Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the amendments and remarks filed on 03/20/2026.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claims 1, 11, and 19 have been amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 11, and 19 under 35 U.S.C. 103, have been considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that no reference teaches the amended limitations, since “the audio feature maps of Morgado do not individually identify a sound event in a multimodal content, time period corresponding to the audio feature map, and a physical location of the audio feature map in the multimodal content”; and the “25ms segment of Morgado is not a property identified by the audio feature map”. The examiner respectfully disagrees.
Due to the broadness of the claim language, Morgado has been found to teach the argued limitations, since section 3.2 and Figs. 1 and 4 teach “we apply a (two-dimensional) CNN encoder to the audio spectrogram” to output “feature maps” (audio object) of “high-level features” (audio element) in “25ms segments” (time period) and reduced dimensionality of the audio (spatial position), and further visualizing the audio “as a color overlay over the frame” based on the location of the audio source. Here, the “feature maps” are merged “at each time step t” from the derived “25ms segments of the inputs” and maintained as reading on the claimed language.
Further section 3.2 and Figs. 1 and 4 teach RGB CNN image encoder outputting “feature maps” (image objects) of “high-level features” (image element) at a time (time period) of frames in the video sequence (spatial position), and further visualizing the audio “as a color overlay over the frame” based on the location of the audio source.
See 35 U.S.C 103 section for full mapping of claim limitations necessitated by applicant amendments.
Applicant’s arguments, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 11, and 19 under 35 U.S.C. 103, have been considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that no reference teaches the amended limitations, since “Morgado does not teach or suggest that the reduced dimensionality of the audio is a physical location of audio object (a sound source) in the real-world scene of the content”. The examiner respectfully disagrees.
Due to the broadness of the claim language, Morgado has been found to teach the argued limitations, since section 3.2 and Figs. 1 and 4 teach “we apply a (two-dimensional) CNN encoder to the audio spectrogram” to output “feature maps” (audio object) of “high-level features” (audio element) in “25ms segments” (time period) and reduced dimensionality of the audio (spatial position), and further visualizing the audio “as a color overlay over the frame” based on the location of the audio source. Further section 3.2 and Figs. 1 and 4 teach RGB CNN image encoder outputting “feature maps” (image objects) of “high-level features” (image element) at a time (time period) of frames in the video sequence (spatial position), and further visualizing the audio “as a color overlay over the frame” based on the location of the audio source.
See 35 U.S.C 103 section for full mapping of claim limitations necessitated by applicant amendments.
Applicant’s arguments, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 11, and 19 under 35 U.S.C. 103, have been considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that no reference teaches the amended limitations, since “Morgado_ 2020 discloses that the angles (θk; ϕk) are properties of the audio/video clips, not of those output image/audio representations…as an attribute identifying the physical location of a specific sound or image element within the scene”. The examiner respectfully disagrees.
Due to the broadness of the claim language, Morgado_2020 has been found to teach the argued limitations, since sections 3.2-3.3 and Figs. 4 and 6-7 teach a transformer network processing features from audio and video clips to output a image/audio representations (objects) of a specific clip time, image/audio feature (element), image feature viewing angle (spatial positioning) and audio feature listening angle (spatial positioning); and further “while an audio clip aki sampled at position (θk; ϕk) contains audio from all sound sources present in a scene, only those physically located around (θk; ϕk) can be seen on the video clip vki . This implies that, to enable accurate feature translation, networks gv2a and ga2v should combine features from all sampled location” while mapping audio sources in the visual frames with “encoder outputs (vki and aki)” with k as the corresponding viewing angle; thus, the outputs carry identifiers of the location as argued.
See 35 U.S.C 103 section for full mapping of claim limitations necessitated by applicant amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morgado et al ("Self-Supervised Generation of Spatial Audio for 360° Video", 2018) hereinafter Morgado, in view of Morgado et al (“Learning Representations from Audio-Visual Spatial Alignment”, 2020) hereinafter Morgado_2020.
Regarding claims 1, 11, and 19, Morgado teaches a method; apparatus comprising: a memory; and at least one processor, coupled to the memory, and operative to perform operations comprising; and computer readable storage medium comprising computer executable instructions which when executed by a computer cause the computer to perform the method of (Examiner note: Applicant’s specification paragraph 0060 states “computer readable storage medium, as that term is used in the present disclosure, is not to be construed as storage in the form of transitory signals per se”, thus the CRM is interpreted by the examiner as non-transitory.
Morgado, section 4 teaches using a GPU for performing the embodiments of the disclosure, well known to be included on a computer system and communicatively connected to one or more memories):
accessing, by a computing device, a multimodal content item (sections 4 teach using a GPU for performing the embodiments of the disclosure, including sections 3-3.2 teaching of obtaining “video input” and “audio” input); and
automatically generating, by the computing device, three-dimensional sound using one or more machine learning models for the multimodal content item (sections 4 teach using a GPU for performing the embodiments of the disclosure, including sections 3-3.2 teaching of creating “ambisonic” spatial audio from the input “video input” and “mono audio” input), wherein the automatic generating of the three-dimensional sound comprises:
processing, using a first neural network of the one or more machine learning models, an audio of the multimodal content item to generate one or more audio objects, wherein each audio object, of the one or more audio objects, identifies an audio element corresponding to a sound event in the multimodal content item, a time period corresponding to the audio object, and a spatial position representing a physical location of the audio object in the multimodal content item (section 3.2 and Figs. 1 and 4 teach “we apply a (two-dimensional) CNN encoder to the audio spectrogram” to output “feature maps” (audio object) of “high-level features” (audio element) in “25ms segments” (time period) and reduced dimensionality of the audio (spatial position), and further visualizing the audio “as a color overlay over the frame” based on the location of the audio source);
processing, using a second neural network of the one or more machine learning models, one or more images of the multimodal content item to generate a plurality of image objects, wherein each image object, of the plurality of image objects, identifies an image element within one or more image frames of the multimodal content item, a time period corresponding to the respective image object, and a spatial position representing a physical location of the image element of the image object in the multimodal content item (section 3.2 and Figs. 1 and 4 teach RGB CNN image encoder outputting “feature maps” (image objects) of “high-level features” (image element) at a time (time period) of frames in the video sequence (spatial position), and further visualizing the audio “as a color overlay over the frame” based on the location of the audio source).
Morgado at least implies wherein each audio object, of the one or more audio objects, identifies an audio element corresponding to a sound event in the multimodal content item, a time period corresponding to the audio object, and a spatial position representing a physical location of the audio object in the multimodal content item, and wherein each image object, of the plurality of image objects, identifies an image element within one or more image frames of the multimodal content item, a time period corresponding to the respective image object, and a spatial position representing a physical location of the image element of the image object in the multimodal content item (see mappings above); however, Morgado_2020 teaches wherein each audio object, of the one or more audio objects, identifies an audio element corresponding to a sound event in the multimodal content item, a time period corresponding to the audio object, and a spatial position representing a physical location of the audio object in the multimodal content item, and wherein each image object, of the plurality of image objects, identifies an image element within one or more image frames of the multimodal content item, a time period corresponding to the respective image object, and a spatial position representing a physical location of the image element of the image object in the multimodal content item (sections 3.2-3.3 and Figs. 4 and 6-7 teach a transformer network processing features from audio and video clips to output a image/audio representations (objects) of a specific clip time, image/audio feature (element), image feature viewing angle (spatial positioning) and audio feature listening angle (spatial positioning); and further “while an audio clip aki sampled at position (θk; ϕk) contains audio from all sound sources present in a scene, only those physically located around (θk; ϕk) can be seen on the video clip vki . This implies that, to enable accurate feature translation, networks gv2a and ga2v should combine features from all sampled location” while mapping audio sources in the frames with “encoder outputs (vki and aki)” with k as the corresponding viewing angle).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to implement Morgado_2020’s teachings of transformer network processing audio and image features with viewing/listening angles into Morgado’s teaching of combined neural networks processing 360° video data for producing ambisonics audio for the video in order to “yield better representations” for producing more accurate audio for a 360° video scene (Morgado_2020, section 6).
Regarding claims 3, 12, and 20, Morgado teaches all the claim limitations of claims 1, 11, and 19 above; and further teaches wherein the generating of the three-dimensional sound comprises:
tracking, using a third neural network of the one or more machine learning models, an evolution of each audio object to generate an audio element track (Morgado, section 3.2 and Fig. 1 teach audio separation decoder network processing the “multi-modal features” to produce a “separated audio track” over each corresponding time);
tracking, using a fourth neural network of the one or more machine learning models, an evolution of each image object to generate an image element track (Morgado, section 3.2 and Fig. 1 teach motion flow CNN image encoder for outputting features at a time (time period) across image frames (tracking…an evolution of each image object to generate an image element track));
linking, using a fifth neural network of the one or more machine learning models, at least one of the audio element tracks with at least one selected from the group consisting of: another of the audio element tracks and at least one of the image element tracks to generate a summary stream (Morgado, section 3.2 teaches “joint audio-visual representation (summary stream) is then obtained by merging (linking) the three feature maps (audio, RGB and flow) produced at each time t” via synchronizing audio and video with nearest neighbor up-sampling); and
processing, using a sixth neural network of the one or more machine learning models, the summary stream to generate an audio output, the audio output comprising the three-dimensional sound (Morgado, section 3.2 and Fig. 1 teach audio localization fully-connected layer network that processes the “feature vectors” and “generates, at each time t (tracking), the localization weights…associated with each of the k sources”; and further generating ambisonic spatial audio by utilizing the weights to compute “first-order ambiosonic channels”).
Morgado at least implies wherein each audio object identifies an audio element, a time period corresponding to the audio object, and a spatial position of the audio object, and wherein each image object identifies an image element, a time period corresponding to the image object, and a spatial position of the image object (see mappings above); however, Morgado_2020 teaches wherein each audio object identifies an audio element, a time period corresponding to the audio object, and a spatial position of the audio object, and wherein each image object identifies an image element, a time period corresponding to the image object, and a spatial position of the image object (sections 3.2-3.3 teach a transformer network processing features from audio and video clips to output a image/audio representations (objects) of a specific clip time, image/audio feature (element), image feature viewing angle (spatial positioning) and audio feature listening angle (spatial positioning)).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to implement Morgado_2020’s teachings of transformer network processing audio and image features with viewing/listening angles into Morgado’s teaching of combined neural networks processing 360° video data for producing ambisonics audio for the video in order to “yield better representations” for producing more accurate audio for a 360° video scene (Morgado_2020, paragraph 0033).
Regarding claims 4 and 13, the combination of Morgado and Morgado_2020 teach all the claim limitations of claims 3 and 12 above; and further teach wherein at least one or more of the audio objects comprises information for reconstructing the audio object (Morgado, section 3.2 and Fig. 1 teach generating “Audio features” of extracted information used for creating ambisonic audio data outputs).
Regarding claims 5 and 14, the combination of Morgado and Morgado_2020 teach all the claim limitations of claims 3 and 12 above; and further teach wherein at least one of the plurality of image objects comprises information for reconstructing the image object (Morgado, section 3.2, 4, and Fig. 1 teach generating “Video features” of extracted information used for creating matched video frames for ambisonic audio data outputs).
Regarding claims 6 and 15, the combination of Morgado and Morgado_2020 teach all the claim limitations of claims 1 and 11 above; and further teach further comprising training the first neural network using soundtracks of existing multimodal content items and their corresponding audio labels and training the second neural network using image sequences of the existing multimodal content items and their corresponding image labels (Morgado, sections 1 and 3.4 teach “we introduce two 360° video datasets (existing multimodal content items) with spatial audio (soundtracks), one recorded by ourselves in a constrained domain, and a large-scale dataset collected in-the-wild from YouTube. During training, the captured spatial audio serves as ground truth (labels)” and “We further validate each component of the proposed architecture” in this training method; and further the supervised video training data including sources in the image (labels). Sections 3-3.2, 3.4 and Fig. 1 teach model components that are trained including “a (two-dimensional) CNN encoder” and an RGB CNN image encoder trained and “fine-tuned on our task”.).
Regarding claims 7 and 16, the combination of Morgado and Morgado_2020 teach all the claim limitations of claims 3 and 12 above; and further teach further comprising training the third neural network using training audio objects and their corresponding audio labels and training the fourth neural network using training image objects and their corresponding image labels (Morgado, sections 1, 3.4, and 4 teach “we introduce two 360° video datasets (existing multimodal content items) with spatial audio, one recorded by ourselves in a constrained domain, and a large-scale dataset collected in-the-wild from YouTube. During training, the captured spatial audio serves as ground truth (labels)” and “We further validate each component of the proposed architecture” in this training method; and further the supervised video training data including sources in the image (labels). These are taught to be represented as matrices for training. Sections 3-3.2, 3.4 and Fig. 1 teach model components that are trained including audio separation decoder network and a motion flow CNN image encoder trained and “fine-tuned on our task”.).
Regarding claims 8 and 17, the combination of Morgado and Morgado_2020 teach all the claim limitations of claims 3 and 12 above; and further teach further comprising training the fifth neural network using training audio element tracks and training image element tracks (Morgado, sections 1, 3.4, and 4 teach “we introduce two 360° video datasets with spatial audio, one recorded by ourselves in a constrained domain, and a large-scale dataset collected in-the-wild from YouTube. During training, the captured spatial audio serves as ground truth (labels)” and “We further validate each component of the proposed architecture” in this training method; and further the supervised video training data including sources in the image (labels). Sections 3-3.2, 3.4 and Fig. 1 teach model components that are trained including synchronizing audio and video with nearest neighbor up-sampling algorithm.).
Regarding claims 9 and 18, the combination of Morgado and Morgado_2020 teach all the claim limitations of claims 3 and 12 above; and further teach further comprising training the sixth neural network using a training summary stream generated from training data (Morgado, sections 1, 3.4, and 4 teach “we introduce two 360° video datasets with spatial audio, one recorded by ourselves in a constrained domain, and a large-scale dataset collected in-the-wild from YouTube. During training, the captured spatial audio serves as ground truth (labels)” and “We further validate each component of the proposed architecture” in this training method; and further the supervised video training data including sources in the image (labels). These taught to be matrices. Sections 3-3.2, 3.4 and Fig. 1 teach model components that are trained including an audio localization fully-connected layer network.).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Morgado and Morgado_2020 teach all the claim limitations of claim 3 above; and further teach further comprising integrating the three-dimensional sound with a media content item (Morgado, section 3.2, 4, and Fig. 1 teach generating ambisonic audio data and matching video frames, since “To depict spatial audio, we overlay the directional energy map…of the predicted ambisonics (Eq. 5) over the video frame at time t.”).
Claim 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morgado et al ("Self-Supervised Generation of Spatial Audio for 360° Video", 2018) hereinafter Morgado, in view of Morgado et al (“Learning Representations from Audio-Visual Spatial Alignment”, 2020) hereinafter Morgado_2020, in view of Son et al (US Pub 20220386055) hereinafter Son.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Morgado and Morgado_2020 teach all the claim limitations of claim 1 above; and further teach wherein the multimodal content item comprises at least one selected from the group consisting of a video, (Morgado, sections 3-3.2 teach of obtaining “video input” and “audio” input).
However, the combination does not explicitly teach a film, and a video game.
Son teaches a film, and a video game (paragraph 0495 teach using a second NN for audio signal processing for “games or movies”; paragraph 0186 teaches the audio signal being for 3D audio).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Morgado’s teaching of combined neural networks processing 360° video data for producing ambisonics audio for the video, as modified by Morgado_2020’s teachings of transformer network processing audio and image features with viewing/listening angles, to include NN audio processing for movies and games as taught by Son in order to more accurately route the processed audio to the appropriate channels for 3D audio (Son, paragraph 0495-0500).
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Sheaffer et al (US Patent 11997463) teach training neural networks for generating 3D spatial audio in XR environments.
Conclusion
/C.M./Examiner, Art Unit 2123
/ALEXEY SHMATOV/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2123