DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to applicant’s amendment filed on June 12, 2026. Claims 1-20 are under consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 11, and 19 are amended with the limitation—wherein the lens does not comprise a curved surface—and the lens is referencing the GRIN lens of the respective claims. It is unclear how this newly added claim amendment should be interpreted. Fig. 1A of the drawings shows the cross sectional view of the GRIN lens 120 having a cylindrical body and Specification teaches “a core 123 of the GRIN lens 120 may be a first polymer composition and an outermost ring 124 of the GRIN lens 120 may be a second polymer composition” (Para [0023]). The amended limitation is not consistent with the disclosed invention in that at least the body of the GRIN lens has a curved surface along the longitudinal length of the lens, which leaves the amended limitation unclear. For examination purposes, the examiner shall considers the endfaces of the GRIN lens are flat or not curved surfaces in light of Fig. 1A.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 2019/0113687 A1, herein “Wang”) in view of He et al. (US 2022/0146756 A1, herein “He”).
Regarding claim 1-3, Wang discloses in Fig. 4, a package substrate, comprising: a substrate (substrate 405); an optical fiber (fiber 401) in the substrate (fiber 401 is laid under lid 411 which comprises hermetic sealing for the end of fiber 401 (Para [0045])); and a lens (407A) optically coupled to the optical fiber.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention
However, the lens (407A) in embodiment of Fig. 4 is not explicitly disclosed as a gradient index (GRIN) lens.
Embodiment in Fig. 3 shows lens (323) is optically coupled to the optical fiber, wherein the lens is a GRIN lens for focusing optical signals from fibers (301) onto the reflector (327) (Para [0036]). The examiner takes OFFICIAL NOTICE that the index of refraction at a radial center of the lens that is higher than an index of refraction at the radial edge of the lens functions to focus the light emitted from the GRIN lens.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention the exchange the lens (407) the with GRIN lens (323) to increase coupling efficiency. One would be motivated to use a GRIN lens to efficiently couple optical beams.
Wang teaches a package substrate wherein conventional coupling lenses can be replaced with gradient index lenses for coupling light to an optical fiber.
However, Wang is silent to the gradient index lens endfaces are flat or the lens endfaces do not comprise curved surfaces.
He teaches a photonic chip 10 with an in-plane GRIN lens edge coupler 12 coupled to waveguide 11 (core 11a and cladding 14). The GRIN region 32 wherein the light beam is simultaneously expanded and collimated in-plane of the photonic chip 10 become expanded light beam 12b. The endface of the GRIN lens is flat or the endface “does not comprise a curved surface” (Para [0065]-[0066])
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the time of filing the integrated GRIN lens in the photonic chip of He would be modifiable to the package substrate of He using known CMOS technology (Para [0085]). One would be motivated to integrate a GRIN lens in a photonic chip as a compact coupler with reduced aberration.
Regarding claims 4-6, Wang further discloses the optical fiber is embedded in a buildup layer of the package substrate. The substrate may comprise glass or silicon. The fiber may be in a V-groove formed in the silicon substrate (Para [0059]). Regarding the limitation of a “core of the package of the substrate”, the examiner considers the substrate (405) wherein the fiber is disposed therein between the mirror (503A) and lid (411), thus the examiner considers Wang teaches the limitation as broadly recited in claim 5.
Regarding claim 7, the GRIN lens in Fig. 3 is shown to have planar surfaces that are parallel with each other.
Regarding claim 8, the lens is optically coupled to a photonics integrated circuit (PIC) (Fig. 5, photonic die 510).
Regarding claim 9, Wang shows the plurality of lenses coupled to the PIC die (510) are within a footprint of the PIC.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of He (herein “Wang / He”) as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Sochava et al. (US 7,257,142, herein “Sochava”).
Wang / He teach the invention of claim 1, however, Wang does not teach the package substrate is part of a computer system for personal computer or a server.
Sochava teaches the semi-integrated designs for external cavity tunable laser receives a computer-based input with a software program running on a host computer (Col. 16, lines 4-17). Fig. 9 shows a communication system (900) in which an optical network is coupled to a plurality of data and voice subscribers lines by an optical mux-demux utilizing tunable semi-integrated external cavity tunable laser that may be tuned to a center frequency of any of the WDM channels (Col. 17, lines 47-52), and the mux-demux (912) couples the output to a single optical fiber for transmission (Col. 18, lines 39-44).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to recognize the package substrate of Wang / He is an opto-electronic integrated device that has numerous applications and one of the application is a mux-demux in a communications network as taught by Sochava. One would be motivated to integrated the package substrate device of Wang into a computer system to provide encoded and modulated communications signals.
Claims 11, 15, 16, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view Fini et al. (US 2019/0384020 A1, herein “Fini”).
Regarding claim 11, 15, and 19, Wang discloses an optical system, comprising:
a photonics integrated circuit (PIC die 510); and
a package substrate (substrate 405), wherein the package substrate comprises:
an optical fiber (fiber 401); and
the optical fiber is coupled to the lens by at least a mirror (403), wherein surfaces of the lens configured to be incident to light to or from the PIC, and wherein the PIC is optically coupled to the optical fiber by at least the lens.
Wang does not explicitly teach, in the same embodiment, the lens with a radially graded index of refraction, and the lens configured to couple light to or from the PIC are substantially planar.
Fini teaches fiber optic data communication systems wherein light is coupled from an optical fiber to a photonic chip and vice-versa. The embodiment in Fig. 1 shows a beam steering structure (101) as the substrate for the fiber alignment structure (111) disposed thereon. There alignment structure with optical fibers (109) are optically coupled to GRIN lens (106) (Para [0044]). The surfaces of the lens configured to be incident to light to or from the PIC (116) (Para [0042]) are substantially planar. Furthermore, the GRIN lens (106) does not appear to be have curved surfaces. The fiber optic data communication systems of Fini is provided on a board (1016). The examiner takes OFFICIAL NOTICE that GRIN lens have a radially graded index of refraction.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to recognize the configuration of Fini would be modifiable to the package substrate of Wang since both are from the same field of endeavor. One motivation would be to allow optical signals to be vertically coupled through the vertical integration architectures of high speed chip packages.
Regarding claim 16, Wang discloses the optical fiber is embedded in a buildup layer of the package substrate. The substrate may comprise glass or silicon. The fiber may be in a V-groove formed in the silicon substrate (Para [0059]).
Claims 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Fini (herein “Wang / Fini”) and in further view of Baer et al. (US 7,002,754 B2, herein “Baer”).
Wang / Fini teach the invention of claim 11, but Wang / Fini is silent to the composition of the GRIN lens as recited in claims 12-14.
Baer teaches multiplayer polymer GRIN lenses shown here in replicated Fig. 9 of Baer. The lens comprises a first polymer (PC/PMMA 95/5, 95% polycarbonate and 5% polymethyl methacrylate) with a first index of refraction (n19) at a radial center of the lens and a second polymer (PC/PMMA 5/95, 5% polycarbonate and 95% polymethyl methacrylate) with a second index of refraction at a radial edge of the lens (n2). A gradient mixture of the first polymer and the second polymer is provided between the outer surface of the first polymer and an inner surface of the second polymer (a blend of 5/95 ratio by weight is in the outer surface and a blend of 95/5 ratio by weight is in the inner surface). The gradient from the first index of refraction to the second index of refraction is provided by a plurality of discrete polymer layers with different material compositions by altering the relative thickness of the alternating layers (A) and (B) from that in the multilayered polymer composite film (Col. 5, lines 20-26).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to recognize the teaching of Baer would be modifiable to the invention of Wang / Fini. The GRIN lens as taught by Baer may be a discrete optical element that can be incorporated into the chip package of Wang / Fini. One motivation for integrating the multilayer polymer lens of Baer is the flexibility in the focal properties of the lens that was not previously possible in a single lens production technique (Col. 3, lines 48-55).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang / Fini in view of Bowen et al. (US 2017/0261703 A1, herein “Bowen”).
Wang / Fini teach the invention of claim 17, but Wang / Fini do not teach the PIC is electrically coupled to a compute die through an embedded bridge.
Bowen teaches an interposer with separable interface for coupling an optical conduit to an optical component. The optical component comprises a plurality of lenses for expanding (210) and focusing (252) the optical beam to and from the optical fibers (285) integrated within the interposer integrated with the PIC therein (Para [0012]). The PIC is electrically coupled to a compute die (microcontroller 293) through an embedded bridge (265). The first side (265a) contains pads for facilitating electrical connections to the supporting electrical circuit (190) and microcontroller (293).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention the interposer with embedded bridge of Bowen would be modifiable to the optical system of Wang / Fini since Bowen teaches the interposer with embedded bridge of Bowen is a separable interface that is by easily modified predetermined optical components and designs. One motivation Bowen teaches for incorporating the interposer with embedded bridge of Bowen is the silicon material used for the interposer would not interfere with the optical functions of the PIC or the thermal expansion that would interfere with optical alignments.(Bowen: Para [0006]).
Claims 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang / Fini in view of Sochava et al. (US 7,257,142, herein “Sochava”).
Wang / Fini teach the invention of claims 11 and 19, however, Wang / Fini do not teach the package substrate is part of a computer system for personal computer or a server.
Sochava teaches the semi-integrated designs for external cavity tunable laser receives a computer-based input with a software program running on a host computer (Col. 16, lines 4-17). Fig. 9 shows a communication system (900) in which an optical network is coupled to a plurality of data and voice subscribers lines by an optical mux-demux utilizing tunable semi-integrated external cavity tunable laser that may be tuned to a center frequency of any of the WDM channels (Col. 17, lines 47-52), and the mux-demux (912) couples the output to a single optical fiber for transmission (Col. 18, lines 39-44).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to recognize the optical system of Wang / Fini is an opto-electronic integrated device that has numerous applications and one of the application is a mux-demux in a communications network as taught by Sochava. One would be motivated to integrated the package substrate device of Wang into a computer system to provide encoded and modulated communications signals.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-9 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Wang in view of He teach the invention of claim 1 wherein He explicitly shows the GRIN lens endfaces do not comprise curved surfaces.
As for independent claim 11 and 19, applicant did not remark on the ground of rejection of Wang in view of Fini. The examiner maintains the ground of rejection over Wang in view of Fini for teaching the claimed invention including the amended limitation. Fini shows in Fig. 1 the GRIN lens 106 having flat endfaces.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERIN D CHIEM/Examiner, Art Unit 2874
/THOMAS A HOLLWEG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2874