DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-11 in the reply filed on 8/26/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 12-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-9 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hichiri et al. (WO 2019087963).
In ¶ 1-200 and figures 1-3, Hichiri et al. teach a film comprising
a base material substrate (layer 10 in figure 1);
hard layer, consistent with the present transition layer, on one side of the substrate (layer 12 in figure 1); and
an anti-reflection layer on the side of the hard coating layer way from the substrate (layer 11 in figure 1);
wherein the refractive index of the hard coat layer is adjusted to be higher than the refractive index of the layer next to it.
Regarding claims 2 and 3, the formula in claim 2, Hichiri et al. teach that the refractive index of the hard transition layer may be set to 1.45 to 1.58, while the refractive index of the antireflective layer is 1.20 to 1.40. When the reflective index of the antireflective layer is 1.25 and the refractive index of the hard transition layer is 1.56, it satisfies the formula n12 = n0 X n2. (see ¶ 48 and 51)
Regarding claim 4, Hichiri et al. teach the film thickness of the hard transition layer to be 3 to 15µm and the reflection index is 1.45 to 1.58, the hard transition layer of Hichiri et al. can also meet the condition of claim 4. Hichiri et al. (WO 2019087963).
Hichiri et al. teach wherein the transition coating layer comprises 1-10 parts of photo initiator, based on 100 % of the photopolymerized resin such as polyester acrylic resin, polyurethane acrylic resin, epoxy acrylic resin, with 10 to 50% of inorganic oxides such as silica particles, and various other additives, wherein the inorganic oxides particles is greater than or equal to 5 nm, and less than or equal to 25 nm.
Thus, the requirements for rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) are met.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hichiri et al. (WO 2019087963).
Although Hichiri et al. do not disclose that the transition layer is from 30 to 110 µm, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made, to adjust the thickness of the transition layer to 30 to 110 µm as they already teach the layer to be in the micrometer range, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hichiri et al. (WO 2019087963) in view of Lou et al. (CN 104199128).
Hichiri et al. differ from the claimed invention in that they do not disclose the particle size of the inorganic oxide particles to be from 5 to 25 nm. However, it is known in the art to use nano-particles in such optical multilayer hardening film comprising transparent hardening layers from solidifying resins, initiator, nanometer particles, and solvent, wherein said resin is acrylic ester, as in Lou et al. (See the Abstract)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, to use nanometer particles as in Lou et al., to obtain the hardening transition layer of Hichiri et al., motivated by a reasonable expectation of success.
/KELECHI C EGWIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1762
KCE