DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 and 10-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Frick et al (WO 2020/214383 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Frick discloses a battery module (Fig. 7 #40; paragraph [090]) comprising: a plurality of battery cells having two opposite ends (electrochemical cells; Fig. 7 #200; paragraph [089]); a first busbar assembly (Fig. 7 #130; paragraph [107]) comprising at least a first busbar (electrically conductive substrate; paragraph [107]) coupled with a first busbar frame (insulation layer; paragraph [107]), and a second busbar assembly (Fig. 7 #130; paragraph [107]) comprising at least a second busbar (electrically conductive substrate; paragraph [107]) coupled with a second busbar frame configured to electrically couple the battery cells (insulation layer; paragraph [107]); and a main frame having side walls forming a housing (frame #50 including a cover plate #52, base plate #54, first end cap #56 and a second end cap #58 in Fig. 7; paragraph [098]) and a middle wall inside the housing dividing an inner space of the housing in a vertical direction to a first and a second section (center wall dividing the space into a left space and a right space in Fig. 7; Fig. 7 #60; paragraph [098]), wherein the middle wall comprises a plurality of holes for receiving the battery cells such that one end of each battery cell is in the first section and another end is in the second section (center wall #60 has two holes and grooves for holding the cells; Fig. 12 #60; paragraph [098]), and wherein the middle wall is substantially in the middle of the battery cells in the vertical direction supporting the battery cells substantially from the middle (center wall #60 arranged in the vertical direction; paragraph [098]), and wherein the middle wall further comprises a plurality fastening members for fastening the first busbar assembly to the main frame in the first section (center wall #60 in Fig. 14 has connections to the busbar assemblies #130; paragraph [102]) and the second busbar assembly to the main frame in the second section such that the battery cells are arranged between the first and the second busbar assemblies which couple the battery cells to the battery module (center wall #60 in Fig. 14 has connections to the busbar assemblies #130; paragraph [102]).
Regarding claim 2, Frick discloses the battery module of claim 1 as noted above and Frick discloses the battery module comprising the main frame comprises a first conduit in vicinity of a first end of the frame for leading a heat transfer substance into the battery module (inlet flow diverters #540 diverting fluid to fluid passageways of battery module; paragraph [145]) and a second conduit in vicinity of a second end of the frame for leading the heat transfer substance out of the battery module (outlet flow diverters #640 diverting fluid collected from fluid passageways of battery module; paragraph [146]).
Regarding claim 3, Frick discloses the battery module of claim 2 as noted above and Frick discloses the battery module comprising the first conduit comprises one or more inlets for leading the heat transfer substance into the first and/or the second section of the frame (inlet flow diverters #540 diverting fluid to fluid passageways of battery module; paragraph [145]) and the second conduit comprises one or more outlets for leading the heat transfer substance out of the first and/or second section of the frame (outlet flow diverters #640 diverting fluid collected from fluid passageways of battery module; paragraph [146]).
Regarding claim 4, Frick discloses the battery module of claim 2 as noted above and Frick discloses the battery module comprising the first and/or the second busbar frame comprises at least one groove in vicinity of the ends of the battery cells configured to enable access of the heat transfer substance to the ends of the battery cells (inner surface of first wall portion and inner surface of second wall portion comprising grooves serving as fluid passageways for the battery module; paragraph [0127]).
The grooves #98 disclosed in Fig. 33 are located at the end of the electrochemical cells #200.
Regarding claim 5, Frick discloses the battery module of claim 4 as noted above and Frick discloses the battery module comprising the groove forms a channel network in the busbar frame to enable access of the heat transfer substance to a plurality of the ends of the battery cells (inner surface of first wall portion and inner surface of second wall portion comprising grooves serving as fluid passageways for the battery module; paragraph [0127]).
The grooves #98 disclosed in Figs. 31-32 provide a network providing fluid to the ends of the electrochemical cells #200.
Regarding claim 6, Frick discloses the battery module of claim 1 as noted above and Frick discloses the battery module comprising the first busbar frame is arranged between the first busbar and the battery cells (bus bar assembly #130 having insulation layer on cell terminal facing side of electrically conductive substrate; paragraph [107]), and the second busbar frame is arranged between the second busbar and the battery cells (opposing bus bar assembly #130 having insulation layer on cell terminal facing side of electrically conductive substrate; paragraph [107]).
Regarding claim 7, Frick discloses the battery module of claim 1 as noted above and Frick discloses the battery module comprising a gap between the first busbar assembly and the middle wall in the first section (gap between bus bar assembly in Figs. 19-20 where center wall #60 is located; paragraphs [042]-[043]) and between the second busbar assembly and the middle wall in the second section of the frame (gap between bus bar assembly in Figs. 19-20 where center wall #60 is located; paragraphs [042]-[043]).
Regarding claim 8, Frick discloses the battery module of claim 1 as noted above and Frick discloses the battery module comprising a gap between the adjacent battery cells arranged between the first and the second busbar assemblies (gap between electrochemical cells #200 and insulation layer #180 in Fig. 33; paragraph [107]).
Regarding claim 10, Frick discloses the battery module of claim 1 as noted above and Frick discloses the battery module comprising a first edge of the side walls of the main frame comprises a first locking element (retaining bars #28 in Fig. 35 cooperating with first grooves #76 of first and second end caps #56 and #58; paragraph [133]) and a second edge of the side walls of the main frame comprises a second locking element (opening of barriers #118; paragraph [133]) and wherein the second locking element is configured to receive the first locking element (retaining bars #28 in Fig. 35 cooperating with first grooves #76 of first and second end caps #56 and #58 and passing through opening of barriers #118 to retain the battery modules within cassette housing; paragraph [133]).
Regarding claim 11, Frick discloses the battery module of claim 1 as noted above and Frick discloses the battery module comprising the middle wall is substantially in the middle of the housing in a vertical direction (center wall #60 in Fig. 12 in the middle and in the vertical direction; paragraph [098]).
Regarding claim 12, Frick discloses the battery module of claim 1 as noted above and Frick discloses the battery module comprising side walls comprise one or more fastening members for coupling a plurality of the battery modules together (retaining bars #28 in Fig. 35 cooperating with first grooves #76 of first and second end caps #56 and #58 and passing through opening of barriers #118 to retain the battery modules within cassette housing; paragraph [133])
Regarding claim 13, Frick discloses a battery pack comprising a plurality of battery modules (battery pack including twelve or more battery modules; paragraph [091]).
Regarding claim 14, Frick discloses the battery pack of claim 13 as noted above and Frick discloses the battery pack comprising a plurality of the battery modules is stacked one on the other wherein a top and a bottom module comprises a cover (battery pack 1 in Figs. 1-7 comprises cassettes #20 each comprising three stacked battery modules stacked; paragraph [091]).
Regarding claim 15, Frick discloses the battery pack of claim 13 as noted above and Frick discloses the battery pack comprising the cover of the top or the bottom module comprises an inlet connector (inlet flow diverter diverting fluid to battery modules in each cassette; paragraph [145]) and an outlet connector for leading a heat transfer substance out of a first and a second conduit of a main frame of the battery module (outlet flow diverter collecting fluid from spacer in each battery module; paragraph [146]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frick et al (WO 2020/214383 A1) in view of Harris III (US 10,186,697 B1).
Regarding claim 9, Frick discloses the battery module of claim 1 as noted above.
Frick does not disclose the battery module comprising at least part of the fastening members of the middle wall comprises at least one guiding wall configured to guide a flow of the heat transfer substance inside the battery module.
However, Harris III discloses a battery module comprising at least part of the fastening members of the middle wall comprises at least one guiding wall configured to guide a flow of the heat transfer substance inside the battery module (bus bar #136 separating same set of modular clips and modular clips #304 comprising cooling paths; col. 7, lines 21-31 and col. 10, lines 45-67).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the battery module of Frick to include the modular clips comprising cooling paths of Harris III for the because having modular clips with cooling paths provides optimal battery temperature due to cooling battery cells to prevent overheating and warming battery cells in a cold environment (col. 10, lines 45-67 of Harris III).
Conclusion
/SATHAVARAM I REDDY/Examiner, Art Unit 1785