DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species I in the reply filed on 10/31/2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that all the claims are generic to Species I and II. This is found persuasive; therefore, the requirement is withdrawn.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) was submitted on 3/17/2023. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 18 recites “an indication”, “an amount”, and “a soap reservoir” in lines 2-3. It is unclear if this language is referring to the indication, the amount, and the soap reservoir recited in claim 10, or additional features. For examination purposes, “an indication”, “an amount”, and “a soap reservoir” in claim 18 is interpreted to refer to the limitations recited in claim 10.
Any remaining dependent claim(s) are indefinite insofar as they depend on a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-9, 11-12, 14-17, 19-20, and 22-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Veros (US 20130186196).
Regarding claim 1, Veros discloses a capacitive sensing faucet system comprising:
a water faucet (10) including an electrically operable valve (22; ¶ 0023) and a capacitive sensor (26, 28, 40A-G, 52);
a soap dispenser (50, 55) including a soap pump (55) and operably coupled to the capacitive sensor (see Fig. 2); and
a controller (24) in electrical communication with the capacitive sensor, the controller configured to receive output signals from the capacitive sensor (¶ 0003, 0023-0035; see Fig. 3) and to activate either the water faucet or the soap pump to dispense water or soap (¶ 0023-0035), respectively, based on levels of the output signals from the capacitive sensor measured on the water faucet and the soap dispenser (¶ 0003, 0023-0035; see Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 2, Veros discloses the water faucet includes a faucet spout (12) having at least a portion formed of a conductive material (see claims 16-17; ¶ 0009, 0023-0035).
Regarding claim 3, Veros discloses the soap dispenser includes a dispenser spout (¶ 0033) having at least a portion formed of a conductive material (see claims 16-17; ¶ 0009, 0023, 0025, 0035).
Regarding claim 5, Veros discloses the soap pump is configured to be adjusted to change soap volume dispensed per activation (¶ 0033).
Regarding claim 6, Veros discloses the controller is configured to detect the movement of a user's hand based upon the output signals from the capacitive sensor as measured on the water faucet and the soap dispenser (¶ 0003, 0023-0035; see Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 7, Veros discloses the controller is configured to detect the movement of a user's hand by comparing a ratio of output signals from the capacitive sensor as measured on the water faucet and the soap dispenser (¶ 0003, 0023-0035; see Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 8, Veros discloses soap pump priming is configured to be activated by touching at least one of the water faucet and the soap dispenser in a specific sequence (¶ 0033), such that the output signals from the capacitive sensor cause the controller to activate the soap pump for as long as the user is touching the at least one of the water faucet and the soap dispenser subject to a timer (¶ 0033).
Regarding claim 9, Veros discloses a lockout mode is configured to be activated by touching or holding one or both of the water faucet and soap dispenser in a specific sequence (¶ 0033), such that the output signals from the capacitive sensor cause the controller to disable the electrically operable valve or the soap pump, respectively (¶ 0033).
Regarding claim 11, Veros discloses a capacitive sensing faucet system comprising:
a water faucet (10) including a faucet spout (12) defining a water outlet (outlet of 12), and an electrically operable valve (22; ¶ 0023) fluidly coupled to the water outlet (see Fig. 2);
a soap dispenser (50, 55) including a dispenser spout (¶ 0033) defining a soap outlet (outlet of the dispenser spout, ¶ 0033), and a soap pump (55) fluidly coupled to the soap outlet (see Fig. 2);
a capacitive sensor (26, 28, 40A-G, 52) operably coupled to the faucet spout and the dispenser spout (see Fig. 2);
a controller (24) operably coupled to the capacitive sensor (see Fig. 2), the controller configured to receive a capacitive faucet signal and a capacitive soap signal from the capacitive sensor (¶ 0023-0035);
wherein the controller calculates a signal ratio between the capacitive faucet signal and the capacitive soap signal to determine the location of a user's hand relative to the faucet spout and the dispenser spout (¶ 0003, 0023-0035; see Fig. 3); and
wherein the controller activates one of the electrically operable valve of the water faucet or the soap pump of the soap dispenser based upon the signal ratio (¶ 0003, 0023-0035; see Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 12, Veros discloses the faucet spout includes at least a portion formed of a conductive material (see claims 16-17; ¶ 0009, 0023, 0025, 0035), and the dispensing spout includes at least a portion formed of a conductive material (see claims 16-17; ¶ 0009, 0023, 0025, 0035).
Regarding claim 14, Veros discloses the controller is configured to detect the movement of the user's hand by calculating changes in the signal ratio (¶ 0003, 0023-0035).
Regarding claim 15, Veros discloses activation of one of the electrically operable valve of the water faucet or the soap pump of the soap dispenser depends upon the changes in the signal ratio (¶ 0003, 0023-0035).
Regarding claim 16, Veros discloses soap pump priming is configured to be activated by touching at least one of the water faucet and the soap dispenser in a specific sequence (¶ 0033), such that the output signals from the capacitive sensor cause the controller to activate the soap pump for as long as the user is touching the at least one of the water faucet and the soap dispenser subject to a timer (¶ 0033).
Regarding claim 17, Veros discloses a lockout mode is configured to be activated by touching or holding one or both of the water faucet and soap dispenser in a specific sequence (¶ 0033), such that the output signals from the capacitive sensor cause the controller to disable the electrically operable valve or the soap pump, respectively ((¶ 0033).
Regarding claim 19, Veros discloses a capacitive sensing faucet system comprising:
a water faucet (10) including a faucet spout (12) defining a water outlet (outlet of 12), and an electrically operable valve (22; ¶ 0023) fluidly coupled to the water outlet (see Fig. 2);
a soap dispenser (50, 55) including a dispenser spout (¶ 0033) defining a soap outlet (outlet of the dispenser spout, ¶ 0033), and a soap pump (55) fluidly coupled to the soap outlet (see Fig. 2);
a capacitive sensor (26, 28, 40A-G, 52) operably coupled to the faucet spout and the dispenser spout (see Fig. 2);
a controller (24) operably coupled to the capacitive sensor, the controller configured to receive a capacitive faucet signal and a capacitive soap signal from the capacitive sensor (¶ 0023-0035);
wherein the controller calculates a signal ratio between the capacitive faucet signal and the capacitive soap signal to determine the location of a user's hand relative to the faucet spout and the dispenser spout (¶ 0003, 0023-0035; see Fig. 3), and detects the movement of the user's hand by calculating changes in the signal ratio (¶ 0003, 0023-0035; see Fig. 3); and
wherein the controller activates one of the electrically operable valve of the water faucet or the soap pump of the soap dispenser based upon the signal ratio, and the changes in the signal ratio (¶ 0003, 0023-0035; see Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 20, Veros discloses the faucet spout includes at least a portion formed of a conductive material (see claims 16-17; ¶ 0009, 0023, 0025, 0035), and the dispensing spout includes at least a portion formed of a conductive material (see claims 16-17; ¶ 0009, 0023, 0025, 0035).
Regarding claim 22, Veros discloses soap pump priming is configured to be activated by touching at least one of the water faucet and the soap dispenser in a specific sequence (¶ 0033), such that the output signals from the capacitive sensor cause the controller to activate the soap pump for as long as the user is touching the at least one of the water faucet and the soap dispenser subject to a timer (¶ 0033).
Regarding claim 23, Veros discloses a lockout mode is configured to be activated by touching or holding one or both of the water faucet and soap dispenser in a specific sequence (¶ 0033), such that the output signals from the capacitive sensor cause the controller to disable the electrically operable valve or the soap pump, respectively (¶ 0033).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 13, and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Veros (US 20130186196) in view of Marty (US 7997301) and Rosko (US 9271613).
Regarding claim 4, Veros discloses substantially all of the elements of the present invention as stated above in the rejection of claim 3.
Veros further discloses a faucet mount (mount of 12, 14); a dispenser mount (mount of 50) electrically coupled to the dispenser spout (see Fig. 2); a connecting cable (56, 58) electrically coupling the faucet mount with the dispenser mount (via 24; see Fig. 2); and a signal cable (42) electrically coupling the faucet mount to the controller (see Fig. 2); however, Veros does not explicitly disclose the water faucet further includes a faucet mounting shank electrically coupled to the faucet spout; the soap dispenser further includes a dispenser mounting shank extending downwardly from the dispenser spout and electrically coupled to the dispenser spout; a faucet mount electrically coupled to the faucet mounting shank as claimed.
Marty discloses a spout assembly for an electronic faucet wherein the water faucet further includes a faucet mounting shank (528) extending downwardly from the faucet spout (110) and electrically coupled to the faucet spout (via 120); a faucet mount (112) electrically coupled to the faucet mounting shank (see Fig. 7). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the water faucet of Veros, to include a faucet mounting shank and a faucet mount as claimed, as taught by Marty, in order to prevent or minimize the strain exerted on the electrical cable within the delivery spout (col. 8, ll. 49-61).
Rosko discloses an electronic soap dispenser wherein the soap dispenser further includes a dispenser mounting shank (24) extending downwardly from the dispenser spout (14) and electrically coupled to the dispenser spout (col. 5, l. 66 - col. 6, l. 18). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the soap dispenser of Veros, to include a dispenser mounting shank as claimed, as taught by Rosko, in order to maintain electrical communication as the dispensing head is rotated (col. 5, l. 66 - col. 6, l. 18).
Regarding claim 13, Veros discloses substantially all of the elements of the present invention as stated above in the rejection of claim 12.
Veros further discloses a faucet mount (mount of 12, 14); a dispenser mount (mount of 50) electrically coupled to the dispenser spout (see Fig. 2); a connecting cable (56, 58) electrically coupling the faucet mount with the dispenser mount (via 24; see Fig. 2); and a signal cable (42) electrically coupling the faucet mount to the controller (see Fig. 2); however, Veros does not explicitly disclose the water faucet further includes a faucet mounting shank electrically coupled to the faucet spout; the soap dispenser further includes a dispenser mounting shank extending downwardly from the dispenser spout and electrically coupled to the dispenser spout; a faucet mount electrically coupled to the faucet mounting shank as claimed.
Marty discloses a spout assembly for an electronic faucet wherein the water faucet further includes a faucet mounting shank (528) extending downwardly from the faucet spout (110) and electrically coupled to the faucet spout (via 120); a faucet mount (112) electrically coupled to the faucet mounting shank (see Fig. 7). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the water faucet of Veros, to include a faucet mounting shank and a faucet mount as claimed, as taught by Marty, in order to prevent or minimize the strain exerted on the electrical cable within the delivery spout (col. 8, ll. 49-61).
Rosko discloses an electronic soap dispenser wherein the soap dispenser further includes a dispenser mounting shank (24) extending downwardly from the dispenser spout (14) and electrically coupled to the dispenser spout (col. 5, l. 66 - col. 6, l. 18). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the soap dispenser of Veros, to include a dispenser mounting shank as claimed, as taught by Rosko, in order to maintain electrical communication as the dispensing head is rotated (col. 5, l. 66 - col. 6, l. 18).
Regarding claim 21, Veros discloses substantially all of the elements of the present invention as stated above in the rejection of claim 20.
Veros further discloses a faucet mount (mount of 12, 14); a dispenser mount (mount of 50) electrically coupled to the dispenser spout (see Fig. 2); a connecting cable (56, 58) electrically coupling the faucet mount with the dispenser mount (via 24; see Fig. 2); and a signal cable (42) electrically coupling the faucet mount to the controller (see Fig. 2); however, Veros does not explicitly disclose the water faucet further includes a faucet mounting shank electrically coupled to the faucet spout; the soap dispenser further includes a dispenser mounting shank extending downwardly from the dispenser spout and electrically coupled to the dispenser spout; a faucet mount electrically coupled to the faucet mounting shank as claimed.
Marty discloses a spout assembly for an electronic faucet wherein the water faucet further includes a faucet mounting shank (528) extending downwardly from the faucet spout (110) and electrically coupled to the faucet spout (via 120); a faucet mount (112) electrically coupled to the faucet mounting shank (see Fig. 7). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the water faucet of Veros, to include a faucet mounting shank and a faucet mount as claimed, as taught by Marty, in order to prevent or minimize the strain exerted on the electrical cable within the delivery spout (col. 8, ll. 49-61).
Rosko discloses an electronic soap dispenser wherein the soap dispenser further includes a dispenser mounting shank (24) extending downwardly from the dispenser spout (14) and electrically coupled to the dispenser spout (col. 5, l. 66 - col. 6, l. 18). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the soap dispenser of Veros, to include a dispenser mounting shank as claimed, as taught by Rosko, in order to maintain electrical communication as the dispensing head is rotated (col. 5, l. 66 - col. 6, l. 18).
Claim(s) 10, 18, and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Veros (US 20130186196) in view of Loberger (US 20200046172).
Regarding claim 10, Veros discloses substantially all of the elements of the present invention as stated above in the rejection of claim 1.
However, Veros does not disclose the output signal measured from the soap dispenser provides an indication to the user of an amount of soap stored in a soap reservoir as claimed.
Loberger discloses a multi-function fixture for a lavatory system wherein the output signal (314) measured from the soap dispenser provides an indication (305) to the user of an amount of soap stored in a soap reservoir (310; ¶ 0106, 0121). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the system of Veros, such that the output signal measured from the soap dispenser provides an indication to the user of an amount of soap stored in a soap reservoir as claimed, as taught by Loberger, in order to indicate the soap level is low (¶ 0106, 0121).
Regarding claim 18, the combination above and specifically Loberger further discloses the output signal (314) measured from the soap dispenser provides an indication (305) to the user of an amount of soap stored in a soap reservoir (310; ¶ 0106, 0121).
Regarding claim 24, Veros discloses substantially all of the elements of the present invention as stated above in the rejection of claim 19.
However, Veros does not disclose the output signal measured from the soap dispenser provides an indication to the user of an amount of soap stored in a soap reservoir as claimed.
Loberger discloses a multi-function fixture for a lavatory system wherein the output signal (314) measured from the soap dispenser provides an indication (305) to the user of an amount of soap stored in a soap reservoir (310; ¶ 0106, 0121). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the system of Veros, such that the output signal measured from the soap dispenser provides an indication to the user of an amount of soap stored in a soap reservoir as claimed, as taught by Loberger, in order to indicate the soap level is low (¶ 0106, 0121).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record in the PTO-892 form and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Gauthier (US 5966753) is directed to the state of the art as disclosing a method and apparatus for properly sequenced hand washing including a communication link (114), a faucet sensor (150), a soap dispenser sensor (156), a soap dispenser board (154), a faucet control board (148), and a solenoid valve control (152).
WILLIAM R. KLOTZ
Examiner
Art Unit 3754
/DAVID P ANGWIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3754