DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/04/25 & 02/24/26 has been considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
The applicant has amended the following:
Claims: 1, 12 and 16 have been amended.
Claims: 2-7, 13-15 and 17-19 have not been amended.
Claims: 8-11 and 20 have been cancelled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-7 and 12-19 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 and 12-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LEE et al. (US Patent Publication 2020/0037387 herein after referenced as Lee) in view of MURRAY et al. (US Patent Publication 2023/0156583 herein after referenced as Murray).
Regarding claim 1 and claim 12, Lee discloses:
A wireless communication method, comprising: and A terminal device, comprising one or more processors, and memory storing a plurality of programs that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the terminal device to: (Lee, Fig. 1 & [0055]-[0056] discloses the electronic device 101 (i.e. reads on terminal device) in the network environment 100 may communicate (i.e. reads on wireless communication) with an electronic device 102 via a first network 198 e.g., a short-range wireless communication network, or an electronic device 104 or a server 108 via a second network 199 e.g., a long-range wireless communication network and the electronic device 101 may include a processor 120, memory, etc. and discloses the processor 120 may execute, for example, software e.g., a program 140 to control at least one other component e.g., a hardware or software component of the electronic device 101 coupled with the processor 120, and the processor 120 may load a command or data received from another component e.g., the sensor module 176 or the communication module 190 in volatile memory 132, process the command or the data stored in the volatile memory 132; Lee, [0130] discloses the electronic device 101 may mean a terminal, user equipment UE, a mobile station, a subscriber station, a remote terminal, a wireless terminal or a user device).
determining, by a terminal device, a target priority of a frequency point according to first information, wherein the first information is used to indicate network slice related information; (Lee, [0254] discloses the electronic device (i.e. reads on by a terminal) changes the priority information (i.e. reads on determining a target priority) about a frequency (i.e. reads on of a frequency point) or cell, based on the network slice information (i.e. reads on according to first information, wherein the first information is used to indicate network slice related information); Lee, [0198] discloses the electronic device 101 receives network slice information from a first base station 511 and the network slice information may be information used to select a network slice instance and the network slice information may mean NSSAI and the NSSAI may include pieces of single-NSSAI S-NSSAI).
wherein the first information comprises information of at least one network slice of the terminal device; (Lee, [0254] discloses for example, when the electronic device 101 is registered as an eMBB service (i.e. reads on wherein the first information comprises information of at least one network slice of the terminal device), the electronic device 101 may identify the cell supporting the eMBB service based on the network slice information and may change the priority of the identified cell to be high and the electronic device 101 may change the priority of the cell supporting the eMBB service to be higher than the priority of the serving cell; Lee, [0133] discloses the 5G core network 522 may provide the electronic device 101 with a plurality of network services through a plurality of network slice instances 531, 532, and 533 included in the 5G core network 522 and the type of network service received by the electronic device 101 may include at least one of eMBB, URLLC, or mMTC; Lee, [0140] discloses the electronic device 101 is connected to the first network slice instance 531 supporting the eMBB service; Lee, [0367] discloses the processor may be configured to receive network slice information indicating at least one network slice instance from the base station and to display a service indicator indicating eMBB, URLLC or mMTC through the display, based at least on the network slice information and the network service type capable of being supported by the electronic device).
wherein determining, by the terminal device, the target priority of the frequency point according to the first information comprises: adjusting, by the terminal device, a target priority of a frequency point (Lee, [0254] discloses the electronic device (i.e. reads on by the terminal) changes the priority information (i.e. reads on determining the target priority comprises adjusting a target priority) about a frequency (i.e. reads on of the frequency point) or cell, based on the network slice information (i.e. reads on according to first information, wherein the first information is used to indicate network slice related information)).
(Lee, [0254] discloses for example, when the electronic device 101 is registered as an eMBB service, the electronic device 101 may identify the cell supporting the eMBB service based on the network slice information and may change the priority of the identified cell to be high and the electronic device 101 may change the priority of the cell supporting the eMBB service (i.e. reads on a particular network slice) to be higher than the priority (i.e. reads on to be a second priority, wherein the second priority is higher than a priority) of the serving cell (i.e. reads on of a particular point); Lee, [0133] discloses the 5G core network 522 may provide the electronic device 101 with a plurality of network services through a plurality of network slice instances 531, 532, and 533 included in the 5G core network 522 and the type of network service received by the electronic device 101 may include at least one of eMBB, URLLC, or mMTC; Lee, [0140] discloses the electronic device 101 is connected to the first network slice instance 531 supporting the eMBB service; Lee, [0367] discloses the processor may be configured to receive network slice information indicating at least one network slice instance from the base station and to display a service indicator indicating eMBB, URLLC or mMTC through the display, based at least on the network slice information and the network service type capable of being supported by the electronic device).
and the (Lee, [0254] discloses for example, when the electronic device 101 is registered as an eMBB service (i.e. reads on in the at least one network slice of the terminal device), the electronic device 101 may identify the cell supporting the eMBB service (i.e. reads on point supporting at least one network slice) based on the network slice information and may change the priority of the identified cell to be high and the electronic device 101 may change the priority of the cell (i.e. reads on point) supporting the eMBB service (i.e. reads on supporting the particular network slice and reads on supporting at least one network slice) to be higher than the priority of the serving cell; Lee, [0133] discloses the 5G core network 522 may provide the electronic device 101 with a plurality of network services through a plurality of network slice instances 531, 532, and 533 included in the 5G core network 522 and the type of network service received by the electronic device 101 may include at least one of eMBB, URLLC, or mMTC; Lee, [0140] discloses the electronic device 101 is connected to the first network slice instance 531 supporting the eMBB service; Lee, [0367] discloses the processor may be configured to receive network slice information indicating at least one network slice instance from the base station and to display a service indicator indicating eMBB, URLLC or mMTC through the display, based at least on the network slice information and the network service type capable of being supported by the electronic device. EXAMINER’S NOTE: The examiner notes that the claims are written in an alternative limitation format requiring and contingent on the selection of only one of various alternative options presented and as such the non-selected alternative options are crossed out (i.e. the limitations reciting “or a frequency point supporting at least one network slice in at least one network slice allowable of the terminal device”) and are not given patentable weight as being directed towards limitations that are not required to be performed as is indicated in MPEP 2143.03 that recites “Language that suggests or makes a feature or step optional but does not require that feature or step does not limit the scope of a claim under the broadest reasonable claim interpretation. In addition, when a claim requires selection of an element from a list of alternatives, the prior art teaches the element if one of the alternatives is taught by the prior art” and in MPEP 2111.04, Section ll that recites “The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim having contingent limitations requires only those steps that must be performed and does not include steps that are not required to be performed because the condition precedent are not met”).
wherein the particular network slice comprises at least one network slice in a first network slice set, and the first network slice set is at least one network slice comprised in the information of the at least one network slice of the terminal device (Lee, [0367] discloses the processor may be configured to receive network slice information indicating at least one network slice instance from the base station and to display a service indicator indicating eMBB, URLLC or mMTC (i.e. reads on wherein the particular network slice comprises at least one network slice in a first network slice set, and the first network slice set is at least one network slice) through the display, based at least on the network slice information and the network service type capable of being supported by the electronic device (i.e. reads on comprised in the information of the at least one network slice of the terminal device); Lee, [0133] discloses the 5G core network 522 may provide the electronic device 101 with a plurality of network services through a plurality of network slice instances 531, 532, and 533 included in the 5G core network 522 and the type of network service received by the electronic device 101 may include at least one of eMBB, URLLC, or mMTC; Lee, [0140] discloses the electronic device 101 is connected to the first network slice instance 531 supporting the eMBB service; Lee, [0254] discloses for example, when the electronic device 101 is registered as an eMBB service).
Lee discloses changing the priority information about the frequency or cell and discloses an example of changing the priority of a cell supporting a slice to a higher priority than another cell and Lee, [0260] discloses the electronic device 101 may reselect the cell of a frequency with a high priority as a serving cell but fails to explicitly disclose that a priority of a frequency supporting a particular network slice is changed to a higher priority than another frequency and therefore fails to disclose “adjusting a target priority of a frequency point supporting a particular network slice to be a second priority, wherein the second priority is higher than a priority of a particular frequency point, and the frequency point supporting the particular network slice is: a frequency point supporting at least one network slice in the at least one network slice of the terminal device”.
In a related field of endeavor, Murray discloses:
adjusting a target priority of a frequency point supporting a particular network slice to be a second priority, wherein the second priority is higher than a priority of a particular frequency point, (Murray, [0170] discloses the priority of a frequency is equal to the priority of the S-NSSAI with the highest priority on that frequency and for scenarios where two frequencies have the same priority, the number of S-NSSAIs configured with that priority may also be considered when determining the priority of a frequency, e.g. a frequency (i.e. reads on of a frequency point) configured with x S-NSSAIs (i.e. reads on supporting a particular network slice) at priority P would be considered a higher priority (i.e. reads on adjusting a target priority to be a second priority, wherein the second priority is higher than a priority) than a frequency (i.e. reads on of a particular frequency point) configured with y S-NSSAIs at priority P, assuming x>y; Murray, [0124] discloses a cell may also indicate which slices it supports via SI broadcast and for example, the SI broadcast by a cell may include an IE comprised of a list of network slices, e.g., S-NSSAIs, supported by the cell; Murray, [0200] discloses slice-based cell reselection parameters may be broadcast in system information or configured via dedicated signaling).
and the frequency point supporting the particular network slice is: a frequency point supporting at least one network slice in the at least one network slice of the terminal device (Murray, [0110] discloses operators may couple carrier/frequency with slices, (i.e. reads on the frequency point supporting the particular network slice is: a frequency point supporting at least one network slice) e.g. eMBB slices are supported on 2.6 GHz and 4.9 GHz, while URLLC slices are only supported on 4.9 GHz and to enable fast access to the cells supporting the intended slice(s), the network may be configured to “steer” a UE to camp on a specific frequency layer depending the service required, e.g. a UE requiring eMBB service (i.e. reads on in the at least one network slice of the terminal device) would be “steered” towards 2.6 GHz cells, and a UE requiring URLLC service would be “steered” towards 4.9 GHz cells; Murray, [0204] discloses the network may provide the UE with a reselection priority for one or more frequencies, where the priority of a given frequency may be based on the S-NSSAIs available on that frequency and the UE’s NSSAI; Murray, [0090] discloses each network slice is uniquely identified by a S-NSSAI).
Therefore, at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Lee to incorporate the teachings of Murray for the purpose of providing the system with a means to implement the adjustment of priority based on network slice information to both cells and frequencies as intended (Lee, [0254]) as well as providing a means for prioritization between frequencies having the same priority (Murray, [0170]) and for the purpose of making the system more dynamic and adaptable by providing the system with various different alternatives in design and functionality, thereby allowing the system to handle a number of various different combination of specific design structure and scenarios and preventing the system from being limited to a single specific design structure and scenario and furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the guidelines to rationales supporting a conclusion of obviousness seen on MPEP 2143, that the modification would involve use of a simple substitution of one known element and base device (i.e. performing a process of changing the priority of a frequency based on network slice information as taught by Lee) with another known element and comparable device utilizing a known technique (i.e. performing a process of changing the priority of a frequency based on network slice information, wherein the frequency supports a network slice of a UE and the priority of the frequency that supports the network slice is changed to a higher priority than another frequency and wherein the network slice information is received via broadcast or dedicated signaling as taught by Murray) to improve the similar devices in the same way and to obtain the predictable result of the system performing a process of changing the priority of a frequency based on network slice information (i.e. as taught by both Lee & Murray) and is dependent upon the specific intended use, design incentives, needs and requirements (i.e. such as due to teachings of a known standard, current technology, conservation of resources, personal preferences, economic considerations, etc.) of the user and the system as has been established in MPEP 2144.04.
Regarding claim 2 and claim 13, Lee in view of Murray discloses:
The method according to claim 1, further comprising: (see claim 1) and The terminal device according to claim 12, wherein the plurality of programs that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the terminal device to: (see claim 12).
performing, by the terminal device, at least one of cell reselection measurement or cell reselection according to the target priority (Lee, [0263] discloses the electronic device 101 receives information necessary for cell reselection, from the first cell 1711 and the information necessary for cell reselection may include measurement rule information used to determine a cell measurement target and the measurement rule information may indicate the priority for the cell reselection determined by the network to which the electronic device 101 is connected, or may include the priority determined by the network during inter-frequency measurement and intra-frequency measurement).
Regarding claim 3 and claim 14, Lee in view of Murray discloses:
The method according to claim 1, wherein the first information further comprises: (see claim 1) and The terminal device according to claim 12, wherein the first information further comprises: (see claim 12).
information of a network slice supported by a candidate cell, wherein the candidate cell comprises at least one of or a cell supporting the network slice (Lee, [0254]-[0255] discloses for example, when the electronic device 101 is registered as an eMBB service, the electronic device 101 may identify the cell supporting the eMBB service based on the network slice information and may change the priority of the identified cell to be high and the electronic device 101 may change the priority of the cell supporting the eMBB service to be higher than the priority of the serving cell and discloses the electronic device 101 may change priority information based at least on the network slice information of the neighboring cell and when the electronic device 101 prefers the URLLC service by user settings or network settings, the electronic device 101 may identify a providable network slice type based on the network slice information of neighboring cells and may change priority information such that the priority of the second cell is higher than the priority of the first cell. EXAMINER’S NOTE: The examiner notes that the claims are written in an alternative limitation format requiring and contingent on the selection of only one of various alternative options presented and as such the non-selected alternative options are crossed out (i.e. the limitations reciting “a serving cell of the terminal device”) and are not given patentable weight as being directed towards limitations that are not required to be performed as is indicated in MPEP 2143.03 that recites “Language that suggests or makes a feature or step optional but does not require that feature or step does not limit the scope of a claim under the broadest reasonable claim interpretation. In addition, when a claim requires selection of an element from a list of alternatives, the prior art teaches the element if one of the alternatives is taught by the prior art” and in MPEP 2111.04, Section ll that recites “The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim having contingent limitations requires only those steps that must be performed and does not include steps that are not required to be performed because the condition precedent are not met”).
Regarding claim 4 and claim 15, Lee in view of Murray discloses:
The method according to claim 3, (see claim 3) and The terminal device according to claim 14, (see claim 14).
wherein: the information of at least one network slice of the terminal device is (Lee, [0254] discloses for example, when the electronic device 101 is registered as an eMBB service, the electronic device 101 may identify the cell supporting the eMBB service based on the network slice information and may change the priority of the identified cell to be high and the electronic device 101 may change the priority of the cell supporting the eMBB service to be higher than the priority of the serving cell. EXAMINER’S NOTE: The examiner notes that the claims are written in an alternative limitation format requiring and contingent on the selection of only one of various alternative options presented and as such the non-selected alternative options are crossed out (i.e. the limitations reciting “information of at least one network slice supported by the terminal device, or information of at least one network slice selected by the terminal device, or pre-configured network slice information, or information of at least one allowable network slice of the terminal device, or” and “or the information of at least one network slice of the terminal device is a union of at least two of the information of at least one network slice supported by the terminal device, the information of at least one network slice selected by the terminal device, the information of at least one allowable network slice of the terminal device, the information of at least one registered network slice of the terminal device, and the pre-configured network slice information; or the information of at least one network slice of the terminal device is an intersection of at least two of the information of at least one network slice supported by the terminal device, the information of at least one network slice selected by the terminal device, the information of at least one allowable network slice of the terminal device, the information of at least one registered network slice of the terminal device, and the pre-configured network slice information”) and are not given patentable weight as being directed towards limitations that are not required to be performed as is indicated in MPEP 2143.03 that recites “Language that suggests or makes a feature or step optional but does not require that feature or step does not limit the scope of a claim under the broadest reasonable claim interpretation. In addition, when a claim requires selection of an element from a list of alternatives, the prior art teaches the element if one of the alternatives is taught by the prior art” and in MPEP 2111.04, Section ll that recites “The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim having contingent limitations requires only those steps that must be performed and does not include steps that are not required to be performed because the condition precedent are not met”).
Regarding claim 5, Lee in view of Murray discloses:
The method according to claim 1 (see claim 1).
wherein the information of at least one network slice of the terminal device comprises at least one of: identity information of the at least one network slice; (Lee, [0254] discloses for example, when the electronic device 101 is registered as an eMBB service, the electronic device 101 may identify the cell supporting the eMBB service based on the network slice information and may change the priority of the identified cell to be high and the electronic device 101 may change the priority of the cell supporting the eMBB service to be higher than the priority of the serving cell. EXAMINER’S NOTE: The examiner notes that the claims are written in an alternative limitation format requiring and contingent on the selection of only one of various alternative options presented and as such the non-selected alternative options are crossed out (i.e. the limitations reciting “at least one frequency point corresponding to the at least one network slice;” and “or at least one priority corresponding to the at least one network slice”) and are not given patentable weight as being directed towards limitations that are not required to be performed as is indicated in MPEP 2143.03 that recites “Language that suggests or makes a feature or step optional but does not require that feature or step does not limit the scope of a claim under the broadest reasonable claim interpretation. In addition, when a claim requires selection of an element from a list of alternatives, the prior art teaches the element if one of the alternatives is taught by the prior art” and in MPEP 2111.04, Section ll that recites “The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim having contingent limitations requires only those steps that must be performed and does not include steps that are not required to be performed because the condition precedent are not met”).
Regarding claim 6, Lee in view of Murray discloses:
The method according to claim 3, further comprising: (see claim 3).
obtaining, by the terminal device, the information of the network slice supported by the candidate cell from a broadcast message or Radio Resource Control (RRC) signaling (Lee, [0249]-[0250] discloses the electronic device 101 identifies network capability information and for example, the network capability information may be included in the SIB and the network capability information may further include information about a neighboring cell and discloses the information about a neighboring cell may further include network slice information of the neighboring cell and for example, the network slice information of the information about a neighboring cell may indicate a service, which the neighboring cell is capable of providing, from among eMBB, URLLC, and mMTC services; Lee, [0156] discloses the network capability information may be included in at least one of system information e.g., master information block MIB or system information block SIB broadcast by the first base station 511, a message e.g., an RRC setup message associated with RRC connection, a message associated with registration, or a message associated with a protocol data unit PDU session; Murray, [0124] discloses a cell may also indicate which slices it supports via SI broadcast and for example, the SI broadcast by a cell may include an IE comprised of a list of network slices, e.g., S-NSSAIs, supported by the cell; Murray, [0200] discloses slice-based cell reselection parameters may be broadcast in system information or configured via dedicated signaling).
Regarding claim 7, Lee in view of Murray discloses:
The method according to claim 3, (see claim 3).
wherein the information of the network slice supported by the candidate cell comprises at least one of: identity information of the network slice supported by the candidate cell; (Lee, [0254]-[0255] discloses for example, when the electronic device 101 is registered as an eMBB service, the electronic device 101 may identify the cell supporting the eMBB service based on the network slice information and may change the priority of the identified cell to be high and the electronic device 101 may change the priority of the cell supporting the eMBB service to be higher than the priority of the serving cell and discloses the electronic device 101 may change priority information based at least on the network slice information of the neighboring cell and when the electronic device 101 prefers the URLLC service by user settings or network settings, the electronic device 101 may identify a providable network slice type based on the network slice information of neighboring cells and may change priority information such that the priority of the second cell is higher than the priority of the first cell. EXAMINER’S NOTE: The examiner notes that the claims are written in an alternative limitation format requiring and contingent on the selection of only one of various alternative options presented and as such the non-selected alternative options are crossed out (i.e. the limitations reciting “a frequency point corresponding to the network slice supported by the candidate cell; a cell corresponding to the network slice supported by the candidate cell; or a priority corresponding to the network slice supported by the candidate cell”) and are not given patentable weight as being directed towards limitations that are not required to be performed as is indicated in MPEP 2143.03 that recites “Language that suggests or makes a feature or step optional but does not require that feature or step does not limit the scope of a claim under the broadest reasonable claim interpretation. In addition, when a claim requires selection of an element from a list of alternatives, the prior art teaches the element if one of the alternatives is taught by the prior art” and in MPEP 2111.04, Section ll that recites “The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim having contingent limitations requires only those steps that must be performed and does not include steps that are not required to be performed because the condition precedent are not met”).
Regarding claim 16, Lee discloses:
A network device, comprising one or more processors, and memory storing a plurality of programs that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the network device to: send first information to a terminal device, wherein the first information is used to indicate network slice related information, (Lee, [0198] discloses the electronic device 101 (i.e. reads on to a terminal device) receives network slice information (i.e. reads on send first information and reads on wherein the first information is used to indicate network slice related information) from a first base station 511 (i.e. reads on network device) and the network slice information may be information used to select a network slice instance and the network slice information may mean NSSAI and the NSSAI may include pieces of single-NSSAI S-NSSAI; Lee, Fig. 1 & [0055]-[0056] discloses the electronic device 101 in the network environment 100 may communicate with an electronic device 102 via a first network 198 e.g., a short-range wireless communication network, or an electronic device 104 or a server 108 via a second network 199 e.g., a long-range wireless communication network and the electronic device 101 may include a processor 120, memory, etc. and discloses the processor 120 may execute, for example, software e.g., a program 140 to control at least one other component e.g., a hardware or software component of the electronic device 101 coupled with the processor 120, and the processor 120 may load a command or data received from another component e.g., the sensor module 176 or the communication module 190 in volatile memory 132, process the command or the data stored in the volatile memory 132; Lee, [0130] discloses the electronic device 101 may mean a terminal, user equipment UE, a mobile station, a subscriber station, a remote terminal, a wireless terminal or a user device. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it is inherent for a complex device such as a base station to include processor, memory and programs in order to be able to perform the disclosed functionalities).
and the first information is used for the terminal device to determine a target priority of a frequency point; (Lee, [0254] discloses the electronic device (i.e. reads on by for the terminal) changes the priority information (i.e. reads on determining a target priority) about a frequency (i.e. reads on of a frequency point) or cell, based on the network slice information (i.e. reads on the first information is used)).
wherein the first information comprises information of at least one network slice of the terminal device; (Lee, [0254] discloses for example, when the electronic device 101 is registered as an eMBB service (i.e. reads on wherein the first information comprises information of at least one network slice of the terminal device), the electronic device 101 may identify the cell supporting the eMBB service based on the network slice information and may change the priority of the identified cell to be high and the electronic device 101 may change the priority of the cell supporting the eMBB service to be higher than the priority of the serving cell; Lee, [0133] discloses the 5G core network 522 may provide the electronic device 101 with a plurality of network services through a plurality of network slice instances 531, 532, and 533 included in the 5G core network 522 and the type of network service received by the electronic device 101 may include at least one of eMBB, URLLC, or mMTC; Lee, [0140] discloses the electronic device 101 is connected to the first network slice instance 531 supporting the eMBB service; Lee, [0367] discloses the processor may be configured to receive network slice information indicating at least one network slice instance from the base station and to display a service indicator indicating eMBB, URLLC or mMTC through the display, based at least on the network slice information and the network service type capable of being supported by the electronic device).
wherein the first information is used for the terminal device to adjust a target priority of a frequency point (Lee, [0254] discloses the electronic device (i.e. reads on by the terminal) changes the priority information (i.e. reads on determining the target priority comprises adjusting a target priority) about a frequency (i.e. reads on of the frequency point) or cell, based on the network slice information (i.e. reads on according to first information, wherein the first information is used to indicate network slice related information)).
(Lee, [0254] discloses for example, when the electronic device 101 is registered as an eMBB service, the electronic device 101 may identify the cell supporting the eMBB service based on the network slice information and may change the priority of the identified cell to be high and the electronic device 101 may change the priority of the cell supporting the eMBB service (i.e. reads on a particular network slice) to be higher than the priority (i.e. reads on to be a second priority, wherein the second priority is higher than a priority) of the serving cell (i.e. reads on of a particular point); Lee, [0133] discloses the 5G core network 522 may provide the electronic device 101 with a plurality of network services through a plurality of network slice instances 531, 532, and 533 included in the 5G core network 522 and the type of network service received by the electronic device 101 may include at least one of eMBB, URLLC, or mMTC; Lee, [0140] discloses the electronic device 101 is connected to the first network slice instance 531 supporting the eMBB service; Lee, [0367] discloses the processor may be configured to receive network slice information indicating at least one network slice instance from the base station and to display a service indicator indicating eMBB, URLLC or mMTC through the display, based at least on the network slice information and the network service type capable of being supported by the electronic device).
and the(Lee, [0254] discloses for example, when the electronic device 101 is registered as an eMBB service (i.e. reads on in the at least one network slice of the terminal device), the electronic device 101 may identify the cell supporting the eMBB service (i.e. reads on point supporting at least one network slice) based on the network slice information and may change the priority of the identified cell to be high and the electronic device 101 may change the priority of the cell (i.e. reads on point) supporting the eMBB service (i.e. reads on supporting the particular network slice and reads on supporting at least one network slice) to be higher than the priority of the serving cell; Lee, [0133] discloses the 5G core network 522 may provide the electronic device 101 with a plurality of network services through a plurality of network slice instances 531, 532, and 533 included in the 5G core network 522 and the type of network service received by the electronic device 101 may include at least one of eMBB, URLLC, or mMTC; Lee, [0140] discloses the electronic device 101 is connected to the first network slice instance 531 supporting the eMBB service; Lee, [0367] discloses the processor may be configured to receive network slice information indicating at least one network slice instance from the base station and to display a service indicator indicating eMBB, URLLC or mMTC through the display, based at least on the network slice information and the network service type capable of being supported by the electronic device. EXAMINER’S NOTE: The examiner notes that the claims are written in an alternative limitation format requiring and contingent on the selection of only one of various alternative options presented and as such the non-selected alternative options are crossed out (i.e. the limitations reciting “or a frequency point supporting at least one network slice in at least one network slice allowable of the terminal device”) and are not given patentable weight as being directed towards limitations that are not required to be performed as is indicated in MPEP 2143.03 that recites “Language that suggests or makes a feature or step optional but does not require that feature or step does not limit the scope of a claim under the broadest reasonable claim interpretation. In addition, when a claim requires selection of an element from a list of alternatives, the prior art teaches the element if one of the alternatives is taught by the prior art” and in MPEP 2111.04, Section ll that recites “The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim having contingent limitations requires only those steps that must be performed and does not include steps that are not required to be performed because the condition precedent are not met”).
wherein the particular network slice comprises at least one network slice in a first network slice set, and the first network slice set is at least one network slice comprised in the information of the at least one network slice of the terminal device (Lee, [0367] discloses the processor may be configured to receive network slice information indicating at least one network slice instance from the base station and to display a service indicator indicating eMBB, URLLC or mMTC (i.e. reads on wherein the particular network slice comprises at least one network slice in a first network slice set, and the first network slice set is at least one network slice) through the display, based at least on the network slice information and the network service type capable of being supported by the electronic device (i.e. reads on comprised in the information of the at least one network slice of the terminal device); Lee, [0133] discloses the 5G core network 522 may provide the electronic device 101 with a plurality of network services through a plurality of network slice instances 531, 532, and 533 included in the 5G core network 522 and the type of network service received by the electronic device 101 may include at least one of eMBB, URLLC, or mMTC; Lee, [0140] discloses the electronic device 101 is connected to the first network slice instance 531 supporting the eMBB service; Lee, [0254] discloses for example, when the electronic device 101 is registered as an eMBB service).
Lee discloses changing the priority information about the frequency or cell and discloses an example of changing the priority of a cell supporting a slice to a higher priority than another cell and Lee, [0260] discloses the electronic device 101 may reselect the cell of a frequency with a high priority as a serving cell but fails to explicitly disclose that a priority of a frequency supporting a particular network slice is changed to a higher priority than another frequency and therefore fails to disclose “adjust a target priority of a frequency point supporting a particular network slice to be a second priority, wherein the second priority is higher than a priority of a particular frequency point, and the frequency point supporting the particular network slice is: a frequency point supporting at least one network slice in the at least one network slice of the terminal device”.
In a related field of endeavor, Murray discloses:
adjust a target priority of a frequency point supporting a particular network slice to be a second priority, wherein the second priority is higher than a priority of a particular frequency point, (Murray, [0170] discloses the priority of a frequency is equal to the priority of the S-NSSAI with the highest priority on that frequency and for scenarios where two frequencies have the same priority, the number of S-NSSAIs configured with that priority may also be considered when determining the priority of a frequency, e.g. a frequency (i.e. reads on of a frequency point) configured with x S-NSSAIs (i.e. reads on supporting a particular network slice) at priority P would be considered a higher priority (i.e. reads on adjusting a target priority to be a second priority, wherein the second priority is higher than a priority) than a frequency (i.e. reads on of a particular frequency point) configured with y S-NSSAIs at priority P, assuming x>y; Murray, [0124] discloses a cell may also indicate which slices it supports via SI broadcast and for example, the SI broadcast by a cell may include an IE comprised of a list of network slices, e.g., S-NSSAIs, supported by the cell; Murray, [0200] discloses slice-based cell reselection parameters may be broadcast in system information or configured via dedicated signaling).
and the frequency point supporting the particular network slice is: a frequency point supporting at least one network slice in the at least one network slice of the terminal device (Murray, [0110] discloses operators may couple carrier/frequency with slices, (i.e. reads on the frequency point supporting the particular network slice is: a frequency point supporting at least one network slice) e.g. eMBB slices are supported on 2.6 GHz and 4.9 GHz, while URLLC slices are only supported on 4.9 GHz and to enable fast access to the cells supporting the intended slice(s), the network may be configured to “steer” a UE to camp on a specific frequency layer depending the service required, e.g. a UE requiring eMBB service (i.e. reads on in the at least one network slice of the terminal device) would be “steered” towards 2.6 GHz cells, and a UE requiring URLLC service would be “steered” towards 4.9 GHz cells; Murray, [0204] discloses the network may provide the UE with a reselection priority for one or more frequencies, where the priority of a given frequency may be based on the S-NSSAIs available on that frequency and the UE’s NSSAI; Murray, [0090] discloses each network slice is uniquely identified by a S-NSSAI).
Therefore, at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Lee to incorporate the teachings of Murray for the purpose of providing the system with a means to implement the adjustment of priority based on network slice information to both cells and frequencies as intended (Lee, [0254]) as well as providing a means for prioritization between frequencies having the same priority (Murray, [0170]) and for the purpose of making the system more dynamic and adaptable by providing the system with various different alternatives in design and functionality, thereby allowing the system to handle a number of various different combination of specific design structure and scenarios and preventing the system from being limited to a single specific design structure and scenario and furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the guidelines to rationales supporting a conclusion of obviousness seen on MPEP 2143, that the modification would involve use of a simple substitution of one known element and base device (i.e. performing a process of changing the priority of a frequency based on network slice information as taught by Lee) with another known element and comparable device utilizing a known technique (i.e. performing a process of changing the priority of a frequency based on network slice information, wherein the frequency supports a network slice of a UE and the priority of the frequency that supports the network slice is changed to a higher priority than another frequency and wherein the network slice information is received via broadcast or dedicated signaling as taught by Murray) to improve the similar devices in the same way and to obtain the predictable result of the system performing a process of changing the priority of a frequency based on network slice information (i.e. as taught by both Lee & Murray) and is dependent upon the specific intended use, design incentives, needs and requirements (i.e. such as due to teachings of a known standard, current technology, conservation of resources, personal preferences, economic considerations, etc.) of the user and the system as has been established in MPEP 2144.04.
Regarding claim 17, Lee in view of Murray discloses:
The network device according to claim 16, wherein the first information further comprises: (see claim 16).
information of a network slice supported by a candidate cell, wherein the candidate cell comprises at least one of (Lee, [0254]-[0255] discloses for example, when the electronic device 101 is registered as an eMBB service, the electronic device 101 may identify the cell supporting the eMBB service based on the network slice information and may change the priority of the identified cell to be high and the electronic device 101 may change the priority of the cell supporting the eMBB service to be higher than the priority of the serving cell and discloses the electronic device 101 may change priority information based at least on the network slice information of the neighboring cell and when the electronic device 101 prefers the URLLC service by user settings or network settings, the electronic device 101 may identify a providable network slice type based on the network slice information of neighboring cells and may change priority information such that the priority of the second cell is higher than the priority of the first cell. EXAMINER’S NOTE: The examiner notes that the claims are written in an alternative limitation format requiring and contingent on the selection of only one of various alternative options presented and as such the non-selected alternative options are crossed out (i.e. the limitations reciting “a serving cell of the terminal device”) and are not given patentable weight as being directed towards limitations that are not required to be performed as is indicated in MPEP 2143.03 that recites “Language that suggests or makes a feature or step optional but does not require that feature or step does not limit the scope of a claim under the broadest reasonable claim interpretation. In addition, when a claim requires selection of an element from a list of alternatives, the prior art teaches the element if one of the alternatives is taught by the prior art” and in MPEP 2111.04, Section ll that recites “The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim having contingent limitations requires only those steps that must be performed and does not include steps that are not required to be performed because the condition precedent are not met”).
Regarding claim 18, Lee in view of Murray discloses:
The network device according to claim 17, wherein the plurality of programs that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the network device to: (see claim 17).
send the information of the network slice supported by the candidate cell to the terminal device via a broadcast message or Radio Resource Control (RRC) signaling (Lee, [0249]-[0250] discloses the electronic device 101 identifies network capability information and for example, the network capability information may be included in the SIB and the network capability information may further include information about a neighboring cell and discloses the information about a neighboring cell may further include network slice information of the neighboring cell and for example, the network slice information of the information about a neighboring cell may indicate a service, which the neighboring cell is capable of providing, from among eMBB, URLLC, and mMTC services; Lee, [0156] discloses the network capability information may be included in at least one of system information e.g., master information block MIB or system information block SIB broadcast by the first base station 511, a message e.g., an RRC setup message associated with RRC connection, a message associated with registration, or a message associated with a protocol data unit PDU session; Murray, [0124] discloses a cell may also indicate which slices it supports via SI broadcast and for example, the SI broadcast by a cell may include an IE comprised of a list of network slices, e.g., S-NSSAIs, supported by the cell; Murray, [0200] discloses slice-based cell reselection parameters may be broadcast in system information or configured via dedicated signaling).
Regarding claim 19, Lee in view of Murray discloses:
The network device according to claim 18, (see claim 18).
wherein information of the network slice supported by the candidate cell comprises at least one of: identity information of the network slice supported by the candidate cell; (Lee, [0254]-[0255] discloses for example, when the electronic device 101 is registered as an eMBB service, the electronic device 101 may identify the cell supporting the eMBB service based on the network slice information and may change the priority of the identified cell to be high and the electronic device 101 may change the priority of the cell supporting the eMBB service to be higher than the priority of the serving cell and discloses the electronic device 101 may change priority information based at least on the network slice information of the neighboring cell and when the electronic device 101 prefers the URLLC service by user settings or network settings, the electronic device 101 may identify a providable network slice type based on the network slice information of neighboring cells and may change priority information such that the priority of the second cell is higher than the priority of the first cell. EXAMINER’S NOTE: The examiner notes that the claims are written in an alternative limitation format requiring and contingent on the selection of only one of various alternative options presented and as such the non-selected alternative options are crossed out (i.e. the limitations reciting “a frequency point corresponding to the network slice supported by the candidate cell; a cell corresponding to the network slice supported by the candidate cell; or a priority corresponding to the network slice supported by the candidate cell”) and are not given patentable weight as being directed towards limitations that are not required to be performed as is indicated in MPEP 2143.03 that recites “Language that suggests or makes a feature or step optional but does not require that feature or step does not limit the scope of a claim under the broadest reasonable claim interpretation. In addition, when a claim requires selection of an element from a list of alternatives, the prior art teaches the element if one of the alternatives is taught by the prior art” and in MPEP 2111.04, Section ll that recites “The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim having contingent limitations requires only those steps that must be performed and does not include steps that are not required to be performed because the condition precedent are not met”).
Conclusion
/MICHAEL Y MAPA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645