DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
This Office Action is a response to applicant’s arguments and amendment filed 07/30/2026. Claims 1-4, 6, 8-11, 14-16 and 19 are amended. Claims 21-22 are new. Claims 1-4 and 6-22 are currently pending.
The objection of claim 7 has been withdrawn, however, see 112(b) and 112(d) rejection below.
The objection of claims 9 and 13 is maintained; see below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 07/30/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 16-18 and 20 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Azdoud; and claims 2-15 and 19 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Azdoud in view of Dixon, have been fully considered but are not persuasive, in combination with the amendments to the claims. The rejection has been modified, necessitated by applicant’s amendment to the claims.
Applicant argues the claims do not recite a product by process claim, but rather the structure of the claimed blade, and distinctions are clear between the needle bundles of Azdoud and Dixon and the instant application (Remarks, pgs. 8-10).
In response to applicant’s argument, it is respectfully submitted the new limitation “cut in a first direction at a first angle…” still recites a product by process limitation. The newly added limitation is referencing a manufacturing step (cutting a piece of material), which defines the claim by the process of forming the first blade, such that the determination of patentability is based on the product itself, encompassing a single, flat piece of material. As discussed below, the blade assembly of Dixon includes a soldering material joining a plurality of points (needles), such that the claimed limitation is considered to be met. Accordingly, the claims remain rejected.
Applicant’s argument with respect to claims 21-22 have been fully considered, and new claims 21-22 are rejected as discussed below.
Claim Objections
Claims 9 and 13 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 9, the claim appears to be amended to remove the term “a second” without the accompanying annotations; it is requested that applicant indicate any deleted matter using a strike-through or double brackets in any future amended claims in order to comply with 37 CFR 1.121(c)(2).
In claim 13, line 4, the phrase “each point” should read “each of the plurality of points”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 7, the claim recites “the system of claim 5” in the preamble. Since claim 5 is a cancelled claim, it is unclear what claim 7 is further limiting and therefore the scope of the claim is indefinite. For examination purposes, the claim is interpreted to be dependent on claim 6, which provides antecedent basis for “the second direction”.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Regarding claim 7, the claim recites “the system of claim 5” in the preamble. Since claim 5 is a cancelled claim, the claim is in improper dependent form because it does not further limit a previously set forth claim.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 6-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Azdoud (US 2021/0386987 A1) in view of Dixon (US 2004/0116953 A1) (all references previously of record).
Regarding claim 1, Azdoud discloses (abstract; paras. [0074]-[0299]; figs. 1a-26) a system (90, figs. 1a-b) for use in the application and removal of tattoos and other skin treatments (abstract, para. [0080]), comprising:
a handpiece (tattoo frame 103, which is mounted by an operator and therefore considered a handpiece, para. [0102]);
a set of disposable cartridges (includes needle cartridge 141, note para. [0150] describes switching between multiple cartridges, such that the system is considered to include multiple needle cartridges forming the set, including 141 and/or 641, see also para. [0095]) comprising:
a first disposable cartridge (141, para. [0095]) comprising:
a first needle assembly (needle 142 which includes a plurality of rods, para. [0095]) comprising a first blade (needle 142 considered to include a blade), the first needle assembly having a first configuration (configuration of needle 142), and
a first tubing connection (lines, para. [0090]) couplable to a fluid pump configured to dispense facilitating fluid to the first needle assembly (para. [0090]), and
a second disposable cartridge (second needle cartridge 641, para. [0150]) comprising:
a second needle assembly (one or more needles 642, para. [0150]) having a second configuration (configuration of needles 642), and
a second tubing connection (one or more lines, considered to have multiple lines, para. [0090]) couplable to the fluid pump configured to dispense facilitating fluid to the second needle assembly (multiple containers, para. [0090]),
wherein the first disposable cartridge and the second disposable cartridge are alternatively couplable to the handpiece (removably coupled to system, para. [0150]);
a system controller (includes 108 and 78 of fig. 1a, paras. [0075] and [0080]) comprising a power input (tattooing apparatus 100 is powered on, controller is considered to include a power source, para. [0106]), a microprocessor (para. [0075]), and a user interface (one or more displays, para. [0088]), the system controller configured to control the operation of one or more drives (para. [0247]);
an oscillation drive (arm solenoid actuator 113, para. [0092]) configured to provide oscillatory motion to the first needle assembly or the second needle assembly (controls position of motor gantry 115 and ensures needle oscillation occurs, para. [0120]);
a distance drive (112) configured to provide linear motion to the first needle assembly or the second needle assembly (sets maximum extension of needle, para. [0092]);
a rotational drive (motor 111) configured to provide rotational motion to the first needle assembly or the second needle assembly (generates rotational movement of cam which converts to movement of needle, paras. [0092] and [0096]); and
a drive shaft (145) configured to independently translate oscillatory, linear, and rotational motion to the first needle assembly or the second needle assembly (para. [0096]).
However, Azdoud fails to specifically disclose wherein the first blade comprises a single, flat piece of material cut in a first direction at a first angle to a plane of the flat piece of material such that a penetration end of the first blade comprises a plurality of points on the single piece of material.
Dixon teaches (para. [0082]; figs. 6-8), in the same field of endeavor, a system (figs. 1-3) for use in the application and removal of tattoos and other skin treatments (abstract) comprising a first blade (fig. 6a), wherein the first blade comprises a single, flat piece of material (solder applied to needle device 24, considered to encompass a single, flat piece of material of the blade depicted in fig. 6a) cut in a first direction at a first angle to a plane of the flat piece of material such that a penetration end of the first blade comprises a plurality of points on the single piece of material (note the limitation “cut in a first direction at a first angle to a plane of the flat piece of material such that a penetration end of the first blade comprises a plurality of points on the single piece of material” is treated as a product by process limitation, in which determination of patentability is based on the product itself; since Dixon discloses a blade comprising a single, flat piece of material with angled portions and a plurality of points as depicted in fig. 6a, the limitation is considered to be met, see MPEP 2113), for the purpose of fixing and holding needles in position with a planar back wall, which provides the capability of reaching small, highly varied, and/or different to reach areas for complex application by arranging the needle assembly using a planar array (paras. [0082] and [0091]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the blades of Azdoud to comprise a single, flat piece of material joining a plurality of points, in order to fix and hold needles in position with a planar back wall, providing the capability of reaching small, highly varied, and/or different to reach areas for complex application by arranging the needle assembly using a planar array, based on the suggestions and teachings of Dixon (paras. [0082] and [0091]).
Regarding claim 2, Azdoud (as modified) teaches the system of claim 1. Azdoud further discloses wherein the first blade of the first needle assembly further comprises a securement end (proximal end of needles) spaced apart from the penetration end (distal end of needles).
Regarding claim 3, Azdoud (as modified) teaches the system of claim 2. Azdoud (as modified) further teaches wherein the first blade comprises a cavity extending through the flat piece of material (see fig. 6b of Dixon depicting cavity for placement of needles formed by solder).
Regarding claim 4, Azdoud (as modified) teaches the system of claim 1. Azdoud (as modified) further teaches wherein the plurality of points forms a sawtooth shape (depicted in figs. 6a and 7 of Dixon).
Regarding claim 6, Azdoud (as modified) teaches the system of claim 1. Azdoud (as modified) further teaches wherein the plurality of points is sharpened in a second direction (direction O1, see figs. 6a and 7 of Dixon depicting the needles being sharp at direction O1), and wherein the second direction is at a second angle to the plane of the flat piece of material and is different from the first direction (see different angular portions in figs. 6a and 7).
Regarding claim 7, Azdoud (as modified) teaches the system of claim 6. Azdoud (as modified) further teaches wherein the plurality of points is sharpened in the second direction by grinding (paras. [0132]-[0158] of Dixon).
Regarding claim 8, Azdoud (as modified) teaches the system of claim 1. Azdoud (as modified) further teaches wherein each point of the plurality of points has a first depth (depth of at least two needles of uniform length in fig. 7 of Dixon, each of the plurality of points considered to encompass two needles forming flat edge in fig. 7 of Dixon), and the first depth is the same for each point of the plurality of points (fig. 7 of Dixon).
Regarding claim 9, Azdoud (as modified) teaches the system of claim 8.
Azdoud (as modified) further teaches wherein the second needle assembly (642 of Azdoud) comprises a second blade (needles considered to include a blade), the second blade comprising a single flat piece of material configured as a flat blade (combination considered to further teach needles of Azdoud arranged similar to needles of Dixon, which include a planar array, para. [0085] of Dixon), the second flat blade further comprising a securement end (proximal end) and a penetration end (distal end) comprising a plurality of points (includes multiple needles) having a second depth (depth of needles).
However, Azdoud (as modified) fails to specifically teach the second depth greater than the first depth.
Azdoud (as modified) teaches (para. [0098] of Dixon) that the depth the needles extend needs to be optimized to “add versatility with respect to how much ink is held by the needles as more color is available with increased spacing between the needles.” Figures 6a and 7 of Dixon depict the spacing and depth among the needles and discusses the relative distance between adjacent needle tips being the same or varied, and the importance of needles falling along a reference line R, and as such, the depth a needle extends is disclosed to be a result effective variable in that changing the depth of the needles relative to each other changes how much ink is held by the needles. Further, it appears that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in modifying the system of Azdoud (as modified) to have depth within the claimed range, as it involves only adjusting the dimension of a component disclosed to require adjustment. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Azdoud (as modified) by making the depth of the plurality of points of the second blade greater than the plurality of points of the first blade as a matter of routine optimization since it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 10, Azdoud (as modified) teaches the system of claim 1.
Azdoud (as modified) further teaches wherein the second needle assembly comprises a second blade (needles considered to include a blade), wherein the second blade comprises a single piece of material (combination considered to further teach needles of Azdoud arranged similarly to needles of Dixon, which include a single piece of material, para. [0085] of Dixon).
However, Azdoud (as modified) fails to teach wherein the second blade is bent into a non-flat shape by bending the single piece of material.
Dixon teaches (para. [0120]; fig. 19), in the same field of endeavor, a second blade (needle sub-set within matrix), wherein the second blade is bent into a non-flat shape by bending the single piece of material (para. [0120], note the limitation “bent… by bending the single piece of material” is being treated as a product by process limitation, in which determination of patentability is based on the product itself; since Dixon teaches a non-flat shape of the needles, the limitation is considered to be met, see MPEP 2113), for the purpose of providing versatility with the needle arrangements (para. [0120]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the shape of the second blade of Azdoud (as modified) to be a non-flat shape, in order to provide versatility with the needle arrangements as desired, based on the suggestions and teachings of Dixon (para. [0120]).
Regarding claim 11, Azdoud (as modified) teaches the system of claim 1. Azdoud (as modified) further teaches wherein the plurality of points has a first uniform spacing between each of the plurality of points (depicted in fig. 6a of Dixon).
Regarding claim 12, Azdoud (as modified) teaches the system of claim 11.
Azdoud (as modified) further teaches wherein the second needle assembly comprises a second blade (642 of Azdoud considered to include a blade), the second blade comprising a securement end (proximal end) and a penetration end (distal end) comprising a plurality of points (plurality of needles).
However, Azdoud (as modified) fails to specifically teach wherein the plurality of points have a second, uniform spacing between each of the plurality of points, the second uniform spacing being greater than the first uniform spacing.
Azdoud (as modified) teaches (para. [0098] of Dixon) that the spacing between needle tip locations needs to be optimized to “add versatility with respect to how much ink is held by the needles as more color is available with increased spacing between the needles.” Figure 6a of Dixon depicts the spacing between the needles and discusses the relative distance between adjacent needle tips being the same or varied, and as such, the spacing between needle tip locations is disclosed to be a result effective variable in that changing the spacing changes how much ink is held by the needles. Further, it appears that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in modifying the system of Azdoud (as modified) to have spacing within the claimed range, as it involves only adjusting the dimension of a component disclosed to require adjustment. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Azdoud (as modified) by making the spacing of the plurality of points of the second blade to be greater than the plurality of points of the first blade as a matter of routine optimization since it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 13, Azdoud (as modified) teaches the system of claim 11.
Azdoud (as modified) further teaches wherein the second needle assembly comprises a second blade (642 of Azdoud considered to include a blade), the second blade comprising a securement end (proximal end) and a penetration end (distal end) comprising a plurality of points (plurality of needles).
However, Azdoud (as modified) fails to specifically teach the plurality of points having a second nonuniform spacing between each point.
Dixon teaches (para. [0098]; figs. 6-8), in the same field of endeavor, varying the spacing of one sub-set of needles relative to a second sub-set of needles (para. [0098]), for the purpose of adding versatility with respect to how much ink is held by the needles as more color is available (para. [0098]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the spacing between the needles in Azdoud (as modified) to be nonuniform, in order to add versatility with respect to how much ink is held by the needles as more color is available, based on the teachings of Dixon (para. [0098]).
Regarding claim 14, Azdoud (as modified) teaches the system of claim 1. Azdoud (as modified) further teaches wherein each point of the plurality of points has a first uniform length along a linear axis of the first blade and the first length is the same for each point of the plurality of points (annotated fig. 7 of Dixon, note the plurality of points is considered to encompass the two needles of uniform length in the annotated figure below).
Annotated Figure 7 of Dixon
Regarding claim 15, Azdoud (as modified) teaches the system of claim 14. Azdoud (as modified) further teaches wherein the second needle assembly (642 of Azdoud) comprises a second blade (plurality of needles), the second blade comprising a securement end (proximal end) and a penetration end (distal end) comprising a second plurality of points (needles), wherein each point of the second plurality of points has a unique length that is different from every other point of the second plurality of points (second plurality of points considered to encompass each of the needles at varying lengths as depicted in fig. 7 of Dixon).
Regarding claim 21, Azdoud (as modified) teaches the system of claim 1. Azdoud (as modified) further teaches wherein each point of the plurality of points has a unique length that is different from every other point of the plurality of points, and wherein the lengths of the plurality of points vary along a linear axis (plurality of points considered to encompass each of the needles at varying lengths as depicted in fig. 7 of Dixon, considered to vary along a linear axis).
Regarding claim 22, Azdoud (as modified) teaches the system of claim 1. Azdoud (as modified) further teaches wherein each point of the plurality of points has a unique length that is different from every other point of the plurality of points, and wherein the lengths of the plurality of points vary along a curved axis (plurality of points considered to encompass each of the needles at varying lengths as depicted in fig. 7 of Dixon, note the lengths are considered to vary along a curve and therefore vary along a curved axis, see curvature formed by varying lengths in figs. 6a and 7 of Dixon).
Regarding claim 16, Azdoud discloses (abstract; paras. [0074-[0299]; figs. 1a-26) a system (90, figs. 1a-b) for use in the application and removal of tattoos and other skin treatments (abstract, para. [0080]), comprising:
a handpiece (tattoo frame 103, which is mounted by an operator and therefore considered a handpiece, para. [0102]);
a first disposable cartridge (141, para. [0095]) comprising a first needle assembly (needle 142 which includes a plurality of rods, para. [0095]) comprising a first blade (needle considered to include a blade), the first needle assembly having a first configuration (configuration of 142), and the first disposable cartridge selectively couplable to the handpiece (removably coupled, para. [0150]);
a second disposable cartridge (second needle cartridge 641, para. [0150]) comprising a second needle assembly (one or more needles 642, para. [0150]) having a second configuration that is distinct from the first configuration (considered to be distinct due to two separate needle cartridges), the second disposable cartridge selectively and alternatively couplable to the handpiece in place of the first disposable cartridge (removably coupled, considered to be selectively and alternatively coupled with other cartridges when removed, para. [0150]);
a system controller (includes 108 and 78 of fig. 1a, paras. [0075] and [0080]) comprising a power input (tattooing apparatus 100 is powered on, controller is considered to include a power source, para. [0106]), a microprocessor (para. [0075]), and a user interface (one or more displays, para. [0088]), the system controller configured to control the operation of one or more drives (para. [0247]);
an oscillation drive (arm solenoid actuator 113, para. [0092]) configured to provide oscillatory motion to the first needle assembly or the second needle assembly (controls position of motor gantry 115 and ensures needle oscillation occurs, para. [0120]);
a distance drive (112) configured to provide linear motion to the first needle assembly or the second needle assembly (sets maximum extension of needle, para. [0092]);
a rotational drive (motor 111) configured to provide rotational motion to the first needle assembly or the second needle assembly (generates rotational movement of cam which converts to movement of needle, paras. [0092] and [0096]); and
a drive shaft (145) configured to independently translate oscillatory, linear, and rotational motion to the first needle assembly or the second needle assembly (para. [0096]).
However, Azdoud fails to specifically disclose wherein the first blade comprises a single, flat piece of material cut in a first direction at a first angle to a plane of the flat piece of material such that a penetration end of the first blade comprises a plurality of points on the single piece of material.
Dixon teaches (para. [0082]; figs. 6-8), in the same field of endeavor, a system (figs. 1-3) for use in the application and removal of tattoos and other skin treatments (abstract) comprising a first blade (fig. 6a), wherein the first blade comprises a single, flat piece of material (solder applied to needle device 24, considered to encompass a single, flat piece of material of the blade depicted in fig. 6a) cut in a first direction at a first angle to a plane of the flat piece of material such that a penetration end of the first blade comprises a plurality of points on the single piece of material (note the limitation “cut in a first direction at a first angle to a plane of the flat piece of material such that a penetration end of the first blade comprises a plurality of points on the single piece of material” is treated as a product by process limitation, in which determination of patentability is based on the product itself; since Dixon discloses a blade comprising a single, flat piece of material with angled portions and a plurality of points as depicted in fig. 6a, the limitation is considered to be met, see MPEP 2113), for the purpose of fixing and holding needles in position with a planar back wall, which provides the capability of reaching small, highly varied, and/or different to reach areas for complex application by arranging the needle assembly using a planar array (paras. [0082] and [0091]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the blades of Azdoud to comprise a single, flat piece of material joining a plurality of points, in order to fix and hold needles in position with a planar back wall, providing the capability of reaching small, highly varied, and/or different to reach areas for complex application by arranging the needle assembly using a planar array, based on the suggestions and teachings of Dixon (paras. [0082] and [0091]).
Regarding claim 17, Azdoud (as modified) teaches the system of claim 16. Azdoud further discloses wherein the first disposable cartridge comprises a tubing connection (lines, para. [0090]) couplable to a fluid pump configured to dispense facilitating fluid to the first needle assembly (para. [0090]).
Regarding claim 18, Azdoud (as modified) teaches the system of claim 16. Azdoud further discloses wherein the first disposable cartridge comprises a first needle assembly rod (143, para. [0095]) comprising a first needle face (distal end of 143) and the second disposable cartridge comprises a second needle assembly rod (annotated fig. 10b) comprising a second needle face (distal end of rod).
Annotated Figure 10B of Azdoud
Regarding claim 19, Azdoud (as modified) teaches the system of claim 18. Azdoud (as modified) further teaches wherein the first blade of the first disposable cartridge comprises a securement end (proximal end) spaced apart from the penetration end (distal end), and wherein the first blade securement end is connected with the first needle assembly rod at the first needle face of the first disposable cartridge (combination considered to further teach similar coupling of needle cartridge to 143, fig. 2 of Azdoud).
Regarding claim 20, Azdoud (as modified) teaches the system of claim 18. Azdoud further discloses wherein the second needle assembly of the second disposable cartridge comprises a plurality of needles (one or more needles 642), each of the plurality of needles comprising a securement end (proximal end) and a penetration end (distal end), and wherein each securement end of the plurality of needles is connected with the second needle assembly rod at the second needle face of the second disposable cartridge (fig. 10b).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2015/0367118 A1 to Scherkowski, disclosing a piercing device formed of a single piece of material (fig. 8).
/BRIGID K BYRD/Examiner, Art Unit 3771