Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-12, 16-19, and 21-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen, US Patent Appl. Pub. No. 2017/0010654 in view of Liu et al., US Patent Appl. Pub. No. 2012/0040623.
Regarding claim 19, Chen discloses a display device comprising:
a screen (display screen150, paragraph 0070, lines 12-13);
a communication interface (interface 130, FIG. 1) to communicate with a computing device (computing device 170, FIG. 1) via a communication link between the display device and the computing device (paragraph 0070, lines 6-9); and
a controller (controller 140, FIG. 1) configured to detect a proximity event; and, based on the proximity event, to send a proximity-based trigger signal to the computing device via the communication link between the display device and the computing device, wherein the proximity-based trigger signal is configured to cause a proximity-based change of an operational state of the computing device (the controller 140 detects user presence in a predetermined area in front of the display screen [proximity event] and provides control information [proximity-based trigger signal] to the computing device to change its operating state to power saving state – paragraph 0045, lines 6-11, lines 14-18, paragraph 0046, lines 6-10, paragraph 0050, lines 1-3, paragraphs 0052-0053, paragraph 0071, paragraph 0072, lines 6-12, paragraph 0073, FIG. 2, P2-6. No, P2-8, paragraph 0081, lines 1-9).
Chen does not specifically state a Bluetooth (BT) radio and detecting the proximity events based on BT signals communicated between the BT radio of the display device and a peripheral BT device that is designated for detection of the proximity event with respect to the computing device, the proximity event corresponding to a proximity of the peripheral BT device and the display device.
Liu teaches detecting Bluetooth radio signals between a first electronic device (FIG. 1, laptop computer 100) and a second electronic device (FIG. 1, portable electronic device 200), generating a radio signal quality evaluation value (responsive to the user, carrying the portable BT electronic device – i.e. the user carrying a BT device that is designated for detection of the proximity event with respect to the computing device) based on proximity to the laptop computer according to the characteristic of the radio signals and setting the function triggering module to one of the working modes of the computer according to the radio signal quality evaluation value (Abstract, paragraphs 0008 and 0011, FIG. 1, paragraphs 0033-0036, FIG(s) 3A-B, paragraphs 0065 and 0067). Liu further teaches a Bluetooth radio communication module (FIG. 2, 102) used for the above described detection of user proximity and proximity signal communication (i.e. a Bluetooth radio – FIG. 2, paragraph 0040, lines 1-7, paragraph 0041, lines 1-3) and triggering of the operating mode changes functionality (paragraph 0042). Thus, achieving power saving by reducing both the display power consumption and the computer’s power consumption (paragraph 0006).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the above described system and functionality, as suggested by Liu with the display device disclosed by Chen in order to implement a Bluetooth (BT) radio and detecting the proximity events based on BT signals communicated between the BT radio of the display device and a peripheral BT device that is designated for detection of the proximity event with respect to the computing device, the proximity event corresponding to a proximity of the peripheral BT device and the display device.
Regarding claim 1, the combination of Chen and Liu discloses an apparatus comprising logic and circuitry comprising all claim limitations as addressed above for the controller limitation in the rejection of claim 19.
Regarding claim 24, Chen discloses an apparatus for a display device, the apparatus comprising:
means for detecting (FIG. 1, sensor 160) at the display device a proximity event (paragraph 0071, paragraph 0072, lines 6-12); and
means for causing (FIG. 1, controller 140) the display device to send a proximity-based trigger signal to a computing device via a communication link between the display device and the computing device based on the proximity event, wherein the proximity-based trigger signal is configured to cause a proximity-based change of an operational state of the computing device (the controller 140 detects user presence in a predetermined area in front of the display screen [proximity event] and provides control information [proximity-based trigger signal] to the computing device to change its operating state to power saving state – paragraph 0045, lines 6-11, lines 14-18, paragraph 0046, lines 6-10, paragraph 0050, lines 1-3, paragraphs 0052-0053, paragraph 0071, paragraph 0072, lines 6-12, paragraph 0073, FIG. 2, P2-6. No, P2-8, paragraph 0081, lines 1-9).
Chen does not specifically state based on an estimated location of a peripheral Bluetooth (BT) device relative to the display device, the estimated location of the peripheral BT device relative to the display device is based on BT signals communicated between a BT radio of the display device and the peripheral BT device, the proximity event corresponding to a proximity of the peripheral BT device and the display device.
Liu teaches detecting Bluetooth radio signals between a first electronic device (FIG. 1, laptop computer 100) and a second electronic device (FIG. 1, portable electronic device 200), generating a radio signal quality evaluation value (indicative of the user, carrying the portable BT electronic device, proximity to the laptop computer) according to the characteristic of the radio signals and setting the function triggering module to one of the working modes of the computer according to the radio signal quality evaluation value (Abstract, paragraphs 0008 and 0011, FIG. 1, paragraphs 0033-0036, FIG(s) 3A-B, paragraphs 0065 and 0067). Liu further teaches determining the portable electronic device (peripheral BT device) location relative to the laptop computer and analyzing the strength of the radio signal (BT signals) corresponding to each location (indicated by the respective calculated/estimated quality evaluation value – paragraphs 0050-0054 ) of the portable electronic device as the user (portable BT electronic device carried by the user) approaches to or departs away from the laptop computer, and for each relative location changing the laptop to corresponding ACPI power mode (FIG(s) 3A-B, paragraphs 0059-0065 and 0067-0068). Thus, achieving power saving by reducing both the display power consumption and the computer’s power consumption (paragraph 0006).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the above described system and functionality, as suggested by Liu with the display device disclosed by Chen in order to implement based on an estimated location of a peripheral Bluetooth (BT) device relative to the display device, the estimated location of the peripheral BT device relative to the display device is based on BT signals communicated between a BT radio of the display device and the peripheral BT device, the proximity event corresponding to a proximity of the peripheral BT device and the display device. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so in order to reduce to power consumption for both the display device and the computing device.
Regarding claim 2, Liu further teaches the apparatus of claim 1 configured to cause the display device to:
perform a BT proximity search to detect the BT device (BT scanning/discovery/search based on proximity is inherently disclosed when linking/pairing BT devices for communication – FIG. 1, 100, 200, paragraph 0035, paragraph 0040, lines 1-7, paragraph 041, lines 1-3); and
based on a determination that the BT device is designated for detection of the proximity event with respect to the computing device (responsive to the user, carrying the portable BT electronic device – i.e. the user carrying a BT device that is designated for detection of the proximity event with respect to the computing device), detect the proximity event based on an estimated location of the peripheral BT device relative to the display device (Abstract, paragraphs 0008 and 0011, FIG. 1, paragraphs 0033-0036, FIG(s) 3A-B, paragraphs 0065 and 0067), wherein the estimated location of the peripheral BT device relative to the display device is based on the BT signals communicated between the display device and the peripheral BT device (determining the portable electronic device [peripheral BT device] location relative to the laptop computer and analyzing the strength of the radio signal [BT signals] corresponding to each location [indicated by the respective calculated/estimated quality evaluation value – paragraphs 0050-0054] of the portable electronic device as the user [portable BT electronic device carried by the user] approaches to or departs away from the laptop computer, and for each relative location changing the laptop to corresponding ACPI power mode – FIG(s) 3A-B, paragraphs 0059-0065 and 0067-0068).
Regarding claim 3, Chen and Leo further teach the apparatus, as per claim 2, configured to cause the display device to perform the BT proximity search in an area in front of a screen of the display device (Chen, paragraph 0050, lines 1-3, Liu, paragraph 0080, lines 1-12).
Regarding claim 4, Chen and Leo further teach the apparatus configured to detect the proximity event based on a determination that the BT signals are communicated in an area in front of a screen of the display device (Chen, paragraph 0050, lines 1-3, Liu, paragraph 0080, lines 1-12).
Regarding claim 5, Liu further teaches the apparatus, wherein the proximity event comprises a user approach detection corresponding to a detected approach of a user to the display device (FIG. 3B, paragraph 0067).
Regarding claim 6, Liu further teaches the apparatus, as per claim 5, wherein the proximity-based trigger signal comprises a wakeup signal to cause the computing device to wake up from a power save state (paragraph 0068, lines 11-17).
Regarding claim 7, Chen further teaches the apparatus, as per claim 5, wherein the proximity-based trigger signal comprises an unlock signal to cause unlocking of the computing device from a locked state to an unlocked state (FIG. 2P2-6-Yes, P2-7).
Regarding claim 8, Liu further teaches the apparatus as per claim 5, wherein the proximity-based trigger signal comprises a peripheral-connection trigger signal to cause the computing device to connect with the peripheral BT device via the display device (FIG. 3B, transitioning/wakeup the mobile device from P5/off mode to P0/working mode causes the computing device to link/connect with the computing device).
Regarding claim 9, Liu further teaches the apparatus, wherein the proximity event comprises a user move- away detection to corresponding to a detection of a user moving away from the display device (FIG. 3A, paragraph 0065).
Regarding claim 10, Liu further teaches the apparatus as per claim 9, wherein the proximity-based trigger signal comprises a power save signal to cause the computing device to switch to a power save state (paragraphs 0065-0066).
Regarding claim 11, Chen further teaches the apparatus as per claim 9, wherein the proximity-based trigger signal comprises a lock signal to cause the computing device to switch from an unlocked state to a locked state (FIG. 2, P2-3-No, P2-5).
Regarding claim 12, Liu further teaches the apparatus as per claim 9, wherein the proximity-based trigger signal comprises a peripheral-disconnection trigger signal to cause the computing device to disconnect from the peripheral BT device (FIG. 3A, transitioning the mobile device from S4 mode to S0/off mode causes the computing device to disconnect with the computing device).
Regarding claims 16 and 25, Lui further teaches the apparatus, wherein the proximity-based change of the operational state of the computing device comprises at least one of a change of a power state of the computing device (FIG(s) 3A-B, paragraphs 0065 and 0067), a change of a locking state of the computing device, or a change of a peripheral-connection state of a connection between the computing device and the peripheral BT device.
Regarding claim 17, Lui further teaches the apparatus, wherein the computing device comprises a desktop computer or a laptop computer (FIG. 1, 100).
Regarding claim 18, Lui further teaches the apparatus, comprising the BT radio (FIG. 2, 102).
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen, US Patent Appl. Pub. No. 2017/0010654 in view of Liu et al., US Patent Appl. Pub. No. 2012/0040623, and further in view of Narula et al., US Patent Appl. Pub. No. 2023/0086381.
Regarding claim 13, Chen and Liu disclose the apparatus and product as pre claim 1.
Chen and Liu do not specifically state the display device to detect the proximity event according to a High-Accuracy Distance Measurement (HADM) based on the BT signals.
Narula teaches pairing an information handling system pairs with a wireless peripheral in an automated manner based upon a determination of a distance between the information handling system and peripheral by a phased-based ranging protocol, based on the high accuracy distance measurement (HADM) protocol available from BLUETOOTH (paragraph 0008, lines 2-9). Accordingly, the automated paring ensures correct peripheral selection, thus providing a secure, simple and favorable end user experience (paragraph 0008, lines 10-17).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the above described system and functionality, as suggested by Narula with the apparatus and product disclosed by Chen and Liu in order to implement the display device to detect the proximity event according to a High-Accuracy Distance Measurement (HADM) based on the BT signals. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so in order to ensure correct BT peripheral device selection, thus providing a secure, simple and favorable end user experience.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen, US Patent Appl. Pub. No. 2017/0010654 in view of Liu et al., US Patent Appl. Pub. No. 2012/0040623, and further in view of Kalliola et al., US Patent Appl. Pub. No. 2015/0189619.
Regarding claim 15, Chen and Liu disclose the apparatus, as per claim 1.
Chen and Liu do not specifically state the display device to detect the proximity event according to at least one of an Angle of Arrival (AoA) measurement or an Angle of Departure (AoD) measurement based on the BT signals.
Kalliola teaches receiving packets including information packets containing angle of departure information of the remote device, determining a first angle of departure and a second angle of departure from the received angle of departure information, and generating distance estimation data in the apparatus relative to the remote device, based on the determined first angle of departure and second angle of departure (Abstract, lines 3-13, FIG. 1A, paragraphs 0127-0133). Thus, providing a secure distance estimation based on direction measurement (Abstract, lines 1-3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the above described system and functionality as suggested by Chen and Liu in order to implement the display device to detect the proximity event according to at least one of an Angle of Arrival (AoA) measurement or an Angle of Departure (AoD) measurement based on the BT signals. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so in order to provide a secure distance estimation based on direction measurement.
Claim(s) 21 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al., US Patent Appl. Pub. No. 2012/0040623 in view of Chen, US Patent Appl. Pub. No. 2017/0010654.
Regarding claim 21, Liu discloses a product comprising one or more tangible computer-readable non-transitory storage media comprising instructions operable to, when executed by at least one processor, enable the at least one processor to cause a display device to:
detect a peripheral Bluetooth (BT) device (second electronic device 200, FIG. 1, being Bluetooth device – paragraph 0035, lines 7-15) based on a BT proximity search (detecting the user, carrying the second device [i.e. detecting the peripheral BT device], gradually approaching to or departing away from the first electronic device 100 using the BT specification – paragraphs 0035, paragraph 0041, lines 1-3, paragraph 0065, paragraph 00670);
detect a proximity event based on BT signals communicated between a BT radio of the device (first electronic device 100, FIG. 1) and the peripheral BT device (second electronic device 200, FIG. 1), the proximity event corresponding to a proximity of the peripheral BT device and the device (a Bluetooth radio communication module [FIG. 2, 102 – i.e. a BT radio] is used for the above described detection of user/peripheral BT device proximity and proximity signal communication (FIG. 2, paragraph 0040, lines 1-7, paragraph 0041, lines 1-3).
Liu does not specifically state the device being a display device. However, Liu teaches the first electronic device can be a computer (e.g. a laptop with display, as shown in FIG. 1, 100) or any other electronic device (e.g. a separate display device) capable of linking the second electronic device 200 or capturing the radio signals from the second electronic device 200 – paragraph 0034, lines 4-10). In addition, Liu does not specifically state the BT proximity search being done in front of a screen of the display device, and based on the proximity event, send a proximity-based trigger signal to a computing device via a communication link between the display device and the computing device, wherein the proximity-based trigger signal is configured to cause a proximity-based change of an operational state of the computing device.
Chen teaches a display screen (FIG. 1 , 150) utilizing sensor (FIG. 1, 160), determining presence (by determining distance – i.e. proximity; paragraph 0072, lines 6-9) of a user in front of the display (i.e. proximity event – Abstract, lines 5-8, paragraph 0009, lines 6-8, paragraph 0010, lines 7-9, paragraph 0045, lines 6-9, paragraph 0056, paragraph 0071, lines 3-13), generating and transmitting control information (proximity-based trigger signal) based on the user not present (i.e. not proximate) in front of the display for predetermined time period (Abstract, lines 8-10, paragraph 0010, lines 23-29, paragraph 0011, lines 3-5, lines 16-18, paragraph 0045, lines 14-18, paragraph 0059), and controlling the operating state for an external computing device based on the control information (Abstract, lines 8-10, paragraph 0009, lines 8-11, paragraph 0010, lines 9-12paragraph 0010, lines 29-31, paragraph 0011, lines 18-20, paragraph 0046, lines 6-10, paragraph 0060), communicatively coupled to the display via communication channel and respective interface (interface 130, FIG. 1, paragraph 0070, lines 6-9), to transition the external computing device into power saving state (paragraph 0052, lines 1-14, paragraph 0053, paragraph 0081, lines 1-9). Thus, improving the energy saving mode of the computer system based on the human presence/proximity (paragraph 0010, lines 10-14).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to the use the above described system and functionality, as suggested by Chen with the product disclosed by Liu in order to implement the device being a display device, the BT proximity search being done in front of a screen of the display device, and based on the proximity event, send a proximity-based trigger signal to a computing device via a communication link between the display device and the computing device, wherein the proximity-based trigger signal is configured to cause a proximity-based change of an operational state of the computing device. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so in order to improve the energy saving mode of the computer system based on the human presence/proximity.
Regarding claim 22, Liu further discloses the product, wherein the instructions, when executed, cause the display device to: detect the proximity event based on a determination that the detected peripheral BT device is designated for detection of the proximity event with respect to the computing device (the user, carrying the portable BT electronic device – i.e. the user has designated the BT device for detection of the proximity event with respect to the computing device based on the detection of the proximity event; paragraphs 0065 and 0067).
Claim(s) 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al., US Patent Appl. Pub. No. 2012/0040623 in view of Chen, US Patent Appl. Pub. No. 2017/0010654, and further in view of Narula et al., US Patent Appl. Pub. No. 2023/0086381.
Regarding claim 23, Liu and Chen disclose the apparatus and product as pre claim 21.
Liu and Chen do not specifically state the display device to detect the proximity event according to a High-Accuracy Distance Measurement (HADM) based on the BT signals.
Narula teaches pairing an information handling system pairs with a wireless peripheral in an automated manner based upon a determination of a distance between the information handling system and peripheral by a phased-based ranging protocol, based on the high accuracy distance measurement (HADM) protocol available from BLUETOOTH (paragraph 0008, lines 2-9). Accordingly, the automated paring ensures correct peripheral selection, thus providing a secure, simple and favorable end user experience (paragraph 0008, lines 10-17).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the above described system and functionality, as suggested by Narula with the apparatus and product disclosed by Liu and Chen in order to implement the display device to detect the proximity event according to a High-Accuracy Distance Measurement (HADM) based on the BT signals. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so in order to ensure correct BT peripheral device selection, thus providing a secure, simple and favorable end user experience.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 14 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 14, none of the art of record discloses or suggests causing the display device to detect the proximity event according to a Carrier Sensing (CS) measurement based on the BT signals.
Regarding claim 20, none of the art of record discloses or suggests determining whether the peripheral BT device is to be identified as a recognized BT device, which is designated for detection of the proximity event with respect to the computing device, and based on a determination that the peripheral BT device is to be identified as the recognized BT device, detect the proximity event based on an estimated location of the peripheral BT device relative to the display device, in combination with the remaining claim elements.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/17/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding independent claims 1, 19, 21, and 24, the applicant argued in essence that Chen and Liu et al. fail to teach the display device to detect the proximity event based on BT signals communicated between a BT radio of the display device and a peripheral BT device, and based on the proximity event between the display device and the peripheral BT device, send a proximity-based trigger signal to the computing device via a communication link between the display device and the computing device.
The examiner disagrees. Chen discloses the functionality of changing the operational state of a computing device connected to a display via communication link in response to the display detecting (via integrated sensor therein) proximity of a user relative to the display, and upon the proximity detection, transmitting control information to the computing device to trigger the change of the operational state for the computing device. Chen is deficient of teaching detection of a Bluetooth (BT) device (instead of a user) in proximity to the display for triggering the change of the operational state of the computing device. This deficiency is addressed by Liu, wherein a BT device, which is carried by a user and linked with a laptop computer via Bluetooth, is used for determining the relative location of the BT device to the laptop using the Bluetooth specification (signaling), and based on the location determination, changing the laptop to corresponding ACPI power mode of operation for the laptop (please refer to the explanation and detailed mapping of the Chen and Liu references to this functionality as indicated above under the rejections of claims 19 and 24).
Accordingly, the combination of Chen and Liu meets the argued claim language.
Regarding claim 1, the combination of Chen and Liu discloses an apparatus comprising logic and circuitry comprising all claim limitations as addressed above for the controller limitation under the rejection of claim 19.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the amended claim language in claims 19, 21, and 24 are not persuasive because amended claims 19, 21, and 24 are still rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Liu, as indicated in this Office action.
The same was argued for the dependent claims.
Therefore, the rejection of claims 1-13, 15-19 and 21-25 is maintained.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/STEFAN STOYNOV/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2175