DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant amended claims 6-8 and 11-15 previously rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) such that in claim 6 which previously recited “the surface” now recites “the surface of the annular region” which has an antecedent basis in claim 1, in claims 8 and 11-13 the expression “the second direction” is amended to “a second direction” with further definition with the expression “and wherein the first direction and the second direction are two directions perpendicular to each other along the surface of the annular region" and in claim 8 and 11-15 the phrase “a plurality of the annular regions is amended to "the plurality of the annular regions". (Applicant arguments/remarks 05/11/2026 pp.7-8).
From these amendments, the examiner withdraws the previous rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b).
Applicant argues regarding claim 1 rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 over Candrian-Bell (US 2018/0119320 A1) in view of Fisher (US 3,829,353) that:
1) Candrian-Bell does not disclose the technical features of:
“forming a gluing region along both sides of a surface of the annular region, and performing a local gluing on both sides of the surface of the annular region respectively” and
“cutting at the enclosed region after the gluing is completed, so as to form a closed-loop rib”
In particular, Candrian-Bell relates to woven multilayer textiles having shaped, enclosed, inflatable pockets. Moreover, Candrian-Bell teaches away from the present invention because this reference does not teach gluing or cutting. Its method is based on forming multiple warpwise channels along a bolt of fabric woven in a single operation by a Jacquard loom as shown in Fig. 2 of Candrian-Bell and a person of ordinary skill would not be motivated to cut at interweaving portions making it impossible to form the multiple warpwise channels as shown in Fig. 2. (Applicant arguments/remarks 05/11/2026 pp.7-9)
The examiner maintains that one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Here, Candrian-Bell discloses the limitations of a rib-manufacturing process with a step of weaving according to a preset size to form an annular region and an enclosed region and, therefore, meets these limitations under broadest reasonable interpretation.
Applicant argues that the previous office action where the secondary reference, Fisher, does not discloses as purported the features a. and b. as recited above. However, it appears from Col. 3 ll. 12-17 of Fisher that the “cutting” position lies within the “gluing” region (i.e. the “annular region”) and not in the “enclosed region” as defined in claim 1. Moreover, the “cutting” occurs before completion of gluing, not after completion of gluing. (Applicant arguments/remarks 05/11/2026 p. 9).
The examiner maintains as with the argument made regarding Candrian-Bell, that one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Here, Fisher does provide a gluing region on both sides of an annular region with a cutting at the enclosed region after the gluing is completed (Fig. 3 Col. 2 ll. 57-60 where the primary ply- 23 and secondary ply – 27 are coated with a layer of sealing material – 34 where local gluing on both sides is complete and while it is true that this cutting occurs before the gluing of the local flaps, there is further gluing shown as in Fig. 2 with wide flaps and splices are formed with splicing tapes followed by cutting (Fig. 2 Col. 2 ll. 18- 47), where all the sheet members, edges and chambers are glued together with localized cutting but are then finally cut to form the slide where the structural components of a narrow and wide flaps can be adhered together for the final product. Therefore, it is the examiner’s contention that from a broadest reasonable interpretation the cutting comes after the gluing.
The applicant argues that even if a person of ordinary skill were to combine Candrian-bell with Fisher, that this combination faces technical obstacles. Here the secondary ply of Fisher is cut in the longitudinal direction at a position close to a connection, but with Candrian-Bell this cut would be required to be lengthwise at the warpwise ridges or pockets and this would destroy the structure as shown in Fig. 1 of Candrian-Bell. Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art could obtain the solution achieved by the claim by the combination or modification of Candrian-Bell with Fisher. (Applicant arguments/remarks 05/11/2026 p 10).
The examiner counters by stating that the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981). In this case, one with ordinary skill would consider, under broadest reasonable interpretation, combining the features of a method of making a rib by weaving according to a preset size forming an annular region and an enclosed region with a gluing region formed along both sides of the annular region surface with local gluing followed by cutting at the enclosed region forming a closed -loop rib, and be motivated to do so, because of the strong bonds formed initially with ribs (Col. 4 ll. 15-17 reinforced structural bulkheads) which is required for the structural integrity of the final product.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 and 11-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Candrian-Bell (US 2018/0119320 A1) in view of Fisher (US 3,829,353).
Regarding Claim 1, Candrian-Bell discloses a rib-manufacturing process (Fig. 1 paragraph [0028] lengthwise ridges – 130) comprising steps of:
weaving according to a preset size to form an annular region and an enclosed region (Fig. 1 abs, paragraphs [0026] [0028] weaving techniques to form completely-enclosed pockets that can be inflated, lengthwise pockets – 130. See figures below for preset size), wherein the enclosed region is formed as weaving points on both sides of the annular region (Fig. 1 paragraph [0027] warp threads – 110 and weft threads – 120 in a simple pattern to form the selvage – an edge that resists fraying or unraveling) Compare Fig. 1 Candrian-Bell to Fig. 1 – instant invention below:
However, Candrian-Bell does not disclose a process step of forming a gluing region along both sides of a surface of the annular region nor a process step of cutting at the enclosed region after the gluing is complete to form a closed-loop rib.
Fisher teaches a method of making an inflatable assembly (abs Col.1: ll. 10-23) with structural members with two-ply fabric where one ply is connected to the other play at spaced interwoven connections (Fig. 3 Col. 2 ll. 57-58 primary ply – 23 and secondary ply – 27) with a gluing region formed along both sides of a surface of the annular region (Fig. 2 Col. 2 ll. 36-44 upper structural sheet member – 13 overlapping a lower structural sheet member – 14) and performing a local gluing on both sides of the surface of the annular region respectively (Fig. 3 Col. 2 ll. 57-60 outer surfaces – 32 and 33 of the primary ply – 23 and secondary ply – 27 , respectively, are coated with a layer of sealing material – 34) ; and
cutting at the enclosed region after the gluing is completed, so as to form a closed-loop rib (Figs. 3, 4, Col. 2, ll. 65-72 Col. 3 ll. 3-11 to provide the bulkhead member – 37, the secondary ply- 27 is cut in the longitudinal direction at a position shown by dot-dash line A – A to provide narrow flap – 38 with secondary ply – 27 which is severed on the other side of the connection – 28 forming a wide flap – 39 which forming; narrow flap – 38 and wide flap – 39 are folded together and a suitable adhesive applied to sealing layer – 34 along abutting surface – 40 of narrow and wide flap to be adhered together to form a high strength interwoven joint).
.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the disclosure of Candrian-Bell with the teachings of Fisher whereby a rib manufacturing process comprising a step of weaving according to a preset size forming an annular region and an enclosed region with weaving points on both sides of the annular region, as disclosed by Candrian-Bell, would also include a gluing region formed along both sides of the annular region surface with local gluing on both side of this surface of the annular region with cutting at the enclosed region after the gluing is completed, as taught by Fisher, thus forming a closed-loop rib.
One with ordinary skill in the art would utilize this configuration because it provides a strong bond therebetween the connections as shown above, and forms reinforced structural bulkheads (ribs) for an inflatable assembly (Col. 4 ll. 15-17 in claim 1).
Regarding Claim 2, the combination of Candrian-Bell and Fisher disclose all the limitations of claim 1 and Candrian-Bell further discloses that the step of weaving according to the preset size to form the annular region and the enclosed region further comprises:
obtaining a plurality of weaving points by weaving, according to a size of the closed-loop rib, correspondingly along a first direction, so as to form a plurality of annular regions and enclosed regions arranged at intervals in sequence (See Fig. 1 above paragraph [0028] pockets – 130 are formed and at points between these locations, half of the warp and half of the weft threads are woven together to form the upper surface and the other half of the warp and weft threads are woven together to form the lower surface).
Regarding Claim 3, the combination of Candrian-Bell and Fisher disclose all the limitations of claim 2 and Candrian-Bell further discloses that the interval widths of a plurality of the enclosed regions along the first direction are the same (Fig. 1 where the interval widths of a plurality of enclosed regions appear the same and paragraph [0031] pockets of arbitrary shape and orientation can be formed by changing the weaving pattern along both directions where it would be obvious to include a same interval width alternative – choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success MPEP § 2143 I. E).
Regarding Claim 4, the combination of Candrian-Bell and Fisher disclose all the limitations of claim 3 and Candrian-Bell further discloses that each of the annular regions comprises an upper sheet of fabric and a lower sheet of fabric, two ends of the upper sheet of fabric along the first direction and two ends of the lower sheet of fabric along the first direction are taken as weaving points, so as to extend the weaving and form the enclosed regions (Fig. 1 paragraph [0028] two separate layers of fabric with selective weaving together subsets of warp and weft threads at the selvage and pinched portions of the fabric all warp and weft threads are woven together – 140, 150); and
it would be obvious from Fig. 1 of Candrian-Bell (see Fig. 1 above) that a sum of breadth sizes of the upper sheet of fabric and the lower sheet of fabric of the annular region of Candrian-Bell is equal to a cross-sectional perimeter of the closed-loop rib, as formed by the combination of Candrian-Bell and Fisher after the cutting step.
Regarding Claim 5, the combination of Candrian-Bell and Fisher disclose all the limitations of claim 4 and Candrian-Bell further discloses that the step of obtaining a plurality of the weaving points by weaving correspondingly along the first direction further comprises:
obtaining weaving points with different distances by weaving, based on a plurality of size requirements of the closed-loop rib, correspondingly along the first direction, such that widths of a plurality of the annular regions along the first direction are different (Fig. 5 paragraph [0031] pockets of arbitrary shape and orientation can be formed by changing the weaving pattern along both directions. See banana-shaped pocket – 510)
Regarding Claim 6, the combination of Candrian-Bell and Fisher disclose all the limitations of claim 4 and Fisher further discloses that the step of performing the local gluing on both sides of the surface of the annular region respectively further comprises:
performing a local gluing on a surface of a side along the upper sheet of fabric away from the lower sheet of fabric and a surface of a side along the lower sheet of fabric away from the upper sheet of fabric simultaneously (Fig. 2 Col. 3 ll. 12-17 where bulkhead member – 37 are formed by adhering the ends of the side flaps – 39 of overlapping sheet members 13, 14, 15, and 16 at splices – 42 are adhered together with a suitable adhesive, which is inherently a simultaneous process)
wherein gluing points of the local gluing are distributed at intervals along a second direction, and gluing points on the upper sheet of fabric and the lower sheet of fabric are arranged symmetrically (Figs 2, 5 Col. 4 ll. 17-43 ll. 48-67 where chambers are formed as multitubular assemblies or as a symmetrical arrangement with upper and lower structural sheet members with coated nylon fabric where the second direction are indicated by the cut narrow flaps – 38 and wide flaps – 39 adhering together to from the structural sheet members at the critical joint at the splice – 42 )
wherein the first direction and the second direction are two directions perpendicular to each other along the surface (Figs 3, 4, 5 where the Figs 3 and 4 indicate the first direction is across the figures indicating the weaving joints, Fig. 3 (Col. 2 ll. 46-56 warp cords – 18, 19 weft cords – 26 spaced – apart positions extending transversely of the fabric – 17) while the second direction is perpendicular and into the figures as the adhesive joint splice (Figs 2, 5 Col.3 ll.51-54 structural sheet members adhered together ).
Regarding Claim 7, the combination of Candrian-Bell and Fisher disclose all the limitations of claim 6 and Fisher further discloses that the local gluing comprises local point gluing or local flow casting (Col. 3 ll. 51-54 with critical joint at the splice – 42 between the wide flaps – 39).
Regarding Claim 14, the combination of Candrian-Bell and Fisher disclose all the limitations of claim 6 and Fisher further discloses that the step of cutting at the enclosed region further comprises:
cutting, along the second direction of claim 6, a plurality of the annular regions formed by cutting, so as to form the closed-loop rib with a corresponding size (Figs. 4, 5 Col. 4 ll. 48-56 two-ply fabric – 17 is cut to form narrow flaps – 38 and wide flaps – 39 that adhere together to form the structural sheet members - 13, 14, 15 and 16 which are then adhered together with one critical joint at the splice – 42 between side flaps – 39 to form bulkhead member – 37).
But neither Candrian-Bell or Fisher disclose an additional cutting along the first direction, of a plurality of the enclosed regions in sequence after the gluing is completed, so as to form a plurality of the annular regions.
However, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to have made a cutting transversely along the first direction such that a plurality of the enclosed region in sequence after the gluing is complete to form a plurality of the annular regions because this would be a known technique to a known method ready for improvement to yield predictable results (MPEP § 2143 I. D.) This is because the cutting along a first direction would be necessitated to form the final product being manufactured for its intended use such as an escape slide (Fig. 1 Col. 2 ll. 29-45 which has an upper end and a lower end). Therefore, the slide would need to be sized to fit the application/intended use, and this would necessitate a transverse cutting across the plurality of the angular regions as indicated in the figures and would define the length of the slide (Fig. 1).
Regarding Claims 8, 11, 12, 13 and 15, the combination of Candrian-Bell and Fisher disclose all the limitations of claims 2, 3, 4, 5 and 7, respectively, and Fisher further discloses that the step of cutting at the enclosed region further comprises:
cutting, along the second direction, a plurality of the annular regions formed by cutting, so as to form the closed-loop rib with a corresponding size (Figs. 4, 5 Col. 4 ll. 48-56 two-ply fabric – 17 is cut to form narrow flaps – 38 and wide flaps – 39 that adhere together to from the structural sheet members - 13, 14, 15 and 16 which are then adhered together with one critical joint at the splice – 42 between side flaps – 39 to form bulkhead members – 37)
But neither Candrian-Bell or Fisher disclose an additional cutting along a second direction, the plurality of the enclosed regions in sequence after the gluing is completed, so as to form a plurality of the annular regions and wherein the first direction and the second direction are two directions perpendicular to each other along the surface of the annular region
However, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to have made a cutting transversely along the first direction such that a plurality of the enclosed region in sequence after the gluing is complete to form a plurality of the annular regions because this would be a known technique to a known method ready for improvement to yield predictable results (MPEP § 2143 I. D.) This is because the cutting along a first direction would be necessitated to form the final product being manufactured for its intended use such as an escape slide (Fig. 1 Col. 2 ll. 29-45 which has an upper end and a lower end). Therefore, the slide would need to be sized to fit the application/intended use, and this would necessitate a transverse cutting across the plurality of the angular regions as indicated in the figures and would define the length of the slide (Fig. 1).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WAYNE K. SWIER/ Examiner, Art Unit 1748 /JACOB T MINSKEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1748