DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-13 and 18-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walker in view of Stence and Brignall.
There is disclosed in Walker (figs. 1 and 2) a taco shell maker, comprising: a generally round body folded into a U-shape (fig. 2); and tabs reaching out from the generally round body at peaks of the U-shape and bent back next to the generally round body (fig. 1).
Stence discloses, in a taco shell maker, a solid, non-perforated, generally round body folded into a U-shape.
Brignall discloses, in a taco shell maker, a generally round body 10 which has a diameter greater than the diameter of a tortilla T used with the taco shell maker (fig. 2), and bent tabs 24 which extend along the body, wherein the bent tabs include a flared out bottom edge 34.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to substitute the perforated round body of Walker with the non-perforated round body disclosed in Stence, in order to eliminate the step of creating perforations in the body during a manufacture of the taco shell maker.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to operate the taco shell maker of Walker with the teaching of Brignall, and ensure the tortilla used to form the taco has a smaller diameter than the round body, in order to ensure the tabs are capable of engaging the tortilla without damaging the tortilla.
In regards to claim 3, the prior art discloses the claimed invention except for recited round body diameter size. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to construct the body of Walker with the claimed diameter, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. With the standard market taco size being similar in the industry it can be argued that applicant’s claimed size is not unique.
In regards to claims 4-8 and 24 the prior art discloses the claimed invention except for the recited tab lengths and widths. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to construct the tabs of Walker within the claimed size ranges, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. The recited tab lengths and widths are suitable for securing a tortilla to the body of the taco shell maker, which would be the desired achievement of the tabs shown in Walker.
In regards to claims 9 and 19, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the tabs of Walker with the teachings of Brignall, and flare the edges, in order to allow easier grasping by a user when removing the tortilla from the round body.
In regards to claims 10-13 and 20-23 the prior art discloses the claimed invention except for the recited fold radius and body interior angle. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to construct the body fold and body interior angle of Walker within the claimed size ranges, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. The recited fold and interior angles are suitable for the formulation of a taco shell interior space which can hold a suitable about of food items. Such an interior space would be the desired achievement of the taco shell shown in Walker.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 29 August 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Walker fails to disclose a non-perforated taco shell maker.
The prior art reference to Stence was cited in the rejection to disclose that the use of a non-perforated body is old and well known in the art.
Applicant argues the claimed size ranges are not a result of routine optimization but are a non-obvious solution to a previously unrecognized problem, yielding new and unexpected results.
Applicant goes on to state that the claimed tab dimensions are a critical solution to the warping of a tortilla due to shallow frying.
The prior art references, while silent in the mentioning of exact tab dimensions, each disclose tabs which have varied lengths and widths. Thus, it can be argued that each of the disclosed tab dimensions accomplish a varied result with respect to securing a tortilla during a frying process. The discovery of an optimum dimension of a result effective variable, such as the tab lengths and widths, involves only routine skill in the art. While applicant feels that the claimed tab dimensions are sufficient to hold the tortilla securely against warping forces during shallow frying, those dimensions are result effective variables. One skilled in the art could arrive at the claimed dimensions through trial and error.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/REGINALD ALEXANDER/
Examiner
Art Unit 3761