DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
A request for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114 was filed in this application after a decision by the Patent Trial and Appeal Board, but before the filing of a Notice of Appeal to the Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit or the commencement of a civil action. Since this application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114 and the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the appeal has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114 and prosecution in this application has been reopened pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant’s submission filed on May 15, 2026 has been entered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Pages 7-8, filed May 15, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Janey et al. (US 20230259893; hereinafter Janey).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Derouen (US 20210264386) in view of Saito et al. (US 20230065737; hereinafter Saito) in view of Soon et al. (US 20230089832; hereinafter Soon) further in view of Janey et al. (US 20230259893; hereinafter Janey).
In regards to claim 1, Derouen discloses of a system (“Disclosed is a system, and method for responding to a need of an autonomous vehicle for guidance, inspection, cleaning, and mechanical maintenance of fully autonomous (driver-less) vehicles at a maintenance facility is disclosed.” (Para 0040)), comprising:
a memory (“FIG. 9 is a block diagram of a computing device for implementing the methods disclosed herein, in accordance with some embodiments. Consistent with an embodiment of the disclosure, the aforementioned storage device and processing device may be implemented in a computing device, such as computing device 900 of FIG. 9. Any suitable combination of hardware, software, or firmware may be used to implement the memory storage and processing unit. For example, the storage device and the processing device may be implemented with computing device 900 or any of other computing devices 918, in combination with computing device 900. The aforementioned system, device, and processors are examples and other systems, devices, and processors may comprise the aforementioned storage device and processing device, consistent with embodiments of the disclosure.” (Para 0087)); and
at least one processor coupled to the memory and configured to perform operations (“FIG. 9 is a block diagram of a computing device for implementing the methods disclosed herein, in accordance with some embodiments. Consistent with an embodiment of the disclosure, the aforementioned storage device and processing device may be implemented in a computing device, such as computing device 900 of FIG. 9. Any suitable combination of hardware, software, or firmware may be used to implement the memory storage and processing unit. For example, the storage device and the processing device may be implemented with computing device 900 or any of other computing devices 918, in combination with computing device 900. The aforementioned system, device, and processors are examples and other systems, devices, and processors may comprise the aforementioned storage device and processing device, consistent with embodiments of the disclosure.” (Para 0087)) comprising:
instructing an autonomous vehicle (AV) to navigate to an AV maintenance facility responsive to initiating of an AV multi-station maintenance cycle (“Further, the system 200 may include a processing device 204 configured for analyzing the diagnostic data to identify at least one recommended car service for the autonomous vehicle. For example, the at least one recommended car service may include one or more of a regular service, a premium service, a safety service, an interim service, a full service, a car wash service, a car interior care service, a car exterior care service, a mechanical service, wheel alignments and balancing service, brake and clutch service, and tire service.” (Para 0052), and “Further, the processing device 204 may be configured to generate the appointment reservation with the closest facility in the one or more facility locations based on the received one or more work schedules. In further embodiments, the processing device may be configured to navigate the autonomous vehicle to the closest facility. The closest facility provides the recommended car service for the autonomous vehicle” (Para 0054), see also Para 0055);
…
matching a current status of maintenance items for the AV to corresponding maintenance steps to be performed to complete an AV specific instance of the AV multi-station maintenance cycle (“In further embodiments, the processing device 204 may be configured to identify the at least one recommended car service for the autonomous vehicle based on one or more of weather conditions, historical data, maintenance schedules, maintenance contracts and client requirements. Further, information including one or more of weather conditions, historical data, maintenance schedules, maintenance contracts and client requirements may be stored in the databases 114.” (Para 0055) and “At 608, the vehicle decision making process algorithm may determine and deliver potential maintenance requirement. For example, the maintenance requirement may include one or more of a regular service, a premium service, a safety service, an interim service, a full service, a car wash service, a car interior care service, a car exterior care service, a mechanical service, wheel alignments and balancing service, brake and clutch service, and tire service.” (Para 0075), see also Para 0092-0093))…
…
generating a schedule for performing the maintenance items for the AV at one or more stations within the AV maintenance facility… , the schedule configured to complete the corresponding maintenance steps for the AV specific instance of the AV multi-station maintenance cycle “In one aspect, the system can prioritize different recommended services for a same vehicle. For example, the vehicle is recommended three main services i.e. oil change, muffler replacement, and brake replacement. While preparing the job sheet of the vehicle, the system can rank the three services. For example, first the brakes are replaced, then oil change, and last the muffler is replaced.” (Para 0093) and “Further, the processing device 204 may be configured to generate the appointment reservation with the closest facility in the one or more facility locations based on the received one or more work schedules. In further embodiments, the processing device may be configured to navigate the autonomous vehicle to the closest facility. The closest facility provides the recommended car service for the autonomous vehicle” (Para 0054), see also Para 0056)…
assigning, based on the schedule… , maintenance resources within the AV maintenance facility based on the maintenance steps (“In one aspect, the system disclosed herein can receive service request from multiple autonomous vehicles. The service request is accompanied by at least one trouble code. Referring to FIG. 10, disclosed is a method for prioritizing the autonomous vehicle routing based on the severity of the problems in the vehicle. Typically, the method allows scheduling available resources of a maintenance facility based on an urgency/criticality of the vehicle. The system, disclosed herein, can receive service request from two or more vehicles, at step 1010. The system can then analyze the trouble codes to determine criticality/urgency of the service request, at step 1020. Based on the analysis of the trouble codes, the system can then prioritize each of the service requests depending on urgency and other predetermined criteria, at step 1030.” (Para 0092) and “In one aspect, the system can prioritize different recommended services for a same vehicle. For example, the vehicle is recommended three main services i.e. oil change, muffler replacement, and brake replacement. While preparing the job sheet of the vehicle, the system can rank the three services. For example, first the brakes are replaced, then oil change, and last the muffler is replaced.” (Para 0093); and
directing, based on the schedule, self-navigation of the AV to one or more stations within the AV maintenance facility to complete the AV specific instance of the AV multi-station maintenance cycle (“At 406, the method 400 may include navigating, using a processing device, the autonomous vehicle to a maintenance station corresponding to the at least one recommended service.” (Para 0071) and “FIG. 4 is a flowchart of a method 400 for navigating the autonomous vehicle (such as the autonomous car 116) to a maintenance station in one or more maintenance stations, in accordance with some embodiments. Each of the plurality of maintenance facilities may include the one or more maintenance stations. Each of the one or more maintenance stations may be associated with at least one car service from a plurality of car services. For example, the one or more maintenance stations may include an evaluation station, wherein the evaluation station includes a plurality of inspection sensors.” (Para 0068).
However, Derouen does not specifically disclose of responsive to detecting the AV has arrived at the maintenance facility and being connected to a charger, supplying electric power to the AV and ingesting data from the AV;
matching a current status of maintenance items for the AV to corresponding maintenance steps to be performed to complete an AV specific instance of the AV multi- station maintenance cycle while the AV is supplied with electric power from the charger;
outputting a user interface (UI) configured to provide information about the AV at each maintenance step and receive one or more user input;
generating a schedule for performing the maintenance items for the AV at one or more stations within the AV maintenance facility based on the user input,
wherein the AV specific instance includes calibration of one or more sensors of the AV;
assigning, based on the schedule and the user input, maintenance resources; and
performing at least a part of the AV specific instance of the AV multi-station maintenance cycle.
Saito, in the same field of endeavor, teaches of responsive to detecting the AV has arrived at the maintenance facility and being connected to a charger, supplying electric power to the AV and ingesting data from the AV (“The connection confirmation section 62 of the charge and discharge management system 50 is configured or programmed to detect that the electric vehicle 10 corresponding to specific information set by the vehicle designation section 61 has been connected to one of the charge and discharge devices 22 of the commercial facility 30. The connection confirmation section 62 detects that the electric vehicle 10 corresponding to the specific information has been connected to the charge and discharge device 22 of the commercial facility 30 by communicating with the charge and discharge device 22. At this time, the connection confirmation section 62 also detects to which charge and discharge devices 22 of the commercial facility 30 the electric vehicle 10 has been connected.” (Para 0031) and “When it is detected by the connection confirmation section 62 that the electric vehicle 10 corresponding to the specific information has been connected to the charge and discharge device 22 of the commercial facility 30, the execution instruction section 82 of the reservation management system 70 instructs execution of the reservation received by the reservation section 41 (specifically, the commodity reservation section 81). In this embodiment, connection of the electric vehicle 10 to the charge and discharge device 22 of the commercial facility 30 (that is, evidence of arrival of the customer at the commercial facility 30) acts as a trigger to start preparation of the reserved commodity or service.” (Para 0033); see also Para 0045)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the autonomous vehicle arriving to the maintenance facility, as taught by Derouen, to include detecting a vehicle being connected to a charging to supply electrical power to the vehicle and receive data from the vehicle, as taught by Saito, with a reasonable expectation of success in order to confirm the arrival of the vehicle before providing the reserved commodity or service (Saito Para 0033).
However, Derouen in view of Saito does not specifically teach of matching a current status of maintenance items for the AV to corresponding maintenance steps to be performed to complete an AV specific instance of the AV multi- station maintenance cycle while the AV is supplied with electric power from the charger;
outputting a user interface (UI) configured to provide information about the AV at each maintenance step and receive one or more user input;
generating a schedule for performing the maintenance items for the AV at one or more stations within the AV maintenance facility based on the user input,
wherein the AV specific instance includes calibration of one or more sensors of the AV;
assigning, based on the schedule and the user input, maintenance resources; and
performing at least a part of the AV specific instance of the AV multi-station maintenance cycle.
Soon, in the same field of endeavor, teaches of matching a current status of maintenance items for the AV to corresponding maintenance steps to be performed to complete an AV specific instance of the AV multi- station maintenance cycle while the AV is supplied with electric power from the charger (“Block 610 illustrates that vehicles returning from maintenance or charging can undergo a quality assurance check, at block 612, before returning to service. In some embodiments, such vehicles may be sent to the calibration course at block 606, before fully re-entering into service.” (Para 0117) and “The method 600 of FIG. 6 illustrates that use of a calibration course may be beneficial in managing a fleet of vehicles by periodically or on as-needed basis, calibrating and/or validating the sensors of the vehicles. This may further improve the safety of such vehicles and avoid accidents. As described above, it may be desired to perform sensor calibration and validation frequently (e.g., daily, weekly, monthly, or after a certain number of operational hours of a vehicle, such after 5 hours, after 10 hours, after 20 hours, after 50 hours, after 100 hours, after 200 hours, etc.) or after certain triggering events (e.g., charging, maintenance, accidents, etc.). (Para 0118));
wherein the AV specific instance includes calibration of one or more sensors of the AV (“Block 610 illustrates that vehicles returning from maintenance or charging can undergo a quality assurance check, at block 612, before returning to service. In some embodiments, such vehicles may be sent to the calibration course at block 606, before fully re-entering into service.” (Para 0117) and “The method 600 of FIG. 6 illustrates that use of a calibration course may be beneficial in managing a fleet of vehicles by periodically or on as-needed basis, calibrating and/or validating the sensors of the vehicles. This may further improve the safety of such vehicles and avoid accidents. As described above, it may be desired to perform sensor calibration and validation frequently (e.g., daily, weekly, monthly, or after a certain number of operational hours of a vehicle, such after 5 hours, after 10 hours, after 20 hours, after 50 hours, after 100 hours, after 200 hours, etc.) or after certain triggering events (e.g., charging, maintenance, accidents, etc.). (Para 0118)); and
performing at least a part of the AV specific instance of the AV multi-station maintenance cycle (“Once de-calibration is detected or recalibration is triggered, the vehicle may be sent to the calibration course, as indicated by block 606. At block 606, the vehicle may traverse the calibration course gathering data with its sensors that is used to calibrated and/or validate the sensors. If the calibration or validation is determined be successful, the vehicle may be placed back into service, for example, as indicated by block 602. As shown in FIG. 6, if the calibration or validation is successful, calibration parameters associated with the sensors can be updated based on the data determined at block 606, and the vehicle can be returned to service, at block 602, with the updated calibration parameters. If the vehicle is not successfully calibrated or validated at block 606, the vehicle can be taken out of service for further inspection and/or maintenance at block 608.” (Para 0116)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the specific instance of the AV maintenance cycle, as taught by Derouen in view of Saito, to include having the AV specific instance be matched while the vehicle is charging where the specific instance is a calibration of the sensors, as taught by Soon, with a reasonable expectation of success in order to frequently calibrate the sensors to reduce accidents and improve safety (Soon Para 0118).
However, Derouen in view of Saito in view of Soon does not specifically teach of outputting a user interface (UI) configured to provide information about the AV at each maintenance step and receive one or more user input;
generating a schedule for performing the maintenance items for the AV at one or more stations within the AV maintenance facility based on the user input,
assigning, based on the schedule and the user input, maintenance resources.
Janey, in the same field of endeavor, teaches of outputting a user interface (UI) configured to provide information about the AV at each maintenance step and receive one or more user input (“The maintenance crew management system 106 operates to manage the tasks assigned to the human maintenance crew C, for example, the operators O1 and O2. In this example, the maintenance crew management system 106 includes one or more crew computing devices 114 and one or more maintenance tools 116. The crew computing devices 114 operate to receive maintenance task assignments from the maintenance management computing system 102 and to instruct the human operators O1 and O2 on what tasks are to be performed. In some embodiments the maintenance management computing system 102 can monitor performance of tasks through the crew computing devices 114. For example, the maintenance management computing system 102 can receive GPS coordinates of the crew computing device 114, and determine if those coordinates correspond to a specific region and a specific time at which a task assigned to an operator O1 is to take place. In some embodiments, the crew computing devices 114 can also be used by the human operators O1 and O2 to communicate with other humans (such as other operators Ox and the site manager SM) or other computing devices of the maintenance system 100.” (Para 0036), “The operation 1208 determines task exceptions. For example, a task exception can occur if there is an unexpected physical change to one or more regions of the site S, or if the site manager SM manually changes scheduling or sequencing of certain tasks of the maintenance plan. The operation 1208 can be performed, for example, by a maintenance computing system 102 including the maintenance manager tool 120 executing the site maintainer 556 as illustrated and described above with respect to FIG. 5.” (Para 0125), “In the illustrated example, the maintenance system 100 operates to receive input from the site manager SM to develop a maintenance plan that defines tasks to be performed by the human maintenance crew C and the fleet of autonomous vehicles 111. The system 100 then operates to assign tasks to the maintenance crew C and to the autonomous vehicles 112 and to monitor for completion of the tasks until all tasks have been completed.” (Para 0027), “based on the assignment, transmit instructions to perform the first task to the at least one of: the autonomous vehicle and the crew computing device associated with the human operator; monitor performance of the first task by receiving updates from the at least one of: the autonomous vehicle and the crew computing device; upon completion of the first task, identify incomplete tasks from the maintenance tasks of the maintenance plan for the region; assign a second task from the incomplete tasks to at least one of: the autonomous vehicle and the human operator; and based on the assignment of the second task, transmitting instructions to perform the second task to the at least one of: the autonomous vehicle and the crew computing device.” (Para 0006));
generating a schedule for performing the maintenance items for the AV at one or more stations within the AV maintenance facility based on the user input (“The operation 1208 determines task exceptions. For example, a task exception can occur if there is an unexpected physical change to one or more regions of the site S, or if the site manager SM manually changes scheduling or sequencing of certain tasks of the maintenance plan. The operation 1208 can be performed, for example, by a maintenance computing system 102 including the maintenance manager tool 120 executing the site maintainer 556 as illustrated and described above with respect to FIG. 5.” (Para 0125), “The sequencing data 528 includes data related to sequencing the maintenance tasks required to be performed to maintain the site S. For example, the sequence data 528 can define the order in which tasks are to be completed, and facilitate the scheduling of autonomous vehicles 112 and operators O1 and O2 to complete the tasks at particular times or ranges of times according to a sequence, etc.” (Para 0067),
assigning, based on the schedule and the user input, maintenance resources (“In the illustrated example, the maintenance system 100 operates to receive input from the site manager SM to develop a maintenance plan that defines tasks to be performed by the human maintenance crew C and the fleet of autonomous vehicles 111. The system 100 then operates to assign tasks to the maintenance crew C and to the autonomous vehicles 112 and to monitor for completion of the tasks until all tasks have been completed.” (Para 0027)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the scheduling of the maintenance items, as taught by Derouen in view of Saito in view of Soon, to include outputting information about each maintenance step and determining the schedule based on user inputs, as taught by Janey, with a reasonable expectation of success in order to frequently calibrate the sensors to allow assigned tasks to be outputted to crew members based on a site manager’s inputs (Janey Para 0027 and 0125).
In regards to claim 2, Derouen in view of Saito further in view of Soon in view of Janey teaches of the system of claim 1, the at least one processor further configured to perform operations comprising performing the instructing to the AV based on any of: regular maintenance intervals, after an AV event, after an AV failure, after an AV accident, or unscheduled work (“Referring to FIG. 13 which shows the automatic routing of an autonomous vehicle performing delivery or taxi services. The system, disclosed herein, can receive service request from multiple vehicles, at step 1310. FIG. 13 shows the service requests received from three vehicles. The first service request relates to a car wash. The second service requests relates to oil change. The third service requests is for the tire sensor. The system decodes the service requests and determines the urgency of each service requests, at step 1320. Each service request can be accessed on a scale of 1-10. The system determine the first service request of Level 1 i.e. routine maintenance. The second service requests is shown to be accessed as Level 3 which is routine maintenance. The third service request is accessed as Level 7 which is mechanical failure.” (Derouen Para 0096) and “In one embodiment disclosed is a system and method for routing autonomous vehicle based on the severity or urgency of the service request. For example, vehicle with mechanical failure can be prioritized compared to those with routine maintenance. With regard to the proper direction for self-driving cars in an automated service environment, the system is designed to distribute the vehicles to maintenance facilities based on the severity of the maintenance required and the in the order of imminent failure to maintenance” (Derouen Para 0097)).
In regards to claim 3, Derouen in view of Saito further in view of Soon in view of Janey teaches of the system of claim 2, wherein the unscheduled work further comprises any of: software upgrades, sensor upgrades, hardware upgrades, or repairs “In one embodiment disclosed is a system and method for routing autonomous vehicle based on the severity or urgency of the service request. For example, vehicle with mechanical failure can be prioritized compared to those with routine maintenance. With regard to the proper direction for self-driving cars in an automated service environment, the system is designed to distribute the vehicles to maintenance facilities based on the severity of the maintenance required and the in the order of imminent failure to maintenance” (Derouen Para 0097)).
In regards to claim 4, Derouen in view of Saito further in view of Soon in view of Janey teaches of the system of claim 2, wherein the instructing comprises communicating to the AV any of: a location, real-world coordinates, or directions to the AV maintenance facility, and an expected time to return to the AV maintenance facility (“Further, the processing device 204 may be configured to generate the appointment reservation with the closest facility in the one or more facility locations based on the received one or more work schedules. In further embodiments, the processing device may be configured to navigate the autonomous vehicle to the closest facility. The closest facility provides the recommended car service for the autonomous vehicle” (Derouen Para 0054), “Moreover, the communication device 202 may be configured for sending an appointment reservation to the autonomous vehicle, wherein the appointment reservation includes a time slot and the location of the closest facility.” (Derouen Para 0051)).
In regards to claim 5, Derouen in view of Saito further in view of Soon in view of Janey teaches of the system of claim 1, the at least one processor further configured to perform operations comprising receiving from the AV, over a communications network, periodic updates of the current status of the maintenance items (“Disclosed is a system, and method for responding to a need of an autonomous vehicle for guidance, inspection, cleaning, and mechanical maintenance of fully autonomous (driver-less) vehicles at a maintenance facility is disclosed. The disclosed system may include a web-based software that may utilize data received from an autonomous vehicle, weather conditions, historical data of the vehicle's maintenance, maintenance schedules of the vehicle, maintenance contracts of the vehicle, and client preferences regarding servicing of the vehicle. The system may alert the autonomous vehicles in its network through internet connectivity with regards to required service. Once a vehicle has entered a service zone of the maintenance facility, the system disclosed herein can receive diagnostic data from the vehicle, and may also retrieve historical data of the vehicle's maintenance, maintenance schedules of the vehicle, maintenance contracts of the vehicle, client preferences, and optionally navigation data of the vehicle. The diagnostic data may be analyzed to determine the preliminary service requirements of the vehicle. Further, the vehicle may be instructed to proceed to an inspection station at the maintenance facility.” (Derouen Para 0040)).
In regards to claim 6, Derouen in view of Saito further in view of Soon in view of Janey teaches of the system of claim 1, wherein the maintenance items comprise a manual, semi- automated or automated visual inspection of the AV (“Thereafter, at 610, the method 600 may include alerting the autonomous vehicle to appropriate service location and inspection lane (such as inspection lane 802 shown in FIG. 8) for vehicle entry based on predetermined maintenance requirements (or service level requirement). At 612, the autonomous vehicle may enter the predetermined service lane for visual inspection (such as the inspection lane 802. The results of the visual inspection may be inputted into an algorithm based on one or more of a service contract level, maintenance costs to date and value of the vehicle.” (Derouen Para 0076), see also Derouen Para 0085).
In regards to claim 7, Derouen in view of Saito further in view of Soon in view of Janey teaches of the system of claim 1, the at least one processor further configured to perform operations comprising optimization of the schedule based on any of: task, location, equipment or technician assignments (“In one aspect, the system disclosed herein can receive service request from multiple autonomous vehicles. The service request is accompanied by at least one trouble code. Referring to FIG. 10, disclosed is a method for prioritizing the autonomous vehicle routing based on the severity of the problems in the vehicle. Typically, the method allows scheduling available resources of a maintenance facility based on an urgency/criticality of the vehicle. The system, disclosed herein, can receive service request from two or more vehicles, at step 1010. The system can then analyze the trouble codes to determine criticality/urgency of the service request, at step 1020. Based on the analysis of the trouble codes, the system can then prioritize each of the service requests depending on urgency and other predetermined criteria, at step 1030.” (Derouen Para 0092) and “In one aspect, the system can prioritize different recommended services for a same vehicle. For example, the vehicle is recommended three main services i.e. oil change, muffler replacement, and brake replacement. While preparing the job sheet of the vehicle, the system can rank the three services. For example, first the brakes are replaced, then oil change, and last the muffler is replaced.” (Derouen Para 0093) and “Further, the processing device 204 may be configured to generate the appointment reservation with the closest facility in the one or more facility locations based on the received one or more work schedules. In further embodiments, the processing device may be configured to navigate the autonomous vehicle to the closest facility. The closest facility provides the recommended car service for the autonomous vehicle” (Derouen Para 0054)).
In regards to claims 8-14, the claims recite analogous limitations to claims 1-7, and are therefore rejected on the same premise.
In regards to claims 15-20, the claims recite analogous limitations to claims 1-6, and are therefore rejected on the same premise.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Yamamoto (US 20220207492) discloses of displaying a manual outlining a procedure of a maintenance item.
Zhang et al. (US 20210394774) detects issues with a vehicle and provides steps highlighting how to fix the issue.
/KYLE J KINGSLAND/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3663