DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-14, 16-26, 28-31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heidebrecht et al. (US 2019/0089014A1) in view of CN110400952A, refer to English machine translation by EPO.
Regarding claim 1, Heidebrecht discloses a molten metal battery system (see Title, Abstract, [0032], Fig. 1-5) comprising:
a plurality of secondary cells electrically connected in series with each other (cell electrically connected in series [0031]) and comprising a plurality of molten metal anodes arranged fluidly in parallel with each other (Fig. 2-5 show anodes arranged in parallel);
a plurality of electrically isolated molten metal reservoirs (first store 7 for anode material [0061], Fig. 1-5), each of the molten metal reservoirs fluidly connected to a corresponding secondary cell of the plurality of secondary cells and configured to exchange molten metal with the corresponding secondary cell while preventing a first electrical shunt current from flowing between the plurality of secondary cells via the molten metal within the plurality of electrically isolated molten metal reservoirs (first store for anode material connected to anode space, Abstract, Fig. 1-5; Furthermore, preference is given to all components to be enclosed by insulation, which is not shown here in the figures. Here, the components can in each case be provided separately with insulation or joint insulation for all components is utilized. Furthermore, it is possible here for the entire apparatus for storing electric energy to be accommodated in an overall container and for the overall container to be provided with the insulation. [0096]).
However, Heidebrecht does not further disclose a molten metal distributor fluidly connected in series between an external molten metal source and the plurality of secondary cells and configured to distribute the molten metal from the external molten metal source to the plurality of molten metal anodes while preventing the electrical shunt current from flowing between the plurality of secondary cells via the molten metal.
CN110400952A discloses a sodium fuel cell and battery stack comprising an insulation weeping pipe 1,1-1,1-2, anode feed runner 3 and anode feed back runner 4, wherein anode flow channel injects molten sodium by the first insulation weeping pipe 1-1 (see p.4-6, Fig. 4-5). CN110400952A further discloses the weeping pipe is insulated so that the droplets are not electrically conductive with the droplets, and the molten sodium remains electrically insulated under uniform flow (see p.5).
Heidebrecht and CN110400952A are analogous art because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely molten metal batteries.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Heidebrecht by incorporating insulated weeping pipes for delivering molten metal from a source to the cells because CN110400952A teaches improved safety and performance since each droplet is electrically insulated while maintaining uniform flow.
Regarding claim 2, modified Heidebrecht discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Heidebrecht further discloses the molten metal comprises molten sodium metal (molten alkali metal [0032], sodium [0063]).
Regarding claim 3, modified Heidebrecht discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Heidebrecht further discloses the molten metal flows passively between the plurality of electrically isolated molten metal reservoirs and the plurality of secondary cells without requiring a powered component to drive flows of the molten metal (Fig. 2-5 show first store 7 positioned above cell 1).
Regarding claim 5, modified Heidebrecht discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. CN110400952A further discloses the molten metal distributor comprises a molten metal distribution drip feeder configured to: release droplets of the molten metal from an upper portion of the molten metal distributor; and allow the droplets of the molten metal to fall through an electrically insulating fluid within the molten metal distributor into a plurality of electrically isolated compartments located along a lower portion of the molten metal distributor (insulation weeping pipe 1,1-1,1-2 includes tube body with a drip hole 14, lumen 15 made of insulating material, see p.5, Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 6, modified Heidebrecht discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. CN110400952A further discloses the molten metal distributor comprises: a molten metal inlet fluidly connected to the external molten metal source and configured to receive the molten metal into the molten metal distributor from the external molten metal source; a plurality of compartments electrically isolated from each other; and a plurality of molten metal outlets each fluidly connected to a corresponding compartment of the plurality of compartments and configured to deliver the molten metal from the corresponding compartment to a corresponding secondary cell of the plurality of secondary cells (insulation weeping pipe 1,1-1,1-2, anode feed runner 3 and anode feed back runner 4, wherein anode flow channel injects molten sodium by the first insulation weeping pipe 1-1, see p.4-6, Fig. 4-5).
Regarding claim 7, modified Heidebrecht discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. CN110400952A further discloses the molten metal distributor comprises a plurality of electrically isolating fittings coupled to the plurality of molten metal outlets and configured to prevent the second electrical shunt current from flowing between the plurality of secondary cells via a structure of the molten metal distributor (insulation weeping pipe 1,1-1,1-2 includes tube body with a drip hole 14, lumen 15 made of insulating material, see p.5, Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 8, modified Heidebrecht discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Heidebrecht further discloses the plurality of secondary cells are configured to operate as a flow battery in: a charging mode in which the plurality of secondary cells consume electricity and produce the molten metal within the plurality of molten metal anodes; and a discharging mode in which the plurality of secondary cells consume the molten metal within the plurality of molten metal anodes and produce electricity (charging and discharging [0029], [0032], [0036]-[0040]).
Regarding claim 9, modified Heidebrecht discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Heidebrecht further discloses each of the plurality of secondary cells comprises: a cathode compartment containing a catholyte fluid (cathode space 11 [0062]); an anode compartment containing a molten metal anode of the plurality of molten metal anodes ([0032]); and an ion-selective membrane positioned between the cathode compartment and the anode compartment and configured to selectively transport metal ions between the cathode compartment and the anode compartment (solid electrolyte 3 [0061]-[0063]).
Regarding claim 10, modified Heidebrecht discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Heidebrecht further discloses the plurality of secondary cells are configured to operate in a charging mode comprising: transporting the metal ions from the cathode compartment, through the ion-selective membrane, to the anode compartment; and reducing the metal ions within the anode compartment by combining the metal ions with electrons to produce the molten metal (charging and discharging [0029], [0032], [0036]-[0040]).
Regarding claim 11, modified Heidebrecht discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Heidebrecht further discloses the plurality of secondary cells are configured to operate in a discharging mode comprising: oxidizing the molten metal within the anode compartment to form the metal ions and discharge electrons; and transporting the metal ions from the anode compartment, through the ion-selective membrane, to the cathode compartment (charging and discharging [0029], [0032], [0036]-[0040]).
Regarding claim 12, modified Heidebrecht discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Heidebrecht further discloses an isolation plate located between adjacent secondary cells of the plurality of secondary cells and configured to electrically isolate the adjacent secondary cells from each other (all components to be enclosed by insulation [0096]).
Regarding claim 13, modified Heidebrecht discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Heidebrecht further discloses a plurality of battery strings electrically connected in series with each other; wherein each battery string of the plurality of battery strings comprises multiple unit cells including one of the plurality of secondary cells one or more additional secondary cells comprising one or more additional molten metal anodes (connect cells in series and connect a plurality of these series in parallel to form modules [0031]).
Regarding claim 14, modified Heidebrecht discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Heidebrecht further discloses the multiple unit cells within each string are electrically connected in parallel with each other; and the molten metal anodes within each string are maintained at substantially equal electrical potentials (connect cells in series and connect a plurality of these series in parallel to form modules [0031]).
Regarding claim 16, Heidebrecht discloses a molten metal battery system (see Title, Abstract, [0032], Fig. 1-5) comprising:
a plurality of secondary cells electrically connected in series with each other (cell electrically connected in series [0031]) and comprising a plurality of molten metal anodes arranged fluidly in parallel with each other (Fig. 2-5 show anodes arranged in parallel);
a molten metal storage vessel configured to store molten metal (first store 7 for anode material [0061], Fig. 1-5); and
a molten metal aggregator fluidly connected in series between the plurality of secondary cells and the molten metal storage vessel and configured to deliver the molten metal from the plurality of molten metal anodes to the molten metal storage vessel while preventing electrical shunt current from flowing between the plurality of secondary cells via the molten metal (first store for anode material connected to anode space, Abstract, Fig. 1-5).
However, Heidebrecht does not disclose the molten metal aggregator including at least one splash-prevent member configured to reduce splashing of fluid from inlets of the molten metal aggregator.
CN110400952A discloses a sodium fuel cell and battery stack comprising an insulation weeping pipe 1,1-1,1-2, anode feed runner 3 and anode feed back runner 4, wherein anode flow channel injects molten sodium by the first insulation weeping pipe 1-1 (see p.4-6, Fig. 4-5). CN110400952A further discloses the insulating drip tube 1 includes a tube body 11 provided with a horizontal partition/diaphragm 13 including flanges, vertical partition 18 (see p.5, Fig. 2). CN110400952A further discloses the weeping pipe is insulated so that the droplets are not electrically conductive with the droplets, and the molten sodium remains electrically insulated under uniform flow (see p.5).
Heidebrecht and CN110400952A are analogous art because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely molten metal batteries.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Heidebrecht by incorporating insulated weeping pipes for delivering molten metal from a source to the cells because CN110400952A teaches improved safety and performance since each droplet is electrically insulated while maintaining uniform flow. Further, the combination discloses the insulating drip tube 1 includes a tube body 11 provided with a horizontal partition/diaphragm 13 including flanges, vertical partition 18 (see p.5, Fig. 2 of CN110400952A) which satisfy the claimed “at least one splash-prevention member” because they are considered capable of reducing splashing of fluid.
Regarding claim 17, modified Heidebrecht discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Heidebrecht further discloses the molten metal comprises molten sodium metal (molten alkali metal [0032], sodium [0063]).
Regarding claim 18, modified Heidebrecht discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Heidebrecht further discloses the molten metal flows passively between the plurality of secondary cells, the molten metal aggregator, and the molten metal storage vessel without requiring a powered component to drive flows of the molten metal (Fig. 2-5 show first store 7 positioned above cell 1).
Regarding claim 19, modified Heidebrecht discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. CN110400952A further discloses the molten metal aggregator comprises: a plurality of molten metal inlets, each molten metal inlet of the plurality of molten metal inlets fluidly connected to a corresponding secondary cell of the plurality of secondary cells and configured to receive the molten metal from the corresponding secondary cell; a molten metal collection chamber configured to receive the molten metal from each of the plurality of molten metal inlets and combine the molten metal into a single pool; and a molten metal outlet fluidly connected to the molten metal storage vessel and configured to deliver the molten metal from the molten metal collection chamber to the molten metal storage vessel (insulation weeping pipe 1,1-1,1-2, anode feed runner 3 and anode feed back runner 4, wherein anode flow channel injects molten sodium by the first insulation weeping pipe 1-1, see p.4-6, Fig. 4-5).
Regarding claim 20, modified Heidebrecht discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. CN110400952A further discloses the molten metal aggregator comprises a plurality of electrically isolating fittings coupled to the plurality of molten metal inlets and configured to prevent electrical shunt current from flowing between the plurality of secondary cells via a structure of the molten metal aggregator (insulation weeping pipe 1,1-1,1-2 includes tube body with a drip hole 14, lumen 15 made of insulating material, see p.5, Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 21, modified Heidebrecht discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. CN110400952A further discloses the molten metal aggregator comprises a molten metal aggregation drip feeder configured to: release droplets of the molten metal from an upper portion of the molten metal aggregator; and allow the droplets of the molten metal to fall through an electrically insulating fluid into a molten metal collection chamber located along a lower portion of the molten metal aggregator (insulation weeping pipe 1,1-1,1-2 includes tube body with a drip hole 14, lumen 15 made of insulating material, see p.5, Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 22, modified Heidebrecht discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Heidebrecht further discloses each of the plurality of secondary cells comprises: a cathode compartment containing a catholyte fluid (cathode space 11 [0062]); an anode compartment containing a molten metal anode of the plurality of molten metal anodes ([0032]); and an ion-selective membrane positioned between the cathode compartment and the anode compartment and configured to selectively transport metal ions between the cathode compartment and the anode compartment (solid electrolyte 3 [0061]-[0063]).
Regarding claim 23, modified Heidebrecht discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Heidebrecht further discloses the plurality of secondary cells are configured to operate as a molten metal production system by: transporting the metal ions from the cathode compartment, through the ion-selective membrane, to the anode compartment; reducing the metal ions within the anode compartment by combining the metal ions with electrons to produce the molten metal; and discharging the molten metal to the molten metal storage vessel (charging and discharging [0029], [0032], [0036]-[0040]).
Regarding claim 24, modified Heidebrecht discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Heidebrecht further discloses an isolation plate located between adjacent secondary cells of the plurality of secondary cells and configured to electrically isolate the adjacent secondary cells from each other (all components to be enclosed by insulation [0096]).
Regarding claim 25, modified Heidebrecht discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Heidebrecht further discloses a plurality of battery strings electrically connected in series with each other; wherein each battery string of the plurality of battery strings comprises multiple unit cells including one of the plurality of secondary cells one or more additional secondary cells comprising one or more additional molten metal anodes (connect cells in series and connect a plurality of these series in parallel to form modules [0031]).
Regarding claim 26, modified Heidebrecht discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Heidebrecht further discloses the multiple unit cells within each string are electrically connected in parallel with each other; and the molten metal anodes within each string are maintained at substantially equal electrical potentials (connect cells in series and connect a plurality of these series in parallel to form modules [0031]).
Regarding claim 28, Heidebrecht discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. CN110400952A further discloses a molten metal distributor fluidly connected in series between an external molten metal source and the plurality of secondary cells and configured to distribute the molten metal from the external molten metal source to the plurality of molten metal anodes while preventing the electrical shunt current from flowing between the plurality of secondary cells via the molten metal (insulation weeping pipe 1,1-1,1-2, anode feed runner 3 and anode feed back runner 4, wherein anode flow channel injects molten sodium by the first insulation weeping pipe 1-1, see p.4-6, Fig. 4-5).
Regarding claim 29, modified Heidebrecht discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. CN110400952A further discloses the molten metal distributor comprises a molten metal distribution drip feeder configured to: release droplets of the molten metal from an upper portion of the molten metal distributor; and allow the droplets of the molten metal to fall through an electrically insulating fluid within the molten metal distributor into a plurality of electrically isolated compartments located along a lower portion of the molten metal distributor (insulation weeping pipe 1,1-1,1-2 includes tube body with a drip hole 14, lumen 15 made of insulating material, see p.5, Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 30, modified Heidebrecht discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. CN110400952A further discloses the molten metal distributor comprises: a molten metal inlet fluidly connected to the external molten metal source and configured to receive the molten metal into the molten metal distributor from the external molten metal source; a plurality of compartments electrically isolated from each other; and a plurality of molten metal outlets each fluidly connected to a corresponding compartment of the plurality of compartments and configured to deliver the molten metal from the corresponding compartment to a corresponding secondary cell of the plurality of secondary cells (insulation weeping pipe 1,1-1,1-2, anode feed runner 3 and anode feed back runner 4, wherein anode flow channel injects molten sodium by the first insulation weeping pipe 1-1, see p.4-6, Fig. 4-5).
Regarding claim 31, modified Heidebrecht discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. CN110400952A further discloses the molten metal distributor comprises a plurality of electrically isolating fittings coupled to the plurality of molten metal outlets and configured to prevent electrical shunt current from flowing between the plurality of secondary cells via a structure of the molten metal distributor (insulation weeping pipe 1,1-1,1-2 includes tube body with a drip hole 14, lumen 15 made of insulating material, see p.5, Fig. 2).
Claim(s) 15, 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heidebrecht et al. (US 2019/0089014A1) in view of CN110400952A, refer to English machine translation by EPO, as applied to claims 1-3, 5-14, 16-26, 28-31 above, in view of GB2226441A.
Regarding claim 15, Heidebrecht discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. However, Heidebrecht does not further disclose each string of the plurality of strings comprises a plurality of cathodes and a plurality of molten metal anodes arranged in an alternating sequence; and at least one of the plurality of cathodes or the plurality of molten metal anodes is shared by adjacent unit cells of the multiple unit cells.
GB2226441A discloses a high temperature rechargeable electrochemical power storage cell having a molten alkali metal anode, wherein the cell can be a composite cell in which cathode portions between anode portions are shared by the anode portions on opposite sides thereof (see p.1, Fig. 4).
An obviousness determination is not the result of a rigid formula disassociated from the consideration of the facts of a case. Indeed, the common sense of those skilled in the art demonstrates why some combinations would have been obvious where others would not. Leapfrog Enterprises Inc. v. Fisher-Price Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1687 (Fed. Cir. 2007); see also KSR v. Teleflex, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 127 S. Ct. 1727 (2007).
The claim would have been obvious because a particular known technique was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art.
The claim would have been obvious because “a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If the leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense.”
It has been held that choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success is generally within the skill of the art.
Regarding claim 27, Heidebrecht discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. However, Heidebrecht does not further disclose each string of the plurality of strings comprises a plurality of cathodes and a plurality of molten metal anodes arranged in an alternating sequence; and at least one of the plurality of cathodes or the plurality of molten metal anodes is shared by adjacent unit cells of the multiple unit cells.
GB2226441A discloses a high temperature rechargeable electrochemical power storage cell having a molten alkali metal anode, wherein the cell can be a composite cell in which cathode portions between anode portions are shared by the anode portions on opposite sides thereof (see p.1, Fig. 4).
An obviousness determination is not the result of a rigid formula disassociated from the consideration of the facts of a case. Indeed, the common sense of those skilled in the art demonstrates why some combinations would have been obvious where others would not. Leapfrog Enterprises Inc. v. Fisher-Price Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1687 (Fed. Cir. 2007); see also KSR v. Teleflex, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 127 S. Ct. 1727 (2007).
The claim would have been obvious because a particular known technique was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art.
The claim would have been obvious because “a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If the leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense.”
It has been held that choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success is generally within the skill of the art.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 32 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The invention is drawn to a molten metal battery system comprising, among other things, a molten metal aggregator fluidly connected in series between the plurality of secondary cells and the molten storage vessel and configured to deliver the molten metal from the plurality of molten metal anodes to the molten metal storage vessel while preventing electrical shunt current from flowing between the plurality of secondary cells via the molten metal, the molten metal aggregator including at least one splash-prevention member configured to reduce splashing of fluid from inlets of the molten metal aggregator, wherein the molten metal aggregator comprises a top wall and a bottom wall that together define a chamber, multiple inlets extending upwardly from the top wall, and an outlet extending downwardly form the bottom wall, wherein the splash-prevention member is disposed on the bottom wall.
The closest prior art is Heidebrecht et al. (US 2019/0089014A1) in view of CN110400952A, refer to English machine translation by EPO.
Heidebrecht discloses a molten metal battery system comprising a first store for anode material connected to anode space (see Title, Abstract, [0032], Fig. 1-5).
CN110400952A discloses a sodium fuel cell and battery stack comprising an insulation weeping pipe 1,1-1,1-2, anode feed runner 3 and anode feed back runner 4, wherein anode flow channel injects molten sodium by the first insulation weeping pipe 1-1 (see p.4-6, Fig. 4-5). CN110400952A further discloses the insulating drip tube 1 includes a tube body 11 provided with a horizontal partition/diaphragm 13 including flanges, vertical partition 18 (see p.5, Fig. 2). CN110400952A further discloses the weeping pipe is insulated so that the droplets are not electrically conductive with the droplets, and the molten sodium remains electrically insulated under uniform flow (see p.5).
However, Heidebrecht and CN110400952A, alone or in combination, fail to teach, suggest or render obvious the molten metal aggregator comprises a top wall and a bottom wall that together define a chamber, multiple inlets extending upwardly from the top wall, and an outlet extending downwardly form the bottom wall, wherein the splash-prevention member is disposed on the bottom wall.
Further, none of the prior art render obvious or provide motivation for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the closest prior art to arrive at the claimed molten metal aggregate structure.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/7/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to applicant’s arguments directed to Heidebrecht and CN110400952A failing to disclose, teach or suggest new limitations recited in claim 1 (see Remarks filed 8/7/2026 on p.12-13), this is not found to be persuasive because the combination of Heidebrecht in view of CN110400952A teaches limitations recited in claim 1.
Heidebrecht discloses all components are enclosed by insulation, which are provided separately with insulation or joint insulation ([0096]) which satisfies claim limitations directed to electrical isolation of molten metal reservoirs.
CN110400952A discloses a sodium fuel cell and battery stack comprising an insulation weeping pipe 1,1-1,1-2, anode feed runner 3 and anode feed back runner 4, wherein anode flow channel injects molten sodium by the first insulation weeping pipe 1-1 (see p.4-6, Fig. 4-5). CN110400952A further discloses the weeping pipe is insulated so that the droplets are not electrically conductive with the droplets, and the molten sodium remains electrically insulated under uniform flow (see p.5). Thus, CN110400952A satisfies the claimed molten metal distributor.
With respect to applicant’s arguments directed to the combination of Heidebrecht and CN110400952A (see Remarks filed 8/7/2026 on p.13-14), this is not found to be persuasive because the combination does not substitute the isolated reservoirs of Heidebrecht for the insulating trickle tubes of CN110400952A. The combination suggests incorporating insulated weeping pipes for delivering molten metal from a source to the cells because CN110400952A teaches improved safety and performance since each droplet is electrically insulated while maintaining uniform flow (see p.5).
With respect to applicant’s arguments directed to claim 16 (see Remarks filed 8/7/2026 on p.15), this is not found to be persuasive because the rejection of claim 16 relies on a combination of Heidebrecht and CN110400952A, wherein CN110400952A discloses the insulating drip tube 1 includes a tube body 11 provided with a horizontal partition/diaphragm 13 including flanges, vertical partition 18 (see p.5, Fig. 2 of CN110400952A) which satisfy the claimed “at least one splash-prevention member” because they are considered capable of reducing splashing of fluid.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/James Lee/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725 10/27/2026