DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment dated July 13, 2026, in which claims 1-9, 11-12, and 16-18 were amended, claims 10 and 15 were cancelled, and claims 21-22 were added, has been entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, and 5-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Imayoshi (U.S. Pub. 2018/0166354) in view of He (U.S. Pub. 2004/0188859).
Regarding claim 1, Imayoshi [Figs.1-2] discloses an integrated circuit (IC) device, comprising:
a package substrate [1] comprising a glass substrate [Para.68] with a first side and a second side, and a through-glass via [3] having a first end on the first side of the glass substrate and a second end on the second side of the glass substrate;
a dielectric material [7] in direct contact with the first side of the glass substrate; and
a metallization level [5] embedded within the dielectric material, the metallization level electrically coupled to the through-glass via [3] and to couple with an IC die [11] assembled with the package substrate, wherein the dielectric material [7] comprises a filler material [Para.110] within a polymer resin system comprising both epoxy and polyimide [Para.110].
Imayoshi [Para.110] discloses the filler may comprise silicon oxide, but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the filler material comprises a transition metal, phosphorus, and oxygen. However, He [Fig.1] discloses an integrated circuit (IC) device wherein the dielectric material [100] comprises a filler material, and the filler material [118] comprises a transition metal, phosphorus, and oxygen [Para.11]. He [Paras.9-11] makes obvious the filler material may comprise silicon oxide or the negative CTE filler [118] to reduce thermal stress for improved device quality and reliability. Additionally, it would have been obvious to provide the claimed filler material, since it has been held that applying a known technique to a known process in order to yield predictable results would have been obvious. Further, it would have been obvious to try one of the known methods with a reasonable expectation of success. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Regarding claim 3, He [Fig.1] discloses an integrated circuit (IC) device wherein the filler material [118] comprises a compound of a transition metal [Para.11], but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the filler material comprises a polycrystalline compound. However, forming a crystalline form or an amorphous form of a compound is obvious and well-known in semiconductor manufacturing. It would have been obvious to provide wherein the filler material as a polycrystalline compound, since it has been held that applying a known technique to a known process in order to yield predictable results would have been obvious. Further, it would have been obvious to try one of the known methods with a reasonable expectation of success. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Regarding claims 5-6, He [Fig.1] discloses an integrated circuit (IC) device
wherein the filler material comprises a chalcogen [Oxygen] [Para.11];
wherein the transition metal comprises zirconium [Para.11].
Regarding claim 7, He [Fig.1] discloses an integrated circuit (IC) device wherein the filler material [118] may comprise 10% to 95% of the dielectric material [100] [Para.17], but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the dielectric material comprises no more than 65 wt% of the filler material. However, determining the appropriate composition by wt% of the filler material to obtain the desired layer CTE is obvious in semiconductor manufacturing and is well within the general knowledge of one skilled in the art. It would have been obvious to provide wherein the dielectric material comprises no more than 65 wt% of the filler material, since it has been held that applying a known technique to a known process in order to yield predictable results would have been obvious. Further, it would have been obvious to try one of the known methods with a reasonable expectation of success. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Claim(s) 2 and 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Imayoshi (U.S. Pub. 2018/0166354) in view of He (U.S. Pub. 2004/0188859), as applied above and further in view of Oka (U.S. Pub. 2014/0175657).
Regarding claims 2 and 8-9, Imayoshi discloses the polymer system comprises epoxy and polyimide resins, but fails to explicitly disclose
wherein the polymer resin system has an epoxy:polyimide ratio under 5:1;
wherein the polymer resin system comprises no more than 50 wt% epoxy;
wherein the polymer resin system comprises at least 10 wt% polyimide.
However, Oka [Table between Paras.29-30] discloses and makes obvious various compositions of a multicomponent dielectric material depending on the desired material application. Determining the appropriate composition by wt% of the resin polymers to obtain the resin layer with the desired CTE and other qualities is obvious in semiconductor manufacturing and is well within the general knowledge of one skilled in the art. It would have been obvious to provide wherein the polymer resin system has an epoxy:polyimide ratio under 5:1; wherein the polymer resin system comprises no more than 50 wt% epoxy; and wherein the polymer resin system comprises at least 10 wt% polyimide, since it has been held that applying a known technique to a known process in order to yield predictable results would have been obvious. Further, it would have been obvious to try one of the known methods with a reasonable expectation of success. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Imayoshi (U.S. Pub. 2018/0166354) in view of He (U.S. Pub. 2004/0188859), as applied above and further in view of Starkovich (U.S. Pub. 2004/0214377).
Regarding claim 4, He fails to explicitly disclose wherein particles of the filler material have a diameter less than 1 µm. However, Starkovich [Para.33] discloses and makes obvious wherein particles of the filler material have a diameter less than 1 µm to obtain the desired filler volume in the dielectric material, controlling the dielectric material’s thermal expansion characteristics [Starkovich; Abstract]. It would also have been obvious to use provide wherein particles of the filler material have a diameter less than 1 µm, since it has been held that applying a known technique to a known process in order to yield predictable results would have been obvious. Further, it would have been obvious to try one of the known methods with a reasonable expectation of success. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Claim(s) 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Imayoshi (U.S. Pub. 2018/0166354) in view of He (U.S. Pub. 2004/0188859), as applied above and further in view of Kang et al. (U.S. Pub. 2021/0210397) [Hereafter “Kang].
Regarding claim 18, Imayoshi and He disclose the IC device of claim 1 as discussed above. Imayoshi and He fail to explicitly disclose the system comprises a host component (to which the IC device is attached).
However, Kang [Fig.1] discloses a system [100] comprising a host component [101] to which the IC device [110/120] is attached. It would have been obvious to provide a host component to which the IC device is attached, since it has been held that applying a known technique to a known process in order to yield predictable results would have been obvious. Further, it would have been obvious to try one of the known methods with a reasonable expectation of success. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Regarding claim 20, Imayoshi, He, and Kang fail to explicitly disclose the system further comprising:
a power supply coupled to provide power to the IC die through the host component.
However, it would have been obvious to provide a power supply coupled to provide power to the IC die through the host component, since it has been held that applying a known technique to a known process in order to yield predictable results would have been obvious. Further, it would have been obvious to try one of the known methods with a reasonable expectation of success. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Regarding claim 19, He [Fig.1] discloses a system wherein the filler material [118] has a negative coefficient of thermal expansion (CTE) over a temperature range comprising 180 °C and 250°C [Para.11]. It would have been obvious to provide wherein the filler material [118] has a negative coefficient of thermal expansion (CTE) over a temperature range comprising 180 °C and 250°C, since it has been held that applying a known technique to a known process in order to yield predictable results would have been obvious. Further, it would have been obvious to try one of the known methods with a reasonable expectation of success. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11-14, 16-17, and 22 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: Applicant’s amendments to the claims and/or arguments were persuasive.
Claim 21 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Prior art does not fairly disclose or make obvious the claimed device/method taken as a whole, and specifically, the limitations of
wherein the filler material comprises Zr, S, P and O.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Overall, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive. The rejected claims stand rejected and the Action is made Final.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BAC H AU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2898