DETAILED ACTION
Introduction
This is a response to the applicant’s RCE filed on 02/24/2026. Claims 1-10 and 19-32 are currently presented in the instant application. Claims 11-18 are canceled.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8, 19, 22 and 24-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reynolds et al. (US Pub. No.: 2021/0099198, hereinafter, “Reynolds”) in view of Yan et al. (US Patent No.: 12,143,143, hereinafter, “Yan”) and further in view of Gollakota et al. (US Pub. No.: 2019/0116078, hereinafter, “Gollakota”).
Regarding claim 1, Reynolds teaches a satellite backscatter transmitter comprising (see figures 1 and 5, backscatter device 110, transmit the backscatter signal 135 to wireless communication device 120, signal source 100 can be located in satellite, [0042, 0044]):
a first antenna configured to receive a radio frequency satellite signal (see figures 1 and 5, backscatter device 110, receive a radio frequency satellite signal 130 at antenna 115, [0042, 0044]);
a modulator configured to modulate the radio frequency satellite signal to obtain a modulated radio frequency satellite signal (see figures 1-2 and 5, modulator 220, [0042, 0044, 0054]);
a digital logic circuit configured to selectively control the modulator to encode information according to a communication scheme (see figures 1-2 and 5, generator 230, modulator 220, ASK or OOK modulation scheme, select 1 bit or 0 bit, [0042, 0044, 0054, 0069-0071, 0097]); and
the first antenna configured to passively retransmit the modulated radio frequency satellite signal to a receiver (see figures 1-2 and 5, backscatter device 110, antenna 115 transmit the modulated radio frequency satellite signal to a wireless communication device 120, [0042, 0044, 0054, 0069-0071, 0097]).
It should be noticed that Reynolds fails to teach an environmental sensor configured to sense an environment and output environmental sensor readings characterizing the environment; a digital logic circuit configured to selectively control the modulator to encode the environmental sensor readings in the modulated radio frequency signal according to a communication scheme; and configured to passively retransmit the modulated radio frequency signal having the encoded sensor readings to a receiver. However, Yan teaches an environmental sensor configured to sense an environment and output environmental sensor readings characterizing the environment; a digital logic circuit configured to selectively control the modulator to encode the environmental sensor readings in the modulated radio frequency signal according to a communication scheme; and configured to passively retransmit the modulated radio frequency signal having the encoded sensor readings to a receiver (see figures 1-3a, col.15, ln.1-47, ASK, FSK, BPSK scheme, temperature sensor).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Yan into view of Reynolds in order to provide the anti-interference capability of the backscatter device data.
Reynolds and Yan, in combination, fails to teach backscatter device includes first and second antennas. However, Gollakota teaches backscatter device includes first and second antennas (see figures 1-2, backscatter transceiver 120(1) and 120(2), TX 204 antenna, RX 206 antennas).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Gollakota into view of Reynolds and Yan in order to increase data throughput and improve signal reliability.
Regarding claim 19, claim 19 is rejected the same reason of claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 2, Reynolds further teaches modulator comprising a switch (see figure 5, switch 510, [0117]).
Regarding claim 3, after combine, Reynolds further teaches the modulated radio frequency satellite signal (see figure 5, switch 510, [0117]). Yan further teaches the switch configured to switch between the first antenna and an open circuit when encoding the environmental sensor readings in the modulated radio frequency signal (see figure 2, switch 22, sensor, col.15, ln.1-47).
Regarding claim 4, after combine, Reynolds further teaches the switch configured to switch between the first antenna and a short circuit and modulated radio frequency satellite signal (see figure 5, [0052]). Yan teaches the switch configured to encoding the environmental sensor readings in the modulated radio frequency signal.
Regarding claim 5, Reynolds further teaches the communication scheme comprising on-off keying (see [0097]).
Regarding claim 6, Gollakota further teaches the digital logic circuit comprising a microcontroller (see figure 2, microcontroller 230).
Regarding claim 7, after combine, Reynolds teaches backscatter device being the radio frequency satellite signal (see [0044]). Gollakota teaches the microcontroller being powered by the radio frequency signal (see figure 2, energy harvest 210, [0027]).
Regarding claim 8, Reynolds teaches the signal source being powered by solar radiation (see [0046]). Gollakota teaches the microcontroller being powered by the radio frequency signal. It is obvious that the microcontroller being powered by solar radiation.
Regarding claim 22, after combine, Reynolds further teaches passively retransmitting the modulated radio frequency satellite signal comprises directing the retransmitted radio frequency satellite signal toward a receiver located on earth (see 1, (see figures 1-2 and 5, backscatter device 110, antenna 115 transmit the modulated radio frequency satellite signal to a wireless communication device 120, [0042, 0044, 0054, 0069-0071, 0097]). Yan teaches passively retransmitting the modulated radio frequency signal comprises directing the retransmitted radio frequency signal having the encoded environmental sensor readings toward a receiver located on earth (see figures 1-2, sensor, col.15, ln.1-47).
Regarding claim 24, after combine, Reynolds further teaches the modulating comprises varying impedance of a circuit in a transmit chain carrying the radio frequency signal (see [0052). Yan teaches the modulating comprises encoding the environmental sensor readings (see figures 1-2, sensor, col.15, ln.1-47).
Regarding claim 25, after combine, Reynolds further teaches the modulating comprises modulating an amplitude of the radio frequency satellite signal (see figure 5, [0076]). Yan teaches the modulating comprises encoding the environmental sensor readings (see figures 1-2, sensor, col.15, ln.1-47).
Regarding claim 26, after combine, Reynolds further teaches the modulating comprises modulating a frequency of the radio frequency satellite signal (see [0003, 0070]). Yan teaches the modulating comprises encoding the environmental sensor readings (see figures 1-2, sensor, col.15, ln.1-47).
Regarding claim 27, after combine, Reynolds further teaches the modulating comprises modulating phase of the radio frequency satellite signal (see figure 5, [0076]). Yan teaches the modulating comprises encoding the environmental sensor readings (see figures 1-2, sensor, col.15, ln.1-47).
Regarding claim 28, after combine, Reynolds further teaches backscatter satellite signal (see [0044]). Gollakota teaches harvesting radio frequency energy from the radio frequency signal; and powering a transmitting device that performs the passively retransmitting with the harvested radio frequency energy see (figures 1-2, [0026-0027]).
Claim(s) 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reynolds et al. (US Pub. No.: 2021/0099198, hereinafter, “Reynolds”) in view of Yan et al. (US Patent No.: 12,143,143, hereinafter, “Yan”) and further in view of Gollakota et al. (US Pub. No.: 2019/0116078, hereinafter, “Gollakota”) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ibanez-Meier et al. (US Patent No.: 5,946,603, Hereinafter, “Ibanez-Meier”).
Regarding claim 9, Reynolds teaches the first antenna is communication with a particular satellite (see figure 1, antenna 115 and signal source 100, [0044]). Reynolds, Yan and Gollakota, in combination, fails to teach the first antenna being directional and pointed toward a particular satellite. However, Ibanez-Meier teaches the first antenna being directional and pointed toward a particular satellite (see figure 1, satellite 12, terminal 19, col.8, ln.55-57).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Ibanez-Meier into view of Reynolds, Yan and Gollakota and Shen in order to maintain high-quality communication pathways or links.
Regarding claim 10, after combine, Gollakota teaches the second antenna being communication with the receiver (see figures 1-2, backscatter transceiver 120(1) is included TX 204 antenna, RX 206 antenna and transceiver 120(2) is included TX 204 antenna, RX 206 antenna, [0007, 0028). Ibanez-Meier teaches the antenna being directional and pointed toward to satellite. It appears to examiner that arrange the second antenna being directional and pointed toward the receiver would depend more upon the choice of the manufacturer and the choice of engineering, than on any inventive concept.
Claim(s) 20-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reynolds et al. (US Pub. No.: 2021/0099198, hereinafter, “Reynolds”) in view of Yan et al. (US Patent No.: 12,143,143, hereinafter, “Yan”) and further in view of Gollakota et al. (US Pub. No.: 2019/0116078, hereinafter, “Gollakota”) as applied to claim 19 above, and further in view of Yunck et al. (US Pub. No.: 2020/0341152, hereinafter, “Yunck”).
Regarding claim 20, Reynold teaches passively retransmitting the modulated radio frequency satellite signal to receiver (see figure 1). Yan teaches an environmental sensor configured to sense an environment and output environmental sensor readings characterizing the environment; a digital logic circuit configured to selectively control the modulator to encode the environmental sensor readings in the modulated radio frequency signal according to a communication scheme; and configured to passively retransmit the modulated radio frequency signal having the encoded sensor readings to a receiver (see figures 1-3a, col.15, ln.1-47, temperature sensor). Reynolds, Yan and Gollakota, in combination, fails to teach directing the transmitted radio frequency satellite signal back to a particular satellite from which the radio frequency satellite signal was received. However, Yunck teaches backscatter the transmitted radio frequency satellite signal back to a particular satellite from which the radio frequency satellite signal was received (see figure 1, [0008]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Yunck into view of Reynolds, Yan and Gollakota in order to repurposes standard radar for data relay without needing a dedicated, power-hungry transmitter.
Regarding claim 21, after combine, Reynold teaches passively retransmitting the modulated radio frequency satellite signal to receiver (see figure 1). Yan teaches an environmental sensor configured to sense an environment and output environmental sensor readings characterizing the environment; a digital logic circuit configured to selectively control the modulator to encode the environmental sensor readings in the modulated radio frequency signal according to a communication scheme; and configured to passively retransmit the modulated radio frequency signal having the encoded sensor readings to a receiver (see figures 1-3a, col.15, ln.1-47, temperature sensor). Yunck teaches backscatter the transmitted radio frequency satellite signal back to a particular satellite from which the radio frequency satellite signal was received (see figure 1, plurality of satellites 103 and 105, [0008]). It appears to examiner that arrange directing the retransmitted radio frequency satellite signal to a different satellite than the satellite from which the radio frequency satellite signal was received would depend more upon the choice of the manufacturer and the choice of engineering, than on any inventive concept.
Claim(s) 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reynolds et al. (US Pub. No.: 2021/0099198, hereinafter, “Reynolds”) in view of Yan et al. (US Patent No.: 12,143,143, hereinafter, “Yan”) and further in view of Gollakota et al. (US Pub. No.: 2019/0116078, hereinafter, “Gollakota”) as applied to claim 19 above, and further in view of Ogirko (US Pub. No.: 2023/0366946).
Regarding claim 23, Reynolds teaches the modulating comprises selectively impedance routing the radio frequency satellite signal to a short circuit or open circuit (see figure 5, [0052]). Yan teaches an environmental sensor configured to sense an environment and output environmental sensor readings characterizing the environment; a digital logic circuit configured to selectively control the modulator to encode the environmental sensor readings in the modulated radio frequency signal according to a communication scheme; and configured to passively retransmit the modulated radio frequency signal having the encoded sensor readings to a receiver (see figures 1-3a, col.15, ln.1-47, temperature sensor). Reynolds, Yan and Gollakota, in combine, fails to teaches select resistor shunt impedance. However, Ogirko teaches select resistor shunt impedance (see figure 3, resistor shunt 302, [0087]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Ogirko into view of Reynolds, Yan and Gollakota in order to provide an accurate, reliable and cost effective for measuring current across a wide range of application.
Claim(s) 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reynolds et al. (US Pub. No.: 2021/0099198, hereinafter, “Reynolds”) in view of Yan et al. (US Patent No.: 12,143,143, hereinafter, “Yan”) and further in view of Gollakota et al. (US Pub. No.: 2019/0116078, hereinafter, “Gollakota”) as applied to claim 19 above, and further in view of Pandey et al. (US Pub. No.: 2022/0398887, hereinafter, “Pandey”).
Regarding claim 29, Reynolds teaches power harvesting to store the energy in capacitor for transmitting (see [0108]). Reynolds, Yan and Gollakota, in combine, fails to teaches harvesting radio frequency energy from the radio frequency satellite signal using a rectifier to charge a capacitor; and powering a transmitting device that performs the passively retransmitting with the capacitor. However, Pandey teaches harvesting radio frequency energy from the radio frequency satellite signal using a rectifier to charge a capacitor; and powering a transmitting device that performs the passively retransmitting with the capacitor (see figure 3, rectifier 308, capacitor 307, [0061]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Pandey into view of Reynolds, Yan and Gollakota in order to eliminate physical cable, leading to convenience, safety and operational efficiency.
Claim(s) 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reynolds et al. (US Pub. No.: 2021/0099198, hereinafter, “Reynolds”) in view of Yan et al. (US Patent No.: 12,143,143, hereinafter, “Yan”) and Gollakota et al. (US Pub. No.: 2019/0116078, hereinafter, “Gollakota”) and further in view of Lindoff (US Pub. No.: 2024/0348388).
Regarding claim 30, Reynolds teaches a system comprising:
a satellite backscatter transmitter comprising (see figures 1 and 5, backscatter device 110, transmit the backscatter signal 135 to wireless communication device 120, signal source 100 can be located in satellite, [0042, 0044]):
a first antenna configured to receive a radio frequency satellite signal (see figures 1 and 5, backscatter device 110, receive a radio frequency satellite signal 130 at antenna 115, [0042, 0044]);
a modulator configured to modulate the radio frequency satellite signal to obtain a modulated radio frequency satellite signal (see figures 1-2 and 5, modulator 220, [0042, 0044, 0054]);
a digital logic circuit configured to selectively control the modulator to encode information according to a communication scheme (see figures 1-2 and 5, generator 230, modulator 220, ASK or OOK modulation scheme, select 1 bit or 0 bit, [0042, 0044, 0054, 0069-0071, 0097]); and
the first antenna configured to passively retransmit the modulated radio frequency satellite signal to a receiver (see figures 1-2 and 5, backscatter device 110, antenna 115 transmit the modulated radio frequency satellite signal to a wireless communication device 120, [0042, 0044, 0054, 0069-0071, 0097]).
It should be noticed that Reynolds fails to teach an environmental sensor configured to sense an environment and output environmental sensor readings characterizing the environment; a digital logic circuit configured to selectively control the modulator to encode the environmental sensor readings according to a communication scheme; and configured to passively retransmit the modulated radio frequency signal having the encoded sensor readings to a receiver. However, Yan teaches an environmental sensor configured to sense an environment and output environmental sensor readings characterizing the environment; a digital logic circuit configured to selectively control the modulator to encode the environmental sensor readings according to a communication scheme; and configured to passively retransmit the modulated radio frequency signal having the encoded sensor readings to a receiver (see figures 1-3a, col.15, ln.1-47, ASK, FSK, BPSK scheme, temperature sensor).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Yan into view of Reynolds in order to provide the anti-interference capability of the backscatter device data.
Reynolds and Yan, in combination, fails to teach backscatter device includes first and second antennas, backscatter receiver, and the backscatter receiver comprising: a third antenna configured to receive the modulated radio frequency satellite signal from the satellite backscatter transmitter. However, Gollakota teaches backscatter device includes first and second antennas, backscatter receiver, and the backscatter receiver comprising: a third antenna configured to receive the modulated radio frequency satellite signal from the satellite backscatter transmitter (see figures 1-2, backscatter transceiver 120(1) is included TX 204 antenna, RX 206 antenna and transceiver 120(2) is included TX 204 antenna, RX 206 antenna, [0007, 0028).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Gollakota into view of Reynolds and Yan in order to increase data throughput and improve signal reliability.
Reynolds, Yan and Gollakota, in combination, fails to teach a circuit configured to extract the environmental sensor readings from the modulated radio frequency signal. However, Lindoff teaches a circuit configured to extract the environmental sensor readings from the modulated radio frequency signal. (see figure 3b, [0054, 0060]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Lindoff into view of Reynolds, Yan and Gollakota in order to improved operating efficientcy, predictive maintenance and advanced data analytics.
Claim(s) 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reynolds et al. (US Pub. No.: 2021/0099198, hereinafter, “Reynolds”) in view of Yan et al. (US Patent No.: 12,143,143, hereinafter, “Yan”) and Gollakota et al. (US Pub. No.: 2019/0116078, hereinafter, “Gollakota”) and further in view of Lindoff (US Pub. No.: 2024/0348388) as applied to claim 30 above, and further in view of Sharma et al. (US Pub. No.: 2023/0296785, hereinafter, “Sharma”).
Regarding claim 31, Reynolds teaches the first antenna is configured to receive a first radio frequency satellite signal that does not encode the environmental sensor readings and configured to retransmit a second modulated radio frequency satellite signal (see figures 1 and 5, backscatter device 110, receive a radio frequency satellite signal 130 at antenna 115, [0042, 0044]). Yan teaches configured to retransmit a second modulated radio frequency signal that encodes the environmental sensor readings (see figures 1-3a, col.15, ln.1-47, temperature sensor). Gollakota teaches backscatter device includes first and second antennas (see figures 1-2, backscatter transceiver 120(1) and 120(2), TX 204 antenna, RX 206 antennas). Reynolds, Yan, Gollakota and Lindoff, in combination, fails to teach L1-band. However, Shama teaches L1-Band (see [0059]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Shama into view of Reynolds, Yan, Gollakota and Lindoff in order to provide direct-to-device connectivity, enhanced earth observation capabilities with advanced synthetic aperture radar, increased resilience and capacity for critical communication.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 32 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 32, the prior art made of record fails to clearly teach or fairly suggest the feature of receiving the passively retransmitted modulated radio frequency satellite signal at a receiving device; extracting the environmental sensor readings from the passively retransmitted modulated radio frequency satellite signal; andsending the environmental sensor readings that characterize the environment at the location on earth over a computer network to a client device having a client application configured to process the environmental sensor readings.
Conclusion
/TUAN PHAM/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2649