DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1 – 20 are pending.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
With regard to the Final Office Action from 18 March 2026, the Applicant has filed a response on 18 June 2026.
Response to Arguments
With regard to the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of the independent claims, the Applicant indicates (Remarks: page 6 par 3 – 4) that the applied prior art of record fails to teach the independent claims, (particularly considering independent claim 1). The Applicant indicates that these applied references fail to teach the association of a user with a plurality of profiles, wherein each of the plurality of profiles corresponds with a different context of a given communications session, and wherein the multi-modal communication aid is associated with at least one of the plurality of profiles corresponding with a context of the communications session (Remarks: page 7 par 2), this limitation being newly introduced. The Examiner agrees with the Applicant’s argument regarding the applied references not teaching the indicated limitations, given that the limitations were not previously provided by the claims.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the independent claims have been considered but are moot due to the new ground of rejection necessitated by the amendment to the claims. The claims will be addressed by their current presentation in the following rejection section.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 6, 9, 10, 14, 16, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yapamanu et al. (US 2016/0062987 A1: hereafter — Yapamanu) in view of Bergenlid et al. (US 2019/0036856 A1: hereafter — Bergenlid) further in view of Balasuriya (US 2003/0126330 A1).
For claim 1, Yapamanu discloses a method comprising:
receiving, by a user system comprising a processor executing a multi-modal communication module, during a communications session hosted by a communications service and established between the user system and an additional user system, a request for a multi-modal communication aid to be used (Yapamanu: [0024] — establishing a communication session between users; [0037] — audio visual communications (indicating a multi-modal communication); [0040] — the communication module including a processor; [0046] — during the video session, one user can request to anonymise his/her appearance as an animated avatar and this is presented to the customer as the other participant (the request for the avatar being the communication aid, this request for the avatar being one that is received at the user system of the user requesting such as requested by the user)).
The reference of Yapamanu provides teaching for the execution of a multi-modal communication module hosting a communication session between a user system and an additional user system. This reference however fails to teach the further limitations of this claim regarding the presentation of a multi-modal communication aid to the participating users.
This is however not new to the art as the reference of Bergenlid is now introduced to teach this as:
in response to the request, receiving, by the user system from a user associated with the user system, a selection of the multi-modal communication aid, wherein the multi-modal communication aid is automatically presented, via the user system, in response to recognition, by the user system, of a trigger that occurs during the communications session, [[wherein the user is associated with a plurality of profiles, where each of the plurality profiles corresponds with a different context of a given communication session, and where the multi-modal communication aid is associated with at least one of the plurality of profiles corresponding with a context of the communications session]] (Bergenlid: FIG. 6C Part 642, FIG. 6D Part 662, [0133]–[0134] — during a communication session between two users, one user can issue the speech trigger ‘Assistant, show me on a map please’ which then triggers the assistant on the device to then present the user of the device with a display information item (that is automatically presented as a multi-modal communication aid based on the received command); [0128]);
providing, by the user system, the multi-modal communication aid to the additional user system via the communications service (Bergenlid: FIG. 6C Part 642, FIG. 6D Part 662, [0133]–[0134] — during a communication session between two users, one user can issue the speech trigger ‘Assistant, show me on a map please’ which then triggers the assistant on the device to then present the other device user with a display information item (that is automatically presented as a multi-modal communication aid based on the received command); [0128]).
Hence, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to improve upon the technique of Yapamanu which provides teaching for the execution of a multi-modal communication module hosting a communication session between a user system and an additional user system, by incorporating the known technique of Bergenlid which provides the presentation of a multi-modal communication aid to the participating users based on receiving a trigger from one of the users, to thereby come up with the claimed invention. The combination of both prior art elements would have provided the predictable result of making assistance services easily available to users engaged in the communication without needing the users to manually access the desired assistive service. See KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
The combination of Yapamanu in view of Bergenlid provides teaching for receiving a selection of a multi-modal communication aid automatically presented to the user based on a trigger that occurs during the communications session. The teaching of this reference differs from that of the claimed invention in that the claimed invention further provides teaching for the presence of a plurality of profiles associated with a user, corresponding to different contexts of communications sessions.
The reference of Balasuriya is now introduced to teach this limitation as:
in response to the request, receiving, by the user system from a user associated with the user system, a selection of the multi-modal communication aid, wherein the multi-modal communication aid is automatically presented, via the user system, in response to recognition, by the user system, of a trigger that occurs during the communications session, wherein the user is associated with a plurality of profiles, where each of the plurality profiles corresponds with a different context of a given communication session, and where the multi-modal communication aid is associated with at least one of the plurality of profiles corresponding with a context of the communications session (Balasuriya: [0025] — multiple multi-modal profiles being associated with a given user, these being associated with different identifiers that correspond to different multimodal communication scenarios (different contexts, leading to different voice codecs to address the different scenarios, such as a detection that the user is in a meeting or in a car); [0026] — the selection of a scenario, leading to the selection of media preference information applied to outputting information to the user (this being the multi-modal communication aid associated with a profile corresponding to the context of the communication session)).
The combination of Yapamanu in view of Bergenlid provides teaching for receiving a selection of a multi-modal communication aid automatically presented to the user based on a trigger that occurs during the communications session, but differs from the claimed invention in that the claimed invention further provides teaching for the presence of a plurality of profiles associated with a user, corresponding to different contexts of communications sessions that are applied as multi-modal communication aids. This is not ne to the art as is seen to be provided by the reference of Balasuriya above.
Hence, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to improve upon the known technique provided by the combination of Yapamanu in view of Bergenlid which teaches receiving a selection of a multi-modal communication aid automatically presented to the user based on a trigger that occurs during the communications session, by incorporating the teaching of Balasuriya which provides the association of profiles with a user, these being applied to identify different communication scenarios and make the necessary input/output modality adjustments to aid in the communication session, to thereby come up with the claimed invention. The combination of both prior art elements would have resulted in the predictable result of defining individual communications adjustments that can be quickly applied to particular communications sessions, one communications adjustment style not being blended into another based on the presence of different profiles, further ensuring quick access to such communications aid. See KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
For claim 2, claim 1 is incorporated and the combination of Yapamanu in view of Bergenlid further in view of Balasuriya discloses the method, wherein the communications session comprises live audio (Yapamanu: [0018] — establishing a cross-human language communication session with a remote agent (to indicate a live communication session); [0022] — the communication possibly being in an audio-only mode).
For claim 6, claim 1 is incorporated and the combination of Yapamanu in view of Bergenlid further in view of Balasuriya discloses the method, wherein the multi-modal communication aid selected comprises a pre-defined multi-modal communication aid (Yapamuna: [0022] — selection of an avatar mode for animation (the avatar mode being the communication aid, and also having been presented to the user for use, also, the use of the avatar as presented here is a pre-defined communication aid as it is already available to be made use of)).
For claim 9, the reference of Yapamanu discloses a method comprising:
generating, by a user system comprising a processor executing a multi-modal communication module, during a communications session hosted by a communications service and established between the user system and an additional user system, a request for a multi-modal communication aid to be used (Yapamanu: [0024] — establishing a communication session between users; [0037] — audio visual communications (indicating a multi-modal communication); [0040] — the communication module including a processor; [0046] — during the video session, one user can request to anonymise his/her appearance as an animated avatar and this is presented to the customer as the other participant (the request for the avatar being the communication aid, this request for the avatar being one that is received at the user system of the user requesting such as requested by the user)), [[wherein the request for a multi-modal communication aid is generated by the user system in response to recognition, by the user system, of a trigger that occurs during the communications session]];
sending, by the user system, during the communications session, the request for a multi-modal communication aid to be used (Yapamanu: [0024] — establishing a communication session between users; [0037] — audio visual communications (indicating a multi-modal communication); [0040] — the communication module including a processor; [0046] — during the video session, one user can request to anonymise his/her appearance as an animated avatar and this is presented to the customer as the other participant (the request for the avatar being the communication aid, this request for the avatar being sent from the user system of the user requesting such)).
The reference of Yapamanu provides teaching for the execution of a multi-modal communication module hosting a communication session between a user system and an additional user system. This reference however fails to teach the further limitations of this claim regarding the presentation of a multi-modal communication aid to the participating users.
This is however not new to the art as the reference of Bergenlid is now introduced to teach this as:
wherein the request for a multi-modal communication aid is generated by the user system in response to recognition, by the user system, of a trigger that occurs during the communications session (Bergenlid: FIG. 6C Part 642, FIG. 6D Part 662, [0133]–[0134] — during a communication session between two users, one user can issue the speech trigger ‘Assistant, show me on a map please’ (which is detected by the system that an explicit invocation for assistance was made, indicating a recognition of the command));
in response to the request, receiving, by the user system, the multi-modal communication aid (Bergenlid: FIG. 6C Part 642, FIG. 6D Part 662, [0133]–[0134] — during a communication session between two users, one user can issue the speech trigger ‘Assistant, show me on a map please’ which then triggers the assistant on the device to then present the user of the device with a display information item (that is automatically presented as a multi-modal communication aid based on the received command); [0128]); and
presenting, by the user system, the multi-modal communication aid to a user associated with the user system, [[wherein the user is associated with a plurality of profiles, wherein each of the plurality of profiles corresponds with a different context of a given communications session, and where the multi-modal communication aid is associated with at least one of the plurality of profiles corresponding with a context of the communications session]] (Bergenlid: FIG. 6C Part 642, FIG. 6D Part 662, [0133] – [0134] — during a communication session between two users, one user can issue the speech trigger ‘Assistant, show me on a map please’ which then triggers the assistant on the device to then present the user of the device with a display information item (that is automatically presented as a multi-modal communication aid based on the received command); [0128]).
The same motivation for the introduction of the Bergenlid reference as applied to claim 1 above is applicable here.
The combination of Yapamanu in view of Bergenlid provides teaching for receiving a selection of a multi-modal communication aid automatically presented to the user based on a trigger that occurs during the communications session. The teaching of this reference differs from that of the claimed invention in that the claimed invention further provides teaching for the presence of a plurality of profiles associated with a user, corresponding to different contexts of communications sessions.
The reference of Balasuriya is now introduced to teach this limitation as:
presenting, by the user system, the multi-modal communication aid to a user associated with the user system, wherein the user is associated with a plurality of profiles, wherein each of the plurality of profiles corresponds with a different context of a given communications session, and where the multi-modal communication aid is associated with at least one of the plurality of profiles corresponding with a context of the communications session (Balasuriya: [0025] — multiple multi-modal profiles being associated with a given user, these being associated with different identifiers that correspond to different multimodal communication scenarios (different contexts, leading to different voice codecs to address the different scenarios, such as a detection that the user is in a meeting or in a car); [0026] — the selection of a scenario, leading to the selection of media preference information applied to outputting information to the user (this being the multi-modal communication aid associated with a profile corresponding to the context of the communication session)).
The same motivation for the introduction of the Balasuriya reference as applied to claim 1 above is applicable here.
For claim 10, claim 9 is incorporated and the combination of Yapamanu in view of Bergenlid further in view of Balasuriya discloses the method, wherein the communications session comprises live audio (Yapamanu: [0018] — establishing a cross-human language communication session with a remote agent (to indicate a live communication session); [0022] — the communication possibly being in an audio-only mode).
For claim 14, claim 9 is incorporated and the combination of Yapamanu in view of Bergenlid further in view of Balasuriya discloses the method, wherein the trigger comprises a word or a phrase (Bergenlid: FIG. 6C Part 642, FIG. 6D Part 662, [0133]–[0134] — during a communication session between two users, one user can issue the speech trigger ‘Assistant, show me on a map please’ (this being a trigger phrase)).
As for claim 16, system claim 16 and method claim 1 are related as system and the method of using same, with each claimed element’s function corresponding to the claimed method step. Yapamanu in [0062] provides teaching a processor and computer-readable storage suitable to read upon the claimed invention. Accordingly, claim 16 is similarly rejected under the same rationale as applied above with respect to method claim 1.
As for claim 19, system claim 19 and method claim 6 are related as system and the method of using same, with each claimed element’s function corresponding to the claimed method step. Accordingly, claim 19 is similarly rejected under the same rationale as applied above with respect to method claim 6.
Claims 3 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yapamanu US 2016/0062987 A1) in view of Bergenlid (US 2019/0036856 A1) further in view of Balasuriya (US 2003/0126330 A1) as applied to claims 1 and 11, and further in view of Lasatar et al. (US 2022/0383399 A1: hereafter — Lasatar) and further in view of Kasaba (US 2022/0385700 A1).
For claim 3, claim 2 is incorporated and the combination of Yapamanu in view of Bergenlid further in view of Balasuriya discloses the method, wherein the communications session further comprises live video (Yapamanu: [0018] — establishing a cross-human language communication session with a remote agent (to indicate a live communication session); [0022] — the communication possibly being in a video and audio mode).
The combination of Yapamanu in view of Bergenlid further in view of Balasuriya fails to completely disclose the further limitation of this claim regarding the multi-modal communication aid comprising an avatar-based visualisation superimposed on the live video.
The reference of Lasatar is now introduced to teach as:
wherein the multi-modal communication aid comprises an avatar-based visualization superimposed on the live video (Lasatar: [0075] — superimposing avatars associated with a customer on an actual live video).
The combination of Yapamanu in view of Bergenlid further in view of Balasuriya provides teaching for the presence of an avatar being used in a live communication session (Yapamanu: [0047]) but differs from the claimed invention in that the claimed invention further provides teaching for superimposing an avatar-based visualisation on a live video. This isn’t new to the art as the reference of Lasatar is seen to teach above.
Hence, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to improve upon the technique of the combination of Yapamanu in view of Bergenlid further in view of Balasuriya which provides an avatar-based assistance in a live communication session, by applying the known teaching of Lasatar which superimposes the avatar on a live video communication, to thereby come up with the claimed invention. The combination of both prior art elements would have provided the predictable result of presenting a video of a virtual persona interacting with live objects to both participants, without having the actual participants be unnecessarily engaged in the physical actions. See KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415- 421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
The combination of Yapamanu in view of Bergenlid further in view of Balasuriya and further in view of Lasatar provides that the multi-modal communication aid includes an avatar-based visualisation superimposed on the live video, but differs from the claimed invention in that the claimed invention further provides teaching for avatar-based visualisation demonstrating an action discussed during the communication session.
This is not new to the art as the reference of Kasaba is now introduced to teach:
wherein the multi-modal communication aid comprises an avatar-based visualization superimposed on the live video, and wherein the avatar-based visualization demonstrates an action discussed during the communications session (Kasaba: [0176] — an avatar concierge is able to analyse a web meeting, compare them to keywords or subject matter tags in an avatar database to determine an interactive avatar to be included in a conversation, such that an interactive avatar of a subject person may invite additional interactive avatars to an ongoing discussion based on recognition of the topics and subjects being discussed (teaching of an avatar analysing a communications session and performing an action of inviting another suitable avatar into the communications session)).
The combination of Yapamanu in view of Bergenlid further in view of Balasuriya and further in view of Lasatar provides that the multi-modal communication aid includes an avatar-based visualisation superimposed on the live video. This combination however differs from the claimed invention in that the claimed invention further provides teaching for the avatar-based visualisation demonstrating an action discussed during a communications session. This is not new to the art as it is seen to be taught by the reference of Kasaba as provided above.
Hence, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to improve upon the technique of the combination of Yapamanu in view of Bergenlid further in view of Balasuriya and further in view of Lasatar which provides that the multi-modal communication aid includes an avatar-based visualisation superimposed on the live video, by applying the known teaching of Kasaba which has an avatar perform an action during a live video communications session based on an analysis of the ongoing meeting, to thereby come up with the claimed invention. The combination of both prior art elements would have provided the predictable result of showing the human participants a way to performing the intended task as an example for them, making it easier for the human participants to be able to perform the task when required. See KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415- 421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
For claim 11, it is analysed and rejected by the same reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 3 above given that the presentation of both instant claims has similar limitations.
Claims 4, 5, 12, 13, 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yapamanu US 2016/0062987 A1) in view of Bergenlid (US 2019/0036856 A1) further in view of Balasuriya (US 2003/0126330 A1) as applied to claims 2 and 10, and further in view of Duraibabu et al. (US 11,641,592 B1: hereafter — Duraibabu).
For claim 4, claim 2 is incorporated but the combination of Yapamanu in view of Bergenlid further in view of Balasuriya fails to fully disclose the limitations of this claim, for which the reference of Duraibabu is now introduced to teach as:
the method, wherein receiving the request for the multi-modal communication aid comprises receiving the request for the multi-modal communication aid in response to a technology issue with the live audio experienced by a user associated with the additional user system during the communications session (Duraibabu: Col 16 lines 6–18 — a customer to call in (indicating a live audio communications session) and request assistance with solving a problem which the user is having with the user device (this coming from the user end at the user’s system, also, an indication that the problem is related to the device indicates a technology issue) such that an aid is provided through the customer support component, network diagnostic skill, and the diagnostic component).
The combination of Yapamanu in view of Bergenlid further in view of Balasuriya provides teaching for requesting a multi-modal communication aid with regard to a communication session, but differs from the claimed invention in that that the claimed invention now further provides teaching for receiving the request for the multi-modal communication aid in response to a technology issue with the live audio experienced by a user. This isn’t new to the art as the reference of Duraibabu is seen to teach as provided above.
Hence, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to combine the known teaching of Duraibabu which teaches a user making a request for assistance regarding a technology issue, with the teaching of the combination of Yapamanu in view of Bergenlid further in view of Balasuriya which provides making a request for a multi-modal communication aid, to thereby come up with the claimed invention. The combination of both prior art elements would have provided the predictable result of having assistance made available to resolve communication issues possibly experienced during a communications session, so that the communications issue can be resolved. See KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
For claim 5, claim 2 is incorporated and as applied to claim 4 above, the combination of Yapamanu in view of Bergenlid further in view of Balasuriya and further in view of Duraibabu discloses the method, wherein receiving the request for the multi-modal communication aid comprises receiving the request for the multi-modal communication aid in response to a user issue with the live audio experienced by a user associated with the additional user system during the communications session (Duraibabu: Col 16 lines 6–18 — a customer to call in (indicating a live audio communications session) and request assistance with solving a problem which the user is having with the user device (this coming from the user end at the user’s system, as an indication that the user is experiencing a user issue) such that an aid is provided through the customer support component, network diagnostic skill, and the diagnostic component).
The same motivation applied to claim 4 for introducing the Duraibabu reference is applicable here still.
For claim 12, claim 10 is incorporated but the combination of Yapamanu in view of Bergenlid further in view of Balasuriya fails to disclose the limitations of this claim, for which the reference of Duraibabu is now introduced to teach as
the method, wherein the request is associated with a technology issue with the live audio experienced by the user associated with the user system during the communications session (Duraibabu: Col 16 lines 6–18 — a customer to call in (indicating a live audio communications session) and request assistance with solving a problem which the user is having with the user device (this coming from the user end at the user’s system, also, an indication that the problem is related to the device indicates a technology issue) such that an aid is provided through the customer support component, network diagnostic skill, and the diagnostic component).
The same motivation applied to claim 4 for introducing the Duraibabu reference is applicable here still.
For claim 13, claim 10 is incorporated and as applied to claim 12 above, the combination of Yapamanu in view of Bergenlid further in view of Balasuriya and further in view of Duraibabu discloses the method, wherein the request for the multi-modal communication aid is associated with a user issue with the live audio experienced by the user associated with the user system during the communications session (Duraibabu: Col 16 lines 6–18 — a customer to call in (indicating a live audio communications session) and request assistance with solving a problem which the user is having with the user device (this coming from the user end at the user’s system, as an indication that the user is experiencing a user issue) such that an aid is provided through the customer support component, network diagnostic skill, and the diagnostic component).
As for claim 17, system claim 17 and method claim 4 are related as system and the method of using same, with each claimed element’s function corresponding to the claimed method step. Accordingly, claim 17 is similarly rejected under the same rationale as applied above with respect to method claim 4.
As for claim 18, system claim 18 and method claim 5 are related as system and the method of using same, with each claimed element’s function corresponding to the claimed method step. Accordingly, claim 18 is similarly rejected under the same rationale as applied above with respect to method claim 5.
Claim 7 is are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yapamanu US 2016/0062987 A1) in view of Bergenlid (US 2019/0036856 A1) further in view of Balasuriya (US 2003/0126330 A1) as applied to claims 1 and 11, and further in view of Amer et al. (US 2019/0304157 A1: hereafter — Amer).
For claim 7, claim 1 is incorporated but the combination of Yapamanu in view of Bergenlid further in view of Balasuriya fails to disclose the limitation of this claim, for which the reference of Amer is now introduced to teach as the method, wherein the multi-modal communication aid selected comprises a new multi-modal communication aid created, on-the-fly, by the user associated with the user system (Amer: [0032] — ‘[s]ome aspects of this disclosure relate to an AI agent or system generating an animation or video in response to human input and/or human interactions’ (indicating the presence of a request to generate an animation on-the-fly, as requested by a user)).
The combination of Yapamanu in view of Bergenlid further in view of Balasuriya provides teaching for receiving a request for a multi-modal communication aid, but differs from the claimed invention in that the claimed invention further provides teaching for receiving the selection of the multi-modal communication aid based upon a new multi-modal communication aid created on-the-fly by a user association with the user system. This is however not new to the art as the reference of Amer is seen to teach above.
Hence, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to improve upon the technique of the combination of Yapamanu in view of Bergenlid further in view of Balasuriya which provides a user making a request for a multi-modal communication aid, by applying the known teaching of Amer which provides that the multi-modal communication aid selection comprises the creation of the aid by the user associated with the user system, to thereby come up with the claimed invention. The combination of both prior art elements would have provided the predictable result of being able to present an animation of a tutorial to show users how a particular task or action should be performed, in a situation where no video of performing such an action is readily available. See KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Claims 8 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yapamanu US 2016/0062987 A1) in view of Bergenlid (US 2019/0036856 A1) further in view of Balasuriya (US 2003/0126330 A1) as applied to claims 1 and 16, and further in view of Lawler et al. (US 2010/0250196 A1: hereafter — Lawler).
For claim 8, claim 1 is incorporated but the combination of Yapamanu in view of Bergenlid further in view of Balasuriya fails to disclose the limitation of this claim, for which the reference of Lawler is now introduced to teach as:
the method, wherein the multi-modal communication aid based upon a new multi-modal communication aid created based upon an artificial intelligence decision made by the multi-modal communication module (Lawler: [0022] — a cognitive engine that operates as a machine assistant that automatically starts an action or completes an action (indicating an artificial intelligence decision being made to aid the user) to then transmit appropriate information to a human assistant (showing an aid provided based upon an artificial intelligence decision which a human/user may then accept); [0070] — employing artificial intelligence-based schemes (teaching of the cognitive engine being AI-based)).
The combination of Yapamanu in view of Bergenlid further in view of Balasuriya provides teaching for receiving a request for a multi-modal communication aid, but differs from the claimed invention in that the claimed invention further provides teaching for the communication aid being created based upon an artificial intelligence decision. This is however not new to the art as the reference of Lawler is seen to teach above.
Hence, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to improve upon the technique of the combination of Yapamanu in view of Bergenlid further in view of Balasuriya which provides a user making a request for a multi-modal communication aid, by applying the known teaching of Lawler where an artificial intelligence decision is created as an aid to the user, to thereby come up with the claimed invention. The combination of both prior art elements would have provided the predictable result of presenting the user with an adaptive system that is able to address certain needs of the user by making certain decisions regarding the user’s communication comfort without the user having to request it in the first place. See KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
As for claim 20, system claim 20 and method claim 8 are related as system and the method of using same, with each claimed element’s function corresponding to the claimed method step. Accordingly, claim 20 is similarly rejected under the same rationale as applied above with respect to method claim 8.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yapamanu US 2016/0062987 A1) in view of Bergenlid (US 2019/0036856 A1) further in view of Balasuriya (US 2003/0126330 A1) as applied to claim 14, and further in view of White et al. (US 10,742,817 B1: hereafter — White).
For claim 15, claim 14 is incorporated and as applied above, the combination of Yapamanu in view of Bergenlid further in view of Balasuriya fails to teach the limitation of this claim, for which the reference of White is now introduced to teach as the method, wherein the trigger can be included in a profile (White: Col 3 line 62 – Col 4 line 5, Col 4 lines 28–33, Col 5 lines 40–46 — having a trigger term associated with a moderator for the purpose of performing an action during a communication session; Col 2 lines 57–59 — accessing a moderator profile (indicating that the moderator’s profile contain the trigger terms/words)).
The combination of Yapamanu in view of Bergenlid further in view of Balasuriya provides teaching for requesting that a multimodal communication aid be used during a communication session based on receiving a trigger, but differs from the claimed invention in that the claimed invention further provides that the trigger can be included in a profile. This isn’t new to the art as the reference of White is seen to teach above.
Hence, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to improve upon the technique of the combination of Yapamanu in view of Bergenlid further in view of Balasuriya which provides for requesting that a multimodal communication aid be used during a communication session based on receiving a trigger, by applying the known teaching of White which provides that the request for the aid is associated with a profile, thereby coming up with the claimed invention. The combination of both prior art elements would have provided the predictable result of granting a communication participant with the ease of use of accessing communications assistance actions through words pre-stored in a profile, instead of having the user manipulate control buttons during the conversation. See KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure.
Eyster et al. (US 2021/10271928 A1) provides teaching for an AI machine learning video tracking model able to perform tasks or behaviours as defined by a human, dedicated to the training of a robot [0027].
Goh et al. (US 2022/0193538 A1) provides teaching for a player avatar performing actions that have been described by based on inputs received from a keyboard or mouse [0130].
Vajpayee et al. (US 2024/0242413 A1) provides teaching for avatar generation based on textual descriptions [0115].
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s Supervisor, PARAS D. SHAH can be reached at (571) 270-1650. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/OLUWADAMILOLA M OGUNBIYI/
Examiner, Art Unit 2653