Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the concave top surface in claim 10 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). As concave means an inward curvature where the middle portion is thinner than the edge portions, part 16 in figures 2 -4 is not concave. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 8-11, and 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Spagnoli (US Pub No.: 2010/0217331).
Regarding claim 1, Spagnoli (US Pub No.: 2010/0217331) discloses a screw for maintaining space during a bone augmentation procedure (in the abstract, screws shown in figure 1 and 3)), the screw comprising: a head having a top surface configured to support a dental membrane (being contoured head 110); a shaft extending from a bottom surface of the head (shown in figures 1 and 3 as parts 140 and 340 respectively), as least a portion of the shaft having threads (threads on a shaft in [0028], shown in figures 1 and 3); and a tip (the tip 150 and 350 in figures 1 and 3), wherein the screw is formed from bone material (cortical bone and hydroxyapatite disclosed in [0070]).
Regarding claim 2, Spagnoli discloses the screw of claim 1, wherein the bone material is selected from one of allograft and xenograft (as cortical bone is present in [0070], a xenografted source of a material is implied).
Regarding claim 3, Spagnoli discloses the screw of claim 1, wherein the bone material is an artificial bone material that has characteristics of cortical bone (disclosed in [0070]).
Regarding claim 8, Spagnoli discloses the screw of claim 1, wherein the portion of the shaft that includes the threads is the entire shaft (in figure 1).
Regarding claim 9, Spagnoli discloses the screw of claim 1, wherein the portion of the shaft that includes the threads is about 75 percent (%) of a total length of the shaft (as per [0055], the “the threading initiates at the tip but stops at some point prior to reaching the head.” As such, Spagnoli teaches ranges of threads other than in instances when the threading extends across the entirety of the shaft).
Regarding claim 10, Spagnoli discloses a support screw for maintaining space during a bone augmentation procedure (in the abstract), the screw comprising: a head (part 110 in figure 1 as per [0040) having a concave top surface (bi-concave surface by part 210 in figure [0038]) configured to support a dental membrane (fixating membranes in [0047], Dental disclosure in [0001]-[0003]), the head comprising an engagement bore configured to engage with a tool to insert the support screw into patient bone (being the opening shown in figure 2, with projections disclosed in [0038]); a shaft extending from a bottom surface of the head (part 140 in figure 1), as least 50 percent (%) of the shaft having threads (shown visually in figure 1, full threading in [0032]); and a tip configured to engage the patient bone (figure 1 part 150), wherein the support screw is formed from bone material (cortical bone and hydroxyapatite disclosed in [0070]).
Regarding claim 11, Spagnoli discloses the support screw of claim 10, wherein the bone material is selected from one of allograft and xenograft (as cortical bone is present in [0070], a xenografted source of a material is implied).
Regarding claim 14, Spagnoli discloses a method of performing a bone augmentation procedure (bone grafting procedure in the abstract, method in [0006]), the method including: installing a screw into a bone of the patient along a surgical site (implanting of a screw into a jawbone in [0006]), the screw including: a head (part 110 in figure 1 as per [0040) having a top surface configured to support a dental membrane (fixating membranes in [0047], Dental disclosure in [0001]-[0003]), a shaft extending from a bottom surface of the head (part 140 in figure 1), as least a portion of the shaft having threads (shown visually in figure 1, full threading in [0032]); and a tip (figure 1 part 150), wherein the screw is formed from bone material(cortical bone and hydroxyapatite disclosed in [0070]); securing a dental membrane to the bone of the patient such that a head of the screw supports the dental membrane (as a fixation of a membrane is disclosed in [0047], the screw device of Spagnoli that includes head part 110 will also support a membrane. Support of a soft tissue 570 present in figure 5); and packing the space between the bone, the dental membrane, and the screw with bone grafting material (part 450 in figure 4 is disclosed as being bone growth material in [0046]. As bone grafting material is used to promote a bone growth, part 450 is considered to be equivalent to a bone grafting material. Mesh part 550 in figure 5 is also considered to be equivalent to a bone grafting material).
Regarding claim 15, Spagnoli discloses the method of claim 14, wherein the bone material is selected from one of allograft and xenograft (as cortical bone is present in [0070], a xenografted source of a material is implied).
Regarding claim 16, Spagnoli discloses the method of claim 14, wherein the bone material is an artificial bone material that has characteristics of cortical bone (disclosed in [0070]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Spagnoli (US Pub No.: 2010/0217331) in view of Vickers (US Pub No.: 2017/0333190).
Regarding claim 4, Spagnoli discloses the screw of claim 3. However, Spagnoli does not teach wherein the screw has a porosity of about 5 percent (%) to about 10%.
Instead, Vickers discloses wherein the screw has a porosity of about 5 percent (%) to about 10% (porosity of particles within this range in [0077], wherein the particles are part of an osteoimplants with a dental usage disclosed in [0028]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the particles of Vickers into Spagnoli for the purpose of providing particles used detailed in [0028] and [0062], where said porosity will allow for a bone growth in [0122].
Regarding claim 17, Spagnoli discloses the screw of claim 14. However, Spagnoli does not teach wherein the screw has a porosity of about 5 percent (%) to about 10%.
Instead, Vickers discloses wherein the screw has a porosity of about 5 percent (%) to about 10% (porosity of particles within this range in [0077], wherein the particles are part of an osteoimplants with a dental usage disclosed in [0028]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the particles of Vickers into Spagnoli for the purpose of providing particles used detailed in [0028] and [0062], where said porosity will allow for a bone growth in [0122].
Claim(s) 5 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Spagnoli (US Pub No.: 2010/0217331) in view of Pillar (US Patent No.: 5,344,457).
Regarding claim 5, Spagnoli discloses the screw of claim 3. However, Spagnoli does not teach wherein the screw has a pore diameter of about 10 microns ( µm) to about 50 µm.
Instead, Pillar (US Patent No.: 5,344,457) teaches wherein the screw has a pore diameter of about 10 microns ( µm) to about 50 µm (in column 5 lines 52-67 into column 6 lines 1-9). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the porosity ranges presented in Pillar into Spagnoli for the purpose of providing a varying porosity on an implant to allow for an ingrowth as per 5 lines 52-67 to column 6 lines 1-9.
Regarding claim 18, Spagnoli discloses the screw of claim 14. However, Spagnoli does not teach wherein the screw has a pore diameter of about 10 microns ( µm) to about 50 µm.
Instead, Pillar (US Patent No.: 5,344,457) teaches wherein the screw has a pore diameter of about 10 microns ( µm) to about 50 µm (in column 5 lines 52-67 into column 6 lines 1-9). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the porosity ranges presented in Pillar into Spagnoli for the purpose of providing a varying porosity on an implant to allow for an ingrowth as per 5 lines 52-67 to column 6 lines 1-9.
Claim(s) 6-7, 13, and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Spagnoli (US Pub No.: 2010/0217331) in view of Sfeir (US Pub No.: 2023/0094767).
Regarding claim 6, Spagnoli discloses the screw of claim 1. However, Spagnoli does not teach wherein the porosity of the screw changes along a longitudinal axis of the screw.
Instead, Sfeir teaches wherein teaches wherein the porosity of the screw changes along a longitudinal axis of the screw (a porosity gradient along a bone screw is disclosed in [0032]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the difference in porosities throughout the screw shaft and screw head, as presented in [0032] of Sfeir into Spagnoli for the purpose of providing a means for controlling the resorption rates of parts of the implanted screw (in [0032]).
Regarding claim 7, Spagnoli discloses the screw of claim 1. However, Spagnoli does not teach wherein the shaft has a porosity that is different from the porosity of the head of the screw.
Sfeir (US Pub No.: 2023/0094767) teaches wherein the shaft has a porosity that is different from the porosity of the head of the screw (in [0032]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the difference in porosities throughout the screw shaft and screw head, as presented in [0032] of Sfeir into Spagnoli for the purpose of providing a means for controlling the resorption rates of parts of the implanted screw (in [0032]).
Regarding claim 13, Spagnoli discloses the support screw of claim 10. However, Spagnoli does not teach wherein the shaft has a porosity that is different from the porosity of the head of the screw.
Sfeir (US Pub No.: 2023/0094767) teaches wherein the shaft has a porosity that is different from the porosity of the head of the screw (in [0032]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the difference in porosities throughout the screw shaft and screw head, as presented in [0032] of Sfeir into Spagnoli for the purpose of providing a means for controlling the resorption rates of parts of the implanted screw (in [0032]).
Regarding claim 19, Spagnoli discloses the screw of claim 17. However, Spagnoli does not teach wherein the porosity of the screw changes along a longitudinal axis of the screw.
Instead, Sfeir teaches wherein teaches wherein the porosity of the screw changes along a longitudinal axis of the screw (a porosity gradient along a bone screw is disclosed in [0032]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the difference in porosities throughout the screw shaft and screw head, as presented in [0032] of Sfeir into Spagnoli for the purpose of providing a means for controlling the resorption rates of parts of the implanted screw (in [0032]).
Regarding claim 20, Spagnoli discloses the screw of claim 14. However, Spagnoli does not teach wherein the shaft has a porosity that is different from the porosity of the head of the screw.
Sfeir (US Pub No.: 2023/0094767) teaches wherein the shaft has a porosity that is different from the porosity of the head of the screw (in [0032]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the difference in porosities throughout the screw shaft and screw head, as presented in [0032] of Sfeir into Spagnoli for the purpose of providing a means for controlling the resorption rates of parts of the implanted screw (in [0032]).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Spagnoli (US Pub No.: 2010/0217331) in view of Drapeau (US Pub No.: 2017/0266347).
Regarding claim 12, Spagnoli teaches the support screw of claim 10. However, Spagnoli does not teach wherein the bone material is mineralized.
Instead, Drapeau (US Pub No.: 2017/0266347) teaches wherein the bone material Is mineralized (mineralized tissue in the abstract and [032]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a mineralized material as presented in Drapeau into Spagnoli for the purpose of providing a bone material for a screw (screws in [0104] of Drapeau) that is disclosed as being osteoinductive as per [0076] which will stimulate a formation of new bone.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Althobity (US Pub No.: 2018/0333236) considered for screw like members for a denture in figure 8. Ali (US Pub No.: 2013/0280675) considered for screw details (579 in figure 6) that are inserted into a jaw bone.
/AREN PATEL/Examiner, Art Unit 3774
/JERRAH EDWARDS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3774