DETAILED ACTION
The communication dated 6/23/2025 has been entered and fully considered.
Claims 1, 5, 9-11 and 15 have been amended. Claims 17-20 are new. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Response to Amendments and Arguments
The Applicant’s amendments have overcome the claim objection as set forth in the office action of 3/28/2025; therefore, the claim objection has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see pg. 11, filed 6/23/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under § 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The Applicant argues that CHANG teaches that the molding cavity for receiving the ultraviolet curing resin is located on surfaces of the mold base (1) an the transparent mold core (2) on the same side of the mold (10), such that the mold base (1) cannot cooperate with a groove on the transparent mold core (2) to form the molding cavity. Therefore, CHANG fails to teach or suggest the feature “a mold core defining a mold groove, the first mold assembly cooperates with the molding groove to form a molding cavity. The Examiner agrees that CHANG does not teach this newly amended limitation. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of the new prior art.
The Applicant also argues that the optical fibers (46) are different from the light guide plate of amended claim 1. Person skilled in the art knows that a light guide plate is a thin and transparent sheet, typically made of optical-grade acrylic, used to distribute light from a point source (like LEDs) evenly across a surface. Furthermore, the window (48) of the mold segment of MARPLE is used to introduce light into the cavity, therefore, neither the optical fiber (46) nor the window (48) can be considered as the light guide plate of amended claim 1.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. One of ordinary field in the art would consider a light guide plate to be an type of sheet/layer/film that is transparent/translucent/transmissive to light or is an opening in order to cure the product in the field of molding, as taught by MARPLE. Additionally, the Applicant has not provided any evidence that this is the case for an ordinary skill person in the art. Furthermore, the claims as written do not indicate which way the light is being received. One of ordinary skill in the art of molding would know that the light would be going into the mold in order to be used for curing, as taught by MARPLE. Therefore, the argument is not commensurate in scope with the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Saruya et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2012/0068370), hereinafter SARUYA.
Regarding claim 1, SARUYA teaches: A molding die (SARUYA teaches a molding die [Abstract; Fig. 10]) comprising: a first mold assembly (SARUYA teaches a first mold assembly (70) [0105; Fig. 10]); a second mold assembly (SARUYA teaches a second mold assembly (80/82) [0105; Fig. 10]), wherein the first mold assembly and the second mold assembly are adapted to be clamped together (SARUYA teaches securing the mold assemblies together [0021]); and a mold core defining a molding groove (SARUYA teaches a mold core (200) that defines a molding groove [Figs. 10-11; 0041]), wherein the mold core is pressed between the first mold assembly and the second mold assembly (SARUYA teaches the mold core (200) is pressed between he first mold assembly and the second mold assembly [Figs. 10-11].), and the first mold assembly cooperates with the molding groove to form a molding cavity (SARUYA teaches the mold core (200) is pressed between the mold assemblies [0106; Fig. 10]), wherein the second mold assembly comprises a second mold and a light guide plate (SARUYA teaches the second mold assembly comprises a second mold (80/82) and a light guide plate (200) [Fig. 10; 0106].), the second mold defines a through hole (SARUYA shows the second mold defines a through hole [Fig. 10].), the light guide plate is arranged in the through hole (SARUYA teaches the light guide plate (200) is arranged in the through hole [Fig. 10].), and the light guide plate and the through hole cooperate to form a light transmitting area corresponding to the molding cavity (SARUYA teaches the light guide plate (200) and the through hole cooperate to form a light transmitting area corresponding to the molding cavity [Fig. 10; 0066; 0068].), so that the molding cavity to receive incident light through the light transmitting area (SARUYA teaches the second mold assembly includes an opening for passing and projecting the light (90) onto the core (200) [Figs. 10-11; 0068].).
Regarding claim 15, SARUYA teaches: A molding apparatus (SARUYA teaches a molding apparatus [Abstract; Figs. 10-11].) comprising: a light source (SARUYA teaches a light source (90) [Figs. 10-11; 0068].); and a molding die (SARUYA teaches a molding die [Figs. 10-11].) comprising: a first mold assembly (SARUYA teaches a first mold assembly (70) [0105; Fig. 10].); a second mold assembly (SARUYA teaches a second mold assembly (80/82) [0105; Fig. 10]), wherein the first mold assembly and the second mold assembly are adapted to be clamped together (SARUYA teaches securing the mold assemblies together [0021]), and a mold core defining a molding groove (SARUYA teaches a mold core (200) that defines a molding groove [Figs. 10-11; 0041]), wherein the molding core is pressed between the first mold assembly and the second mold assembly (SARUYA teaches the mold core (200) is pressed between he first mold assembly and the second mold assembly [Figs. 10-11].), and the first mold assembly cooperates with the molding groove to form a molding cavity (SARUYA teaches the mold core (200) is pressed between the mold assemblies [0106; Fig. 10]); the second mold assembly comprises a second mold and a light guide plate (SARUYA teaches the second mold assembly comprises a second mold (80/82) and a light guide plate (200) [Fig. 10; 0106].), the second mold defines a through hole (SARUYA shows the second mold defines a through hole [Fig. 10].), the light guide plate is arranged in the through hole (SARUYA teaches the light guide plate (200) is arranged in the through hole [Fig. 10].), and the light guide plate and the through hole cooperate to form a light transmitting area corresponding to the molding cavity (SARUYA teaches the light guide plate (200) and the through hole cooperate to form a light transmitting area corresponding to the molding cavity [Fig. 10; 0066; 0068].), incident light of the light source irradiates the molding cavity through the light transmitting area (SARUYA teaches the second mold assembly includes an opening for passing and projecting the light (90) onto the core (200) [Figs. 10-11; 0068].).
Claim(s) 1 and 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zeng (U.S. PGPUB 2017/0229062), hereinafter ZENG.
Regarding claim 1, ZENG teaches: A molding die (ZENG teaches a molding die [Abstract; Fig. 5].) comprising: a first mold assembly (ZENG teaches a first mold assembly (70) [0033; Fig. 5]); a second mold assembly (ZENG teaches a second mold assembly (60) [0033; Fig. 5].), wherein the first mold assembly and the second mold assembly are adapted to be clamped together (ZENG teaches securing the mold assemblies together [Fig. 5; 0033]); and a mold core defining a molding groove (ZENG teaches a mold core (80) that defines a molding groove (71) [0033; Fig. 5].), wherein the mold core is pressed between the first mold assembly and the second mold assembly (ZENG shows the mold core is pressed between the first and second mold assembly [Figs. 1-4].), and the first mold assembly cooperates with the molding groove to form a molding cavity (ZENG teaches the mold core (80) cooperates with the molding groove (71) to form a cavity [Fig. 5; 0033].), wherein the second mold assembly comprises a second mold and a light guide plate (ZENG teaches the second mold assembly comprises a second mold (60) and a light guide plate (20) [Fig. 5; 0014].), the second mold defines a through hole (ZENG show the second mold defines a through hole [Fig. 5].), the light guide plate is arranged in the through hole (ZENG shows the light guide plate is arranged in the through hole [Fig. 5]), and the light guide plate and the through hole cooperate to form a light transmitting area corresponding to the molding cavity (ZENG teaches the light guide plate (20) and the through hole cooperate to form a light transmitting area corresponding to the cavity [Figs. 1-5; 0027].), so that the molding cavity to receive incident light through the light transmitting area (The Examiner is interpreting the limitation “so that the molding cavity to receive incident light through the light transmitting area” is an intended use of the apparatus. It is well settled that the intended use of a claimed apparatus is not germane to the issue of the patentability of the claimed structure. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the claimed use then it meets the claim. In re Casey, 152 USPQ 235, 238 (CCPA 1967); In re Otto, 136 USPQ 459 (CCPA 1963). The manner or method in which a machine is to be utilized is not germane to the issue of patentability of the machine itself, In re Casey 152 USPQ 235. The apparatus of ZENG is capable of performing the claimed use and therefore, meets the claim.).
Regarding claim 15, ZENG teaches: A molding apparatus (ZENG teaches a molding die [Abstract; Fig. 5].) comprising: a light source (CHANG teaches a light source [Fig. 7]); and a molding die (CHANG teaches a molding die [Abstract; Fig. 2]) comprising: a first mold assembly (ZENG teaches a first mold assembly (70) [0033; Fig. 5]); a second mold assembly (ZENG teaches a second mold assembly (60) [0033; Fig. 5].), wherein the first mold assembly and the second mold assembly are adapted to be clamped together (ZENG teaches securing the mold assemblies together [Fig. 5; 0033]), and a mold core defining a molding groove (ZENG teaches a mold core (80) that defines a molding groove (71) [0033; Fig. 5].), wherein the molding core is pressed between the first mold assembly and the second mold assembly (ZENG shows the mold core is pressed between the first and second mold assembly [Figs. 1-4].), and the first mold assembly cooperates with the molding groove to form a molding cavity (ZENG teaches the mold core (80) cooperates with the molding groove (71) to form a cavity [Fig. 5; 0033].); the second mold assembly comprises a second mold and a light guide plate (ZENG teaches the second mold assembly comprises a second mold (60) and a light guide plate (20) [Fig. 5; 0014].), the second mold defines a through hole (ZENG show the second mold defines a through hole [Fig. 5].), the light guide plate is arranged in the through hole (ZENG shows the light guide plate is arranged in the through hole [Fig. 5]), and the light guide plate and the through hole cooperate to form a light transmitting area corresponding to the molding cavity (ZENG teaches the light guide plate (20) and the through hole cooperate to form a light transmitting area corresponding to the cavity [Figs. 1-5; 0027].), incident light of the light source irradiates the molding cavity through the light transmitting area (The Examiner is interpreting the limitation “incident light of the light source irradiates the molding cavity through the light transmitting area” is an intended use of the apparatus. It is well settled that the intended use of a claimed apparatus is not germane to the issue of the patentability of the claimed structure. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the claimed use then it meets the claim. In re Casey, 152 USPQ 235, 238 (CCPA 1967); In re Otto, 136 USPQ 459 (CCPA 1963). The manner or method in which a machine is to be utilized is not germane to the issue of patentability of the machine itself, In re Casey 152 USPQ 235. The apparatus of ZENG is capable of performing the claimed use and therefore, meets the claim.).
Regarding claim 16, ZENG teaches: A terminal (ZENG teaches a terminal ), comprising a display screen and an adhesive layer (ZENG teaches an adhesive layer (40) and display screen (10) [0026].), the adhesive layer is formed on the display screen by injecting adhesive into the molding die of claim 1 (ZENG teaches the adhesive layer (40) is injected [0031]) and is followed by curing (ZENG teaches an injection molding process is carried out, indicating curing the adhesive layer (40) [0031].).
Claim(s) 1 and 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CHANG (U.S. PGPUB 2009/0057532).
Regarding claim 1, CHANG teaches: A molding die (CHANG teaches a molding die [Abstract; Fig. 2]) comprising: a first mold assembly (CHANG teaches a first mold assembly (300) [0004; Fig. 1]); a second mold assembly (CHANG teaches a second mold assembly (200) [0005; Fig. 1]), wherein the first mold assembly and the second mold assembly are adapted to be clamped together (CHANG teaches securing the mold assemblies together [0005].); and a mold core defining a molding groove (CHANG teaches a mold core (301) that defines a molding groove [Fig. 1].), wherein the mold core is pressed between the first mold assembly and the second mold assembly (CHANG teaches the mold core is pressed between the mold assemblies [Fig. 1].), and the first mold assembly cooperates with the molding groove to form a molding cavity (CHANG teaches the mold core (301) is pressed between the mold assemblies [Fig. 1] and cooperates with the molding groove to form a molding cavity [Fig. 1; 0005].), wherein the second mold assembly comprises a second mold and a light guide plate (CHANG teaches the second mold assembly comprises a second mold (200) and a light guide plate (203) [Fig. 1; 0005].), the second mold defines a through hole (CHANG teaches the second mold (200) defines a through hole (201) [0005; Fig. 1].), the light guide plate is arranged in the through hole (CHANG teaches the light guide plate (203) is arranged in the through hole (Fig. 1; 0005].), and the light guide plate and the through hole cooperate to form a light transmitting area corresponding to the molding cavity (CHANG teaches the through hole (201) and the light guide plate (203) pass light to cure [0005; Fig. 1].), so that the molding cavity to receive incident light through the light transmitting area (CHANG teaches the second mold assembly (3) includes an opening (31) for passing and projecting light onto the core [0005; Fig. 1]. Furthermore, the Examiner is interpreting the limitation “so that the molding cavity to receive incident light through the light transmitting area” is an intended use of the apparatus. It is well settled that the intended use of a claimed apparatus is not germane to the issue of the patentability of the claimed structure. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the claimed use then it meets the claim. In re Casey, 152 USPQ 235, 238 (CCPA 1967); In re Otto, 136 USPQ 459 (CCPA 1963). The manner or method in which a machine is to be utilized is not germane to the issue of patentability of the machine itself, In re Casey 152 USPQ 235. The apparatus of CHANG is capable of performing the claimed use and therefore, meets the claim.).
Regarding claim 15, CHANG teaches: A molding apparatus (CHANG teaches a mold structure [Abstract]) comprising: a light source (CHANG teaches a light source [Fig. 7]); and a molding die (CHANG teaches a molding die [Abstract; Fig. 2]) comprising: a first mold assembly (CHANG teaches a first mold assembly (300) [0004; Fig. 1]); a second mold assembly (CHANG teaches a second mold assembly (200) [0005; Fig. 1].), wherein the first mold assembly and the second mold assembly are adapted to be clamped together (CHANG teaches securing the mold assemblies together [0005].), and a mold core defining a molding groove (CHANG teaches a mold core (301) that defines a molding groove [Fig. 1].), wherein the molding core is pressed between the first mold assembly and the second mold assembly (CHANG teaches the mold core is pressed between the mold assemblies [Fig. 1].), and the first mold assembly cooperates with the molding groove to form a molding cavity (CHANG teaches the mold core (301) is pressed between the mold assemblies [Fig. 1] and cooperates with the molding groove to form a molding cavity [Fig. 1; 0005].); the second mold assembly comprises a second mold and a light guide plate (CHANG teaches the second mold assembly comprises a second mold (200) and a light guide plate (203) [Fig. 1; 0005].), the second mold defines a through hole (CHANG teaches the second mold (200) defines a through hole (201) [0005; Fig. 1].), the light guide plate is arranged in the through hole (CHANG teaches the light guide plate (203) is arranged in the through hole (Fig. 1; 0005].), and the light guide plate and the through hole cooperate to form a light transmitting area corresponding to the molding cavity (CHANG teaches the through hole (201) and the light guide plate (203) pass light to cure [0005; Fig. 1), incident light of the light source irradiates the molding cavity through the light transmitting area (CHANG teaches the second mold assembly includes an opening (201) for passing and projecting light onto the core [0005; Fig. 1]. Furthermore, the Examiner is interpreting the limitation “so that the molding cavity to receive incident light through the light transmitting area” is an intended use of the apparatus. It is well settled that the intended use of a claimed apparatus is not germane to the issue of the patentability of the claimed structure. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the claimed use then it meets the claim. In re Casey, 152 USPQ 235, 238 (CCPA 1967); In re Otto, 136 USPQ 459 (CCPA 1963). The manner or method in which a machine is to be utilized is not germane to the issue of patentability of the machine itself, In re Casey 152 USPQ 235. The apparatus of CHANG is capable of performing the claimed use and therefore, meets the claim.).
Regarding claim 16, CHANG teaches: A terminal, comprising a display screen and an adhesive layer (CHANG teaches a thin film (6) that is rolled onto ultraviolet curing resin [0025; Fig. 4]), the adhesive layer is formed on the display screen by injecting adhesive into the molding die of claim 1 (CHANG teaches the adhesive layer (resin) is injected [005]) and is followed by curing (CHANG teaches curing the resin [0005]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-4, 9, 12-14 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zeng (U.S. PGPUB 2017/0229062), hereinafter ZENG, in view of An et al. (CN 214956939U, original and translation provided), hereinafter AN.
Regarding claim 2, ZENG teaches all of the claimed limitations as stated above, but are silent as to: wherein the mold core comprises: a carrier plate arranged between the first mold assembly and the second mold assembly; and a molding member connected to the carrier plate, the molding groove is defined in the molding member. In the same field of endeavor, molds, AN teaches a mold core that has a carrier plate (22) arranged between the first mold assembly (1) and second mold assembly (2) [Figs. 1-2; pg. 3]. AN teaches a molding member (12, 24) is connected to the carrier plate (21) [Fig. 4; pg. 3] and the molding member forms a groove [Fig. 4]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify ZENG, by having a carrier plate part of the mold core, as suggested by AN, in order to have a die with a simple and compact structure [pg. 2].
Regarding claim 3, ZENG teaches all of the claimed limitations as stated before, including having a mold core (92) arranged on a light transmitting plate (93) [Fig. 8; 0030]. AN further teaches: wherein the carrier plate comprises: a light transmitting plate arranged between the first mold assembly and the second mold assembly (AN teaches a plate (23) is arranged between the first mold assembly (1) and the second mold assembly (2) [Figs. 1, 6; pg. 5]), wherein the molding member is arranged on the light transmitting plate (AN teaches the molding member (12, 24) is arranged on the plate (22) [Fig. 6; pg. 3]); and a positioning sleeve arranged on the light transmitting plate and connected to the molding member (AN teaches a positioning sleeve (20) on the plate (23) and the plate is connected to the molding member [Fig. 4; pg. 3]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify ZENG, by having a carrier plate part of the mold core with another plate between the mold assemblies, as suggested by AN, in order to have a die with a simple and compact structure [pg. 2].
Regarding claim 4, AN further teaches: wherein the molding member comprises: a molding main body arranged on the light transmitting plate (AN teaches a molding main body (12, 24) on the plate (22) [Figs. 1, 4-5; pg. 3]), wherein the molding groove is defined in the molding main body (AN shows a molding groove is defined in the main molding body (12, 24) [Fig. 6]); and a positioning portion protruding from the molding main body and connected to the light transmitting plate (AN teaches a positioning portion protruding (14) [Fig. 3].), wherein the positioning portion defines a positioning hole, the positioning sleeve is arranged in the positioning hole (AN also teaches the plate has a guide post and sleeve (20) can prolong the life of the mold [pgs. 3-4]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify ZENG, by having a molding main body, as suggested by AN, in order to have a die with a simple and compact structure [pg. 2].
Regarding claim 9, AN further teaches: a positioning member sequentially inserted through the second mold and the positioning sleeve [AN teaches a positioning member (14) inserted through the second mold and positioning sleeve [pgs. 3-4; Fig. 3]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify ZENG, by having a positioning member, as suggested by AN, in order to enhance the wear resistance [pg. 4].
Regarding claim 12, AN further teaches: wherein the first mold assembly comprises: a first mold supporting the molding member and fitted with the second mold (AN teaches a first mold supporting the molding member (12, 24) and fitted with the second mold [Figs. 1-5]); a sleeve plate configured to connect with at least a part of a periphery of the light transmitting plate and the second mold, to press the light transmitting plate against the second mold (AN teaches a sleeve plate configured to connect with a part of a periphery of the plate and second mold [Fig. 5]); and a pair of handles rotatably arranged on opposite sides of the first mold and detachably clamped on two sides of the second mold (AN teaches handles are arranged on opposite sides of the mold [Fig. 2; pg. 4]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify ZENG, by having a sleeve plate and rotatable handles, as suggested by AN, in order to increase safety when handling the molds [pg. 4].
Regarding claim 13, AN further teaches: wherein the first mold comprises: a bottom mold defining a mounting site and a protrusion portion arranged at a periphery of the mounting site (AN teaches a mold has a mounting site and a protrusion portion (the border around (12)) [Fig. 3]); and a soft mold arranged in the mounting site and configured to support a product (AN teaches a middle mold (3) is used to be arranged between the two molds and supports a product (4) [Figs. 1, 5; pg. 4]); wherein an outside surface of the molding member resists against an inside surface of the protrusion portion, an end surface of the molding member resists against the product, so that the molding groove and the product cooperate to form the molding cavity (AN shows all the pieces of the mold assembly form to make a cavity [Figs. 1-6; pg. 4]. AN teaches the middle mold (3) is used to press down the film (4) to be close to the mold [pg. 4; Fig. 2], which would inherently have resistance against the film (4).). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify ZENG, by having a mounting site, as suggested by AN, in order to have a die with a simple and compact structure [pg. 2].
Regarding claim 14, AN further teaches: wherein a spacing groove is formed between the protrusion portion and the soft mold (AN shows spacings will be formed between the molding members and the mold (3) [Figs. 1-2, 5-6]), the molding member comprises a first molding portion, a molding bottom, and a second molding portion sequentially connected and forming the molding groove (AN shows the molding members (12, 24) form a molding bottom and a molding groove [Fig. 6]), the second molding portion is inserted in the spacing groove (AN teaches the mold (1) is pressed down to clamp down on the product (4, 5) [pg. 4].), a part of an outside surface of the second molding portion resists against the inside surface of the protrusion portion, and an end surface of the first molding portion resists against an upper surface of the product (AN teaches the product and glue is pressed down together when the molds are clamped [pgs. 4-5], which the layers (4-6) would inherently have resistance towards various parts of the molds.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify ZENG, by having the molds pushed against each other, as suggested by AN, in order to have the heat energy concentrated [pg. 5].
Regarding claim 17, ZENG and AN teach all of the claimed limitations as stated above, including: wherein the molding core comprises a carrier plate (AN teaches a mold core that has a carrier plate (22) [Figs. 1-2; pg. 3].) and a molding member (AN teaches a molding member (12, 24) is connected to the carrier plate (21) [Fig. 4; pg. 3]), the carrier plate comprises a light transmitting plate (AN teaches a plate (23) is arranged between the first mold assembly (1) and the second mold assembly (2) [Figs. 1, 6; pg. 5]), the molding member is supported on the light transmitting plate (AN teaches the molding member (12, 24) is arranged on the plate (22) [Fig. 6; pg. 3]), a side of the molding member facing away from the light transmitting plate defines the molding groove (AN shows a side of the molding member faces away from the plate 22 [Figs. 4-5].), the first mold assembly presses against the side of the molding member facing away from the light transmitting plate and cooperates with the molding groove to form the molding cavity (AN teaches the first mold assembly (11) is pressed against the molding member (12) and cooperates to form a cavity [Figs. 3-5].), the second mold assembly presses against a side of the light transmitting plate facing away from the molding member (AN teaches the second mold assembly (21) presses against the plate (22) facing away [Figs. 3-5].), and the light transmitting area is located on the side of the light transmitting plate facing away from the molding member (AN teaches the light transmitting area (5) is located on the side of the light transmitting plate [Figs. 3-6; pg. 3].). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify ZENG, by having a carrier plate part of the mold core, as suggested by AN, in order to have a die with a simple and compact structure [pg. 2].
Claim(s) 5 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zeng (U.S. PGPUB 2017/0229062), hereinafter ZENG , and An et al. (CN 214956939U, original and translation provided), hereinafter AN, as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of JIN (U.S. PGPUB 2011/0174218).
Regarding claim 5, AN further teaches: wherein the positioning portion comprises: a positioning main body protruding from the molding main body and connected to the light transmitting plate (AN teaches aligning fixing blocks (26) are connected to the plate (23) and protruding around the molding main body [Fig. 4; pg. 3].); and a positing cap connected to the positioning main body, wherein the positioning cap and the molding main body are respectively snap-fitted to opposite outer surfaces of the light transmitting plate (AN teaches alignment posts (14) and alignment fixing block (26) are aligned and interact with each other to endure that the upper and lower molds do not shift in position [pg. 4]), the positioning hole penetrates the positioning main body and the positioning cap (AN teaches the pin (14) would go in the alignment holes (27) [Figs. 3-5]. AN also teaches the upper molding body (12) has a plurality of foolproof pins (15) protruding downward and the lower molding body (24) is provided with a plurality of foolproof holes (28) [Figs. 3-4; pg. 4]), but ZENG and AN are silent as to: the positioning sleeve comprises a positioning sleeve body and a sleeve cap, the positioning sleeve body is arranged in the positioning hole of the positioning main body; and the sleeve cap is arranged in the positioning hole of the positioning cap and connected to the positioning sleeve body. In the same field of endeavor, molding, JIN teaches plates used to lock the moving inserts in the cavity of the moving plates by a plurality of screws (11a), which have a positioning cap as the head, the sleeve is the hold in which the screw is placed and the screw is positioned in the holes [Figs. 1, 3; 0029]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify ZENG and AN, by having screws to lock the molding members, as suggested by JIN, as it’s a known option in the art of molding. See KSR int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). "A person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known option within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense."
Regarding claim 7, ZENG and AN teach all of the claimed limitations as stated above, but are silent as to: wherein an outside surface of the positioning sleeve defines an engagement groove, a side wall of the positioning hole defines an engagement protrusion, the engagement groove engages with the engagement protrusion. In the same field of endeavor, molding, JIN teaches screws are used to lock in the inserts [0029], which would have engagement grooves inside the positioning holes and the screws would have engagement protrusions. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify ZENG and AN, by having screws to lock the molding members, as suggested by JIN, as it’s a known option in the art of molding. See KSR int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007) ("A person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known option within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense.").
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zeng (U.S. PGPUB 2017/0229062), hereinafter ZENG , and An et al. (CN 214956939U, original and translation provided), hereinafter AN, as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Asano et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2001/0054663), hereinafter ASANO.
Regarding claim 8, ZENG and AN teach all of the claimed limitations as stated above, but are silent as to: wherein the molding member is connected to the light transmitting plate and the positioning sleeve by injection molding. In the same field of endeavor, molding, ASANO teaches a plate, sleeve and pin can be connected by injection molding [claim 6; 0024]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify ZENG and AN, by connecting all the parts by injection molding, as suggested by ASANO, in order to integrate the parts [0024]. Furthermore, connecting all the parts by injection molding is a known method in the art to do so. See KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007) ("The combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results.").
Claim(s) 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zeng (U.S. PGPUB 2017/0229062), hereinafter ZENG , and An et al. (CN 214956939U, original and translation provided), hereinafter AN, as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Murayama et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2010/0079701), hereinafter MURAYAMA.
Regarding claim 10, ZENG and AN teach all of the claimed limitations as stated above, but are silent as to: wherein the second mold assembly further comprises a pressing plate arranged on the second mold and pressing against at least a part of a periphery of the light guide. In the same field of endeavor, molding, MURAYAMA teaches a pressing plate is arranged on the light guide [0079]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify ZENG and AN, by having a pressing plate against the light guide, as suggested by MURAYAMA, in order to form surface textures [0079].
Regarding claim 11, ZENG teaches: wherein the light guide is annular-shaped, sheet-shaped, or strip-shaped (ZENG shows the light can be strip-shaped [Fig. 5].).
Claim(s) 6 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zeng (U.S. PGPUB 2017/0229062), hereinafter ZENG, and An et al. (CN 214956939U, original and translation provided), hereinafter AN, as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Yamaguchi et al. (U.S. 6,460,596), hereinafter YAMAGUCHI.
Regarding claim 6, ZENG and AN teaches all of the claimed limitations as stated above, including, wherein the molding member further comprises: an injecting portion arranged on the molding main body and defining an injecting hole in fluid communication with the molding groove (AN further teaches a proper amount of epoxy resin glue is added to the mold, indicating the cavities are filled.), but are silent as to: an overflow portion arranged on the molding main body and defining an overflow hole in fluid communication with the molding groove. In the same field of endeavor, molding, YAMAGUCHI teaches having an overflow portion (9) on the main molding body (30) [Col. 5, lines 40-43]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify ZENG and AN, having an overflow portion, as suggested by YAMAGUCHI, as it’s a known option in the art. See KSR int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007) ("A person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known option within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense.").
Regarding claim 18, YAMAGUCHI further teaches: wherein the injecting portion comprises an injecting main body and an injecting cap (YAMAGUCHI teaches an injecting portion that comprises an injecting main body (10) and an injecting cap (24) [Figs. 2(a)-2(b); Col. 6, lines 18-21].), and the injecting hole penetrates the injecting main body and the injecting cap (YAMAGUCHI teaches the injection hole penetrates the injection main body (30) and the cap (24) [Fig. 1].); the overflow portion comprises an overflow main body and an overflow cap (YAMAGUCHI teaches the overflow portion (9) comprises an overflow main body and an overflow cap (34) [Fig. 1; Col. 6, lines 47-52].), and the overflow hole penetrates the overflow main body and the overflow cap (YAMAGUCHI teaches the overflow hole penetrates the overflow main body and the overflow cap [Fig. 1].).
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zeng (U.S. PGPUB 2017/0229062), hereinafter ZENG, in view of MORI (U.S. PGPUB 2013/0242609).
Regarding claim 16, ZENG teaches all of the claimed limitations above. In the alternative, in the same field of endeavor, molding, MORI teaches injecting an adhesive [0050] and curing the adhesive [0040]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify ZENG, by having the adhesive injected and cured, as suggested by MORI, as it’s a known option in the art. See KSR int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007) ("A person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known option within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense.").
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zeng (U.S. PGPUB 2017/0229062), hereinafter ZENG, and An et al. (CN 214956939U, original and translation provided), hereinafter AN, as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Hardigg et al. (U.S. 5,012,553), hereinafter HARDIGG, and Carlson et al. (U.S. 4,926,523), hereinafter CARLSON.
Regarding claim 19, ZENG and AN teach all of the claimed limitations, including a pair of handles [AN: Figs. 1-6], as stated above, but are silent as to: wherein each of the pair of handles comprises two rotating members, two rotating shafts, a handle body, a stop member, a fastener, and an elastic assembly, the two rotating members are respectively connected to two ends of the handle body and are rotatably connected with a side of the first mold through the two rotating shafts, the handle body defines a stop groove, the stop member is fixedly arranged in the stop groove through the fastener, a bottom of the stop groove defines an elastic groove which penetrates the handle body, the elastic assembly is arranged in the elastic groove, and the handle elastically presses against the second mold through the elastic assembly.
In the same field of endeavor, handles, HARDIGG teaches a handle (10) with two rotating members (20), two rotating shafts (16), a handle body (14), a stop member (25), a fastener (screws, bolts or any suitable means (23)) [Fig. 1; Col. 3, lines 24-30; Col. 3, lines 35-40; Col. 3, lines 58-61]. HARDIGG teaches the rotating members (20) are connected to two ends of the handle body (10) and are rotatably connected to a container through the shafts (16) [Fig. 1]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify ZENG and AN, by substituting the handle in AN with the handle in HARDIGG, in order to provide a lightweight handle capable of lifting in a simple, easy manner [Col. 2, lines 1-5].
ZENG, AN and HARDIGG are silent as to: the handle body defines a stop groove, the stop member is fixedly arranged in the stop groove through the fastener, a bottom of the stop groove defines an elastic groove which penetrates the handle body, the elastic assembly is arranged in the elastic groove, and the handle elastically presses against the second mold through the elastic assembly. In the same field of endeavor, handles, CARLSON teaches the handle body (10) has a stop groove (38) [Fig. 8; Col. 3, lines 26-29]. CARLSON teaches a fastener is in the stop groove [Col. 3, lines 28-31]. CARLSON teaches inside the stop groove is an elastic covering (30) [Col. 3, lines 41-43]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify ZENG, AN and HARDIGG, by having an elastic assembly, as suggested by CARLSON, in order to have user comfort [Col. 2, lines 55-56].
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zeng (U.S. PGPUB 2017/0229062), hereinafter ZENG, An et al. (CN 214956939U, original and translation provided), hereinafter AN, Hardigg et al. (U.S. 5,012,553), hereinafter HARDIGG, and Carlson et al. (U.S. 4,926,523), hereinafter CARLSON, as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Leung (U.S. 5,293,300), hereinafter LEUNG.
Regarding claim 20, ZENG, AN, HARDIGG and CARLSON teach all of the claimed limitations as stated above, including the elastic assembly comprising an elastic member that is located in the elastic groove, but is silent as to a slidable member. In the same field of endeavor, handles, LEUNG teaches a slidable member that is in a recess and has a protruding portion [Col. 2, lines 62-68 – Col. 3, lines 1-3]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify ZENG, AN, HARDIGG and CARLSON, by having a slidable member in a recess with a protruding member, as suggested by LEUNG, in order to prevent disengagement [Col. 2, lines 65-68 – Col. 3, lines 1-3].
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/C.B./Examiner, Art Unit 1748
/Abbas Rashid/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1748