CTFR 18/089,336 CTFR 85221 DETAILED ACTION Notice of AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1, 3 – 5, 13 – 14, and 21 – 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Jacobsen . Regarding Claim 1 , Jacobsen discloses “A portable device, comprising: a memory configured to store instructions for controlling states of the portable device when connected with a wireless display device; and a processor circuitry, which when configured by the instructions, is operable to: initiate an establishment of a wireless connection between the portable device and the wireless display device for the portable device to cast output to the wireless display device” (Figures 3, 4, 6, and Paragraphs [0026] [0028], and [0074] (Notice in Figure 4 that a portable device 225 (notice that host 225 is shown as portable in Figure 3) is provided with memory 460, RAM 450, and ROM 455 to store instructions for controlling states (Paragraph [0077]) when connected with a wireless display device 100 (Logic of connectivity shown in Figure 6). Also, processor circuitry CPU 445 in portable device 225 initiates a wireless connection with wireless display device 100 as shown in Figure 6 according to the processing of stored instructions to cast video and audio output to wireless display device 100 (Figure 6, Steps 620, 645, 655, 660, and 665).)), “receive an indication of a user absent event, the user absent event triggered by human presence sensing circuitry of the wireless display device” (Figure 6, Step 675 (Notice that portable host device 225 receives an indication of a user absent event at Step 675 when a process is complete, where said event is triggered by absence of human interaction with the sensing controls of wireless display device 100 (Paragraph [0092]).), “determine whether an exception exists; and control a state of the portable device to lock, resume, or disconnect the portable device based on whether the exception exists” (Figure 6, Steps 675, 677, and 680 (Notice that when an exception of yes to the decision of whether the process is complete exists, the portable device 225 is controlled to end at step 680, which disconnects the portable device 225 connectivity to the wireless display device 100 based on the said exception. Notice that Claim 1 is met with respect to at least the alternative “or” condition.)). Regarding Claim 3 , Jacobsen discloses everything claimed as applied above (See Claim 1). In addition, Jacobsen discloses “wherein the wireless display device comprises a smart television, a monitor screen, or a desktop computer” (Paragraph [0063] (Notice that wireless display device 100 may be configure achieve the functionality of a smart television. Notice that Claim 3 is met with respect to the at least alternative “or” condition.)). Regarding Claim 4 , Jacobsen discloses everything claimed as applied above (See Claim 1). In addition, Jacobsen discloses “wherein the indication of the user absent event is transmitted to the portable device from the wireless display device over a backchannel wireless connection” (Figure 6, Steps 635 and 620 (Notice that void/no-void of user interaction indicating a user absent event is transmitted via an established bi-directional data path over the backchannel Bluetooth connection.)) Regarding Claim 5 , Jacobsen discloses everything claimed as applied above (See Claim 1). In addition, Jacobsen discloses “wherein the user absent event is triggered by the human presence sensing circuitry when no one is detected for longer than a threshold period” (Paragraph [0092] (Notice that user absent event is triggered by the sensing circuitry in wireless display 100 when no input is detected for longer than a zero threshold period.)). Regarding Claim 13 , Jacobsen discloses everything claimed as applied above (See Claim 1). In addition, Jacobsen discloses “wherein the exception comprises receiving an indication of a user present event” (Figure 6, Steps 675, 677 (Notice that the exception of yes (process complete) comprises receiving an indication of not-present user present event.)). Regarding Claim 14 , Jacobsen discloses everything claimed as applied above (See Claim 13). In addition, Jacobsen discloses “wherein the user present event is detected by the human presence sensing circuitry in the wireless display device” (Figure 6 and Paragraph [0092] (Notice that the user present event of not-present is detected by the void of contact with the sensing circuitry in the wireless display device 100.)). Regarding Claim 21 , Jacobsen discloses “At least one [non-transitory] machine-readable medium including instructions for controlling states of a portable device when connected with a wireless display device, which when executed by a machine, cause the machine to: initiate an establishment of a wireless connection between the portable device and the wireless display device for the portable device to cast output to the wireless display device; receive an indication of a user absent event, the user absent event triggered by human presence sensing circuitry of the wireless display device; determine whether an exception exists; and control a state of the portable device to lock, resume, or disconnect the portable device based on whether the exception exists” (Please refer back to the rejection of Claim 1 and notice the portable host device 225 of Jacobsen carries out the operations of Claim 21 via the non-transitory machine-readable medium provided by at least one of memory 460, RAM 450, and ROM 455.)) Regarding Claim 22 , Jacobsen discloses everything claimed as applied above (See Claim 21). In addition, Jacobsen discloses “wherein the exception comprises receiving an indication of a user present event” (Figure 6, Steps 675, 677 (Notice that the exception of yes (process complete) comprises receiving an indication of not-present user present event.)). Regarding Claim 23 , Jacobsen discloses everything claimed as applied above (See Claim 22). In addition, Jacobsen discloses “wherein the user present event is detected by the human presence sensing circuitry in the wireless display device” (Figure 6 and Paragraph [0092] (Notice that the user present event of not-present is detected by the void of contact with the sensing circuitry in the wireless display device 100.)). Allowable Subject Matter Claims 2, 6 – 12, 15 – 20, and 24 - 25 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims for reasoning set forth in the Office Action mailed January 28, 2026. Response to Applicants Amendments and Arguments Applicants arguments and amendments filed April 28, 2026 have been fully considered. First, the Examiner agrees that the amendments to Claims 21 – 25 have overcome the rejections of Claims 21 – 25 under 35 U.S.C. 101 as set forth and made of record in the Office Action mailed January 28, 2026. Second, the Examiner disagrees that - - [t]here is no disclosure of Jacobsen’s handheld display device having a human presence sensing circuitry or other functionality used to determine human presence - - (REMARKS, Page 6, Last 2 Lines of page). The Examiner disagree because the sensing controls/circuitry of wireless display device 100 sense presence or absence via human interaction with said sensing controls/circuitry. Third, the Examiner disagrees that - - the process completion is not a determination made by “human presence sensing circuitry” - - (REMARKS, Page 7, Lines 3 – 4). The Examiner disagrees because the user absent event at Step 675 is triggered or resulted from absence of human interaction with said sensing controls/circuitry. Finally, the Examiner disagrees that - - Jacobsen cannot then disclose “determine whether an exception exists” - - (REMARKS, Page 7, Lines 10 – 11). The Examiner disagrees because the device of Jacobsen determines whether an exception of yes occurs to a decision of whether a process is complete exists. Conclusion 07-39 AIA THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to BRIAN M BUTCHER whose telephone number is (571)270-5575. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday – Friday from 6:30 AM to 3:00 PM. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, Ke Xiao, can be reached at (571) 272 - 7776. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). /BRIAN M BUTCHER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2627 May 21, 2026 Application/Control Number: 18/089,336 Page 2 Art Unit: 2627 Application/Control Number: 18/089,336 Page 3 Art Unit: 2627 Application/Control Number: 18/089,336 Page 4 Art Unit: 2627 Application/Control Number: 18/089,336 Page 5 Art Unit: 2627 Application/Control Number: 18/089,336 Page 6 Art Unit: 2627 Application/Control Number: 18/089,336 Page 7 Art Unit: 2627 Application/Control Number: 18/089,336 Page 8 Art Unit: 2627