DETAILED ACTION
This is in response to an amendment/response filed on 11/21/2025.
Claims 1, 3-9, 11-12, 14, and 16-20 have been amended.
Claims 2 and 15 have been cancelled.
No new claims have been added.
Claims 1, 3-14, and 16-20 remain pending in the application, of which claims 4, 11-13, and 17 are withdrawn from consideration.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 9-10, filed 11/21/2025, with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 112(a) rejections of claims 3, 9-10, and 16 and the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections of claims 1, 5-8, 14, and 18-20 have been fully considered and are persuasive in light of Applicant’s amendments. The 35 U.S.C. 112(a) rejections of claims 3, 9-10, and 16 and the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections of claims 1, 5-8, 14, and 18-20 have been withdrawn. Regarding the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection of claims 3, 9-10, 16, and 20, the Examiner would like to note that although Applicant’s amendments have resolved the previous indefiniteness issues, Applicant’s amendments have introduced additional indefiniteness issues in such claims. Please see the detailed 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection of claims 3, 9-10, 16, and 20 below for a discussion of such issues.
Applicant's other arguments filed 11/21/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding the 35 U.S.C. 102 rejection of claims 1, 14, and 20, Applicant argues that Cha does not teach “wherein the QCL relationship comprises: a first SSB index corresponding to M first candidate SSB indexes in the N candidate SSB indexes, wherein the M first candidate SSB indexes have a same QCL relationship, and the M is an integer greater than or equal to 1 and less than or equal to N.” Applicant asserts that Cha merely relates to QCL between a reference signal (such as a CSI-RS, a PDCCH DMRS, or PDSCH DMRS) and an SSB, but fails to disclose any QCL relationship between multiple SSBs. The Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant’s interpretation of the prior art. As a preliminary matter, the Examiner would also like to note that the argued claim language specifically allows M to have a value of one (i.e., “the M is an integer greater than or equal to 1 and less than or equal to N”). Therefore, “M first candidate SSB indexes hav[ing] a same QCL relationship” may be interpreted as requiring that no first candidate SSB indexes have a same QCL relationship when using an interpretation wherein M=1. The claim limitation “a first SSB index” may thus be interpreted as corresponding to only one “first candidate SSB index.” Cha teaches that the UE (e.g., terminal device) may receive information regarding a QCL relationship for received transmissions including SSB transmissions (Cha; Figs. 7-12; Tables 3-4; [0067]-[0071], [0109], [0131]-[0141]). Using the interpretation above, Cha may thus be interpreted as teaching that a first SSB index corresponds to one first candidate SSB index. However, the Examiner would also like to note that at least the portion of previously cited Fig. 8 labeled “multi-beam sweeping with repetition” does describe transmitting SSBs with repetition using the same beam, and such SSB indexes (e.g., SSB0 and SSB1) may be interpreted as having a same QCL relationship (Cha; Fig. 8). The description of previously cited Fig. 8 also discusses potentially using the same SSB beam for an SSB index group, and such an SSB index group may also be interpreted as a first SSB index corresponding to M first candidate SSB indexes in the N candidate SSB indexes, wherein the M first candidate SSB indexes have a same QCL relationship, and the M is an integer greater than or equal to 1 and less than or equal to N. Cha may thus be interpreted as teaching the argued claim language “wherein the QCL relationship comprises: a first SSB index corresponding to M first candidate SSB indexes in the N candidate SSB indexes, wherein the M first candidate SSB indexes have a same QCL relationship, and the M is an integer greater than or equal to 1 and less than or equal to N.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 9-10, 16, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Regarding claims 3 and 16, the claim has been amended to recite “wherein the first formula comprises: the first SSB index = mod (the first candidate SSB index, the first indication information), and the mod () denotes a modulo operation, and the first SSB index comprises 0, 1, …, Q-1.” However, the claim limitation “the first SSB index” appears to be a single index. It is therefore unclear how such a single index may be multiple different values as is claimed (i.e., “the first SSB index comprises 0, 1, …, Q-1”). Additionally, the claim limitation “the first candidate SSB index” also lacks proper antecedent basis because claim 1 from which claim 3 instead recites “M first candidate SSB indexes,” and it is unclear if “the first candidate SSB index” is intended to somehow refer to all of “M first candidate SSB indexes” or potentially only to one of such indexes. Claim 3 is thus indefinite. Regarding claim 20, the claim has been amended to recite two different recitations of “N candidate SSB indexes,” and it is unclear if each of such recitations of “N candidate SSB indexes” are intended to refer to the same or different N candidate SSB indexes. Claim 20 is thus indefinite. For the purpose of this examination, the Examiner will interpret each of such recitations of “N candidate SSB indexes” as potentially referring to the same or different N candidate SSB indexes. Regarding claims 9-10, the claims are rejected because they depend from rejected claim 3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5-8, 14, and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Cha et al. (US 2021/0160022, Cha hereinafter, provided by Applicant). Regarding claim 1, Cha teaches a method of transmitting a synchronous signal block (SSB), comprising: determining, by a terminal device, an SSB burst set, wherein the SSB burst set comprises N candidate SSB locations, each of the N candidate SSB locations corresponds to a respective one of N candidate SSB indexes, the N is an integer greater than 20 (The SSB burst set may be configured with a 5-ms time window (i.e., half-frame), and an SSB may be repeatedly transmitted up to L times within the SS burst set. The maximum number of transmissions of the SSB, L may be given according to the frequency band of a carrier as follows. One slot includes up to two SSBs. For frequency range up to 3 GHz, L=4. For frequency range from 3 GHz to 6 GHz, L=8. For frequency range from 6 GHz to 52.6 GHz, L=64. A terminal device may thus be broadly reasonably interpreted as determining an SSB burst set, wherein the SSB burst set comprises N candidate SSB locations, each of the N candidate SSB locations corresponds to a respective one of N candidate SSB indexes, the N is an integer greater than 20; Cha; Figs. 7-12; Table 3; [0067]-[0071]); and determining, by the terminal device, a quasi co-location (QCL) relationship of the N candidate SSB indexes based on first indication information (The UE (e.g., terminal device) may receive information regarding a QCL relationship for received transmissions including SSB transmissions. The terminal device may thus be broadly reasonably interpreted as determining a quasi co-location (QCL) relationship of the N candidate SSB indexes based on first indication information; Cha; Figs. 7-12; Tables 3-4; [0079], [0109], [0131]-[0141]), wherein the QCL relationship comprises: a first SSB index corresponding to M first candidate SSB indexes in the N candidate SSB indexes, wherein the M first candidate SSB indexes have a same QCL relationship, and the M is an integer greater than or equal to 1 and less than or equal to N (The UE (e.g., terminal device) may receive information regarding a QCL relationship for received transmissions including SSB transmissions. As was also discussed in the response to arguments above, such claim language allows for an interpretation wherein M=1, which may be interpreted as requiring that no first candidate SSB indexes have a same QCL relationship. Cha may thus be interpreted as teaching that a first SSB index corresponds to one first candidate SSB index. However, at least the portion of previously cited Fig. 8 labeled “multi-beam sweeping with repetition” does describe transmitting SSBs with repetition using the same beam, and such SSB indexes (e.g., SSB0 and SSB1) may be interpreted as having a same QCL relationship. The description of Fig. 8 also discusses potentially using the same SSB beam for an SSB index group, and such an SSB index group may also be interpreted as a first SSB index corresponding to M first candidate SSB indexes in the N candidate SSB indexes, wherein the M first candidate SSB indexes have a same QCL relationship, and the M is an integer greater than or equal to 1 and less than or equal to N; (Cha; Figs. 7-12; Tables 3-4; [0067]-[0071], [0079], [0109], [0131]-[0141]). Regarding claim 5, Cha teaches the limitations of claim 1. Cha further teaches receiving, by the terminal device, second indication information, wherein the second indication information is configured to indicate an SSB index that is to be transmitted in the SSB burst set, the second indication information comprises N bits, or, the second indication information comprises (L+C) bits, the L*C=N, and each of L and C is a positive integer (As can be seen in at least Table 3 and its corresponding description, index information (e.g., second indication information) regarding SSB transmission may be received by the terminal device. Additionally, as can be seen in at least Fig. 9 and its corresponding description, information regarding actually transmitted SSBs may be provided in a full bitmap as well as a group bitmaps. At least such group bitmaps which may be interpreted as second indication comprising (L+C) bits, the L*C=N, and each of L and C is a positive integer. The terminal device may thus be broadly reasonably interpreted as receiving at least second indication information, wherein the second indication information is configured to indicate an SSB index that is to be transmitted in the SSB burst set, the second indication information comprises N bits. Such a transmission potentially comprised of more than one bit may also be broadly reasonably interpreted as comprising L+C bits, and each of L and C is a positive integer; Cha; Figs. 7-12; Tables 3-4; [0067]-[0079], [0086]-[0088], [0131]). Regarding claim 6, Cha teaches the limitations of claim 5. Cha further teaches the second indication information comprises the N bits, wherein the N bits and the N candidate SSB indexes are in one-to-one correspondence (As can be seen in at least Table 3 and its corresponding description, index information (e.g., second indication information) regarding SSB transmission may be received by the terminal device. Additionally, as can be seen in at least Fig. 9 and its corresponding description, information regarding actually transmitted SSBs may be provided in a full bitmap. At least such a bitmap may be broadly reasonably interpreted as teaching the second indication information comprises N bits, the N bits and the N candidate SSB indexes are in one-to-one correspondence; Cha; Figs. 7-12; Tables 3-4; [0067]-[0079], [0086]-[0088], [0131]); or the second indication information comprises the (L+C) bits, the N candidate SSB indexes are grouped into L groups, each of the L groups includes C candidate SSB indexes, the L bits and the L groups are in one-to-one correspondence, and the C bits and the C candidate SSB indexes in each group are in one-to-one correspondence (As can be seen in at least Table 3 and its corresponding description, index information (e.g., second indication information) regarding SSB transmission may be received by the terminal device. Additionally, as can be seen in at least Fig. 9 and its corresponding description, information regarding actually transmitted SSBs may be provided in a full bitmap as well as a group bitmaps. Such bitmaps may be broadly reasonably interpreted as teaching the second indication information comprises the (L+C) bits, the N candidate SSB indexes are grouped into L groups, each of the L groups includes C candidate SSB indexes, the L bits and the L groups are in one-to-one correspondence, and the C bits and the C candidate SSB indexes in each group are in one-to-one correspondence; Cha; Figs. 7-12; Tables 3-4; [0067]-[0079], [0086]-[0088], [0131]). Regarding claim 7, Cha teaches the limitations of claim 5. Cha further teaches the first indication information indicates a Q value, the Q is an integer greater than or equal to 1 and less than or equal to N (The UE (e.g., terminal device) may receive information regarding a QCL relationship for received transmissions including SSB transmissions. As can also be seen in at least Tables 3-4 and their corresponding descriptions, the UE may receive several different values that may be broadly reasonably interpreted as first indication information that indicates the Q value, the Q is an integer greater than or equal to 1 and less than or equal to N; Cha; Figs. 7-12; Tables 3-4; [0067]-[0079], [0086]-[0088], [0109], [0131]-[0141]), wherein, in response to the second indication information comprising the N bits, first Q bits of the N bits are valid bits (When using an interpretation wherein the second information comprises N bits, first bits (e.g., first Q bits) may be broadly reasonably interpreted as being valid; Cha; Figs. 7-12; Tables 3-4; [0067]-[0079], [0086]-[0088], [0109], [0131]-[0141]); or in response to the second indication information comprising the (L+C) bits, valid bits of the (L+C) bits are determined according to at least one of: in response to the Q being less than or equal to C, the first Q bits of the C bits are the valid bits (When using an interpretation wherein the second information comprises the (L+C) bits, such L+C bits may be broadly reasonably interpreted as being valid, which may be broadly reasonably interpreted as satisfying “in response to the Q being less than or equal to C, the first Q bits of the C bits are the valid bits”; Cha; Figs. 7-12; Tables 3-4; [0067]-[0079], [0086]-[0088], [0109], [0131]-[0141]); or in response to the Q being greater than C, the C bits are the valid bits, and first ceil(Q/C) bits of the L bits are the valid bits, wherein ceil() denotes a rounding up operation (When using an interpretation wherein the second information comprises the (L+C) bits, such L+C bits may be broadly reasonably interpreted as being valid, which may be broadly reasonably interpreted as satisfying “in response to the Q being greater than C, the C bits are the valid bits, and first ceil(Q/C) bits of the L bits are the valid bits, wherein the ceil() denotes an up rounding number”; Cha; Figs. 7-12; Tables 3-4; [0067]-[0079], [0086]-[0088], [0109], [0131]-[0141]). Regarding claim 8, Cha teaches the limitations of claim 5. Cha further teaches the first indication information indicates a Q value, the Q is an integer greater than or equal to 1 and less than or equal to N (The UE (e.g., terminal device) may receive information regarding a QCL relationship for received transmissions including SSB transmissions. As can also be seen in at least Tables 3-4 and their corresponding descriptions, the UE may receive several different values that may be broadly reasonably interpreted as first indication information that indicates the Q value, the Q is an integer greater than or equal to 1 and less than or equal to N; Cha; Figs. 7-12; Tables 3-4; [0067]-[0079], [0086]-[0088], [0109], [0131]-[0141]), the second indication information comprises the (L+C) bits (An interpretation may be used wherein the second information comprises the (L+C) bits; Cha; Figs. 7-12; Tables 3-4; [0067]-[0079], [0086]-[0088], [0109], [0131]-[0141]); and in response to the Q being less than or equal to (L+C), first Q bits of the (L+C) bits are valid bits, wherein the C bits of the (L+C) bits are located before the L bits, or the L bits of the (L+C) bits are located before the C bits (When using an interpretation wherein the second information comprises the (L+C) bits, such L+C bits may be broadly reasonably interpreted as being valid, which may be broadly reasonably interpreted as satisfying “in response to the Q being less than or equal to (L+C), first Q bits of the (L+C) bits are valid bits, wherein the C bits of the (L+C) bits are located before the L bits, or the L bits of the (L+C) bits are located before the C bits”; Cha; Figs. 7-12; Tables 3-4; [0067]-[0079], [0086]-[0088], [0109], [0131]-[0141]). Regarding claim 14, Cha teaches a method of transmitting a synchronous signal block (SSB) (SSB; Cha; Figs. 7-12; Tables 3-4; [0067]-[0071], [0109], [0131]-[0141]), comprising: transmitting, by a network device, first indication information to a terminal device, wherein the first indication information is configured to determine a quasi co-location (QCL) relationship of N candidate SSB indexes, the N candidate SSB indexes correspond to N candidate SSB locations, the N is an integer greater than 20 (The SSB burst set may be configured with a 5-ms time window (i.e., half-frame), and an SSB may be repeatedly transmitted up to L times within the SS burst set. The maximum number of transmissions of the SSB, L may be given according to the frequency band of a carrier as follows. One slot includes up to two SSBs. For frequency range up to 3 GHz, L=4. For frequency range from 3 GHz to 6 GHz, L=8. For frequency range from 6 GHz to 52.6 GHz, L=64. The network device may also transmit information (e.g., first indication information) regarding a QCL relationship for transmissions including SSB transmissions. The terminal device may thus be broadly reasonably interpreted as determining a quasi co-location (QCL) relationship of the N candidate SSB indexes based on first indication information. A network device may thus be broadly reasonably interpreted as transmitting first indication information to a terminal device, wherein the first indication information is configured to determine a quasi co-location (QCL) relationship of the N candidate SSB indexes, the N candidate SSB indexes correspond to N candidate SSB locations, the N is an integer greater than 20; Cha; Figs. 7-12; Tables 3-4; [0067]-[0071], [0079], [0109], [0131]-[0141]), and wherein the QCL relationship comprises: a first SSB index corresponding to M first candidate SSB indexes in the N candidate SSB indexes, wherein the M first candidate SSB indexes have a same QCL relationship, and the M is an integer greater than or equal to 1 and less than or equal to N (The UE (e.g., terminal device) may receive information regarding a QCL relationship for received transmissions including SSB transmissions. As was also discussed in the response to arguments above, such claim language allows for an interpretation wherein M=1, which may be interpreted as requiring that no first candidate SSB indexes have a same QCL relationship. Cha may thus be interpreted as teaching that a first SSB index corresponds to one first candidate SSB index. However, at least the portion of previously cited Fig. 8 labeled “multi-beam sweeping with repetition” does describe transmitting SSBs with repetition using the same beam, and such SSB indexes (e.g., SSB0 and SSB1) may be interpreted as having a same QCL relationship. The description of Fig. 8 also discusses potentially using the same SSB beam for an SSB index group, and such an SSB index group may also be interpreted as a first SSB index corresponding to M first candidate SSB indexes in the N candidate SSB indexes, wherein the M first candidate SSB indexes have a same QCL relationship, and the M is an integer greater than or equal to 1 and less than or equal to N; (Cha; Figs. 7-12; Tables 3-4; [0067]-[0071], [0079], [0109], [0131]-[0141]). Regarding claim 18, Cha teaches the limitations of claim 14. Cha further teaches transmitting, by the network device, second indication information to the terminal device (As can be seen in at least Table 3 and its corresponding description, index information regarding SSB transmission to the terminal device. The network device may thus be broadly reasonably interpreted as transmitting at least second indication information to the terminal device; Cha; Figs. 7-12; Tables 3-4; [0067]-[0071], [0109], [0131]-[0141]), wherein the second indication information is configured to indicate an SSB index that is to be transmitted in a SSB burst set, the second indication information comprises N bits, or, the second indication information comprises (L+C) bits, L*C=N, and each of L and C is a positive integer (As can be seen in at least Table 3 and its corresponding description, index information (e.g., second indication information) regarding SSB transmission may be received by the terminal device. Additionally, as can be seen in at least Fig. 9 and its corresponding description, information regarding actually transmitted SSBs may be provided in a full bitmap as well as a group bitmaps. At least such group bitmaps which may be interpreted as second indication comprising (L+C) bits, the L*C=N, and each of L and C is a positive integer. The second indication information may thus be interpreted as being configured to indicate an SSB index that is to be transmitted and is comprised in the SSB burst set, the second indication information comprises N bits. Such a transmission potentially comprised of more than one bit may also be broadly reasonably interpreted as comprising L+C bits, and each of L and C is a positive integer; Cha; Figs. 7-12; Tables 3-4; [0067]-[0079], [0086]-[0088], [0131]). Regarding claim 19, Cha teaches the limitations of claim 18. Cha further teaches the second indication information comprises the N bits, wherein the N bits and the N candidate SSB indexes are in a one-to-one correspondence (As can be seen in at least Table 3 and its corresponding description, index information (e.g., second indication information) regarding SSB transmission may be transmitted by the network device. Additionally, as can be seen in at least Fig. 9 and its corresponding description, information regarding actually transmitted SSBs may be provided in a full bitmap. At least such a bitmap may be broadly reasonably interpreted as teaching the second indication information comprises N bits, the N bits and the N candidate SSB indexes are in one-to-one correspondence; Cha; Figs. 7-12; Tables 3-4; [0067]-[0079], [0086]-[0088], [0131]); or the second indication information comprises the (L+C) bits, the N candidate SSB indexes are grouped into L groups, each of the L groups includes C candidate SSB indexes, the L bits and Reply dated: July 29, 2025 the L groups are in one-to-one correspondence, and the C bits and the C candidate SSB indexes in each group are in one-to-one correspondence (As can be seen in at least Table 3 and its corresponding description, index information (e.g., second indication information) regarding SSB transmission may be transmitted by the network device. Additionally, as can be seen in at least Fig. 9 and its corresponding description, information regarding actually transmitted SSBs may be provided in a full bitmap as well as a group bitmaps. Such bitmaps may be broadly reasonably interpreted as teaching the second indication information comprises the (L+C) bits, the N candidate SSB indexes are grouped into L groups, each of the L groups includes C candidate SSB indexes, the L bits and the L groups are in one-to-one correspondence, and the C bits and the C candidate SSB indexes in each group are in one-to-one correspondence; Cha; Figs. 7-12; Tables 3-4; [0067]-[0079], [0086]-[0088], [0131]). Regarding claim 20, Cha teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, comprising instructions (Memory; Cha; [0242]-[0243]), wherein the instructions are configured to, when being run on a computer, cause the computer to perform operations of: determining, by a terminal device, an SSB burst set, wherein the SSB burst set comprises N candidate SSB locations, each of the N candidate SSB locations corresponds to a respective one of N candidate SSB indexes, the N is an integer greater than 20 (The SSB burst set may be configured with a 5-ms time window (i.e., half-frame), and an SSB may be repeatedly transmitted up to L times within the SS burst set. The maximum number of transmissions of the SSB, L may be given according to the frequency band of a carrier as follows. One slot includes up to two SSBs. For frequency range up to 3 GHz, L=4. For frequency range from 3 GHz to 6 GHz, L=8. For frequency range from 6 GHz to 52.6 GHz, L=64. A terminal device may thus be broadly reasonably interpreted as determining an SSB burst set, wherein the SSB burst set comprises N candidate SSB locations, each of the N candidate SSB locations corresponds to one candidate SSB index, the N is an integer greater than 20; Cha; Figs. 7-12; Table 3; [0067]-[0071]); and determining, by the terminal device, a quasi co-location (QCL) relationship of the N candidate SSB indexes based on the first indication information (The UE (e.g., terminal device) may receive information regarding a QCL relationship for received transmissions including SSB transmissions. The terminal device may thus be broadly reasonably interpreted as determining a quasi co-location (QCL) relationship of the N candidate SSB indexes based on first indication information; Cha; Figs. 7-12; Tables 3-4; [0079], [0109], [0131]-[0141]), wherein the QCL relationship comprises: a first SSB index corresponding to M first candidate SSB indexes in the N candidate SSB indexes, wherein the M first candidate SSB indexes have a same QCL relationship, and the M is an integer greater than or equal to 1 and less than or equal to N (The UE (e.g., terminal device) may receive information regarding a QCL relationship for received transmissions including SSB transmissions. As was also discussed in the response to arguments above, such claim language allows for an interpretation wherein M=1, which may be interpreted as requiring that no first candidate SSB indexes have a same QCL relationship. Cha may thus be interpreted as teaching that a first SSB index corresponds to one first candidate SSB index. However, at least the portion of previously cited Fig. 8 labeled “multi-beam sweeping with repetition” does describe transmitting SSBs with repetition using the same beam, and such SSB indexes (e.g., SSB0 and SSB1) may be interpreted as having a same QCL relationship. The description of Fig. 8 also discusses potentially using the same SSB beam for an SSB index group, and such an SSB index group may also be interpreted as a first SSB index corresponding to M first candidate SSB indexes in the N candidate SSB indexes, wherein the M first candidate SSB indexes have a same QCL relationship, and the M is an integer greater than or equal to 1 and less than or equal to N; (Cha; Figs. 7-12; Tables 3-4; [0067]-[0071], [0079], [0109], [0131]-[0141]); or the instructions are configured to, when being run on a computer, cause the computer to perform operations of: transmitting, by a network device, the first indication information to the terminal device, wherein the first indication information is configured to determine a quasi co-location (QCL) relationship of N candidate SSB indexes, the N candidate SSB indexes correspond to N candidate SSB locations, the N is an integer greater than 20 (The SSB burst set may be configured with a 5-ms time window (i.e., half-frame), and an SSB may be repeatedly transmitted up to L times within the SS burst set. The maximum number of transmissions of the SSB, L may be given according to the frequency band of a carrier as follows. One slot includes up to two SSBs. For frequency range up to 3 GHz, L=4. For frequency range from 3 GHz to 6 GHz, L=8. For frequency range from 6 GHz to 52.6 GHz, L=64. The network device may also transmit information (e.g., first indication information) regarding a QCL relationship for transmissions including SSB transmissions. The terminal device may thus be broadly reasonably interpreted as determining a quasi co-location (QCL) relationship of the N candidate SSB indexes based on first indication information. A network device may thus be broadly reasonably interpreted as transmitting first indication information to a terminal device, wherein the first indication information is configured to determine a quasi co-location (QCL) relationship of the N candidate SSB indexes, the N candidate SSB indexes correspond to N candidate SSB locations, the N is an integer greater than 20; Cha; Figs. 7-12; Tables 3-4; [0067]-[0071], [0079], [0109], [0131]-[0141]), and wherein the QCL relationship comprises: a first SSB index corresponding to M first candidate SSB indexes in the N candidate SSB indexes, wherein the M first candidate SSB indexes have a same QCL relationship, and the M is an integer greater than or equal to 1 and less than or equal to N (The UE (e.g., terminal device) may receive information regarding a QCL relationship for received transmissions including SSB transmissions. As was also discussed in the response to arguments above, such claim language allows for an interpretation wherein M=1, which may be interpreted as requiring that no first candidate SSB indexes have a same QCL relationship. Cha may thus be interpreted as teaching that a first SSB index corresponds to one first candidate SSB index. However, at least the portion of previously cited Fig. 8 labeled “multi-beam sweeping with repetition” does describe transmitting SSBs with repetition using the same beam, and such SSB indexes (e.g., SSB0 and SSB1) may be interpreted as having a same QCL relationship. The description of Fig. 8 also discusses potentially using the same SSB beam for an SSB index group, and such an SSB index group may also be interpreted as a first SSB index corresponding to M first candidate SSB indexes in the N candidate SSB indexes, wherein the M first candidate SSB indexes have a same QCL relationship, and the M is an integer greater than or equal to 1 and less than or equal to N; (Cha; Figs. 7-12; Tables 3-4; [0067]-[0071], [0079], [0109], [0131]-[0141]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 9-10, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cha et al. (US 2021/0160022, Cha hereinafter, provided by Applicant) in view of Si et al. (US 2024/0163682, Si hereinafter, full support for subject matter relied upon exists in at least provisional application No. 62/927,911 filed on Oct. 30, 2019). Regarding claims 3 and 16, Cha teaches the limitations of claims 1 and 14 respectively. However, Cha does not specifically disclose the first indication information indicates a Q value, and the determining a quasi co-location (QCL) relationship of the N candidate SSB indexes based on the first indication information, comprises: determining, by the terminal device, the QCL relationship of the N candidate SSB indexes according to a first formula, or determining that the M first candidate SSB indexes have the same QCL relationship according to the first formula, wherein the first formula comprises: the first SSB index = mod (the first candidate SSB index, the first indication information), and the mod () denotes a modulo operation, and the first SSB index comprises 0, 1, ..., Q-1. Si teaches the first indication information indicates a Q value, and the determining a quasi co-location (QCL) relationship of the N candidate SSB indexes based on the first indication information (The UE may be configured with a QCL information parameter, which may be denoted as Q; Si; Fig. 6; [0159]-[0160], [0163]-[0167], [0191]), comprises: determining, by the terminal device, the QCL relationship of the N candidate SSB indexes according to a first formula, or determining that the M first candidate SSB indexes have the same QCL relationship according to the first formula (The QCL relationship of candidate SSB indexes may be determined according to a formula (e.g., (j_SSB mod Q_SSB)=i_SSB); Si; Figs. 6 and 9-10; [0080], [0159]-[0160], [0163]-[0167], [0191]), wherein the first formula comprises: the first SSB index = mod (the first candidate SSB index, the first indication information), and the mod () denotes a modulo operation, and the first SSB index comprises 0, 1, ..., Q-1 (The QCL relationship of candidate SSB indexes may be determined according to a formula (e.g., (j_SSB mod Q_SSB)=i_SSB); Si; Figs. 6 and 9-10; [0080], [0159]-[0160], [0163]-[0167], [0191]). Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in Si regarding SSB transmission/reception with the teachings as in Cha regarding SSB transmission/reception. The motivation for doing so would have been to increase performance by allowing for determination of radio link management (RLM) resources using a single parameter (Si; Figs. 6 and 9-10; [0080], [0159]-[0160], [0163]-[0167], [0191]). Regarding claim 9, Cha and Si teach the limitations of claims 1 and 14 respectively. Si further teaches the first indication information indicates the Q value, and the Q is an integer greater than or equal to 1 and less than or equal to N (The UE may be configured with a QCL information parameter, which may be denoted as Q; Si; Fig. 6; [0159]-[0160], [0163]-[0167], [0191]), in response to the Q value being 8, a number of transmittable first SSB indexes in the SSB burst set is less than or equal to 8 (The QCL relationship of candidate SSB indexes may be determined according to a formula (e.g., (j_SSB mod Q_SSB)=i_SSB). Such a formula using a Q value of 8 would return a quantity of values that are less than or equal to 8 based on how a modulo function works; Si; Figs. 6 and 9-10; [0080], [0159]-[0160], [0163]-[0167], [0191]); in response to the Q value being 16, the number of transmittable first SSB indexes in the SSB burst set is greater than 8 and less than or equal to 16 (The QCL relationship of candidate SSB indexes may be determined according to a formula (e.g., (j_SSB mod Q_SSB)=i_SSB). Such a formula using a Q value of 16 would return values that are less than or equal to 16 based on how a modulo function works. Such a formula would also return values greater than 8; Si; Figs. 6 and 9-10; [0080], [0159]-[0160], [0163]-[0167], [0191]); in response to the Q value being 32, the number of transmittable first SSB indexes in the SSB burst set is greater than 16 and less than or equal to 32 (The QCL relationship of candidate SSB indexes may be determined according to a formula (e.g., (j_SSB mod Q_SSB)=i_SSB). Such a formula using a Q value of 32 would return values that are less than or equal to 32 based on how a modulo function works. Such a formula would also return values greater than 16; Si; Figs. 6 and 9-10; [0080], [0159]-[0160], [0163]-[0167], [0191]); and in response to the Q value being 64, the number of transmittable first SSB indexes in the SSB burst set is greater than 32 and less than or equal to 64 (The QCL relationship of candidate SSB indexes may be determined according to a formula (e.g., (j_SSB mod Q_SSB)=i_SSB). Such a formula using a Q value of 64 would return values that are less than or equal to 64 based on how a modulo function works. Such a formula would also return values greater than 32; Si; Figs. 6 and 9-10; [0080], [0159]-[0160], [0163]-[0167], [0191]). Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in Si regarding SSB transmission/reception with the teachings as in Cha regarding SSB transmission/reception. The motivation for doing so would have been to increase performance by allowing for determination of radio link management (RLM) resources using a single parameter (Si; Figs. 6 and 9-10; [0080], [0159]-[0160], [0163]-[0167], [0191]). Regarding claim 10, Cha and Si teach the limitations of claims 1 and 14 respectively. Si further teaches in response to the Q value being 64, the SSB burst set excludes candidate SSB indexes having the same QCL relationship (The QCL relationship of candidate SSB indexes may be determined according to a formula (e.g., (j_SSB mod Q_SSB)=i_SSB). Using an interpretation wherein N is 64 or less and the Q value is 64, the SSB burst set may be interpreted as excluding candidate SSB indexes having the same QCL relationship based on how a modulo function works; Si; Figs. 6 and 9-10; [0080], [0159]-[0160], [0163]-[0167], [0191]). Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in Si regarding SSB transmission/reception with the teachings as in Cha regarding SSB transmission/reception. The motivation for doing so would have been to increase performance by allowing for determination of radio link management (RLM) resources using a single parameter (Si; Figs. 6 and 9-10; [0080], [0159]-[0160], [0163]-[0167], [0191]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERIC MYERS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2474