Joint Inventors
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on December 30th, 2022 and October 29th, 2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are:
“learning device” and “learning devices” in claims 1-16.
“learning apparatus” in claims 9-16.
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The terms “learning device” and “learning devices” in claims 1-16, “synchronizing” in claims 1-2 and 9-10, and “short delay time” in claims 3 and 11 are relative terms which render the claims indefinite. The terms “learning device”, “learning devices”, “synchronizing” and “short delay time” are not defined by the claims, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree or structure, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claims 6-7 and 14-15 recite the limitation "joint". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim as there is no mention of a joint or any physical component in the claims. Therefore, it is unclear to the examiner what is being referred to in this limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, 7-11, 13 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sandha et al. (“Sim2Real Transfer for Deep Reinforcement Learning with Stochastic State Transition Delays”), published in 2020, herein “Sandha”.
Regarding Claims 1 and 9, Sandha discloses a method and reinforcement learning apparatus for performing a method of synchronizing actions of learning devices (See Abstract, “Deep Reinforcement Learning (RL) […] for a wide variety of robotics applications.”), the method and reinforcement learning apparatus comprising:
inputting an action command to a learning device of a simulated world and a learning device of a real world, so that the learning device of the simulated world and the learning device of the real world reach a target state (See Abstract, “[…] to train Deep RL policies in a simulator and then deploy to the real world, a process called Sim2Real transfer.” See also Section 1, “RL agents make sequential decisions in a Markov Decision Process (MDP) in discrete time steps, where the input to the agent is the current state st of the environment, where t is the current time step, and output is the action at. The environment transitions to the next state st+1 once the action is executed, and in turn used as the input for the next action […]” Examiner notes reinforcement learning is executed in both simulated and real-world domains, with clear description of parallel training and deployment including input actions driving transitions to new states);
determining whether the learning device of the simulated world and the learning device of the real world reach the target state after one unit time (See Section 1, “[…] the states st and st+1 were captured at world clock time τ and τ respectively, the timing delay between state transitions is defined as ∆τ =τ−τ. Note that t is a discrete time step in simulation while ∆τ represents the actual passage of time on a robot.” Examiner notes the RL process describes state transitions with a discrete unit of time between sampled states to determine transitions);
when the learning device of the simulated world and the learning device of the real world reach the target state, determining a first delay time, which is a time until the learning device of the simulated world reaches the target state, and a second delay time, which is a time until the learning device of the real world reaches the target state (See Section 1 as referenced above. See also Fig. 1 shown below and Section 2, “[…] the agent takes action at based on state st, and the environment returns with scalar reward rt and next state st+1. We consider episodic MDPs, where the environment is initialized with state s0 and the interaction with the agent continues until the environment reaches the terminal state sT […] changes to the real state transition time ∆τ – as opposed to fixed discrete time steps in t – directly impacts the state transition […]” Examiner notes t represents the first delay time because it denotes a discrete time step in the simulation, and ∆τ represents the second delay time because it is the change in actual time before the physical agent reaches a terminal state. Furthermore, Fig. 1 below shows parallel processing and coordination between the current state and action of both simulation and actual environment); and
performing a correction between a state of the learning device of the simulated world and a state of the learning device of the real world in reinforcement learning that performs learning in conjunction with the learning device of the real world, based on the first delay time and the second delay time (See Section 6, “[…] deep reinforcement learning approach that incorporates sampling interval and execution latency into its state space. By utilizing domain randomization with time in the state, TSRL’s policies are robust against varying execution latencies and sampling rates for both Sim2Sim and Sim2Real transfer […] staying within the desired reward budget […] evaluation of time in state policies show that the policies are able to maintain higher rewards across a range of timing characteristics and, thus, can be used in presence of deployment uncertainties impacting the timing characteristics at runtime.” See also Appendix A, “To address variations in the state transition delay, we propose augmenting the agent state with execution time ∆τη and sampling interval ∆τσ measurements […] enables the agent to distinguish between state transitions introduced by variations in delays.”).
Regarding Claims 2 and 10, Sandha further discloses the method of claim 1 and reinforcement apparatus of claim 9, wherein the performing of the correction comprises:
receiving a next state of the simulated world according to N number of an amount of movement per unit time by as much as a difference between the first delay time and the second delay time (See Sections 1-2 as referenced above. See also Abstract, “[…] Time-in State RL (TSRL) approach, which includes delays and sampling rate as additional agent observations at training time […]”); and
synchronizing the state of the learning device of the simulated world with the state of the learning device of the real world based on the next state of the simulated world (See Sections 1-2 as referenced above. See also Section 5, “[…] mechanisms to reduce state transition delays […] by compensating for delays using damping components.”).
Regarding Claims 3 and 11, Sandha further discloses the method of claim 1 and reinforcement apparatus of claim 9, wherein the performing of the correction comprises adding a dummy time by as much as a difference between the first delay time and the second delay time to a learning device having a short delay time among the learning device of the simulated world and the learning device of the real world (See Section 2, “[…] variability in the real world as determined by the sampling interval of sensors ∆τσ, the execution latency ∆τη, and communication delays ∆τm […]” Examiner notes reference 2.2 in Section 2 gives various delay variations and their impacts on the reinforcement learning policies, including adjusting state transitions based on the ”type” of delay. Furthermore, artificial time augmentation is not an inventive concept, but a simple design choice).
Regarding Claims 5 and 13, Sandha further discloses the method of claim 1 and reinforcement apparatus of claim 9, wherein the determining of whether the learning device of the simulated world and the learning device of the real world reach the target state comprises determining whether the learning devices reach the target state, based on a simulated world state, which is a state after the learning device of the simulated world moves for one unit time, and a real world state, which is a state after the learning device of the real world moves for one unit time (See Sections 1-2 as referenced above. Examiner notes explicit definitions for state transition timing at discrete time steps supports comparing states after unit time intervals).
Regarding Claims 7 and 15, Sandha further discloses the method of claim 1 and reinforcement apparatus of claim 9, wherein the learning device of the real world reaches the target state while reducing an error according to a physical state of the real world acting on each joint (See Sections 1-2 as referenced above along with, “[…] policies trained using domain randomization (DR) of timing characteristics. Our results demonstrate that the TSRL policies are robust to the varying state transition delays and, as a result, transfer better across simulations and to real-world environments than the DR policies.” See also Appendix A, “[…] To reduce variance, the advantage function A(st, at) is used for the gradient update […] advantage estimates the relative benefit of taking action at compared to other possible actions in state st. The value network is trained with a mean squared error loss function […]”).
Regarding Claims 8 and 16, Sandha further discloses the method of claim 7 and reinforcement apparatus of claim 15, wherein the learning device of the real world reduces the error according to the physical state of the real world, based on a proportional control, a differential control, or an integral control (See Section 5, “[…] model finite-dimensional systems that may require linearization. The goal in these contexts is to develop robust controllers by approximating the worst case time-delays [33] and sampling variation [34], or by compensating for delays using damping components.” Examiner notes controllers requiring linearization are proportional controllers).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 6, 12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Sandha et al. (“Sim2Real Transfer for Deep Reinforcement Learning with Stochastic State Transition Delays”) in view of Mahmood et al. (US Patent Pub. No. 2020/0074241 A1), herein “Mahmood”.
Regarding Claims 4 and 12, Sandha discloses the method of claim 1 and reinforcement apparatus of claim 9, wherein the determining of whether the learning device of the simulated world and the learning device of the real world reach the target state comprises:
when the learning device of the simulated world or the learning device of the real world does not reach the target state, adding time to reach the target state (See Sections 1-2 as referenced above. Examiner notes variability in timing and stochastic delays necessitates iterative checks and adjustments until state transition occurs).
But does not explicitly disclose repeating the adding of the time until the learning device of the simulated world or the learning device of the real world reaches the target state.
Mahmood, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches repeating the adding of the time until the learning device of the simulated world or the learning device of the real world reaches the target state (See 0063, “[…] reinforcement learning agent 502 operates in the active state for a shorter time period than the first example iteration to ensure that the step times S for each iteration is approximately equal to the desired step time S of 100 ms.” See also 0084, “[…] may be an iterative process in which portions of the method are repeatedly performed.”).
In view of Mahmood’s teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include, with the delay-aware state comparison between simulated and real agents as disclosed by Sandha, explicit iterations of delay compensation until a target state is reached, with a reasonable expectation of success, since both address state transition delays in reinforcement learning systems, and the combination renders obvious iterative delay addition until state alignment.
Regarding Claims 6 and 14, Sandha does not explicitly disclose the method of claim 1 and reinforcement apparatus of claim 9, wherein the learning device of the simulated world reaches the target state by causing a learning device in a monitor of the simulated world to change each joint by as much as an amount of movement per unit time,
wherein the amount of movement per unit time is determined based on a physical state of the simulated world acting on each joint.
Mahmood, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches the learning device of the simulated world reaches the target state by causing a learning device in a monitor of the simulated world to change each joint by as much as an amount of movement per unit time (See 0005-0006, “[…] task manager executes on a second processor of the computer system, obtains the state data stored […] stores the joint state vector in a second buffer. The task manager processes the state data and generates a joint state vector based on the state data […] the joint state vector may be generated based on the defined objective to be achieved in the real-world environment. The reinforcement learning agent transitions from a suspended state to an active state and, in the active state, obtains the joint state vector from the second buffer. The reinforcement learning agent generates, based on the joint state vector, a joint action vector indicating actions to be performed by the plurality of devices. The joint action vector may be generated by applying a reinforcement learning policy to information of the joint state vector […] transitions back to the suspended state for a defined period of time. The task manager obtains the joint action vector and parses the joint action vector into a plurality of actuation commands respectively corresponding to actions to be performed by the plurality of devices operating in the real-world environment.”),
wherein the amount of movement per unit time is determined based on a physical state of the simulated world acting on each joint (See 0005-0006 as referenced above).
In view of Mahmood’s teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include, with the delay-aware state comparison between simulated and real agents as disclosed by Sandha, changing a joint vector of the physical agent to reach a target state, with a reasonable expectation of success, since merging joint action buffers with delay-aware state comparisons enables more effective action timing in the corrective process of reinforcement learning.
Conclusion
/BRYANT TANG/Examiner, Art Unit 3658
/JASON HOLLOWAY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3658