Status of Claims
This action is responsive to the application filed on 08/06/2026.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claims 1, 11, and 19 have been amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 11, and 19 under 35 U.S.C. 103, have been considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that no reference teaches the amended limitations stating “identifies an audio element corresponding to a sound event extracted from the audio of the multimodal content item”, since “Morgado does not disclose that such high-level features identify or correspond to sound events extracted from the audio”, nor “that these feature maps identify image elements within image frames of the multimodal content item”. The examiner respectfully disagrees.
Due to the broadness of the claim language, Morgado has been found to teach the argued limitations, since section 3.2 and Figs. 1 and 4 teach “we apply a (two-dimensional) CNN encoder to the audio spectrogram” to output “feature maps” (audio object) of “high-level features” (audio element) in “25ms segments” (time period) and reduced dimensionality of the audio (spatial position), and further visualizing the “extracted” audio “as a color overlay over the frame” based on the location of the audio source. Further, section 3.2 and Figs. 1 and 4 teach RGB CNN image encoder outputting “feature maps” (image objects) of “high-level features” (image element) at a time (time period) of frames in the video sequence (spatial position), and further visualizing the audio “as a color overlay over the frame” based on the location of the audio source.
Applicant is encouraged to add clarifying amendments regarding the “sound event” and “image elements” so it cannot be read as broadly.
See 35 U.S.C 103 section for full mapping of claim limitations necessitated by applicant amendments.
Applicant’s arguments, with respect to claim(s) 1, 11, and 19 amended limitations now stating “and a spatial position representing a physical location of the sound event relative to other sound events in the multimodal content item… and a spatial position representing a physical location of the image element of relative to other image elements in the one or more image frames in the multimodal content item”, have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the current combination of references being used in the current rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morgado et al ("Self-Supervised Generation of Spatial Audio for 360° Video", 2018) hereinafter Morgado, in view of Gallo et al (“3D-AudioMatting, Postediting, and Rerendering from Field Recordings”, 2007) hereinafter Gallo, in view of Morgado et al (“Learning Representations from Audio-Visual Spatial Alignment”, 2020) hereinafter Morgado_2020.
Regarding claims 1, 11, and 19, Morgado teaches a method; apparatus comprising: a memory; and at least one processor, coupled to the memory, and operative to perform operations comprising; and computer readable storage medium comprising computer executable instructions which when executed by a computer cause the computer to perform the method of (Examiner note: Applicant’s specification paragraph 0060 states “computer readable storage medium, as that term is used in the present disclosure, is not to be construed as storage in the form of transitory signals per se”, thus the CRM is interpreted by the examiner as non-transitory.
Morgado, section 4 teaches using a GPU for performing the embodiments of the disclosure, well known to be included on a computer system and communicatively connected to one or more memories):
accessing, by a computing device, a multimodal content item (sections 4 teach using a GPU for performing the embodiments of the disclosure, including sections 3-3.2 teaching of obtaining “video input” and “audio” input); and
automatically generating, by the computing device, three-dimensional sound using one or more machine learning models for the multimodal content item (sections 4 teach using a GPU for performing the embodiments of the disclosure, including sections 3-3.2 teaching of creating “ambisonic” spatial audio from the input “video input” and “mono audio” input), wherein the automatic generating of the three- object dimensional sound comprises:
processing, using a first neural network of the one or more machine learning models, an audio of the multimodal content item to generate one or more audio objects, wherein each audio object, of the one or more audio objects, identifies an audio element corresponding to a sound event extracted from the audio of the multimodal content item, a time period corresponding to the audio object, audio object) of “high-level features” (audio element) in “25ms segments” (time period) and reduced dimensionality of the audio (spatial position), and further visualizing the extracted audio “as a color overlay over the frame” based on the location of the audio source);
processing, using a second neural network of the one or more machine learning models, one or more images of the multimodal content item to generate a plurality of image objects, wherein each image object, of the plurality of image objects, identifies an image element within one or more image frames of the multimodal content item, a time period corresponding to the respective image object, (section 3.2 and Figs. 1 and 4 teach RGB CNN image encoder outputting “feature maps” (image objects) of “high-level features” (image element) at a time (time period) of frames in the video sequence (spatial position), and further visualizing the audio “as a color overlay over the frame” based on the location of the audio source).
However, Morgado does not explicitly teach and a spatial position representing a physical location of the sound event relative to other sound events in the multimodal content item… and a spatial position representing a physical location of the image element of relative to other image elements in the one or more image frames in the multimodal content item.
Gallo teaches and a spatial position representing a physical location of the sound event relative to other sound events in the multimodal content item… and a spatial position representing a physical location of the image element of relative to other image elements in the one or more image frames in the multimodal content item (sections 4, 6.3, 8.1-8.2, and Figs. 3, 8, and 12-13 teach determining audio “location of the sources” with different microphones in a room and image rendering of the spacing of audio sources, further “We use REALVIZ Image-Modeler…to extract the 3D locations from a small set of photographs (4 to 8 in our test examples) taken from several angles” of the sources for 3D audio rendering).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to implement Gallo’s teachings of 3D audio rendering through locating and depicting audio sources in images and audio recordings from multiple microphones into Morgado’s teaching of combined neural networks processing 360° video data for producing ambisonics audio for the video in order to open “many novel perspectives for interactive spatial audio rendering or off-line post production environments, for example, to complement image-based rendering techniques or free-viewpoint video [and] provides a compact encoding of the spatial sound field, which is independent of the restitution system” (Gallo, section 10).
Further, Morgado at least implies wherein each audio object, of the one or more audio objects, identifies an audio element corresponding to a sound event in the multimodal content item, a time period corresponding to the audio object, and a spatial position representing a physical location of the audio object in the multimodal content item, and wherein each image object, of the plurality of image objects, identifies an image element within one or more image frames of the multimodal content item, a time period corresponding to the respective image object (see mappings above); however, Morgado_2020 teaches wherein each audio object, of the one or more audio objects, identifies an audio element corresponding to a sound event in the multimodal content item, a time period corresponding to the audio object, and a spatial position representing a physical location of the audio object in the multimodal content item, and wherein each image object, of the plurality of image objects, identifies an image element within one or more image frames of the multimodal content item, a time period corresponding to the respective image object (sections 3.2-3.3 and Figs. 4 and 6-7 teach a transformer network processing features from audio and video clips to output a image/audio representations (objects) of a specific clip time, image/audio feature (element), image feature viewing angle (spatial positioning) and audio feature listening angle (spatial positioning); and further “while an audio clip aki sampled at position (θk; ϕk) contains audio from all sound sources present in a scene, only those physically located around (θk; ϕk) can be seen on the video clip vki . This implies that, to enable accurate feature translation, networks gv2a and ga2v should combine features from all sampled location” while mapping audio sources in the frames with “encoder outputs (vki and aki)” with k as the corresponding viewing angle).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Morgado’s teaching of combined neural networks processing 360° video data for producing ambisonics audio for the video, as modified by Gallo’s teachings of 3D audio rendering through locating and depicting audio sources in images and audio recordings from multiple microphones, to include Morgado_2020’s teachings of transformer network processing audio and image features with viewing/listening angles as taught by Son in order to “yield better representations” for producing more accurate audio for a 360° video scene (Morgado_2020, section 6).
Regarding claims 3, 12, and 20, Morgado teaches all the claim limitations of claims 1, 11, and 19 above; and further teaches wherein the generating of the three-dimensional sound comprises:
tracking, using a third neural network of the one or more machine learning models, an evolution of each audio object to generate an audio element track (Morgado, section 3.2 and Fig. 1 teach audio separation decoder network processing the “multi-modal features” to produce a “separated audio track” over each corresponding time);
tracking, using a fourth neural network of the one or more machine learning models, an evolution of each image object to generate an image element track (Morgado, section 3.2 and Fig. 1 teach motion flow CNN image encoder for outputting features at a time (time period) across image frames (tracking…an evolution of each image object to generate an image element track));
linking, using a fifth neural network of the one or more machine learning models, at least one of the audio element tracks with at least one selected from the group consisting of: another of the audio element tracks and at least one of the image element tracks to generate a summary stream (Morgado, section 3.2 teaches “joint audio-visual representation (summary stream) is then obtained by merging (linking) the three feature maps (audio, RGB and flow) produced at each time t” via synchronizing audio and video with nearest neighbor up-sampling); and
processing, using a sixth neural network of the one or more machine learning models, the summary stream to generate an audio output, the audio output comprising the three-dimensional sound (Morgado, section 3.2 and Fig. 1 teach audio localization fully-connected layer network that processes the “feature vectors” and “generates, at each time t (tracking), the localization weights…associated with each of the k sources”; and further generating ambisonic spatial audio by utilizing the weights to compute “first-order ambiosonic channels”).
Morgado at least implies wherein each audio object identifies an audio element, a time period corresponding to the audio object, and a spatial position of the audio object, and wherein each image object identifies an image element, a time period corresponding to the image object, and a spatial position of the image object (see mappings above); however, Morgado_2020 teaches wherein each audio object identifies an audio element, a time period corresponding to the audio object, and a spatial position of the audio object, and wherein each image object identifies an image element, a time period corresponding to the image object, and a spatial position of the image object (sections 3.2-3.3 teach a transformer network processing features from audio and video clips to output a image/audio representations (objects) of a specific clip time, image/audio feature (element), image feature viewing angle (spatial positioning) and audio feature listening angle (spatial positioning)).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to implement Morgado_2020’s teachings of transformer network processing audio and image features with viewing/listening angles into Morgado’s teaching of combined neural networks processing 360° video data for producing ambisonics audio for the video in order to “yield better representations” for producing more accurate audio for a 360° video scene (Morgado_2020, paragraph 0033).
Regarding claims 4 and 13, the combination of Morgado and Morgado_2020 teach all the claim limitations of claims 3 and 12 above; and further teach wherein at least one or more of the audio objects comprises information for reconstructing the audio object (Morgado, section 3.2 and Fig. 1 teach generating “Audio features” of extracted information used for creating ambisonic audio data outputs).
Regarding claims 5 and 14, the combination of Morgado and Morgado_2020 teach all the claim limitations of claims 3 and 12 above; and further teach wherein at least one of the plurality of image objects comprises information for reconstructing the image object (Morgado, section 3.2, 4, and Fig. 1 teach generating “Video features” of extracted information used for creating matched video frames for ambisonic audio data outputs).
Regarding claims 6 and 15, the combination of Morgado and Morgado_2020 teach all the claim limitations of claims 1 and 11 above; and further teach further comprising training the first neural network using soundtracks of existing multimodal content items and their corresponding audio labels and training the second neural network using image sequences of the existing multimodal content items and their corresponding image labels (Morgado, sections 1 and 3.4 teach “we introduce two 360° video datasets (existing multimodal content items) with spatial audio (soundtracks), one recorded by ourselves in a constrained domain, and a large-scale dataset collected in-the-wild from YouTube. During training, the captured spatial audio serves as ground truth (labels)” and “We further validate each component of the proposed architecture” in this training method; and further the supervised video training data including sources in the image (labels). Sections 3-3.2, 3.4 and Fig. 1 teach model components that are trained including “a (two-dimensional) CNN encoder” and an RGB CNN image encoder trained and “fine-tuned on our task”.).
Regarding claims 7 and 16, the combination of Morgado and Morgado_2020 teach all the claim limitations of claims 3 and 12 above; and further teach further comprising training the third neural network using training audio objects and their corresponding audio labels and training the fourth neural network using training image objects and their corresponding image labels (Morgado, sections 1, 3.4, and 4 teach “we introduce two 360° video datasets (existing multimodal content items) with spatial audio, one recorded by ourselves in a constrained domain, and a large-scale dataset collected in-the-wild from YouTube. During training, the captured spatial audio serves as ground truth (labels)” and “We further validate each component of the proposed architecture” in this training method; and further the supervised video training data including sources in the image (labels). These are taught to be represented as matrices for training. Sections 3-3.2, 3.4 and Fig. 1 teach model components that are trained including audio separation decoder network and a motion flow CNN image encoder trained and “fine-tuned on our task”.).
Regarding claims 8 and 17, the combination of Morgado and Morgado_2020 teach all the claim limitations of claims 3 and 12 above; and further teach further comprising training the fifth neural network using training audio element tracks and training image element tracks (Morgado, sections 1, 3.4, and 4 teach “we introduce two 360° video datasets with spatial audio, one recorded by ourselves in a constrained domain, and a large-scale dataset collected in-the-wild from YouTube. During training, the captured spatial audio serves as ground truth (labels)” and “We further validate each component of the proposed architecture” in this training method; and further the supervised video training data including sources in the image (labels). Sections 3-3.2, 3.4 and Fig. 1 teach model components that are trained including synchronizing audio and video with nearest neighbor up-sampling algorithm.).
Regarding claims 9 and 18, the combination of Morgado and Morgado_2020 teach all the claim limitations of claims 3 and 12 above; and further teach further comprising training the sixth neural network using a training summary stream generated from training data (Morgado, sections 1, 3.4, and 4 teach “we introduce two 360° video datasets with spatial audio, one recorded by ourselves in a constrained domain, and a large-scale dataset collected in-the-wild from YouTube. During training, the captured spatial audio serves as ground truth (labels)” and “We further validate each component of the proposed architecture” in this training method; and further the supervised video training data including sources in the image (labels). These taught to be matrices. Sections 3-3.2, 3.4 and Fig. 1 teach model components that are trained including an audio localization fully-connected layer network.).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Morgado and Morgado_2020 teach all the claim limitations of claim 3 above; and further teach further comprising integrating the three-dimensional sound with a media content item (Morgado, section 3.2, 4, and Fig. 1 teach generating ambisonic audio data and matching video frames, since “To depict spatial audio, we overlay the directional energy map…of the predicted ambisonics (Eq. 5) over the video frame at time t.”).
Claim 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morgado et al ("Self-Supervised Generation of Spatial Audio for 360° Video", 2018) hereinafter Morgado, in view of Gallo et al (“3D-AudioMatting, Postediting, and Rerendering from Field Recordings”, 2007) hereinafter Gallo, in view of Morgado et al (“Learning Representations from Audio-Visual Spatial Alignment”, 2020) hereinafter Morgado_2020, in view of Son et al (US Pub 20220386055) hereinafter Son.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Morgado and Morgado_2020 teach all the claim limitations of claim 1 above; and further teach wherein the multimodal content item comprises at least one selected from the group consisting of a video, (Morgado, sections 3-3.2 teach of obtaining “video input” and “audio” input).
However, the combination does not explicitly teach a film, and a video game.
Son teaches a film, and a video game (paragraph 0495 teach using a second NN for audio signal processing for “games or movies”; paragraph 0186 teaches the audio signal being for 3D audio).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Morgado’s teaching of combined neural networks processing 360° video data for producing ambisonics audio for the video, as modified by Gallo’s teachings of 3D audio rendering through locating and depicting audio sources in images and audio recordings from multiple microphones, as modified by Morgado_2020’s teachings of transformer network processing audio and image features with viewing/listening angles, to include NN audio processing for movies and games as taught by Son in order to more accurately route the processed audio to the appropriate channels for 3D audio (Son, paragraph 0495-0500).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/C.M./Examiner, Art Unit 2123
/ALEXEY SHMATOV/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2123