Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 9,663,233 to Plessner (“Plessner”). Regarding claims 1-6, 14, 15, and 18-20, Plessner discloses an aircraft having a battery module 510 in the fuselage thereof and associated structure that allows hot gas generated in the battery enclosure to be discarded overboard of the aircraft. Plessner at Figure 5 and relevant discussion thereof. In particular a a vent valve (520) is connected to a wall opening of the battery enclosure (510). A vent conduit (530) extends from the vent valve to an end portion of the vent conduit (532) that penetrates the fuselage skin and allows the hot gas ejected through vent valve 520 to escape out of the bottom of the aircraft fuselage. In particular, the vent is configured to open when the pressure inside the battery enclosure becomes higher than a design pressure. This can be done with an active system including a sensor connected to a moveable vent valve, or via a passive system where the valve is spring loaded or rupturable at the chosen pressure. Although a passenger egress is not shown in Plessner, the Office notes that passenger egress from vehicles, including the fuselage of an aircraft, are ubiquitously located on a lateral side of the vehicle body/fuselage, making the vent ejection point of conduit (532) out the bottom of the fuselage on a different side from a passenger egress.
Plessner only shows a single device venting through the non-conductive end-portion 532 of its ventilation conduit. Nonetheless, because aircraft, particularly those having electrically/battery driven motors commonly including a plurality of battery modules, each including a plurality of battery cells therein, it would have been obvious to ensure the vent 520 of each battery module supplies its effluent into the common ventilation conduit leading to the single, safe, nonconductive outlet piercing the skin of the fuselage in order that the fuselage not become weakened by having a plurality of piercings of its skin to accommodate the venting of a plurality of battery modules.
Further regarding claim 7, Plessner discloses the desire to prevent having gas from outside the battery pass back into the battery box via the ventilation path. Thus, inclusion of a commonly known check-valve to ensure that gas is only allowed to pass out of the venitallation path and not would have been an obvious choice in light of the teachings of Plessner.
Further regarding claims 8, each vent of Plessner is hard set at a single angle, thus meeting the claim language.
Further regarding claims 9, 10, and 12, Plessner discloses using electrically controlled actuators to open the vent releasing ejecta into the ventilation conduit but does not expressly disclose using pneumatically driven vent openings. Nonetheless, the use of any commonly known mechanical means for the electronic system to drive the vent opening, including a pneumatic system, is considered to be nothing more than the obvious use of a commonly known system for its intended purpose.
Further regarding claim 11, the opening/closing of the vent doors is considered to alter the size of the venting path.
Further regarding claim 13, the vent of each battery ejects the ejecta to the conduit and to the non-conductive end point of the ventilation path directing all of the ejecta away from other batteries and towards an overboard of the aircraft.
Further regarding claims 16 and 17, Plessner discloses controlling its vent based on a pressure measurement. However, Plessner makes it clear that the increased pressure is related to increase temperature inside the battery. Thus, use of a temperature sensor is considered to be nothing more than the obvious use of a commonly known, directly related sensing means for ensuring a safe temperature/pressure environment is maintained in the batteries of the aircraft.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WYATT P MCCONNELL/ Examiner, Art Unit 1727