Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Objections Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities: The word “to” in front of the word “corresponding” in the phrase ”a user move-away detection to corresponding to a detection of a user moving away from the display device” appears redundant. Appropriate correction is required. Claim Interpretation The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(f): (f) Element in Claim for a Combination. – An element in a claim for a combination may be expressed as a means or step for performing a specified function without the recital of structure, material, or acts in support thereof, and such claim shall be construed to cover the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification and equivalents thereof. The following is a quotation of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph: An element in a claim for a combination may be expressed as a means or step for performing a specified function without the recital of structure, material, or acts in support thereof, and such claim shall be construed to cover the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification and equivalents thereof. The claims in this application are given their broadest reasonable interpretation using the plain meaning of the claim language in light of the specification as it would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art. The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim element (also commonly referred to as a claim limitation) is limited by the description in the specification when 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is invoked. As explained in MPEP § 2181, subsection I, claim limitations that meet the following three-prong test will be interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph: (A) the claim limitation uses the term “means” or “step” or a term used as a substitute for “means” that is a generic placeholder (also called a nonce term or a non-structural term having no specific structural meaning) for performing the claimed function; (B) the term “means” or “step” or the generic placeholder is modified by functional language, typically, but not always linked by the transition word “for” (e.g., “means for”) or another linking word or phrase, such as “configured to” or “so that”; and (C) the term “means” or “step” or the generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function. Use of the word “means” (or “step”) in a claim with functional language creates a rebuttable presumption that the claim limitation is to be treated in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. The presumption that the claim limitation is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is rebutted when the claim limitation recites sufficient structure, material, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Absence of the word “means” (or “step”) in a claim creates a rebuttable presumption that the claim limitation is not to be treated in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. The presumption that the claim limitation is not interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is rebutted when the claim limitation recites function without reciting sufficient structure, material or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Claim limitations in this application that use the word “means” (or “step”) are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Conversely, claim limitations in this application that do not use the word “means” (or “step”) are not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b ) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the appl icant regards as his invention. Claims 24-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 24 recites the limitation “ means for , based on the proximity event, causing the display device to send a proximity-based trigger signal to a computing device via a communication link between the display device and the computing device ” in lines 6-8. The term “means for”, without stating what the “means for” are intended, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, can be interpreted to cover any means for any purpose. Thus, rendering the scope of claim 24 indefinite. For the purpose of examination, it is assumed the above indicated term to read “means for controlling” since it is the controller 124 (FIG. 2) that performs the functionality of “…., based on the proximity event, causing the display device to send a proximity-based trigger signal to a computing device via a communication link between the display device and the computing device ” (see FIG. 2 and paragraphs 0112-0114). Claim 25, being dependent on claim 24, is rejected based on the same ground of rejection. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 Claim (s) 1, 4- 12 , 16- 19, 21, and 24 -25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen, US Patent Appl. Pub. No. 2017/0010654 in view of Liu et al., US Patent Appl. Pub. No. 2012/0040623 . Regarding claim 19, Chen discloses a display device comprising: a screen (FIG. 1, 150, paragraph 0070, lines 12-13) ; a communication interface (FIG. 1, 130) to communicate with a computing device (FIG. 1, 170) via a communication link between the display device and the computing device (paragraph 0070, lines 6-9) ; and a controller (FIG. 1, controller 140) configured to cause the display device to detect a proximity event; and, based on the proximity event, to send a proximity-based trigger signal to the computing device via the communication link between the display device and the computing device, wherein the proximity-based trigger signal is configured to cause a proximity-based change of an operational state of the computing device (paragraph 0071, paragraph 0072, lines 6-12, paragraph 0073, FIG. 2, P2-6 . No, P2-8, paragraph 0081, lines 1-9). Chen does not specifically state a Bluetooth (BT) radio and detecting the proximity events based on BT signals communicated between the BT radio of the display device and a peripheral BT device, the proximity event corresponding to a proximity of the peripheral BT device and the display device. Liu teaches detecting Bluetooth radio signals between a first electronic device (FIG. 1, laptop computer 100) and a second electronic device (FIG. 1, portable electronic device 200) , generating a radio signal quality evaluation value (indicative of the user [ carrying the portable electronic device ] proximity to the computer) according to the characteristic of the radio signals and setting the function triggering module to one of the working modes of the computer according to the radio signal quality evaluation value (Abstract, paragraphs 0008 and 0011, FIG. 1, paragraphs 0033-0036 , FIG(s) 3A-B, paragraphs 0065 and 0067 ). Liu further teaches a Bluetooth radio communication module (FIG. 2, 102) used for the above described detection of user proximity and proximity signal communication ( i.e. a Bluetooth radio – FIG. 2, paragraph 0040, lines 1-7, paragraph 0041, lines 1-3) and triggering of the operating mode changes functionality (paragraph 0042). Thus, achieving power saving by reducing both the display power consumption and the computer’s power consumption (paragraph 0006). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the above described system and functionality, as suggested by Liu with the display device disclosed by Chen in order to implement a Bluetooth (BT) radio and detecting the proximity events based on BT signals communicated between the BT radio of the display device and a peripheral BT device, the proximity event corresponding to a proximity of the peripheral BT device and the display device. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so in order to reduce to power consumption for both the display device and the computing device. Regarding claim s 1 and 21 , the combination of Chen and Liu discloses an apparatus and a product comprising one or more tangible computer-readable non-transitory storage media comprising instructions operable to, when executed by at least one processor, enable the at least one processor to cause a display device to perform all claim limitations as addressed above for the controller limitation in claim 19. Regarding claim 24, Chen discloses a n apparatus for a display device, the apparatus comprising: means for detecting (FIG. 1, sensor 160) at the display device a proximity event (paragraph 0071, paragraph 0072, lines 6-12) ; and means for controlling (FIG. 1, controller 140) , based on the proximity event, causing the display device to send a proximity-based trigger signal to a computing device via a communication link between the display device and the computing device, wherein the proximity-based trigger signal is configured to cause a proximity-based change of an operational state of the computing device (paragraph 0071, paragraph 0072, lines 6-12, paragraph 0073, FIG. 2, P2-6 - No, P2-8, paragraph 0081, lines 1-9). Chen does not specifically state based on Bluetooth (BT) signals communicated between a BT radio of the display device and a peripheral BT device, the proximity event corresponding to a proximity of the peripheral BT device and the display device . Liu teaches detecting Bluetooth radio signals between a first electronic device (FIG. 1, laptop computer 100) and a second electronic device (FIG. 1, portable electronic device 200) , generating a radio signal quality evaluation value (indicative of the user [carrying the portable electronic device] proximity to the computer) according to the characteristic of the radio signals and setting the function triggering module to one of the working modes of the computer according to the radio signal quality evaluation value (Abstract, paragraphs 0008 and 0011, FIG. 1, paragraphs 0033-0036, FIG(s) 3A-B, paragraphs 0065 and 0067). Liu further teaches a Bluetooth radio communication module (FIG. 2, 102) used for the above described detection of user proximity and proximity signal communication (i.e. a Bluetooth radio – FIG. 2, paragraph 0040, lines 1-7, paragraph 0041, lines 1-3) and triggering of the operating mode changes functionality (paragraph 0042). Thus, achieving power saving by reducing both the display power consumption and the computer’s power consumption (paragraph 0006). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the above described system and functionality, as suggested by Liu with the display device disclosed by Chen in order to implement based on Bluetooth (BT) signals communicated between a BT radio of the display device and a peripheral BT device, the proximity event corresponding to a proximity of the peripheral BT device and the display device . One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so in order to reduce to power consumption for both the display device and the computing device. Regarding claim 4, Chen and Leo further teach the apparatus configured t o detect the proximity event based on a determination that the BT signals are communicated in an area in front of a screen of the display device ( Chen, paragraph 0050, lines 1-3 , Liu, paragraph 0080, lines 1-12 ). Regarding claim 5, Liu further teaches the apparatus, wherein the proximity event comprises a user approach detection corresponding to a detected approach of a user to the display device (FIG. 3B, paragraph 0067). Regarding claim 6, Liu further teaches the apparatus, as per claim 5, wherein the proximity-based trigger signal comprises a wakeup signal to cause the computing device to wake up from a power save state (paragraph 0068, lines 11-17). Regarding claim 7, Chen further teaches the apparatus, as per claim 5, wherein the proximity-based trigger signal comprises an unlock signal to cause unlocking of the computing device from a locked state to an unlocked state (FIG. 2P2-6-Yes, P2-7). Regarding claim 8, Liu further teaches the apparatus as per claim 5, wherein the proximity-based trigger signal comprises a peripheral-connection trigger signal to cause the computing device to connect with the peripheral BT device via the display device (FIG. 3B, transitioning/wakeup the mobile device from P5/off mode to P0/working mode causes the computing device to link/connect with the computing device). Regarding claim 9, Liu further teaches the apparatus, wherein the proximity event comprises a user move- away detection to corresponding to a detection of a user moving away from the display device (FIG. 3A, paragraph 0065). Regarding claim 10, Liu further teaches the apparatus as per claim 9, wherein the proximity-based trigger signal comprises a power save signal to cause the computing device to switch to a power save state (paragraphs 0065-0066). Regarding claim 1 1 , Chen further teaches the apparatus as per claim 9, wherein the proximity-based trigger signal comprises a lock signal to cause the computing device to switch from an unlocked state to a locked state (FIG. 2, P2-3-No, P2-5). Regarding claim 12, Liu further teaches the apparatus as per claim 9, wherein the proximity-based trigger signal comprises a peripheral-disconnection trigger signal to cause the computing device to disconnect from the peripheral BT device (FIG. 3A, transitioning the mobile device from S4 mode to S 0/ off mode causes the computing device to disconnect with the computing device ). Regarding claim s 16 and 25 , Lui further teaches the apparatus, wherein the proximity-based change of the operational state of the computing device comprises at least one of a change of a power state of the computing device (FIG(s) 3A-B, paragraphs 0065 and 0067) , a change of a locking state of the computing device, or a change of a peripheral-connection state of a connection between the computing device and the peripheral BT device . Regarding claim 17, Lui further teaches the apparatus, wherein the computing device comprises a desktop computer or a laptop computer (FIG. 1, 100). Regarding claim 18, Lui further teaches the apparatus, comprising the BT radio (FIG. 2, 102). Claim (s) 13 and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen, US Patent Appl. Pub. No. 2017/0010654 in view of Liu et al., US Patent Appl. Pub. No. 2012/0040623, and further in view of Narula et al., US Patent Appl. Pub. No. 2023/0086381. Regarding claims 13 and 23, Chen and Liu disclose the apparatus and product as pre claims 1 and 21, respectively. Chen and Jiu do not specifically state the display device to detect the proximity event according to a High-Accuracy Distance Measurement (HADM) based on the BT signals. Narula teaches pairing an information handling system pairs with a wireless peripheral in an automated manner based upon a determination of a distance between the information handling system and peripheral by a phased-based ranging protocol, based on the high accuracy distance measurement (HADM) protocol available from BLUETOOTH (paragraph 0008, lines 2-9). Accordingly, the automated paring ensures correct peripheral selection , thus providing a secure , simple and favorable end user experience (paragraph 0008, lines 10-17). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the above described system and functionality, as suggested by Narula with the apparatus and product disclosed by Chen and Jiu in order to implement the display device to detect the proximity event according to a High-Accuracy Distance Measurement (HADM) based on the BT signals. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so in order to ensure correct BT peripheral device selection, thus providing a secure, simple and favorable end user experience. Claim (s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen, US Patent Appl. Pub. No. 2017/0010654 in view of Liu et al., US Patent Appl. Pub. No. 2012/0040623, and further in view of Kalliola et al., US Patent Appl. Pub. No. 2015/0189619. Regarding claim 15, Chen and Liu disclose the apparatus, as per claim 1. Chen and Liu do not specifically state the display device to detect the proximity event according to at least one of an Angle of Arrival (AoA) measurement or an Angle of Departure (AoD) measurement based on the BT signals. Kalliola teaches receiving packets including information packets containing angle of departure information of the remote device , determining a first angle of departure and a second angle of departure from the received angle of departure information , and generating distance estimation data in the apparatus relative to the remote device, based on the determined first angle of departure and second angle of departure (Abstract, lines 3-13 , FIG. 1A, paragraphs 0127-0133 ). Thus, providing a secure distance estimation based on direction measurement (Abstract, lines 1-3 ). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the above described system and functionality as suggested by Chen and Liu in order to implement the display device to detect the proximity event according to at least one of an Angle of Arrival (AoA) measurement or an Angle of Departure (AoD) measurement based on the BT signals. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so in order to provide a secure distance estimation based on direction measurement. Allowable Subject Matter Claims 2-3, 14, 20, and 22 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT STEFAN STOYNOV whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)272-4236 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT 8AM - 4:30PM . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT Andrew Jung can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT 571-270-3779 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /STEFAN STOYNOV/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2175