DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 19, as set forth in Applicant’s Remarks at p. 13, have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection relies on one or more reference not applied in the prior rejection of record for some teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 11, 12, 16, 18-21, and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over US 2019/0028166 (hereinafter, “FREEDMAN”) in view of US 2023/0092940 (hereinafter, “GUNDAVELLI”), and further in view of US 2021/0242934 (hereinafter, “QIAO”).
Regarding claim 1, FREEDMAN discloses:
A method comprising: (process 800 / 1100 / 1700)
determining a respective position of each of two or more mobile platforms of a plurality of mobile platforms forming a cluster of the plurality of mobile platforms, (¶ 0055: [C]ommunications system 100 . . . can include different numbers of satellites [105]; ¶ 0062: In space-based beamforming, the satellite 105 creates both analog beams using analog beamformers and digital beams using digital beamformer processors on board the satellite. In a GBBF system, the analog and digital beam coefficients are computed by one or more processing systems on the ground. In some implementations, the GBBF system creates the beams by applying the coefficients to the signals, and then sends beams to the satellite for transmission by forwarding through HPAs to the feeds)
wherein each of the plurality of mobile platforms comprise spacecraft; and (¶ 0055: [C]ommunications system 100 . . . can include different numbers of satellites [105])
based on the respective positions of the two or more mobile platforms of the cluster, controlling each mobile platform of the two or more mobile platforms to transmit a respective signal, (¶ 0070: [G]ateways 110 and 125 may include one or more modules that process signals exchanged with the satellite elements for beamforming. In some implementations, the gateways 110 and 125 may transmit signals to the satellite 105 over the satellite return links for phase and/or gain calibration for the return link and the forward link. This may be the case, for example, when a GBBF system is employed; ¶ 0110: [I]nformation about the target area, e.g., coordinates of the area, are sent to the hybrid beamformer on board the spacecraft, e.g., as part of telecommunications commands from ground stations via the satellite gateways 110 or 125)
wherein a combination of the respective signals . . . forms a plurality of communications cells that are spatially localized at respective locations of a corresponding plurality of target terrestrial devices, (¶ 0056: [S]atellite 105 transmits data to, and receives data, from the gateways 110, 125, and ground terminals 120a, 120b, 120c and 120d. Gateway 125 and ground terminals 120a and 120b are within a terrestrial region 130a that is covered by a formed beam. Ground terminals 120c and 120d are within a terrestrial region 130b that is covered by another formed beam. That is, gateway 125 and ground terminals 120a and 120b are located within the geographic extent covered by beam 130a, while ground terminals 120c and 120d are located within the geographic extent covered by beam 130b)
. . .
wherein each communications cell of the plurality of communications cells is:
configured to provide communications coverage for the target terrestrial device corresponding to the communications cell using the combination of the respective signals from the two or more mobile platforms, and (¶ 0055: [C]ommunications system 100 . . . can include different numbers of . . . ground terminals [e.g., 1]; ¶ 0056: [G]round terminals 120c and 120d are located within the geographic extent covered by beam 130b)
FREEDMAN does not explicitly disclose:
wherein a combination of the respective signals from the two or more mobile platforms forms a plurality of communications cells that are spatially localized at respective locations of a corresponding plurality of target terrestrial devices,
wherein each communications cell of the plurality of communications cells is formed by combining the respective signals from the two or more mobile platforms, and
wherein each communications cell of the plurality of communications cells is:
limited to providing communications coverage for the target terrestrial device corresponding to the communications cell using the combination of the respective signals from the two or more mobile platforms.
In the same field of endeavor, however, QIAO teaches:
wherein a combination of the respective signals from the two or more mobile platforms forms a plurality of communications cells that are spatially localized at respective locations of a corresponding plurality of target terrestrial devices, (Fig. 2; e.g., ¶ 0109: The type-B satellite is used as the serving satellite for providing a communication service for a user terminal 204. In an embodiment, the type-B satellite may be configured to send and receive a data signal of the user terminal, and perform service communication with the user terminal. For example, the type-B satellite processes a communication requirement of the user terminal, and is responsible for a communication service of a user terminal in a logical sub-cell 205 covered by the type-B satellite; ¶ 0110: An antenna array of the type-B satellite forms a plurality of communication service beams 207, a set of areas covered by communication service beams of several type-B satellites form the virtual logical sub-cell 205; ¶ 0111: [A] set of areas covered by a plurality of type-B satellites . . . form a hyper cell [206])
wherein each communications cell of the plurality of communications cells is formed by combining the respective signals from the two or more mobile platforms, and (Fig. 2; e.g., ¶ 0109: The type-B satellite is used as the serving satellite for providing a communication service for a user terminal 204. In an embodiment, the type-B satellite may be configured to send and receive a data signal of the user terminal, and perform service communication with the user terminal. For example, the type-B satellite processes a communication requirement of the user terminal, and is responsible for a communication service of a user terminal in a logical sub-cell 205 covered by the type-B satellite; ¶ 0110: An antenna array of the type-B satellite forms a plurality of communication service beams 207, a set of areas covered by communication service beams of several type-B satellites form the virtual logical sub-cell 205; ¶ 0111: [A] set of areas covered by a plurality of type-B satellites . . . form a hyper cell [206])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify FREEDMAN’s beamforming procedure to use several serving satellites in providing a communication service for a user terminal as taught by QIAO to form aggregated sub-cells formed into a hyper cell, so as to reduce signaling caused by satellite switching during satellite communication, reduce network control plane load, and reduce data buffer and data forwarding load. See QIAO, at ¶ 0007.
Also, in the same field of endeavor, GUNDAVELLI teaches:
wherein each communications cell of the plurality of communications cells is: limited to providing communications coverage for the target terrestrial device corresponding to the communications cell using the combination of the respective signals from the two or more mobile platforms. (¶ 0051: The use of specific azimuths and/or elevation angles can be used to beneficially direct radiated energy and receive energy to/from locations of specific user devices, in preference to other locations. Opportunistically, then serving a plurality of devices (e.g., UEs), the radiation pattern used to serve independent devices can generate a high degree of orthogonality between the channels used to serve individual devices)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify FREEDMAN’s beamforming procedure to provide for use of specific azimuths and/or elevation angles as taught by GUNDAVELLI to direct radiated energy and receive energy to/from locations of specific user devices, in preference to other locations such that the radiation pattern used to serve independent devices can generate a high degree of orthogonality between the channels used to serve individual devices-thereby allowing multiple devices to be served simultaneously, using spatial multiplexing to simultaneously direct radiated energy towards a first device using a first set of antenna weights and towards a second device using a second set of antenna weights. See GUNDAVELLI, at ¶ 0051.
Regarding claim 19, FREEDMAN discloses:
A system, comprising: (communications system 100)
a cluster formed by a plurality of mobile platforms, (¶ 0055: [C]ommunications system 100 . . . can include different numbers of satellites [105])
wherein each of the plurality of mobile platforms comprises a spacecraft; and (¶ 0055: [C]ommunications system 100 . . . can include different numbers of satellites [105])
a gateway device, (gateways 110 / 125)
wherein the gateway device is configured to:
determine a respective position of two or more mobile platforms of the plurality of mobile platforms; and (¶ 0062: In space-based beamforming, the satellite 105 creates both analog beams using analog beamformers and digital beams using digital beamformer processors on board the satellite. In a GBBF system, the analog and digital beam coefficients are computed by one or more processing systems on the ground. In some implementations, the GBBF system creates the beams by applying the coefficients to the signals, and then sends beams to the satellite for transmission by forwarding through HPAs to the feeds)
based on the respective positions of the two or more mobile platforms of the cluster, control each mobile platform of the two or more mobile platforms to transmit a respective signal, (¶ 0070: [G]ateways 110 and 125 may include one or more modules that process signals exchanged with the satellite elements for beamforming. In some implementations, the gateways 110 and 125 may transmit signals to the satellite 105 over the satellite return links for phase and/or gain calibration for the return link and the forward link. This may be the case, for example, when a GBBF system is employed; ¶ 0110: [I]nformation about the target area, e.g., coordinates of the area, are sent to the hybrid beamformer on board the spacecraft, e.g., as part of telecommunications commands from ground stations via the satellite gateways 110 or 125)
wherein a combination of the respective signals . . . forms a plurality of communications cells that are spatially localized at respective locations of a corresponding plurality of target terrestrial devices, (¶ 0056: [S]atellite 105 transmits data to, and receives data, from the gateways 110, 125, and ground terminals 120a, 120b, 120c and 120d. Gateway 125 and ground terminals 120a and 120b are within a terrestrial region 130a that is covered by a formed beam. Ground terminals 120c and 120d are within a terrestrial region 130b that is covered by another formed beam. That is, gateway 125 and ground terminals 120a and 120b are located within the geographic extent covered by beam 130a, while ground terminals 120c and 120d are located within the geographic extent covered by beam 130b)
. . .
wherein each communications cell of the plurality of communications cells is:
configured to provide communications coverage for the target terrestrial device corresponding to the communications cell, and (¶ 0056: [G]round terminals 120c and 120d are located within the geographic extent covered by beam 130b; ¶ 0055: [C]ommunications system 100 . . . can include different numbers of . . . ground terminals [e.g., 1])
FREEDMAN does not explicitly disclose:
wherein a combination of the respective signals from the two or more mobile platforms forms a plurality of communications cells that are spatially localized at respective locations of a corresponding plurality of target terrestrial devices,
wherein each communications cell of the plurality of communications cells is formed by combining the respective signals from the two or more mobile platforms, and
wherein each communications cell of the plurality of communications cells is:
limited to providing communications coverage for the target terrestrial device corresponding to the communications cell using the combination of the respective signals from the two or more mobile platforms.
In the same field of endeavor, however, QIAO teaches:
wherein a combination of the respective signals from the two or more mobile platforms forms a plurality of communications cells that are spatially localized at respective locations of a corresponding plurality of target terrestrial devices, (Fig. 2; e.g., ¶ 0109: The type-B satellite is used as the serving satellite for providing a communication service for a user terminal 204. In an embodiment, the type-B satellite may be configured to send and receive a data signal of the user terminal, and perform service communication with the user terminal. For example, the type-B satellite processes a communication requirement of the user terminal, and is responsible for a communication service of a user terminal in a logical sub-cell 205 covered by the type-B satellite; ¶ 0110: An antenna array of the type-B satellite forms a plurality of communication service beams 207, a set of areas covered by communication service beams of several type-B satellites form the virtual logical sub-cell 205; ¶ 0111: [A] set of areas covered by a plurality of type-B satellites . . . form a hyper cell [206])
wherein each communications cell of the plurality of communications cells is formed by combining the respective signals from the two or more mobile platforms, and(Fig. 2; e.g., ¶ 0109: The type-B satellite is used as the serving satellite for providing a communication service for a user terminal 204. In an embodiment, the type-B satellite may be configured to send and receive a data signal of the user terminal, and perform service communication with the user terminal. For example, the type-B satellite processes a communication requirement of the user terminal, and is responsible for a communication service of a user terminal in a logical sub-cell 205 covered by the type-B satellite; ¶ 0110: An antenna array of the type-B satellite forms a plurality of communication service beams 207, a set of areas covered by communication service beams of several type-B satellites form the virtual logical sub-cell 205; ¶ 0111: [A] set of areas covered by a plurality of type-B satellites . . . form a hyper cell [206])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify FREEDMAN’s beamforming procedure to use several serving satellites in providing a communication service for a user terminal as taught by QIAO to form aggregated sub-cells formed into a hyper cell, so as to reduce signaling caused by satellite switching during satellite communication, reduce network control plane load, and reduce data buffer and data forwarding load. See QIAO, at ¶ 0007.
Also, in the same field of endeavor GUNDAVELLI teaches:
wherein each communications cell of the plurality of communications cells is: limited to providing communications coverage for the target terrestrial device corresponding to the communications cell using the combination of the respective signals from the two or more mobile platforms. (¶ 0051: The use of specific azimuths and/or elevation angles can be used to beneficially direct radiated energy and receive energy to/from locations of specific user devices, in preference to other locations. Opportunistically, then serving a plurality of devices (e.g., UEs), the radiation pattern used to serve independent devices can generate a high degree of orthogonality between the channels used to serve individual devices)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify FREEDMAN’s beamforming procedure to provide for use of specific azimuths and/or elevation angles as taught by GUNDAVELLI to direct radiated energy and receive energy to/from locations of specific user devices, in preference to other locations such that the radiation pattern used to serve independent devices can generate a high degree of orthogonality between the channels used to serve individual devices-thereby allowing multiple devices to be served simultaneously, using spatial multiplexing to simultaneously direct radiated energy towards a first device using a first set of antenna weights and towards a second device using a second set of antenna weights. See GUNDAVELLI, at ¶ 0051.
Regarding claims 2 and 20, the combination of FREEDMAN and GUNDAVELLI, as applied above, anticipates the method of claim 1 and the system of claim 19, respectively. FREEDMAN further discloses:
wherein controlling each mobile platform of the two or more mobile platforms to transmit the respective signal comprises:
determining, for each signal of the respective signals, a corresponding gain and phase based on the respective positions of the two or more mobile platforms of the cluster, (¶ 0070: [G]ateways 110 and 125 may . . . transmit signals to the satellite 105 over the satellite return links for phase and/or gain calibration for the return link and the forward link)
wherein the gain and the phase of each signal are determined such that interference between the respective signals causes the respective signals to form a plurality of beams spatially localized at the respective locations of the plurality of target terrestrial devices. (¶ 0112: [H]ybrid beamformer processing circuitry 302 controls the analog beamformers 304a, 304b, 304c and 304d to generate analog beams for each identified region of the target area where communications coverage is to be provided. An analog beamformer generates an analog beam by combining the phase, delay, gain, or any combination of these, of the feeds in the corresponding panel of the analog beamformer; ¶ 0202: [C]lusters that are outside the main lobe of the center cluster can reuse the same frequency as the main lobe of the center cluster. Interference is controlled by adjusting the side lobes of the analog beams using complex coefficients (e.g. a phase or amplitude taper); ¶ 0195: [F]or each cluster, in lower gain of the side lobes, which is within an acceptable threshold for interference in each cluster. For example, as shown in FIG. 15C, side lobes 1520a, 1520b, 1520c and 1520d are formed in cluster 1502 when the hybrid beams are generated by combing the analog beams for clusters 1502 and 1504 using the frequencies shared between the two clusters. The directivity or gain of the side lobes 1520a, 1520b, 1520c and 1520d are significantly less than the directivity or gain of the side lobes 1510a, 1510b, 1510c and 1510d. Accordingly, the interference caused by the side lobes 1520a, 1520b, 1520c and 1520d in cluster 1504 is less compared to the interference caused by the side lobes)
Regarding claims 3 and 21, the combination of FREEDMAN and GUNDAVELLI, as applied above, renders obvious the method of claim 2 and the system of claim 20, respectively. FREEDMAN does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the corresponding gain and phase are determined such that a first beam of the plurality of beams has a null at a location associated with a second terrestrial device distinct from a target terrestrial device corresponding to the first beam.
In the same field of endeavor, however, GUNDAVELLI teaches:
wherein the corresponding gain and phase are determined such that a first beam of the plurality of beams has a null at a location associated with a second terrestrial device distinct from a target terrestrial device corresponding to the first beam. (¶ 0051: [A] beamformed system can use a plurality of antenna elements to adapt the composite antenna gain pattern generated by the antenna elements. The system can apply a set of amplitude and phase weights to the signals applied to individual antenna elements to direct the antenna main lobe pattern and/or side lobes and/or nulls towards specific azimuth and/or elevation angles)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify FREEDMAN’s beamforming procedure to provide application of a set of amplitude and phase weights to the signals applied to individual antenna elements as taught by GUNDAVELLI to direct the antenna . . . nulls towards specific azimuth and/or elevation angles, in preference to other locations such that the radiation pattern used to serve independent devices can generate a high degree of orthogonality between the channels used to serve individual devices-thereby allowing multiple devices to be served simultaneously, using spatial multiplexing to simultaneously direct radiated energy towards a first device using a first set of antenna weights and towards a second device using a second set of antenna weights. See GUNDAVELLI, at ¶ 0051.
Regarding claim 11, the combination of FREEDMAN and GUNDAVELLI, as applied above, renders obvious the method of claim 1. FREEDMAN further discloses:
wherein the plurality of communications cells comprise a first communications cell and a second communications cell, (¶ 0196: [C]ommunications coverage using different cluster frequencies and shared cluster frequencies. FIG. 16A shows a target area 1600 in which desired regions are covered by groups of analog beams forming clusters, such as clusters 1602 a, 1602 b, 1602 c, 1602 d and 1602 e; 1604 a, 1604 b, 1604 c and 1604 d; 1606 a, 1606 b and 1606 c; and 1608 a, 1608 b and 1608 c. Each square in FIG. 16A represents a cluster)
wherein the first communications cell and the second communications cell spatially overlap, (¶ 0201: [O]verlapping main lobes of different neighboring clusters use one or more of different frequencies)
wherein the first communications cell is defined by a first beam having a first frequency, and (¶ 0197: [C]ircle 1610 represents the contour of the main lobe of the analog beams for the center cluster 1602 e. Within each cluster area are hybrid beams, e.g., digital beams formed by [combining] the analog beams in the cluster, that fully fill the cluster area. As described previously, one or more hybrid beams within each cluster can have different frequency channels that are sub-bands of the combined frequency spectrum of the analog beams forming the cluster)
wherein the second communications cell is defined by a second beam having a second frequency that is different from the first frequency. (¶ 0197: [C]ircle 1610 represents the contour of the main lobe of the analog beams for the center cluster 1602 e. Within each cluster area are hybrid beams, e.g., digital beams formed by [combining] the analog beams in the cluster, that fully fill the cluster area. As described previously, one or more hybrid beams within each cluster can have different frequency channels that are sub-bands of the combined frequency spectrum of the analog beams forming the cluster)
Regarding claim 12, the combination of FREEDMAN and GUNDAVELLI, as applied above, renders obvious the method of claim 1. FREEDMAN further discloses:
wherein the plurality of communications cells comprise a first communications cell and a second communications cell, (¶ 0200: The approach of providing coverage shown in FIG. 16A—adjacent clusters having one or more of frequency, polarization or time hop different, while non-adjacent clusters can share the same frequency, polarization or time hop—is used when beamforming with just the analog beams associated with each cluster, e.g., analog beams centered over the cluster area. This is the case, for example, when analog beam 1610 is used for hybrid beamforming in cluster 1602 e, but not used for hybrid beamforming in other clusters)
wherein the first communications cell and the second communications cell are spatially non-overlapping, (¶ 0200: The approach of providing coverage shown in FIG. 16A—adjacent clusters having one or more of frequency, polarization or time hop different, while non-adjacent clusters can share the same frequency, polarization or time hop—is used when beamforming with just the analog beams associated with each cluster, e.g., analog beams centered over the cluster area. This is the case, for example, when analog beam 1610 is used for hybrid beamforming in cluster 1602 e, but not used for hybrid beamforming in other clusters)
wherein the first communications cell is defined by a first beam having a particular frequency, and (¶ 0201: [O]verlapping main lobes of different neighboring clusters use one or more of different frequencies, polarizations or time hops to avoid interference. However, clusters that are outside the main lobe of the center cluster can reuse the same frequency as the main lobe of the center cluster)
wherein the second communications cell is defined by a second beam having the particular frequency. (¶ 0201: [O]verlapping main lobes of different neighboring clusters use one or more of different frequencies, polarizations or time hops to avoid interference. However, clusters that are outside the main lobe of the center cluster can reuse the same frequency as the main lobe of the center cluster)
Regarding claim 16, the combination of FREEDMAN and GUNDAVELLI, as applied above, renders obvious the method of claim 1. FREEDMAN further discloses:
wherein the plurality of mobile platforms comprise satellites. (¶ 0055: [C]ommunications system 100 . . . can include different numbers of satellites [105])
Regarding claim 18, the combination of FREEDMAN GUNDAVELLI, as applied above, renders obvious the method of claim 1. FREEDMAN further discloses:
determining, by a gateway device, the respective locations of the plurality of target terrestrial devices; (¶ 0062: In a GBBF system, the analog and digital beam coefficients are computed by one or more processing systems on the ground. In some implementations, the GBBF system creates the beams by applying the coefficients to the signals, and then sends beams to the satellite for transmission by forwarding through HPAs to the feeds)
determining, by the gateway device, characteristics of the respective signals that cause the respective signals to form the plurality of communications cells; and (¶ 0070: [G]ateways 110 and 125 may include one or more modules that process signals exchanged with the satellite elements for beamforming. In some implementations, the gateways 110 and 125 may transmit signals to the satellite 105 over the satellite return links for phase and/or gain calibration for the return link and the forward link. This may be the case, for example, when a GBBF system is employed)
sending, to the two or more mobile platforms, from the gateway device, commands based on the characteristics of the respective signals, (¶ 0109: [H]ybrid beamformer processing circuitry 302 executes one or more instructions to perform the process 1700. These instructions . . . are sent to the hybrid beamformer on board the spacecraft from ground stations, e.g., through satellite gateway 110 or 125; ¶ 0110: [I]nformation about the target area, e.g., coordinates of the area, are sent to the hybrid beamformer on board the spacecraft, e.g., as part of telecommunications commands from ground stations to the satellite 105 via the satellite gateways 110 or 125)
the commands causing the two or more mobile platforms to transmit the respective signals. (¶ 0056: [S]atellite 105 transmits data to, and receives data, from the gateways 110, 125, and ground terminals 120a, 120b, 120c and 120d. Gateway 125 and ground terminals 120a and 120b are within a terrestrial region 130a that is covered by a formed beam)
Regarding claim 27, the combination of FREEDMAN and GUNDAVELLI, as applied above, renders obvious the system of claim 19. FREEDMAN further discloses:
wherein the plurality of communications cells comprises a first communications cell and a second communications cell, and (¶ 0196: [C]ommunications coverage using different cluster frequencies and shared cluster frequencies. FIG. 16A shows a target area 1600 in which desired regions are covered by groups of analog beams forming clusters, such as clusters 1602 a, 1602 b, 1602 c, 1602 d and 1602 e; 1604 a, 1604 b, 1604 c and 1604 d; 1606 a, 1606 b and 1606 c; and 1608 a, 1608 b and 1608 c. Each square in FIG. 16A represents a cluster)
wherein
the first communications cell and the second communications cell spatially overlap, the first communications cell is defined by a first beam having a first frequency, and the second communications cell is defined by a second beam having a second frequency that is different from the first frequency, or (¶ 0201: [O]verlapping main lobes of different neighboring clusters use one or more of different frequencies)
the first communications cell and the second communications cell are spatially non-overlapping, the first communications cell is defined by a first beam having a particular frequency, and the second communications cell is defined by a second beam having the particular frequency. (¶ 0200: The approach of providing coverage shown in FIG. 16A—adjacent clusters having one or more of frequency, polarization or time hop different, while non-adjacent clusters can share the same frequency, polarization or time hop—is used when beamforming with just the analog beams associated with each cluster, e.g., analog beams centered over the cluster area. This is the case, for example, when analog beam 1610 is used for hybrid beamforming in cluster 1602 e, but not used for hybrid beamforming in other clusters)
Claims 4, 6, 13, 22, 24, 29, and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over FREEDMAN in view of GUNDAVELLI and QIAO, and further in view of US 2019/0363784 (hereinafter, “CHANG”)
Regarding claims 4 and 22, the combination of FREEDMAN and GUNDAVELLI, as applied above, renders obvious the method of claim 3 and the system of claim 21, respectively. FREEDMAN does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the second terrestrial device shares a communications cell frequency with the target terrestrial device corresponding to the first beam.
In the same field of endeavor, however, CHANG teaches:
wherein the second terrestrial device shares a communications cell frequency with the target terrestrial device corresponding to the first beam. (¶ 0057: [E]ach of the three users in the same beam region 1302 concurrently receive his own signals transmitted in the same frequency slot)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify FREEDMAN’s beamforming procedure to provide for using a same frequency slot as taught by CHANG for transmitting signals of multiple users located in a same beam region—so as to through the same propagation paths from a common ground hub. See CHANG, at ¶ 0057.
Regarding claim 6, the combination of FREEDMAN and GUNDAVELLI, as applied above, renders obvious the method of claim 1. FREEDMAN does not explicitly disclose:
receiving, at the two or more mobile platforms, from a gateway device, data for the plurality of target terrestrial devices,
wherein the respective signals encode the data for reception by the plurality of target terrestrial devices.
In the same field of endeavor, however, CHANG teaches:
receiving, at the two or more mobile platforms, from a gateway device, data for the plurality of target terrestrial devices, (¶ 0040: WF MUX beam signals are uploaded or uplinked to the UAVs 620-1 using the background link 450 [via ground hub 410])
wherein the respective signals encode the data for reception by the plurality of target terrestrial devices. (¶ 0041: [C]onditioned received signals are sent to a multi-beam beam forming network BFN 723 that forms multiple tracking beams based partly on the flight pattern dynamics of the relaying UAVs 620-1 and also on the information encoded in the beams)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify FREEDMAN’s beamforming procedure to provide uplinking beam signals to the UAVs through a background hub as taught by CHANG to receive conditioned signals at multi-beam beamforming network—so as to form multiple tracking beams based on information encoded in the beams. See CHANG, at ¶ 0057.
Regarding claim 13, the combination of FREEDMAN and GUNDAVELLI, as applied above, renders obvious the method of claim 1. FREEDMAN further discloses:
wherein the two or more mobile platforms comprises at least ten mobile platforms, and (¶ 0055: [C]ommunications system 100 . . . can include different numbers of satellites [105] [Providing 10 or more satellites would have been—as a design choice—an obvious expedient for one of ordinary skill in the art])
FREEDMAN does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the at least ten mobile platforms are spatially distributed within a sphere having a diameter in a range from of at least 500 m to 2 km.
In the same field of endeavor, however, CHANG teaches:
wherein the in excess of four mobile platforms are spatially distributed within a sphere having a diameter in a range from of at least 500 m to 2 km. (¶ 0063: [T]he number of airborne vehicles stated can be increased; ¶ 0016: UAVs 120 range in shape and size from a sphere of an inch in diameter to a huge airplane of many yards in length and width. In FIG. 1, the UAVs 120 are usually less than five feet in length and width . . . . In another embodiment, the UAVs 120 are decreased in size; ¶ 0039: [A] distributed airborne array (distributed UAVs) 120 [A spherical diameter in a range from of at least 500 m to 2 km for the distributed airborne array comprised of 10 or more UAVs having the given dimensions would be—as a matter of design choice—an obvious expedient, “to divide the equipment among more . . . aircrafts,” ¶ 0063, to reduce on-board weight.])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify FREEDMAN’s beamforming procedure to provide UAVs that range in shape and size from a sphere of an inch in diameter to a huge airplane of many yards in length and width as taught by CHANG to form a distributed airborne array—so as to enable scaling of beamforming non-terrestrial networks (NTNs). See CHANG, at ¶ 0016.
Regarding claim 24, the combination of FREEDMAN and GUNDAVELLI, as applied above, renders obvious the system of claim 19. FREEDMAN further discloses:
wherein the gateway device is configured to:
transmit, to the two or more mobile platforms, data for the plurality of target terrestrial devices, (¶ 0046: [T]he satellite may receive a signal from a gateway, e.g., a ground station that communicates with the satellite and with a terrestrial network, and then broadcast the signal to one or more ground terminals; ¶ 0056: [S]atellite 105 transmits data to, and receives data, from the gateways 110, 125, and ground terminals 120 a, 120 b, 120 c and 120 d)
FREEDMAN does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the respective signals encode the data for reception by the plurality of target terrestrial devices.
In the same field of endeavor, however, CHANG teaches:
wherein the respective signals encode the data for reception by the plurality of target terrestrial devices. (¶ 0041: [C]onditioned received signals are sent to a multi-beam beam forming network BFN 723 that forms multiple tracking beams based partly on the flight pattern dynamics of the relaying UAVs 620-1 and also on the information encoded in the beams)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify FREEDMAN’s beamforming procedure to provide uplinking beam signals to the UAVs through a background hub as taught by CHANG to receive conditioned signals at multi-beam beamforming network—so as to form multiple tracking beams based on information encoded in the beams. See CHANG, at ¶ 0057.
Regarding claim 29, the combination of FREEDMAN and GUNDAVELLI, as applied above, renders obvious the system of claim 19. FREEDMAN further discloses:
wherein the two or more mobile platforms comprises at least ten mobile platforms, and (¶ 0055: [C]ommunications system 100 . . . can include different numbers of satellites [105] [Providing 10 or more satellites would have been—as a design choice—an obvious expedient for one of ordinary skill in the art])
FREEDMAN does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the at least ten mobile platforms are spatially distributed within a sphere having a diameter of at least 500 m.
In the same field of endeavor, however, CHANG teaches:
wherein the at least ten mobile platforms are spatially distributed within a sphere having a diameter of at least 500 m. (¶ 0063: [T]he number of airborne vehicles stated can be increased; ¶ 0016: UAVs 120 range in shape and size from a sphere of an inch in diameter to a huge airplane of many yards in length and width. In FIG. 1, the UAVs 120 are usually less than five feet in length and width . . . . In another embodiment, the UAVs 120 are decreased in size; ¶ 0039: [A] distributed airborne array (distributed UAVs) 120 [A spherical diameter of at least 500 m for the distributed airborne array comprised of 10 or more UAVs having the given dimensions would be—as a matter of design choice—an obvious expedient, “to divide the equipment among more . . . aircrafts,” ¶ 0063, to reduce on-board weight.])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify FREEDMAN’s beamforming procedure to provide UAVs that range in shape and size from a sphere of an inch in diameter to a huge airplane of many yards in length and width as taught by CHANG to form a distributed airborne array—so as to enable scaling of beamforming non-terrestrial networks (NTNs). See CHANG, at ¶ 0016.
Regarding claim 31, the combination of FREEDMAN, GUNDAVELLI, and CHANG, as applied above, renders obvious the method of claim 13. FREEDMAN further discloses:
wherein the two or more mobile platforms comprises at least 100 mobile platforms (¶ 0055: [C]ommunications system 100 . . . can include different numbers of satellites [105] [Providing 10 or more satellites would have been—as a design choice—an obvious expedient for one of ordinary skill in the art])
FREEDMAN does not explicitly disclose:
spatially distributed within the sphere having the diameter in the range from 500 m to 2 km.
In the same field of endeavor, however, CHANG teaches:
spatially distributed within the sphere having the diameter in the range from 500 m to 2 km. (¶ 0063: [T]he number of airborne vehicles stated can be increased; ¶ 0016: UAVs 120 range in shape and size from a sphere of an inch in diameter to a huge airplane of many yards in length and width. In FIG. 1, the UAVs 120 are usually less than five feet in length and width . . . . In another embodiment, the UAVs 120 are decreased in size; ¶ 0039: [A] distributed airborne array (distributed UAVs) 120 [A spherical diameter in a range from of at least 500 m to 2 km for the distributed airborne array comprised of 10 or more UAVs having the given dimensions would be—as a matter of design choice—an obvious expedient, “to divide the equipment among more . . . aircrafts,” ¶ 0063, to reduce on-board weight.])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify FREEDMAN’s beamforming procedure to provide UAVs that range in shape and size from a sphere of an inch in diameter to a huge airplane of many yards in length and width as taught by CHANG to form a distributed airborne array—so as to enable scaling of beamforming non-terrestrial networks (NTNs). See CHANG, at ¶ 0016.
Claims 5 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over FREEDMAN in view of GUNDAVELLI and QIAO, as applied to claims 2 and 20, respectively, and further in view of US 9,651,648 (hereinafter, “MASON”).
Regarding claims 5 and 23, the combination of FREEDMAN and GUNDAVELLI, as applied above, renders obvious the method of claim 2 and the system of claim 20. FREEDMAN further discloses:
wherein determining, for each signal, the corresponding gain and phase comprises:
receiving, at a gateway device, phase data characterizing reception of an uplink signal received at the cluster from a first target terrestrial device of the plurality of target terrestrial devices, (¶ 0070: [G]ateways 110 and 125 may transmit signals to the satellite 105 over the satellite return links for phase and/or gain calibration for the return link and the forward link. This may be the case, for example, when a GBBF system is employed)
. . .
based on the first phase and the second phase, determining a location of the first target terrestrial device; (Id.: [S]ignals used for phase and/or gain calibration may include unique code words that identify such signals as being configured for phase and/or gain calibration. The satellite 105 may measure the phase and gain of the transmitted calibration signals to enable . . . pointing correction)
based on the location of the first target terrestrial device and the respective positions of the two or more mobile platforms, determining the corresponding gain and phase of each signal of the respective signals; and (Id.: [S]ignals used for phase and/or gain calibration may include unique code words that identify such signals as being configured for phase and/or gain calibration. The satellite 105 may measure the phase and gain of the transmitted calibration signals to enable calibration and/or pointing correction)
transmitting, to the cluster, commands to cause the two or more mobile platforms to transmit the respective signals having the corresponding gains and phases. (¶ 0109: [H]ybrid beamformer or processing circuitry, executes one or more instructions to perform the process 800. . . . [T]he instructions are sent to the hybrid beamformer on board the spacecraft from the ground, e.g., through satellite gateway 110 or 125; ¶ 0110: [I]nformation about the target area, e.g., coordinates of the area, are sent to the hybrid beamformer on board the spacecraft, e.g., as part of telecommunications commands from ground stations via the satellite gateways 110 or 125)
FREEDMAN does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the phase data indicates that the uplink signal was received at a first mobile platform of the plurality of mobile platforms with a first phase, and that the uplink signal was received at a second mobile platform of the plurality of mobile platforms with a second phase.
In the same field of endeavor, however, MASON teaches:
wherein the phase data indicates that the uplink signal was received at a first mobile platform of the plurality of mobile platforms with a first phase, and that the uplink signal was received at a second mobile platform of the plurality of mobile platforms with a second phase. (Abstract: Geolocation is performed by receiving, at a plurality of non-earthbound platforms each moving in a known manner within a spatial coordinate system, a radio frequency (RF) signal transmitted from a transmitter at an unknown location on earth within the spatial coordinate system. For each of the platforms, a phase change of the received frequency carrier is measured over the same duration of time. The measured phase changes are combined to determine the transmitter location; col. 2, ll. 35-38: [P]hase difference of arrival (PDOA) equation that, for the nth platform, relates the measured phase change to the transmitter location)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify FREEDMAN’s beamforming procedure to use a plurality of non-earthbound platforms to form a spatial coordinate system as taught by MASON, such that a phase change of the received frequency carrier is measured over the same duration of time and the measured phase changes are combined, so as to provide for geolocation techniques that accommodate signal frequency changes more readily than conventional FDOA techniques. See MASON, at col. 1, 32-34.
Claims 7 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over FREEDMAN in view of GUNDAVELLI and QIAO, as applied to claims 1 and 19, respectively, and further in view of US 2022/0338111 (hereinafter, “EDGE”) and MASON.
Regarding claims 7 and 25, the combination of FREEDMAN and GUNDAVELLI, as applied above, renders obvious the method of claim 1 and the system of claim 19. FREEDMAN does not explicitly disclose:
receiving, at the cluster, from a first target terrestrial device of the plurality of target terrestrial devices, an uplink signal,
wherein the uplink signal is received at a first mobile platform of the plurality of mobile platforms with a first phase, and the uplink signal is received at a second mobile platform of the plurality of mobile platforms with a second phase, wherein the first phase is different from the second phase;
based on the first phase and the second phase, determining an angle of arrival of the uplink signal with respect to the cluster; and
based on the angle of arrival, determining a location of the first target terrestrial device.
In the same field of endeavor, however, EDGE teaches:
receiving, at the cluster, from a first target terrestrial device of the plurality of target terrestrial devices, an uplink signal, (¶ 0145: [L]ocation measurements (e.g. Rx-Tx, RSRP, AOA) of signals received from UE 1102 and obtained by the communication satellite [SVs 402 / 490, see ¶ 0065])
based on the first phase and the second phase, determining an angle of arrival of the uplink signal with respect to the cluster; and (¶ 0052: TX processor 316 handles mapping to signal constellations based on various modulation schemes (e.g., binary phase-shift keying (BPSK), quadrature phase-shift keying (QPSK), M-phase-shift keying (M-PSK), M-quadrature amplitude modulation (M-QAM)); ¶ 0071: [P]ositioning using . . . positioning methods, such as . . . angle of arrival (AOA))
based on the angle of arrival, determining a location of the first target terrestrial device. (¶ 0145: [D]etermine a geographic location in which the UE 1102 is currently located based on . . . location measurements (e.g. Rx-Tx, RSRP, AOA) of signals received from UE 1102 and obtained by the communication satellite [SVs 402 / 490, see ¶ 0065])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify FREEDMAN’s beamforming procedure to provide use of location measurements such as angle of arrival as taught by EDGE of a signal received from UE and obtained by communication satellites—so as to determine a current geographic location of the UE. See EDGE, at ¶ 0145.
Also, in the same field of endeavor, MASON teaches:
wherein the uplink signal is received at a first mobile platform of the plurality of mobile platforms with a first phase, and the uplink signal is received at a second mobile platform of the plurality of mobile platforms with a second phase, wherein the first phase is different from the second phase; (Abstract: Geolocation is performed by receiving, at a plurality of non-earthbound platforms each moving in a known manner within a spatial coordinate system, a radio frequency (RF) signal transmitted from a transmitter at an unknown location on earth within the spatial coordinate system. For each of the platforms, a phase change of the received frequency carrier is measured over the same duration of time. The measured phase changes are combined to determine the transmitter location; col. 2, ll. 35-38: [P]hase difference of arrival (PDOA) equation that, for the nth platform, relates the measured phase change to the transmitter location)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify FREEDMAN’s beamforming procedure to use a plurality of non-earthbound platforms to form a spatial coordinate system as taught by MASON, such that a phase change of the received frequency carrier is measured over the same duration of time and the measured phase changes are combined, so as to provide for geolocation techniques that accommodate signal frequency changes more readily than conventional FDOA techniques. See MASON, at col. 1, 32-34.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over FREEDMAN view of GUNDAVELLI, QIAO, and EDGE, as applied to claim 7, and further in view of US 2022/0416585 (hereinafter, “HAJIMIRI”).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of FREEDMAN, GUNDAVELLI, QAIO, and EDGE, as applied above, renders obvious the method of claim 7. FREEDMAN does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the location of the first target terrestrial device is a future location, and
wherein determining the location comprises predicting the future location using a Kalman filter method.
In the same field of endeavor, however, HAJIMIRI teaches:
wherein the location of the first target terrestrial device is a future location, and (¶ 0007: [P]redicting the second[, future] position of the first mobile device)
wherein determining the location comprises predicting the future location using a Kalman filter method. (¶ 0007: [T]he second position is predicted using one of Kalman filter or a trained artificial intelligence system)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify FREEDMAN’s beamforming procedure to provide for prediction of a terminal’s future position as taught by HAJIMIRI to enable use of the information received from an RU, such that a power generating unit uses the radiation pattern to maintain its RF beam focused on the RU. See HAJIMIRI, at ¶ 0051.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over FREEDMAN in view of GUNDAVELLI and QIAO, as applied to claim 1, and further in view of US 2018/0337722 (hereinafter, “PAULSEN”).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of FREEDMAN and GUNDAVELLI, as applied above, renders obvious the method of claim 1. FREEDMAN does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the two or more mobile platforms are a subset of the plurality of mobile platforms forming the cluster.
In the same field of endeavor, however, PAULSEN teaches:
wherein the two or more mobile platforms are a subset of the plurality of mobile platforms forming the cluster. (¶ 0019: [A]n environment 10 includes an aircraft 14, a GEO satellite 18, LEO satellites 22 a-g, . . . . The aircraft 14 communicates with the GEO satellite 18 which is part of a GEO satellite network or constellation via a first beam 30 [and] communicates with the LEO satellite 22 d of the LEO satellites a-g which are part of a LEO satellite constellation via a second beam 34)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify FREEDMAN’s beamforming procedure to provide varies satellites as taught by PAULSEN which are satellites belonging to one or more satellite constellations—so as to increase gross data capacity and multi-mode operation in a beamforming non-terrestrial network (NTN). See PAULSEN, at ¶ 0015.
Claims 15 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over FREEDMAN in view of GUNDAVELLI and QIAO, as applied to claim 1 and claim 19, respectively, and further in view of “A GNSS Satellite Selection Method Based on SNR Fluctuation in Multipath Environments,” International Journal of Control and Automation, Vol. 8, No. 11 (2015), pp. 313-324 (hereinafter, “FANG”).
Regarding claims 15 and 30, the combination of FREEDMAN, GUNDAVELLI, and QIAO, as applied above, renders obvious the method of claim 1 and the system of claim 19, respectively. FREEDMAN further discloses:
select/ing the cluster for signal transmission to the plurality of target terrestrial devices from among a plurality of clusters,
FREEDMAN does not explicitly disclose:
wherein selecting the cluster is based on at least one of:
a signal-to-noise ratio of an uplink signal received at the cluster from a first target terrestrial device of the plurality of target terrestrial devices, an estimate of downlink multipath fading, or an estimated line-of-sight from the cluster to the first target terrestrial device.
In the same field of endeavor, however, FANG teaches:
wherein selecting the cluster is based on at least one of:
a signal-to-noise ratio of an uplink signal received at the cluster from a first target terrestrial device of the plurality of target terrestrial devices (Pg. 313: Common satellite selection methods include those based on . . . signal-to-noise ratio (SNR))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify FREEDMAN’s beamforming procedure to provide satellite selection methods based on signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) as taught by FANG to assign lower weight to measurements with lower SNR during the positioning process, such that a satellite with lower elevation angle typically has lower SNR value, so as to benefit multipath mitigation. See FANG, at Introduction.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over FREEDMAN in view of GUNDAVELLI and QIAO, as applied to claim 1, and further in view of CHANG and PAULSEN.
Regarding claim 17, the combination of FREEDMAN and GUNDAVELLI, as applied above, renders obvious the method of claim 1. FREEDMAN does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the plurality of mobile platforms comprise a leader platform, and wherein the method comprises:
receiving, at the leader platform, commands from a gateway device; and
relaying the commands to the two or more mobile platforms, the commands causing the two or more mobile platforms to transmit the respective signals.
In the same field of endeavor, however, CHANG teaches:
wherein the plurality of mobile platforms comprise a leader platform, and (anchoring air platform UAV 120)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify FREEDMAN’s beamforming procedure to provide an anchoring air platform UAV as taught by CHANG to manage a distributed airborne array—so as to enable inter-satellite communication and scaling of beamforming non-terrestrial networks (NTNs). See CHANG, at ¶ 0016.
Also, in the same field of endeavor, PAULSEN teaches:
wherein the method comprises:
receiving, at the leader platform, commands from a gateway device; and (¶ 0019: GEO satellite 18 which is part of a GEO satellite network or constellation via a first beam 30 sourced from the first ground station 26 a)
relaying the commands to the two or more mobile platforms, the commands causing the two or more mobile platforms to transmit the respective signals. (¶ 0045: [F]irst beam combiner circuit 246 a and the second beam combiner circuit 246b combine the respective beam signals)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify FREEDMAN’s beamforming procedure to receive commands from its ground hub as taught by PAULSEN to provide relaying of the commands to another mobile platform and thereby causing the other mobile platform to transmit the respective signals, to provide increased gross data capacity and multi-mode operation in a beamforming non-terrestrial network (NTN). See PAULSEN, at ¶ 0015.
Conclusion
US 2024/0284396 (hereinafter, “GHIMIRE”) teaches that the NW entity is located on the ground, like in a NTN gateway, e.g., in case of a transparent satellite payload, or on the NTN component, like in a satellite, e.g., in case of a regenerative satellite payload, and the NW entity is to obtain one or more third measurements associated with the uplink, e.g., one or more of the following: a receive-transmit, Rx-Tx, time difference between a time the NW entity or the further NW entity, like a NTN Gateway or an antenna connector of a TRP, received an UL reference signal and a time the NW entity or the further NW entity sent out a DL reference signal,
a receive time of an UL reference signal or a quality corresponding to the receive time, like a ToA or a phase, a difference in receive time between first and second reference signals, like a Reference Signal Time Difference, RSTD, between two UL reference signals, UL-RSs, one or more Doppler values. US 2022/0386250 (hereinafter, “OLESEN”) teaches that “low earth orbit (LEO) satellite systems, in particular mega-constellations (systems in which hundreds of (nano)satellites are deployed). Each satellite 106 in the mega-constellation may cover several satellite-enabled network entities that create on-ground cells. The on-ground cells may be created through an on-ground relay node 104 or by a gNB located on-ground or in a satellite.” ¶ 0042.
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Kathy Wang-Hurst can be reached at 571-720-5371. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/GARTH D RICHMOND/Examiner, Art Unit 2644
/KATHY W WANG-HURST/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2644