DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Acknowledgement is made of amendment filed on 01/20/2026. The amendments of Applicant are entered and have been considered by Examiner. Claims 1-8 and 20 were previously pending. Claim 3, 7 is canceled. Claims 1, 5, 6, 20 are amended. Claims 21-30 are added. Claims 1, 2, 4-6, 8, 20-30 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
An initialed and dated copy of Applicant’s IDS form 1449 submitted 01/23/2026 is attached to the instant office action. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 5, 20-30 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Regarding Claim 6, Applicant argues on pages 12-13 of applicants remarks:
Therefore, Alabbasi discloses that conditions for the uplink grant being a prioritized uplink grant include: (1) there is no overlapping PUSCH duration of a configured uplink grant whose priority is higher than the priority of the uplink grant, and (2) there is no overlapping PUCCH resource with an SR transmission where the priority of the logical channel that triggered the SR is higher than the priority of the uplink grant. Further, Alabbasi discloses the uplink grant for transmission of data on a PUSCH.
However, Alabbasi does not disclose that the conditions for the uplink grant being a prioritized uplink grant further include uplink data in this uplink grant being transmittable by a physical layer or a lower layer of a MAC layer.
According to the amended claim 6, the conditions for transmitting an uplink data further include the uplink data being transmittable by a physical layer or a lower layer of a MAC layer. That is, before the uplink data is transmitted to the physical layer or the lower layer of the MAC layer, the validity of the resource for carrying the uplink data needs to be checked; and if the resource is invalid, the uplink data cannot be transmitted by the physical layer or the lower layer of the MAC layer.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. As indicated in the previous office action, transmission of uplink data associated with the uplink grant is associated with the PUSCH, which is a physical layer transmission. As such, PUSCH transmissions are transmitted by the PHY layer. Alabbasi teaches determining the SR resource (i.e. second resource) does not overlap with the uplink grant (i.e. first resource), where the priority of the logical channel that triggered the SR is higher than the priority of the uplink grant (i.e. third condition in which first resource/uplink grant is different from priority of uplink SR), then prioritizing the uplink grant. The act of determining that the SR priority is higher than the uplink grant is a result of both A) determining the priorities of the SR and the uplink grant are different and B) determining which priority associated with the SR and the uplink grant is higher or lower. Examiner notes that prioritizing the uplink grant is analogous to determining that the uplink data is transmittable, since the data with lower priority is not transmitted. As such, determining to prioritize the uplink grant for transmission of uplink data on the PUSCH is analogous to the uplink data being transmittable by a PHY layer.
As such the examiner maintains that the prior art teaches the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 5, 20-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 2023/0209589 A1 (foreign priority date of May 21, 2020) to Baek et al. (hereinafter “Baek’589”)
Regarding Claim 1, Baek’589 teaches A communication method, comprising:
determining that a first resource overlaps with a second resource, wherein the first resource is used for carrying an uplink Scheduling Request (SR), and the second resource is used for carrying uplink data; and (Figure 8 and [0087], discloses In operation 815, when the pending SR satisfies the SR transmission condition, the terminal may check whether the PUCCH resource for the SR transmission overlaps (i.e. determine first resource carrying uplink SR overlaps) an uplink radio resource (e.g., a UL-SCH or a PUSCH) (i.e. second resource for carrying uplink data) on the time axis. When the PUCCH resource for the SR transmission overlaps the uplink resource on the time axis, the terminal may perform operation 820.)
in a case where a first condition is satisfied, transmitting the uplink SR, wherein the first condition comprises a priority of the uplink SR being different from a priority of a first uplink grant and the first uplink grant being used for transmitting the uplink data; and the first condition further comprises: the uplink SR being transmittable by a Physical (PHY) layer or a lower layer of a Media Access Control (MAC) layer; (i.e. [0090], discloses In operation 835, when the PUCCH resource for the SR transmission does not overlap, on the time axis, at least one of the resource received in RAR, the resource allocated with the temporary C-RNTI, or the message A transmission that has occurred, the terminal may perform an operation of comparing the priority of the SR transmission with the priority of another uplink radio resource (e.g., a UL-SCH or a PUSCH) that overlaps the SR transmission. [0092], When the priority of the SR is higher than the priority of any overlapping uplink radio resource (i.e. priority of uplink SR is different than priority of first uplink grant), the SR may be transmitted. [0091] and [0148], discloses the SR to the lower layer for the MAC entity of the terminal when the SR transmission has equal or lower priority than the overlapping uplink radio resource. Examiner notes that when the priority of the uplink SR is higher than the overlapping uplink radio resource as described in [0092], the SR would be indicated to a lower layer of the MAC entity (i.e. the uplink SR being transmittable by a lower layer of MAC layer)
wherein transmitting the uplink SR information comprises:
in a case where a second condition is satisfied, transmitting the uplink SR. or identifying the uplink SR as a prioritized uplink SR, wherein the second condition comprises: the first resource not overlapping with a resource granted by a second uplink grant. (Figure 8 and [0088], discloses In operation 820, when the PUCCH resource for the SR transmission overlaps the uplink resource on the time axis, the terminal may check whether (i.e. second condition) the overlapping resource is one of a resource received in RAR (i.e. second uplink grant), a resource allocated with a temporary C-RNTI, or message A transmission that has occurred. [0090], discloses In operation 835, when the PUCCH resource for the SR transmission does not overlap, on the time axis, at least one of the resource received in RAR (i.e. second condition is satisfied, the second condition being the first resource not overlapping a resource granted by a second uplink grant), the resource allocated with the temporary C-RNTI, or the message A transmission that has occurred, the terminal may perform an operation of comparing the priority of the SR transmission with the priority of another uplink radio resource (e.g., a UL-SCH or a PUSCH) that overlaps the SR transmission. [0092], further discloses When the priority of the SR is higher than the priority of any overlapping uplink radio resource, the SR may be transmitted (i.e. identifying the uplink SR as a prioritized uplink SR or transmitting the uplink SR)
Regarding Claim 2, Baek’589 teaches The method of claim 1, wherein the priority of the uplink SR being different from the priority of the first uplink grant comprises: a priority of a Logical Channel (LCH) triggering the uplink SR being higher than the priority of the first uplink grant. ([0016] and [0084], discloses FIG. 8 is a flowchart illustrating a detailed operation of performing SR transmission in logical channel-based prioritization in a wireless communication system. [0090], discloses the priority of the SR transmission may refer to the priority of a logical channel that has triggered the SR (i.e. priority of LCH triggering the uplink SR). [0092], further discloses When the priority of the SR is higher than the priority of any overlapping uplink radio resource (i.e. the priority of the LCH triggering the uplink SR being higher than the priority of the first uplink grant), the SR may be transmitted)
Regarding Claim 4, Baek’589 teaches The The method of claim 1, further comprising: in a case where the first condition is not satisfied, identifying the uplink data as prioritized uplink data. ([0091], discloses when the priority of the SR is not higher than the priority of any overlapping uplink radio resource, in operation 840, the SR may not be transmitted. That is, in operation 835, when the priority of the SR is lower than or equal (i.e. first condition not satisfied) to the priority of any overlapping uplink radio resource on the time axis within a MAC entity (in a cell group), the SR may be unable to be transmitted. Accordingly, in the SR transmission occasion, the operation for the SR transmission may be stopped. Accordingly, the SR transmission may not be indicated to a lower layer (i.e. first condition not satisfied). [0024] further discloses identify whether the PUCCH resource associated with the transmission of the SR overlaps with a PUSCH resource associated with uplink data in the time domain, and in case that the PUCCH resource associated with the transmission of the SR overlaps with the PUSCH resource associated with the uplink data, transmit the SR or the uplink data (i.e. identifying the uplink data as prioritized uplink data) to a base station by comparing a priority of the PUCCH resource associated with the transmission of the SR with a priority of the PUSCH resource associated with the uplink data)
Regarding Claim 5, Baek’589 teaches The method of claim 1, wherein transmitting the uplink SR information comprises: wherein the second condition further comprises at least one of the following: an MAC entity being configured with a priority of an LCH; or the priority of the LCH triggering the uplink SR being higher than the priority of the second resource. ([0016] and [0084], discloses FIG. 8 is a flowchart illustrating a detailed operation of performing SR transmission in logical channel-based prioritization in a wireless communication system. [0090], discloses the priority of the SR transmission may refer to the priority of a logical channel that has triggered the SR (i.e. priority of LCH triggering the uplink SR). [0092], further discloses When the priority of the SR is higher than the priority of any overlapping uplink radio resource (i.e. the priority of the LCH triggering the uplink SR being higher than the priority of the second resource), the SR may be transmitted)
Regarding Claim 1, Baek’589 teaches A communications device, comprising at least one processor coupled with a memory, wherein the memory is configured to store a program or instructions; and the at least one processor is configured to execute the program or instructions, so that the device implements the operations of: ([0130], discloses a terminal comprising controller and storage)
determining that a first resource overlaps with a second resource, wherein the first resource is used for carrying an uplink Scheduling Request (SR), and the second resource is used for carrying uplink data; and (Figure 8 and [0087], discloses In operation 815, when the pending SR satisfies the SR transmission condition, the terminal may check whether the PUCCH resource for the SR transmission overlaps (i.e. determine first resource carrying uplink SR overlaps) an uplink radio resource (e.g., a UL-SCH or a PUSCH) (i.e. second resource for carrying uplink data) on the time axis. When the PUCCH resource for the SR transmission overlaps the uplink resource on the time axis, the terminal may perform operation 820.)
in a case where a first condition is satisfied, transmitting the uplink SR, wherein the first condition comprises a priority of the uplink SR being different from a priority of a first uplink grant and the first uplink grant being used for transmitting the uplink data; and the first condition further comprises: the uplink SR being transmittable by a Physical (PHY) layer or a lower layer of a Media Access Control (MAC) layer; (i.e. [0090], discloses In operation 835, when the PUCCH resource for the SR transmission does not overlap, on the time axis, at least one of the resource received in RAR, the resource allocated with the temporary C-RNTI, or the message A transmission that has occurred, the terminal may perform an operation of comparing the priority of the SR transmission with the priority of another uplink radio resource (e.g., a UL-SCH or a PUSCH) that overlaps the SR transmission. [0092], When the priority of the SR is higher than the priority of any overlapping uplink radio resource (i.e. priority of uplink SR is different than priority of first uplink grant), the SR may be transmitted. [0091] and [0148], discloses the SR to the lower layer for the MAC entity of the terminal when the SR transmission has equal or lower priority than the overlapping uplink radio resource. Examiner notes that when the priority of the uplink SR is higher than the overlapping uplink radio resource as described in [0092], the SR would be indicated to a lower layer of the MAC entity (i.e. the uplink SR being transmittable by a lower layer of MAC layer)
wherein transmitting the uplink SR information comprises:
in a case where a second condition is satisfied, transmitting the uplink SR. or identifying the uplink SR as a prioritized uplink SR, wherein the second condition comprises: the first resource not overlapping with a resource granted by a second uplink grant. (Figure 8 and [0088], discloses In operation 820, when the PUCCH resource for the SR transmission overlaps the uplink resource on the time axis, the terminal may check whether (i.e. second condition) the overlapping resource is one of a resource received in RAR (i.e. second uplink grant), a resource allocated with a temporary C-RNTI, or message A transmission that has occurred. [0090], discloses In operation 835, when the PUCCH resource for the SR transmission does not overlap, on the time axis, at least one of the resource received in RAR (i.e. second condition is satisfied, the second condition being the first resource not overlapping a resource granted by a second uplink grant), the resource allocated with the temporary C-RNTI, or the message A transmission that has occurred, the terminal may perform an operation of comparing the priority of the SR transmission with the priority of another uplink radio resource (e.g., a UL-SCH or a PUSCH) that overlaps the SR transmission. [0092], further discloses When the priority of the SR is higher than the priority of any overlapping uplink radio resource, the SR may be transmitted (i.e. identifying the uplink SR as a prioritized uplink SR or transmitting the uplink SR)
Claims 21-23 are rejected for having the same limitations as claims 2, 4, 5, respectively, except the claims are in apparatus format.
Regarding Claim 24, Baek’289 teaches The communications device of claim 20, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: in a case where the priority of the PHY layer of the uplink SR is same as the priority of the PHY layer of the first uplink grant, identify the uplink SR as a de-prioritized uplink SR, or determine that the priority of the uplink SR is lower than the priority of the uplink grant; or in a case where the priority of the PHY layer of the first resource is same as the priority of the PHY layer of the first uplink grant, identify the uplink SR as a de-prioritized uplink SR, or determine that the priority of the uplink SR is lower than the priority of the uplink grant; or in a case where the priority of the PHY layer of the uplink SR is same as the priority of the PHY layer of the first uplink grant, identify the first uplink grant as a prioritized uplink grant, or identify the second resource as a prioritized resource; or in a case where the priority of the PHY layer of the first resource is same as the priority of the PHY layer of the first uplink grant, identify the first uplink grant as a prioritized uplink grant, or identify the second resource as a prioritized resource. ([0091], discloses When the priority of the SR is not higher than the priority of any overlapping uplink radio resource, in operation 840, the SR may not be transmitted. That is, in operation 835, when the priority of the SR is lower than or equal (i.e. same) to the priority of any overlapping uplink radio resource on the time axis within a MAC entity (in a cell group), the SR may be unable to be transmitted (i.e. identify the uplink SR as a de-prioritized). Accordingly, in the SR transmission occasion, the operation for the SR transmission may be stopped. Accordingly, the SR transmission may not be indicated to a lower layer. [0112], discloses when a certain uplink radio resource is selected and the selected resource is transmitted, the selected radio resource may refer to a prioritized resource. On the contrary, the unselected resource may refer to a de-prioritized resource)
Regarding Claim 26, Baek’589 teaches The communications device of claim 20, wherein the uplink data is a MAC Protocol Data Unit (PDU), a Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH), or an Uplink Shared Channel (UL-SCH). ([0024], discloses identify whether the PUCCH resource associated with the transmission of the SR overlaps with a PUSCH resource (i.e. uplink data is PUSCH) associated with uplink data in the time domain)
Regarding Claim 28, Baek’289 teaches The method of claim 1, further comprising:
wherein in a case where the priority of the PHY layer of the uplink SR is same as the priority of the PHY layer of the first uplink grant, identify the uplink SR as a de-prioritized uplink SR, or determine that the priority of the uplink SR is lower than the priority of the uplink grant; or in a case where the priority of the PHY layer of the first resource is same as the priority of the PHY layer of the first uplink grant, identify the uplink SR as a de-prioritized uplink SR, or determine that the priority of the uplink SR is lower than the priority of the uplink grant; or in a case where the priority of the PHY layer of the uplink SR is same as the priority of the PHY layer of the first uplink grant, identify the first uplink grant as a prioritized uplink grant, or identify the second resource as a prioritized resource; or in a case where the priority of the PHY layer of the first resource is same as the priority of the PHY layer of the first uplink grant, identify the first uplink grant as a prioritized uplink grant, or identify the second resource as a prioritized resource. ([0091], discloses When the priority of the SR is not higher than the priority of any overlapping uplink radio resource, in operation 840, the SR may not be transmitted. That is, in operation 835, when the priority of the SR is lower than or equal (i.e. same) to the priority of any overlapping uplink radio resource on the time axis within a MAC entity (in a cell group), the SR may be unable to be transmitted (i.e. identify the uplink SR as a de-prioritized). Accordingly, in the SR transmission occasion, the operation for the SR transmission may be stopped. Accordingly, the SR transmission may not be indicated to a lower layer. [0112], discloses when a certain uplink radio resource is selected and the selected resource is transmitted, the selected radio resource may refer to a prioritized resource. On the contrary, the unselected resource may refer to a de-prioritized resource)
Regarding Claim 30, Baek’589 teaches The method of claim 1, wherein the uplink data is a MAC Protocol Data Unit (PDU), a Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH), or an Uplink Shared Channel (UL-SCH). ([0024], discloses identify whether the PUCCH resource associated with the transmission of the SR overlaps with a PUSCH resource (i.e. uplink data is PUSCH) associated with uplink data in the time domain)
Claim(s) 6, 8, 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2023/0021043 A1 (provisional application no. 62/976,179, filed on Feb. 13, 2020) to Alabbasi et al. (hereinafter “Alabbasi”)
Regarding Claim 6, Alabbasi teaches A communication method, comprising:
determining that a third condition is satisfied and a first resource does not overlap with a second resource, wherein the first resource is used for carrying uplink data, the second resource is used for carrying an uplink Scheduling Request (SR), the third condition comprises a priority of a first uplink grant being different from a priority of the uplink SR, and the first uplink grant is used for transmitting the uplink data; and transmitting the uplink data. (Table 1 and [0007] discloses if there is no overlapping PUCCH resource (i.e. second resource) with an SR transmission where the priority of the logical channel that triggered the SR is higher (i.e. priority is different) than the priority of the uplink grant (i.e. first resource carrying uplink data), then this uplink grant is a prioritized uplink grant. Figure 4 and [0070], further discloses if there are no overlapping grants, then only one group will be created, in which case all of the grants are transmitted)
wherein the priority of the first uplink grant being different from the priority of the uplink SR comprises: the uplink data being transmittable by a Physical (PHY) layer or a lower layer of a Media Access Control (MAC) layer. (Table 1 and [0007] discloses if there is no overlapping PUCCH resource (i.e. second resource) with an SR transmission where the priority of the logical channel that triggered the SR is higher (i.e. priority is different) than the priority of the uplink grant (i.e. first resource carrying uplink data), then this uplink grant is a prioritized uplink grant. Examiner notes that determining that the uplink grant is higher priority than the SR is analogous to determining that the uplink grant is transmittable. [0007] and Table 1, further discloses an uplink grant for transmission of data on a PUSCH. Examiner notes that a PUSCH is a uplink shared channel associated with a physical layer for transmission of uplink data.)
Regarding Claim 8, Alabbasi teaches The method of claim 6, wherein transmitting the uplink data comprises: in a case where a fourth condition is satisfied, transmitting the uplink data, or identifying the uplink data as prioritized uplink data, wherein the fourth condition comprises: an MAC entity being configured with a priority of an LCH. (Table 1 and [0007], discloses when the MAC entity is configured with lch-based prioritization for each uplink grant. If there is no overlapping PUCCH resource (i.e. second resource) with an SR transmission where the priority of the logical channel that triggered the SR is higher (i.e. priority is different) than the priority of the uplink grant (i.e. first resource carrying uplink data), then this uplink grant is a prioritized uplink grant)
Regarding Claim 27, Alabassi teaches A communications device, comprising at least one processor coupled with a memory, wherein the memory is configured to store a program or instructions; and the at least one processor is configured to execute the program or instructions, so that the device implements the method of claim 6. (Figure 13 and [0092], illustrates wireless communication device comprising processor and memory. See rejection of method claim 6)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 25 and 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baek’589 in view of US 2023/0180221 A1 (provisional application no. 63/012,471, field on Apr. 20, 2020) to Zou et al. (hereinafter “Zou”)
Regarding Claim 25, Baek’589 teaches The communications device of claim 20, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to:
Baek’589 does not explicitly teach receive first information and second information from a network device, the first information being used for configuring the priority of the PHY layer of the first uplink SR or the priority of the PHY layer of the first resource, and the second information being used for configuring the priority of the PHY layer of the first uplink grant.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Zou discloses in [0015]-[0017], To further facilitate priority, a two-level PHY-index-based priority of a grant or SR is used, which can either be indicated in downlink control information (DCI) or radio resource control (RRC): A scheduling request configuration may have a PHY priority index indication as an RRC field in SR resource configuration For HARQ-ACK, PHY priority index may be indicated in DL DCI (Format 1_1 and 1_2) for dynamic assignments while for SPS the PHY priority index may be indicated by RRC configuration. (i.e. receive first information used for configuring the priority of the PHY layer of the first uplink SR): For PUSCH: for DG (Dynamic Grant) PHY priority index may be indicated in UL DCI (Format 0_1 and 0_2) and for CG the PHY priority index may be indicated by CG configuration. A-periodic and semi-persistent CSI on PUSCH: PHY priority index may be indicated in UL DCI (Format 0_1 and 0_2) (i.e. configuring the priority of the PHY layer of the first uplink grant).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Baek’589 to include the above limitations as suggested by Zou, such that a prioritization rule considers the importance of the uplink transmission not only by the to-be-transmitted data but also the PHY layer priority of the transmission and the reason that triggered the uplink transmission as indicated in [0029] of Zou.
Claim 29 is rejected for having the same limitations as Claim 25 above, except the claim is in method format.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JENKEY VAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477