DETAILED ACTION
This is action is responsive to amendments filed on 2/24/2026.
Claims 1-3,6 and 7 are pending. Claims 4 and 5 are cancelled. Claims 1 and 3 are amended. Claims 6 and 7 are new.
Claim(s) 1-3 stand rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 2022/0384792 (US ‘792).
The rejections of Claim(s) 1-3 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 20210265623 (US ‘623) are withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/24/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to the rejections over US ‘792, Applicants have amended claim 1 to further narrow limitations directed to Raman intensity peak ratios, the Li/B ratio, coverage of the claimed coating and adding a thickness limitation of the coating layer which Applicants contend are not disclosed by the prior art.
As will be noted below, the prior art still discloses the newly added limitations except for the peak intensity ratios.
However, as Applicants have not addressed the inherency rationale discussed in the Non-Final Rejection, the Examiner maintains said limitation would be inherently disclosed by the prior art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 2022/0384792 (US ‘792).
As to Claim 1, US ‘792 discloses a composite particle comprising a core portion of lithium metal oxide mixed with a boron oxide and heated to form a coating layer of lithium boron oxide on the surface of the core (para. 0023). The mixture is fired at 250 to 500 deg C (para. 0024) and the coverage of the coating is 70 % or more of the surface (para. 0027). The covering layer composition can be LiB4O7 (para. 0075) i.e. Li/B ratio of 0.25 which meets the Li/B ratio limitations of the instant claims and the thickness of the coating layer is 15 to 150 nm (para. 0079).
However, US ‘792 fails to disclose the Raman spectra intensity ratio as required by the instant claim.
As to the difference, the Examiner respectfully submits the prior art would inherently meet the claimed limitation due the similarity of the processes used to create prior art material and instantly claimed material i.e. a mixture of composite precursor materials followed by firing at similar temperatures.
As to Claim 2, see discussion of Claim 1.
As to Claim 3, the Examiner notes the intended use language of the claim and further notes that the prior art would inherently be able to perform the function as a material for a sulfide all-solid-state battery.
As to Claim 6, the coating material can be in amorphous form (para. 0017).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US ‘792 view of US ‘623.
As to Claim 7, US ‘792 fails to disclose the composite active material electrode particle with an average particle size of 5 to 10 microns.
As to the difference, US ‘623 discloses a composite particle comprising a core portion of lithium metal oxide (para. 0055) mixed with a boron oxide and heated to form a coating layer of lithium boron oxide on the surface of the core wherein the heating is at 250 to 500 deg C (para. 0082). The particles have an average particle size of 0.1 to 20 microns (para. 0054).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to expect similar physical properties such as particle size diameters in the US ‘792 particles as those of US ‘623 reference due to the similarity of the materials and the production processes used in both references.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.P.T/Examiner, Art Unit 1762
/jt/ 4/1/2026
/MARK KOPEC/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1762