Election/Restrictions
Claims 1, 4, 9, 10 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected Group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 11/10/25.
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 11/10/26 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that there is no serious burden on the Examiner to search the subject matter of Invention I and Invention II. This is not found persuasive because Group II is using a computer system capable of finding and using the patient’s specific bone void to develop and create the implant. Group II uses a 3D scan system, sending the information to a computer, the computer developing a #D model with the exact dimensions and then sending the information to a system that can create and match the exact bone void in an implant. Therefore, the Examiner maintains the restriction.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Neither the claims or the specification clearly identifies the denominator or test for “percentage of BMP exposed”. It is unclear whether 8% refers to total native BMP, weight percentage, surface exposure, extractable BMP, etc…
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 2, 7, 21-24 and 27-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tjon US patent Pub. 2020/0337774A1.
Regarding claims 2, 21-24, 28 and 29, Tjon discloses a method of forming an allograft or xenograft bone plug comprising acquiring scan data including a virtual three-dimensional (3D) image of a patient including a bone void at a surgical site; selecting at least one dimension of the bone void of the patient from the virtual 3D image; developing a 3D virtual representation of a bone plug; and selecting at least one feature of the 3Dvirtual representation of the bone plug based on the selected at least one dimension of the bone void. See paragraphs 10-14 and 17.
Regarding claim 7, see col. 3, lines 16-35.
Regarding claim 27, it is inherent to store in a database the scanned data of a patient. It can be in a backup database, in the cloud, etc..
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6, 8, 12-14, 25 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tjon US patent Pub. 2020/0337774A1 in view of Scarborough US Patent Pub. 2008/0058953.
Tjon discloses the invention substantially as claimed. However, Tjon is silent regarding demineralization, the type of solution used to demineralize the bone plug and does not disclose the different percentage of BMP in different regions of the implant and does not disclose that the desired percentage of BMP exposed after the demineralization is less than or equal to about 8%.
Regarding claims 8, 13, 14, 25 and 26, Scarborough discloses a cortical implantable matrix capable of being demineralized by a hydrochloric acid for the purpose of reducing the amount of mineral in the allograft or xenograft bone for the purpose of exposing the matrix to certain percentage of BMP. The implantable matrix composed of the different structures, the first region (22) of lesser demineralization (lesser exposure of BMP) and a second region (24) of greater demineralization (greater exposure of BMP) for the purpose of imparting a degree of flexibility in certain areas and imparting some strength to other areas to provide structural support.
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art to modify the bone plug of the Tjon reference with the demineralized bone matrix of the Scarborough reference to provide some degree of flexibility to certain areas and provide strength to other areas of the implant, in addition to expose a larger amount of BMP for the purpose of promoting the growth of bone tissue through the porous matrix of the implant.
Regarding claims 6 and 12, Scarborough disclose the claimed invention except for the percentage of BMP exposed after the demineralization (less or equal to 8%). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to expose less than 8% of BMP after demineralization, since it has been held that finding an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F. 2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Conclusion
/ALVIN J STEWART/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799 9/11/26