Acknowledgments
This office action is in response to the reply filed on 11/24/25. In the reply, the applicant elected, without traverse, Species A, i; Claims 1-4, 7-13. Claims 1-17 are pending with claims 5-6 and 14-17 being withdrawn.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 5/3/24;6/29/23; 12/28/22 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97(b). Accordingly, the IDSs are being considered by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 9-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen et al. (US 2014/0005606) (“Chen”). Chen discloses:
(claim 1) A method of manufacturing (Fig. 2) a particle-attached microneedle, the method comprising: first coating a microneedle 10 with an adhesive solution 60 to form an adhesive layer; and dipping the microneedle, on which the adhesive layer has been formed in a coating well 40 filled with solid-phase drug particles 12 to secondarily attach the solid-phase drug particles on the adhesive layer. [0042,0052,0051]
Claim 2: Chen further comprising disposing a film 30 on the coating well to disperse the solid-phase drug particles before filling the solid-phase drug particles in the coating well. [0050] (chitosan gel solution with added drug)
Claim 3: after secondarily attaching the solid-phase drug particles, controlling voids between the secondarily attached solid-phase drug particles. (Fig. 2, voids controlled via the individual support shafts 102)
Claim 9: the adhesive solution comprises a single-type curable material, and the single-type curable material is any one selected from the group consisting of polyethyleneglycol (PEG), polyethylene oxide (PEO), beeswax, triglyceride, silicone, epoxy, protein bioadhesive and a UV-curable medical-grade epoxy resin. [0042]
Claim 10: the adhesive solution comprises an adhesive material and a solvent, wherein the adhesive material is any one selected from the group consisting of sugar 2- 20%, glucose 25-50%, starch 1-4%, gelatin 1-4%, carboxymethylcellulose (CMC-Na) 1-4%, gum arabic 2-5%, cellulose derivative (hydroxypropyl cellulose (HPC), hydroxypropylmethylcellulose (HPMC)) 1-4%, methyl cellulose (MC), ethyl cellulose 0.5-2%), polyvinylpyrrolidone (PVP) 2- 5%, cyanoacrylate, a fibrin glue, a protein glue, a polyethylene glycol (PEG) hydrogel sealant, silicone, epoxy, protein bioadhesive and a mussel adhesive protein, and the solvent is water or an organic solvent. [0013,0042] (and water content in skin for the solvent)
Claim 11: a raw material of the microneedle 10 is one or more selected from biodegradable polymers and non-biodegradable/biocompatible polymers, wherein biodegradable polymers comprising poly(lactic acid), poly(L-lactic acid), poly(glycolic acid), poly(lactic-co-glycolic acid) and polycaprolactone, wherein non-biodegradable/biocompatible polymers comprising cyclic olefin copolymer, polycarbonate, nylon, polyethylene and polypropylene. [0040]
Claim 12: the microneedle has a length of 50 pm to 1,000 pm. [0014,0041]
Claim 13: an active material of the solid-phase drug particles comprise any one or more selected from the group consisting of interferon, erythropoietin (EPO), follicle-stimulating hormone (FSH), parathyroid hormone (PTH), granulocyte- macrophage colony-stimulating factor (G-CSF), granulocyte-macrophage colony-stimulating factor (FM-CSF), human chorionic gonadotropin, progesterone, calcitonin, glucagon, GNRH antagonist, insulin, human growth hormone (GHD), testosterone, lidocaine, diclofenac, oxybutynin, ketoprofen, alendronate, enapril maleate, phenylpropanolamine, cromolyn, isotretinoin, oxytocin, paroxetine, flurbiprofen, sertraline, venlafaxine, leuprolide, risperidone, galantamine, enoxaparin, etanercept, fentanyl, filgrastim, heparin, somatropin, and sumatriptan, or comprises any one selected from the group consisting of a vaccine containing any one of Hepatitis A, B, and C, HIV, influenza, diphtheria, tetanus, pertussis, Lyme disease, rabies, pneumococcus, yellow fever, cholera, vaccinia, tuberculosis, rubella, measles, mumps, rotavirus, botulism, and herpes virus, and a botox toxin. [0007,0015]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 7-8 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Zvezdin et al. (US 2020/0398035) (“Zvezdin”).
Chen discloses the invention as substantially claimed (see above) but does not directly disclose treating with air blow to control voids between the solid-phase drug particles and increase adhesion between the particles and adhesive layer. Zvezdin, in the analogous art, teaches fabricating microneedles by blowing air through a meniscus separating a drop drawn out by two surfaces [0013] as a way to create voids, individual microneedles. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to blow air between the drug and adhesive layers as taught by Zvezdin as a method to obtain the microneedles.
Zvezdin also teaches fabrication of the microneedles with PDMS and a curing agent [0100]. A weight ratio of the complex-type curable material and hardener comprised in the adhesive solution being 40:1 to 20:1 is a result effective variable. Since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955).
Conclusion
/DEANNA K HALL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783