DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s remarks filed on 08/18/2025 have been fully considered.
Regarding claim[s] 1 – 20 under the various anticipatory and obviousness rejections, applicant’s remarks are not persuasive and are addressed in the office action below.
The examiner will address all other remarks that do not concern the prior art rejections, if any, in the office action below.
Applicant states on page[s] 9 of the remarks: “While this combination of references teaches storing signed data (Tatge) and decrypting that data to verify a computation (Alvarez) in a multi-party context (Gao), it fails to teach the specific process now claimed for verifying the proof of location itself. The prior art combination does not teach or suggest a process whereby a capsule is decrypted to reveal the underlying environmental observations, and wherein those decrypted observations are then rectified (e.g., matched or compared against known location data) to confirm that the device was physically present at the claimed location.”
In response the examiner isn’t persuaded, the examiner points to the prior art of Tatge. Specifically, at Tatge, Figure # 4, and col. 22, lines 14 – 33, In some embodiments, a node 380, 380a-c can validate a received transaction based on a determination that the transaction has been digitally signed by a known or authorized private key, such as one associated with the primary node 300, or one associated with an authorized user account [i.e. applicant’s…and rectifying the one or more decrypted environmental observations]. In some aspects, each node of the distributed ledger network 400 can determine that a transaction was digitally signed with a private key associated with the primary node 300 based on a provided or identified public key of the primary node 300 [i.e. applicant’s…wherein the proof of location is verified by decrypting the cryptographically signed capsule…]. In some implementations, a public key of the primary node can be defined in each dataset consensus component 342, or can be defined on the blockchain to be easily determined by any node of the distributed ledger network 400. In some other aspects, each node of the distributed ledger network 400 can determine that a transaction was digitally signed with a private key associated with an authorized user account based on the public key of each user account being securely shared (e.g., communicated) between the nodes 300, 380a-c of the distributed ledger network 400.
***The examiner’s response above equally applies to the same or similar remarks regarding base claims: 1, 11, 16 made on page[s] 10 and 11 of the remarks as filed.
Response to Amendment
Status of the instant application:
Claim[s] 1 – 20 are pending in the instant application.
Regarding claim[s] 1 – 20 under the various anticipatory and obviousness rejections, applicant’s claim amendments have been considered, and are not persuasive. Therefore, the newly added claim amendments are addressed in the office action below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5 – 7, 9 - 11, 15 - 17, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being taught by Tatge et al. [US PAT # 10491608].
As per claim 1. Tatge does teach a method [Tatge, col. 1, lines 33 – 37, Embodiments of the present disclosure generally relate to the provenance tracking of machine or agronomic data, as well as other types of agriculture-related data, to facilitate secured access, auditability, and transactional oversight of exchanged farming data.] comprising:
collecting sensor data from one or more sensors of a device at a time, a location, or a combination thereof associated with a transaction, wherein the sensor data represent one or more environmental observations of the location [Tatge, col. 2, lines 1 – 9, In some embodiments, a user (e.g., a farmer) can employ a data collection device coupled to farming machinery operable by the user. The data collection device can be associated with a user account of the user and can collect raw data generated by the farming machinery, for example. In some aspects, the data collection device can geo-tag the collected raw data based on detected location information, including but not limited to GPS data, cell tower data, Wi-Fi signal data, and the like.];
generating a capsule comprising a digest [Tatge, col. 3, lines 5 – 13, The generated transaction can include, among other things, a hash that is generated by the primary node based on an electronic agricultural dataset associated with a user account, such as the collected set of raw farming data, interpreted set of raw farming data, generated certified farming dataset, non-certified farming data associated with the certified farming dataset, certification data, and/or metadata that describes characteristics of the collected set of raw farming data or generated certified farming dataset.] of the one or more environmental observations [Tatge, Figure # 2, and col. 11, lines 61 – 65, In some other embodiments, the data collection device 200 can communicate the collected raw farming data to the primary node when a communications signal (e.g., Wi-Fi signal, Bluetooth signal, cellular signal) is available to the communications component 240 ];
tagging the capsule with the time of the transaction [Tatge, col. 2, lines 27 – 30, In various embodiments, the set of raw farming data can be grouped together and provided for display via the interface in a geospatial format, by virtue of the data being geo-tagged and/or timestamped];
cryptographically signing the capsule [Tatge, col. 15, lines 32 – 37, In this regard, the generated transaction can be digitally signed with a private key, such as a private key associated with a user account of the certified farming dataset (e.g., the user account associated with the data collection device from which the collected raw farming data utilized to generate the certified farming dataset was received).]; and
providing the cryptographically signed capsule as a proof of location [Tatge, Figure # 3, and col. 17, lines 61 – 67 and col. 18, lines 1 – 5, In some embodiments, the application service component 310 can include a security component 326 that determines whether a user account can have authorized access an electronic agricultural dataset. In some aspects, the security component 326 can employ ledger analyzing component 324 to search and identify all stored transactions that either include a reference to the user account and/or is digitally signed with a private key associated with the user account],
wherein the proof of location is verified by decrypting the cryptographically signed capsule and rectifying the one or more decrypted environmental observations [Tatge, Figure # 4, and col. 22, lines 14 – 33, In some embodiments, a node 380, 380a-c can validate a received transaction based on a determination that the transaction has been digitally signed by a known or authorized private key, such as one associated with the primary node 300, or one associated with an authorized user account [i.e. applicant’s…and rectifying the one or more decrypted environmental observations]. In some aspects, each node of the distributed ledger network 400 can determine that a transaction was digitally signed with a private key associated with the primary node 300 based on a provided or identified public key of the primary node 300 [i.e. applicant’s…wherein the proof of location is verified by decrypting the cryptographically signed capsule…]. In some implementations, a public key of the primary node can be defined in each dataset consensus component 342, or can be defined on the blockchain to be easily determined by any node of the distributed ledger network 400. In some other aspects, each node of the distributed ledger network 400 can determine that a transaction was digitally signed with a private key associated with an authorized user account based on the public key of each user account being securely shared (e.g., communicated) between the nodes 300, 380a-c of the distributed ledger network 400.].
As per claim 5. Tatge does teach the method of claim 1, wherein the one or more environmental observations include at least one of:
a geolocation of the device [Tatge, col. 2, lines 1 – 9, In some embodiments, a user (e.g., a farmer) can employ a data collection device coupled to farming machinery operable by the user. The data collection device can be associated with a user account of the user and can collect raw data generated by the farming machinery, for example. In some aspects, the data collection device can geo-tag the collected raw data based on detected location information, including but not limited to GPS data, cell tower data, Wi-Fi signal data, and the like.];
As per claim 6. Tatge does teach the method of claim 1, wherein the cryptographically signed capsule is exchanged with another device using shortrange wireless communication [Tatge, Figure # 2, and col. 11, lines 61 – 65, In some other embodiments, the data collection device 200 can communicate the collected raw farming data to the primary node when a communications signal (e.g., Wi-Fi signal, Bluetooth signal, cellular signal) is available to the communications component 240].
As per claim 7. Tatge does teach the method of claim 6, further comprising:
periodically scanning for the another device, wherein the cryptographically signed capsule is exchanged based on the scanning [Tatge, col. 7, lines 62 – 66, and col. 8, lines 1 – 6, In some further embodiments, other data collection devices associated with the user account can include a set of sensors and/or scanners, computing devices, and/or electronic components that can generate raw data based on sensed conditions or scanned information, such as environmental conditions, weather patterns, wireless signals, or RFID tags, among other things. The raw data (e.g., raw farming data) can include electronic data generated by the set of sensors and/or scanners, computing devices, and/or electronic components coupled to any other set of sensors, computing devices, and/or electronic components, or any combination thereof.].
As per claim 9. Tatge does teach the method of claim 1, wherein the cryptographically signed capsule is integrated with an identity token provided by an identity verification system [Tatge, col. 3, lines 5 – 13, In some embodiments, an electronic transaction formatted as a unique electronic dataset and corresponding to a certified farming dataset can be generated based at least in part on the certification data being received by the primary node. The generated transaction can include, among other things, a hash [i.e. applicant’s identity token] that is generated by the primary node based on an electronic agricultural dataset associated with a user account, such as the collected set of raw farming data, interpreted set of raw farming data, generated certified farming dataset, non-certified farming data associated with the certified farming dataset, certification data, and/or metadata that describes characteristics of the collected set of raw farming data or generated certified farming dataset].
As per claim 10. Tatge does teach the method of claim 1, further comprising: recording the cryptographically signed capsule on a blockchain [Tatge, Figure # 3, and col. 17, lines 61 – 67 and col. 18, lines 1 – 5, In some embodiments, the application service component 310 can include a security component 326 that determines whether a user account can have authorized access an electronic agricultural dataset. In some aspects, the security component 326 can employ ledger analyzing component 324 to search and identify all stored transactions that either include a reference to the user account and/or is digitally signed with a private key associated with the user account].
As per apparatus claim 11 that includes the same or similar claim limitations as method claim 1, and is similarly rejected.
***The examiner notes that the recited: “at least one processor,” “at least one memory,” “computer program code,” and “one or more programs,” is taught by the prior art of Tatge et al. at col. 30, lines 45 – 67, and col. 31, lines 1 – 61.
As per apparatus claim 15 that includes the same or similar claim limitations as method claim 5, and is similarly rejected.
As per non – transitory computer readable storage medium claim 16 that includes the same or similar claim limitations as method claim 1, and is similarly rejected.
***The examiner notes that applicant’s recited “non – transitory computer readable storage medium,” “instructions,” and “one or more processors” is taught by the prior art of Tatge et al. at col. 30, lines 45 – 67, and col. 31, lines 1 – 61.
As per non – transitory computer readable storage medium claim 17 that includes the same or similar claim limitations as method claim 7, and is similarly rejected.
As per non – transitory computer readable storage medium claim 20 that includes the same or similar claim limitations as method claim 5, and is similarly rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 8, 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tatge et al. [US PAT # 10491608] in view of Alvarez et al. [US PGPUB # 2018/0091596]
As per claim 2. Tatge does teach what is taught in the rejection claim # 1 above.
Tatge does not clearly teach the method of claim 1, further comprising:
receiving another cryptographically signed capsule from another device associated with the transaction, wherein the another cryptographically signed capsule is generated from other sensor data collected from the another device and is cryptographically signed by the another device;
a mobile network carrier to which the device is connected;
a signal strength of the mobile network carrier;
a base station list of one or more base stations, one or more base station identity codes, one or more base station frequencies, or a combination thereof detected by the device;
a wireless network list comprising one or more wireless networks to which the device is connected or that can be detected by the wireless device, a wireless signal strength of the one or more wireless networks, a wireless frequency of the one or more wireless networks, or a combination thereof; or a barometric pressure measure by the device.
However, Alvarez does teach the method of claim 1, further comprising:
receiving another cryptographically signed capsule from another device associated with the transaction, wherein the another cryptographically signed capsule is generated from other sensor data collected from the another device and is cryptographically signed by the another device [Alvarez, Figure # 2, and paragraph: 0028, FIG. 2 illustrates respective scenarios involving data processing requests for securely stored data from a motor vehicle telematics system using the techniques discussed herein. It will be understood that additional components, data, transactions, and parties not depicted in FIG. 2 may be used to implement the following techniques. For example, the techniques applied in FIG. 2 may be modified to capture and track data from multiple users (e.g., drivers), each of which may be collecting different (or overlapping data) from a motor vehicle using respective mobile computing devices.];
a mobile network carrier to which the device is connected;
a signal strength of the mobile network carrier;
a base station list of one or more base stations, one or more base station identity codes, one or more base station frequencies, or a combination thereof detected by the device;
a wireless network list comprising one or more wireless networks to which the device is connected or that can be detected by the wireless device, a wireless signal strength of the one or more wireless networks, a wireless frequency of the one or more wireless networks, or a combination thereof; or a barometric pressure measure by the device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Tatge and Alvarez in order for the monitoring of the various sensor input from external environment of the farming machinery by the data collection device for transfer to the primary node to store on the distributed ledger of Tatge to include encrypting the sensor input data while in transit to the primary node of Alvarez. This would allow for the captured sensor data integrity to be preserved from attack. See paragraph: 0004 of Alvarez.
As per claim 8. Tatge as modified does teach the method of claim 1, further comprising:
decrypting the one or more environmental observations from the cryptographically signed capsule to verify the proof of location [Alvarez, Figure # 5, and paragraph: 0047, In response to the request, the communication device accesses and decrypts the private data associated with the request (operation 520), and evaluates the private data (operation 530). For example, the communication device may use a private key that is secret to the communication device, which was used to encrypt the data. After encrypting and evaluating the private data (including performing respective calculations), an answer to the request is generated by the computing device (operation 540). Additionally, a proof of the answer validity is generated by the computing device (operation 550). This proof may correspond to the information regarding the data element that was previously sorted with a decentralized data service (such as performed with the method in FIG. 4).].
As per apparatus claim 12 that includes the same or similar claim limitations as method claim 2, and is similarly rejected.
Claim(s) 3, 4, 13, 14, 18, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tatge et al. [US PAT # 10491608] in view of Alvarez et al. [US PGPUB # 2018/0091596] as applied to claim[s] 2 above, and further in view of Gao [US PGPUB # 2019/0394019].
As per claim 3. Tatge and Alvarez do teach what is taught in the rejection of claim 2 above.
Tatge and Alvarez do not clearly teach the method of claim 2, wherein the device cryptographically signs the another cryptographically signed capsule of the another device as part of a multiparty agreement, and wherein the another device cryptographically signs the cryptographically signed capsule to the device as part of the multiparty agreement.
However, Gao does teach the method of claim 2, wherein the device cryptographically signs the another cryptographically signed capsule of the another device as part of a multiparty agreement, and wherein the another device cryptographically signs the cryptographically signed capsule to the device as part of the multiparty agreement [paragraph: 0033, Secure Multi-Party Computation: If two or more parties (or nodes in a network) are required to compute a common function but need to keep their respective data inputs encrypted or secret, HE can provide a method for executing these procedures.].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Tatge as modified and Gao in order for the monitoring of the various sensor input from external environment of the farming machinery by the data collection device for transfer to the primary node to store on the distributed ledger of Tatge as modified to include encrypting the sensor input data while in transit to the primary node of Gao. This would allow for the captured sensor data integrity to be preserved from attack while performing operations of the encrypted data. See paragraph: 0004 of Gao.
As per claim 4. Tatge as modified does teach the method of claim 3, further comprising:
providing the multiparty agreement as proof of the transaction [Guo, paragraph: 0033, Secure Multi-Party Computation: If two or more parties (or nodes in a network) are required to compute a common function but need to keep their respective data inputs encrypted or secret, HE can provide a method for executing these procedures.].
As per apparatus claim 13 that includes the same or similar claim limitations as method claim 3, and is similarly rejected.
As per apparatus claim 14 that includes the same or similar claim limitations as method claim 4, and is similarly rejected.
As per non – transitory computer readable storage medium claim 18 that includes the same or similar claim limitations as method claim 3, and is similarly rejected.
As per non – transitory computer readable storage medium claim 19 that includes the same or similar claim limitations as method claim 4, and is similarly rejected.
Conclusion
/DANT B SHAIFER HARRIMAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2434