DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed December 16, 2025 has been accepted and entered. Accordingly, claims 1, 11, 13 and 18 are amended.
Claims 1-20 are pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 13 and 18 have been considered but are moot because new ground of rejection relies on the references not applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the arguments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugawara (US20220361272A1, hereinafter Sugawara) in view of Dimou et al. (US20140094127A1, hereinafter Dimou) and 3GPP TS 24.501 (3GPP TS 24.501 version 16.8.0 Release 16, hereinafter TS 24.501).
For claim 1, Sugawara teaches a method of allocating network resources ([Para. 0006], a communication method. [Para. 0009], user plane resources of the MA PDU session for one access are established), the method comprising: sending, by a wireless device connected to one or more radio access networks (RAN)s connecting to a core network, a first indication that the wireless device has an Access Traffic Steering, Switching, and Splitting (ATSSS) capability ([Para. 0021] and [FIG. 1], a User Equipment (UE), an access network, a core network). [Para. 0177], Second identification information is information indicating whether the UE supports the ATSSS function. The information indicating whether the UE supports the ATSSS function may be expressed as the ATSSS capability. [Para. 0220], in a case that the UE is registered with the 5GS over the 3GPP access, the UE can initiate the MA PDU session establishment procedure [Examiner’s Note: That the UE initiates PDU session establishment procedure over 3GPP access indicates that the UE is in the RRC connected state]. [Para. 0227], the UE transmits the NAS message including the PDU session establishment request message, to the SMF via the 5G AN. [Para. 0233], The UE may include the second identification information in the PDU session establishment request message and/or the NAS message to notify the network side whether the UE supports the ATSSS function), and receiving a second indication of network resource allocation in response to sending the first indication ([Para. 0201], The 19th identification information may be information indicating, in a case that the network allows the MA PDU session to be established (the network allows the user plane resources for both accesses to be established), the access corresponding to the user plane resources allowed to be established. [Para. 0204], Note that the 19th identification information may be included in the ATSSS container IE, and/or the PDU session establishment accept message).
Although teaching sending ATSSS capability in MA PDU session establishment request, Sugawara does not explicitly disclose the first indication being included in at least one of: a first message of a user equipment (UE) Capabilities Transfer procedure including an Information Element, the first indication comprising an additional Information Element of the UE Capabilities Transfer procedure, wherein the additional Information Element indicates to the one or more RANs that the wireless device has the ATSSS capability; or a second message of a UE assistance information capability procedure, the first indication comprising an enhancement to information provided to the one or more RANs in a UE assistance information message to signal to the one or more RANs that the wireless device has the ATSSS capability.
Dimou is directed to providing methods and devices for adjusting resource management procedures based on machine device capability information, More specifically, Dimou teaches the first indication being included in at least one of: a first message of a user equipment (UE) Capabilities Transfer procedure including an Information Element ([Para. 0100], the RRC message in the form of a UECapabilityInformation may be in accordance with 3GPP TS 36.331 with information elements added to indicate the UE machine device capability information), the first indication comprising an additional Information Element of the UE Capabilities Transfer procedure ([Para. 0100], the RRC message in the form of a UECapabilityInformation may be in accordance with 3GPP TS 36.331 with information elements added to indicate the UE machine device capability information. Any number or form of information elements may be added to indicate the UE machine device capability information [Examiner’s Note: An added Information Element is the additional Information Element]), wherein the additional Information Element indicates to the one or more RANs that the wireless device has the ATSSS capability ([Para. 0100], the RRC message in the form of a UECapabilityInformation may be in accordance with 3GPP TS 36.331 with information elements added to indicate the UE machine device capability information. [Para. 0096], serving eNB sends a radio resource control (RRC) message to the UE machine device. The RRC message can be in the form of a UECapabilityEnquiry. The UE machine device then sends a RRC message back to the serving eNB. The return RRC message can be in the form of a UECapabilityInformation message which may include UE machine device capability information. In response to the UECapabilityInformation, the serving eNB may send a RRC connection reconfiguration message to the UE machine device), or a second message of a UE assistance information capability procedure, the first indication comprising an enhancement to information provided to the one or more RANs in a UE assistance information message to signal to the one or more RANs that the wireless device has the ATSSS capability.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Sugawara, so that new Information Element is added to UECapabilityInformation to indicate to RAN the UE capability, as taught by Dimou. The modification would have allowed adjustment of radio resource management procedures based on machine device capability information (Dimou [Para. 0008]).
Although teaching indicating to RAN the UE capability information in the additional Information Element in the UECapbilityInformation message, Sugawara and Dimou do not explicitly disclose wherein the additional Information Element indicates to the one or more RANs that the wireless device has the ATSSS capability.
TS 24.501 teaches wherein the additional Information Element indicates to the one or more RANs that the wireless device has the ATSSS capability ([Page 423, Sect. 6.4.1.2], if the UE supports ATSSS Low-Layer functionality with any steering mode, the UE shall set the ATSSS-ST bits to "ATSSS Low-Layer functionality with any steering mode supported" in the 5GSM capability IE of the PDU SESSION ESTABLISHMENT REQUEST message; [Pages 634-635, Sect. 9.11.4.1], The 5GSM capability information element is coded as: 0 0 0 0 ATSSS not supported and 0 0 0 1 UE ATSSS Low-Layer functionality with any steering mode supported [Examiner’s Note: Dimou teaches indicating to RAN the UE capability in an additional Information Element in the UECapabilityInformation message for resource management. It is reasonable to combine TS 24.501 with Dimou to add the Information Element for ATSSS capability in TS 24.501 in the UECapabilityInformation message sent to RAN for resource management based on the capability]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Sugawara and Dimou, so that the ATSSS capability indication is included in an information element (IE), as taught by TS 24.501. The modification would have allowed user-plane resources for MA PDU session (TS 24.501 [Pages 423-424, last Paragraph on page 423 and first paragraph on page 424]).
For claim 2, Sugawara, Dimou and TS 24.501 reach the method of claim 1. The references further teach further comprising receiving, by the wireless device, a UECapabilityEnquiry message (Dimou [Para. 0096], serving eNB sends a radio resource control (RRC) message to the UE machine device. The RRC message can be in the form of a UECapabilityEnquiry. The UE machine device then sends a RRC message back to the serving eNB. The return RRC message can be in the form of a UECapabilityInformation message which may include UE machine device capability information), wherein the first indication that the wireless device has the ATSSS capability is included in a UECapabilitylnformation message responsive to the UECapabilityEnquiry message (Sugawara [Para. 0177], Second identification information is information indicating whether the UE supports the ATSSS function. The information indicating whether the UE supports the ATSSS function may be expressed as the ATSSS capability. Sugawara [Para. 0233], The UE may include the second identification information in the PDU session establishment request message and/or the NAS message to notify the network side whether the UE supports the ATSSS function. Dimou [Para. 0096], serving eNB sends a radio resource control (RRC) message to the UE machine device. The RRC message can be in the form of a UECapabilityEnquiry. The UE machine device then sends a RRC message back to the serving eNB. The return RRC message can be in the form of a UECapabilityInformation message which may include UE machine device capability information).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Sugawara and TS24.501, so that the eNB sends a UECapabilityEnquiry message, as taught by Dimou. The modification would have allowed adjustment of radio resource management procedures based on machine device capability information (Dimou [Para. 0008])
For claim 4, Sugawara, Dimou and TS 24.501 reach the method of claim 1. The references further teach wherein: the one or more RANs includes a first RAN of a multi-access packet data unit (MA PDU) session and a second RAN of the MA PDU session (Sugawara [Para. 0024], The UE may be an apparatus that can connect to a network service over the 3GPP access (also referred to as the 3GPP access network or 3GPP AN) and/or the non-3GPP access (also referred to as the non-3GPP access network or non-3GPP AN). Sugawara [Para. 0139], The MA PDU session may be a PDU session providing a PDU connectivity service allowing one 3GPP access network and one non-3GPP access network to be simultaneously used. Sugawara [Para. 0140], the UE communicating with the DN by using the MA PDU session may be the UE communicating with the DN by using user plane resources in the 3GPP access network and user plane resources in the non-3GPP access network), the first RAN being a third generation partnership program (3GPP) RAN and the second RAN being a non-3GPP RAN (Sugawara [Para. 0024], The UE may be an apparatus that can connect to a network service over the 3GPP access (also referred to as the 3GPP access network or 3GPP AN) and/or the non-3GPP access (also referred to as the non-3GPP access network or non-3GPP AN)).
For claim 13, Sugawara teaches a method of allocating network resources ([Para. 0006], a communication method. [Para. 0009], user plane resources of the MA PDU session for one access are established), receiving, from a wireless device connected to one or more radio access networks (RAN)s connecting to a core network, a first indication that the wireless device has an Access Traffic Steering, Switching, and Splitting (ATSSS) capability ([Para. 0021] and [FIG. 1], a User Equipment (UE), an access network, a core network). [Para. 0177], Second identification information is information indicating whether the UE supports the ATSSS function. The information indicating whether the UE supports the ATSSS function may be expressed as the ATSSS capability. [Para. 0220], in a case that the UE is registered with the 5GS over the 3GPP access, the UE can initiate the MA PDU session establishment procedure [Examiner’s Note: That the UE initiates PDU session establishment procedure over 3GPP access indicates that the UE is in the RRC connected state]. [Para. 0227], the UE transmits the NAS message including the PDU session establishment request message, to the SMF via the 5G AN. [Para. 0233], The UE may include the second identification information in the PDU session establishment request message and/or the NAS message to notify the network side whether the UE supports the ATSSS function), and sending a second indication of network resource allocation in response to receiving the first indication ([Para. 0201], The 19th identification information may be information indicating, in a case that the network allows the MA PDU session to be established (the network allows the user plane resources for both accesses to be established). [Para. 0204], Note that the 19th identification information may be included in the ATSSS container IE, and/or the PDU session establishment accept message).
Although teaching sending ATSSS capability in MA PDU session establishment request, Sugawara does not explicitly disclose the first indication being included in at least one of: a UECapabilitylnformation message of a user equipment (UE) Capabilities Transfer procedure including an Information Element, the first indication comprising an additional Information Element of the UECapabilitylnformation message, wherein the additional Information Element indicates to the one or more RANs that the wireless device has the ATSSS capability; or a UEAssistanceInformation message of a UE assistance information capability procedure, the first indication comprising an enhancement to information provided to the one or more RANs in the UEAssistanceInformation message to signal to the one or more RANs that the wireless device has the ATSSS capability
Dimou is directed to providing methods and devices for adjusting resource management procedures based on machine device capability information, More specifically, Dimou teaches the first indication being included in at least one of: a UECapabilitylnformation message of a user equipment (UE) Capabilities Transfer procedure including an Information Element ([Para. 0100], the RRC message in the form of a UECapabilityInformation may be in accordance with 3GPP TS 36.331 with information elements added to indicate the UE machine device capability information), the first indication comprising an additional Information Element of the UECapabilitylnformation message ([Para. 0100], the RRC message in the form of a UECapabilityInformation may be in accordance with 3GPP TS 36.331 with information elements added to indicate the UE machine device capability information. Any number or form of information elements may be added to indicate the UE machine device capability information [Examiner’s Note: An added Information Element is the additional Information Element]), wherein the additional Information Element indicates to the one or more RANs that the wireless device has the ATSSS capability ([Para. 0100], the RRC message in the form of a UECapabilityInformation may be in accordance with 3GPP TS 36.331 with information elements added to indicate the UE machine device capability information. [Para. 0096], serving eNB sends a radio resource control (RRC) message to the UE machine device. The RRC message can be in the form of a UECapabilityEnquiry. The UE machine device then sends a RRC message back to the serving eNB. The return RRC message can be in the form of a UECapabilityInformation message which may include UE machine device capability information. In response to the UECapabilityInformation, the serving eNB may send a RRC connection reconfiguration message to the UE machine device), or a second message of a UE assistance information capability procedure, the first indication comprising an enhancement to information provided to the one or more RANs in a UE assistance information message to signal to the one or more RANs that the wireless device has the ATSSS capability.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Sugawara, so that new Information Element is added to UECapabilityInformation to indicate to RAN the UE capability, as taught by Dimou. The modification would have allowed adjustment of radio resource management procedures based on machine device capability information (Dimou [Para. 0008]).
Although teaching indicating to RAN the UE capability information in the additional Information Element in the UECapbilityInformation message, Sugawara and Dimou do not explicitly disclose wherein the additional Information Element indicates to the one or more RANs that the wireless device has the ATSSS capability.
TS 24.501 teaches wherein the additional Information Element indicates to the one or more RANs that the wireless device has the ATSSS capability ([Page 423, Sect. 6.4.1.2], if the UE supports ATSSS Low-Layer functionality with any steering mode, the UE shall set the ATSSS-ST bits to "ATSSS Low-Layer functionality with any steering mode supported" in the 5GSM capability IE of the PDU SESSION ESTABLISHMENT REQUEST message; [Pages 634-635, Sect. 9.11.4.1], The 5GSM capability information element is coded as: 0 0 0 0 ATSSS not supported and 0 0 0 1 UE ATSSS Low-Layer functionality with any steering mode supported [Examiner’s Note: Dimou teaches indicating to RAN the UE capability in an additional Information Element in the UECapabilityInformation message for resource management. It is reasonable to combine TS 24.501 with Dimou to add the Information Element for ATSSS capability in TS 24.501 in the UECapabilityInformation message sent to RAN for resource management based on the capability]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Sugawara and Dimou, so that the ATSSS capability indication is included in an information element (IE), as taught by TS 24.501. The modification would have allowed user-plane resources for MA PDU session (TS 24.501 [Pages 423-424, last Paragraph on page 423 and first paragraph on page 424]).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugawara (US20220361272A1, hereinafter Sugawara) in view of Dimou et al.(US20140094127A1, hereinafter Dimou) and 3GPP TS 24.501 (3GPP TS 24.501 version 16.8.0 Release 16, hereinafter TS 24.501), and further in view of Lee et al (US20150237576A1, hereinafter Lee).
For claim 3, Sugawara, Dimou and TS 24.501 reach the method of claim 1. The references further teach wherein the first indication that the wireless device has the ATSSS capability is included in a UEAssistancelnformation message responsive to the RRCReconfiguration message (Sugawara [Para. 0177], Second identification information is information indicating whether the UE supports the ATSSS function. The information indicating whether the UE supports the ATSSS function may be expressed as the ATSSS capability. [Para. 0233], The UE may include the second identification information in the PDU session establishment request message and/or the NAS message to notify the network side whether the UE supports the ATSSS function).
Although teaching sending ATSSS capability in UECapabilityInformation message, Sugawara, Dimou and TS 24.501 do not explicitly disclose further comprising receiving, by the wireless device, an RRCReconfiguration message, wherein the first indication that the wireless device has the ATSSS capability is included in a UEAssistancelnformation message responsive to the RRCReconfiguration message.
Lee is directed to providing UE capability in a message in a UE assistance information procedure. More specifically, Lee teaches further comprising receiving, by the wireless device, an RRCReconfiguration message ([FIG. 5] and [0053], an example of a UE assistance information procedure. The purpose of this procedure is to inform the E-UTRAN of the UE's power saving preference. [0054] at step S50, the UE and the E-UTRAN performs an RRC connection reconfiguration procedure), wherein the first indication that the wireless device has the ATSSS capability is included in a UEAssistancelnformation message responsive to the RRCReconfiguration message ([0054], at step S50, the UE and the E-UTRAN performs an RRC connection reconfiguration procedure. At step S51, the UE transmits a UE assistance information (UEAssistanceInformation) message to the E-UTRAN. [0055], A UE capable of providing power preference indications in RRC_CONNECTED may initiate the procedure).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Sugawara, Dimou and TS 24.501, so that UE capability information is provided to the network in ‘UEAssistanceInformation’ message, in response to RRCReconfiguration message, as taught by Lee. The modification would have allowed the system to prevent the signaling overhead due to the transmission of the UE-originated indications (Lee [Para. 0006]).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugawara (US20220361272A1, hereinafter Sugawara) in view of Dimou et al.(US20140094127A1, hereinafter Dimou) and 3GPP TS 24.501 (3GPP TS 24.501 version 16.8.0 Release 16, hereinafter TS 24.501), and further in view of Wang et al (WO2022222612A1, hereinafter Wang).
For claim 5, Sugawara, Dimou and TS 24.501 teach the method of claim 4. Although teaching sending ATSSS capability in UECapabilityInformation message, Sugawara, Dimou and TS 24.501 do not explicitly disclose wherein sending the first indication of the ATSSS capability is responsive to releasing the wireless device from the MA PDU session.
Wang teaches wherein sending the first indication of the ATSSS capability is responsive to releasing the wireless device from the MA PDU session ([Page 6. Last paragraph], the ATSSS rule only has the Load-Balancing rule, that is, when the terminal does not support the Load-Balancing capability of the ATSSS rule, the terminal may send a protocol message to the core network element. The signaling of the data unit (Protocol Data Unit, PUD) session release "PDU session release", and then re-send the signaling for the PDU session establishment request to the core network element "PDU session Establishment req" and signaling "nr5g_smm_msg for changing terminal ATSSS capability". [Page 1. Second last paragraph], multiple access protocol data unit (Protocol Data Unit, PDU) sessions (also referred to as packet data unit (Packet Data Unit, PDU) sessions)).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Sugawara, Dimou and TS 24.501, so that UE capability information is changed in response to releasing the MA PDU session, as taught by Wang. The modification would have allowed the terminal to meet the network requirements of the service flow that the terminal needs to transmit (Wang [Page 3. Fourth paragraph under Detailed Ways]).
Claims 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugawara (US20220361272A1, hereinafter Sugawara) in view of Dimou et al.(US20140094127A1, hereinafter Dimou) and 3GPP TS 24.501 (3GPP TS 24.501 version 16.8.0 Release 16, hereinafter TS 24.501), and further in view of Youn et al (US20230319634A1, hereinafter Youn).
For claim 6, Sugawara, Dimou and TS 24.501 reach the method of claim 1. Although teaching sending ATSSS capability in UECapabilityInformation message, Sugawara, Dimou and TS 24.501 do not explicitly disclose wherein the first indication of the ATSSS capability includes an indication the wireless device has an Access Traffic Steering capability.
Youn is directed to traffic control. More specifically, Youn teaches wherein the first indication of the ATSSS capability includes an indication the wireless device has an Access Traffic Steering capability ([Para. 0272], The functionality of ATSSS-capable UE (ATSSS-capable UE) that ATSSS-capable UE (ATSSS-capable UE) can steer (coordinate), switch, and split the traffic of the MA PDU session through 3GPP access and non-3GPP access can be referred to as “steering functionality. [Para. 0275], The UE may indicate to the network the steering function and steering mode supported by the UE by including one of the following in the UE ATSSS Capability: [Para. 0275. The third of the listed ATSSS functionalities], 3) MPTCP functionality with any steering mode and ATSSS-LL functionality with any steering mode).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Sugawara, Dimou and TS 24.501, so that the UE may include indication of Steering capability in the indication of ATSSS capability, as taught by Youn. The modification would have allowed the UE or the network to handles traffic, when the UE does not have a valid ATSSS rule, in communication related to traffic control (Youn [Para. 0006 and 0008]).
For claim 7, Sugawara, Dimou, TS 24.501 and Youn teach the method of claim 6. The references further teach wherein the first indication the wireless device has the Access Traffic Steering capability includes an indication the wireless device has multi-path transmission control protocol (MPTCP) functionality for transmission control protocol (TCP) traffic (Youn [Para. 0275], The UE may indicate to the network the steering function and steering mode supported by the UE by including one of the following in the UE ATSSS Capability: Youn [Para. 0280], 3) MPTCP functionality with any steering mode and ATSSS-LL functionality with any steering mode. In this case, the UE may indicate: Youn [Para. 0281], 3-a) The UE may use the MPTCP function with all steering modes to steer, switch and split the MPTCP traffic of the MA PDU session).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Sugawara, Dimou and TS 24.501, so that the UE may include indication of MPTCP functionality in the indication of Steering capability, as taught by Youn. The modification would have allowed the UE or the network to handles traffic, when the UE does not have a valid ATSSS rule, in communication related to traffic control (Youn [Para. 0006 and 0008]).
For claim 8, Sugawara, Dimou, TS 24.501 and Youn teach the method of claim 7. The references further teach wherein the first indication the wireless device has the Access Traffic Steering capability includes an indication the wireless device has ATSSS-lower level (LL) functionality for transmission control protocol (TCP) traffic, user datagram protocol (UDP) traffic, or Ethernet traffic (Youn [Para. 0275], The UE may indicate to the network the steering function and steering mode supported by the UE by including one of the following in the UE ATSSS Capability: Youn [Para. 0280], 3) MPTCP functionality with any steering mode and ATSSS-LL functionality with any steering mode. In this case, the UE may indicate: Youn [Para. 0281], 3-a) The UE may use the MPTCP function with all steering modes to steer, switch and split the MPTCP traffic of the MA PDU session).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Sugawara, Dimou and TS 24.501, so that the UE may include indication of ATSSS-LL functionality in the indication of Steering capability, as taught by Youn. The modification would have allowed the UE or the network to handles traffic, when the UE does not have a valid ATSSS rule, in communication related to traffic control (Youn [Para. 0006 and 0008]).
For claim 9, Sugawara, Dimou, TS 24.501 and Youn teach the method of claim 6. The references further teach wherein the first indication of the ATSSS capability includes an indication the wireless device has an Access Traffic Splitting capability (Youn [Para. 0272], The functionality of ATSSS-capable UE (ATSSS-capable UE) that ATSSS-capable UE (ATSSS-capable UE) can steer (coordinate), switch, and split the traffic of the MA PDU session through 3GPP access and non-3GPP access can be referred to as “steering functionality. Youn [Para. 0275], The UE may indicate to the network the steering function and steering mode supported by the UE by including one of the following in the UE ATSSS Capability: Youn [Para. 0280], 3) MPTCP functionality with any steering mode and ATSSS-LL functionality with any steering mode).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Sugawara, Dimou and TS 24.501, so that the UE may include indication of Splitting capability in the indication of ATSSS capability, as taught by Youn. The modification would have allowed the UE or the network to handles traffic, when the UE does not have a valid ATSSS rule, in communication related to traffic control (Youn [Para. 0006 and 0008]).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugawara (US20220361272A1, hereinafter Sugawara) in view of Dimou et al.(US20140094127A1, hereinafter Dimou), 3GPP TS 24.501 (3GPP TS 24.501 version 16.8.0 Release 16, hereinafter TS 24.501) and Youn et al (US20230319634A1, hereinafter Youn), and further in view of Rahman (US20220369100A1, hereinafter Rahman).
For claim 10, Sugawara, Dimou, TS 24.501 and Youn teach the method of claim 8. The references further teach wherein the first indication of the ATSSS capability includes one or more additional information elements (IE)s included in a UECapabilitylnformation message based on a first standard of third generation partnership program (3GPP) TS 38.331: Section 5.6.1 or a second standard of long term evolution (LTE) 36.331 Section 5.6.3 (Sugawara [Para. 0177], Second identification information is information indicating whether the UE supports the ATSSS function. The information indicating whether the UE supports the ATSSS function may be expressed as the ATSSS capability).
Although teaching sending ATSSS capability in UECapabilityInformation message, Sugawara, Dimou, TS 24.501 and Youn do not explicitly disclose wherein the first indication of the ATSSS capability includes one or more additional information elements (IE)s included in a UECapabilitylnformation message based on a first standard of third generation partnership program (3GPP) TS 38.331: Section 5.6.1 or a second standard of long term evolution (LTE) 36.331 Section 5.6.3.
Rahman is directed to providing modular capability reporting in wireless communications. More specifically, Rahman teaches wherein the first indication of the ATSSS capability includes one or more additional information elements (IE)s included in a UECapabilitylnformation message based on a first standard of third generation partnership program (3GPP) TS 38.331: Section 5.6.1 ([Para. 0023], the UE sets the contents of UECapabilitylnformation message 303 accordingly as defined in the 3GPP standard. The 3GPP standard TS 38.331 includes over 40 pages of information element definitions for UE capability information elements. [Para. 0029], UECapabilityInformation ::= SEQUENCE {criticalExtensions CHOICE {ueCapabilityInformation UECapabilityInformation-IEs, … }} UECapabilityInformation-IEs ::= SEQUENCE {lateNonCriticalExtension, …nonCriticalExtension …}) or a second standard of long term evolution (LTE) 36.331 Section 5.6.3.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Sugawara, Dimou, TS 24.501 and Youn, so that indication of ATSSS capability includes additional information elements, as taught by Rahman. The modification would have allowed the system to reduce the size of capability signaling to several bits (Rahman [Para. 0024]).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugawara (US20220361272A1, hereinafter Sugawara) in view of Dimou et al.(US20140094127A1, hereinafter Dimou), 3GPP TS 24.501 (3GPP TS 24.501 version 16.8.0 Release 16, hereinafter TS 24.501), Youn et al (US20230319634A1, hereinafter Youn) and Rahman (US20220369100A1, hereinafter Rahman), and further in view of Ozturk et al (US20220109976A1, hereinafter Ozturk).
For claim 11, Sugawara, Dimou, TS 24.501, Youn and Rahman teach the method of claim 10. The references further teach wherein the wireless device includes multiple universal subscriber identity modules (USIM)s, and the additional IE consolidates ATSSS features for the multiple USIMS (Sugawara [Para. 0177], Second identification information is information indicating whether the UE supports the ATSSS function. The information indicating whether the UE supports the ATSSS function may be expressed as the ATSSS capability. Sugawara [Para. 0233], The UE may include the second identification information in the PDU session establishment request message and/or the NAS message to notify the network side whether the UE supports the ATSSS function).
Although teaching indication of UE ATSSS capability, Sugawara, Dimou, TS 24.501, Youn and Rahman do not explicitly disclose wherein the wireless device includes multiple universal subscriber identity modules (USIM)s, and the additional IE consolidates ATSSS features for the multiple USIMS.
Ozturk is directed to providing dynamic capacity for multiple universal subscriber identity modules. More specifically, Ozturk teaches wherein the wireless device includes multiple universal subscriber identity modules (USIM)s ([Para. 0136], when multiple USIMs are active at the UE), and the additional IE consolidates ATSSS features for the multiple USIMS ([Para. 0136], The UE may transmit the UAI including the IE indicating the modified subset of UE capabilities of the set of UE capabilities when multiple USIMs are active at the UE. In some aspects, the modified subset of UE capabilities may comprise reduced UE capabilities).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Sugawara, Dimou, TS 24.501, Youn and Rahman, so that the IE is included in UE capabilities to indicate reduced set of capabilities when multiple USIMs are in the UE, as taught by Ozturk. The modification would have allowed the system to operate based on the modified subset of UE capabilities when multiple USIMs are active at the UE (Ozturk [Para. 0006]).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugawara (US20220361272A1, hereinafter Sugawara) in view of Dimou et al.(US20140094127A1, hereinafter Dimou) and 3GPP TS 24.501 (3GPP TS 24.501 version 16.8.0 Release 16, hereinafter TS 24.501), and further in view of Bouazizi et al (US20210105308A1, hereinafter Bouazizi).
For claim 12, Sugawara, Dimou and TS 24.501 reach the method of claim 1. The references further teach wherein receiving the second indication of network resource allocation includes performing Carrier Aggregation (CA) configuration or activation for the wireless device (Sugawara [Para. 0201], The 19th identification information may be information indicating, in a case that the network allows the MA PDU session to be established (the network allows the user plane resources for both accesses to be established). Sugawara [Para. 0204], Note that the 19th identification information may be included in the ATSSS container IE, and/or the PDU session establishment accept message).
Although teaching sending ATSSS capability in UECapabilityInformation message and receiving session establishment accept message, Sugawara, Dimou and TS 24.501 do not explicitly disclose wherein receiving the second indication of network resource allocation includes performing Carrier Aggregation (CA) configuration or activation for the wireless device.
Bouazizi is directed to system and apparatus for providing network assistance for traffic handling in downlink streaming. More specifically, Bouazizi teaches wherein receiving the second indication of network resource allocation includes performing Carrier Aggregation (CA) configuration or activation for the wireless device ([Para. 0102], the network slicing module 608 is configured to receive, from a UE via a BS in a first cell frequency, a request to establish a PDU session for a first service not supported by the first cell frequency, transmit, to the BS, a PDU session resource setup request, receive, from the BS, a PDU session resource setup response, participate in a handover of the UE to ... a carrier aggregation of the UE with second cell frequency. [Para. 0120], At step 750, upon receiving the PDU session resource setup response message with an accept response, the core network may transmit a NAS service accept message to the UE via the BS A).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Sugawara, Dimou and TS 24.501, so that a session establishment performs carrier aggregation for the UE, as taught by Bouazizi. The modification would have allowed the system to selecting appropriate network slices for provisioning media content and streaming service over the network (Bouazizi [Abstract]).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugawara (US20220361272A1, hereinafter Sugawara) in view of Dimou et al.(US20140094127A1, hereinafter Dimou) and 3GPP TS 24.501 (3GPP TS 24.501 version 16.8.0 Release 16, hereinafter TS 24.501), and further in view of Cao et al (US20230344717A1, hereinafter Cao) and 3GPP TS 23.502 (3GPP TS 23.502 version 16.7.0 Release 16, hereinafter TS23.502).
For claim 14, Sugawara, Dimou and TS 24.501 teach the method of claim 13. Although teaching sending ATSSS capability in UECapabilityInformation message, Sugawara, Dimou and TS 24.501 do not explicitly disclose further comprising: sending, from the one or more RANs and to a session management function (SMF) or a policy control function (PCF), a query to check policies of a service data unit (SDU) or a packet data unit (PDU) data flow for the wireless device; and determining, by the one or more RANs or an Access & Mobility Function (AMF), the ATSSS capability for the wireless device based at least partly on a response to the query.
Cao is directed to providing policy conflict management method, apparatus, and system. More specifically, Cao teaches further comprising: sending, from the one or more RANs and to a session management function (SMF) or a policy control function (PCF) ([Para. 0384], a PDU (protocol data unit) session resource modification indication procedure. [Para. 0396], the RAN network element sends the received policy operation information (for example, QoS) for the UE to the core network element (for example, an AMF or an SMF)), a query to check policies of a service data unit (SDU) or a packet data unit (PDU) data flow for the wireless device ([Para. 0399], the core network element (for example, the AMF or the SMF) performs, based on locally stored UE subscription policy information or UE subscription policy information obtained from a UDM, conflict detection on the policy operation information for the UE received in step 18-4. [Para. 0401], after completing policy conflict detection, the core network element (for example, the AMF or the SMF) may respond to the request of the RAN network element, a PDU session resource modification confirm message. The policy conflict detection indication information indicates a policy conflict detection result of the core network element).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Sugawara, Dimou and TS 24.501, so that RAN can check policy of a PDU with SMF, as taught by Cao. The modification would have allowed the system to avoid a policy conflict by using different implementations such as proactive preventive policy conflict processing or policy conflict feedback processing (Cao [Para. 0006]).
Although teaching sending query from RAN to SMF for policy of a PDU session, Sugawara, Dimou, TS 24.501 and Cao do not explicitly disclose and determining, by the one or more RANs or an Access & Mobility Function (AMF), the ATSSS capability for the wireless device based at least partly on a response to the query.
TS23.502 teaches and determining, by the one or more RANs or an Access & Mobility Function (AMF), the ATSSS capability for the wireless device based at least partly on a response to the query ([Page 374. List of steps under section 4.22.2.1], In step 7, the SMF sends an "MA PDU Request" indication to the PCF in the SM Policy Control Create message and the ATSSS Capabilities of the MA PDU session. The PCF decides whether the MA PDU session is allowed or not based on operator policy and subscription data. [Page 375. List of steps under section 4.22.2.1], In step 11, for the MA PDU session, the SMF includes an "MA PDU session Accepted" indication in the Namf_Communication_N1N2MessageTransfer message to the AMF. [Page 375. List of steps under section 4.22.2.1], In step 13, the UE receives a PDU Session Establishment Accept message. This message includes the ATSSS rules for the MA PDU session, which were derived by SMF).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Sugawara, Dimou, TS 24.501 and Cao, so that query to determine the ATSSS capability for the UE are performed, as taught by TS23.502. The modification would have allowed the system to have the policy and charging control framework (TS23.502 [Page 21 Scope]).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugawara (US20220361272A1, hereinafter Sugawara) in view of Dimou et al.(US20140094127A1, hereinafter Dimou) and 3GPP TS 24.501 (3GPP TS 24.501 version 16.8.0 Release 16, hereinafter TS 24.501), and further in view of Rahman (US20220369100A1, hereinafter Rahman).
For claim 15, Sugawara, Dimou and TS 24.501 teach the method of claim 13. The references further teach wherein the first indication of the ATSSS capability is included in a FeatureGrouplndicator (FGI) or a Feature Set of the UECapabilitylnformation message (Sugawara [Para. 0177], Second identification information is information indicating whether the UE supports the ATSSS function. The information indicating whether the UE supports the ATSSS function may be expressed as the ATSSS capability).
Although teaching sending ATSSS capability in UECapabilityInformation message, Sugawara, Dimou and TS 24.501 do not explicitly disclose wherein the first indication of the ATSSS capability is included in a FeatureGrouplndicator (FGI) or a Feature Set of the UECapabilitylnformation message.
Rahman is directed to modular capability reporting in wireless communications. More specifically, Rahman teaches wherein the first indication of the ATSSS capability is included in a FeatureGrouplndicator (FGI) or a Feature Set of the UECapabilitylnformation message ([Para. 0023], Based on the information included in UECapabilityEnquiry message 301, the UE sets the contents of UECapabilitylnformation message 303 accordingly as defined in the 3GPP standard. [Para. 0025], currently the UE determines the contents of UECapabilitylnformation based on ... feature set(s) combinations that it supports. The UE compiles a list of candidate ... feature sets, and feature set combinations according to the frequency band list provided by the base station and the RAT type).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Sugawara, Dimou and TS 24.501, so that indication of ATSSS capability is included in Feature Set of UECapabilitylnformation, as taught by Rahman. The modification would have allowed the system to reduce the size of capability signaling to several bits (Rahman [Para. 0024]).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugawara (US20220361272A1, hereinafter Sugawara) in view of Dimou et al.(US20140094127A1, hereinafter Dimou) and 3GPP TS 24.501 (3GPP TS 24.501 version 16.8.0 Release 16, hereinafter TS 24.501), and further in view of Youn et al (US20230319634A1, hereinafter Youn) and 3GPP TS 23.502 (3GPP TS 23.502 version 16.7.0 Release 16, hereinafter TS23.502).
For claim 16, Sugawara, Dimou and TS 24.501 teach the method of claim 13. The references further teach wherein the first indication of the ATSSS capability includes an indication of a Performance Measurement Function (PMF) at a user plane function (UPF) associated with ATSSS-lower level (LL) functionality (Sugawara [Para. 0177], Second identification information is information indicating whether the UE supports the ATSSS function. The information indicating whether the UE supports the ATSSS function may be expressed as the ATSSS capability).
Although teaching sending ATSSS capability in UECapabilityInformation message, Sugawara, Dimou and TS 24.501 do not explicitly disclose wherein the first indication of the ATSSS capability includes an indication of a Performance Measurement Function (PMF) at a user plane function (UPF) associated with ATSSS-lower level (LL) functionality.
Youn is directed to traffic control. More specifically, Youn teaches wherein the first indication of the ATSSS capability includes an indication of a Performance Measurement Function (PMF) at a user plane function (UPF) associated with ATSSS-lower level (LL) functionality ([Para. 0275], The UE may indicate to the network the steering function and steering mode supported by the UE by including one of the following in the UE ATSSS Capability: [Para. 0280] 3) MPTCP functionality with any steering mode and ATSSS-LL functionality with any steering mode).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Sugawara, Dimou and TS 24.501, so that UE may include indication of ATSSS-LL functionality in the indication of Steering capability, as taught by Youn. The modification would have allowed the UE or the network to handles traffic, when the UE does not have a valid ATSSS rule, in communication related to traffic control (Youn [Para. 0006 and 0008]).
Although teaching sending ATSSS capability in UECapabilityInformation message including indication of ATSSS-LL functionality, Sugawara, Dimou, TS 24.501 and Youn do not explicitly disclose wherein the first indication of the ATSSS capability includes an indication of a Performance Measurement Function (PMF) at a user plane function (UPF) associated with ATSSS-lower level (LL) functionality.
TS23.502 teaches wherein the first indication of the ATSSS capability includes an indication of a Performance Measurement Function (PMF) at a user plane function (UPF) associated with ATSSS-lower level (LL) functionality ([Figure 4.3.2.2.1-1 Page 90] and [Sect. 4.22.2.1 last two paragraphs, Page 374], the SMF establishes the user-plane resources over the 3GPP access, i.e. over the access where the PDU Session Establishment Request was sent on: If the ATSSS LL functionality is supported for MA PDU Session, the SMF may instruct the UPF to initiate performance measurement for this MA PDU Session. In step 10a, the UPF allocates addressing information for the Performance Measurement Function (PMF) in the UPF [Examiner’s Note: Indication of ATSSS LL functionality indicates Performance Measurement Function (PMF) in the UPF]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Sugawara, Dimou, TS 24.501 and Youn, so that Performance Measurement Function (PMF) is indicated by indication of ATSSS LL functionality, as taught by TS23.502. The modification would have allowed the system to have the policy and charging control framework (TS23.502 [Page 21 Scope]).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugawara (US20220361272A1, hereinafter Sugawara) in view of Dimou et al.(US20140094127A1, hereinafter Dimou) and 3GPP TS 24.501 (3GPP TS 24.501 version 16.8.0 Release 16, hereinafter TS 24.501), and further in view of 3GPP TS 38.331 (3GPP TS 38.331 version 16.3.1 Release 16, hereinafter TS38.331).
For claim 17, Sugawara, Dimou and TS 24.501 teach the method of claim 13. The references further teach wherein the first indication is included in the UECapabilitylnformation message with one or more of: an increment/decrement in a connected mode discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle length; overheating assistance information; in-device coexistence (IDC) assistance information; a preference of a DRX parameter; a preference of a maximum aggregated bandwidth; a preference of a maximum number of secondary component carriers; a preference of a maximum number of multiple-input multiple-output (MIMO) layers; a preference of a minimum scheduling offset for cross-slot scheduling; a preference of a radio resource control (RRC) state; configured grant assistance information for a new radio (NR) sidelink communication; or a preference of being provisioned with reference time information (Dimou [Para. 0096], serving eNB sends a radio resource control (RRC) message to the UE machine device. The RRC message can be in the form of a UECapabilityEnquiry. The UE machine device then sends a RRC message back to the serving eNB. The return RRC message can be in the form of a UECapabilityInformation message which may include UE machine device capability information).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Sugawara and TS24.501, so that the wireless device indicates to the network the UE capability in an information element of UECapabilityInformation message, as taught by Dimou. The modification would have allowed adjustment of radio resource management procedures based on machine device capability information (Dimou [Para. 0008]).
Although teaching sending ATSSS capability in UECapabilityInformation message, Sugawara, Dimou and TS 24.501 do not explicitly disclose wherein the first indication is included in the UECapabilitylnformation message with one or more of: an increment/decrement in a connected mode discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle length; overheating assistance information; in-device coexistence (IDC) assistance information; a preference of a DRX parameter; a preference of a maximum aggregated bandwidth; a preference of a maximum number of secondary component carriers; a preference of a maximum number of multiple-input multiple-output (MIMO) layers; a preference of a minimum scheduling offset for cross-slot scheduling; a preference of a radio resource control (RRC) state; configured grant assistance information for a new radio (NR) sidelink communication; or a preference of being provisioned with reference time information.
TS38.331 teaches wherein the first indication is included in the UECapabilitylnformation message with one or more of: an increment/decrement in a connected mode discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle length; overheating assistance information; in-device coexistence (IDC) assistance information; a preference of a DRX parameter; a preference of a maximum aggregated bandwidth; a preference of a maximum number of secondary component carriers; a preference of a maximum number of multiple-input multiple-output (MIMO) layers; a preference of a minimum scheduling offset for cross-slot scheduling; a preference of a radio resource control (RRC) state; configured grant assistance information for a new radio (NR) sidelink communication; or a preference of being provisioned with reference time information ([Page 185. Sect. 5.7.4.1] The purpose of this procedure is to inform the network of: its overheating assistance information, or ... its preference in being provisioned with reference time information. [Examiner’s Note: The procedure refers to UE assistance information capability procedure]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Sugawara, Dimou and TS 24.501, so that overheating assistance information is provided to the network, as taught by TS38.331. The modification would have allowed the UE to inform the network of the UE information (TS38.331 [Page 185. Sect. 5.7.4.1]).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugawara (US20220361272A1, hereinafter Sugawara) and in view of Dimou et al.(US20140094127A1, hereinafter Dimou), 3GPP TS 24.501 (3GPP TS 24.501 version 16.8.0 Release 16, hereinafter TS24.501), 3GPP TS 23.501 (3GPP TS 23.501 version 16.6.0 Release 16, hereinafter TS23.501) and Bouazizi et al (US20210105308A1, hereinafter Bouazizi).
For claim 18, Sugawara teaches a method of allocating network resources ([Para. 0006], a communication method. [Para. 0009], user plane resources of the MA PDU session for one access are established), the method comprising: receiving, from a wireless device connected to a 3GPP radio access networks (RAN) connecting to a core network, a first indication that the wireless device has an Access Traffic Steering, Switching, and Splitting (ATSSS) capability ([Para. 0021] and [FIG. 1], a User Equipment (UE), an access network, a core network). [Para. 0025], The access network may be referred to as a 5G access network (5G AN). The 5G AN includes an NG Radio Access Network (NG-RAN). [Para. 0177], Second identification information is information indicating whether the UE supports the ATSSS function. The information indicating whether the UE supports the ATSSS function may be expressed as the ATSSS capability. [Para. 0220], in a case that the UE is registered with the 5GS over the 3GPP access, the UE can initiate the MA PDU session establishment procedure [Examiner’s Note: That the UE initiates PDU session establishment procedure over 3GPP access indicates that the UE is in the RRC connected state]. [Para. 0227], the UE transmits the NAS message including the PDU session establishment request message, to the SMF via the 5G AN. [Para. 0233], The UE may include the second identification information in the PDU session establishment request message and/or the NAS message to notify the network side whether the UE supports the ATSSS function), receiving, from the wireless device and at a non-3GPP RAN connecting to the core network ([Para. 0030] and [FIG. 1], The access network 102 may be referred to as an Untrusted Non-3GPP Access or a Trusted Non-3GPP Access).
Although teaching sending ATSSS capability in MA PDU session establishment request, Sugawara does not explicitly disclose the first indication being included in at least one of: a first message of a user equipment (UE) Capabilities Transfer procedure including an Information Element, the first indication comprising an additional Information Element of the UE Capabilities Transfer procedure, wherein the additional Information Element indicates to the one or more RANs that the wireless device has the ATSSS capability; or a UEAssistanceInformation message of a UE assistance information capability procedure, the first indication comprising an enhancement to information provided to the one or more RANs in the UEAssistanceInformation message to signal to the one or more RANs that the wireless device has the ATSSS capability
Dimou is directed to providing methods and devices for adjusting resource management procedures based on machine device capability information, More specifically, Dimou teaches the first indication being included in at least one of: a first message of a user equipment (UE) Capabilities Transfer procedure including an Information Element ([Para. 0100], the RRC message in the form of a UECapabilityInformation may be in accordance with 3GPP TS 36.331 with information elements added to indicate the UE machine device capability information), the first indication comprising an additional Information Element of the UE Capabilities Transfer procedure ([Para. 0100], the RRC message in the form of a UECapabilityInformation may be in accordance with 3GPP TS 36.331 with information elements added to indicate the UE machine device capability information. Any number or form of information elements may be added to indicate the UE machine device capability information [Examiner’s Note: An added Information Element is the additional Information Element]), wherein the additional Information Element indicates to the one or more RANs that the wireless device has the ATSSS capability ([Para. 0100], the RRC message in the form of a UECapabilityInformation may be in accordance with 3GPP TS 36.331 with information elements added to indicate the UE machine device capability information. [Para. 0096], serving eNB sends a radio resource control (RRC) message to the UE machine device. The RRC message can be in the form of a UECapabilityEnquiry. The UE machine device then sends a RRC message back to the serving eNB. The return RRC message can be in the form of a UECapabilityInformation message which may include UE machine device capability information. In response to the UECapabilityInformation, the serving eNB may send a RRC connection reconfiguration message to the UE machine device), or a second message of a UE assistance information capability procedure, the first indication comprising an enhancement to information provided to the one or more RANs in a UE assistance information message to signal to the one or more RANs that the wireless device has the ATSSS capability.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Sugawara, so that new Information Element is added to UECapabilityInformation to indicate to RAN the UE capability, as taught by Dimou. The modification would have allowed adjustment of radio resource management procedures based on machine device capability information (Dimou [Para. 0008]).
Although teaching indicating to RAN the UE capability information in the additional Information Element in the UECapbilityInformation message, Sugawara and Dimou do not explicitly disclose wherein the additional Information Element indicates to the one or more RANs that the wireless device has the ATSSS capability.
TS 24.501 teaches wherein the additional Information Element indicates to the one or more RANs that the wireless device has the ATSSS capability ([Page 423, Sect. 6.4.1.2], if the UE supports ATSSS Low-Layer functionality with any steering mode, the UE shall set the ATSSS-ST bits to "ATSSS Low-Layer functionality with any steering mode supported" in the 5GSM capability IE of the PDU SESSION ESTABLISHMENT REQUEST message; [Pages 634-635, Sect. 9.11.4.1], The 5GSM capability information element is coded as: 0 0 0 0 ATSSS not supported and 0 0 0 1 UE ATSSS Low-Layer functionality with any steering mode supported [Examiner’s Note: Dimou teaches indicating to RAN the UE capability in an additional Information Element in the UECapabilityInformation message for resource management. It is reasonable to combine TS 24.501 with Dimou to add the Information Element for ATSSS capability in TS 24.501 in the UECapabilityInformation message sent to RAN for resource management based on the capability]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Sugawara and Dimou, so that the ATSSS capability indication is included in an information element (IE), as taught by TS 24.501. The modification would have allowed user-plane resources for MA PDU session (TS 24.501 [Pages 423-424, last Paragraph on page 423 and first paragraph on page 424]).
Although teaching UE indicating to the network ATSSS capability in information element of UECapabilityInformation message, Sugawara, Dimou and TS 24.501 do not explicitly disclose receiving, from the wireless device and at a non-3GPP RAN connecting to the core network, a second indication that the wireless device has the ATSSS capability; and sending, from the 3GPP RAN or the non-3GPP RAN and in response to receiving the first indication or the second indication, a third indication of network resource allocation for configuring, on the core network, carrier aggregation (CA) for the wireless device.
TS23.501 teaches receiving, from the wireless device and at a non-3GPP RAN connecting to the core network ([Page 311. Sect. 5.32.2], When the UE wants to request a new MA PDU Session: - If the UE is registered to different PLMNs over 3GPP and non-3GPP accesses, then the UE shall send a PDU Session Establishment Request over one access. After this PDU Session is established, the UE shall send another PDU Session Establishment Request over the other access), a second indication that the wireless device has the ATSSS capability ([Page 311. Sect. 5.32.2], When the UE wants to request a new MA PDU Session: - In the PDU Session Establishment Request that is sent to request a new MA PDU Session, the UE shall provide also its ATSSS capabilities).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Sugawara, Dimou and TS 24.501, so that the UE sends a second indication of ATSSS capability over non-3GPP access, as taught by TS23.501. The modification would have allowed the system to allow the support of ATSSS feature by the UE and 5GC network (TS23.501, [Page 310. Sect. 5.32 Support for ATSSSS]).
Although teaching receiving first and second indication of ATSSS capability in MA PDU session establishment request over 3GPP and non-3GPP access, Sugawara, Dimou, TS 24.501 and TS23.501 do not explicitly disclose sending, from the 3GPP RAN or the non-3GPP RAN and in response to receiving the first indication or the second indication, a third indication of network resource allocation for configuring, on the core network, carrier aggregation (CA) for the wireless device.
Bouazizi is directed to system and apparatus for providing network assistance for traffic handling in downlink streaming. More specifically, Bouazizi teaches sending, from the 3GPP RAN or the non-3GPP RAN and in response to receiving the first indication or the second indication ([Para. 0102], the network slicing module 608 is configured to receive, from a UE via a BS in a first cell frequency, a request to establish a PDU session for a first service not supported by the first cell frequency, transmit, to the BS, a PDU session resource setup request (to setup resources and/or QoS flow for serving the PDU session), receive, from the BS, a PDU session resource setup response), a third indication of network resource allocation for configuring, on the core network, carrier aggregation (CA) for the wireless device ([Para. 0102], the network slicing module 608 is configured to receive, from a UE via a BS in a first cell frequency, a request to establish a PDU session for a first service not supported by the first cell frequency, transmit, to the BS, a PDU session resource setup request (to setup resources and/or QoS flow for serving the PDU session), receive, from the BS, a PDU session resource setup response, participate in a handover of the UE to a carrier aggregation of the UE with second cell frequency).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Sugawara, Dimou, TS 24.501 and TS23.501, so that 3GPP RAN sends indication of resource allocation for carrier aggregation to core network, as taught by Bouazizi. The modification would have allowed the system to selecting appropriate network slices for provisioning media content and streaming service over the network (Bouazizi [Abstract]).
Claims 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugawara (US20220361272A1, hereinafter Sugawara) and in view of Dimou et al.(US20140094127A1, hereinafter Dimou), 3GPP TS 24.501 (3GPP TS 24.501 version 16.8.0 Release 16, hereinafter TS 24.501), 3GPP TS 23.501 (3GPP TS 23.501 version 16.6.0 Release 16, hereinafter TS23.501) and Bouazizi et al (US20210105308A1, hereinafter Bouazizi), and further in view of Van Der Velde et al (US20210105671A1, hereinafter Van Der Velde).
For claim 19, Sugawara, Dimou, TS 24.501, TS 23.501, and Bouazizi teach the method of claim 18. The references further teach wherein the first indication or the second indication includes an RRCConnectionReconfigruationComplete message indicating the ATSSS capability (Sugawara [Para. 0177], Second identification information is information indicating whether the UE supports the ATSSS function. The information indicating whether the UE supports the ATSSS function may be expressed as the ATSSS capability. Sugawara [Para. 0233], The UE may include the second identification information in the PDU session establishment request message and/or the NAS message to notify the network side whether the UE supports the ATSSS function).
Although teaching receiving indications of ATSSS from both 3GPP and non-3GPP accesses and sending indication of network resources allocation, Sugawara, Dimou, TS 24.501, TS 23.501, and Bouazizi not explicitly disclose wherein the first indication or the second indication includes an RRCConnectionReconfigruationComplete message indicating the ATSSS capability.
Van Der Velde is directed to providing capability coordination for mobility with daps. More specifically, Van Der Velde teaches wherein the first indication or the second indication includes an RRCConnectionReconfigruationComplete message indicating the ATSSS capability ([Para. 0107], UE providing capabilities relative to current/specific configuration and possibly in responsive manner e.g., in ReconfigurationComplete message. [Para. 0084], This reconfiguration procedure may again be used in other cases including cases not involving mobility).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Sugawara, Dimou, TS 24.501, TS 23.501, and Bouazizi, so that the UE ATSSS capability is included in ReconfigurationComplete message to the base station, as taught by Van Der Velde. The modification would have allowed the system to provide a method and a network having a reduced latency during handover (Van Der Velde [Para. 0015]).
For claim 20, Sugawara, Dimou, TS 24.501, TS 23.501, and Bouazizi and Van Der Velde teach the method of claim 19. The references further teach further including, in response to the RRCConnectionReconfigruationComplete message indicating the ATSSS capability (Sugawara [Para. 0177], Second identification information is information indicating whether the UE supports the ATSSS function. The information indicating whether the UE supports the ATSSS function may be expressed as the ATSSS capability. Sugawara [Para. 0233], The UE may include the second identification information in the PDU session establishment request message to notify the network side whether the UE supports the ATSSS function. Van Der Velde [Para. 0107], UE providing capabilities relative to current/specific configuration and possibly in responsive manner e.g., in ReconfigurationComplete message), activating an ATSSS feature instead of a CA feature for a call associated with the wireless device (Sugawara [0162], In response to a request for the MA PDU session and provision of the MPTCP capability, the MPTCP function of the UE may be enabled. Sugawara [Para. 0240], the AMF selects the SMF as a transfer destination for the various types of identification information included in the PDU session establishment request message. The AMF may select the SMF supporting the ATSSS function. Sugawara [Para. 0262], the SMF generates ATSSS rules (20th identification information). Sugawara [Para. 0205], 20th identification information includes ATSSS rules. In a case that the network allows the MA PDU session to be established, the 20th identification information is preferably included in the PDU session establishment accept message. Van Der Velde [Para. 0084], the term reconfiguration with sync (and security refresh) is typically used for a procedure used for change of PCell. This reconfiguration procedure may again be used in other cases including cases not involving mobility. Van Der Velde [Para. 0085], The procedure is used upon mobility i.e., when there is a change of PCell, and in such case any SCells that may be configured start in a deactivated state. [Examiner’s Note: CA may be deactivated by deactivation of SCells]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Sugawara, Dimou, TS 24.501, TS 23.501, and Bouazizi, so that CA is deactivated by ReconfigurationComplete message, as taught by Van Der Velde. The modification would have allowed the system to provide a method and a network having a reduced latency during handover (Van Der Velde [Para. 0015]).
Conclusion
/S.L./Examiner, Art Unit 2417
/REBECCA E SONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2417