15 turns on in response to the start-up control signal Sc of the L-level, and supplies the power source voltage of the battery cell B1 to the power source circuit 11.…).
As to claim 4, Kobayashi in view of Mok teaches the device of claim 2, wherein, when the electric power to be pre-supplied is input through the line for electric power to be pre-supplied ([0036]-[0038] Fig. 6) and when a frequency of a signal that is input through the communication signal input terminal corresponds to a preset frequency (signals S1,S2. 0042].. power converter 20 that starts and controls the start-up circuit 30 by the start-up signals S1 and S2), the regulator unit is configured to convert the electric power to be pre-supplied into electric power that is used inside the device for managing the battery, and to output the resulting electric power ([0036]-[0038] The start-up circuit 30 … generates the start-up control signal Sc of a predetermined L-level, and outputs the start-up control signal Sc to the start-up switch 15. ... The start-up switch 15 turns on in response to the start-up control signal Sc of the L-level, and supplies the power source voltage of the battery cell B1 to the power source circuit 11.… [0048] the electric power is supplied from the power source circuit 11 of the battery monitoring control circuit similar to that of FIG. 1 to the second control circuit 10).
As to claim 5, Kobayashi in view of Mok teaches the device of claim 4, wherein, when the electric power that is used inside the device for managing the battery is supplied by the regulator unit (([0036]-[0038] The start-up switch 15 turns on in response to the start-up control signal Sc of the L-level, and supplies the power source voltage of the battery cell B1 to the power source circuit 11).
Kobayashi does not disclose/teach the device for managing the battery turns on the switch of the main electric power line and thus supplies electric power to the regulator unit through the main electric power line.
Mok teaches the device for managing the battery turns on the switch of the main electric power line and thus supplies electric power to the regulator unit through the main electric power line ([0044] switch 310 is manually pushed to complete an electrical circuit connecting mains power to the AC/DC power converter 320. The power switch circuit 340 can receive power from either the power converter 320… As soon as relay 330 is activated, a new, parallel electrical circuit is created to connect mains power to the power converter 320).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the device of Kobayashi to turn on the switch of the main electric power line and thus supplies electric power to the regulator unit through the main electric power line in order to minimize mains power consumption ([0009] and Abstract).
As to claim 6, Kobayashi in view of Mok teaches the device of claim 5, wherein, when main electric power is input through the main electric power line, the regulator unit is configured to convert the main electric power into the electric power that is used inside the device for managing the battery, and to output the resulting electric power ([0044] of Mok as soon as relay 330 is activated, a new, parallel electrical circuit is created to connect mains power to the power converter 320).
As to claim 7, Kobayashi in view of Mok teaches the device of claim 5, wherein the device for managing the battery determines whether a signal that is input through the communication signal input terminal is a wakeup signal (signals S1,S2. [0038] The comparator 22 generates the clock signal S4 with a predetermined cycle from the input differential start-up signals S1 and S2, and then, … The start-up circuit 30 turns on at the time of starting with a predetermined threshold voltage or above, generates the start-up control signal Sc of the predetermined L-level, and outputs the start-up control signal Sc to the start-up switch 15. The start-up switch 15 turns on in response to the start-up control signal Sc of the L-level, and supplies the power source voltage of the battery cell B1 to the power source circuit 11. As a result, the battery management IC BM1, which is the battery monitoring control circuit, is activated from the sleep mode), and turns on the switch of the main electric power line ([0044] of Mok) when the input signal is the wakeup signal ([0044] of Mok switch 310 is manually activated).
As to claim 10, Kobayashi discloses a method of operating a device for managing a battery, the method comprising: checking a frequency of a signal that is input into a communication signal input terminal of the device for managing the battery ([0041] and [0083] A repetitive signal of a predetermined cycle having at least a changing amplitude can be used, and the repetitive signal may be, for example, an AC signal such as a sine wave signal or a rectangular wave signal. full-wave rectification of input differential start-up signals S1 and S2 which are, for example, differential pulse signals, and then smooths to convert these signals into a predetermined DC voltage signal S3.), when electric power to be pre-supplied is input through a line for electric power to be pre-supplied between the battery (B1) and a regulator (Power source 11) of the device for managing the battery (unit ([0036] [0038] The start-up circuit 30 (includes Q1) turn on at the time of starting, generates the start-up control signal Sc of a predetermined L-level, and outputs the start-up control signal Sc to the start-up switch 15. The start-up switch 15 includes, for example, a P-channel MOS transistor Q2 of a switching element, and a resistor R2 connected between a gate and a source of the P-channel MOS transistor Q2. The start-up switch 15 turns on in response to the start-up control signal Sc of the L-level, and supplies the power source voltage of the battery cell B1 to the power source circuit 11) converting the electric power to be pre-supplied into electric power that is used inside the device for managing the battery[0030] The power source voltage of the battery cell B1 is inputted to the power source circuit 11 via the start-up switch 15, and the power source circuit 11 converts the input power source voltage into a predetermined operating voltage and supplies the operating voltage to the second control circuit 10. [0042] In this case, the battery monitoring control circuit further includes the start-up circuit 30 that starts the second control circuit 10, which is, for example, a cell management unit (CMU), from the sleep state, which is the standby state, and the power converter 20 that starts and controls the start-up circuit 30 by the start-up signals S1 and S2), when the signal that is input into the communication signal input terminal corresponds to a preset frequency (S1 and S2 are a preset frequency).
Kobayashi does not disclose/teach converting main electric power into the electric power that is used inside the device for managing the battery, when the main electric power is input through a main electric power line between the battery and the regulator after a preset standby time elapses.
Mok teaches converting main electric power into the electric power that is used inside the device for managing the battery, when the main electric power is input through a main electric power line between a main power source and the regulator after a preset standby time elapses ([0044] switch 310 is manually pushed to complete an electrical circuit connecting mains power to the AC/DC power converter 320. The power switch circuit 340 can receive power from either the power converter 320… As soon as relay 330 is activated, a new, parallel electrical circuit is created to connect mains power to the power converter 320).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the method of Kobayashi to include converting main electric power into the electric power that is used inside the device for managing the battery, when the main electric power is input through a main electric power line between the battery and the regulator after a preset standby time elapses ([0009] and Abstract of Mok).
As to claim 11, Kobayashi in view of Mok teaches the method of claim 10, wherein the line for electric power to be pre-supplied comprises at least one switch (Q1) that is turned off in a sleep mode for the device for managing the battery and is turned on according to the signal that is input into the communication signal input terminal ([0036] [0038] of Kobayashi. The start-up circuit 30 (includes Q1) turn on at the time of starting, generates the start-up control signal Sc of a predetermined L-level, and outputs the start-up control signal Sc to the start-up switch 15. The start-up switch 15 includes, for example, a P-channel MOS transistor Q2 of a switching element, and a resistor R2 connected between a gate and a source of the P-channel MOS transistor Q2. The start-up switch 15 turns on in response to the start-up control signal Sc of the L-level, and supplies the power source voltage of the battery cell B1 to the power source circuit 11. …. As a result, the battery management IC BM1, which is the battery monitoring control circuit, is activated from the sleep mode, which is the standby state (the sleep state before starting the battery monitoring control circuit).
As to claim 12, Kobayashi in view of Mok teaches the method of claim 11, wherein the at least one switch of the line for electric power to be pre-supplied comprises: a first switch (Q1) connected to a charge pump of the device for managing the battery (power converter 20) and turned on by the charge pump; and a second switch arranged between a battery cell input terminal of the device for managing the battery configured to be connected to the battery and the regulator unit and turned on when the first switch is turned on ([0039] FIGS. 6 and 7, the differential signal is used as the start-up signals S1 and S2 due to the following reason. [0042].. power converter 20 that starts and controls the start-up circuit 30 by the start-up signals S1 and S2).
As to claim 13, Kobayashi in view of Mok teaches the method of claim 10, wherein the main electric power line comprises at least one switch (Fig. 6 element 330 of Mok) that is turned off in a sleep mode for the device for managing the battery and is turned on according to operation of the device for managing the battery due to the electric power to be pre-supplied ([0044] of Mok switch 310 is manually pushed to complete an electrical circuit connecting mains power to the AC/DC power converter 320. The power switch circuit 340 can receive power from either the power converter 320… As soon as relay 330 is activated, a new, parallel electrical circuit is created to connect mains power to the power converter 320)..
As to claim 14, Kobayashi in view of Mok teaches the method of claim 13, further comprising: determining whether the signal that is input through the communication signal input terminal is a wakeup signal (signals S1,S2. [0038] The comparator 22 generates the clock signal S4 with a predetermined cycle from the input differential start-up signals S1 and S2, and then, … The start-up circuit 30 turns on at the time of starting with a predetermined threshold voltage or above, generates the start-up control signal Sc of the predetermined L-level, and outputs the start-up control signal Sc to the start-up switch 15. The start-up switch 15 turns on in response to the start-up control signal Sc of the L-level, and supplies the power source voltage of the battery cell B1 to the power source circuit 11. As a result, the battery management IC BM1, which is the battery monitoring control circuit, is activated from the sleep mode),, and turning on the at least one switch of the main electric power line ([0044] of Mok) when the input signal is the wakeup signal ([0044] of Mok switch 310 is manually activated).
As to claim 15, Kobayashi in view of Mok teaches the method of claim 10, wherein a charge pump of the device for managing the battery is configured to output a voltage that is amplified using the signal that is input through the communication signal input terminal ([0036] of Kobayashi The DC-DC converter 23 sequentially steps up the input DC voltage signal S3).
As to claim 16, Kobayashi in view of Mok teaches the method of claim 10, wherein the signal that is input through the communication signal input terminal is a differential signal ([0039] of Kobayashi FIGS. 6 and 7, the differential signal is used as the start-up signals S1 and S2 due to the following reason).
Conclusion
/TYNESE V MCDANIEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859