Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I, Species B in the reply filed on 9/24/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 2, 4-7, 11, 13-16, and 18-20 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention and species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 9/24/2026.
Claim Objections
Claim is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1; “a improved microcatheter path” should be changed to “an improved microcatheter path” for grammar.
In claim 1; “intracranial vascular model with aneurysm” should be changed to “intracranial vascular model with an aneurysm” for grammar.
In claim 1; “the generation methods of each unit segment” should be changed to “the generation method[[s]] of each unit segment” for grammar.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3, 8-10, 12, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 1, claim 1 recites “according to the offset vector, the nearest point and its follow-up points on the centerline toward the distal end are offset in sequence until a critical point that does not exceed the vessel wall after the offset is found”. This is understood to be a computer implemented functional limitation which requires disclosure of the underlying algorithm(s) for obtaining the result in order to comply with the written description requirement. See MPEP § 2161.01(1). While the specification provides literal support for finding a critical point as in [0011], [0046], [0051], [0078], [0089], [0100] (paragraphs as numbered in applicant's pre-grant publication, US20230210600A1), there is no description as to how the offset vector, nearest point, and its follow up points are used to determine a critical point, how they are used to offset in sequence, or what they are offsetting. Additionally, there is no description of what a follow-up point is at all other than it is used to determine the critical point nor is there any description of how to generate the offset vector or the follow-up points. For this reason, applicant has failed to comply with the written description requirement for this computer-implemented function.
Regarding claim 1, claim 1 recites “according to the offset vector, the nearest point and its follow-up points on the centerline toward the distal end are offset in sequence until a critical point that does not exceed the vessel wall after the offset is found”. While the specification provides literal support for finding a critical point as in [0011], [0046], [0051], [0078], [0089], [0100] (paragraphs as numbered in applicant's pre-grant publication, US20230210600A1), there is no description as to how the offset vector, nearest point, and its follow up points are used to determine a critical point, how they are used to offset in sequence, or what they are offsetting. Additionally, there is no description of what a follow-up point is at all other than it is used to determine the critical point nor is there any description of how to generate the offset vector or the follow-up points. The Applicant’s description appears to be a black box in which undefined variables are input and a desired result is generated with no description for how the variables are determined and what is done to obtain the desired result. For this reason, applicant has failed to demonstrate that at the time the application was filed, they had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 3, claim 3 recites “restricting the points within the blood vessel wall through offsetting the points beyond the blood vessel wall, and connecting them sequentially to generate the curved segments”. This is understood to be a computer implemented functional limitation which requires disclosure of the underlying algorithm(s) for obtaining the result in order to comply with the written description requirement. See MPEP § 2161.01(1). While the specification provides literal support for finding a critical point as in [0016], [0069] (paragraphs as numbered in applicant's pre-grant publication, US20230210600A1), there is no description as to how the points are restricted via offsetting points. Additionally, there is no description of what an offsetting point is nor is there any description of how to generate the offsetting points. For this reason, applicant has failed to comply with the written description requirement for this computer-implemented function.
Regarding claim 3, claim 3 recites “restricting the points within the blood vessel wall through offsetting the points beyond the blood vessel wall, and connecting them sequentially to generate the curved segments”. While the specification provides literal support for finding a critical point as in [0016], [0069] (paragraphs as numbered in applicant's pre-grant publication, US20230210600A1), there is no description as to how the points are restricted via offsetting points. Additionally, there is no description of what an offsetting point is nor is there any description of how to generate the offsetting points. The Applicant’s description appears to be a black box in which undefined variables are input and a desired result is generated with no description for how the variables are determined and what is done to obtain the desired result. For this reason, applicant has failed to demonstrate that at the time the application was filed, they had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 12, claim 12 recites “restricting the points within the blood vessel wall through offsetting the points beyond the blood vessel wall, and connecting them sequentially to generate the curved segments”. This is understood to be a computer implemented functional limitation which requires disclosure of the underlying algorithm(s) for obtaining the result in order to comply with the written description requirement. See MPEP § 2161.01(1). While the specification provides literal support for finding a critical point as in [0016], [0069] (paragraphs as numbered in applicant's pre-grant publication, US20230210600A1), there is no description as to how the points are restricted via offsetting points. Additionally, there is no description of what an offsetting point is nor is there any description of how to generate the offsetting points. For this reason, applicant has failed to comply with the written description requirement for this computer-implemented function.
Regarding claim 12, claim 12 recites “restricting the points within the blood vessel wall through offsetting the points beyond the blood vessel wall, and connecting them sequentially to generate the curved segments”. While the specification provides literal support for finding a critical point as in [0016], [0069] (paragraphs as numbered in applicant's pre-grant publication, US20230210600A1), there is no description as to how the points are restricted via offsetting points. Additionally, there is no description of what an offsetting point is nor is there any description of how to generate the offsetting points. The Applicant’s description appears to be a black box in which undefined variables are input and a desired result is generated with no description for how the variables are determined and what is done to obtain the desired result. For this reason, applicant has failed to demonstrate that at the time the application was filed, they had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 17, claim 17 recites “restricting the points within the blood vessel wall through offsetting the points beyond the blood vessel wall, and connecting them sequentially to generate the curved segments”. This is understood to be a computer implemented functional limitation which requires disclosure of the underlying algorithm(s) for obtaining the result in order to comply with the written description requirement. See MPEP § 2161.01(1). While the specification provides literal support for finding a critical point as in [0016], [0069] (paragraphs as numbered in applicant's pre-grant publication, US20230210600A1), there is no description as to how the points are restricted via offsetting points. Additionally, there is no description of what an offsetting point is nor is there any description of how to generate the offsetting points. For this reason, applicant has failed to comply with the written description requirement for this computer-implemented function.
Regarding claim 17, claim 17 recites “restricting the points within the blood vessel wall through offsetting the points beyond the blood vessel wall, and connecting them sequentially to generate the curved segments”. While the specification provides literal support for finding a critical point as in [0016], [0069] (paragraphs as numbered in applicant's pre-grant publication, US20230210600A1), there is no description as to how the points are restricted via offsetting points. Additionally, there is no description of what an offsetting point is nor is there any description of how to generate the offsetting points. The Applicant’s description appears to be a black box in which undefined variables are input and a desired result is generated with no description for how the variables are determined and what is done to obtain the desired result. For this reason, applicant has failed to demonstrate that at the time the application was filed, they had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 1, 3, 8-10, 12, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1, 3, 8-10, 12, 17, the claims are generally narrative and indefinite, failing to conform with current U.S. practice. They appear to be a literal translation into English from a foreign document and are replete with grammatical and idiomatic errors.
Regarding claim 1, the limitation “the intracranial vascular model with aneurysm” lacks antecedent basis.
Regarding claim 1, the limitation “the proximal vessel entrance” lacks antecedent basis.
Regarding claim 1, the limitation “the distal aneurysm” lacks antecedent basis.
Regarding claim 1, the limitation “the proximal start point” lacks antecedent basis.
Regarding claim 1, the limitation “the proximal starting point” lacks antecedent basis. It is also unclear how this proximal starting point relates to the proximal start point.
Regarding claim 1, the limitation “the blood vessel” lacks antecedent basis.
Regarding claim 1, the limitation “the vessel wall” lacks antecedent basis. It is also unclear how this vessel wall relates to the inner wall of the blood vessel previously set forth.
Regarding claim 1, the limitation “the nearest point” lacks antecedent basis. It is also unclear how this nearest point relates to the closest point previously set forth.
Regarding claim 1, the limitation “the curved section” lacks antecedent basis. It is also unclear how this curve section relates to the curved segment previously set forth.
Regarding claim 1, claim 1 recites “according to the offset vector, the nearest point and its follow-up points on the centerline toward the distal end are offset in sequence until a critical point that does not exceed the vessel wall after the offset is found”. It is unclear how the offset vector, nearest point, and its follow up points are used to determine a critical point, how they are used to offset in sequence, or what they are offsetting because there is no description of what a follow-up point is in the specification. Clarification is required.
Regarding claim 3, claim 3 recites “restricting the points within the blood vessel wall through offsetting the points beyond the blood vessel wall, and connecting them sequentially to generate the curved segments”. It is unclear what restricting the points or offsetting the points means because there is no description in the specification of what the process is. Clarification is required.
Regarding claim 3, the limitation “the generation approach” lacks antecedent basis. It is also unclear how this generation approach relates to the generation method previously set forth.
Regarding claim 3, the limitation “the blood vessel wall” lacks antecedent basis. It is also unclear how this blood vessel wall relates to the inner wall of the blood vessel and the vessel wall previously set forth.
Regarding claim 3, the limitation “the points” has unclear antecedent basis. It is also unclear how this blood vessel wall relates to the inner wall of the blood vessel and unclear if this limitation is referring to the nearest point, closest point, follow-up point, proximal start point, proximal starting point, distal end point, middle demarcation point, contact point, or some other point.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because their broadest reasonable interpretation includes signals per se. See MPEP 2106.03(I). To overcome this rejection the Examiner recommends amending the claims to recite “non-transitory”.
Claims 1, 3, 8-10, 12, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea in the form of a mental process without significantly more.
Regarding claim 1, claim 1 is considered to be directed towards an abstract idea because they recite a mental process of generating a centerline and a plurality of unit segments to form a microcatheter path. Specifically, the limitation of calculating a centerline and a plurality of unit segments to form a microcatheter path is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind. That is, nothing in the claim element precludes the step from practically being performed in the mind. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind, then it falls within the “mental processes” grouping of abstract ideas. See MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2).III. A-B.
The judicial exceptions enumerated above (i.e., mathematical formula, mental process, and law of nature) are not integrated into a practical application. Specifically, the additional limitations of claim 1 directed towards acquiring an intracranial vascular model are merely extra-solution activity of gathering data that would be required in any form of data analysis to implement the judicial exceptions. Consequently, these additional elements do not integrate the judicial exceptions into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the judicial exceptions.
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. For example, as explained above, the additional limitations of claim 1 directed towards acquiring an intracranial vascular model are merely extra-solution activity of gathering data that would be required in any form of data analysis to implement the judicial exceptions. Mere extra-solution activity does not add significantly more to the judicial exceptions. Therefore, when considered separately and in combination, the additional limitations of claim 1 do not add significantly more (also known as an “inventive concept”) to the judicial exceptions.
Turning to the dependent claims:
Claims 3, 12, and 17 recite additional elements directed towards further details of the abstract idea, specifying particular calculations used to implement the abstract idea of calculating the unit segments. These elements are not integrated into a practical application and are insufficient to amount to “significantly more” than the abstract idea because they too are directed towards the abstract idea.
Claims 8-10 recites additional elements directed towards processing circuitry or use thereof comprise no more than instructions to implement the judicial exceptions on a computer, or merely use a computer as a tool to perform the judicial exceptions. Mere instructions to apply an exception using generic computer components do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application and do not add significantly more to the judicial exceptions.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 8-10, 12, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (CN112419276B, hereafter Wang and using a machine translation) and Kumar (WO2015150320A1).
Regarding claim 1, Wang discloses an improved microcatheter path generation method, comprising:
acquiring the intracranial vascular model with aneurysm (Wang, Pg 3; “To achieve the above object, in a first aspect, the present application provides a method for adjusting a contour of a blood vessel, comprising: acquiring a blood vessel central line and a blood vessel contour line of a two-dimensional coronary angiography;”), generating the centerline from the proximal vessel entrance to the distal aneurysm (Wang, Pg 3; “selecting an adjustment region of the vessel contour line of interest; and adjusting the blood vessel contour line in the adjusting area to be close to or far from the blood vessel center line to obtain a blood vessel correction contour line. Optionally, in the method for adjusting a blood vessel contour, the method for adjusting the blood vessel contour line in the adjusting area to be close to or far from the blood vessel center line to obtain the corrected blood vessel contour line includes:”), and determining the proximal start point, distal end point, and middle demarcation point of the centerline, wherein a plurality of unit segments are sequentially generated from the proximal starting point toward the distal aneurysm, and the unit segments include a straight line segment and a curved segment connected in sequence, and each unit segment is connected in sequence (Wang, Pg 3; “obtaining a single adjustment step length m; selecting any point in a 1/3-2/3 area in the adjustment area as an original contour point; acquiring a point which corresponds to the original contour point and is positioned on the blood vessel central line as a corresponding central point; obtaining a unit vector and Euclidean distance between the original contour point and the corresponding center point; the original contour point moves a plurality of steps along the unit vector to obtain a contour adjusting point;”),
the generation methods of each unit segment include:
obtaining the starting point of the straight line segment and the slope of the straight line segment, and continuously extending the straight line segment from the starting point of the straight line segment along the slope of the straight line segment until the straight line segment touches the inner wall of the blood vessel to obtain a contact point; wherein the contact point is the starting point of the curved segment, and the closest point with the closest distance to the contact point is selected on the centerline to obtain an offset vector directed from the closest point to the contact point; and according to the offset vector, the nearest point and its follow-up points on the centerline toward the distal end are offset in sequence until a critical point that does not exceed the vessel wall after the offset is found, and the critical point is the end point of the curved section (Wang, Pg 4; “and in the adjustment area, picking up a starting point, a contour adjustment point, a plurality of seed points and an end point of the blood vessel contour line, and adopting a cubic B spline fitting curve algorithm to fit to obtain a blood vessel correction contour line. Optionally, the method for adjusting the profile of a blood vessel further comprises: and correcting and adjusting the blood vessel correction contour line. Optionally, the method for adjusting the profile of the blood vessel, the method for correcting and adjusting the profile line of the blood vessel comprises the following steps: acquiring an included angle alpha of an original contour point, a corresponding center point and a contour adjusting point on the contour line of the blood vessel; acquiring Euclidean distance L between the corresponding center point and the profile adjusting point; if said alpha > 90 DEG or L < D min Acquiring a contour replacement point according to the unit vector of the original contour point and the corresponding center point, the original contour point coordinate, the minimum vessel diameter and the corresponding center point coordinate; if said alpha is not more than 90 DEG and L is not less than D min Taking the profile adjusting point as a wheel buckle replacing point; and in the adjustment area, picking up a starting point, a profile replacement point, a plurality of seed points and an end point of the blood vessel profile line, and adopting a cubic B spline fitting curve algorithm to fit to obtain a new blood vessel correction profile line.”).
Wang is interpreted as disclosing these limitations in the claim as best understood by the Examiner in view of the 112 deficiencies outlined above.
Wang does not clearly and explicitly disclose using the segments to form at least a part of the microcatheter path.
In an analogous vessel modeling field of endeavor Kumar discloses using vascular segments to form at least a part of a microcatheter path (Kumar, Pg 1; “The human body contains several different types of blood vessels that constitute a network of arteries and veins. Visualization of these blood vessels is important for improving the planning and navigation in several interventional procedures. It is specifically relevant in catheter based procedures like stent graft positioning and valve replacement and also, in planning and navigation of laparoscopic liver resection. […] Along with a segmented model of the blood vessels, centreline and radius information at different cross-sections of the blood vessel are also crucial for navigating the catheter. The centreline of the blood vessels can be used as a guiding path for the catheter and radius information will help the interventionists in selecting the right valve or stent for the specific procedure.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wang to include using the segments to form at least a part of the microcatheter path in order to allow for a fast and useful method for navigating catheters as needed as taught by Kumar (Kumar, Pg 1).
Regarding claim 3, 12, and 17, Wang as modified by Kumar above discloses all of the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above.
Wang further discloses wherein each unit segment, the generation approach of described curved segment comprises: obtaining the starting point of the curved segment and the end point of the curved segment; and restricting the points within the blood vessel wall through offsetting the points beyond the blood vessel wall, and connecting them sequentially to generate the curved segments (Wang, Pg 4; “and in the adjustment area, picking up a starting point, a contour adjustment point, a plurality of seed points and an end point of the blood vessel contour line, and adopting a cubic B spline fitting curve algorithm to fit to obtain a blood vessel correction contour line. Optionally, the method for adjusting the profile of a blood vessel further comprises: and correcting and adjusting the blood vessel correction contour line. Optionally, the method for adjusting the profile of the blood vessel, the method for correcting and adjusting the profile line of the blood vessel comprises the following steps: acquiring an included angle alpha of an original contour point, a corresponding center point and a contour adjusting point on the contour line of the blood vessel; acquiring Euclidean distance L between the corresponding center point and the profile adjusting point; if said alpha > 90 DEG or L < D min Acquiring a contour replacement point according to the unit vector of the original contour point and the corresponding center point, the original contour point coordinate, the minimum vessel diameter and the corresponding center point coordinate; if said alpha is not more than 90 DEG and L is not less than D min Taking the profile adjusting point as a wheel buckle replacing point; and in the adjustment area, picking up a starting point, a profile replacement point, a plurality of seed points and an end point of the blood vessel profile line, and adopting a cubic B spline fitting curve algorithm to fit to obtain a new blood vessel correction profile line.”).
Wang is interpreted as disclosing these limitations in the claim as best understood by the Examiner in view of the 112 deficiencies outlined above.
Regarding claim 8, Wang as modified by Kumar above discloses all of the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above.
Wang further discloses a computer equipment, comprising a memory, a processor and a computer program stored on the memory, wherein the processor executes the computer program to realize the steps of improved microcatheter path generation method according to claim 1 (Wang, Pg 5; “In a third aspect, the present application provides a computer storage medium, and when the computer program is executed by a processor, the above-mentioned method for adjusting the contour of a blood vessel is implemented.”).
Regarding claim 9, Wang as modified by Kumar above discloses all of the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above.
Wang further discloses a computer-readable storage medium on which a computer program is stored, wherein the computer program is executed by a processor to realize the steps of improved microcatheter path generation method according to claim 1 (Wang, Pg 5; “In a third aspect, the present application provides a computer storage medium, and when the computer program is executed by a processor, the above-mentioned method for adjusting the contour of a blood vessel is implemented.”).
Regarding claim 10, Wang as modified by Kumar above discloses all of the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above.
Wang further discloses a computer program product, comprising computer instructions, wherein the computer instructions are executed by a processor to realize the steps of improved microcatheter path generation method according to claim 1 (Wang, Pg 5; “In a third aspect, the present application provides a computer storage medium, and when the computer program is executed by a processor, the above-mentioned method for adjusting the contour of a blood vessel is implemented.”).
Conclusion
/JOHN D LI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3798