DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
A person shall be entitled to a patent unless –The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action:
Claims 1-3, and 8-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US Patent Application Publication to Taha 2023/0084003US.
In terms of Claim 1, Taha teaches a semiconductor device (Figure 18a), comprising: a photonic die (Figure 18a: top portion of 1800) coupled to a glass substrate (Figure 18a: 1804 wherein substrate can be made glass [0122]); a first turning mirror assembly (Figure 18a: within 1800 at 1820) coupled between the photonic die (1800 top portion) and the glass substrate (Figure 18: 1804); a second turning mirror assembly (Figure 18a: at 1850) located at least partially within the glass substrate (Figure 18a: 1850 within 1804), wherein the second turning mirror assembly (1850) includes; a mirror base (body of 1850); a mirror coating on top and side surfaces of the mirror base (mirror coatings can be applied to top and bottom [0134] and [0169]); and an encapsulant (Figure 18a: capping material shown with vertical cross hash or Figure 17:1718) over the mirror coating and the mirror base (Figure 17 and Figure 18a).
As for Claim 2, Taha teaches the device of Claim 1, wherein the glass substrate includes fused silica ([0100]).
As for Claim 3, Taha teaches the device of Claim 1, wherein the mirror coating includes titanium and aluminum ([0122] and [0165]).
As for Claim 8, Taha teaches the device of Claim 1, wherein the glass substrate includes one or more through glass vias filled with a metallic conductor ([0157]).
As for Claim 9, Taha teaches the device of Claim 1, further including a dielectric layer ([0122]) coupled to a side of the glass substrate beneath the photonic die (wherein dielectric material is located in the recess housing 110 which is above substrate and under the photonic die above).
As for Claim 10, Taha teaches the device of Claim 9, further including an underfill (capping material in 1804 above reflector 1850 or middle portion 1718 as shown in Figure 17) between the photonic die and the dielectric layer (Figure 17: 1718 is between the photonic die and dielectric layer in recess housing 1850; or capping material of 1804 above the reflector and below the photonic die).
In terms of Claim 11, Taha teaches a computing system (Figure 18a and 20a), comprising: an electronic die (Figure 20a: 2070) coupled to a glass substrate (Figure 2070 sits on top substrate (Figure 20a: 2078); a photonic die (Figure 18a: top portion of 1800 or Figure 20a 2000) coupled to the glass substrate (Figure 20a: 2000 on top of 2078 or Figure 18a: 1800 on top of 1804 wherein substrate is made of glass [0100]) and in communication with the electronic die (Figure 20a: 2000 and 2078 are in communication with each via the wires); a first turning mirror assembly (Figure 18a: within 1800 at 1820) coupled between the photonic die (Figure 18a: 1800) and the glass substrate (Figure 18a: 1804); a second turning mirror assembly (Figure 18a: 1850) located at least partially within the glass substrate (Figure 18a: 1804 and 1850), wherein the second turning mirror assembly includes; a mirror base (body of 1850); a mirror coating on top and side surfaces of the mirror base (coating on top and bottom sides [0134 and 0169]); and an encapsulant (Figure 18a: capping material in 1804 with vertical hash cross marks or Figure 17: 1718) over the mirror coating and the mirror base (Capping materials of 1804 with vertical hash marks and 1718 are located over the coatings in 1850); an optical fiber (Figure 18a: 1802) positioned to receive optical signals from the second turning mirror (1850 since light can travel bidirectional).
As for Claim 12, Taha teaches the device of Claim 11, wherein the glass substrate includes quartz ([0122]).
As for Claim 13, Taha teaches the device of Claim 11, wherein the mirror coating includes titanium and aluminum ([0122] and [0165]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the US Patent Application Publication to Taha 2023/0084003US in view of the US Patent Application Publication to Lee 2016/0238801US.
In regards to Claims 4 and 5, Taha teaches the device of Claim 1.
Taha does not teach wherein the mirror base includes glass and includes silicon.
Lee does teach wherein the mirror base includes glass and silicon for low manufacturing ([0027]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the material of the mirror to be made of a glass material including silicon since glass base materials containing silicon are known as low-cost manufacturing materials in the optical integrated device sector ([0027]).
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the US Patent Application Publication to Taha 2023/0084003US in view of the US Patent Application Publication to Yu 20220344287US.
In regards to Claims 6 and 7, Taha teaches the device of Claim 1.
Taha does not teach wherein the encapsulant includes spin-on-glass and wherein the spin-on-glass encapsulant includes one or more fillers.
Yu does teach wherein the encapsulant (which is a dielectric layer 58 used to encapsulate components under 50c as shown in Figure 4) includes spin-on-glass and wherein the spin-on-glass encapsulant includes one or more fillers (layer 58 is made using a spin-on glass process having fillers such as boron or polymers [0157]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a dielectric material made from glass having polymer or boron fillers in order to form a dielectric layer for electrical isolation having the strength of glass or flexibility of polymers). As noted above glass are relative low-cost materials while fillers can modify the base layer to have desired mechanical properties to help support, adhere or flex for flexible applications.
Claims 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the US Patent Application Publication to Taha 2023/0084003US in view of the US Patent to Kodama 7,764,860US.
In regards to Claim 14, Taha teaches the device of claim 11.
Taha does not teach wherein the mirror base includes a material with a first coefficient of thermal expansion that substantially matches a second coefficient of thermal expansion of the glass substrate.
Kodama does teach wherein the mirror base includes a material with a first coefficient of thermal expansion that substantially matches a second coefficient of thermal expansion of the glass substrate (Column 11, lines 1-15). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the materials of the mirror and substrate to have a CTE that matches in order to reduce unwanted cracking or damage to the device under thermal stress (Column 11, lines 1-15).
Claims 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the US Patent Application Publication to Taha 2023/0084003US in view of the US Patent Application Publication to Kapusta 2021/0104812US.
In regards to Claim 15, Taha teaches the device of Claim 1.
Taha does not teach the optical package further including an antenna coupled to the electronic die.
Kapusta does teach an optical package wherein electronic die or electronic components are coupled to antenna ([0055]) for the purpose of access the electronic component via wireless transmission. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electronic die to have antenna to enable wireless communication with the device. This allows the device to be access without the need of an input connection thus making it more portal and easier to access remotely.
Claims 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the US Patent Application Publication to Taha 2023/0084003US / Kapusta 2021/0104812 and further in view of the US Patent Application Publication to Toupal 2020/0174873US.
In regards to Claim 16, Taha / Kapusta teaches the device of claim 15.
Taha / Kapusta do not teach wherein the device further includes an end user display device coupled to the electronic die.
Tpupal teaches an electronic system wherein the electronic die has a user interface display in or to perform local diagnostic on the electronic components.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Taha to include a user display interface in order to perform testing of the electronic without the need of bulk equipment or other tools.
Claims 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the US Patent Application Publication to Taha 2023/0084003US in view of the Japanese Patent Application to Megumi JP2004361717A.
In terms of Claim 17, Taha teaches a method of forming a semiconductor device (Figure 18a), comprising: forming a turning mirror plug (Figure 1 and 18a: wherein turning mirror plug is 106), wherein forming the turning mirror plug comprises; placing a pre-formed mirror base on a carrier (within layer 106); encapsulating the coated mirror base (Figure 1: layer 126); forming a cavity in a glass substrate (Figure 1: area of 153; 122 is made of glass [0100]); placing the turning mirror plug within the cavity (Figure 18a: illustrate putting a mirror layer in the recess or cavity at 1850); and coupling a photonic die to the glass substrate, with a photonic die optical port aligned with the turning mirror plug (Figure 1 or Figure 18a; wherein the mirror 120 is aligned with 110 or 1820 and 150 are aligned relative to each vertically).
Taha coating a top and side surfaces of the mirror base while attached to the carrier to form a coated mirror base.
Megumi does teaches coating a top and side surfaces of the mirror base while attached to the carrier to form a coated mirror base (See Figure 1) and wherein Megumi discloses:
The inventors have formed a silver reflective film having a higher reflectance than aluminum on the upper surface of a glass substrate using a silver mirror reaction, as a rear mirror used for a rear projection type image display device, in order to reduce costs, A reflective mirror with a transparent protective film was fabricated on it and its corrosion resistance was examined. Then, in the course of performing the above salt spray test, it was noticed that corrosion of the silver reflection film progressed from the side surface and the top coat was peeled off.
The reason is that alkali cleaning does not spread on the side of the glass substrate, so the reflection film formed by flowing on the side of the glass substrate has low adhesion, and the top coat is applied not only on the top surface of the glass substrate but also on the side surface. It is considered that even if the top coat is applied, a part of the top coat is peeled off and is corroded from the site (Page 2: Paragraphs 3-5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Taha wherein the mirror coating is being applied to the top and side surface the mirror is attached to a carrier. This allows the mirror to be coated while the device is fully positioned and aligned thus preventing unwanted deposition of coatings materials in unwanted areas which will result in a reduce cost or time to manufacture the product.
Claims 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the US Patent Application Publication to Taha 2023/0084003US / Megumi JP2004361717A and further in view of the US Patent Scobey 6,896,949US.
In regards to Claims 18 and 19, Taha / Megumi teaches the method of Claim 1.
Taha / Megumi does not teach wherein the coatings to the mirror are applied via a sputtering method and wherein the coated mirror base is detached from a first carrier and attached to a second carrier before encapsulation.
Scobey teaches a mirror wherein coatings are applied to the mirror via a sputtering method (Column 16, lines 1-40). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of applying the coating to the mirror using a sputtering method because sputtering is known to produce uniform coating layers.
As for limitation of steps “wherein the coated mirror base is detached from a first carrier and attached to a second carrier before encapsulation” the examiner considers this step to be obvious to try in view of the KSR rationale because the mirror has to be made during the coating in a chamber on a substrate (See Scobey Column 4). Hence it would be required to be removed in order to place the mirror in order the device of Taha at 1820 or 1850) before encapsulation. The steps, in this case, have a finite number of possibilities 1) make the mirror and bulk optics together or 2) make the mirror separate of the photonic die and substrate. However, the 2nd possibility is not possible because coating cannot occur if the mirror is already placed in the location of 1804 and 1820 with an encapsulation layer over it. Thus only 1 possible solution exists to try while forming the coating layers on the mirror. KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007).
Claims 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the US Patent Application Publication to Taha 2023/0084003US / Megumi JP2004361717A and further in view of the US Patent Application Publication to Yu 20220344287US.
In regards to Claim 20, Taha / Megumi teaches the method of Claim 17.
Taha / Megumi do does not teach wherein the encapsulant includes spin-on-glass and wherein the spin-on-glass encapsulant includes one or more fillers.
Yu does teach wherein the encapsulant (which is a dielectric layer 58 used to encapsulate components under 50c as shown in Figure 4) includes spin-on-glass and wherein the spin-on-glass encapsulant includes one or more fillers (layer 58 is made using a spin-on glass process having fillers such as boron or polymers [0157]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a dielectric material made from glass having polymer or boron fillers in order to form a dielectric layer for electrical isolation having the strength of glass or flexibility of polymers). As noted above glass are relative low-cost materials while fillers can modify the base layer to have desired mechanical properties to help support, adhere or flex for flexible applications.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US Patent Application Publication to Israel 2021/0165165 teaches optical package with turning mirrors.
/HOANG Q TRAN/ Examiner, Art Unit 2874
/UYEN CHAU N LE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2874