DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species, A, Species C and Species F in the reply filed on 12/17/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 4, 5, 9 and 15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Species B, D, E, G and H, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12/17/2025.
Examiner’s Note: The Examiner notes that claim 9 was not included by the Applicant as being elected in their response. However, claim 9 has been indicated by the Examiner as being nonelected as claim 9 is drawn to species where the third color subpixels have the shape of an isosceles right triangle or pentagon, both of which are part of species which were not elected by the Applicant.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 7, 8, 12, 16, 17, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Joe (US 2020/0328259) hereinafter “Joe”.
Regarding claim 1, Figs. 2, 28a and 28b of Joe teach a display panel (Paragraph 0001), comprising: a plurality of scanning lines (Items GL) and a plurality of data lines (Items DL), wherein the plurality of scanning lines (Items GL) are extended along a first direction (Left to right across the page) and arranged along a second direction (Up and down across the page), the plurality of data lines (Items DL) are extended along the second direction (Up and down across the page) and arranged along the first direction (Left to right across the page), and the first direction intersects the second direction; and a plurality of pixel units (Fig. 28b) arranged in an array along the first direction (Left to right across the page) and the second direction (Up and down across the page), wherein: a pixel unit (Fig. 28a) of the plurality of pixel units includes three sub-pixels, the three sub- pixels include a first-color sub-pixel (Left subpixel in Fig. 28a), a second-color sub-pixel (Top subpixel in Fig. 28a) and a third-color sub- pixel (Right subpixel in Fig. 28a), respectively, and the first color, the second color and the third color are different from each other (Paragraph 0070 where the colors are red, green, and blue respectively), a pixel opening area of the third-color sub-pixel (Right subpixel in Fig 28a) is larger than a pixel opening area of the first-color sub-pixel (Left subpixel in Fig. 28a), and is larger than a pixel opening area of the second-color sub-pixel (Top subpixel in Fig. 28a), along the first direction (Left to right across the page), the third-color sub-pixel (Right subpixel in Fig. 28a) overlaps with the first-color sub- pixel (Left subpixel in Fig. 28a) and does not overlap with the second-color sub-pixel (Top subpixel in Fig. 28a), and along the second direction (Up and down across the page), the third-color sub-pixel (Right subpixel in Fig. 28a) overlaps with the second-color sub-pixel (Top subpixel in Fig. 28a) and does not overlap with the first-color sub-pixel (Left subpixel in Fig. 28a), each of the first-color sub-pixel, the second-color sub-pixel and the third-color sub- pixel has a polygon shape (Where each subpixel has a triangular shape) with a longest edge (Hypotenuse), an extension direction of the longest edge of the first-color sub-pixel (Left subpixel in Fig. 28a) is along the second direction (Up and down across the page), an extension direction of the longest edge of the second-color sub- pixel (Top subpixel in Fig. 28a) is along the first direction (Left to right across the page), and an extension direction of the longest edge of the third-color sub-pixel (Right subpixel in Fig. 28a) intersects the first direction (Left to right across the page) and the second direction (Up and down across the page), and the longest edge of the first-color sub-pixel (Left subpixel in Fig 28a) is located on a side of other edges of the first-color sub-pixel facing away from a geometric center of a region where the pixel unit is located, the longest edge of the second-color sub-pixel (Top subpixel in Fig. 28a) is located on a side of other edges of the second-color sub-pixel facing away from the geometric center of the region where the pixel unit is located, and the longest edge of the third-color sub-pixel (Right subpixel in Fig. 28a) is located on a side of other edges of the third-color sub-pixel facing towards the geometric center of the region where the pixel unit is located.
Regarding claim 2, Fig. 28a of Joe further teaches in the pixel unit, each of the first color subpixel (Left subpixel in Fig. 28a), the second color subpixel (Top subpixel in Fig. 28a) and the third color subpixel (Right subpixel in Fig. 28a) has a convex polygon shape (Where the shapes are triangles).
Regarding claim 3, Fig. 28a of Joe further teaches where, the pixel unit, the first color subpixel (Left subpixel in Fig. 28a) the second color subpixel (Top subpixel in Fig. 28a) and the third color subpixel (Right subpixel in Fig. 28a) has a same shape (Where all three of the subpixels are triangles).
Regarding claim 7, Fig. 28b of Joe further teaches where the three subpixels in adjacent two pixel units along the first direction (Left to right across the page) are arranged in a mirror image.
Regarding claim 8, Fig. 28b of Joe further teaches where the three subpixels in adjacent two pixel units along the first direction (Left to right across the page) are arranged in a mirror image.
Regarding claim 12, Fig. 28b of Joe further teaches the three subpixels in adjacent two pixel units along the first direction (Left to right across the page) are arranged in a mirror image; and the three subpixels in adjacent two pixel units along the second direction (Up and down across the page) are arranged in a mirror image, wherein third color subpixels in the pixel units that are arranged in a mirror image are adjacent to each other.
Regarding claim 16, Joe further teaches where subpixels with a same color and located in a same column along the second direction (Up and down across the page) are connected to a same data line of the plurality of data lines.
Regarding claim 17, Joe further teaches the first color subpixel (Left subpixel in Fig. 28a) is a green subpixel, the second color subpixel (Top subpixel in Fig. 28a) is a red subpixel, and the third color subpixel (Right subpixel in Fig. 28a) is a blue subpixel (Paragraph 0068).
Regarding claim 19, Fig. 28b of Joe further teaches in the pixel unit, at least one edge of the first color subpixel (Left subpixel in Fig. 28a) is parallel to one edge of the second color subpixel (Top subpixel in Fig. 28a), and at least one edge of the first color subpixel is parallel to one edge of the third color subpixel (Right subpixel in Fig. 28a); and in the pixel unit, in adjacent subpixels with two colors, two edges that are parallel to each other are adjacent.
Regarding claim 20, Figs. 2, 28a and 28b of Joe teach a display device, comprising: a display panel (Paragraph 0001), the display panel including: a plurality of scanning lines (Items GL) and a plurality of data lines (Items DL), wherein the plurality of scanning lines (Items GL) are extended along a first direction (Left to right across the page) and arranged along a second direction (Up and down across the page), the plurality of data lines (Items DL) are extended along the second direction (Up and down across the page) and arranged along the first direction (Left to right across the page), and the first direction intersects the second direction; and a plurality of pixel units (Fig. 28b) arranged in an array along the first direction (Left to right across the page) and the second direction (Up and down across the page), wherein: a pixel unit (Fig. 28a) of the plurality of pixel units includes three sub-pixels, the three sub- pixels include a first-color sub-pixel (Left subpixel in Fig. 28a), a second-color sub-pixel (Top subpixel in Fig. 28a) and a third-color sub- pixel (Right subpixel in Fig. 28a), respectively, and the first color, the second color and the third color are different from each other (Paragraph 0070 where the colors are red, green, and blue respectively), a pixel opening area of the third-color sub-pixel (Right subpixel in Fig 28a) is larger than a pixel opening area of the first-color sub-pixel (Left subpixel in Fig. 28a), and is larger than a pixel opening area of the second-color sub-pixel (Top subpixel in Fig. 28a), along the first direction (Left to right across the page), the third-color sub-pixel (Right subpixel in Fig. 28a) overlaps with the first-color sub- pixel (Left subpixel in Fig. 28a) and does not overlap with the second-color sub-pixel (Top subpixel in Fig. 28a), and along the second direction (Up and down across the page), the third-color sub-pixel (Right subpixel in Fig. 28a) overlaps with the second-color sub-pixel (Top subpixel in Fig. 28a) and does not overlap with the first-color sub-pixel (Left subpixel in Fig. 28a), each of the first-color sub-pixel, the second-color sub-pixel and the third-color sub- pixel has a polygon shape (Where each subpixel has a triangular shape) with a longest edge (Hypotenuse), an extension direction of the longest edge of the first-color sub-pixel (Left subpixel in Fig. 28a) is along the second direction (Up and down across the page), an extension direction of the longest edge of the second-color sub- pixel (Top subpixel in Fig. 28a) is along the first direction (Left to right across the page), and an extension direction of the longest edge of the third-color sub-pixel (Right subpixel in Fig. 28a) intersects the first direction (Left to right across the page) and the second direction (Up and down across the page), and the longest edge of the first-color sub-pixel (Left subpixel in Fig 28a) is located on a side of other edges of the first-color sub-pixel facing away from a geometric center of a region where the pixel unit is located, the longest edge of the second-color sub-pixel (Top subpixel in Fig. 28a) is located on a side of other edges of the second-color sub-pixel facing away from the geometric center of the region where the pixel unit is located, and the longest edge of the third-color sub-pixel (Right subpixel in Fig. 28a) is located on a side of other edges of the third-color sub-pixel facing towards the geometric center of the region where the pixel unit is located.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Joe (US 2020/0328259) hereinafter “Joe” in view of Gong (US 2015/0015465) hereinafter “Gong”.
Regarding claim 6, Joes teaches all of the elements of the claimed invention as stated above except where in the pixel unit, at least part of the three subpixels includes: a first edge and a second edge that are disposed in parallel, a first side waist and a second side waist that are respectively connected with two ends of the first edge, and a first connecting edge and a second connecting edge, where the first connecting edge connects the first side waist and a first end of the second edge, the second connecting edge connects the second side waist and a second end of the second edge, and the second edge is the longest edge of the at least one of the three subpixels.
Gong teaches where a corner subpixel has a shape having a first edge and a second edge that are disposed in parallel, a first side waist and a second side waist that are respectively connected with two ends of the first edge, and a first connecting edge and a second connecting edge, where the first connecting edge connects the first side waist and a first end of the second edge, the second connecting edge connects the second side waist and a second end of the second edge, and the second edge is the longest edge of the at least one of the three subpixels.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have in the pixel unit, at least part of the three subpixels includes: a first edge and a second edge that are disposed in parallel, a first side waist and a second side waist that are respectively connected with two ends of the first edge, and a first connecting edge and a second connecting edge, where the first connecting edge connects the first side waist and a first end of the second edge, the second connecting edge connects the second side waist and a second end of the second edge, and the second edge is the longest edge of the at least one of the three subpixels because this allows for optimal spacing between subpixels such that a high resolution of a display device results (Gong Paragraph 0058).
Claim 10, 11, 13, 14 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Joe (US 2020/0328259) hereinafter “Joe” in view of Sun et al. (US 2021/0233969) hereinafter “Sun”.
Regarding claim 10, Joe teaches all of the elements of the claimed invention as stated above except where in two pixel units that are arranged in the mirror image, light emitting layers of the adjacent third color subpixels are continuous.
Fig. 6 of Sun teaches where, in two pixel units that are arranged in the mirror image, light emitting layers (Item 112) of the adjacent third color subpixels (Items SP3) are continuous.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have, in two pixel units that are arranged in the mirror image, light emitting layers of the adjacent third color subpixels are continuous because this allows a single opening in a mask to be used to form the two adjacent third subpixels (Sun Paragraph 0146).
Regarding claim 11, Joe teaches all of the elements of the claimed invention as stated above except where in the two pixel units that are arranged in the mirror image, the adjacent third color subpixels are electrically connected to different pixel driving circuits, respectively.
Fig. 6 of Sun teaches where in the two pixel units that are arranged in the mirror image, the adjacent third color subpixels (Items SP3) are electrically connected to different pixel driving circuits (Items Td), respectively.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have, in the two pixel units that are arranged in the mirror image, the adjacent third color subpixels are electrically connected to different pixel driving circuits, respectively because this allows two subpixels sharing a common light emitting layer to be driven separately (Sun Paragraph 0135).
Regarding claim 13, Joe teaches all of the elements of the claimed invention as stated above.
Fig. 28b of Joe further teaches where in a portion of adjacent pixel units along the first direction, two first color subpixels are adjacent to each other.
Joe does not teach light emitting layers of the adjacent two first color subpixels are continuous.
Fig. 6 of Sun teaches where, in two pixel units that are arranged in the mirror image, light emitting layers (Item 112) of adjacent color subpixels (Items SP3) are continuous.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have light emitting layers of the adjacent two first color subpixels be continuous because this allows a single opening in a mask to be used to form the two adjacent first subpixels (Sun Paragraph 0146).
Regarding claim 14, Joe teaches all of the elements of the claimed invention as stated above.
Fig. 28b of Joe further teaches where in a portion of adjacent pixel units along the second direction, two second color subpixels are adjacent to each other.
Joe does not teach light emitting layers of the adjacent two second color subpixels are continuous.
Fig. 6 of Sun teaches where, in two pixel units that are arranged in the mirror image, light emitting layers (Item 112) of adjacent color subpixels (Items SP3) are continuous.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have light emitting layers of the adjacent two second color subpixels be continuous because this allows a single opening in a mask to be used to form the two adjacent second subpixels (Sun Paragraph 0146).
Regarding claim 18, Joe teaches all of the elements of the claimed invention as stated above.
Joe further teaches where: in the pixel unit, a minimum distance between the first-color sub-pixel (Left subpixel in Fig. 28a) and the second- color sub-pixel (Top subpixel in Fig. 28a) is marked as "a", a minimum distance between the third-color sub-pixel (Right subpixel in Fig. 28a) and the second-color sub-pixel (Top subpixel in Fig. 28a) is marked as "b", and a minimum distance between the first-color sub-pixel (Left subpixel in Fig. 28a) and the third-color sub-pixel (Right subpixel in Fig. 28a) is marked as "c", wherein a=b.
Joe does not teach where (a and b ) ≥ c.
However, Sun teaches where the distance between light emitting zones is a result effective variable (Paragraph 0098 where a distance is chosen to provide a specific pixel arrangement that produces a desired display effect). In In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977), the CCPA held that a particular parameter must first be recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e., a variable which achieves a recognized result, before the determination of the optimum or workable ranges of said variable might be characterized as routine experimentation, because "obvious to try" is not a valid rationale for an obviousness finding (MPEP 2144.05).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the minimum distance between subpixels such that a and b are greater than c because "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (MPEP 2144.05).
Conclusion
/ERIC K ASHBAHIAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2891