DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/29/2022, 04/07/2023, 01/07/2025, 07/10/2025, 09/15/2025, and 11/11/2025 were filed on or after the filing date of this application. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
The IDS filed 01/07/2025 contains a German Office Action. Applicant has not provided either a brief explanation of relevance or a translation of this document. Accordingly, this document fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(3) and cannot be considered.
The IDS filed 07/10/2025 contains a Japanese Office Action. Applicant has not provided either a brief explanation of relevance or a translation of this document. Accordingly, this document fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(3) and cannot be considered.
Drawings
Figure 13 should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated1. See MPEP § 608.02(g). Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takamizu (US20220271507A1), hereafter Takamizu, in view of Lai et al. (US20180138663A1), hereafter Lai.
Regarding claim 1, Takamizu discloses a semiconductor light-emitting element (Abstract; Title) having a structure in which a substrate (Fig. 3 element 7; [0023]), a first reflector (Fig. 3 element 10; [0025]), a resonator cavity ([0019]; [0033]) including an active layer (Fig. 3 element 11; [0025]), a second reflector (Fig. 3 element 12; [0025]) and a conductive film (Fig. 3 element 62c; [0065]) are stacked in this sequence (Fig. 3), the semiconductor light-emitting element comprising: a first current constriction portion (Fig. 3 elements 34 restrict current to element 36; [0038]) configured with an oxidation constriction layer (Fig. 3 elements 34 constrict current to region 36; [0040]); and a second current constriction portion (Fig. 3 element 51 restricts current to region 52) configured with an insulation film (Fig. 3 element 51; [0049]), which is formed on an upper face of the second reflector (Fig. 3 element 51 is formed on element 12) and has an opening (Fig. 3 element 51 has opening 52; [0049]), and a contact portion between the conductive film and a semiconductor layer with which the conductive film is in contact (Fig. 3 element 62c contacts element 13 at opening 52), wherein a width d2 of the second current constriction portion is smaller than a width d1 of the first current constriction portion ([0050]). Takamizu does not explicitly disclose the conductive film is a transparent conductive film. However, Lai discloses the conductive film is a transparent conductive film (Fig. 4 element 150; [0035]). An advantage is to improve light emitting efficiency without sacrificing electrical and optical performance ([0005]) while allowing for primary emission in one direction and secondary emission in another direction to allow for easy monitoring of the VCSEL as is known in the art. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Takamizu with the conductive film is a transparent conductive film as disclosed by Lai in order to improve light emitting efficiency without sacrificing electrical and optical performance while allowing for primary emission in one direction and secondary emission in another direction to allow for easy monitoring of the VCSEL as is known in the art.
Regarding claim 2, Takamizu further discloses the opening of the insulation film in the second current constriction portion is included in a non-oxidized portion on an inner side of the oxidation constriction layer in the first current constriction portion in planar view (Fig. 3 element 51 extends beyond element 34, because D2 is smaller than D1)
Regarding claim 3, Takamizu in view of Lai do not explicitly disclose the width d1 of the first current constriction portion satisfies 30 µm ≤ d1 ≤ 70 µm. However, Takamizu discloses that the width D1 of the first current constriction portion satisfies 28 µm ≤ D1 ≤ 1998 µm ([0042]). An advantage of optimizing the width of the current constriction portion is to satisfy the desired electrical properties of the device based on the size of the VCSEL. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Takamizu in view of Lai with the width d1 of the first current constriction portion satisfies 30 µm ≤ d1 ≤ 70 µm, since Takamizu discloses an overlapping range and it is known in the art to optimize the width of the current constriction portion is to satisfy the desired electrical properties of the device based on the size of the VCSEL and since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding claim 9, Takamizu further discloses a light-emitting device comprising, side-by-side, a plurality of the semiconductor light-emitting elements (Fig. 12; [0124]-[0125]) according to claim 1 (See the rejection of claim 1 above).
Claims 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takamizu in view of Lai, as applied to claim 1 in further view of Jansen (US20090207873A1), hereafter Jansen.
Regarding claim 4, Takamizu discloses a p-type contact layer (Fig. 3 element 13; [0025]) disposed on an uppermost portion of the second reflector (Fig. 3 element 12), and wherein the insulation film (Fig. 3 element 51) and the conductive film (Fig. 3 element 62c) are disposed on the p-type contact layer, and the conductive film (Fig. 3 element 62c) is in contact with the second reflector (Fig. 3 element 12)2. As modified in claim 1 above, Takamizu in view of Lai disclose the conductive film is a transparent conductive film (See the rejection of claim 1 above). Takamizu in view of Lai do not explicitly disclose a tunnel junction. However, Jansen discloses that a tunnel junction may be used to replace a p-type contact layer ([0044]). An advantage, as is known in the art, is to allow external contact to be made to an n-type layer which typically have good current spreading properties and favorable contact resistance values.
Regarding claim 5, Takamizu, as modified in claim 4 above, further discloses the tunnel junction layer is disposed on the uppermost portion of the second reflector, so as to include at least a non-oxidized portion on an inner side of the oxidation constriction layer in the first current constriction portion in planar view (Fig. 3 element 13 extends across the mesa such that a central portion overlaps with element 36 in plane view and element 13 would be replaced by a tunnel junction as discussed in the rejection of claim 4 above).
Regarding claim 6, Takamizu in view of Lai in further view of Jansen do not explicitly disclose the width d1 of the first current constriction portion satisfies 50 µm ≤ d1 ≤ 100 µm. However, Takamizu discloses that the width D1 of the first current constriction portion satisfies 28 µm ≤ D1 ≤ 1998 µm ([0042]). An advantage of optimizing the width of the current constriction portion is to satisfy the desired electrical properties of the device based on the size of the VCSEL. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Takamizu in view of Lai in further view of Jansen with the width d1 of the first current constriction portion satisfies 50 µm ≤ d1 ≤ 100 µm, since Takamizu discloses an overlapping range and it is known in the art to optimize the width of the current constriction portion is to satisfy the desired electrical properties of the device based on the size of the VCSEL and since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takamizu in view of Lai, as applied to claim 1 in further view of Sun (US6185241B1), hereafter Sun.
Regarding claim 7, Takamizu in view of Lai do not explicitly disclose a transparent insulation film is disposed on the transparent conductive film. However, Sun discloses a transparent insulation film (Fig. 1 element 134; col. 3 ll. 5-83) is disposed on the transparent conductive film (Fig. 1 element 126). An advantage is to cause a phase shift in the reflection between the transparent insulation film and the transparent conductive layer film to result in a single mode output light (col. 3 ll. 50-60). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Takamizu in view of Lai with a transparent insulation film is disposed on the transparent conductive film as disclosed by Sun in order to cause a phase shift in the reflection between the transparent insulation film and the transparent conductive layer film to result in a single mode output light.
Regarding claim 8, Takamizu in view of Lai do not explicitly disclose a third reflector formed of a dielectric substance is further disposed on the second reflector. However, Sun discloses a third reflector (Fig. 1 element 134) formed of a dielectric substance (col. 3 ll. 5-8) is further disposed on the second reflector (Fig. 1 element 114). An advantage is to form a highly reflective output mirror to maximize the reflectivity for the emitted fundamental mode (col. 4 ll. 22-25). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Takamizu in view of Lai with a third reflector formed of a dielectric substance is further disposed on the second reflector as disclosed by Sun in order to cause a phase shift in the reflection between the transparent insulation film and the transparent conductive layer film to result in a single mode output light.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takamizu in view of Lai, as applied to claim 1 in further view of Koyama et al. (US20210184426A1), hereafter Koyama.
Regarding claim 10, Takamizu in view of Lai disclose the semiconductor light-emitting element according to claim 1 (See the rejection of claim 1 above). Takamizu in view of Lai do not explicitly disclose a ranging device comprising: a light source including; a sensor that detects reflected light of light generated by the light source; and a processing unit that acquires distance information, based on a detection timing to detect the reflected light. However, Koyama discloses a ranging device (Fig. 15) comprising: a light source (Fig. 15 element 501); a sensor that detects reflected light of light generated by the light source (Fig. 15 element 502); and a processing unit that acquires distance information (Fig. 15 element 500), based on a detection timing to detect the reflected light ([0110]). An advantage is to allow a laser to accurately measure distance ([0117]). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Takamizu in view of Lai with a ranging device comprising: a light source including; a sensor that detects reflected light of light generated by the light source; and a processing unit that acquires distance information, based on a detection timing to detect the reflected light as disclosed by Koyama in order to allow the laser to accurately measure distance.
Double Patenting
Claims 4 and 6 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 14 and 16 of copending Application No. 18/145,547 (reference application) in view of Jansen. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because Claim 14 contains all the limitations of claim 4 except for the tunnel junction layer “is disposed on an uppermost portion of the second reflector”. However, Jansen discloses a tunnel junction may be used to replace a p-type contact layer ([0044]). An advantage, as is known in the art, is to allow external contact to be made to an n-type layer which typically have good current spreading properties and favorable contact resistance values. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify claim 14 of 18/145,547 with the tunnel junction is disposed on an uppermost portion of the second reflector to use the tunnel junction in place of a p-type contact layer as disclosed by Jansen in order to allow external contact to be made to an n-type layer which typically have good current spreading properties and favorable contact resistance values and since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Claim 6 recites a range that overlaps with the range of claim 16. An advantage of optimizing the width of the current constriction portion is to satisfy the desired electrical properties of the device based on the size of the VCSEL. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select a value in the overlapping region of the claimed ranges in order to optimize the width of the current constriction portion is to satisfy the desired electrical properties of the device based on the size of the VCSEL and since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached Notice of References Cited.
US20080067532A1 [0055] discloses advantages of tunnel junction contact layers.
US6144682 discloses a VCSEL having a first current aperture (Fig. 1 element 120), a second current aperture (Fig. 1 element 134), the width of the second current aperture is smaller than the width of the first current aperture (col. 2 ll. 53-54; col. 3 ll. 27-29) using a transparent conductive film (Fig. 1 element 138).
/Joshua King/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2828 12/12/2025
1 While applicant doesn’t explicitly refer to Fig. 13 as prior art, Fig. 13 is a copy of Fig. 7 from JP2006114915, which is cited by applicant in [0007] of the specification as originally filed.
2 These elements are at least in electrical contact.
3 The Office notes that each individual layer of a DBR mirror is transparent. Light is reflected at the interface between the layers.