DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings received on 12/28/2022 have been accepted by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boehm et al. [US 2021/0406087] in view of Ibrahim et al. [“Comparative Analysis Between Wired and Wireless Technologies in Communications: A Review”].
Claim 1, Boehm et al. discloses an apparatus, configured to communicate with a host running one or more services [apparatus includes memory, processing, transceiver (par. 0013); transceiver resource wirelessly couples to base station/cloud (par. 0037); data shared between apparatuses and cloud (par. 0039)]: one or more one processors [see par. 0013, 0026, 0027], associated memory comprising one or more memory resources operatively coupled to the one or more processors [memory resource and processing resource (par. 0013); memory devices coupled to processing resource via bus (par. 0022-0025)]; and virtual pooled memory logic to: identify a first range of memory that has been allocated for at least one of the one or more services and is currently unused [combination component 112 configured to assess resource availability (par. 0026); logic enabling formation of memory pool (par. 0013); memory resources selected for pooling based on availability (par. 0018-0019); overall the reference teaches selecting memory resources based on availability and authorization, thus identifying unused ranges]; identify a second range of memory that is unallocated [assessing availability of memory devices (par. 0026); selecting memory resources to include in pool (par. 0018-0019)]; provide one or more properties for the first range of memory and the second range of memory to the host [data shared via transceiver to base station/cloud (par. 0037-0039); sending requests and data to other processing resources (par. 0034)]. Boehm et al. does not teach but Ibrahim et al. discloses the use of a wired interconnect for communications [II. Wired Communication Technology section, Page 21, Column 1]. It would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Boehm et al. to include the wired communications as disclosed by Ibrahim et al. since “write communications are considered to be the most stable of all types of communications services… impervious to adverse weather conditions… strength and speed of the transmission is superior to other solutions”.
Claim 2, Boehm et al. in in view Ibrahim et al. discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the virtual pooled memory logic includes an interface to provide the one or more properties for first range of memory and the second range of memory to a pooled memory controller on the host [transceiver resource wirelessly couples to based station/cloud (par. 0037); data uploaded to cloud processing resource (par. 0039)].
Claim 3, Boehm et al. in in view Ibrahim et al. discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the virtual pooled memory logic includes an interface to provide the one or more properties for the first range of memory and the second range of memory to an operating system running on the host [providing memory resource data to cloud processing resources that manage network devices, see par. 0037-0039].
Claim 4, Boehm et al. in in view Ibrahim et al. discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the apparatus comprises a network interface controller (NIC) [RF transceiver and processing resource represents a network connected device, see par. 0036-0039].
Claim 5, Boehm et al. in in view Ibrahim et al. discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the apparatus comprises an infrastructure processing unit (IPU) or a data processing unit (DPU) [apparatus includes memory, processing, transceiver, par. 0013].
Claim 6, Boehm et al. in in view Ibrahim et al. discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors comprise at least one of a Graphic Processor Unit (GPU), a General Purpose GPU (GP-GPU), a Tensor Processing Unit (TPU), a Data Processing Unit (DPU), and Infrastructure Processing Unit (IPU), an Artificial Intelligence (AI) processor, an Al inference unit, and a Field Programmable Gate Array (FPGA) [processing resources performing AI/ML, autonomous interface (par. 0014-0017); autonomous functions using machine learning (par. 0016); thus representing the claimed AI processors, GPUs, TPUs].
Claim 7, Boehm et al. in in view Ibrahim et al. discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the virtual pooled memory logic is further to identify, for at least one of the first and second ranges of memory: at least one Key Performance Indicator (KPI) property of a first sub-range of the range of memory; and at least one KPI property of a second sub-range of the range of memory [combination component 112 assesses resource availability (par. 0026); memory resources selected based on characteristics (par. 0018-0019)]; and wherein the apparatus is further configured to provide the one or more KPI properties for each of the first sub-range and second sub-range of the range of memory to the host [data shared with base station/cloud, see par. 0037-0039).
Claim 8, Boehm et al. in in view Ibrahim et al. discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more properties for at least one of the first and second ranges of memory comprises start and end addresses associated with each range and one or more of: a bandwidth for the range; a memory type for the range; and an access protocol for the range [memory devices, channels, control circuitry (par. 0022-0025); bandwidth characteristics of memory resources (par. 0018-0019); 5G bandwidth characteristics (par. 0038)].
Claim 9, Boehm et al. in in view Ibrahim et al. discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the apparatus includes a card having on-board memory to which external memory is coupled, and wherein the associated memory comprises the on-board memory and the external memory [cloud resources and vehicle memory, par. 0037-0039].
Claim 10, Boehm et al. in in view Ibrahim et al. discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the virtual pooled memory logic is further to receive telemetry data from at least one external device [receiving data from other vehicles (par. 0034), base stations (par. 0037), cloud (par. 0039), infrastructure (par. 0034-0035), thus representing the claimed telemetry].
Claims 11-20 are rejected using the same rationale as presented for claims 1-10 above.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MIDYS ROJAS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2133