Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed April 24th, 2026 does not place the application in condition for allowance.
The rejections over Chalasani et al. in view of Kaewert et al. are withdrawn due to Applicant’s amendment.
New rejections follow.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 8, and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chalasani et al. (US 2005/0077871 A1) in view of Ebrahimzadeh (US 10,393,822 B1) in view of Kaewert et al. (US 2024/0006901 A1) in view of Edmiston et al. (US 2012/0088171 A1).
In view of Claim 1, Chalasani et al. discloses a removable battery module for a rack system (Figure 2, #21), the rack system including at least one rack controller (Figure 1, #12), the removable battery module comprising:
at least one battery (Figure 1, #40-#46 & Paragraph 0014);
a communication interface configured to communicatively couple with the at least one rack controller (Figure 1, #25 & Paragraph 0014); and
a module controller (Figure 1, #24 & Paragraph 0014) configured to generate a current measurement (Paragraph 0016, 0018-0019) and report via the communication interface the current measurement for the SOC of the at least one battery to the at least one rack controller (Paragraph 0017 – provides information to the system control apparatus).
Chalasani et al. does not teach that the at least one battery provides power for the rack system before a backup generator provides power to the at least one rack system during a discharge event.
Ebrahimzadeh teaches at least one battery provides power for a rack system before a backup generator provides power to the rack system during a discharge event while ensuring that power is provided in worst-case scenario transition times (Figs. 2 & 5 – Column 7, Lines 61-67 through Column 8, Lines 1-20). Ebrahimzadeh discloses that this configuration can prolong the lifespan of the partial-use battery while maintaining required discharge duration and provided other various advantages (Column 5, Lines 9-37). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have the at least one battery provides power for the rack system before a backup generator provides power to the at least one rack system during a discharge event for the advantage of prolonging the lifespan of the batteries while maintaining the required discharge duration and other various advantages.
Chalasani et al. does not explicitly teach that the module controller is configured to estimate a state of charge of the at least one battery at startup; determine whether at least one trigger has occurred; wherein the at least one trigger comprises at least one of the estimated SOC of the at least one battery is greater than a threshold SOC and the at least one battery is in a float state; start a float timer in response to determining that the at least one trigger has occurred; generate a current estimate for the SOC of the at least one battery by increasing the estimated SOC over a remaining time of the float timer based on a float current; and report, via the communication interface, the current estimate for the SOC of the at least one battery to the at least one rack controller or determining the battery is charging and starting a charger timer in response to determining that the at least one battery is charging, measure charge current, increase, based on the charge current the estimated value of the SOC of the at least one battery; determine whether the at least one battery is in the float state or the at least one battery is greater than or equal to the threshold SOC; start a timer in response to determining that the at least one battery is in the float state or the at least one battery is greater than or equal to the threshold SOC, wherein the timer is equal to the float timer minus the charger timer.
Kaewert et al. teaches a module controller configured to estimate a value of a state of charge of the at least one battery at startup (Figs. 9-10, #130 & Paragraph 0116); determine whether at least one trigger has occurred (Figs. 9-10, Float Mode, Eco Mode, Refresh Mode, Boost Mode); start a float timer in response to determining that the at least one trigger has occurred (Paragraph 0118 – if the timing component increments beyond a pre-programmed time limit); generate a current estimate value for the SOC of the at least one battery by increasing the estimated value of the SOC over a remaining time of the float timer based on a float current (Paragraph 0040 – each tailored to achieve a desired charge status of the battery). Kaewert et al. teaches that one trigger is an estimated SOC greater than a threshold SOC (Paragraph 0041 – achieve a desired charge status); and at least one battery is in a float charge (Figs. 9-10, Float Mode).
Kaewert et al. teaches that the module controller is further configured to determine whether the at least one battery is charging (Paragraph 0016) measure in response to determine the at least one battery is charging a charge current (Paragraph 0016) and increase, based on the charge current, the estimated value for the SOC of the at least one battery while the at least one battery is charging (Paragraph 0025-0026, 0028, 0040), determine whether the at least one battery is in the float state (Fig. 9, float) or the battery being greater than or equal to the threshold SOC (Figs. 9-10 & Paragraph 0116).
Kaewert et al. teaches that this configuration advantageously minimizes variations in temperature, voltage, and state of charge between batteries so that all batteries in the system remain near the same state of health throughout the battery system's life (Paragraph 0014). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention as filed to have Chalasani et al. module controller is configured to estimate a state of charge of the at least one battery at startup; determine whether at least one trigger has occurred; wherein the at least one trigger comprises at least one of the estimated SOC of the at least one battery is greater than a threshold SOC and the at least one battery is in a float state; start a float timer in response to determining that the at least one trigger has occurred; generate a current estimate for the SOC of the at least one battery by increasing the estimated SOC over a remaining time of the float timer based on a float current; and report, via the communication interface, the current estimate for the SOC of the at least one battery to the at least one rack controller or determining the battery is charging and starting a charger timer in response to determining that the at least one battery is charging, measure charge current, increase, based on the charge current the estimated value of the SOC of the at least one battery; determine whether the at least one battery is in the float state or the at least one battery is greater than or equal to the threshold SOC; start a timer in response to determining that the at least one battery is in the float state or the at least one battery is greater than or equal to the threshold SOC for the advantages of minimizing variations in temperature, voltage, and state of charge between batteries so that all batteries in the system remain near the same state of health throughout the battery system's life.
Although Kaewert et al. discloses there is a charger timer, and a float timer, its not explicitly disclose that the timer in response to determining the at least one battery is in the float state or the at least one battery is greater than or equal to the threshold SOC such that the timer is equal to the float timer minus the charger timer.
Edmiston et al. teaches timers started in response to a battery being in a float state or greater than or equal to a threshold SOC (Paragraph 0059 & 0071). Edmiston et al. teaches that the timers may have periods of 5, 10, 30, 45, 60, 90, 120, 180, 240, 600 or 1000 seconds (Paragraph 0069) and that these timers may greater than, less than, or equal to each other (Paragraph 0097 – first and second stack timer conditions). Edmiston et al. teaches that this configuration enables a primary power system to satisfy the electrical requirements of an emerging consuming device and ensure gross/net power output is less than a threshold level for a threshold time period (Paragraph 0075). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have the at least one battery is in the float state or the at least one battery is greater than or equal to the threshold SOC such that the timer is equal to the float timer minus the charger timer for the advantages of ensuring that the gross/net power output is satisfied.
In view of Claim 4, Chalasani et al., Ebrahimzadeh, Kaewert et al., and Edmiston et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 1. Kaewert et al. teaches that the module controller is further configured to determine whether the at least one battery is discharging (Paragraph 0010-0011) measure in response to determine the at least one battery is discharging a discharging current (Paragraph 0016) and decrease, based on the discharge current, the current estimate for the SOC of the at least one battery while the at least one battery is discharging (Paragraph 0025-0026, 0028, 0040).
In view of Claim 8, Chalasani et al. discloses a method operable by a removable battery module for a rack system (Figure 2, #21), the rack system including at least one rack controller (Figure 1, #12), the removable battery module comprising:
at least one battery (Figure 1, #40-#46 & Paragraph 0014);
a communication interface configured to communicatively couple with the at least one rack controller (Figure 1, #25 & Paragraph 0014); and
a module controller (Figure 1, #24 & Paragraph 0014) configured to generate a current measurement (Paragraph 0016, 0018-0019) and report via the communication interface the current measurement for the SOC of the at least one battery to the at least one rack controller (Paragraph 0017 – provides information to the system control apparatus).
Chalasani et al. does not teach that the at least one battery provides power for the rack system before a backup generator provides power to the at least one rack system during a discharge event.
Ebrahimzadeh teaches at least one battery provides power for a rack system before a backup generator provides power to the rack system during a discharge event while ensuring that power is provided in worst-case scenario transition times (Figs. 2 & 5 – Column 7, Lines 61-67 through Column 8, Lines 1-20). Ebrahimzadeh discloses that this configuration can prolong the lifespan of the partial-use battery while maintaining required discharge duration and provided other various advantages (Column 5, Lines 9-37). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have the at least one battery provides power for the rack system before a backup generator provides power to the at least one rack system during a discharge event for the advantage of prolonging the lifespan of the batteries while maintaining the required discharge duration and other various advantages.
Chalasani et al. does not explicitly teach that the module controller is configured to estimate a state of charge of the at least one battery at startup; determine whether at least one trigger has occurred; wherein the at least one trigger comprises at least one of the estimated SOC of the at least one battery is greater than a threshold SOC and the at least one battery is in a float state; start a float timer in response to determining that the at least one trigger has occurred; generate a current estimate for the SOC of the at least one battery by increasing the estimated SOC over a remaining time of the float timer based on a float current; and report, via the communication interface, the current estimate for the SOC of the at least one battery to the at least one rack controller or determining the battery is charging and starting a charger timer in response to determining that the at least one battery is charging, measure charge current, increase, based on the charge current the estimated value of the SOC of the at least one battery; determine whether the at least one battery is in the float state or the at least one battery is greater than or equal to the threshold SOC; start a timer in response to determining that the at least one battery is in the float state or the at least one battery is greater than or equal to the threshold SOC, wherein the timer is equal to the float timer minus the charger timer.
Kaewert et al. teaches a module controller configured to estimate a value of a state of charge of the at least one battery at startup (Figs. 9-10, #130 & Paragraph 0116); determine whether at least one trigger has occurred (Figs. 9-10, Float Mode, Eco Mode, Refresh Mode, Boost Mode); start a float timer in response to determining that the at least one trigger has occurred (Paragraph 0118 – if the timing component increments beyond a pre-programmed time limit); generate a current estimate value for the SOC of the at least one battery by increasing the estimated value of the SOC over a remaining time of the float timer based on a float current (Paragraph 0040 – each tailored to achieve a desired charge status of the battery). Kaewert et al. teaches that one trigger is an estimated SOC greater than a threshold SOC (Paragraph 0041 – achieve a desired charge status); and at least one battery is in a float charge (Figs. 9-10, Float Mode).
Kaewert et al. teaches that the module controller is further configured to determine whether the at least one battery is charging (Paragraph 0016) measure in response to determine the at least one battery is charging a charge current (Paragraph 0016) and increase, based on the charge current, the estimated value for the SOC of the at least one battery while the at least one battery is charging (Paragraph 0025-0026, 0028, 0040), determine whether the at least one battery is in the float state (Fig. 9, float) or the battery being greater than or equal to the threshold SOC (Figs. 9-10 & Paragraph 0116).
Kaewert et al. teaches that this configuration advantageously minimizes variations in temperature, voltage, and state of charge between batteries so that all batteries in the system remain near the same state of health throughout the battery system's life (Paragraph 0014). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention as filed to have Chalasani et al. module controller is configured to estimate a state of charge of the at least one battery at startup; determine whether at least one trigger has occurred; wherein the at least one trigger comprises at least one of the estimated SOC of the at least one battery is greater than a threshold SOC and the at least one battery is in a float state; start a float timer in response to determining that the at least one trigger has occurred; generate a current estimate for the SOC of the at least one battery by increasing the estimated SOC over a remaining time of the float timer based on a float current; and report, via the communication interface, the current estimate for the SOC of the at least one battery to the at least one rack controller or determining the battery is charging and starting a charger timer in response to determining that the at least one battery is charging, measure charge current, increase, based on the charge current the estimated value of the SOC of the at least one battery; determine whether the at least one battery is in the float state or the at least one battery is greater than or equal to the threshold SOC; start a timer in response to determining that the at least one battery is in the float state or the at least one battery is greater than or equal to the threshold SOC for the advantages of minimizing variations in temperature, voltage, and state of charge between batteries so that all batteries in the system remain near the same state of health throughout the battery system's life.
Although Kaewert et al. discloses there is a charger timer, and a float timer, its not explicitly disclose that the timer in response to determining the at least one battery is in the float state or the at least one battery is greater than or equal to the threshold SOC such that the timer is equal to the float timer minus the charger timer.
Edmiston et al. teaches timers started in response to a battery being in a float state or greater than or equal to a threshold SOC (Paragraph 0059 & 0071). Edmiston et al. teaches that the timers may have periods of 5, 10, 30, 45, 60, 90, 120, 180, 240, 600 or 1000 seconds (Paragraph 0069) and that these timers may greater than, less than, or equal to each other (Paragraph 0097 – first and second stack timer conditions). Edmiston et al. teaches that this configuration enables a primary power system to satisfy the electrical requirements of an emerging consuming device and ensure gross/net power output is less than a threshold level for a threshold time period (Paragraph 0075). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have the at least one battery is in the float state or the at least one battery is greater than or equal to the threshold SOC such that the timer is equal to the float timer minus the charger timer for the advantages of ensuring that the gross/net power output is satisfied.
In view of Claim 11, Chalasani et al., Ebrahimzadeh, Kaewert et al., and Edmiston et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 8. Kaewert et al. teaches that the module controller is further configured to determine whether the at least one battery is discharging (Paragraph 0010-0011) measure in response to determine the at least one battery is discharging a discharging current (Paragraph 0016) and decrease, based on the discharge current, the current estimate for the SOC of the at least one battery while the at least one battery is discharging (Paragraph 0025-0026, 0028, 0040).
In view of Claim 12, Chalasani et al., Ebrahimzadeh, Kaewert et al., and Edmiston et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 8. Kaewert et al. teaches that the module controller is further configured to determine whether the at least one battery is charging (Paragraph 0016) measure in response to determine the at least one battery is charging a charge current (Paragraph 0016) and increase, based on the charge current, the current estimate for the SOC of the at least one battery while the at least one battery is charging (Paragraph 0025-0026, 0028, 0040).
Claims 15, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rearick et al. (US 2020/0205309 A1) in view of Chalasani et al. (US 2005/0077871 A1) in view of Ebrahimzadeh (US 10,393,822 B1) in view of Kaewert et al. (US 2024/0006901 A1) in view of Edmiston et al. (US 2012/0088171 A1).
In view of Claim 15, Rearick et al. teaches a rack system (Fig. 1) comprising:
a mounting frame configured to mount rack-mount equipment within an interior portion of the rack system (Figs. 9-10, central open portion may have devices mounted within edge modules);
the mounting frame extending along at least a portion of a height of the rack system (Fig. 2);
at least one rack controller disposed within a peripheral portion of the rack system, the peripheral portion disposed external to the interior portion and extending along at least a portion of the mounting frame (Figs. 9-10, either #900 or edge modules can comprise controllers – Paragraph 0037-0038 microcontrollers/controlling circuitry etc.);
at least one removable battery disposed within the peripheral portion (Figs. 1-10 – any of the portions may have a slidable removable battery – Paragraph 0033).
Rearick et al. does not disclose explicitly that each removable battery comprises the limitation required of claim 15.
Chalasani et al. discloses a removable battery module for a rack system (Figure 2, #21), the removable battery module comprising:
at least one battery (Figure 1, #40-#46 & Paragraph 0014);
a communication interface configured to communicatively couple with the at least one rack controller (Figure 1, #25 & Paragraph 0014); and
a module controller (Figure 1, #24 & Paragraph 0014) configured to generate a current measurement (Paragraph 0016, 0018-0019) and report via the communication interface the current measurement for the SOC of the at least one battery to the at least one rack controller (Paragraph 0017 – provides information to the system control apparatus).
Chalasani et al. does not teach that the at least one battery provides power for the rack system before a backup generator provides power to the at least one rack system during a discharge event.
Ebrahimzadeh teaches at least one battery provides power for a rack system before a backup generator provides power to the rack system during a discharge event while ensuring that power is provided in worst-case scenario transition times (Figs. 2 & 5 – Column 7, Lines 61-67 through Column 8, Lines 1-20). Ebrahimzadeh discloses that this configuration can prolong the lifespan of the partial-use battery while maintaining required discharge duration and provided other various advantages (Column 5, Lines 9-37). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have the at least one battery provides power for the rack system before a backup generator provides power to the at least one rack system during a discharge event for the advantage of prolonging the lifespan of the batteries while maintaining the required discharge duration and other various advantages.
Chalasani et al. does not explicitly teach that the module controller is configured to estimate a state of charge of the at least one battery at startup; determine whether at least one trigger has occurred; wherein the at least one trigger comprises at least one of the estimated SOC of the at least one battery is greater than a threshold SOC and the at least one battery is in a float state; start a float timer in response to determining that the at least one trigger has occurred; generate a current estimate for the SOC of the at least one battery by increasing the estimated SOC over a remaining time of the float timer based on a float current; and report, via the communication interface, the current estimate for the SOC of the at least one battery to the at least one rack controller or determining the battery is charging and starting a charger timer in response to determining that the at least one battery is charging, measure charge current, increase, based on the charge current the estimated value of the SOC of the at least one battery; determine whether the at least one battery is in the float state or the at least one battery is greater than or equal to the threshold SOC; start a timer in response to determining that the at least one battery is in the float state or the at least one battery is greater than or equal to the threshold SOC, wherein the timer is equal to the float timer minus the charger timer.
Kaewert et al. teaches a module controller configured to estimate a value of a state of charge of the at least one battery at startup (Figs. 9-10, #130 & Paragraph 0116); determine whether at least one trigger has occurred (Figs. 9-10, Float Mode, Eco Mode, Refresh Mode, Boost Mode); start a float timer in response to determining that the at least one trigger has occurred (Paragraph 0118 – if the timing component increments beyond a pre-programmed time limit); generate a current estimate value for the SOC of the at least one battery by increasing the estimated value of the SOC over a remaining time of the float timer based on a float current (Paragraph 0040 – each tailored to achieve a desired charge status of the battery). Kaewert et al. teaches that one trigger is an estimated SOC greater than a threshold SOC (Paragraph 0041 – achieve a desired charge status); and at least one battery is in a float charge (Figs. 9-10, Float Mode).
Kaewert et al. teaches that the module controller is further configured to determine whether the at least one battery is charging (Paragraph 0016) measure in response to determine the at least one battery is charging a charge current (Paragraph 0016) and increase, based on the charge current, the estimated value for the SOC of the at least one battery while the at least one battery is charging (Paragraph 0025-0026, 0028, 0040), determine whether the at least one battery is in the float state (Fig. 9, float) or the battery being greater than or equal to the threshold SOC (Figs. 9-10 & Paragraph 0116).
Kaewert et al. teaches that this configuration advantageously minimizes variations in temperature, voltage, and state of charge between batteries so that all batteries in the system remain near the same state of health throughout the battery system's life (Paragraph 0014). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention as filed to have Chalasani et al. module controller is configured to estimate a state of charge of the at least one battery at startup; determine whether at least one trigger has occurred; wherein the at least one trigger comprises at least one of the estimated SOC of the at least one battery is greater than a threshold SOC and the at least one battery is in a float state; start a float timer in response to determining that the at least one trigger has occurred; generate a current estimate for the SOC of the at least one battery by increasing the estimated SOC over a remaining time of the float timer based on a float current; and report, via the communication interface, the current estimate for the SOC of the at least one battery to the at least one rack controller or determining the battery is charging and starting a charger timer in response to determining that the at least one battery is charging, measure charge current, increase, based on the charge current the estimated value of the SOC of the at least one battery; determine whether the at least one battery is in the float state or the at least one battery is greater than or equal to the threshold SOC; start a timer in response to determining that the at least one battery is in the float state or the at least one battery is greater than or equal to the threshold SOC for the advantages of minimizing variations in temperature, voltage, and state of charge between batteries so that all batteries in the system remain near the same state of health throughout the battery system's life.
Although Kaewert et al. discloses there is a charger timer, and a float timer, its not explicitly disclose that the timer in response to determining the at least one battery is in the float state or the at least one battery is greater than or equal to the threshold SOC such that the timer is equal to the float timer minus the charger timer.
Edmiston et al. teaches timers started in response to a battery being in a float state or greater than or equal to a threshold SOC (Paragraph 0059 & 0071). Edmiston et al. teaches that the timers may have periods of 5, 10, 30, 45, 60, 90, 120, 180, 240, 600 or 1000 seconds (Paragraph 0069) and that these timers may greater than, less than, or equal to each other (Paragraph 0097 – first and second stack timer conditions). Edmiston et al. teaches that this configuration enables a primary power system to satisfy the electrical requirements of an emerging consuming device and ensure gross/net power output is less than a threshold level for a threshold time period (Paragraph 0075). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have the at least one battery is in the float state or the at least one battery is greater than or equal to the threshold SOC such that the timer is equal to the float timer minus the charger timer for the advantages of ensuring that the gross/net power output is satisfied.
In view of Claim 18, Rearick et al., Chalasani et al., Ebrahimzadeh, Kaewert et al., and Edmiston et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 15. Kaewert et al. teaches that the module controller is further configured to determine whether the at least one battery is discharging (Paragraph 0010-0011) measure in response to determine the at least one battery is discharging a discharging current (Paragraph 0016) and decrease, based on the discharge current, the current estimate for the SOC of the at least one battery while the at least one battery is discharging (Paragraph 0025-0026, 0028, 0040).
In view of Claim 19, Rearick et al., Chalasani et al., Ebrahimzadeh, Kaewert et al., and Edmiston et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 15. Kaewert et al. teaches that the module controller is further configured to determine whether the at least one battery is charging (Paragraph 0016) measure in response to determine the at least one battery is charging a charge current (Paragraph 0016) and increase, based on the charge current, the current estimate for the SOC of the at least one battery while the at least one battery is charging (Paragraph 0025-0026, 0028, 0040).
Claims 2-3, 7, 9-10, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chalasani et al. (US 2005/0077871 A1) in view of Ebrahimzadeh (US 10,393,822 B1) in view of Kaewert et al. (US 2024/0006901 A1) in view of Edmiston et al. (US 2012/0088171 A1) in view of Lee et al. (US 2022/0069371 A1).
In view of Claim 2, Chalasani et al., Ebrahimzadeh, Kaewert et al., and Edmiston et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 1. Kaewert et al. teaches why it is obvious that the module controller is further configured to determine that the float timer has expired (Paragraph 0116) and that the controller can set the current estimate for the SOC of the battery (Paragraph 0040), but does not explicitly teach that its 100%.
Lee et al. teaches that the value can be set to 100% in order to be used as a reference value that becomes comparison criterion for the DOC of the battery module estimated later (Paragraph 0066). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have the value be 100% in order to be used as a reference value that becomes comparison criterion for the DOC of the battery module estimated later.
In view of Claim 3, Chalasani et al., Ebrahimzadeh, Kaewert et al., Edmiston et al., and Lee et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 2. Kaewert et al. teaches that the module controller is configured to perform an equalization charge on the at least one battery in response to determining that the float timer has expired (Paragraph 0016).
In view of Claim 7, Chalasani et al., Ebrahimzadeh, Edmiston et al., and Kaewert et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 1. Kaewert et al. teaches why it is obvious that the module controller is further configured to determine that the float timer has expired (Paragraph 0116) and that the controller can set the current estimate for the SOC of the battery (Paragraph 0040), but does not explicitly teach that the threshold SOC is greater than 80%.
Lee et al. teaches that the value can be set to 100% in order to be used as a reference value that becomes comparison criterion for the DOC of the battery module estimated later (Paragraph 0066). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have the value be 100% in order to be used as a threshold value that becomes comparison criterion for the DOC of the battery module estimated later.
In view of Claim 9, Chalasani et al., Ebrahimzadeh, Kaewert et al., and Edmiston et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 8. Kaewert et al. teaches why it is obvious that the module controller is further configured to determine that the float timer has expired (Paragraph 0116) and that the controller can set the current estimate for the SOC of the battery (Paragraph 0040), but does not explicitly teach that its 100%.
Lee et al. teaches that the value can be set to 100% in order to be used as a reference value that becomes comparison criterion for the DOC of the battery module estimated later (Paragraph 0066). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have the value be 100% in order to be used as a reference value that becomes comparison criterion for the DOC of the battery module estimated later.
In view of Claim 10, Chalasani et al., Kaewert et al., and Lee et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 9. Kaewert et al. teaches that the module controller is configured to perform an equalization charge on the at least one battery in response to determining that the float timer has expired (Paragraph 0016).
In view of Claim 14 Chalasani et al., Ebrahimzadeh, Kaewert et al., and Edmiston et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 13. Kaewert et al. teaches why it is obvious that the module controller is further configured to determine that the float timer has expired (Paragraph 0116) and that the controller can set the current estimate for the SOC of the battery (Paragraph 0040), but does not explicitly teach that its 100%.
Lee et al. teaches that the value can be set to 100% in order to be used as a reference value that becomes comparison criterion for the DOC of the battery module estimated later (Paragraph 0066). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have the value be 100% in order to be used as a reference value that becomes comparison criterion for the DOC of the battery module estimated later.
Claims 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rearick et al. (US 2020/0205309 A1) Chalasani et al. (US 2005/0077871 A1) in view of Ebrahimzadeh (US 10,393,822 B1) in view of Kaewert et al. (US 2024/0006901 A1) in view of Edmiston et al. (US 2012/0088171 A1) in view of Lee et al. (US 2022/0069371 A1).
In view of Claim 16, Rearick et al., Chalasani et al., Ebrahimzadeh, Kaewert et al., and Edmiston et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 15. Kaewert et al. teaches why it is obvious that the module controller is further configured to determine that the float timer has expired (Paragraph 0116) and that the controller can set the current estimate for the SOC of the battery (Paragraph 0040), but does not explicitly teach that its 100%.
Lee et al. teaches that the value can be set to 100% in order to be used as a reference value that becomes comparison criterion for the DOC of the battery module estimated later (Paragraph 0066). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have the value be 100% in order to be used as a reference value that becomes comparison criterion for the DOC of the battery module estimated later.
In view of Claim 17, Rearick et al., Chalasani et al., Ebrahimzadeh, Kaewert et al., and Edmiston et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 16. Kaewert et al. teaches that the module controller is configured to perform an equalization charge on the at least one battery in response to determining that the float timer has expired (Paragraph 0016).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the new grounds for rejection being used in the current rejection.
Conclusion
/DANIEL P MALLEY JR./Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1726