DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s arguments and amendments filed February 25, 2026 have been entered and considered.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chae et al. (US 20190164945 A1), in view of El-Ghoroury (US 10134802 B2), Liu et al. (CN 104716264 A), Bessho et al. (US 9091415 B2), a different embodiment of Chae et al. (US 20190164945 A1), hereby referred to as Chae et al. (Fig. 6-7), another different embodiment of Chae et al. (US 20190164945 A1), hereby referred to as Chae et al. (Fig. 57), Yanagawa et al. (CN 112655099 A), Ko et al. (US 20190304960 A1), and Chang et al. (US 20150280075 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Chae et al. teaches:
A micro light-emitting diode (LED) display device [101, paragraph [0290], [0370-0371], Fig. 11], comprising:
a carrier [51, paragraph [0371], Fig. 11];
a first light-emitting unit [23, paragraph [0371], Fig. 11], disposed on the carrier [51, Fig. 11], wherein the first light-emitting unit [23, Fig. 11] comprises:
a chip [corresponds to LED stack 23, Fig. 11], disposed on the carrier [51, Fig. 11].
a first transparent substrate [31 “second substrate”, paragraph [0371-0374], [0380], Fig. 11], disposed on the first light-emitting unit [23, Fig. 11];
a second light-emitting unit [33, paragraph [0298], [0314], [0371], Fig. 11], disposed on the first transparent substrate [31, Fig. 11], wherein the second light-emitting unit [33, Fig. 11] comprises:
a chip [corresponds to LED stack 33, Fig. 11], disposed on the first transparent substrate [31, Fig. 11].
a second transparent substrate [41, paragraph [0380], Fig. 11], covering the second light-emitting unit [33, Fig. 11];
a third light-emitting unit [43, paragraph [0371-0374], Fig. 11], disposed on the second transparent substrate [41, Fig. 11], wherein the second transparent substrate [41, Fig. 11] is disposed on the third light-emitting unit [43, Fig. 11] and the second light-emitting unit [33, Fig. 11], the third light-emitting unit [43, Fig. 11] include a chip [corresponds to LED stack 43, Fig. 11] disposed on the second transparent substrate [41, Fig. 11].
a color resisting layer [47, paragraph [0371], [0380-0382], Fig. 11], disposed on the second light-emitting unit [33, Fig. 11], wherein the color resisting layer [47, Fig. 11] is configured to allow the first color light [Red, paragraph [0295], [0380], Fig. 11] and the second color light [Green, paragraph [0295], [0380], Fig. 11] to pass therethrough, and to reflect the third color light [Blue, paragraph [0295], [0380], Fig. 11];
a dichroic filtering layer [137, paragraph [0380-0382], Fig. 11], disposed between the first light-emitting unit [23, Fig. 11] and the first transparent substrate [31, Fig. 11], wherein the dichroic filtering layer [137, Fig. 11] is configured to allow the first color light [Red, paragraph [0295], [0380-0382], Fig. 11] to pass therethrough and block the second color light [Green, paragraph [0295], [0380-0382], Fig. 11] and the third color light [Blue, paragraph [0295], [0380-0382], Fig. 11];
wherein the first-emitting unit [23, Fig. 11], the second light-emitting unit [33, Fig. 11] and the third light- emitting unit [43, Fig. 11] are arranged in a vertical direction [paragraph [0323], Fig. 11],
wherein the carrier [51, Fig. 11], the first light-emitting unit [23, Fig. 11], the first transparent substrate [31, Fig. 11], the second light-emitting unit [33, Fig. 11], the second transparent substrate [41, Fig. 11], and third light-emitting unit [43, Fig. 11] are arranged in the vertical direction [paragraph [0323], Fig. 11].
Chae et al. does not teach:
a first light-emitting unit, disposed on the carrier, wherein the first light-emitting unit comprises:
a chip, disposed on the carrier, and configured to emit a third color light; and
a wavelength converting layer, covering the chip of the first light-emitting unit, and configured to convert the third color light emitted by the chip of the first light-emitting unit to a first color light;
the second light-emitting unit comprises:
a chip, configured to emit the third color light; and
a wavelength converting layer, covering the chip of the second light- emitting unit, and configured to convert the third color light emitted by the chip of the second light-emitting unit to a second color light, and the second color light is different from the first color light;
the third light-emitting unit, include a chip and configured to emit the third color light, and the third color light is different from the first color light and the second color light.
El-Ghoroury teaches:
a first light-emitting unit [Photonic Layer (B-450), Col. 2, Lines 57-67 to Col. 3, Lines 1-27, Fig. 1(a)], disposed on the carrier [Si-CMOS, Col. 2, Lines 57-67 to Col. 3, Lines 1-10, Fig. 1(a)], wherein the first light-emitting unit [Photonic Layer (B-450), Fig. 1(a)] comprises:
a chip [B-450, Fig. 1(a)], disposed on the carrier [Si-CMOS, Fig. 1(a)], and configured to emit a third color light [Blue, 450nm, Col. 3, Lines 14-33, Fig. 1(a)]; and
a wavelength converting layer [NanoPhosphors (R-635), Col. 3, Lines 14-24; Col. 3, Lines 52-56, Fig. 1(a)], covering the chip [B-450, Fig. 1(a)] of the first light-emitting unit [Photonic Layer (B-450), Fig. 1(a)], and configured to convert the third color light [Blue, 450nm] emitted by the chip [B-450, Fig. 1(a)] of the first light-emitting unit [Photonic Layer (B-450), Fig. 1(a)] to a first color light [Red, 635nm, Fig. 1(a)];
the second light-emitting unit [Photonic Layer (B-425), Col. 2, Lines 57-67 to Col. 3, Lines 1-27, Fig. 1(a)] comprises:
a chip [B-425, Fig. 1(a)], configured to emit the third color light [Blue, 425nm, Fig. 1(a)]; and
a wavelength converting layer [NanoPhosphors (G-550), Col. 3, Lines 14-27; Col. 3, Lines 52-56, Fig. 1(a)], covering the chip [B-425, Fig. 1(a)] of the second light- emitting unit [Photonic Layer (B-425), Fig. 1(a)], and configured to convert the third color light [Blue, 425nm, Fig. 1(a)] emitted by the chip [B-425, Fig. 1(a)] of the second light-emitting unit [Photonic Layer (B-425), Fig. 1(a)] to a second color light [Green, 550nm, Fig. 1(a)], and the second color light [Green, 550nm, Fig. 1(a)] is different from the first color light [Red, 635nm, Fig. 1(a)];
the third light-emitting unit [Photonic layer (B-465), Col. 3, Lines 28-39, Fig. 1(a)], include a chip [B-465, Fig. 1(a)] and configured to emit the third color light [Blue, 465nm, Fig. 1(a)], and the third color light [Blue, 465nm, Fig. 1(a)] is different from the first color light [Red, 635nm, Fig. 1(a)] and the second color light [Green, 550nm, Fig. 1(a)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of El-Ghoroury into the teachings of Chae et al. to include a first light-emitting unit, disposed on the carrier, wherein the first light-emitting unit comprises: a chip, disposed on the carrier, and configured to emit a third color light; and a wavelength converting layer, covering the chip of the first light-emitting unit, and configured to convert the third color light emitted by the chip of the first light-emitting unit to a first color light; the second light-emitting unit comprises: a chip, configured to emit the third color light; and a wavelength converting layer, covering the chip of the second light- emitting unit, and configured to convert the third color light emitted by the chip of the second light-emitting unit to a second color light, and the second color light is different from the first color light; the third light-emitting unit, include a chip and configured to emit the third color light, and the third color light is different from the first color light and the second color light, for the purpose of improving conversion efficiency, power consumption efficiency, and internal quantum efficiency, and enabling desired resolution and brightness.
Chae et al. and El-Ghoroury do not teach:
wherein the second transparent substrate is disposed between the third light-emitting unit and the second light-emitting unit.
wherein the carrier, the first light-emitting unit, the first transparent substrate, the second light-emitting unit, the second transparent substrate, and third light-emitting unit are arranged in sequence along the vertical direction.
Liu et al. teaches:
wherein the second transparent substrate [53, paragraph [0037], [0052-0053], Fig. 2] is disposed between the third light-emitting unit [33, paragraph [0037], [0044], [0047-0048], [0052], Fig. 2] and the second light-emitting unit [32, paragraph [0037], [0044-0048], Fig. 2].
wherein the carrier [1, paragraph [0037], [0041-0042], Fig. 2], the first light-emitting unit [31, paragraph [0037], [0044-0045], [0048], Fig. 2], the first transparent substrate [52, paragraph [0037], [0052-0053], Fig. 2], the second light-emitting unit [32, paragraph [0037], [0044-0048], Fig. 2], the second transparent substrate [53, paragraph [0037], [0052-0053], Fig. 2], and third light-emitting unit [33, paragraph [0037], [0044], [0047-0048], [0052], Fig. 2] are arranged in sequence along the vertical direction [paragraph [0012-0015], [0029-0031]].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Liu et al. into the teachings of Chae et al. and El-Ghoroury to include wherein the second transparent substrate is disposed between the third light-emitting unit and the second light-emitting unit. Wherein the carrier, the first light-emitting unit, the first transparent substrate, the second light-emitting unit, the second transparent substrate, and third light-emitting unit are arranged in sequence along the vertical direction, for the purpose of simplicity, easier to manufacture, improves stability of the performance of the device, improves the external quantum efficiency of the light-emitting layer so as to improve the light emitting efficiency of the organic electroluminescent device. See also, MPEP 2144.04 (VI)(C) Rearrangement of Parts.
Chae et al., El-Ghoroury and Liu et al. do not teach:
a color resisting layer that absorbs light.
wherein a width of the second light absorbing layer is wider than a width of the first light absorbing layer.
Bessho et al. teaches:
a color resisting layer that absorbs light [Col. 42, Lines 58-67 to Col. 43, Lines 1-17].
wherein a width of the second light absorbing layer [17, Fig. 7] is wider than a width of the first light absorbing layer [51, Fig. 7].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Bessho et al. into the teachings of Chae et al., El-Ghoroury and Liu et al. to include a color resisting layer that absorbs light. Wherein a width of the second light absorbing layer is wider than a width of the first light absorbing layer, for the purpose of increasing color purity, decrease in the contrast can be suppressed or prevented, conversion efficiency is considerably improved by increasing the light output efficiency and which has good viewing angle characteristics and low power consumption, absorbing more light, preventing light leakage, and decreasing light loss. See also, MPEP 2144.04 (IV)(A) Changes in Size/Proportion.
Chae et al., El-Ghoroury, Liu et al. and Bessho et al. do not teach:
a first embankment structure disposed on the carrier and surrounding the first light-emitting unit and the dichroic filtering layer;
a second embankment structure, disposed on the first transparent substrate and surrounding the second light-emitting unit and the color resisting layer;
the first embankment structure is overlapped with the second embankment structure along the vertical direction.
Chae et al. (Fig. 6-7) teaches:
a first embankment structure [61, paragraph [0331], Fig. 6] disposed on the carrier [52, Fig. 6] and surrounding the first light-emitting unit [23, Fig. 6] and the dichroic filtering layer [37, Fig. 6];
a second embankment structure [81, paragraph [0335], Fig. 6], disposed on the first transparent substrate [31, Fig. 6] and surrounding the second light-emitting unit [33, Fig. 6] and the color resisting layer [47, Fig. 6];
the first embankment structure [61, Fig. 6] is overlapped with the second embankment structure [81, Fig. 6] along the vertical direction.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Chae et al. (Fig. 6-7) into the teachings of Chae et al., El-Ghoroury, Liu et al. and Bessho et al. to include a first embankment structure disposed on the carrier and surrounding the first light-emitting unit and the dichroic filtering layer; a second embankment structure, disposed on the first transparent substrate and surrounding the second light-emitting unit and the color resisting layer; the first embankment structure is overlapped with the second embankment structure along the vertical direction, for the purpose of reflecting light back into the device to be converted and transmitted, preventing light loss/leakage, improving performance and increasing density.
Chae et al., El-Ghoroury, Liu et al., Bessho et al. and Chae et al. (Fig. 6-7) do not teach:
a first light absorbing layer, disposed between the first transparent substrate and the second embankment structure.
Chae et al. (Fig. 57) teaches:
a first light absorbing layer [453, paragraph [0658], [0661], Fig. 57], disposed between the first transparent substrate [451, Fig. 57] and the second embankment structure [481, Fig. 57].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Chae et al. (Fig. 57) into the teachings of Chae et al., El-Ghoroury, Liu et al., Bessho et al. and Chae et al. (Fig. 6-7) to include a first light absorbing layer, disposed between the first transparent substrate and the second embankment structure, for the purpose of absorbing light not entering light emitting units, improving performance, yield and emission efficiency, and decreasing light loss. See also, MPEP 2144.04 (VI)(C) Rearrangement of Parts.
Chae et al., El-Ghoroury, Liu et al., Bessho et al., Chae et al. (Fig. 6-7) and Chae et al. (Fig. 57) do not teach:
a second light absorbing layer, disposed on the second transparent substrate and surrounding the third light-emitting unit.
Yanagawa et al. teaches:
a second light absorbing layer [8, paragraph [n0058], Fig. 5-6], disposed on the second transparent substrate [14, paragraph [n0055], Fig. 5-6] and surrounding the third light-emitting unit [4, paragraph [n0058], Fig. 5-6].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Yanagawa et al. into the teachings of Chae et al., El-Ghoroury, Liu et al., Bessho et al., Chae et al. (Fig. 6-7) and Chae et al. (Fig. 57) to include a second light absorbing layer, disposed on the second transparent substrate and surrounding the third light-emitting unit, for the purpose of absorbing light not entering light emitting units, improving performance, yield and emission efficiency, and decreasing light loss. See also, MPEP 2144.04 (VI)(C) Rearrangement of Parts.
Chae et al., El-Ghoroury, Liu et al., Bessho et al., Chae et al. (Fig. 6-7), Chae et al. (Fig. 57) and Yanagawa et al. do not teach:
a projection of the first light absorbing layer along the vertical direction does not overlap with the first-emitting unit, the second light-emitting unit and the third light-emitting unit.
Ko et al. teaches:
a projection of the first light absorbing layer [8, paragraph [0042], Fig. 5-7D] along the vertical direction does not overlap with the first-emitting unit [6 (RGB), paragraph [0042], Fig. 5-7D], the second light-emitting unit [6 (RGB), paragraph [0042], Fig. 5-7D] and the third light-emitting unit [6 (RGB), paragraph [0042], Fig. 5-7D].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Ko et al. into the teachings of Chae et al., El-Ghoroury, Liu et al., Bessho et al., Chae et al. (Fig. 6-7), Chae et al. (Fig. 57) and Yanagawa et al. to include a projection of the first light absorbing layer along the vertical direction does not overlap with the first-emitting unit, the second light-emitting unit and the third light-emitting unit, for the purpose of purpose of enhancing display quality and performance. See also, MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C) Rearrangement of Parts.
Chae et al., El-Ghoroury, Liu et al., Bessho et al., Chae et al. (Fig. 6-7), Chae et al. (Fig. 57), Yanagawa et al. and Ko et al. do not teach:
a projection of the second light absorbing layer along the vertical direction does not overlap with the first-emitting unit, the second light-emitting unit and the third light-emitting unit.
Chang et al. teaches:
a projection of the second light absorbing layer [407, paragraph [0059-0060], Fig. 7A] along the vertical direction does not overlap with the first-emitting unit [404, Fig. 7A], the second light-emitting unit [404, Fig. 7A] and the third light-emitting unit [404, Fig. 7A].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Chang et al. into the teachings of Chae et al., El-Ghoroury, Liu et al., Bessho et al., Chae et al. (Fig. 6-7), Chae et al. (Fig. 57), Yanagawa et al. and Ko et al. to include a projection of the second light absorbing layer along the vertical direction does not overlap with the first-emitting unit, the second light-emitting unit and the third light-emitting unit, for the purpose of enhancing display quality and performance. See also, MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B) Duplication of Parts and MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C) Rearrangement of Parts.
Regarding claim 4, Chae et al., El-Ghoroury, Liu et al., Bessho et al., Chae et al. (Fig. 6-7), Chae et al. (Fig. 57), Yanagawa et al., Ko et al. and Chang et al. teach the micro LED display device [101, Fig. 11] according to claim 1.
Chae et al., El-Ghoroury, Liu et al., Bessho et al., Chae et al. (Fig. 6-7), Chae et al. (Fig. 57), Yanagawa et al., Ko et al. and Chang et al. disclose the above claimed subject matter.
However, Chae et al., El-Ghoroury, Liu et al., Bessho et al., Chae et al. (Fig. 57), Yanagawa et al., Ko et al. and Chang et al. do not teach:
wherein the first light-emitting unit further comprises:
an adhesive material, disposed between the chip and the dichroic filtering layer.
Chae et al. (Fig. 6-7) teaches:
wherein the first light-emitting unit [23, Fig. 6] further comprises:
an adhesive material [55, paragraph [0309], Fig. 6], disposed between the chip [Corresponds to stack 23, Fig. 6] and the dichroic filtering layer [37, Fig. 6].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Chae et al. (Fig. 6-7) into the teachings of Chae et al., El-Ghoroury, Liu et al., Bessho et al., Chae et al. (Fig. 6-7), Chae et al. (Fig. 57), Yanagawa et al., Ko et al. and Chang et al. to include wherein the first light-emitting unit further comprises: an adhesive material, disposed between the chip and the dichroic filtering layer, for the purpose of adhering two layers together and ensuring emitted light is not converted.
Regarding claim 29, Chae et al., El-Ghoroury, Liu et al., Bessho et al., Chae et al. (Fig. 6-7), Chae et al. (Fig. 57), Yanagawa et al., Ko et al. and Chang et al. teach the micro LED display device [101, Fig. 11] according to claim 1.
Chae et al. further teaches:
wherein the second light- emitting unit [33, Fig. 11] further comprises:
an adhesive material [157, paragraph [0385], [0389], Fig. 11], disposed between the chip [Corresponds to stack 33, Fig. 11] and the color resisting layer [47, Fig. 11].
Claims 11 and 25-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chae et al. (US 20190164945 A1), in view of El-Ghoroury (US 10134802 B2), Liu et al. (CN 104716264 A), Bessho et al. (US 9091415 B2), Chae et al. (Fig. 6-7) (US 20190164945 A1), Chae et al. (Fig. 57) (US 20190164945 A1), Yanagawa et al. (CN 112655099 A), Ko et al. (US 20190304960 A1), and Chang et al. (US 20150280075 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wang (US 8390009 B2).
Regarding claim 11, Chae et al., El-Ghoroury, Liu et al., Bessho et al., Chae et al. (Fig. 6-7), Chae et al. (Fig. 57), Yanagawa et al., Ko et al. and Chang et al. teach the micro LED display device [101, Fig. 11] according to claim 1.
Chae et al., El-Ghoroury, Liu et al., Bessho et al., Chae et al. (Fig. 6-7), Chae et al. (Fig. 57), Yanagawa et al., Ko et al. and Chang et al. do not teach:
wherein the second transparent substrate further surrounds the second light-emitting unit, and the first transparent substrate further surrounds the first light-emitting unit.
Wang teaches:
wherein the second transparent substrate [351, Col. 5, Lines 38-67 to Col. 6, Lines 1-47, Fig. 3A-3F] further surrounds the second light-emitting unit [370, Fig. 3E-3F], and the first transparent substrate [301, Col. 5, Lines 38-67 to Col. 6, Lines 1-47, Fig. 3A-3F] further surrounds the first light-emitting unit [320, Fig. 3E-3F].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Wang into the teachings of Chae et al., El-Ghoroury, Liu et al., Bessho et al., Chae et al. (Fig. 6-7), Chae et al. (Fig. 57), Yanagawa et al., Ko et al. and Chang et al. to include wherein the second transparent substrate further surrounds the second light-emitting unit, and the first transparent substrate further surrounds the first light-emitting unit, for the purpose of allowing light to pass through, protecting the LEDs, keeping the LEDs in place, resulting in increasing brightness and increased clarity of image. See also, MPEP 2144.04 (VI)(C) Rearrangement of Parts.
Regarding claim 25, Chae et al., El-Ghoroury, Liu et al., Bessho et al., Chae et al. (Fig. 6-7), Chae et al. (Fig. 57), Yanagawa et al., Ko et al., Chang et al. and Wang teach the micro LED display device [101, Fig. 11] according to claim 11.
Chae et al., El-Ghoroury, Liu et al., Bessho et al., Chae et al. (Fig. 6-7), Chae et al. (Fig. 57), Yanagawa et al., Ko et al., Chang et al. and Wang disclose the above claimed subject matter.
However, Chae et al., El-Ghoroury, Liu et al., Bessho et al., Chae et al. (Fig. 57), Yanagawa et al., Ko et al., Chang et al. and Wang do not teach:
wherein the first transparent substrate is in contact with a side wall of the first embankment structure.
Chae et al. (Fig. 6-7) teaches:
wherein the first transparent substrate [31, paragraph [0331], [0349], Fig. 6-7] is in contact with a side wall of the first embankment structure [61, Fig. 6-7].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Chae et al. (Fig. 6-7) into the teachings of Chae et al., El-Ghoroury, Liu et al., Bessho et al., Chae et al. (Fig. 6-7), Chae et al. (Fig. 57), Yanagawa et al., Ko et al., Chang et al. and Wang to include wherein the first transparent substrate is in contact with a side wall of the first embankment structure, for the purpose of reflecting light traveling towards the side surfaces of the first to third LED stacks and preventing light leakage. See also, MPEP 2144.04 (VI)(C) Rearrangement of Parts.
Regarding claim 26, , Chae et al., El-Ghoroury, Liu et al., Bessho et al., Chae et al. (Fig. 6-7), Chae et al. (Fig. 57), Yanagawa et al., Ko et al., Chang et al. and Wang teach the micro LED display device [101, Fig. 11] according to claim 25.
Chae et al., El-Ghoroury, Liu et al., Bessho et al., Chae et al. (Fig. 6-7), Chae et al. (Fig. 57), Yanagawa et al., Ko et al., Chang et al. and Wang disclose the above claimed subject matter.
However, Chae et al., El-Ghoroury, Liu et al., Bessho et al., Chae et al. (Fig. 57), Yanagawa et al., Ko et al., Chang et al. and Wang do not teach:
wherein the second transparent substrate is in contact with a side wall of the second embankment structure.
Chae et al. (Fig. 6-7) teaches:
wherein the second transparent substrate [41, paragraph [0335], [0352], Fig. 6] is in contact with a side wall of the second embankment structure [81, Fig. 6].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Chae et al. (Fig. 6-7) into the teachings of Chae et al., El-Ghoroury, Liu et al., Bessho et al., Chae et al. (Fig. 6-7), Chae et al. (Fig. 57), Yanagawa et al., Ko et al., Chang et al. and Wang to include wherein the second transparent substrate is in contact with a side wall of the second embankment structure, for the purpose of preventing light leakage, reflecting light traveling toward side surfaces. See also, MPEP 2144.04 (VI)(C) Rearrangement of Parts.
Regarding claim 27, Chae et al., El-Ghoroury, Liu et al., Bessho et al., Chae et al. (Fig. 6-7), Chae et al. (Fig. 57), Yanagawa et al., Ko et al., Chang et al. and Wang teach the micro LED display device [101, Fig. 11] according to claim 11.
Chae et al. further teaches:
wherein the first transparent substrate [31, Fig. 7] includes a first conducting wire layer [73, paragraph [0326-0327], [0336-0338], [0353], Fig. 7], the second transparent substrate [41, Fig. 7] includes a second conducting wire layer [71, paragraph [0326-0327], [0334], [0337-0338], Fig. 7], and the second conducting wire layer [71, Fig. 7] extends downward along the second transparent substrate [41, Fig. 7] and is electrically connected to the first conducting wire layer [73, Fig. 3, 7] through a conductive material [25, paragraph [0326-0327], Fig. 3-4].
Claim 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chae et al. (US 20190164945 A1), in view of El-Ghoroury (US 10134802 B2), Liu et al. (CN 104716264 A), Bessho et al. (US 9091415 B2), Chae et al. (Fig. 6-7) (US 20190164945 A1), Chae et al. (Fig. 57) (US 20190164945 A1), Yanagawa et al. (CN 112655099 A), Ko et al. (US 20190304960 A1), Chang et al. (US 20150280075 A1), and Wang (US 8390009 B2) as applied to claim 27 above, and further in view of another different embodiment of Chae et al. (US 20190164945 A1), hereby referred to as Chae et al. (Fig. 26-27A).
Regarding claim 28, Chae et al., El-Ghoroury, Liu et al., Bessho et al., Chae et al. (Fig. 6-7), Chae et al. (Fig. 57), Yanagawa et al., Ko et al., Chang et al. and Wang teach the micro LED display device [101, Fig. 11] according to claim 27.
Chae et al., El-Ghoroury, Liu et al., Bessho et al., Chae et al. (Fig. 6-7), Chae et al. (Fig. 57), Yanagawa et al., Ko et al., Chang et al. and Wang do not teach:
wherein the first conducting wire layer extends downward along the first transparent substrate and is electrically connected to a conductive pad on the carrier through another conductive material.
Chae et al. (Fig. 26-27A) teaches:
wherein the first conducting wire layer [2120, paragraph [0468], [0483-0484], Fig. 26-27A] extends downward along the first transparent substrate [240, Fig. 27A] and is electrically connected to a conductive pad [227’, Fig. 27A] on the carrier [210, Fig. 27A] through another conductive material [227, Fig. 27A].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Cha et al. (Fig. 26-27A) into the teachings of Chae et al., El-Ghoroury, Liu et al., Bessho et al., Chae et al. (Fig. 6-7), Chae et al. (Fig. 57), Yanagawa et al., Ko et al., Chang et al. and Wang to include wherein the first conducting wire layer extends downward along the first transparent substrate and is electrically connected to a conductive pad on the carrier through another conductive material, for the purpose of electrically connecting features within the device for proper functionality, improving brightness and light emitting selectivity.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to independent claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant argues on pages 5-9, Section: Claim Rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103, in remarks filed February 25, 2026 that the current prior art of record does not teach the amendments to independent claim 1. Examiner agrees with Applicant; However, after a new line of search and consideration of the prior art, the amended limitations of independent claim 1 can be overcome by new considerations of primary reference Chae et al. (US 20190164945 A1), and newly cited source Liu et al. (CN 104716264 A).
Applicant argues on page 6, in remarks filed February 25, 2026 that primary reference Chae et al. and secondary reference Jang et al. (US 10879419 B2) do not teach the amended claim 1 limitation of “the second transparent substrate is disposed between the third light-emitting unit and the second light-emitting unit”. Examiner agrees with Applicant; However, after a new line of search and consideration of the prior art, the amended limitation of claim 1 can be overcome by newly cited source Liu et al. (CN 104716264 A).
Applicant argues on page 7, in remarks filed February 25, 2026 that primary reference Chae et al. does not teach the amended claim 1 limitation of “ the first embankment structure is overlapped with the second embankment structure along the vertical direction”. Examiner agrees with Applicant; However, after a new line of search and consideration of the prior art, the amendment to independent claim 1 can be overcome by new considerations of primary reference Chae et al. (US 20190164945 A1).
Applicant argues on pages 8-9, in remarks filed February 25, 2026 that the current prior art of record does not teach the amended claim 1 limitation of “wherein the carrier, the first light-emitting unit, the first transparent substrate, the second light-emitting unit, the second transparent substrate, and third light-emitting unit are arranged in sequence along the vertical direction”. Examiner agrees with Applicant; However, after a new line of search and consideration of the prior art, the amended limitation of claim 1 can be overcome by newly cited source Liu et al. (CN 104716264 A).
Applicant added New claims 25-29, no new matter was added. New claims 25-29 can be overcome by primary reference Chae et al., and secondary reference Wang (US 8390009 B2).
Applicant argues on page 9, in remarks filed February 25, 2026 that independent claim 1 should be in condition for allowance, and all dependent claims either directly or indirectly dependent on independent claim 1 should be in condition or allowance. Examiner disagrees with Applicant due to at least the reasons mentioned above.
Conclusion
/D.M.H./Examiner, Art Unit 2815 03/17/2026
/MONICA D HARRISON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2815