DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is responsive to the amendment filed on 06/26/2026. As directed by the amendment: claims 1 and 9 have been amended, claims 15-18 have been cancelled and claims 19-24 have been added. Thus, claims 1-14 and 19-24 are presently pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 8-9, filed 06/26/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 and 9 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frazier et al (US 20040215230 A1), herein referenced to as “Frazier” in view of Armstrong (US 20060015171 A1), herein referenced to as “Armstrong” have been fully considered and are persuasive.
The applicant amended claims 1 and 9 to further recite “the reinforcement textile extending with polymeric fibers”.
The examiner agrees that the combination of Frazier and Armstrong does not explicitly teach the amended claim language. The examiner additionally agrees with the applicant’s assessment that the proposed combination of Frazier and Armstrong to modify the outer sheet of Frazier with that of Armstrong would render Frazier inoperable as the windows 256 in Frazier would become covered in such a way that they would no longer promote cellular growth.
Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Armstrong in view of Anderson et al (US 20190374229 A1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 7, 9, 11-13, and 19-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Armstrong (US 20060015171 A1), herein referenced to as “Armstrong” in view of Anderson et al (US 20190374229 A1), herein referenced to as “Anderson”.
Claim 1
Armstrong discloses: A medical device system 10 + 12 + 18 (see Figs. 1-1B and 3A-3B, [0065]), the medical device system 10 + 12 + 18 comprising: a delivery system 10 + 18 including a handle a handle or knob (see [0005]) and a catheter 16 (see Figs. 1A-1B and 3A-3B, [0065]); and an implant 12 (see Figs. 1A-1B and 3A-3B, [0065]) removably coupled to the catheter 16 (see [0065]), the implant 12 including a framework 12a (see Figs. 1A-1B and 3A-3B, [0068]) and a tissue growth member 11 + 12b + 12c (see Figs. 3A-3B, [0069]), the tissue growth member 11 + 12b + 12c including: an inner sheet 12c (see Figs. 3A-3B, [0068]) positioned along an inner side the inner side of 12a (see Figs. 3A-3B, [0068]) of the framework 12 and an outer sheet 11 (see Figs. 3A-3B, [0069]) positioned along an outer side the outer side of 12a (see Figs. 3A-3B, [0069]) of the framework 12; and a reinforcement textile 12b (see Figs. 3A-3B, [0068]-[0069], 12b is between 11 and 12c, see also [0016], covering is made of ePTFE, which is disclosed by the applicant is a reinforcement textile, see [0035] of applicant’s patent application publication) positioned between the inner 12c and outer sheets 11 to define a texture (see annotated Fig. 3A below) along an outer surface of the tissue growth member 12b; wherein the outer sheet 11 is formed against the reinforcement textile 12b so as to follow contours (see annotated Fig. 3A below) of the reinforcement textile 12b, the outer sheet 11 formed against the contours (see annotated Fig. 3A below) of the reinforcement textile 12b to define outer sheet contours (see annotated Fig. 3A below) along the outer surface the outer surface of 11 (see annotated Fig. 3A below) of the outer sheet 11 that follow the contours (see annotated Fig. 3A below) of the reinforcement textile 12b, the outer sheet contours (see annotated Fig. 3A below) extending to define recesses (see annotated Fig. 3A below) in the outer surface, the recesses (see annotated Fig. 3A below) forming the texture (see annotated Fig. 3A below) in the outer surface (see annotated Fig. 3A below).
The preamble, " configured to occlude an opening in a heart," merely recites intended uses of the apparatus. The claim, however, is an apparatus claim, and is to be limited by structural limitations. The Office submits that the device of Armstrong meets the structural limitations of the claim, and is capable of being used to occlude an opening in a heart, via the endoprosthesis, which can be a grafted occluder (see [0015]) which can occlude an opening in a heart such as the left atrial appendage ostium or a septal defect.
Furthermore, wherein in product and apparatus claims, when the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). "When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Therefore, the prima facie case can be rebutted by evidence showing that the prior art products do not necessarily possess the characteristics of the claimed product. In re Best, 562 F.2d at 1255, 195 USPQ at 433. See MPEP 2112.01 I.
Armstrong does not explicitly disclose: the reinforcement textile extending with polymeric fibers.
However, in a similar field of invention Anderson teaches a medical device 310 (see Fig. 5) with a framework 312 (see Fig. 5) with a reinforcement textile 314 + 315 + 317 (see Fig. 5, [0081], occlusive member, [0075], in the embodiments the occlusive member is a fabric, which the applicant describes as a reinforcement textile [0035] of applicant’s patent application publication) positioned over the framework 312 (see Fig. 5, [0082]). Anderson further teaches: the reinforcement textile 314 extending with polymeric fibers 315 + 317 (see Fig. 5, [0082] and [0123], textile materials/fibers that make up 315 + 317 include polymers, including thermoplastic polymers).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Armstrong to incorporate the teachings of Anderson and teach a medical device system with the reinforcement textile extending with polymeric fibers. Motivation for such can be found in Anderson as a blend of inelastic and elastic polymeric fibers to maintain tension of the textile over the framework as the size of the framework changes with expansion or contraction (see [0083]).
Claim 2
The combination of Armstrong and Anderson teaches: The medical device system of claim 1, see 103 rejection above. Anderson further teaches: wherein the reinforcement textile 314 + 315 + 317 extends with longitudinal structures 315 (see Fig. 5, [0082]) and lateral structures 317 (see Fig. 5, [0082]), each one of the lateral structures 317 extending transverse relative to each one of the longitudinal structures 315 (see Fig. 5).
Claim 3
The combination of Armstrong and Anderson teaches: The medical device system of claim 1, see 103 rejection above. Anderson further teaches: wherein the reinforcement textile 314 + 315 + 317 extends with longitudinal structures 315 (see Fig. 5, [0082]) and lateral structures 317 (see Fig. 5, [0082]), each one of the longitudinal structures 315 being spaced relative (see Fig. 5) to adjacently extending ones of the longitudinal structures 315, each one of the lateral structures 317 being spaced relative (see Fig. 5) to adjacently extending ones of the lateral structures 317.
Claim 4
The combination of Armstrong and Anderson teaches: The medical device system of claim 1, see 103 rejection above. Anderson further teaches: wherein the reinforcement textile 314 + 315 + 317 extends with longitudinal structures 315 (see Fig. 5, [0082]) and lateral structures 317 (see Fig. 5, [0082]), the longitudinal structures 315 positioned over the framework 312 to extend radially outward from a proximal hub proximal hub of 312 (see Fig. 5) of the framework 312 toward a distal end distal end of 312 (see Fig. 5) of the framework 312, the lateral structures 317 positioned over the framework 312 to extend transverse (see Fig. 5, 317 extending transversely relatively to 315) relative to the longitudinal structures 315.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Armstrong to incorporate the teachings of Anderson and teach a medical device system with the longitudinal structures are positioned over the framework to extend radially from a proximal hub of the framework to a distal of the framework. Motivation for such can be found in Anderson as allows the device to occlude a left atrial appendage from the heart to prevent thrombi from the appendage from entering the blood stream (see [0062]).
Claim 6
The combination of Armstrong and Anderson teaches: The medical device system of claim 1, see 103 rejection above. Armstrong further discloses: wherein the recesses (see annotated Fig. 3A below claim 1) are sized and configured to promote endothelialization (see [0017], the ePTFE outer sheet can allow for almost immediate tissue ingrowth) along the outer surface of the tissue growth member.
Claim 7
The combination of Armstrong and Anderson teaches: The medical device system of claim 1, see 103 rejection above. Armstrong further discloses: wherein the reinforcement textile 12b and the outer sheet 11 comprise a laminated structure (see [0100], the process of heating and compositing the layers of materials forms a laminated structure as known in the art), the laminated structure 12b + 11 extending with the texture (see annotated Fig. 3a below claim 1) along the outer surface of the tissue growth member 11 + 12b + 12c.
Claim 9
Armstrong discloses: A medical device 10 + 12 (see Figs. 1-1B and 3A-3B, [0065]) configured to be percutaneously delivered with a delivery system 18 (see Figs. 1-1B and 3A-3B, [0065]), the medical device 10 + 12 comprising: a framework 12a (see Figs. 1A-1B and 3A-3B, [0068]); and a tissue growth member 11 + 12b + 12c (see Figs. 3A-3B, [0069]) attached to the framework 12a, the tissue growth member 11 + 12b + 12c including an outer polymeric sheet 11 (see Figs. 3A-3B, [0069], [0016], ePTFE, which is a polymer), and a reinforcement textile 12b (see Figs. 3A-3B, [0068]-[0069], 12b is between 11 and 12c, see also [0016], covering is made of ePTFE, which is disclosed by the applicant is a reinforcement textile, see [0035] of applicant’s patent application publication), the reinforcement textile 12b extending so as to define longitudinal structures and lateral structures (12b extends over 12a to follow the contours of 12a, which as shown in annotated Fig. 1B below, constitutes longitudinal and lateral structures to form contours as shown in the cross-section in Figs. 3A-3B), the longitudinal structures radially spaced from each other (see annotated Fig. 1B below, adjacent longitudinal structures are spaced from one another, as formed over 12a), the lateral structures spaced from each other (see annotated Fig. 1B below) and positioned laterally relative to the longitudinal structures (see annotated Fig. 1B below) to each extend radially (see annotated Fig. 1B below) around a circumference the circumference of 12a of the radially extending framework 12a (see annotated Fig. 1B below), the outer polymeric sheet 11 positioned over the reinforcement textile 12b so that the longitudinal structures (see annotated Fig. 1B and 3A below) and the lateral structures (see annotated Fig. 1B and 3A below, combined the lateral structures form the radially extended contours and the spaces between form the recesses) define a texture along an outer surface the outer surface of 11 + 12b + 12c (see Fig. 1B and 3A) of the tissue growth member; wherein the outer polymeric sheet 11 is formed against the reinforcement textile 12b so as to follow contours (see Fig. 3A, 11 is formed against 12a + 12b to follow the contours of the longitudinal and lateral structures defined by 12a) of the longitudinal and lateral structures, the outer sheet 11 formed against the contours of the reinforcement textile to define outer sheet contours (see annotated Fig. 3A below) the outer surface of the outer sheet (see annotated Fig. 3A below) that follow the contours of the longitudinal and lateral structures (see annotated Fig. 3A below) of the reinforcement textile 12b, the outer sheet contours (see annotated Fig. 3A below) extending to define recesses (see annotated Fig. 3A below) in the outer surface, the recesses (see annotated Fig. 3A below) forming the texture in the outer surface (see annotated Fig. 3A below).
The preamble, " to occlude an opening in a heart," merely recites intended uses of the apparatus. The claim, however, is an apparatus claim, and is to be limited by structural limitations. The Office submits that the device of Armstrong meets the structural limitations of the claim, and is capable of being used to occlude an opening in a heart, via the endoprosthesis, which can be a grafted occluder (see [0015]) which can occlude an opening in a heart such as the left atrial appendage ostium or a septal defect.
Furthermore, wherein in product and apparatus claims, when the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). "When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Therefore, the prima facie case can be rebutted by evidence showing that the prior art products do not necessarily possess the characteristics of the claimed product. In re Best, 562 F.2d at 1255, 195 USPQ at 433. See MPEP 2112.01 I.
Armstrong does not explicitly disclose: the framework extending radially outward from a proximal hub to a distal side of the framework; the reinforcement textile extending with polymeric fibers and each extending over the framework from the proximal hub toward the distal side of the framework.
However, in a similar field of invention Anderson teaches a medical device 310 (see Fig. 5) with a framework 312 (see Fig. 5) with a reinforcement textile 314 + 315 + 317 (see Fig. 5, [0081], occlusive member, [0075], in the embodiments the occlusive member is a fabric, which the applicant describes as a reinforcement textile [0035] of applicant’s patent application publication) positioned over the framework 312 (see Fig. 5, [0082]). Anderson further teaches: the framework extending radially outward proximal hub of 312 (see Fig. 5) from a proximal hub proximal hub of 312 (see Fig. 5) to a distal side the distal side of 312 (see Fig. 5) of the framework; the reinforcement textile 314 extending with polymeric fibers 315 + 317 (see Fig. 5, [0082] and [0123], textile materials/fibers that make up 315 + 317 include polymers, including thermoplastic polymers) and each extending over the framework 312 from the proximal hub the proximal hub of 312 (see Fig. 5) toward the distal side the distal side of 312 (see Fig. 5) of the framework 312.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Armstrong to incorporate the teachings of Anderson and teach a medical device system with the framework extending radially outward from a proximal hub to a distal side of the framework. Motivation for such can be found in Anderson as allows the device to occlude a left atrial appendage from the heart to prevent thrombi from the appendage from entering the blood stream (see [0062]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Armstrong to incorporate the teachings of Anderson and teach a medical device system with the reinforcement textile extending with polymeric fibers and each extending over the framework from the proximal hub toward the distal side of the framework. Motivation for such can be found in Anderson as a blend of inelastic and elastic polymeric fibers to maintain tension of the textile over the framework as the size of the framework changes with expansion or contraction (see [0083]).
Claim 11
The combination of Armstrong and Anderson teaches: The medical device of claim 9, see 103 rejection above. Armstrong further discloses: wherein the recesses (see annotated Fig. 3A below claim 19) are sized and configured to promote endothelialization (see [0017], the ePTFE outer sheet can allow for almost immediate tissue ingrowth) along the outer surface of the tissue growth member.
Claim 12
The combination of Armstrong and Anderson teaches: The medical device of claim 9, see 103 rejection above. Armstrong further discloses: wherein the reinforcement textile 12b and the outer sheet 11 comprise a laminated structure (see [0100], the process of heating and compositing the layers of materials forms a laminated structure as known in the art), the laminated structure 12b + 11 extending with the texture (see annotated Fig. 3a below claim 1) along the outer surface of the tissue growth member 11 + 12b + 12c.
Claim 13
The combination of Armstrong and Anderson teaches: The medical device of claim 9, see 103 rejection above. Armstrong further discloses: wherein the tissue growth member 11 + 12b + 12c comprises an inner polymeric sheet 12c (see Figs. 3A-3B, [0068], see [0016], ePTFE), the inner polymeric sheet 12c positioned along an inner side the inner side of 12a (see Fig. 3A, 12C is placed on the inner side of 12a of the framework 12a.
Claim 19
Armstrong discloses: A medical device system 10 + 12 + 18 (see Figs. 1-1B and 3A-3B, [0065]), the medical device system 10 + 12 + 18 comprising: a delivery system 10 + 18 including a handle a handle or knob (see [0005]) and a catheter 16 (see Figs. 1A-1B and 3A-3B, [0065]); and an implant 12 (see Figs. 1A-1B and 3A-3B, [0065]) removably coupled to the catheter 16 (see [0065]), the implant 12 including a framework 12a (see Figs. 1A-1B and 3A-3B, [0068]) and a tissue growth member 11 + 12b + 12c (see Figs. 3A-3B, [0069]), the tissue growth member 11 + 12b + 12c including: an inner sheet 12c (see Figs. 3A-3B, [0068]) positioned along an inner side the inner side of 12a (see Figs. 3A-3B, [0068]) of the framework 12 and an outer sheet 11 (see Figs. 3A-3B, [0069]) positioned along an outer side the outer side of 12a (see Figs. 3A-3B, [0069]) of the framework 12; and a reinforcement textile 12b (see Figs. 3A-3B, [0068]-[0069], 12b is between 11 and 12c, see also [0016], covering is made of ePTFE, which is disclosed by the applicant is a reinforcement textile, see [0035] of applicant’s patent application publication) positioned between the inner 12c and outer sheets 11 to define a texture (see annotated Fig. 3A below) along an outer surface of the tissue growth member 12b; wherein the outer sheet 11 is formed against the reinforcement textile 12b so as to follow contours (see annotated Fig. 3A below) of the reinforcement textile 12b, the outer sheet 11 formed against the contours (see annotated Fig. 3A below) of the reinforcement textile 12b to define outer sheet contours (see annotated Fig. 3A below) along the outer surface the outer surface of 11 (see annotated Fig. 3A below) of the outer sheet 11 that follow the contours (see annotated Fig. 3A below) of the reinforcement textile 12b, the outer sheet contours (see annotated Fig. 3A below) extending to define recesses (see annotated Fig. 3A below) in the outer surface, the recesses (see annotated Fig. 3A below) forming the texture (see annotated Fig. 3A below) in the outer surface (see annotated Fig. 3A below).
The preamble, " configured to occlude an opening in a heart," merely recites intended uses of the apparatus. The claim, however, is an apparatus claim, and is to be limited by structural limitations. The Office submits that the device of Armstrong meets the structural limitations of the claim, and is capable of being used to occlude an opening in a heart, via the endoprosthesis, which can be a grafted occluder (see [0015]) which can occlude an opening in a heart such as the left atrial appendage ostium or a septal defect.
Furthermore, wherein in product and apparatus claims, when the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). "When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Therefore, the prima facie case can be rebutted by evidence showing that the prior art products do not necessarily possess the characteristics of the claimed product. In re Best, 562 F.2d at 1255, 195 USPQ at 433. See MPEP 2112.01 I.
Armstrong does not explicitly disclose: the reinforcement textile extending with multiple natural fibers.
However, in a similar field of invention Anderson teaches a medical device 310 (see Fig. 5) with a framework 312 (see Fig. 5) with a reinforcement textile 314 + 315 + 317 (see Fig. 5, [0081], occlusive member, [0075], in the embodiments the occlusive member is a fabric, which the applicant describes as a reinforcement textile [0035] of applicant’s patent application publication) positioned over the framework 312 (see Fig. 5, [0082]). Anderson further teaches: the reinforcement textile 314 extending with polymeric fibers 315 + 317 (see Fig. 5, [0082] and [0123], textile materials/fibers that make up 315 + 317 include natural silk).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Armstrong to incorporate the teachings of Anderson and teach a medical device system with the reinforcement textile extending with natural silk. Motivation for such can be found in Anderson as a blend of inelastic and elastic fibers, including some natural fibers such as natural silk, to maintain tension of the textile over the framework as the size of the framework changes with expansion or contraction (see [0083]).
Claim 20
The combination of Armstrong and Anderson teaches: The medical device system of claim 19, see 103 rejection above. Anderson further teaches: wherein the reinforcement textile 314 + 315 + 317 extends with longitudinal structures 315 (see Fig. 5, [0082]) and lateral structures 317 (see Fig. 5, [0082]), each one of the lateral structures 317 extending transverse relative to each one of the longitudinal structures 315 (see Fig. 5).
Claim 21
The combination of Armstrong and Anderson teaches: The medical device system of claim 19, see 103 rejection above. Anderson further teaches: wherein the reinforcement textile 314 + 315 + 317 extends with longitudinal structures 315 (see Fig. 5, [0082]) and lateral structures 317 (see Fig. 5, [0082]), each one of the longitudinal structures 315 being spaced relative (see Fig. 5) to adjacently extending ones of the longitudinal structures 315, each one of the lateral structures 317 being spaced relative (see Fig. 5) to adjacently extending ones of the lateral structures 317.
Claim 22
The combination of Armstrong and Anderson teaches: The medical device system of claim 19, see 103 rejection above. Armstrong further discloses: wherein the recesses (see annotated Fig. 3A below claim 19) are sized and configured to promote endothelialization (see [0017], the ePTFE outer sheet can allow for almost immediate tissue ingrowth) along the outer surface of the tissue growth member.
Claim 23
The combination of Armstrong and Anderson teaches: The medical device system of claim 19, see 103 rejection above. Armstrong further discloses: wherein the reinforcement textile 12b and the outer sheet 11 comprise a laminated structure (see [0100], the process of heating and compositing the layers of materials forms a laminated structure as known in the art), the laminated structure 12b + 11 extending with the texture (see annotated Fig. 3a below claim 1) along the outer surface of the tissue growth member 11 + 12b + 12c.
Claim(s) 5 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Armstrong in view Anderson as applied to claim 1 and claim 9 respectively above, and further in view of of Burke et al (US 20050033409 A1), herein referenced to as “Burke”.
Claim 5
The combination of Armstrong and Anderson teaches: The medical device system of claim 1, see 103 rejection above. Anderson further teaches: wherein the reinforcement textile 314 + 315 + 317 extends with longitudinal structures 315 (see Fig. 5, [0082]) and lateral structures 317 (see Fig. 5, [0082]).
The combination of Armstrong and Armstrong does not explicitly teach: each one of the longitudinal structures extending over and under different ones of the lateral structures, each one of the lateral structures extending over and under different ones of the longitudinal structures.
However, Burke in a similar field of invention teaches an aneurysm treatment/occlusion device (see Figs. 5b and 5c) with a reinforcement material 27 (see Figs. 5b-5c) and longitudinal structures longitudinal ones of 24 (see Figs. 5b-5c) and lateral structures lateral ones of 24 (see Figs. 5b-5c). Burke further teaches: each one of the longitudinal structures longitudinal ones of 24 (see Figs. 5b-5c, the longitudinal structures are interwoven with the lateral structures in an over-under pattern that is typical of meshes , see also [0073]) extending over and under different ones of the lateral structures lateral ones of 24 (see Figs. 5b-5c), each one of the lateral structures lateral ones of 24 (see Figs. 5b-5c) extending over and under different ones of the longitudinal structures longitudinal ones of 24 (see Figs. 5b-5c).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combined longitudinal and lateral structures of Armstrong and Anderson to incorporate the teachings of Burke and teach a medical device system with the reinforcement textile having each one of the longitudinal structures extending over and under different ones of the lateral structures, each one of the lateral structures extending over and under different ones of the longitudinal structures. Motivation for such can be found in Burke as these interlocking members form a structure that is structurally capable of supporting vascular tissue (see [0013] and [0082]).
Claim 10
The combination of Armstrong and Anderson teaches: The medical device of claim 9, see 103 rejection above.
The combination of Armstrong and Anderson does not explicitly teach: wherein each one of the longitudinal structures extend over and under different ones of the lateral structures, and wherein each one of the lateral structures extend over and under different ones of the longitudinal structures.
However, Burke in a similar field of invention teaches an aneurysm treatment/occlusion device (see Figs. 5b and 5c) with a reinforcement material 27 (see Figs. 5b-5c) and longitudinal structures longitudinal ones of 24 (see Figs. 5b-5c) and lateral structures lateral ones of 24 (see Figs. 5b-5c). Burke further teaches: wherein each one of the longitudinal structures longitudinal ones of 24 (see Figs. 5b-5c, the longitudinal structures are interwoven with the lateral structures in an over-under pattern that is typical of meshes , see also [0073]) extend over and under different ones of the lateral structures lateral ones of 24 (see Figs. 5b-5c), and wherein each one of the lateral structures lateral ones of 24 (see Figs. 5b-5c) extend over and under different ones of the longitudinal structures longitudinal ones of 24 (see Figs. 5b-5c).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combined longitudinal and lateral structures of Armstrong and Anderson to incorporate the teachings of Burke and teach a medical device system with the reinforcement textile having each one of the longitudinal structures extend over and under different ones of the lateral structures, and wherein each one of the lateral structures extend over and under different ones of the longitudinal structures. Motivation for such can be found in Burke as these interlocking members form a structure that is structurally capable of supporting vascular tissue (see [0013] and [0082]).
Claim(s) 8, 14, and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Armstrong in view of Anderson as applied to claim 1 and claim 9 respectively above, in further view of Quick et al (US 20140005714 A1), herein referenced to as “Quick”.
Claim 8
The combination of Armstrong and Anderson teaches: The medical device system of claim 1, see 103 rejection above.
The combination of Armstrong and Anderson does not explicitly teach: wherein the tissue growth member comprises an intermediate sheet, the intermediate sheet positioned along the outer side of the framework and below the reinforcement textile.
However, Quick in a similar field of invention teaches an implant for the LAA (see Fig. 5M) with a framework 90 (see Fig. 5M, [0064], meets the interpretation of a framework as a structural braid is the scaffold or structure that defines the shape of the rest of the device), a tissue growth member 86 + 88 (see Fig. 5M) a reinforcement textile 86 (see Fig. 5M, [0064], meets the definition of a reinforcement textile as it is a braided/woven structure, see [0095]). Quick further teaches: wherein the tissue growth member 86 + 88 comprises an intermediate sheet 88 (see Fig. 5M, [0064], meets the definition of an intermediate sheet being between 86 and 90), the intermediate sheet 86 positioned along the outer side outer side of 90 of the framework 88 and below the reinforcement textile 86.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Armstrong to incorporate the teachings of Quick and teach a medical device system wherein the tissue growth member comprises an intermediate sheet, the intermediate sheet positioned along the outer side of the framework and below the reinforcement textile. Motivation for such can be found in Quick as this allows for a greater variety of pore sizes that allow to meet mixed factors that are determined by pore size including sufficient radial stiffness for stability, limited pore size for rapid promotion of hemostasis leading to occlusion, and a collapsed profile which is small enough to allow insertion through an inner lumen of a vascular catheter (see [0095]).
Claim 14
The combination of Armstrong and Anderson teaches: The medical device system of claim 1, see 103 rejection above. Armstrong further discloses: wherein the tissue growth member 11 + 12b + 12c comprises an inner polymeric sheet 12c (see Figs. 3A-3B, [0068], see [0016], ePTFE).
The combination of Armstrong and Anderson does not explicitly teach: wherein the tissue growth member comprises an intermediate sheet, the intermediate sheet positioned along the outer side of the framework and below the reinforcement textile.
However, Quick in a similar field of invention teaches an implant for the LAA (see Fig. 5M) with a framework 90 (see Fig. 5M, [0064], meets the interpretation of a framework as a structural braid is the scaffold or structure that defines the shape of the rest of the device), a tissue growth member 86 + 88 (see Fig. 5M) a reinforcement textile 86 (see Fig. 5M, [0064], meets the definition of a reinforcement textile as it is a braided/woven structure, see [0095]). Quick further teaches: wherein the tissue growth member 86 + 88 comprises an intermediate polymeric sheet 88 (see Fig. 5M, [0064], meets the definition of an intermediate sheet being between 86 and 90, see [0086], the lattice can be made of a polymer), the intermediate sheet 86 positioned along the outer side outer side of 90 of the framework 88 and below the reinforcement textile 86.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Armstrong to incorporate the teachings of Quick and teach a medical device system wherein the tissue growth member comprises an intermediate sheet, the intermediate sheet positioned along the outer side of the framework and below the reinforcement textile. Motivation for such can be found in Quick as this allows for a greater variety of pore sizes that allow to meet mixed factors that are determined by pore size including sufficient radial stiffness for stability, limited pore size for rapid promotion of hemostasis leading to occlusion, and a collapsed profile which is small enough to allow insertion through an inner lumen of a vascular catheter (see [0095]).
The combination of Armstrong and Quick further teaches: the intermediate polymeric sheet and the outer polymeric sheet positioned along opposite sides of the reinforcement textile (Armstrong as modified with Quick places the intermediate polymeric sheet underneath the reinforcement textile, while the outer polymeric sheet remains above the reinforcement textile, hence they are on opposite sides).
Claim 24
The combination of Armstrong and Anderson teaches: The medical device system of claim 19, see 103 rejection above.
The combination of Armstrong and Anderson does not explicitly teach: wherein the tissue growth member comprises an intermediate sheet, the intermediate sheet positioned along the outer side of the framework and below the reinforcement textile.
However, Quick in a similar field of invention teaches an implant for the LAA (see Fig. 5M) with a framework 90 (see Fig. 5M, [0064], meets the interpretation of a framework as a structural braid is the scaffold or structure that defines the shape of the rest of the device), a tissue growth member 86 + 88 (see Fig. 5M) a reinforcement textile 86 (see Fig. 5M, [0064], meets the definition of a reinforcement textile as it is a braided/woven structure, see [0095]). Quick further teaches: wherein the tissue growth member 86 + 88 comprises an intermediate sheet 88 (see Fig. 5M, [0064], meets the definition of an intermediate sheet being between 86 and 90), the intermediate sheet 86 positioned along the outer side outer side of 90 of the framework 88 and below the reinforcement textile 86.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Armstrong to incorporate the teachings of Quick and teach a medical device system wherein the tissue growth member comprises an intermediate sheet, the intermediate sheet positioned along the outer side of the framework and below the reinforcement textile. Motivation for such can be found in Quick as this allows for a greater variety of pore sizes that allow to meet mixed factors that are determined by pore size including sufficient radial stiffness for stability, limited pore size for rapid promotion of hemostasis leading to occlusion, and a collapsed profile which is small enough to allow insertion through an inner lumen of a vascular catheter (see [0095]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Zaidat et al (US 20230355243 A1), teaches an occlusion device with contours of an outer layer defined by that of an inner layer/framework
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
RAIHAN R. KHANDKER
Examiner
Art Unit 3771
/RAIHAN R KHANDKER/ Examiner, Art Unit 3771