DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis ( i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale , or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Claims 1-3, 6-7, 9-15, 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by US Patent Application Publication to Dietrich 2019/0258175US. In terms of Claim 1, Dietrich teaches a n apparatus comprising: a glass substrate (Figure 10: 10) comprising a waveguide (Figure 10: 25) ; a first graded index lens (Figure 10: 40; [0156] and [0198]) , wherein the first graded index lens (40) is to collimate light from the waveguide in the glass substrate to a free-space beam ([0156]) ; a photonic integrated circuit (PIC) die (Figure 10: 11) comprising a waveguide (Figure 10: 26) ; and a second graded index lens (Figure 10: 41) , wherein the second graded index lens is to focus the free-space beam to the waveguide of the PIC die (Figure 10: 41 at 31 and [0172]) . As for Claim 2, Dietrich teaches the device of claim 1, wherein a cavity (Figure 8: housing 40 is in a top surface of substrate 10) is defined in the glass substrate (Figure 8: cavity 43 in a top surface of substrate 10) , wherein the first graded index lens is disposed in the cavity (Figure 8: 43 within housing of 40). As for Claim 3, Dietrich teaches the device of claim 1, wherein the first graded index lens (Figure 10: 40) is adjacent a surface of the glass substrat e (Figure 1: 40 next to 10). As for Claim 6, Dietrich teaches the device of claim 1, wherein the first graded index lens (40) has an impurity gradient in a radial direction (40 is GRIN lens with varying index of which is due to different materials or material to create the graded or gradient profile [0198]). As for Claim 7, Dietrich teaches the device of claim 1, wherein the glass substrate comprises silicon and oxygen, wherein the PIC die comprises silicon ([0100]). In terms of Claim 9, Dietrich teaches a n apparatus comprising: a first substrate (Figure 10: 10) comprising a waveguide (Figure 10: 25) ; a second substrate (Figure 10: 11) comprising a waveguide (Figure 10: 26) ; and one or more focusing optics (Figure 10: 41) to couple light from the waveguide (25) in the first substrate to the waveguide in the second substrate (26) , wherein a first focusing optic (41) of the one or more focusing optics has a first optical surface (top surface of 41) and a second optical surface (bottom surface of 41) , wherein light from the waveguide ( 25) is to enter first focusing optic (41) at the first optical surface and exit the first focusing optic at the second optical surface (top and bottom surface of 41) , wherein the first optical surface and the second optical surface are flat (Figure 10: 41 has a stem portion that 42 which has top flat surface and bottom flat surface ). As for Claim 10, Dietrich teaches the device of claim 9, wherein the first substrate (10) is a glass substrate ([0043]) , wherein the second substrate is a photonic integrated circuit die ([0043]) . As for Claim 11, Dietrich teaches the device of claim 9, wherein the first substrate (10) is a photonic integrated circuit (PIC – [0043]), wherein the second substrate is a PIC die ([0043]). As for Claim 12, Dietrich teaches the device of claim 9, wherein a cavity (Figure 8: housing of 40) is defined in the first substrate (in the top surface of 10) , wherein the first focusing optic is disposed in the cavity (Figure 8: 43 within 40). As for Claim 13, Dietrich teaches the device of claim 9, wherein the first focusing optic (41) is adjacent a surface of the first substrate (Figure 8: 41 is adjacent 10) . As for Claim 14, Dietrich teaches the device of claim 9, wherein the first focusing optic has an impurity gradient in a radial direction ([0198] GRIN lens has circular shapes and the gradient is always radially). As for Claim 15, Dietrich teaches the device of claim 9, wherein the first substrate comprises silicon and oxygen, wherein the second substrate comprises silicon ([0100]) . In terms Claim 17, Dietrich teaches a n apparatus comprising: a first substrate (Figure 10: 10 ) comprising a waveguide (Figure 10: 25 ) ; a second substrate (Figure 10: 1 1 ) comprising a waveguide (Figure 10: 2 6 ) ; and focusing means (Figure 10: 40 , see 3 0 ) for coupling light from the waveguide ( 25 ) in the first substrate (10) to the waveguide (26) in the second substrate (11) , wherein each optical surface of the focusing means is flat (4 0 has a stem portion 42 that has a top flat and bottom flat surface ) . As for Claim 18, Dietrich teaches the device of claim 17, wherein a cavity (Figure 8: housing of within 40 or 41 ) is defined in the first substrate (Figure 8: housing of 40 is within top surface of 10) , wherein at least part of the focusing means is disposed in the cavity (Figure 8: 43 within 40 lights exiting 25 is expanded, light entering 25 is focus at 30) . As for Claim 19 , Dietrich teaches the device of claim 17 , wherein at least part of the focusing means is adjacent a surface of the first substrate (Figure 8: 40 or 41 are adjacent to 10 and 11) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis ( i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. Claim s 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Publication to Dietrich 2019/0258175US in view of the US Patent Application Publication to Kimerling 2021/0109290US. In regards to Claims 4 and 5, Dietrich teaches the device of claim 1. Dietrich does not teach wherein the grin lens is made from chalcogen or germanium. Kimerling does a grin lens made of materials such as chalcogen or germanium for longer wavelengths application in telecommunication systems ([0052]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Dietrich GRIN lens materials to use chalcogen or germanium in order to allow the device to be compatible with longer wavelengths application in telecommunication systems ([0052]). Claims 8, 16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Publication to Dietrich 2019/0258175US in view of the US Patent to Darbinyan 7,703,993US. In regards to Claims 8, 16, and 20, Dietrich teaches the device of Claim 1, 8, and 17, wherein the mirror is to reflect light from an end of the waveguide in the glass substrate towards the first grin lens (Figure 10: 41 contains reflector and a lens portion which reflect light to an opposing waveguide ). Dietrich does not teach wherein the mirror is the glass substrate. Darbinyan does teach a glass substrate (Figure 1: 102; Column 1, lines 65-67) wherein the substrate has an integrated mirror or reflector within a recess embedded in the substrate (Figure 1: 150), the recess and reflector functions as a means to align the fiber to reflector to be coupled to a lens (Column 1, lines 50-55). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the substrate 10 or 11 to move the components such as 41 to be embedded within the substrate. This allow the device to have precise alignment that is control and fixed during manufacturing. Further since the components are integrated within the alignment can be better control and will not require additional alignment outside of the substrate. Conclusion The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US Patent Application Publication to He 2022/0146756US teaches a substrate, a fiber, a grin lens, a reflector used for optical coupling to a corresponding fiber. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT HOANG Q TRAN whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)272-5049 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT 9:30 am - 5:30pm Monday - Friday . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT Uyen-Chau Le can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT 5712722397 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /HOANG Q TRAN/ Examiner, Art Unit 2874 /UYEN CHAU N LE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2874