DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I, encompassing claims 1-9, in the reply filed on 2/11/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 10-11 are withdrawn.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 8 are objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being substantial duplicate claims. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 8 recite the limitation "the opening". Claims 5 and 7 also recite the limitation of “the opening”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Appropriate correction/clarification is required. For the purpose of examination, “the opening” in the above claims will be interpreted as “the at least one opening”.
Due to the dependency to the parent claim, claims 2-7, and 9 are rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, and 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (1) as being anticipated by Mueller et al (PG-PUB US 2012/0111359).
Regarding claims 1 and 8, Mueller et al disclose a plasma generating apparatus (ABSTRACT). The apparatus comprises
(1) a plasma generator having an electrode system, wherein
(i) the plasma generator is provided in a body 6 having nozzles 7;
(ii) the electrode system is in the form of dielectric barrier discharge which includes a dielectric between electrodes for generating ozone; and
(iii) the generated ozone flows through the nozzles 7 (i.e., a plasma generator…in a housing having at least one opening, … a first electrode and a second electrode with a dielectric … ozone, … flows out of the at least one opening …, Figures 5-6, paragraphs [0012], & [0082] –[0083]); and
(2) a UV light source within the body configured to radiate the generated ozone to activate atomic oxygen (i.e., an ultraviolet light … active oxygen…, Figures 5-6, paragraphs [0082] –[0083]).
Regarding claim 2, Mueller teaches that the UV light source may have a wavelength of 254 nm (paragraph [0087]).
Regarding claim 3, the illuminance of the UV light is not a structural limitation, rather a process-limiting parameter, which does not differentiate the apparatus claim from the prior art (MPEP 2114).
Regarding claims 4, the amount of generated ozone is not a structural limitation, rather a process-limiting parameter, which does not differentiate the apparatus claim from the prior art (MPEP 2114).
Regarding claim 6, Muelle teaches that the UV light source 2 and the electrode system 1 for generating plasma are coupled to each other or to the orifice grid 3 (Figures 6-7).
Regarding claims 7 and 9, Mueller teaches that the object to be treated may be provided around the body 6 having the nozzles 7 and/or the object 4 is exposed to the UV light source 2 in a housing having orifice grid 4 (Figure 5-7, paragraphs [0082] – [0086]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mueller et al (PG-PUB US 2012/0111359) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Engemann et al (PG-PUB US 2008/0260578).
Regarding claim 5, Mueller teaches that the plasma generator includes an electrode system having a dielectric between electrodes (paragraphs [0012] & [0082]), but does not teach a portion of the dielectric not being covered by the first electrode or the claimed angle. However, Engemann et al disclose a plasma generating apparatus (ABSTRACT & paragraph [0033]). Engemann teaches that the apparatus comprises a dielectric 2 sandwiched between electrodes 1a – 1c, wherein a portion of the dielectric is not covered by the electrode and the extension line between an edge of the electrode to the uncovered dielectric forms an angle in a range of 0 to 90 degree relative to the horizontal line (Figure 2, paragraphs [0110] –[0111]). Engemann further indicates that such configuration can generate ozone and UV radiation for effective disinfection (paragraphs [0022], [0029], & [0123]).
Therefore, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to utilize an electrode system having a portion of the dielectric not covered by the electrodes as suggested by Engemann in order to generate ozone and UV radiation from surface discharge for improving disinfection within the device of Mueller.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 8 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 13 of co-pending Application No. 18/751455 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant applicant claims an apparatus comprises substantially the same elements as that of the co-pending application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1 and 8 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 7 of co-pending Application No. 18/751465 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant applicant claims an apparatus comprises substantially the same elements as that of the co-pending application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1 and 8 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 7-9, 13-15, and 17-18 of co-pending Application No. 18/751449 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant applicant claims an apparatus comprises substantially the same elements as that of the co-pending application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1 and 8 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 7 of co-pending Application No. 18/751480 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant applicant claims an apparatus comprises substantially the same elements as that of the co-pending application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1, 4, 6, and 8 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3, 5, and 8-9 of co-pending Application No. 18/751487 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant applicant claims an apparatus comprises substantially the same elements as that of the co-pending application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1 and 8 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 7-8 of co-pending Application No. 18/751500 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant applicant claims an apparatus comprises substantially the same elements as that of the co-pending application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1 and 8 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 5-6, 9, 12, and 15 of co-pending Application No. 18/751473(reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant applicant claims an apparatus comprises substantially the same elements as that of the co-pending application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1 and 8 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1of co-pending Application No. 18/186336 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant applicant claims an apparatus comprises substantially the same elements as that of the co-pending application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-4, and 8 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 of co-pending Application No. 18/090623 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant applicant claims an apparatus comprises substantially the same elements as that of the co-pending application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
Claims 1-9 are rejected. Claims 10-11 are withdrawn.
/XIUYU TAI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1795