DETAILED ACTION
Applicants' arguments, filed 11/10/2025, have been fully considered. Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Priority
The instant application is a CIP of 17/105,748 filed on 11/27/2020, which claims domestic priority to PRO 62/943,556 filed on 12/04/2019.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 12/29/2022 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2), which requires a legible copy of each cited foreign patent document; each non-patent literature publication or that portion which caused it to be listed; and all other information or that portion which caused it to be listed. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered. No copy of Foreign Patent Document No.1 has been provided.
Claim Interpretation
With regards to the term petrolatum, the instant specification recites at [0016] “Preferred examples include petrolatum, a mineral oil (Vaseline oil), which may be any petroleum based product”. Searches also indicate that mineral oil is a synonym for Petrolatum 36%, Paraffinum Liquidum, Heavy Liquid Petrolatum, Liquid Petrolatum, Paraffin- Liquid, Petrolatum- Liquid and vaseline. See Pubchem search entry for mineral oil filed 09/09/2025. Applicant has made clear in the remarks filed 11/10/2025 that they consider petrolatum and mineral oil as district compounds wherein mineral oil is a liquid and petrolatum is a semi-solid gel. As such, the term petrolatum will be interpreted as a semi-solid gel.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
A) Claims 1-4, 6-7, 14-15, 18-19 and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nordgren et al. (US Patent Application Publication 20160347829A1).
Nordgren teaches an oral health composition for humans and non-humans (Nordgren at abstract). Nordgren teaches that the composition can be used on canines (Nordgren at [0161]), and further teaches that composition is tested on beagles, a specific breed of dog (Nordgren at Examples). Nordgren teaches the use of lipids specifically PEG 3350 (Dow Chemical) and PEG 4000, corn oil, mineral oil, hydrogenated vegetable oils (STEROTEX or LUBRITAB), peanut oil and/or castor oil, in a range from 1% to 20% (Nordgren at [0120]). Nordgren teaches the use of lecithin, phospholipid surfactant, in a range of 0.25% to 25% (Nordgren at [0282-0284]). Nordgren teaches the use of sorbitol in a range of 1% to 50% (Nordgren at [0104-0105]) and glycerin in a range of 1% to 25% (Nordgren at [0112-0114]). Nordgren teaches the use of chlorhexidine digluconate, (Nordgren at [0050]) and further teaches the use of chlorhexidine in a range of 0.01% to 5% (Nordgren at [0121]). Nordgren does not require breath freshening agents nor does it require a surfactant with a HLB of 2.8 consisting of propylene glycol monoglyceride and propylene glycerol diglyceride. Nordgren teaches the use of sodium carbonate in a range of 0.1% to 5% (Nordgren at [0123]). Nordgren teaches the use of sodium bicarbonate (Nordgren at [0089]). Nordgren teaches the use of flavors like beef, cheese, and bacon in a range from 5% to 40% (Nordgren at [0124-0129]). Nordgren teaches the use of corn syrup in a range of about 1% to about 30% (Nordgren at [0111]). Nordgren teaches that the composition may be a gel, toothpaste or dentifrice (Nordgren at [0052]) and further teaches the use of an applicator (Nordgren at [0234, subset 35]).
Nordgren differs from the instant claims in this rejection insofar as it does not teach the combination of the instantly recited components with sufficient specificity for anticipation. Nordgren teaches the components of the instant recited composition and uses each component of their established function in the art but does not explicitly combine the components together into a single embodiment or a preferred composition. However, given the disclosure of each component individually, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at a time prior to the filing of the present patent application and following the teachings of Nordgren to have selected and combined known components for their established functions with predictable results. MPEP §2143 and §2144.06(I).
Regarding instant claim 1, Nordgren teaches an oral health composition for humans and non-humans (Nordgren at abstract). Nordgren teaches that the composition can be used on canines (Nordgren at [0161]), and further teaches that composition is tested on beagles, a specific breed of dog (Nordgren at Examples). Nordgren teaches the use of lipids specifically PEG 3350 (Dow Chemical) and PEG 4000, corn oil, mineral oil, hydrogenated vegetable oils (STEROTEX or LUBRITAB), peanut oil and/or castor oil, in a range from 1% to 20% (Nordgren at [0120]), which overlaps the instantly claimed range of about 4% to 33%. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP§2144.05(I). Nordgren teaches the use of lecithin, phospholipid surfactant, in a range of 0.25 to 25% (Nordgren at [0282-0284]), which overlaps the instantly claimed range of about 8% to 29%. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP§2144.05(I). Nordgren teaches the use of corn syrup in a range of about 1% to about 30% (Nordgren at [0111]), which approaches the instantly claimed range of about 34% to 75% of humectant. Similarly, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 783, 227 USPQ 773, 779 (Fed. Cir. 1985). See MPEP§2144.05(I). It would be prima facie obvious to have optimized the amount of corn syrup in the composition to get the preferred texture and sweetness of the gel. See MPEP 2144.05(II). Nordgren teaches the use of chlorhexidine digluconate, (Nordgren at [0050]) and further teaches the use of chlorhexidine in a range of 0.01% to 5% (Nordgren at [0121]), which overlaps the instantly claimed range of about 0.01% to 5%. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP§2144.05(I). Nordgren does not require breath freshening agents nor does it require a surfactant with a HLB of 2.8 consisting of propylene glycol monoglyceride and propylene glycerol diglyceride.
Regarding instant claim 2, Nordgren teaches the use of sodium carbonate in a range of 0.1% to 5% (Nordgren at [0123]), which overlaps the instantly claimed range of up to about up to 0.5%. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists.
Regarding instant claim 3, Nordgren teaches the use of flavors like beef, cheese, and bacon in a range from 5% to 40% (Nordgren at [0124-0129]), which overlaps the instantly claimed range of about 0.5% to 5%. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP§2144.05(I).
Regarding instant claim 4, Nordgren teaches an oral health composition for humans and non-humans (Nordgren at abstract). Nordgren teaches that the composition can be used on canines (Nordgren at [0161]), and further teaches that composition is tested on beagles, a specific breed of dog (Nordgren at Examples). Nordgren teaches the use of lipids specifically PEG 3350 (Dow Chemical) and PEG 4000, corn oil, mineral oil, hydrogenated vegetable oils (STEROTEX or LUBRITAB), peanut oil and/or castor oil, in a range from 1% to 5% (Nordgren at [0120]), which overlaps the instantly claimed range of about 4% to 5%. Nordgren teaches the use of lecithin, phospholipid surfactant, in a range of 0.25 to 25% (Nordgren at [0282-0284]), which overlaps the instantly claimed range of about 8% to 12%. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP§2144.05(I). Nordgren teaches the use of corn syrup in a range of about 1% to about 30% (Nordgren at [0111]), which approaches the instantly claimed range of about 34% to 75% of humectant. Similarly, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 783, 227 USPQ 773, 779 (Fed. Cir. 1985). See MPEP§2144.05(I). It would be prima facie obvious to have optimized the amount of corn syrup in the composition to get the preferred texture and sweetness of the gel. See MPEP 2144.05(II). Nordgren teaches the use of chlorhexidine digluconate, (Nordgren at [0050]) and further teaches the use of chlorhexidine in a range of 0.01% to 5% (Nordgren at [0121]), which overlaps the instantly claimed range of about 0.01% to 1%. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP§2144.05(I). Nordgren teaches the use of sodium carbonate in a range of 0.1% to 5% (Nordgren at [0123]), which overlaps the instantly claimed range of about 0% to 0.5%. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. Nordgren teaches the use of flavors like beef, cheese, and bacon in a range from 5% to 40% (Nordgren at [0124-0129]), which overlaps the instantly claimed range of about 0.5% to 5%. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. Nordgren does not require breath freshening agents nor does it require a surfactant with a HLB of 2.8 consisting of propylene glycol monoglyceride and propylene glycerol diglyceride.
Regarding instant claim 6, Nordgren teaches the use of chlorhexidine digluconate, (Nordgren at [0050]).
Regarding instant claim 7, Nordgren teaches the use of sodium carbonate (Nordgren at [0123]).
Regarding instant claim 14, Nordgren teaches the use of sorbitol from 1% to 50% (Nordgren at [0104-0105]) and glycerin in a range of 1% to 25% (Nordgren at [0112-0114]). Sorbitol and glycerin in these ranges would overlap with the instantly claimed ratio range of about 1:2 to 2:1. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP§2144.05(I).
Regarding instant claim 15, Nordgren teaches the use of sorbitol from 1% to 50% (Nordgren at [0104-0105]) and glycerin in a ratio range of 1% to 25% (Nordgren at [0112-0114]). Sorbitol and glycerin in these ranges would overlap with the instantly claimed ratio range of about 1:2 to 2:1. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP§2144.05(I).
Regarding instant claim 18, Nordgren teaches the use of lipids specifically PEG 3350 (Dow Chemical) and PEG 4000, corn oil, mineral oil, hydrogenated vegetable oils (STEROTEX or LUBRITAB), peanut oil and/or castor oil, in a range from 1% to 5% (Nordgren at [0120]). Nordgren does not require mineral oil.
Regarding instant claim 19, Nordgren teaches the use of lipids specifically PEG 3350 (Dow Chemical) and PEG 4000, corn oil, mineral oil, hydrogenated vegetable oils (STEROTEX or LUBRITAB), peanut oil and/or castor oil, in a range from 1% to 5% (Nordgren at [0120]). Nordgren does not require mineral oil.
Regarding instant claim 21, Nordgren does not require breath freshening agents.
Regarding instant claim 22, Nordgren does not require breath freshening agents.
B) Claims 8-12,16, 20, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nordgren et al. (US Patent Application Publication 20160347829A1) as applied to claims 1-4, 6-7, 14-15, 18-19 and 21-22 above, and further in view of Zelgis (US Patent Application Publication 20060264497A1).
Nordgren teaches an oral health composition for humans and non-humans (Nordgren at abstract). Nordgren teaches that the composition can be used on canines (Nordgren at [0161]), and further teaches that composition is tested on beagles, a specific breed of dog (Nordgren at Examples). Nordgren teaches the use of lipids specifically mineral oil, aka petrolatum, in a range from 1% to 20% (Nordgren at [0120]). Nordgren teaches the use of lecithin, phospholipid surfactant, in a range of 0.25% to 25% (Nordgren at [0282-0284]). Nordgren teaches the use of sorbitol in a range of 1% to 50% (Nordgren at [0104-0105]) and glycerin in a range of 1% to 25% (Nordgren at [0112-0114]). Nordgren teaches the use of chlorhexidine digluconate, (Nordgren at [0050]) and further teaches the use of chlorhexidine in a range of 0.01% to 5% (Nordgren at [0121]). Nordgren does not require breath freshening agents nor does it require a surfactant with a HLB of 2.8 consisting of propylene glycol monoglyceride and propylene glycerol diglyceride. Nordgren teaches the use of sodium carbonate in a range of 0.1% to 5% (Nordgren at [0123]). Nordgren teaches the use of sodium bicarbonate (Nordgren at [0089]). Nordgren teaches the use of flavors like beef, cheese, and bacon in a range from 5% to 40% (Nordgren at [0124-0129]). Nordgren teaches the use of corn syrup in a range of about 1% to about 30% (Nordgren at [0111]). Nordgren teaches that the composition may be a gel, toothpaste or dentifrice (Nordgren at [0052]) and further teaches the use of an applicator (Nordgren at [0234, subset 35]).
Nordgren differs from the instant claims in this rejection insofar as it does not teach the use of petrolatum the semi-solid gel. The teachings of Zelgis cure this deficit.
Zelgis teaches that compositions are used to prevent and reverse oral mucosal disorders and bone loss (osteopenia and osteoporosis) associated with aging and chronic inflammation. Oral mucosal disorders include periodontitis, gingivitis and related oral mucosal inflammation. Formulations of the compositions of the invention include capsules, tablets, toothpastes, oral gels, mouthwashes, mouth rinses, lozenges, chewing gum, dental floss, and dental topical formulations, and fortified foods (Zelgis at abstract). Zelgis teaches that the subject is a mammal like a dog or cat or mouse (Zelgis at [0105]). Zelgis teaches that suitable viscosity modifiers can be added to the compositions of the present invention. These viscosity modifiers include, polybutene, mineral oil, oregano modified clays, petrolatum, silicas, and mixtures thereof. In one embodiment the viscosity modifier is silica. Where incorporated, the viscosity modifier is present in the polybutene component of the present invention at a level of from about 0.001% to about 30% (Zelgis at [0199]). Zelgis teaches that surfactants can be present in amount of about 0.5 to about 15 weight percent, more typically about 0.5 to about 10 weight percent (Zelgis at [0184]). Zelgis teaches that suitable humectants include sorbitol, glycerol, propylene glycol, 1,3-butylene glycol, polyethylene glycol, xylitol, maltitol, lactitol, or the like. The humectant can also be used as the bulk carrier in many instances, in which case it can be present in an amount of about 5 to about 90 weight percent (Zelgis at [0188]). Zelgis teaches the use of corn syrup and high fructose corn syrup (Zelgis at [0234]). Zelgis teaches the use of chlorhexidine digluconate (Zelgis at [0180]). Zelgis teaches the use of glycerin used in a range of 0.3% to about 30% (Zelgis at [0187]). Zelgis teaches that flavoring agents can be present, either individually or collectively, in an amount of about 0.1 to about 10 weight percent (Zelgis at [0190]).
Zelgis differs from the instant claims in this rejection insofar as it does not teach the use of lecithin or buffers. The teachings of Nordgren cure this deficit.
It would have been prima facie obvious to have combined petrolatum with the lipids of Nordgren for a predictable result of a gel with lipids. See MPEP 2144.06(II). One would have a reasonable expectation of success because both Zelgis and Nordgren teach dental gels for dogs that contain humectants, surfactants, sorbitol, glycerol, glycerin, corn syrup, high fructose corn syrup and chlorhexidine digluconate. One would have been motivated to have added the petrolatum lipid of Zelgis to the composition of Nordgren for the benefit of viscosity modification as taught by Zelgis.
Regarding instant claim 1, Nordgren teaches an oral health composition for humans and non-humans (Nordgren at abstract). Nordgren teaches that the composition can be used on canines (Nordgren at [0161]), and further teaches that composition is tested on beagles, a specific breed of dog (Nordgren at Examples). Nordgren teaches the use of lipids specifically PEG 3350 (Dow Chemical) and PEG 4000, corn oil, mineral oil, hydrogenated vegetable oils (STEROTEX or LUBRITAB), peanut oil and/or castor oil, in a range from 1% to 20% (Nordgren at [0120]), which overlaps the instantly claimed range of about 4% to 33%. Zelgis teaches the use of petrolatum in a range of about 0.001% to about 30% (Zekgus at [0199]), which overlaps the instantly claimed range of about 4% to 33%. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP§2144.05(I). Nordgren teaches the use of lecithin, phospholipid surfactant, in a range of 0.25 to 25% (Nordgren at [0282-0284]), which overlaps the instantly claimed range of about 8% to 29%. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP§2144.05(I). Nordgren teaches the use of corn syrup in a range of about 1% to about 30% (Nordgren at [0111]), which approaches the instantly claimed range of about 34% to 75% of humectant. Similarly, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 783, 227 USPQ 773, 779 (Fed. Cir. 1985). See MPEP§2144.05(I). It would be prima facie obvious to have optimized the amount of corn syrup in the composition to get the preferred texture and sweetness of the gel. See MPEP 2144.05(II). Nordgren teaches the use of chlorhexidine digluconate, (Nordgren at [0050]) and further teaches the use of chlorhexidine in a range of 0.01% to 5% (Nordgren at [0121]), which overlaps the instantly claimed range of about 0.01% to 5%. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP§2144.05(I). Nordgren does not require breath freshening agents nor does it require a surfactant with a HLB of 2.8 consisting of propylene glycol monoglyceride and propylene glycerol diglyceride.
Regarding instant claim 2, Nordgren teaches the use of sodium carbonate in a range of 0.1% to 5% (Nordgren at [0123]), which overlaps the instantly claimed range of up to about up to 0.5%. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists.
Regarding instant claim 3, Nordgren teaches the use of flavors like beef, cheese, and bacon in a range from 5% to 40% (Nordgren at [0124-0129]), which overlaps the instantly claimed range of about 0.5% to 5%. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists.
Regarding instant claim 4, Nordgren teaches an oral health composition for humans and non-humans (Nordgren at abstract). Nordgren teaches that the composition can be used on canines (Nordgren at [0161]), and further teaches that composition is tested on beagles, a specific breed of dog (Nordgren at Examples). Nordgren teaches the use of lipids specifically PEG 3350 (Dow Chemical) and PEG 4000, corn oil, mineral oil, hydrogenated vegetable oils (STEROTEX or LUBRITAB), peanut oil and/or castor oil, in a range from 1% to 5% (Nordgren at [0120]), which overlaps the instantly claimed range of about 4% to 5%. Zelgis teaches the use of petrolatum in a range of about 0.001% to about 30% (Zekgus at [0199]), which overlaps the instantly claimed range of about 4% to 5%. Nordgren teaches the use of lecithin, phospholipid surfactant, in a range of 0.25 to 25% (Nordgren at [0282-0284]), which overlaps the instantly claimed range of about 8% to 12%. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP§2144.05(I). Nordgren teaches the use of corn syrup in a range of about 1% to about 30% (Nordgren at [0111]), which approaches the instantly claimed range of about 34% to 75% of humectant. Similarly, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 783, 227 USPQ 773, 779 (Fed. Cir. 1985). See MPEP§2144.05(I). It would be prima facie obvious to have optimized the amount of corn syrup in the composition to get the preferred texture and sweetness of the gel. See MPEP 2144.05(II). Nordgren teaches the use of chlorhexidine digluconate, (Nordgren at [0050]) and further teaches the use of chlorhexidine in a range of 0.01% to 5% (Nordgren at [0121]), which overlaps the instantly claimed range of about 0.01% to 1%. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP§2144.05(I). Nordgren teaches the use of sodium carbonate in a range of 0.1% to 5% (Nordgren at [0123]), which overlaps the instantly claimed range of about 0% to 0.5%. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. Nordgren teaches the use of flavors like beef, cheese, and bacon in a range from 5% to 40% (Nordgren at [0124-0129]), which overlaps the instantly claimed range of about 0.5% to 5%. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. Nordgren does not require breath freshening agents nor does it require a surfactant with a HLB of 2.8 consisting of propylene glycol monoglyceride and propylene glycerol diglyceride.
Regarding instant claim 6, Nordgren teaches the use of chlorhexidine digluconate, (Nordgren at [0050]).
Regarding instant claim 7, Nordgren teaches the use of sodium carbonate (Nordgren at [0123]).
Regarding instant claim 8, Nordgren teaches an oral health composition for humans and non-humans (Nordgren at abstract). Nordgren teaches that the composition can be used on canines (Nordgren at [0161]), and further teaches that composition is tested on beagles, a specific breed of dog (Nordgren at Examples). Nordgren teaches the use of lipids specifically PEG 3350 (Dow Chemical) and PEG 4000, corn oil, mineral oil, hydrogenated vegetable oils (STEROTEX or LUBRITAB), peanut oil and/or castor oil, in a range from 1% to 20% (Nordgren at [0120])Zelgis teaches the use of petrolatum in a range of about 0.001% to about 30% (Zekgus at [0199]), which overlaps the instantly claimed range of about 4% to 33%. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP§2144.05(I). Nordgren teaches the use of lecithin, phospholipid surfactant, in a range of 0.25 to 25% (Nordgren at [0282-0284]), which overlaps the instantly claimed range of about 8% to 29%. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP§2144.05(I). Nordgren teaches the use of sorbitol from 1% to 50% (Nordgren at [0104-0105]) and glycerin in a range of 1% to 25% (Nordgren at [0112-0114]), which overlaps about 14% to 55% of sorbitol and about 20% to 25% of glycerin. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP§2144.05(I). Nordgren teaches the use of chlorhexidine digluconate, (Nordgren at [0050]) and further teaches the use of chlorhexidine in a range of 0.01% to 5% (Nordgren at [0121]), which overlaps the instantly claimed range of about 0.01% to 1%. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP§2144.05(I). Nordgren teaches the use of sodium bicarbonate (Nordgren at [0089]) which is not required by the instant claim as it can be used in an amount of 0 wt%. Nordgren teaches the use of sodium carbonate in a range of 0.1% to 5% (Nordgren at [0123]), which overlaps the instantly claimed range of up to about up to 0.5%. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. Nordgren teaches the use of flavors like beef, cheese, and bacon in a range from 5% to 40% (Nordgren at [0124-0129]), which overlaps the instantly claimed range of about 0.5% to 5%. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. Nordgren does not require breath freshening agents nor does it require a surfactant with a HLB of 2.8 consisting of propylene glycol monoglyceride and propylene glycerol diglyceride.
Regarding instant claim 9, Nordgren teaches that the composition can be a gel that is applied to the canine tooth/teeth (Nordgen at claim 12). Nordgen further teaches an applicator (Nordgen at [0234]).
Regarding instant claim 10, Nordgren teaches the use of lecithin, phospholipid surfactant, in a range of 0.25 to 25% (Nordgren at [0282-0284]) which overlaps the instantly claimed range of about 8% to 12%. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP§2144.05(I).
Regarding instant claim 11, Nordgren teaches the use of lipids specifically PEG 3350 (Dow Chemical) and PEG 4000, corn oil, mineral oil, hydrogenated vegetable oils (STEROTEX or LUBRITAB), peanut oil and/or castor oil, in a range from 1% to 20% (Nordgren at [0120]). Zelgis teaches the use of petrolatum in a range of about 0.001% to about 30% (Zekgus at [0199]), which overlaps the instantly claimed range of about 4% to 5%. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP§2144.05(I).
Regarding instant claim 12, Nordgren teaches the use of sorbitol from 1% to 50% (Nordgren at [0104-0105]), which overlaps with the instantly claimed range of about 45% to 55%. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP§2144.05(I).
Regarding instant claim 14, Nordgren teaches the use of sorbitol from 1% to 50% (Nordgren at [0104-0105]) and glycerin in a range of 1% to 25% (Nordgren at [0112-0114]). Sorbitol and glycerin in these ranges would overlap with the instantly claimed ratio range of about 1:2 to 2:1. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP§2144.05(I).
Regarding instant claim 15, Nordgren teaches the use of sorbitol from 1% to 50% (Nordgren at [0104-0105]) and glycerin in a ratio range of 1% to 25% (Nordgren at [0112-0114]). Sorbitol and glycerin in these ranges would overlap with the instantly claimed ratio range of about 1:2 to 2:1. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP§2144.05(I).
Regarding instant claim 16, Nordgren teaches the use of sorbitol from 1% to 50% (Nordgren at [0104-0105]) and glycerin in a range of 1% to 25% (Nordgren at [0112-0114]). Sorbitol and glycerin in these ranges would fall within the instantly claimed ratio range of about 1:2 to 2:1. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP§2144.05(I).
Regarding instant claim 18, Nordgren teaches the use of lipids specifically PEG 3350 (Dow Chemical) and PEG 4000, corn oil, mineral oil, hydrogenated vegetable oils (STEROTEX or LUBRITAB), peanut oil and/or castor oil, in a range from 1% to 5% (Nordgren at [0120]). Nordgren does not require mineral oil.
Regarding instant claim 19, Nordgren teaches the use of lipids specifically PEG 3350 (Dow Chemical) and PEG 4000, corn oil, mineral oil, hydrogenated vegetable oils (STEROTEX or LUBRITAB), peanut oil and/or castor oil, in a range from 1% to 5% (Nordgren at [0120]). Nordgren does not require mineral oil.
Regarding instant claim 20, Nordgren does not require mineral oil nor does Zelgis require mineral oil.
Regarding instant claim 21, Nordgren does not require breath freshening agents.
Regarding instant claim 22, Nordgren does not require breath freshening agents.
Regarding instant claim 23, Nordgren does not require breath freshening agents nor does Zelgis require breath freshening agents.
C) Claims 9 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nordgren et al. (US Patent Application Publication 20160347829A1) and Zelgis (US Patent Application Publication 20060264497A1) as applied to claims 1-4, 6-7, 8-12, 14-16, and 18-23 above, and further in view of Yuhas et al (US Patent Application Publication 20070177929 A1).
The teachings of Nordgren and Zelgis are discussed above. Nordgren teaches that the composition can be a gel that is applied to the canine tooth/teeth (Nordgren at claim 12). Nordgen further teaches an applicator (Nordgren at [0234]). Nordgren teaches that the composition may be a gel, toothpaste or dentifrice (Nordgen at [0052]) and further teaches the use of an applicator (Nordgren at [0220]).
The teachings of Nordgren and Zelgis differ from instant claim 9 insofar as the components of the applicator are not described. The teachings of Yuhas cure this deficit.
Yuhas teaches an applicator for gel with multiple openings in the top and a tightening mechanism on the bottom. Yuhas contains a seal over the top openings to prevent leaking. The top of Yuhas applicator is smooth and curved as detailed in the figure below;
(Yuhas at Figure 4). Notice in the diagram the incremental grip that increases the amount dispensed as it is rotated.
The teaching of Yuhas differs from the instant claim 1 insofar as it does not specifically teach the use of dental gel. The teachings of Nordgren and Zelgis cure this deficit.
One would be motivated to use the applicator of Yuhas for the dispersal of gels because of the top seal which prevents gel from leaking out. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art have use the gel applicator of Yuhas for the gel taught in Nordgren for the benefit of a leak proof applicator as described in Yuhas. See MPEP 2144(II). It would be prima facie obvious for one of ordinadry skill in the art to have used the gel applicator of Yuhas to deliver the gel of Nordgren for the benefit of having a leak proof seal over the top opening. See MPEP 2143(I)(F) and MPEP 2143(I)(C).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/10/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Yuhas dispenses a continuous amount of product without clicking therefore the obviousness rejection should be withdrawn.
The Examiner does not agree. The applicator of Yuhas is substantially structurally identical to the described applicator of the instant application. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP 2112.01.
Applicator of Yuhas
Applicator of instant application
.
A threaded screw thread elevator would dispense product in a steady amount as the wheel is turned. Therefore directions on how much to turn the wheel to dispense product would still work for the apparatus of Yuhas. Furthermore, the manner of operating the device does not differentiate the claim from the prior art. "[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP 2114(II). The applicator of Yuhas adds more gel as the wheel is turned therefore it dispenses more as the wheel is turned. As such, the Applicant’s argument is not persuasive and the obviousness rejection is maintained.
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks pages 6-7, filed 11/10/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) regarding petrolatum under Nordgen have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Nordgen and Zelgis.
Conclusion
No claims are presently allowable.
Correspondence
/AMANDA MICHELLE PETRITSCH/Examiner, Art Unit 1612
/SAHANA S KAUP/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1612