Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Claims 1, 3-10 have been amended.
Claims 11-12 have been canceled.
Claims 1-10 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to amendments to claims 1 and 3-10 are moot based on the new grounds of rejection as necessitated by amendment.
Upon further consideration, the arguments filed 06/20/2025 on page 4 for 35 U.S.C. 112(f), are not found to be persuasive. The Specification, paragraph [0039] states: “The BLE communication unit 20 may be implemented by using a Bluetooth module capable of performing Bluetooth communication, including a transceiver”; and paragraph [0042] states: “The UWB communication unit 30 may be implemented by using a UWB module capable of performing UWB communication, including a transceiver.” These paragraphs indicate that the ‘unit’ may include the module which includes the receiver but it is not required. These are not special definitions and the verbiage “may be” means the units can include the modules, but is not required. The term “unit” is a nonce term and can be implemented with or without hardware and can encompass software. Further, Fig. 1 does not depict the incorporation of any structure.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: "a Bluetooth low energy (BLE) communication unit configured to transmit and receive…" and "…a UWB communication unit configured to provide information…" in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qiao (US 2022/0242369 A1) in view of Barton et al. (US 2022/0070613 A1) and further in view of Ledvina et al. (US 2019/0135229 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Qiao (‘369) in view of Barton et al. (‘613) and Ledvina et al. (‘229) teaches:
Qiao (‘369) teaches: An apparatus for setting an ultra-wide band (UWB) ranging period, the apparatus comprising: ([0023]: “when the distance between the mobile phone and the vehicle reaches or falls within a bluetooth low energy (BLE) communication distance, a secure channel between the mobile phone and the vehicle is established… and a UWB ranging key is generated. It is determined whether the user is close enough to the vehicle based on the UWB ranging result.”; [0005]: “in response to determining that a distance between a vehicle and a terminal is within a bluetooth low energy (BLE) communication distance and the terminal has a digital vehicle key of the vehicle, establishing a BLE connection between the vehicle and the terminal and performing a BLE ranging”). Qiao teaches a vehicle system that performs both BLE and UWB ranging with digital vehicle keys (terminals), which constitutes an apparatus for setting a UWB ranging period.
Qiao (‘369) teaches: a Bluetooth low energy (BLE) communication unit configured to transmit and receive data to and from multiple digital keys ([0026]: “in response to determining that a distance between a vehicle and a terminal is within a BLE communication distance, and the terminal has a digital vehicle key of the vehicle, a BLE connection between the vehicle and the terminal is established and a BLE ranging is performed”; [0055]: “a terminal may share the created and activated digital vehicle key of the vehicle to other terminals”). Qiao teaches BLE communication with terminals having digital vehicle keys, and sharing of keys to multiple terminals, which collectively constitutes multiple digital keys communicating via BLE.
Qiao (‘369) teaches: a UWB communication unit configured to provide information on separation distances between the multiple digital keys and a vehicle ([0023]: “The distance between the mobile phone and the vehicle is then measured with the UWB ranging function of the vehicle”; [0038]: “a ranging is performed between the terminal (in which the digital vehicle key has been created and activated) and the vehicle based on the BLE technology… so as to determine a distance between the terminal and the vehicle”). Qiao teaches UWB-based distance measurement between the vehicle and terminals carrying digital vehicle keys.
Qiao (‘369) teaches: a memory configured to store one or more instructions ([0085]-[0086], Claim 11: “a memory configured to store instructions executable by the processor”).
Qiao (‘369) teaches: one or more processors configured to execute the one or more instructions to: ([0069],[0085]-[0086], Claim 11: “a processor… wherein, the processor is configured to… establish a BLE connection between the vehicle and the terminal and perform a BLE ranging; and when a BLE ranging result meets a preset condition, control the vehicle to unlock a door lock”).
Qiao (‘369) teaches: receive, for each digital key, a received intensity of a BLE signal of that key from the BLE communication unit ([0038]: “the RSSI of the terminal received by the vehicle is detected through the BLE, and the distance between the terminal and the vehicle may be judged based on the RSSI”; [0039]: “when the BLE ranging is performed based on the RSSI, the preset condition may be set to the RSSI being greater than or equal to a preset RSSI threshold”; Claim 5: “the BLE ranging is performed based on at least one of a received signal strength indication (RSSI)”). Qiao explicitly teaches the vehicle receiving and using BLE RSSI (received signal strength indication) from each terminal with a digital vehicle key.
Qiao (‘369) does not explicitly teach, but Barton et al. (‘613) teaches: set, for each digital key, a ranging period for each digital key as an integer multiple of a common UWB block period used for all of the digital keys ([0091]-[0092]: “a BLE broadcast interval 705, i.e., a time between two BLE UUID broadcasts (710, 715), is divided into a plurality of time slots 720 of a super-frame 725… A control device… is configured to coordinate UWB ranging functions, which may include scheduling for both the UWB anchors and the mobile devices that are performing UWB ranging functions, using the time slots 720”; [0095]-[0096]: “a signal may include a series of pulses that are repeated over Nf frames, with one pulse p(t) per frame. Each frame includes Nc chips, each of a chip duration Tc… mobile devices that have high UWB ranging priority may each be assigned exclusively to different slots in the super-frame, while mobile devices having lesser UWB ranging priority may be assigned non-exclusively to shared slots”; [0104]: “the control device can consider slowing a refresh rate for one or more lower priority devices to provide additional ranging opportunities for other mobile devices”). Barton teaches a TDMA super-frame structure where each frame period is Tf = Nc * Tc, and the super-frame sequence period is Ts = Nf * Tf. Each mobile device’s ranging period is allocated as one or more slots within the super-frame, where the slots are integer multiples of the base chip duration Tc. The super-frame constitutes a common UWB block period used for all devices, and the number of slots allocated to each device is an integer multiple of this common period. Furthermore, Barton teaches varying the refresh rate (ranging period) per device based on priority, where lower priority devices have longer (slower) ranging periods, i.e., larger integer multiples of the common super-frame block.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the BLE/UWB digital key vehicle system of Qiao (‘369) with the prioritized UWB ranging scheduling of Barton et al. (‘613). One would have been motivated to do so because Qiao teaches that multiple terminals with digital vehicle keys may communicate with a vehicle ([0055]), and Barton teaches that when multiple mobile devices require UWB ranging, a scheduling system using a common time frame structure with different ranging periods per device prevents signal collisions and enables efficient use of limited UWB resources ([0004]: “UWB ranging procedures generally require all UWB anchors and clients to be on the same channel, which can cause channel saturation and/or signal collisions”; [0029]: “the ranging schedule can enable ranging priority to be provided to higher priority devices in high-density or other environments”). Applying the scheduled TDMA-based ranging of Barton to Qiao’s multi-key vehicle system would predictably result in organized, collision-free UWB ranging for multiple digital keys, since both references are in the same field of UWB ranging with multiple mobile devices. One of ordinary skill would have had a reasonable expectation of success because the TDMA scheduling framework of Barton is a well-known approach that is directly applicable to any system requiring coordination of multiple UWB ranging sessions.
Qiao (‘369) does not explicitly teach, but Barton et al. (‘613) teaches: perform, concurrent multi-ranging in a time grid aligned to the common UWB block period, assigning for each digital key a phase offset such that ranging hops of different digital keys do not overlap ([0091]-[0092]: “a BLE broadcast interval 705… is divided into a plurality of time slots 720 of a super-frame 725… A control device… is configured to coordinate UWB ranging functions”; [0094]: “if a particular mobile device receives through a Wi-Fi (or other) transmission an indication that it is index number 5, then each time it hears a BLE beacon, it will wait 5 cycles (e.g., 5 times 128 μs) and then send a transmission”; [0095]-[0096]: “In order to avoid collisions between neighboring systems, UWB ranging may utilize a hopping sequence, which means that, within each frame, the UWB system picks a chip index during which the signal will be sent. By changing the Tc index used to transmit from one frame to the next, a UWB transmitter minimizes the risk of collision between competing transmitters… mobile devices that have high UWB ranging priority may each be assigned exclusively to different slots in the super-frame”; [0112]: “the control device 580 can instruct primary anchor 565 to begin transmission at t=x and primary anchor 510 to begin transmission at t=x+1. Thus, super-frame transmission may be staggered so that UWB pulses do not interfere with each other”; [0119]-[0120]: “the control device assigns a first mobile device having a first priority exclusively to a first slot of the one or more slots… the control device assigns at least a second mobile device having a second priority and a third mobile device having a third priority non-exclusively to a shared slot”). Barton teaches concurrent multi-ranging within a TDMA time grid (the super-frame), where each mobile device is assigned a specific index/slot position (a phase offset) so that their UWB transmissions do not collide. The staggering of transmission times (t=x, t=x+1) and the assignment of each device to a different slot position within the common super-frame structure constitutes assigning phase offsets so that ranging hops of different devices do not overlap.
The motivation to combine is the same as stated above for the previous element. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that Barton’s slot-based scheduling with staggered transmission offsets directly addresses the need to coordinate concurrent ranging of multiple devices without collision, and would have applied it to Qiao’s multi-key vehicle context with a reasonable expectation of success.
Qiao (‘369) in view of Barton et al. (‘613) does not explicitly teach, but Ledvina et al. (‘229) teaches: wherein a greater BLE signal intensity for a digital key results in selection of a smaller integer multiple for that digital key ([0031]: “the vehicle can determine that the mobile device is within a first threshold such that a first operation is performed, e.g., lights of the vehicle are to be turned on. Further ranging can be performed to determine distances over time. When the mobile device is within a closer threshold, a second operation can be performed, e.g., a door can be unlocked”; [0063]: “A coarse ranging may occur at first, with finer ranging using more UWB receivers occurring after the mobile device is closer. For instance, more receivers can be turned on when the mobile device is estimated to be within the vehicle, so that high accuracy is obtained before the user is allowed to start the engine of the vehicle”; [0074]: “different operations can be performed at different distance thresholds, e.g. turning on lights at one distance threshold, unlocking the vehicle at a closer distance threshold, and enabling the engine to turn on… at an even closer distance threshold”; [0065]: “the ranging setup handshake can include a negotiation about how to carry out the ranging, such as how often to range or how to schedule the ranging (e.g., when there are multiple vehicles or multiple mobile devices — round robin, one at a time, or other options)”; [0114]: “a minimum ranging interval (e.g., 30 ms), a maximum ranging interval (e.g., 2,550 ms)”). Ledvina teaches that as a mobile device gets closer to a vehicle (which corresponds to greater BLE signal intensity, since RSSI increases with proximity), the system transitions to finer, more frequent ranging. A closer device triggers more intensive (more frequent) UWB ranging like in a shorter ranging period. Furthermore, Ledvina teaches negotiating ranging intervals with configurable minimum and maximum values. The combination of Qiao’s BLE RSSI-based distance determination with Ledvina’s principle that closer devices (higher RSSI) get more frequent ranging (shorter periods) teaches that a greater BLE signal intensity would result in a shorter ranging period (smaller integer multiple of the common block period).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the BLE/UWB vehicle system of Qiao (‘369) and the TDMA scheduling of Barton et al. (‘613) with the proximity-adaptive ranging frequency of Ledvina et al. (‘229). One would have been motivated to do so because Ledvina teaches that closer devices (which inherently have stronger BLE signals) need more frequent and finer ranging for accurate access control decisions ([0063]: “A coarse ranging may occur at first, with finer ranging using more UWB receivers occurring after the mobile device is closer”), while more distant devices can be ranged less frequently to conserve resources. Since Qiao already teaches using BLE RSSI to estimate proximity ([0038]-[0039]), and Barton teaches varying ranging periods/refresh rates for different devices based on priority ([0104]), it would be a straightforward design choice to use BLE signal intensity as the basis for selecting the ranging period for each key — assigning a shorter ranging period (smaller integer multiple of the common block) to closer keys with stronger BLE signals. One of ordinary skill would have had a reasonable expectation of success because all three references operate in the same field of BLE/UWB vehicle ranging, and using signal strength as a proxy for distance to adjust ranging frequency is a well-understood principle in wireless communication.
Regarding Claim 2, Qiao (‘369) in view of Barton et al. (‘613) and Ledvina et al. (‘229) teaches the apparatus of claim 1.
Qiao (‘369) teaches: wherein the signal intensities of the received data comprise one or more received intensities of one or more BLE signals ([0038]: “the RSSI of the terminal received by the vehicle is detected through the BLE, and the distance between the terminal and the vehicle may be judged based on the RSSI”; [0073], Claim 5: “the BLE ranging is performed based on at least one of a received signal strength indication (RSSI), an angle-of-arrival (AoA) and an angle-of-departure (AoD)”). Qiao teaches that the received data includes BLE RSSI values, which are received intensities of BLE signals.
Regarding Claim 3, Qiao (‘369) in view of Barton et al. (‘613) and Ledvina et al. (‘229) teaches the apparatus of claim 1.
Qiao (‘369) does not explicitly teach, but Barton et al. (‘613) teaches: wherein the one or more processors are further configured to set the ranging grade for each digital key from the BLE signal intensity ([0020]: “a control device can be configured to determine a respective ultra-wide band (UWB) ranging priority for each of a plurality of mobile devices”; [0113]-[0114], Claims 8-9: “determining the respective UWB ranging priority comprises obtaining at least one authentication service attribute associated with each particular one of the plurality of mobile devices… obtaining in the at least one authentication service attribute at least one of a field indicating a relative priority or a required ranging interval”). Barton teaches that the control device determines a ranging priority (grade) for each mobile device. In combination with Qiao’s teaching of using BLE RSSI to assess each terminal’s proximity ([0038]-[0039]), and Ledvina’s teaching that closer devices need more frequent ranging ([0063]), it would have been obvious to use the BLE signal intensity to set a ranging grade for each digital key, where a higher RSSI (closer proximity) results in a higher priority grade.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine these teachings for the same reasons stated in the rejection of claim 1. Specifically, using BLE signal intensity as an input to determine a per-device ranging priority/grade is a natural combination of Qiao’s BLE RSSI measurement with Barton’s per-device priority determination, motivated by the need to allocate more frequent ranging to closer (higher RSSI) devices for improved access control accuracy.
Regarding Claim 4, Qiao (‘369) in view of Barton et al. (‘613) and Ledvina et al. (‘229) teaches the apparatus of claim 3.
Qiao (‘369) does not explicitly teach, but Barton et al. (‘613) teaches: wherein the ranging period is set as the integer multiple of the common UWB blocked period based on the ranging grade ([0096]: “mobile devices that have high UWB ranging priority may each be assigned exclusively to different slots in the super-frame, while mobile devices having lesser UWB ranging priority may be assigned non-exclusively to shared slots”; [0104]: “the control device can consider slowing a refresh rate for one or more lower priority devices to provide additional ranging opportunities for other mobile devices”). Barton teaches that the ranging schedule (period) is determined based on the device’s priority (grade). Higher priority devices receive more frequent ranging slots (shorter periods), while lower priority devices have slower refresh rates (longer periods). Since the super-frame provides the common block period, the number of slots allocated to each device is based on its ranging grade, which determines the integer multiple of the common block period.
The motivation to combine is the same as stated in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding Claim 5, Qiao (‘369) in view of Barton et al. (‘613) and Ledvina et al. (‘229) teaches the apparatus of claim 1.
Qiao (‘369) in view of Ledvina et al. (‘229) teaches: wherein a greater received intensity of a BLE signal results in a shorter ranging period for the corresponding digital key. As discussed in the rejection of claim 1 with respect to the last element, Qiao teaches using BLE RSSI to assess proximity ([0038]-[0039]), and Ledvina teaches that closer devices (which inherently have greater BLE signal intensity) receive finer, more frequent ranging ([0063]: “A coarse ranging may occur at first, with finer ranging using more UWB receivers occurring after the mobile device is closer”; [0074]: “different operations can be performed at different distance thresholds”). The combination of these teachings makes it obvious that a greater received BLE signal intensity (indicating closer proximity) results in a shorter ranging period for the corresponding digital key.
The motivation to combine is the same as stated in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding Claim 6, Qiao (‘369) in view of Barton et al. (‘613) and Ledvina et al. (‘229) teaches:
Claim 6 is an independent method claim that recites similar features to apparatus claim 1.
Qiao (‘369) teaches: A method of setting an ultra-wide band (UWB) ranging period, the method comprising: (see analysis of claim 1 preamble; Qiao teaches the method of vehicle function control involving BLE and UWB ranging with digital vehicle keys throughout [0023]-[0028]).
Qiao (‘369) teaches: receiving, by a processor, for each of multiple digital keys, received intensities of Bluetooth low energy (BLE) signals from a BLE communication unit (see analysis of the corresponding element in claim 1; [0038]: “the RSSI of the terminal received by the vehicle is detected through the BLE, and the distance between the terminal and the vehicle may be judged based on the RSSI”; Claim 5: “the BLE ranging is performed based on at least one of a received signal strength indication (RSSI)”).
Qiao (‘369) does not explicitly teach, but Barton et al. (‘613) teaches: setting, by the processor and for each digital key, a ranging grade from the received data signal intensity (see analysis of the corresponding element in claim 3; Barton [0020]: “a control device can be configured to determine a respective ultra-wide band (UWB) ranging priority for each of a plurality of mobile devices”). In combination with Qiao’s BLE RSSI measurements, it would have been obvious to set a ranging grade from the BLE signal intensity for the same reasons stated in the rejection of claim 1.
Qiao (‘369) does not explicitly teach, but Barton et al. (‘613) teaches: setting, by the processor, a ranging period for each digital key as an integer multiple of a common UWB block period used for all of the digital keys (see analysis of the corresponding element in claim 1; Barton [0091]-[0096], [0104]). The motivation to combine is the same as stated in the rejection of claim 1.
Qiao (‘369) does not explicitly teach, but Barton et al. (‘613) teaches: performing, by the processor, concurrent multi-ranging in a time grid aligned to the common UWB block period, assigning for each digital key a phase offset such that ranging hops of different digital keys do not overlap (see analysis of the corresponding element in claim 1; Barton [0091]-[0096], [0112], [0119]-[0120]). The motivation to combine is the same as stated in the rejection of claim 1.
Qiao (‘369) in view of Barton et al. (‘613) does not explicitly teach, but Ledvina et al. (‘229) teaches: wherein a greater BLE signal intensity for a given digital key results in selection of a smaller integer multiple for that digital key (see analysis of the corresponding element in claim 1; Ledvina [0031], [0063], [0074], [0114]). The motivation to combine is the same as stated in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding Claim 7, Qiao (‘369) in view of Barton et al. (‘613) and Ledvina et al. (‘229) teaches the method of claim 6.
Qiao (‘369) teaches: wherein the signal intensities of the received data comprise received intensities of one or more BLE signals (see analysis of the corresponding element in claim 2; [0038]: “the RSSI of the terminal received by the vehicle is detected through the BLE, and the distance between the terminal and the vehicle may be judged based on the RSSI”; Claim 5: “the BLE ranging is performed based on at least one of a received signal strength indication (RSSI)”).
Regarding Claim 8, Qiao (‘369) in view of Barton et al. (‘613) and Ledvina et al. (‘229) teaches the method of claim 6.
Qiao (‘369) does not explicitly teach, but Barton et al. (‘613) teaches: further comprising setting, for each digital key, the ranging grade from the BLE signal intensity (see analysis of the corresponding element in claim 3; Barton [0020]: “a control device can be configured to determine a respective ultra-wide band (UWB) ranging priority for each of a plurality of mobile devices”; [0138], Claim 9: “obtaining in the at least one authentication service attribute at least one of a field indicating a relative priority or a required ranging interval”). In combination with Qiao’s BLE RSSI measurements, setting a ranging grade from BLE signal intensity for each digital key would have been obvious for the same reasons stated in the rejection of claim 1.
The motivation to combine is the same as stated in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding Claim 9, Qiao (‘369) in view of Barton et al. (‘613) and Ledvina et al. (‘229) teaches the method of claim 8.
Qiao (‘369) does not explicitly teach, but Barton et al. (‘613) teaches: wherein the ranging period is set as the integer multiple of the common UWB block period based on the ranging grade (see analysis of the corresponding element in claim 4; Barton [0096]: “mobile devices that have high UWB ranging priority may each be assigned exclusively to different slots in the super-frame, while mobile devices having lesser UWB ranging priority may be assigned non-exclusively to shared slots”; [0104]: “the control device can consider slowing a refresh rate for one or more lower priority devices to provide additional ranging opportunities for other mobile devices”).
The motivation to combine is the same as stated in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding Claim 10, Qiao (‘369) in view of Barton et al. (‘613) and Ledvina et al. (‘229) teaches the method of claim 6.
Qiao (‘369) in view of Ledvina et al. (‘229) teaches: wherein a greater received intensity of a BLE signal results in a shorter ranging period for the corresponding digital key (see analysis of the corresponding element in claim 5; Qiao [0038]-[0039]; Ledvina [0063]: “A coarse ranging may occur at first, with finer ranging using more UWB receivers occurring after the mobile device is closer”; [0074]: “different operations can be performed at different distance thresholds”).
The motivation to combine is the same as stated in the rejection of claim 1.
Conclusion
REMASH R GUYAH
Examiner
Art Unit 3648C
/REMASH R GUYAH/Examiner, Art Unit 3648
/RESHA DESAI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3648