DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 20 January 2026 has been entered.
Applicant’s arguments (pages 14-15, filed 20 January 2026) and amendments to the Drawings have overcome the Drawing objections. Accordingly, the Drawing objections have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s amendments to the Specification have overcome the Specification objection. Accordingly, the Specification objection has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s amendments to the Claims have overcome the Claim objections. Accordingly, the Claim objections have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments regarding the 35 USC 112 rejections for claims 3-4, which is based on 35 USC 112f interpretation, have been fully considered but are not persuasive. Therefore, the grounds for 35 USC 112 rejection of claims 3-4 still stand.
Applicant’s argument for the regarding the 35 USC 112(b) rejection for claim 1 (pages 17-18, filed 20 January 2026) has been fully considered and is persuasive. Moreover, Applicant’s amendments have overcome the remaining 35 USC 112b rejections (page 18 of the arguments). Accordingly, these 35 USC 112(b) rejections have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, filed 20 January 2026, with respect to the rejection of the claims under 35 USC § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. However, after conducting an updated search, additional references were identified, which teach the amended portions of the claims. Therefore, the grounds of rejection under 35 USC § 103 still stand.
New rejections are provided for the claims, which are not a result of substantive amendments made by the Applicant. As a result, the current Office action is in a non-final status.
Status of the Claims
In the amendment dated 20 January 2026, the status of the claims is as follows: Claims 1, 3, 8-9, and 14-17 have been amended. Claims 2, 13, and 20 have been cancelled.
Claims 1. 3-12, and 14-19 are pending.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are the following:
“scanner control module” in claim 1
The generic placeholder is “module” and the functional limitations are “configured to operate a three-dimensional scanner.”
Structure that is used from the Specification to cover the claimed functional limitation includes a “circuit” with “hardware” and “code” or “software” (paragraphs 0069-0071).
“system control module” in claim 1
The generic placeholder is “module” and the functional limitations are “configured to compare the measured alignment of the tips to a predetermined alignment range, and configured to identify a weld schedule.”
Structure that is used from the Specification to cover the claimed functional limitation includes a “circuit” with “hardware” and “code” or “software” (paragraphs 0069-0071).
“system control module” in claim 3
The generic placeholder is “module” and the functional limitation is “configured to … generate an alert identifying any of the repair welds that are outside of the predetermined repair weld tolerances.”
“system control module” in claim 4
The generic placeholder is “module” and the functional limitations are “configured to generate an alert identifying any of the tips not welded due to falling outside of the predetermined alignment range.”
“system control module” in claim 6
The generic placeholder is “module” and the functional limitation is “configured to set a height of the laser welder and a focal point of the laser welder based on the average heights and the height ranges of the tips.”
Structure that is used from the Specification to cover the functional limitation includes a “robotic arm.”
“laser welder control module” in claim 1
The generic placeholder is “module” and the functional limitations are “configured to operate a laser welder to weld together only the tips aligned within the predetermined alignment range in accordance with the weld schedule identified by the system control module.”
Structure that is used from the Specification to cover the claimed functional limitation includes a “circuit” with “hardware” and “code” or “software” (paragraphs 0069-0071).
“three-dimensional scanner” in claims 1, 9, and 16
The generic placeholder is “scanner” (means for scanning) and the functional limitation is “to scan the tips of the different wires and measure alignment of the tips in X, Y, and Z directions of a coordinate plane.”
Structure that is used from the Specification to cover the functional limitations includes a “camera.”
“rotary stage control module” in claim 1
The generic placeholder is “module” and the functional limitation is “configured to control rotation of the rotary stage to synchronize rotation with the welding and the scanning.”
Structure that is used from the Specification to cover the claimed functional limitation includes a “circuit” with “hardware” and “code” or “software” (paragraphs 0069-0071).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 3 recites “the system control module is further configured to … generate an alert identifying any of the repair welds that are outside of the predetermined repair weld tolerances.” Claim 4 recites “the system control module is further configured to generate an alert identifying any of the tips not welded due to falling outside of the predetermined alignment range.” There is no disclosure in the Specification of any structure capable of generating an alert. Although paragraphs 0069-0075 describe computer hardware and software structure, none of this structure can be configured to generate an alert. As a result, the Specification fails to disclose any structure in sufficient detail such that one of ordinary skill in the art would be able to readily understand how “a system control module” is capable of generating an alert or that the inventor possessed the claim subject matter at the time of filing.
In claims 3-4, the limitation “system control module” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The structure described in the specification does not perform the entire function in the claim. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3 and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mohri et al. (US-20220118559-A1) in view of Wang et al. (US-20210031297-A1), Diez et al. (US-20100078412-A1), and Peschina (US-20220014078-A1).
Regarding claim 1, Mohri teaches a system (repair welding system 1000a), the system comprising:
a scanner control module (inspection device control unit 25, fig. 2; processor 21 includes software and hardware, paras 0065; inspection device control unit 25 is construed as being a circuit, para 0072) configured to operate a three-dimensional scanner (shape detection unit 500, fig. 2; “camera,” para 0055; “three-dimensional shape measurement sensor,” para 0055; the inspection device is controlled by the inspection device control unit 25, fig. 2 and para 0072);
a system control module (determination unit 37 and program editing unit 23a, fig. 2; processors 21 and 31 includes software and hardware, paras 0065 and 0080; determination units 37 and program editing unit 12a are construed as being a circuit);
a laser welder control module (robot control unit 26, fig. 2; paras 0065 and 0073; processor 21 includes software and hardware; robot control unit 26 is construed as being a circuit) configured to operate a laser welder (welding torch 400, fig. 2; “laser welding,” para 0049);
wherein, after welding the acceptably aligned tips (step 101, fig. 3):
the scanner control module (inspection device control unit 25, fig. 2) is configured to operate the three- dimensional scanner (“a function of controlling the shape detection unit 500 based on a control signal related to inspection corresponding to the welded portion received from the robot control device 2,” para 0080) to scan a plurality of welds (“plurality of welded portions,” para 0101) and measure characteristics of each weld (step 102, fig. 3; para 0093) including at least one of height (“height,” para 0085), volume (not explicitly disclosed), radius (“width,” para 0085), and weld size (“shape data,” para 0055);
the system control module (determination unit 37 and program editing unit 23a, fig. 2; specifically, determination unit 37) is configured to compare the measured characteristics of each one of the welds to predetermined weld tolerances (“the determination unit 37 compares the shape data of the welding bead to be inspected with master data recorded in the memory 32,” para 0094) to determine whether each one of the welds falls within the predetermined weld tolerances (within the “threshold,” para 0094) or is in need of repair (“exceeds the predetermined threshold,” para 0094);
for each one of the welds in need of repair, the system control module (determination unit 37 and program editing unit 23a, fig. 2; specifically, program editing unit 23a) is configured to identify a repair weld schedule (step 103, fig. 3; program editing unit 23a generates a “repair welding program,” para 0104) based on the measured characteristics of each one of the welds (“related to a defective portion,” para 0067); and
the laser welder control module (robot control unit 26, fig. 2) is configured to operate the laser welder (para 0073; manipulator 200 controls the torch 400, para 0051) to perform a repair weld in accordance with the repair weld schedule for each one of the welds in need of repair (step 104, fig. 3; para 0097).
Mohri, fig. 2
Mohri does not explicitly disclose a system for welding together tips of different wires arranged about a motor stator; a three-dimensional scanner to scan the tips of the different wires and measure alignment of the tips in X, Y, and Z directions of a coordinate plane; a system control module configured to compare the measured alignment of the tips to a predetermined alignment range, and configured to identify a weld schedule for each of the tips that fall within the predetermined alignment range; a laser welder control module configured to operate a laser welder to weld together the tips aligned within the predetermined alignment range in accordance with the weld schedule identified by the system control module; and a rotary stage control module in cooperation with a rotary stage that is configured to support the motor stator and rotate the motor stator during scanning and welding, the rotary stage control module configured to control rotation of the rotary stage to synchronize rotation with the laser welder control module and the scanner control module.
However, in the same field of endeavor of laser welding, Wang teaches a system (fig. 2) for welding together tips of different wires (“at least two hairpin tips,” para 0006; fig. 1) arranged about a motor stator (stator assembly 10, fig. 2); a three-dimensional scanner (cameras 46 and 50, fig. 2; para 0030) to scan the tips of the different wires and measure alignment of the tips in X, Y, and Z directions of a coordinate plane (figs. 7-8; para 0030); a system control module (control system 62, fig. 2) configured to compare the measured alignment of the tips (“alignment measurements,” para 0031;“Δx, Δy, Δz,” are used for determining angular tilts, para 0039; using these offsets as ranges are disclosed in para 0050 of the Specification in the Instant Application), and configured to identify a weld schedule (weld schedules 3C, 4C, 5C, and 6C) for each of the tips (“(Δx, Δy, Δz) data for these two hairpins or structures 24 may be utilized to determine the size, shape and angular orientation of the laser beam,” para 0039); a laser welder control module (robotic system 58, fig. 2) configured to operate a laser welder to weld together the tips aligned within the predetermined alignment range in accordance with the weld schedule identified by the system control module (control system 62 determines the weld schedule and controls the robotic system, paras 0032-0035).
Wang, fig. 2
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Mohri, in view of the teachings of Wang, by using the inspection control device unit 25 and shape detection unit 500, as taught by Mohri, to measure hairpin tips prior to welding, as taught by Wang, and by using the determination unit 37 and program editing unit 23a, as taught by Mohri, to measure offsets that are used to determine a welding schedule for the hairpin tips of a stator, as taught by Wang, in order to adjust for misalignments that may exist in the tips of hairpins in a stator assembly, because misalignments can cause defective weld joints that can result in open or short circuits in the stator assembly of an electric motor, which can be a time-consuming and tedious task to repair (Wang, para 0002).
Mohri/Wang do not explicitly disclose a predetermined alignment range and a laser welder control module configured to operate a laser welder to weld together the tips aligned within the predetermined range; and a rotary stage control module in cooperation with a rotary stage that is configured to support the motor stator and rotate the motor stator during scanning and welding, the rotary stage control module configured to control rotation of the rotary stage to synchronize rotation with the laser welder control module and the scanner control module.
However, in the same field of endeavor of laser welding, Diez teaches a predetermined alignment range (“Gap 130 may be determined to be wide if it is greater than a threshold width,” para 0021; step 215, fig. 4) and a laser welder control module (laser welding 220, fig. 4; “programming,” para 0015; construed as including a computer and software to execute the programming) configured to operate a laser welder (laser welder 105, fig. 1) to weld together the tips aligned within the predetermined range (“In step 220, laser welder 105 may laser weld work piece 115 to work piece 120 at a desired location via laser beam 195,” para 0022).
Diez, fig. 4
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Mohri, in view of the teachings of Diez, by laser welding, as taught by Diez, if the gap between hairpins, as taught by Wang in figs. 3C, 4C, 5C, and 6C, is less than a specific threshold, as taught by Diez, because if the gap between the hairpins is too wide, then using laser welding, where a focus is directed to certain portions of a weld with little energy directed away from those portions, may form a too narrow weld negatively affecting the weld quality, but this can be corrected by using another form of welding, e.g., arc welding, which is a better method than laser welding for forming a broad weld when there is a wide area gap that is welded (Diez, para 0004),
Mohri/Wang/Diez do not explicitly disclose a rotary stage control module in cooperation with a rotary stage that is configured to support the motor stator and rotate the motor stator during scanning and welding, the rotary stage control module configured to control rotation of the rotary stage to synchronize rotation with the laser welder control module and the scanner control module.
However, in the same field of endeavor of laser welding, Peschina teaches a rotary stage control module (rotational drive 28, fig. 1; construed as being controlled by the program editing unit 23a taught by Mohri) in cooperation with a rotary stage (support structure 4, fig. 1) that is configured to support the motor stator (stator 3, fig. 4b) and rotate (para 0063) the motor stator during scanning and welding (“the free ends 2 a are welded successively in pairs; for this, the support structure 4 may be rotated about a vertical rotational axis,” para 0079), the rotary stage control module configured to control rotation of the rotary stage (the rotational drive 28 controls rotation of the support structure 4, para 0065) to synchronize rotation with the laser welder control module and the scanner control module (during step 104, the stator is rotated to weld successive pairs of bar conductors, para 0079; construed such that the support structure 4 is rotated successively to inspect and weld the pairs of hairpin tips, as taught by Wang).
Peschina, fig. 1
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Mohri, in view of the teachings of Peschina, by using a support structure 4, as taught by Peschina, to rotate the stator 10, as taught by Wang, such that the support structure was controlled by the processor 21, as taught by Mohri, in order to use a support structure that facilitates rotation of the bars in the stator about a rotational axis, for the advantage of using a support structure that arranges the welding device directly below the laser, so that the free ends can be easily welded (Peschina, para 0027).
Regarding claim 3, Mohri teaches wherein: the scanner control module (inspection device control unit 25, fig. 2) is further configured to operate the three- dimensional scanner (shape detection unit 500, fig. 2) to scan a plurality of repair welds (para 0072) and measure characteristics (para 0055) of each of the repair welds (“plurality of defective portions,” para 0109; fig. 4 describes a process where the repair welds are re-inspected, para 0122); and the system control module (determination unit 37 and program editing unit 23a, fig. 2; specifically, determination unit 37) is further configured to compare the repair weld characteristics to predetermined repair weld tolerances (para 0094; step 102 is repeated in fig. 4, para 0122), and generate an alert identifying any of the repair welds that are outside of the predetermined repair weld tolerances (para 0090).
Regarding claim 7, Mohri teaches wherein the three-dimensional scanner (shape detection unit 500, fig. 2) includes a metrology laser (“laser light source,” para 0055; used for imaging the welded portion, construed as a metrology laser).
Regarding claim 8, Mohri teaches wherein the laser welder (torch 400, fig. 2) is mounted to, and maneuverable by, a robotic arm (manipulator 200, fig. 2).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mohri et al. (US-20220118559-A1) in view of Wang et al. (US-20210031297-A1), Diez et al. (US-20100078412-A1), and Peschina (US-20220014078-A1) as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Gonzalez et al. (US- 20170028506-A1).
Mohri teaches the invention as described above but does not explicitly disclose wherein the system control module is further configured to generate an alert identifying any of the tips not welded due to falling outside of the predetermined alignment range, and pause the system to permit manual alignment.
However, in the same field of endeavor of laser welding, Gonzalez teaches wherein the system control module (controller 130, fig. 2) is further configured to generate an alert (“alarm or notification,” para 0048) identifying any of the tips not welded due to falling outside of the predetermined alignment range (“not within acceptable tolerances,” para 0048), and pause the system to permit manual alignment (“the current operation has been ceased and requires operator attention,” para 0048).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Mohri, in view of the teachings of Gonzalez, by determining whether the offsets between the hairpins, as taught by Wang, were greater than a threshold, as taught by Diez, and if the distance was not within the acceptable threshold, then operation could be ceased and an alarm or notification could be provided to an operator, as taught by Gonzalez, because if the offsets were not with the acceptable tolerances, then the laser welder could be stopped, an operator can be notified, and arc welding could be used instead of laser welding in order to prevent a potential welding defect (Gonzalez, para 0048; Diez, para 0004 and fig. 4).
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mohri et al. (US-20220118559-A1) in view of Wang et al. (US-20210031297-A1) and Diez et al. (US-20100078412-A1), and Peschina (US-20220014078-A1) as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Hoffman et al. (US-20220395923-A1).
Regarding claim 5, Mohri teaches the invention as described above but does not explicitly disclose wherein, prior to welding: the scanner control module is configured to operate the three-dimensional scanner to measure average heights and height ranges of the tips; and the system control module is configured to set heights of the welds based on the average heights and height ranges of the tips of the motor stator.
However, in the same field of endeavor of laser welding, Wang teaches wherein, prior to welding (block 130 takes place prior to block 150, fig. 9; para 0036): the scanner control module (control system 62, fig. 2) is configured to operate the three-dimensional scanner (cameras 46 and 50, fig. 2; para 0030) to height ranges of the tips (heights in x, y, and z directions, para 0027); and the system control module is configured to set heights of the welds based on the average heights and height ranges of the tips of the motor stator (heights of weld schedules are set based on the heights in the x, y, and z directions, fig. 3A-6C; paras 0031-0032; the welds in figs. 3A-6C are set to intersect the halfway points of the top of the hairpins, which are construed as the “claimed average heights”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Mohri, in view of the teachings of Wang, by using the inspection control device unit 25 and shape detection unit 500, as taught by Mohri, to measure hairpin tips prior to welding, as taught by Wang, and by using the determination unit 37 and program editing unit 23a, as taught by Mohri, to measure heights that are used to determine a welding schedule for the hairpin tips of a stator, as taught by Wang, in order to adjust for misalignments that may exist in the tips of hairpins in a stator assembly, because misalignments can cause defective weld joints that can result in open or short circuits in the stator assembly of an electric motor, which can be a time-consuming and tedious task to repair (Wang, para 0002).
Mohri/Wang do not explicitly disclose measuring average heights of the tips.
However, in the same field of endeavor of laser welding, Hoffman teaches measuring average heights of the tips (lines M3 and M4, fig. 2a; these lines are located at the midpoints of each conductor in the conductor end group 20, fig. 1; construed as being average heights).
Hoffman, fig. 2
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Mohri/Wang, in view of the teachings of Hoffman, by calculating the heights along lines M1 to M4, as taught by Hoffman, of the hairpins, as taught by Wang, in order to use the height offset between conductors as an input parameter for determining how much weld energy should be applied during the weld (Hoffman, para 0235).
Regarding claim 6, Mohri teaches the invention as described above but does not explicitly disclose wherein, prior to welding: the scanner control module is configured to operate the three-dimensional scanner to measure average heights and height ranges of the tips; and the system control module is configured to set a height of the laser welder and a focal point of the laser welder based on the average heights and the height ranges of the tips.
However, in the same field of endeavor of laser welding, Wang teaches wherein, prior to welding (block 130 takes place prior to block 150, fig. 9; para 0036): the scanner control module (control system 62, fig. 2) is configured to operate the three-dimensional scanner (cameras 46 and 50, fig. 2; para 0030) to height ranges of the tips (heights in x, y, and z directions, para 0027); and the system control module is configured to set a heights of the laser welder and a focal point of the laser welder based on the average heights and height ranges of the tips of the motor stator (the focal point is set based on the heights of the structures 24, para 0035; the welds in 3C, 4C, 5C, and 6C intersect with the average heights of the structures 24).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Mohri, in view of the teachings of Wang, by using the inspection control device unit 25 and shape detection unit 500, as taught by Mohri, to measure hairpin tips prior to welding, as taught by Wang, and by using the determination unit 37 and program editing unit 23a, as taught by Mohri, to measure heights that are used to determine the focal point of the laser beam, as taught by Wang, in order to set the focal point of the laser beam such that it coincides with the height of the set of tips of hairpins 24, because misalignments can cause defective weld joints that can result in open or short circuits in the stator assembly of an electric motor, which can be a time-consuming and tedious task to repair (Wang, para 0002).
Mohri/Wang do not explicitly disclose measuring average heights of the tips.
However, in the same field of endeavor of laser welding, Hoffman teaches measuring average heights of the tips (lines M3 and M4, fig. 2a; these lines are located at the midpoints of each conductor in the conductor end group 20, fig. 1; construed as being average heights).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Mohri/Wang, in view of the teachings of Hoffman, by calculating the heights along lines M1 to M4, as taught by Hoffman, of the hairpins, as taught by Wang, in order to use the height offset between conductors as an input parameter for determining how much weld energy should be applied during the weld (Hoffman, para 0235).
Claims 9, 12, 14-17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US-20210031297-A1) in view of Diez et al. (US-20100078412-A1), Mohri et al. (US-20220118559-A1), and Peschina (US-20220014078-A1).
Regarding claim 9, Wang teaches a method for welding (“method for multi-task laser welding,” title) together tips of different wires (“at least two hairpin tips,” para 0006; fig. 1) arranged about a motor stator (stator assembly 10, fig. 2), the method comprising:
scanning (step 130, fig. 9) the tips with a three-dimensional scanner (cameras 46 and 50, fig. 2; para 0030) prior to welding (step 150, fig. 9);
measuring (part of step 130, fig. 9) alignment of the tips in X, Y, and Z coordinate plane directions (para 0029 and figs. 7-8);
identifying (step 140, fig. 9) a weld schedule (figs. 3C, 4C, 5C, and 6C) for the tips aligned within the predetermined alignment range (hairpins 24L and 24R, figs. 3A, 4A, 5A, and 6A; construed as hairpins that are within acceptable tolerances because they are welded together);
activating (step 150, fig. 9) a laser welder (laser welding scan head 42, fig. 2) to weld together only the tips in accordance with the weld schedule (“laser welded together according to the selected weld schedule to form a weld,” para 0036);
after welding, scanning the welds (block 160, fig. 9);
measuring characteristics of each of a plurality of welds (“welding to join the hairpins 24 within each pair 26 of a stator assembly 10,” para 0026; each pair of hairpins in fig. 1 is construed as a weld) including at least one of height, volume, radius (not explicitly disclosed), and weld size (“size,” para 0037);
comparing (block 170, fig. 9) the measured characteristics of each of the welds to predetermined weld tolerances (“compared to the predetermined weld quality criteria,” para 0036) to determine whether each of the welds falls within the predetermined weld tolerances or is in need of repair (“whether a given weld is acceptable or not,” para 0036);
for each of the welds in need of repair (“0,” fig. 9), identifying a repair weld schedule (block 190, fig. 9; “reweld schedule,” para 0037) based on the measured characteristics of each of the welds (“based on the evaluation data,” para 0037; para 0036); and
activating the laser welder (block 200, fig. 9) to perform a repair weld in accordance with the repair weld schedule (“according to the chosen reweld schedule to form a reweld,” para 0037).
Wang does not explicitly disclose comparing the measured alignment of the tips to a predetermined alignment range; welding together only the tips aligned with the predetermined alignment range; rotating the motor stator on a rotary stage during the scanning and welding of the tips; after welding, scanning the welds with the three-dimensional scanner.
However, in the same field of endeavor of laser welding, Diez teaches comparing the measured alignment of the tips to a predetermined alignment range (“Gap 130 may be determined to be wide if it is greater than a threshold width,” para 0021; step 215, fig. 4); welding together only the tips aligned with the predetermined alignment range (laser welding 220, fig. 4; “In step 220, laser welder 105 may laser weld work piece 115 to work piece 120 at a desired location via laser beam 195,” para 0022).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Wang, in view of the teachings of Diez, by laser welding, as taught by Diez, if the gap between hairpins, as taught by Wang in figs. 3C, 4C, 5C, and 6C, is less than a specific threshold, as taught by Diez, because if the gap between the hairpins is too wide, then using laser welding, where a focus is directed to certain portions of a weld with little energy directed away from those portions, may form a too narrow weld negatively affecting the weld quality, but this can be corrected by using another form of welding, e.g., arc welding, which is a better method than laser welding for forming a broad weld when there is a wide area gap that is welded (Diez, para 0004),
Wang/Diez do not explicitly disclose rotating the motor stator on a rotary stage during the scanning and welding of the tips; after welding, scanning the welds with the three-dimensional scanner (although Wang teaches assessing welding quality in step 170, Wang does not explicitly disclose using the cameras to complete this step).
However, in the same field of endeavor of laser welding, Mohri teaches after welding (step 101, fig. 3), scanning (step 102, fig. 3; para 0093) the welds with the three-dimensional scanner (shape detection unit 500, fig. 2; “camera,” para 0055; “three-dimensional shape measurement sensor,” para 0055).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Wang, in view of the teachings of Mohri, by using the cameras in step 170, as Wang, to image welds after welding, as taught by Mohri, in order to assess the quality of a welded portion from an image produced by the cameras so that if there is a defective portion in the weld, then the defective portion can be repair-welded (Mohri, para 0062).
Wang/Diez/Mohri do not explicitly disclose rotating the motor stator on a rotary stage during the scanning and welding of the tips.
However, in the same field of endeavor of laser welding, Peschina teaches rotating (para 0063) the motor stator on a rotary stage (support structure 4, fig. 1) during the scanning and welding of the tips (“the free ends 2 a are welded successively in pairs; for this, the support structure 4 may be rotated about a vertical rotational axis,” para 0079; during step 104, the stator is rotated to weld successive pairs of bar conductors, para 0079; construed such that the support structure 4 is rotated successively to inspect and weld the pairs of hairpin tips, as taught by Wang).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Mohri, in view of the teachings of Peschina, by using a support structure 4, as taught by Peschina, to rotate the stator 10, as taught by Wang, such that the support structure was controlled by the processor 21, as taught by Mohri, in order to use a support structure that facilitates rotation of the bars in the stator about a rotational axis, for the advantage of using a support structure that arranges the welding device directly below the laser, so that the free ends can be easily welded (Peschina, para 0027).
Regarding claim 12, Wang teaches the invention as described above but does not explicitly disclose further comprising performing the scanning with a three-dimensional metrology laser.
However, in the same field of endeavor of laser welding, Mohri teaches further comprising performing the scanning with a three-dimensional metrology laser (“laser light source,” para 0055; used for imaging the welded portion, construed as a metrology laser).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Wang, in view of the teachings of Mohri, by using a laser light source, as taught by Mohri, during the imaging of the welds using the cameras, as taught by Mohri, in order to assess the quality of a welded portion from an image using illumination from the laser light source, so that if there is a defective portion in the weld, then the defective portion can be repair-welded (Mohri, para 0062).
Regarding claim 14, Wang teaches further comprising measuring a distance between the laser welder and each of the tips (heights in x, y, and z directions of the structures, para 0027, are used to set the “focal point,” para 0035; the focal distance is construed as the claimed “distance”); wherein the weld schedule (figs. 3C, 4C, 5C, and 6C) for each of the tips includes a focal length setting for the laser welder set for the distance between the laser welder and each of the tips (“the focal point and the next area of interest 14 (e.g., the next set of structures 24) may coincide,” para 0035; construed such that the focal distance is optimized).
Regarding claim 15, Wang teaches wherein the weld schedule (figs. 3C, 4C, 5C, and 6C) includes a height of the three-dimensional scanner relative to the tips, and a laser welder control module (robotic system 58, fig. 2) is configured to set the laser welder to the height (“the robotic system 58 may position the scan head/ cameras 42, 46, 50 and/or the workpiece(s) 10, 10 n so that the focal point and the next area of interest 14 (e.g., the next set of structures 24) may coincide,” para 0035; the height of the scan head when the focal point is set is construed as the claimed “optimal height”).
Regarding claim 16, Wang teaches a method for welding (“method for multi-task laser welding,” title) together tips of different wires (“at least two hairpin tips,” para 0006; fig. 1) arranged about a motor stator (stator assembly 10, fig. 2), the method comprising:
scanning (step 130, fig. 9) the tips with a three-dimensional scanner (cameras 46 and 50, fig. 2; para 0030) prior to welding (step 150, fig. 9);
measuring (part of step 130, fig. 9) alignment of the tips in X, Y, and Z coordinate plane directions (para 0029 and figs. 7-8);
identifying (step 140, fig. 9) a weld schedule (figs. 3C, 4C, 5C, and 6C) for each of the tips that fall within the predetermined alignment range (hairpins 24L and 24R, figs. 3A, 4A, 5A, and 6A; construed as hairpins that are within acceptable tolerances because they are welded together);
activating (step 150, fig. 9) a laser welder (laser welding scan head 42, fig. 2) to weld together only the tips in accordance with the weld schedule (“laser welded together according to the selected weld schedule to form a weld,” para 0036);
after welding, scanning a plurality of welds (block 160, fig. 9; “welding to join the hairpins 24 within each pair 26 of a stator assembly 10,” para 0026; each pair of hairpins in fig. 1 is construed as a weld);
measuring characteristics of each of the welds including at least one of height, volume, radius, (not explicitly disclosed) and weld size (“size,” para 0037);
comparing (block 170, fig. 9) the measured characteristics of each of the welds to predetermined weld tolerances (“compared to the predetermined weld quality criteria,” para 0036) to determine whether each of the welds falls within the predetermined weld tolerances or is in need of repair (“whether a given weld is acceptable or not,” para 0036);
for each of the welds in need of repair (“0,” fig. 9), identifying a repair weld schedule (block 190, fig. 9; “reweld schedule,” para 0037) based on the measured characteristics of each of the welds (“based on the evaluation data,” para 0037; para 0036); and
activating the laser welder (block 200, fig. 9) to perform a repair weld in accordance with the repair weld schedule (“according to the chosen reweld schedule to form a reweld,” para 0037);
scanning a plurality of repair welds (block 210, fig. 9; multiple rewelds can be executed, loop shown in fig. 9 and described in para 0037);
measuring characteristics of each of the repair welds (“the reweld is checked to determine whether the reweld passes predetermined reweld quality criteria,” para 0037);
comparing (block 220, fig. 9) the characteristics of each of the repair welds to predetermined repair weld tolerances (“it is determined whether the reweld passes the reweld quality criteria,” para 0037); and
generating an alert (“sounding an alarm,” para 00237) identifying any of the repair welds that are outside of the predetermined repair weld tolerances (bottom “0,” fig. 9; “identifying the defective workpiece,” para 0037).
Wang does not explicitly disclose comparing the measured alignment of each of the tips to a predetermined alignment range; welding together only the tips aligned with the predetermined alignment range; rotating the motor stator on a rotary stage during the scanning and welding of the tips; after welding, scanning the welds with the three-dimensional scanner; scanning the repair welds with the three-dimensional scanner.
However, in the same field of endeavor of laser welding, Diez teaches comparing the measured alignment of the tips to a predetermined alignment range (“Gap 130 may be determined to be wide if it is greater than a threshold width,” para 0021; step 215, fig. 4); welding together only the tips aligned with the predetermined alignment range (laser welding 220, fig. 4; “In step 220, laser welder 105 may laser weld work piece 115 to work piece 120 at a desired location via laser beam 195,” para 0022).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Wang, in view of the teachings of Diez, by laser welding, as taught by Diez, if the gap between hairpins, as taught by Wang in figs. 3C, 4C, 5C, and 6C, is less than a specific threshold, as taught by Diez, because if the gap between the hairpins is too wide, then using laser welding, where a focus is directed to certain portions of a weld with little energy directed away from those portions, may form a too narrow weld negatively affecting the weld quality, but this can be corrected by using another form of welding, e.g., arc welding, which is a better method than laser welding for forming a broad weld when there is a wide area gap that is welded (Diez, para 0004),
Wang/ Gonzalez do not explicitly disclose rotating the motor stator on a rotary stage during the scanning and welding of the tips; after welding, scanning the welds with the three-dimensional scanner; scanning the repair welds with the three-dimensional scanner (although Wang teaches assessing welding quality in steps 170 and 210, Wang does not explicitly disclose using the cameras to complete these steps).
However, in the same field of endeavor of laser welding, Mohri teaches after welding (step 101, fig. 3), scanning (step 102, fig. 3; para 0093) the welds with the three-dimensional scanner (shape detection unit 500, fig. 2; “camera,” para 0055; “three-dimensional shape measurement sensor,” para 0055); scanning the repair welds with the three-dimensional scanner (in fig. 4, the repair welding program is repeated, specifically the inspection step 102, para 0122)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Wang, in view of the teachings of Mohri, by using the cameras in step 170, as Wang, to image the welds and rewelds, as taught by Mohri, in order to assess the quality of a welded portion from an image produced by the cameras so that if there is a defective portion in the weld, then the defective portion of the weld or the repair-weld can be addressed (Mohri, para 0062).
Wang/Diez/Mohri do not explicitly disclose rotating the motor stator on a rotary stage during the scanning and welding of the tips.
However, in the same field of endeavor of laser welding, Peschina teaches rotating (para 0063) the motor stator on a rotary stage (support structure 4, fig. 1) during the scanning and welding of the tips (“the free ends 2 a are welded successively in pairs; for this, the support structure 4 may be rotated about a vertical rotational axis,” para 0079; during step 104, the stator is rotated to weld successive pairs of bar conductors, para 0079; construed such that the support structure 4 is rotated successively to inspect and weld the pairs of hairpin tips, as taught by Wang).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Mohri, in view of the teachings of Peschina, by using a support structure 4, as taught by Peschina, to rotate the stator 10, as taught by Wang, such that the support structure was controlled by the processor 21, as taught by Mohri, in order to use a support structure that facilitates rotation of the bars in the stator about a rotational axis, for the advantage of using a support structure that arranges the welding device directly below the laser, so that the free ends can be easily welded (Peschina, para 0027).
Regarding claim 17, Wang teaches further comprising measuring a distance between the laser welder and each of the tips of the motor stator (heights in x, y, and z directions of the structures, para 0027, are used to set the “focal point,” para 0035; the focal distance is construed as the claimed “distance”); wherein the weld schedule (figs. 3C, 4C, 5C, and 6C) for each of the tips includes a focal length setting for the laser welder set for the distance between the laser welder and each of the tips (“the focal point and the next area of interest 14 (e.g., the next set of structures 24) may coincide,” para 0035; construed such that the focal distance is optimized).
Regarding claim 19, Wang teaches the invention as described above but does not explicitly disclose further comprising performing the scanning with a three-dimensional metrology laser.
However, in the same field of endeavor of laser welding, Mohri teaches further comprising performing the scanning with a three-dimensional metrology laser (“laser light source,” para 0055; used for imaging the welded portion, construed as a metrology laser).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Wang, in view of the teachings of Mohri, by using a laser light source, as taught by Mohri, during the imaging of the welds using the cameras, as taught by Mohri, in order to assess the quality of a welded portion from an image using illumination from the laser light source, so that if there is a defective portion in the weld, then the defective portion can be repair-welded (Mohri, para 0062).
Claims 10 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US-20210031297-A1) in view of, Diez et al. (US-20100078412-A1), Mohri et al. (US-20220118559-A1), and Peschina (US-20220014078-A1) as applied to claims 9 and 16 above and further in view of Gonzalez et al. (US- 20170028506-A1).
Regarding claim 10, Wang teaches the invention as described above but does not explicitly disclose further comprising generating an alert identifying any of the tips not welded due to falling outside of the predetermined alignment range, and pausing operations to permit manual alignment.
However, in the same field of endeavor of laser welding, Gonzalez teaches further comprising generating an alert (“alarm or notification,” para 0048) identifying any of the tips not welded due to falling outside of the predetermined alignment range (“not within acceptable tolerances,” para 0048), and pausing operations to permit manual alignment (“the current operation has been ceased and requires operator attention,” para 0048).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Wang, in view of the teachings of Gonzalez, by determining whether the offsets between the hairpins, as taught by Wang, were greater than a threshold, as taught by Diez, and if the distance was not within the acceptable threshold, then operation could be ceased and an alarm or notification could be provided to an operator, as taught by Gonzalez, because if the offsets were not with the acceptable tolerances, then the laser welder could be stopped, an operator can be notified, the hairpins could then be adjusted, and arc welding could be used instead of laser welding in order to prevent a potential welding defect (Gonzalez, para 0048; Diez, para 0004 and fig. 4).
Regarding claim 18, Wang teaches the invention as described above but does not explicitly disclose further comprising generating an alert identifying any tips not welded due to falling outside of the predetermined alignment range, and pausing operations to permit manual alignment.
However, in the same field of endeavor of laser welding, Gonzalez teaches further comprising generating an alert (“alarm or notification,” para 0048) identifying any tips not welded due to falling outside of the predetermined alignment range (“not within acceptable tolerances,” para 0048), and pausing operations to permit manual alignment (“the current operation has been ceased and requires operator attention,” para 0048).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Wang, in view of the teachings of Gonzalez, by determining whether the offsets between the hairpins, as taught by Wang, were greater than a threshold, as taught by Diez, and if the distance was not within the acceptable threshold, then operation could be ceased and an alarm or notification could be provided to an operator, as taught by Gonzalez, because if the offsets were not with the acceptable tolerances, then the laser welder could be stopped, an operator can be notified, the hairpins could then be adjusted, and arc welding could be used instead of laser welding in order to prevent a potential welding defect (Gonzalez, para 0048; Diez, para 0004 and fig. 4).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US-20210031297-A1) in view of Diez et al. (US-20100078412-A1), Mohri et al. (US-20220118559-A1), and Peschina (US-20220014078-A1) as applied to claim 9 above and further in view of Hoffman et al. (US-20220395923-A1).
Wang teaches further comprising: prior to welding (block 130 takes place prior to block 150, fig. 9; para 0036), measuring height ranges of the tips (heights in x, y, and z directions, para 0027); and during welding, setting heights of the welds based on the average heights and height ranges of the tips of the motor stator (heights of weld schedules are optimized based on the heights in the x, y, and z directions, fig. 3A-6C; paras 0031-0032; the welds in figs. 3A-6C are set to intersect the halfway points of the top of the hairpins, which are construed as the “claimed average heights”).
Wang does not explicitly disclose prior to welding, measuring average heights.
However, in the same field of endeavor of laser welding, Hoffman teaches prior to welding (para 0235), measuring average heights (lines M3 and M4, fig. 2a; these lines are located at the midpoints of each conductor in the conductor end group 20, fig. 1; construed as being average heights).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Mohri/Wang, in view of the teachings of Hoffman, by calculating the heights along lines M1 to M4, as taught by Hoffman, of the hairpins, as taught by Wang, in order to use the height offset between conductors as an input parameter for determining how much weld energy should be applied during the weld (Hoffman, para 0235).
Response to Argument
Applicant's arguments filed 20 January 2026 have been fully considered.
Rejection Under 35 USC § 112
Page 16 of the arguments state that that the “Applicant is not claiming any specific structure for generating an alert itself, but rather that the ‘system control module’ is configured to generate an alert.”. The Applicant then argues that this configuration is “fully compliant with the requirements of 35 USC 112(a).” The examiner agrees with the Applicant that there is not any specific structure in the Specification for generating an alert. Instead, the claim uses a generic placeholder—a system control module. When the Specification does not disclose any specific structure for accomplishing a functional limitation that is attributed to a generic placeholder, then respectfully submit that a 35 USC 112(a) rejection is appropriate (per MPEP 2181.II.A).
Page 17 of the arguments states that the Applicant is permitted to be a lexicographer and that the definition of the structure for the “system control module” is provided in 22 different paragraphs in the Specification. The examiner reviewed these paragraphs but could not find not find any mention of a definition or any structure for that can be used to generate an alert. Applicant’s argument would have been more persuasive if the actual definition was provided and if the definition’s location in the Specification had been clearly identified.
Rejections Under 35 USC § 103
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the new rejections of Mohri and Wang combined with Diez and Peschina.
For the above reasons, rejections to the pending claims are respectfully sustained by the examiner.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Wang et al. (US-11342820-B1) teach a fixture for welding a stator assembly.
/ERWIN J WUNDERLICH/Examiner, Art Unit 3761 3/26/2026