DETAILED ACTION
Introduction
Any rejections and/or objections, made in the previous Office Action, and not repeated below, are hereby withdrawn. The anticipation rejection over Nakatani et al. (US 2014/0124777 A1) has been overcome by the amendment to claim 1. The anticipation and obviousness rejections over Kong et al. (US 2021/0078296 A1) have been overcome by the amendment to claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5, 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Imayoshi (US 2020/0275548).
Imayoshi discloses a wiring board (i.e., package) comprising a glass substrate (10), insulating resin layers (6)(13) (corresponding to a buildup film) on the upper surface of the substrate, insulating resin layers (6)(13) on the lower surface (corresponding to the claimed adhesive layer), and a solder resist (16). See Figure 1 and paragraph [0112].
The wiring board includes wiring pattern (3)(4a)(18)(15b)(corresponding to the claimed electrically conductive interconnect) through substrate (10) and the insulating layers (6)(13) on the upper portion of the board. Id.
The insulating resin layers on the bottom surface are “vertically between and in contact with the solder resist layer and first layer.” Id. Imayoshi does not describe layers (6)(13) on the lower portion as being an “adhesive layer.” However, collectively these layers serves to attach the solder resist to the glass substrate, and are therefore considered to be an “adhesive layer.”
As to claim 5, Figure 4 shows layers (10)(first layer) and upper layers (6)(13) as having substantially the same width.
As to claim 10, Imayoshi shows interconnects 12a and 12b as having tapered walls in Figure 1.
As to claim 11, Imayoshi teaches the wiring board is for use in a mobile device in paragraph [0003].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Imayoshi (US 2020/0275548) as applied to claim 1 above.
Imayoshi anticipates claim 1 for the reasons recited above.
As to claim 2, Imayoshi does not disclose a “coreless” wiring board. However, Imayoshi teaches the thickness of the substrate may be 50 to 1000 µm. See paragraph [0053]. This range overlaps the range employed in the definition of coreless in paragraph [0021] of the instant specification:
A coreless package substrate 100 is a package substrate that does not have a traditional core layer, such as an organic core layer, a glass core layer, or the like. More generally, the coreless package substrate 100 may be a package substrate that does not include a reinforcement layer that is approximately 100µm or greater. While glass sheets 110 are included in the package substrate 100, the glass sheets 110 are not considered to be cores since they have thicknesses that are less than approximately 100µm.
Base upon this definition, and the teachings of Imayoshi, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have formed coreless or core-containing wiring boards. The rationale for doing so is that overlapping ranges have been held to establish prima facie obviousness. See MPEP 2144.05.
As to claim 6, Imayoshi teaches the thickness of the glass layer (i.e., first layer) is 50 to 1000 µm. See paragraph [0053]. Imayoshi further teaches layers (6) and (13) on the top portion of the substrate (corresponding to the second layer) have a thickness of 25 µm and 35 µm, respectively. See paragraphs [0104] and [0108]. Thus, the total thickness of the upper layers (6) and (13) is 60 µm, and Imayoshi discloses a lower limit for the substrate of 50 µm. Thus, it would have been obvious to have formed a glass that is thinner than the second layer.
As to claim 7, Imayoshi teaches the thickness of the glass layer (i.e., first layer) is 50 to 1000 µm. See paragraph [0053]. This range overlaps the range of claim 7, and overlapping ranges have been held to establish prima facie obviousness. See MPEP 2144.05.
Claims 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Imayoshi (US 2020/0275548) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kong et al. (US 2021/0078296 A1)(Kong).
Imayoshi anticipates claim 1 for the reasons recited above. Imayoshi fails to disclose a third layer comprising a glass as recited in claim 8.
However, it was known to one of ordinary skill in the art to have duplicated and stacked wiring packages. In this regard, Kong discloses duplicating glass substrates (containing wiring interconnects therethrough) and stacking them in forming wired articles. See Figure 6 and paragraph [0035].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have duplicated the layer structure of Imayoshi as suggested by Kong. The rationale for doing so is that it has been held to have been obvious to duplicate parts in a structure. See MPEP 2144.04 IV.B.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/David Sample/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1784