DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 & 13-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fuji (US20180366786).
Regarding Claim 1, Fuji discloses an electrochemical device (lithium-ion secondary battery, [0018]), comprising:
An electrode assembly (battery element includes electrode assembly, [0050]), wherein the electrode assembly comprises a body portion (portion of battery element with positive electrode-10 and negative electrode-30 act as body portion, Fig. 4, [0058]) and a first metal portion (positive electrode-tab 113 and uncoated positive current collector-11 act as first metal portion, Fig. 4, [0057]), the body portion comprises a first surface and a second surface opposite to the first surface (First surface is side defined by positive electrode active material layer flat part-121, and first part-124, Fig. 2, and second surface is side opposite side of positive electrode-10, Fig. 2, [0048], [0054]), and the first metal portion comprises a third surface and a fourth surface opposite to the third surface (third and fourth surfaces are opposite sides of the positive electrode tab, Fig. 6), the body portion comprises a first part and a second part in a first direction (first/third part-122 acts as first part, and active material flat parts-121 act as second part, Fig. 7), the first part is electrically connected to the first metal portion (positive current collector-11 connect to tab, Fig. 6, [0048]), a junction between the first part and a first metal portion is a fist boundary line (end of active material thin part-124 acts as first boundary line, Fig. 7, [0048]) and a junction between the first part and second part is a second boundary line (start end-123/323 act as second boundary line, [0065]), a thickness of the first part is h mm, a thickness of the second part is H mm and is a constant, and h is less than H (positive active material gradually thins where second part is thicker than first part, [0049], Fig. 7); and
A first adhesive tape, wherein the first adhesive tape comprises a first tape edge and a third edge tape opposite to the first tape edge, the first adhesive tape is disposed on the first surface of the first part and the third surface of the first metal portion; and viewed from a direction perpendicular to the first surface of the second part, the first tape edge is located between the first boundary line and second boundary line (insulating member-13, [0050], can be made of adhesive, [0028], has first tape edge and third edge tape, Fig. 7).
Fuji further discloses wherein the electrode assembly further comprises a first electrode plate, and a plurality of first tabs connected to the first electrode plate constitute the first metal portion (under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim language in view of the instant specifications, the first electrode plate can include every positive electrode plate, as the instant specification define the plurality of tabs as the individual tabs that extend from each positive electrode plate-10, therefore Fuji discloses a plurality of tabs, uncoated part-112 acts as tab, connected to the first electrode plate, positive material layer-12, [0048]).
Fuji does not directly disclose wherein the electrochemical device satisfies the following relation:
0.47 X H ≤ 0.5 X (T1 + t1) ≤ 0.52 X H
Wherein T1 mm is a thickness of the first part corresponding to the first tape edge, and t1 mm is a thickness of the first adhesive tape.
Fuji discloses wherein the electrode active material thickness can range from 50 to 80 um ([0037]). Fuji further discloses wherein the insulating member can have a thickness of 30 um ([0070]). Fuji further discloses wherein the metal layer, that forms the first part, is in a range of 30 um to 50um ([0046]). Fuji further discloses wherein the electrode active material has a thin part and flat part where the thin part becomes thinner than the flat portion ([0028]).
It is the examiner’s position that because Fuji teaches that the thickness of the electrode active material can be adjusted, which affects the value of H, and the thickness of the insulating member determines the thickness of the t-1 and T-1 is thickness smaller than the electrode active material thickness, that it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art using the disclosure of Fuji to have wherein the electrochemical device satisfies the following relation: 0.47 X H ≤ 0.5 X (T1 + t1) ≤ 0.52 X H; wherein T1 mm is a thickness of the first part corresponding to the first tape edge, and t1 mm is a thickness of the first adhesive tape.
Regarding Claim 2, Fuji discloses the limitations as set forth above. Fuji further discloses wherein the electrochemical device further comprises a second adhesive tape, the second adhesive tape comprises a second tape edge, the second adhesive tape is disposed on the second surface of the first part; and viewed from a direction perpendicular to the second surface of the second part, the second part, the second tape edge is located between the first boundary line and the second boundary line (insulating member-13 has two adhesive tapes with identical structure with one of the first surface and one on the second surface, Fig. 6/7, [0050]).
Regarding Claim 4, Fuji discloses the limitations as set forth above. Fuji does not directly disclose wherein the electrochemical device satisfies the following relation:
0.47 X H ≤ 0.5 X (T1 T2 + t1 + t2) ≤ 0.52 X H
Wherein T1 mm is a thickness of the first part corresponding to the first tape edge, T2 mm is a thickness of the first part corresponding to the second tape edge, and t1 mm is a thickness of the first adhesive tape, and t2 mm is a thickness of the second adhesive tape.
Fuji discloses wherein the electrode active material thickness can range from 50 to 80 um ([0037]). Fuji further discloses wherein the insulating member can have a thickness of 30 um ([0070]). Fuji further discloses wherein the electrode active material has a thin part and flat part where the thin part becomes thinner than the flat portion ([0028]).
It is the examiner’s position that because Fuji teaches that the thickness of the electrode active material can be adjusted, which affects the value of H, and the thickness of the insulating member determines the thickness of the t-1 and T-1 is thickness smaller than the electrode active material thickness, that it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art using the disclosure of Fuji to have wherein the electrochemical device satisfies the following relation: 0.47 X H ≤ 0.5 X (T1 T2 + t1 + t2) ≤ 0.52 X H; wherein T1 mm is a thickness of the first part corresponding to the first tape edge, T2 mm is a thickness of the first part corresponding to the second tape edge, and t1 mm is a thickness of the first adhesive tape, and t2 mm is a thickness of the second adhesive tape.
Regarding Claim 5 & 6, Fuji discloses the limitations as set forth above. Fuji further discloses wherein t1 and t2 ranges from 0.01 to 0.5 (insulating member can be 30 um, [0070], which equals 0.03 mm, which is within claimed range).
Regarding Claim 13, Fuji discloses the limitations as set forth above. Fuji further discloses wherein the first direction is a length direction or a width direction of the electrode assembly (first direction is length direction of electrode assembly, Fig. 7).
Regarding Claim 14, Fuji discloses the limitations as set forth above. Fuji further discloses wherein the electrode assembly comprises a first electrode plate (positive electrode active material layer-12, [0048]), a separator (separator-20), and a second electrode plate (negative electrode active material layer-32, [0050]); the separator is disposed between the first electrode plate and the second electrode plate; in a first direction, the first electrode plate comprises a first electrode plate edge, and the second electrode plate comprises a second electrode plate edge; and viewed from a direction perpendicular to the first surface of the second part, the second electrode plate edge is located between the first tape edge and the first electrode plate edge (Fig. 7).
Regarding Claim 15, Fuji discloses the limitations as set forth above. Fuji further discloses wherein the first electrode plate is a positive electrode plate or negative electrode plate positive electrode active material layer-12, [0048]), and the second electrode plate is of a polarity opposite to the first electrode plate (negative electrode active material layer-32, [0050]).
Regarding Claim 16, Fuji discloses the limitations as set forth above. Fuji further discloses wherein the electrode assembly is a stack structure (Fig 6, electrodes are stacked, [0018]).
Regarding Claim 17, Fuji discloses the limitations as set forth above. Fuji discloses the electrochemical device of claim 1 (see claim 1 objection above). However, Fuji does not directly disclose an electronic device.
Fuji teaches that batteries such as the one disclosed can be used in electric vehicles.
Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art using the disclosure of Fuji to have an electronic device with the electrochemical device of claim 1.
Claim(s) 7 & 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fuji (US20180366786) in view of Jeong (US20140170470).
Regarding Claim 7 & 8, Fuji in view of Baker discloses the limitations as set forth above.
Fuji does not directly disclose wherein the electrochemical device further comprises an adapter strip, and the adapter strip is electrically connected to the fourth surface of the first metal portion, wherein the first metal portion overlaps the adapter strip to form an overlap part, and a gel is applied between the adapter strip and the first metal portion in the overlap part.
Jeong discloses a battery structure where tabs are electrically connected to leads (electrode tabs-11 are connected to electrode leads-12, [008]). Jeong further discloses wherein the portion the lead is connected with electrode lead can be filled with a polymer gel ([0019]). Jeong teaches that this structure provides a battery with a stable tab connection structure ([0020]).
The examiner notes that under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim language, in view of the specifications, the “adapter strip” can be any strip structure that provides external connection for the electrode assembly. Therefore, it is the examiners position that Jeong’s electrode lead can be interpreted to be an adapter strip.
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Fuji with the teachings of Jeong to have wherein the electrochemical device further comprises an adapter strip, and the adapter strip is electrically connected to the fourth surface of the first metal portion, wherein the first metal portion overlaps the adapter strip to form an overlap part, and a gel is applied between the adapter strip and the first metal portion in the overlap part. This modified structure would yield the expected result of a battery with a stable tab connection structure.
Claim(s) 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fuji (US20180366786) in view of Kim (US20150125736).
Regarding Claim 10, Fuji discloses the limitations as set forth above. Fuji further discloses wherein the first metal portion comprises at least one first tab (positive nonapplied part-112 and positive electrode tab-113 form tab, [0057]).
Fuji does not directly disclose wherein an inorganic material layer is dispose don a surface of the first tab, the inorganic material layer comprises an inorganic material, and the inorganic material comprises at least one of aluminum oxide, silicon dioxide, magnesium oxide, titanium oxide, hafnium dioxide, tin oxide, cerium dioxide, nickel oxide, zinc oxide, calcium oxide, zirconium dioxide, yttrium oxide, silicon carbide, boehmite, aluminum hydroxide, magnesium hydroxide, calcium hydroxide, or barium sulfate.
The examiner notes that under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim language in view of the specifications, “the tab” can refer to the uncoated portion of the current collector piece, and that the inorganic material layer can be a “contiguous” part of the active material layer ([0062] of instant application).
Kim discloses a non-coated portion of a current collector being in contact with a coated layer formed of inorganic materials (coating layer comprising inorganic layer, [0012], coated on current collector through separator structure, Fig. 2, uncoated portion-122, separator 130/130’, [0036]). Kim further discloses wherein the inorganic material can be SiO.sub.2, Al.sub.2O.sub.3, Al(OH).sub.3, AlO(OH), TiO.sub.2, BaTiO.sub.2, ZnO.sub.2, Mg(OH).sub.2, MgO, Ti(OH).sub.4, ZrO.sub.2, aluminum nitride, silicon carbide, boron nitride, or a combination thereof ([0017]). Kim teaches that this structure provides improved penetration safety of the battery ([0042]).
Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the structure of Fuji to have wherein an inorganic material layer is dispose don a surface of the first tab, the inorganic material layer comprises an inorganic material, and the inorganic material comprises at least one of aluminum oxide, silicon dioxide, magnesium oxide, titanium oxide, hafnium dioxide, tin oxide, cerium dioxide, nickel oxide, zinc oxide, calcium oxide, zirconium dioxide, yttrium oxide, silicon carbide, boehmite, aluminum hydroxide, magnesium hydroxide, calcium hydroxide, or barium sulfate. This modification would yield the expected result of improved penetration safety of the battery.
Regarding Claim 11, Fuji discloses the limitations as set forth above. Fuji further discloses a second metal portion, the second metal portion comprises at least one second tab (negative electrode nonapplied part-312 and negative electrode tab-313 form second metal portion and tab structure, [0050]).
Fuji does not directly disclose an inorganic material layer is disposed on a surface of the second tab, the inorganic material layer comprises an inorganic material, and the inorganic material comprises at least one of aluminum oxide, silicon dioxide. magnesium oxide. titanium oxide, hafnium dioxide. tin oxide. cerium dioxide. nickel oxide. zinc oxide. calcium oxide. zirconium dioxide. yttrium oxide. silicon carbide, boehmite, aluminum hydroxide, magnesium hydroxide. calcium hydroxide, or barium sulfate.
Kim discloses a non-coated portion of a current collector being in contact with a coated layer formed of inorganic materials (coating layer comprising inorganic layer, [0012], coated on current collector through separator structure, Fig. 2, uncoated portion-122, separator 130/130’, [0036]). Kim further discloses wherein the negative current collector and positive current collector can both have uncoated regions ([0038]). Kim further discloses wherein the inorganic material can be SiO.sub.2, Al.sub.2O.sub.3, Al(OH).sub.3, AlO(OH), TiO.sub.2, BaTiO.sub.2, ZnO.sub.2, Mg(OH).sub.2, MgO, Ti(OH).sub.4, ZrO.sub.2, aluminum nitride, silicon carbide, boron nitride, or a combination thereof ([0017]). Kim teaches that this structure provides improved penetration safety of the battery ([0042]).
Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the structure of Fuji to have wherein an inorganic material layer is dispose don a surface of the first tab, the inorganic material layer comprises an inorganic material, and the inorganic material comprises at least one of aluminum oxide, silicon dioxide, magnesium oxide, titanium oxide, hafnium dioxide, tin oxide, cerium dioxide, nickel oxide, zinc oxide, calcium oxide, zirconium dioxide, yttrium oxide, silicon carbide, boehmite, aluminum hydroxide, magnesium hydroxide, calcium hydroxide, or barium sulfate. This modification would yield the expected result of improved penetration safety of the battery.
Regarding Claim 12, Fuji in view of Kim discloses the limitations as set forth above.
Fuji discloses wherein the second metal portions comprises a fifth surface and a sixth surface opposite to the fifth surface, and the first adhesive tape is further disposed on the fifth surface of the second metal portion (see 112b rejection above for interpretation, Fuji discloses insulating members-13 that are composed of adhesive members, [0028], Fuji further disclose wherein the insulating members are present on opposite sides of the metal portions, Fig. 6/7, [0060]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments, see Claims, filed January 21st, 2026, with respect to the 112 rejection of Claim 12 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 112(b) rejection of Claim 12 has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed January 21st, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Fuji does not disclose wherein Fuji does not directly disclose wherein the electrochemical device satisfies the following relation:
0.47 X H ≤ 0.5 X (T1 + t1) ≤ 0.52 X H
Wherein T1 mm is a thickness of the first part corresponding to the first tape edge, and t1 mm is a thickness of the first adhesive tape.
Applicant argues that Fuji merely discloses independent thickness ranges for individual component sand does not teach or suggest any proportional relationship between the thickness H of the electrode assembly and one half of the sum of T-1 and t1. Applicant further argues that the instant specifications show criticality due to lithium plating constraints.
The examiner notes that Fuji discloses wherein the electrode active material thickness can range from 50 to 80 um ([0037]). Fuji further discloses wherein the insulating member can have a thickness of 30 um ([0070]). Fuji further discloses wherein the metal layer, that forms the first part, is in a range of 30 um to 50um ([0046]). Fuji further discloses wherein the electrode active material has a thin part and flat part where the thin part becomes thinner than the flat portion ([0028]).
The examiner notes that H is the thickness of the second part which is directly related to the thickness of the active material layer. The examiner further notes that T1 and t1 total thickness is equal to the insulating layer thickness and uncoated portion thickness. Therefore, Fuji discloses wherein the total thickness of the insulating material and first part can equal to the thickness of the active material layer which formed the second part thickness H.
It is the examiner’s position that because Fuji teaches that the thickness of the electrode active material can be adjusted, which affects the value of H, and the thickness of the insulating member determines the thickness of the t-1 and T-1 is thickness smaller than the electrode active material thickness, that it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art using the disclosure of Fuji to have wherein the electrochemical device satisfies the following relation: 0.47 X H ≤ 0.5 X (T1 + t1) ≤ 0.52 X H; wherein T1 mm is a thickness of the first part corresponding to the first tape edge, and t1 mm is a thickness of the first adhesive tape.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANKITH R SRIPATHI/Examiner, Art Unit 1728
/MATTHEW T MARTIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1728