DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Amendments filed on 12/22/2025 are entered for prosecution. Claims 1, 3-12 and 14-20 remain pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments regarding entitlement to the benefit of priority have been considered but are not persuasive. Applicant asserts that claims 1 and 12 are entitled to the benefit of earlier-filed Applications Nos. 63048738 and 630700351 because the earlier applications “fully disclose[] the element” in a table reproduced in the Remarks at 7.
See Remarks at 7.
However, each cited application appears to consist of seven- to eight-page presentation slides and a one-page claim set, and neither contains the referenced table. If Applicant believes the table is present, please identify the specific page and slide/figure number in each application where it appears. Absent such identification, the record does not show that the earlier applications disclose the table relied upon for support.
Applicant further contends that, “[a]s shown [in the table], each AGC index corresponds to the number of ports and active panel state it [each AGC] supports.” See Remarks at 7 (emphasis added). The Examiner does not agree with this characterization. The table, as presented, does not state that “the number of ports and active panel state” are “supported” by each AGC, nor does it explain or demonstrate that “a respective number of ports or layers” can be supported by the UE, as recited. Even assuming, arguendo, that the table taught a correspondence between AGC indices and supported ports/panel states, the asserted disclosure would pertain to what an AGC supports, not what the UE supports, and thus does not provide written-description support for “a respective number of ports or layers that can be supported by the UE.” Accordingly, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 12 have been considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the Office Action relies on “a long chain of inferences” and that, even if such inferences exist, they “do NOT teach that AGC comprises an AGC index AND a number of ports.” Remarks at 9. The Examiner disagrees with Applicant’s characterization of the Office Action as a “long chain of inferences.” The Office Action sets forth a reasoned view, supported by the cited record, explaining how the prior art and claim language would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art.
Applicant’s argument is unpersuasive because it does not explain why the Examiner’s inference is incorrect or identify any specific factual or documentary support showing that the prior art fails to teach that an AGC comprises both an AGC index and a number of ports. To carry Applicant’s burden, Applicant must point to disclosure in the cited references or provide persuasive argumentation demonstrating that the Examiner’s reading is unreasonable. Absent such explanation or evidence, the Examiner may rely on appropriate inferences, routine skill, and common sense in forming a prima facie case of unpatentability. See KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007) (discussing application of “inferences and creative steps” and routine skill in the obviousness analysis); see also Ball Aerosol, 555 F.3d at 993, 89 USPQ2d at 1877 (discussing the role of inferences and motivation to combine).
If Applicant contests the factual basis for the Examiner’s inference, Applicant should identify the specific portions of the cited references that purportedly contradict the Examiner’s position and explain, with particularity, why those disclosures defeat the Examiner’s conclusion that an AGC can be understood to comprise an AGC index and a number of ports. If Applicant believes the Office Action misconstrues the claim language, please explain the alternative claim construction and cite supporting intrinsic or extrinsic evidence.
Applicant argues that “Applicants do NOT attach the references individually. The claim recites an integrated data structure (“AGC”) that comprises two co-present fields (index and number-of-ports/layers). It is legally insufficient to piece the “index” concept from one place … and the “ports/layers” concept from somewhere else … unless the combination shows those fields are packaged together in side the same configuration item received by the UE, as the claim requires and as the Specification consistently depicts.” Remarks at 9. This is unpersuasive. An obviousness rejection may rely on the teachings of multiple prior references. Under KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007), it can be proper to combine separate references when a reasoned rationale exists to do so and when an ordinarily skilled artisan would have been motivated to make the combination (including through routine skill or common sense).
Applicant’s remaining arguments at 9-10 are unpersuasive, as they rely on previously addressed arguments that have already been found unpersuasive for the reasons discussed above.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Applicant has not complied with one or more conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. 120 as follows:
The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application (the parent or original nonprovisional application or provisional application). The disclosure of the invention in the parent application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, except for the best mode requirement. See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994).
The disclosure of the prior-filed applications, Applications No. 63048738 and 63070351, fail to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application.
Regarding claims 1 and 12, there is no description in the prior-filed applications that discloses “wherein each AGC comprises a number of ports or layers that can be supported by the UE” or “wherein each AGC index corresponds to a respective number of ports or layers that can be supported by the UE.” Descriptions in “NW configures one or more Antenna Group Configurations (AGCs)” are relevant to the feature, but they do not disclose “a number of ports of layers that can be supported by the UE.”
Regarding claims 3 and 14, there is no description in the prior-filed applications that discloses “wherein the beam report comprises at least one channel-state-information reference-signal (CSI-RS) resource index (CRI) or synchronization signal block (SSB) resource index (SSBRI), and wherein each CRI or SSBRI corresponds to a reporting quantity and the AGC index in the beam report.” Descriptions in “Example 3” under “Beam report with AGC” which read “DL RS” are relevant to the feature, but they do not disclose a beam report with DL RS specifically as “channel-state-information reference-signal (CSI-RS) resource index (CRI) or synchronization signal block (SSB) resource index (SSBRI).”
Regarding claims 5 and 16, there is no description in the prior-filed applications that discloses “UL transmission to the network node by the UE according to a reference signal that corresponds to a CRI or SSBRI, and wherein the CRI or SSBRI is associated with the AGC that indicates that the UE can perform UL transmission to the network node.” Descriptions in “Invention 1” under “AGC could be provided with some usage-related properties” which read “UL-only: UE could use this AGC to perform (only) UL Tx” are relevant to the feature, but they do not disclose the specific act of “UL transmission to the network node by the UE according to a reference signal that corresponds to a CRI or SSBRI, and wherein the CRI or SSBRI is associated with the AGC that indicates that the UE can perform UL transmission to the network node.”
Regarding claims 6 and 17, there is no description in the prior-filed applications that discloses “DL reception from the network node by the UE according to a reference signal that corresponds to a CRI or SSBRI, and wherein the CRI or SSBRI is associated with the AGC that indicates that the UE can perform DL reception from the network node.” Descriptions in “Invention 1” under “AGC could be provided with some usage-related properties” which read “DL-only: UE could use this AGC to perform (only) DL Rx” are relevant to the feature, but they do not disclose the specific act of “DL reception from the network node by the UE according to a reference signal that corresponds to a CRI or SSBRI, and wherein the CRI or SSBRI is associated with the AGC that indicates that the UE can perform DL reception from the network node.”
Regarding claims 7 and 18, there is no description in the prior-filed applications that discloses “CRIs or SSBRIs associated with different AGCs” or “CRIs or SSBRIs associated with a same AGC.” Descriptions in “Invention 1” which read “DL RSs in the same report/group of reports/measurement associated with different AGCs” and “DL RSs in the same report/group of reports/measurement associated with same AGCs” are relevant to the feature, but they do not disclose DL RS specifically as “CRIs or SSBRIs.”
Regarding claim 9, there is no description in the prior-filed applications that discloses “CRIs or SSBRIs in different beam reports associated with different AGCs can be received simultaneously by the UE, wherein CRIs or SSBRIs in different beam reports associated with a same AGC cannot be received simultaneously by the UE, and wherein CRIs or SSBRIs in a same beam report cannot be received simultaneously by the UE.” Descriptions in “Invention 1” which read “DL RSs in the same report/group of reports/measurement associated with different AGCs, they can be received simultaneously” and “DL RSs in the same report/group of reports/measurement associated with same AGCs, they cannot be received simultaneously” are relevant to the feature, but they do not disclose DL RS specifically as “CRIs or SSBRIs” and they do not disclose “CRIs or SSBRIs in the same beam report cannot be received simultaneously by the UE.”
Regarding claims 10 and 19, there is no description in the prior-filed applications that discloses “set of Transmission Configuration Indicator (TCI) states configured by the network node via a radio resource control (RRC) signaling, and wherein each TCI state associates with an AGC.”
Regarding claims 11 and 20, there is no description in the prior-filed applications that discloses “a panel-related capability to the network node, wherein the panel-related capability comprises at least one of a maximum number of active panels, a maximum number of panels, a maximum number of configured AGCs, a maximum number of ports or layers of a panel, and a supported active panel state of a panel.”
Claims 4, 8 and 15 lack description in the prior-filed application at least due to their dependency on a claim lacking description in the prior-filed application.
Accordingly, claims 1, 3-12 and 14-20 are NOT entitled to the benefit of the prior applications, Applications No. 63048738 and 63070351.
The disclosure of the prior-filed application, Application No. 63150158, fails to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application.
Regarding claims 5 and 16, there is no description in the prior-filed application that discloses “UL transmission to the network node by the UE according to a reference signal that corresponds to a CRI or SSBRI, and wherein the CRI or SSBRI is associated with the AGC that indicates that the UE can perform UL transmission to the network node.” Descriptions in “Invention 1” under “AGC could be provided with some usage-related properties” which read “UL-only: UE could use this AGC to perform (only) UL Tx” are relevant to the feature, but they do not disclose the specific act of “UL transmission to the network node by the UE according to a reference signal that corresponds to a CRI or SSBRI, and wherein the CRI or SSBRI is associated with the AGC that indicates that the UE can perform UL transmission to the network node.”
Regarding claims 6 and 17, there is no description in the prior-filed application that discloses “DL reception from the network node by the UE according to a reference signal that corresponds to a CRI or SSBRI, and wherein the CRI or SSBRI is associated with the AGC that indicates that the UE can perform DL reception from the network node.” Descriptions in “Invention 1” under “AGC could be provided with some usage-related properties” which read “DL-only: UE could use this AGC to perform (only) DL Rx” are relevant to the feature, but they do not disclose the specific act of “DL reception from the network node by the UE according to a reference signal that corresponds to a CRI or SSBRI, and wherein the CRI or SSBRI is associated with the AGC that indicates that the UE can perform DL reception from the network node.”
Regarding claims 7 and 18, there is no description in the prior-filed application that discloses “CRIs or SSBRIs associated with different AGCs” or “CRIs or SSBRIs associated with a same AGC.” Descriptions in “Invention 1” which read “DL RSs in the same report/group of reports/measurement associated with different AGCs” and “DL RSs in the same report/group of reports/measurement associated with same AGCs” are relevant to the feature, but they do not disclose DL RS specifically as “CRIs or SSBRIs.”
Regarding claim 9, there is no description in the prior-filed application that discloses “CRIs or SSBRIs in different beam reports associated with different AGCs can be received simultaneously by the UE, wherein CRIs or SSBRIs in different beam reports associated with a same AGC cannot be received simultaneously by the UE, and wherein CRIs or SSBRIs in a same beam report cannot be received simultaneously by the UE.” Descriptions in “Invention 1” which read “DL RSs in the same report/group of reports/measurement associated with different AGCs, they can be received simultaneously” and “DL RSs in the same report/group of reports/measurement associated with same AGCs, they cannot be received simultaneously” are relevant to the feature, but they do not disclose DL RS specifically as “CRIs or SSBRIs” and they do not disclose “CRIs or SSBRIs in the same beam report cannot be received simultaneously by the UE.” Descriptions in “Invention 2” which read “For reported RSs within the report settings in the same group, and they are associated with the index or a certain value in the index, then they can be received simultaneously be UE” and “For reported RSs within the report settings in the same group, and they are not associated with the index or another certain value in the index, they cannot be received simultaneously be UE” are relevant to the feature, but they do not disclose specifically “CRIs or SSBRIs” and they do not disclose “CRIs or SSBRIs in the same beam report cannot be received simultaneously by the UE.”
Accordingly, claims 5-7, 9 and 16-18 are NOT entitled to the benefit of the prior application, Application No. 63150158.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3-12 and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1, 3-12 and 14-20:
The limitation “the AGC index” in the second-to-last line of claims 1, 3, 12, and 14 renders the claim(s) indefinite because it is unclear whether “the AGC index” refers to “an AGC index” or “each AGC index” recited earlier in the claims. For purposes of examination, “the AGC index” in the second-to-last line of claims 1, 3, 12, and 14 is interpreted as “an AGC index,” in view of Applicant’s remark stating “’the AGC index’ refers back to the AGC index recited as part of each AGC”. See p.10 of Remarks filed 5/12/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-6, 8, 10-12, 14-17, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or (a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhang (PCT Publication WO 2020/063457 A1, hereafter Zhang) in view of Rahman et. al (US Patent Publication 20200413390 A1, hereafter Rahman).
Regarding claim 1,
Zhang discloses:
A method, comprising:
receiving one or more antenna group configurations (AGCs) (beam indication) configured by a network node by a user equipment (UE) in a beamforming wireless communication network (the AN 210 may transmit an uplink beam indication to the UE), wherein each AGC (beam indication) comprises an AGC index (index of an intended UE panel) (Zhang, [59], “At 203, the AN 210 may transmit an uplink beam indication to the UE 220…In another embodiment, the uplink beam indication may include an index of a reference signal resource as well as an index of an intended UE panel.”, The broadest reasonable interpretation of antenna group configuration (AGC) includes information regarding how a group of antennas are configured. Beam indication as described in Zhang is information regarding how a UE panel or a UE antenna port group is configured (Zhang, [52])), and wherein each AGC index (index of an intended UE panel) corresponds to a respective AGC (beam indication) (Zhang, [59], “… the uplink beam indication may include … index of an intended UE panel.”; an index of an intended UE panel corresponds to the beam indication including the index of an intended UE panel); and
reporting at least one of the AGC index (index of panel) in a beam report (beam information) to the network node by the UE (Zhang, [72], “The method 400 may include, at 420, reporting beam information to the AN. The beam information may indicate the beam quality of each of the one or more reference signal resources as well as corresponding panel for receiving each of the one or more reference signal resources. For example, the beam information may include one or more information elements (IEs), each of which may include an index of a reference signal resource of the one or more reference signal resources, an index of a panel for receiving the reference signal resource, and a beam quality of the reference signal resource as received at the panel”).
Zhang does not explicitly disclose wherein each AGC further comprises a number of ports or layers that can be supported by the UE, and the respective AGC corresponds to a respective number of ports or layers that can be supported by the UE.
However, Rahman discloses:
wherein each AGC (beam indication, Rahman, [0106], “indicate the DL RX beam selection”) comprises a number of ports or layers that can be supported by the UE. (Rahman, [0106], “the gNB/NW can use the beam report to select an DL RX beam for the UE and indicate the DL RX beam selection (step 1004) using the DL-TCI field in the DL-related DCI (that carries the DL grant, such as DCI format 1_1 in NR). In this case, the DL-TCI indicates a reference RS (in this case, an AP-CSI-RS) representing the selected DL TX beam (by the gNB/NW)”; [0100], “A “reference RS” corresponds to a set of characteristics of UL TX beam or DL RX beam, such as direction, precoding/beamforming, number of ports, etc. For instance, for UL, as the UE receives a reference RS index/ID in an UL grant, the UE applies (hence supports) the known characteristics of the reference RS to the granted UL transmission.”, Rahman’s beam indication uses the downlink (DL) TCI which indicates a reference RS corresponding to a set of beam characteristics of a beam, such as number of ports), and the respective AGC corresponds to a respective number of ports or layers that can be supported by the UE (indicated beam selection corresponds to number of ports via reference RS indicated in the DL-TCI).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Zhang with the teachings of Rahman so that each AGC further comprises a number of ports or layers that can be supported by the UE and the respective AGC to correspond to a respective number of ports or layers that can be supported by the UE as taught by Rahman. One would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the “UE [to] appl[y] the known characteristics of the reference RS to the granted UL transmission” (Rahman, [0100]).
Regarding claims 3 and 14,
Zhang further discloses:
wherein the beam report (beam information) comprises at least one channel-state-information reference-signal (CSI-RS) resource index (CRI) or synchronization signal block (SSB) resource index (SSBRI), and wherein each CRI or SSBRI corresponds to a reporting quantity (beam quality) and the AGC index (index of a panel) in the beam report (Zhang, [72], “For example, the beam information may include one or more information elements (IEs), each of which may include an index of a reference signal resource of the one or more reference signal resources, an index of a panel for receiving the reference signal resource, and a beam quality of the reference signal resource as received at the panel. In particular, each of the IEs may include an SSBRI or a CRI, an index of a panel for receiving the corresponding SSB resource or CSI-RS resource, and a beam quality of the SSB resource or CSI-RS resource as received at the panel”).
Regarding claims 4 and 15,
Zhang does not disclose wherein each AGC further comprises an active panel state that indicates whether the UE can perform uplink (UL) transmission to the network node, can perform downlink (DL) reception from the network node, or can perform UL transmission to the network node and DL reception from the network node.
However, Rahman discloses:
wherein each AGC (beam indication) further comprises an active panel state (TCI state, Rahman, [Abstract], “A method for operating a user equipment (UE) comprises receiving configuration information including multiple transmission configuration indicator (TCI) states, and receiving a beam indication indicating a TCI state from the multiple TCI states”) that indicates whether the UE can perform uplink (UL) transmission to the network node (Rahman, [0116], “indicate the UL TX beam selection (step 1204) using the UL-TCI field in the UL-related DCI…Upon successfully decoding the UL-related DCI with the UL-TCI, the UE selects an UL TX beam and performs UL transmission (such as data transmission on PUSCH) with the UL TX beam associated with the reference CSI-RS (step 1205)”), can perform downlink (DL) reception from the network node (Rahman, [0106], “indicate the DL RX beam selection (step 1004) using the DL-TCI field in the DL-related DCI…Upon successfully decoding the DL-related DCI with the DL-TCI, the UE selects an DL RX beam and performs DL reception (such as data reception via PDSCH) with the DL RX beam associated with the reference CSI-RS (step 1005)”), or can perform UL transmission to the network node and DL reception from the network node (Rahman, [0225], “indicate the UL TX and/or DL RX beam selection (step 1404) using the J-TCI field…Upon successfully decoding the DCI with the J-TCI (in step 1405), [0226] for UL, the UE selects an UL TX beam and performs UL transmission (such as data transmission on PUSCH) with the UL TX beam associated with the reference CSI-RS, and [0227] for DL, the UE selects an DL RX beam and performs DL reception (such as data reception via PDSCH) with the DL RX beam associated with the reference CSI-RS.”), The citations describe that indicating a beam selection in Rahman can be done by a TCI state, a TCI, or a TCI field, therefore it can be understood that these terms are synonymous. TCI state indicates whether the UE can perform DL reception from the network node, UL transmission to the network node, or both).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Zhang with the teachings of Rahman so that each AGC further comprises an active panel state that indicates whether the UE can perform uplink (UL) transmission to the network node, can perform downlink (DL) reception from the network node, or can perform UL transmission to the network node and DL reception from the network node as taught by Rahman. One would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the “UE [to] select[] an UL TX beam and perform[] UL transmission” (Rahman, [0225]) and/or the “UE [to] select[] a DL RX beam and perform[] DL reception” (Rahman, [0225]).
Regarding claim 5,
Zhang further discloses:
performing UL transmission to the network node by the UE (Zhang, [62], “UE 220 may use the panel for corresponding uplink transmission, either as indicated by the uplink beam indication or as reported in the beam information”) according to a reference signal (Zhang, [59], “For example, if UE Panel 1 has the optimal beam quality for reference signal resource 0 (e.g., SSB=0) based on the reported beam information, and the uplink beam indication may include only (SSB=0) , or alternatively (SSB=0, panel=1)”, Zhang’s UE performs uplink transmission according to a reference signal because the uplink transmission is performed on a panel selected based on the quality the reference signal (Zhang, [59])) that corresponds to a CRI or SSBRI (Zhang, [59], “In an embodiment, the uplink beam indication may include an index of a reference signal resource (which belongs to the reference signal resources as transmitted by the AN 210 at 201) , for example, a SSBRI or a CRI”), and wherein the CRI or SSBRI is associated with the AGC (beam indication) that indicates that the UE can perform UL transmission to the network node (Zhang, [59, Fig. 2], “At 203, the AN 210 may transmit an uplink beam indication to the UE 220…the uplink beam indication may include an index of a reference signal resource (which belongs to the reference signal resources as transmitted by the AN 210 at 201), for example, a SSBRI or a CRI”, Zhang’s CRI is associated with an AGC that indicates that the UE can perform UL transmission to the network node because the uplink beam indication includes a CRI belonging to a reference signal transmitted by the base station (Zhang, [59]) and received by the UE (Zhang, [51])).
Regarding claim 6,
Zhang further discloses:
a reference signal that corresponds to a CRI or SSBRI (index of a reference signal resource) and wherein the CRI or SSBRI is associated with the AGC (beam indication) (Zhang, [59], “beam indication may include an index of a reference signal resource (which belongs to the reference signal resources as transmitted by the AN 210 at 201)”).
Zhang does not disclose performing DL reception from the network node by the UE according to a reference signal or an AGC that indicates that the UE can perform DL reception from the network node.
However, Rahman discloses:
performing DL reception from the network node by the UE according to a reference signal (Rahman, [0106], “the UE selects an DL RX beam and performs DL reception (such as data reception via PDSCH) with the DL RX beam associated with the reference CSI-RS (step 1005)”), and an AGC that indicates that the UE can perform DL reception from the network node. (Rahman, [0105-0106, Fig. 10], “Upon receiving the AP-CSI-RS transmitted by the gNB/NW (step 1002), the UE measures the AP-CSI-RS and, in turn, calculates and reports a “beam metric” (indicating quality of a particular TX beam hypothesis) (step 1003). Examples of such beam reporting are CSI-RS resource indicator (CRI) or SSB resource indicator (SSB-RI) coupled with its associated L1-RSRP/L1-RSRQ/L1-SINR/CQI. [0106] Upon receiving the beam report from the UE, the gNB/NW can use the beam report to select an DL RX beam for the UE and indicate the DL RX beam selection (step 1004) using the DL-TCI field in the DL-related DCI (that carries the DL grant, such as DCI format 1_1 in NR). In this case, the DL-TCI indicates a reference RS (in this case, an AP-CSI-RS) representing the selected DL TX beam (by the gNB/NW)”). The gNB/NW selecting the DL RX beam indicating a reference RS, AP-CSI-RS, previously received by the UE directly correlates a beam indication and a reference signal and indicates that the UE can perform DL reception from the network node.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Zhang so that a reference signal corresponds to a CRI or SSBRI and wherein the CRI or SSBRI is associated with the AGC with the teachings of Rahman to perform DL reception from the network node by the UE according to a reference signal and to have an AGC that indicates that the UE can perform DL reception from the network node as taught by Rahman. One would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the network node (gNB/NW) to select a DL RX beam for the UE (Rahman, [0106]).
Regarding claim 8,
Zhang further discloses
selecting and activating a panel by the UE according to the AGC (beam indication) in an event that the beam report (beam information) is associated with one AGC (beam indication) configured by the network node (Zhang, [62], “The UE 220 may use the panel for corresponding uplink transmission, either as indicated by the uplink beam indication or as reported in the beam information”).
Regarding claim 10,
Zhang does not disclose receiving a set of Transmission Configuration Indicator (TCI) states configured by the network node via a radio resource control (RRC) signaling, wherein each TCI state associates with an AGC.
However, Rahman discloses:
receiving a set of Transmission Configuration Indicator (TCI) states configured by the network node via a radio resource control (RRC) signaling (Rahman, [0208], “The k TCI states can be configured via higher-layer (RRC/L3) signaling”, The BRI of a set of Transmission Configuration Indicator (TCI) states includes a number of TCI states), wherein each TCI state associates with an AGC (beam indication) (Rahman, [Abstract], “receiving a beam indication indicating a TCI state from the multiple TCI states”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zhang with the receiving a set of Transmission Configuration Indicator (TCI) states configured by the network node via a radio resource control (RRC) signaling, wherein each TCI state associates with an AGC as taught by Rahman. One would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the network node (BS) to “indicate the UL TX and/or DL RX beam selection to the UE” (Rahman, [0209]).
Regarding claim 11,
Zhang further discloses
reporting a panel-related capability to the network node (the UE may report), wherein the panel-related capability comprises at least one of a maximum number of active panels, a maximum number of panels, a maximum number of configured AGCs, a maximum number of ports or layers of a panel, and a supported active panel state of a panel (activation or deactivation status of each of the one or more panels of the UE using a bitmap) (Zhang, [96], “In another embodiment, the UE may report the determined activation or deactivation status of each of the one or more panels of the UE using a bitmap”, The size of the bitmap described in Zhang indicates “a maximum number of panels” and the determined activation or deactivation status of each of the one or more panels indicates “a maximum number of active panels”).
Regarding claim 12,
Zhang discloses
A user equipment (UE) (Zhang, [Fig. 10], Component #1000), comprising:
a receiver (Zhang, [Fig. 10], Components #1004, #1006, #1008, and #1010) that receives one or more antenna group configurations (AGCs) (beam indication) configured by a network node in a beamforming wireless communication network (the AN 210 may transmit an uplink beam indication to the UE), wherein each AGC comprises an AGC index (index of an intended UE panel) (Zhang, [59], “At 203, the AN 210 may transmit an uplink beam indication to the UE 220…In another embodiment, the uplink beam indication may include an index of a reference signal resource as well as an index of an intended UE panel”, The broadest reasonable interpretation of antenna group configuration (AGC) includes information regarding how a group of antennas are configured. Beam indication as described in Zhang is information regarding a UE panel or a UE antenna port group is configured (Zhang, [52])), and wherein each AGC index (index of an intended UE panel) corresponds to a respective AGC (beam indication) (Zhang, [59], “… the uplink beam indication may include … index of an intended UE panel.”; an index of an intended UE panel corresponds to the beam indication including the index of an intended UE panel); and
a beam report circuit (Zhang, [Fig. 10], Components #1002, #1004) that reports at least one of the AGC index (index of panel) in a beam report (beam information) to the network node (Zhang, [72], “The method 400 may include, at 420, reporting beam information to the AN. The beam information may indicate the beam quality of each of the one or more reference signal resources as well as corresponding panel for receiving each of the one or more reference signal resources. For example, the beam information may include one or more information elements (IEs), each of which may include an index of a reference signal resource of the one or more reference signal resources, an index of a panel for receiving the reference signal resource, and a beam quality of the reference signal resource as received at the panel”).
Zhang does not explicitly disclose wherein each AGC further comprises a number of ports or layers that can be supported by the UE, and the respective AGC corresponds to a respective number of ports or layers that can be supported by the UE.
However, Rahman discloses:
wherein each AGC (beam indication, Rahman, [0106], “indicate the DL RX beam selection”) comprises a number of ports or layers that can be supported by the UE. (Rahman, [0106], “the gNB/NW can use the beam report to select an DL RX beam for the UE and indicate the DL RX beam selection (step 1004) using the DL-TCI field in the DL-related DCI (that carries the DL grant, such as DCI format 1_1 in NR). In this case, the DL-TCI indicates a reference RS (in this case, an AP-CSI-RS) representing the selected DL TX beam (by the gNB/NW)”; [0100], “A “reference RS” corresponds to a set of characteristics of UL TX beam or DL RX beam, such as direction, precoding/beamforming, number of ports, etc. For instance, for UL, as the UE receives a reference RS index/ID in an UL grant, the UE applies (hence supports) the known characteristics of the reference RS to the granted UL transmission.”, Rahman’s beam indication uses the downlink (DL) TCI which indicates a reference RS corresponding to a set of beam characteristics of a beam, such as number of ports), and corresponds to a respective number of ports or layers that can be supported by the UE (indicated beam selection corresponds to number of ports via reference RS indicated in the DL-TCI).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Zhang with the teachings of Rahman so that each AGC further comprises a number of ports or layers that can be supported by the UE and the respective AGC to correspond to a respective number of ports or layers that can be supported by the UE as taught by Rahman. One would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the “UE [to] appl[y] the known characteristics of the reference RS to the granted UL transmission” (Rahman, [0100]).
Regarding claim 16,
Zhang further discloses:
A processor of the UE (Zhang, [136,142,144], “[136] Example 1 includes an apparatus for a user equipment (UE)…[142] Example 7 may include the apparatus of any of examples 1-6…[144] Example 9 may include the apparatus of example 7, wherein the processor circuitry is further to apply a panel for uplink transmission”) performs UL transmission to the network node (Zhang, [62], “UE 220 may use the panel for corresponding uplink transmission, either as indicated by the uplink beam indication or as reported in the beam information”) according to a reference signal (Zhang, [59], “For example, if UE Panel 1 has the optimal beam quality for reference signal resource 0 (e.g., SSB=0) based on the reported beam information, and the uplink beam indication may include only (SSB=0) , or alternatively (SSB=0, panel=1)”, Zhang’s UE performs uplink transmission according to a reference signal because the uplink transmission is performed on a panel selected based on the quality the reference signal (Zhang, [59])) that corresponds to a CRI or a SSBRI (Zhang, [59], “In an embodiment, the uplink beam indication may include an index of a reference signal resource (which belongs to the reference signal resources as transmitted by the AN 210 at 201) , for example, a SSBRI or a CRI”), and wherein the CRI or SSBRI is associated with the AGC (beam indication) that indicates the UE can perform UL transmission to the network node (Zhang, [59, Fig. 2], “At 203, the AN 210 may transmit an uplink beam indication to the UE 220…the uplink beam indication may include an index of a reference signal resource (which belongs to the reference signal resources as transmitted by the AN 210 at 201), for example, a SSBRI or a CRI”, Zhang’s CRI is associated with an AGC that indicates that the UE can perform UL transmission to the network node because the uplink beam indication includes a CRI belonging to a reference signal transmitted by the base station (Zhang, [59]) and received by the UE (Zhang, [51])).
Regarding claim 17,
Zhang further discloses:
a reference signal that corresponds to a CRI or SSBRI (index of a reference signal resource) and wherein the CRI or SSBRI is associated with the AGC (beam indication) (Zhang, [59], “beam indication may include an index of a reference signal resource (which belongs to the reference signal resources as transmitted by the AN 210 at 201)”).
Zhang does not disclose a processor of the UE performs DL reception from the network node according to a reference signal or an AGC that indicates that the UE can perform DL reception from the network node.
However, Rahman discloses:
a processor of the UE (Rahman, [0061, Fig. 3], “The RF transceiver 310 receives, from the antenna 305, an incoming RF signal transmitted by a gNB of the network 100. The RF transceiver 310 down-converts the incoming RF signal to generate an intermediate frequency (IF) or baseband signal. The IF or baseband signal is sent to the RX processing circuitry 325, which generates a processed baseband signal by filtering, decoding, and/or digitizing the baseband or IF signal”) performs DL reception from the network according to a reference signal (Rahman, [0106], “the UE selects an DL RX beam and performs DL reception (such as data reception via PDSCH) with the DL RX beam associated with the reference CSI-RS (step 1005)”), and an AGC that indicates that the UE can perform DL reception from the network node. (Rahman, [0105-0106, Fig. 10], “Upon receiving the AP-CSI-RS transmitted by the gNB/NW (step 1002), the UE measures the AP-CSI-RS and, in turn, calculates and reports a “beam metric” (indicating quality of a particular TX beam hypothesis) (step 1003). Examples of such beam reporting are CSI-RS resource indicator (CRI) or SSB resource indicator (SSB-RI) coupled with its associated L1-RSRP/L1-RSRQ/L1-SINR/CQI. [0106] Upon receiving the beam report from the UE, the gNB/NW can use the beam report to select an DL RX beam for the UE and indicate the DL RX beam selection (step 1004) using the DL-TCI field in the DL-related DCI (that carries the DL grant, such as DCI format 1_1 in NR). In this case, the DL-TCI indicates a reference RS (in this case, an AP-CSI-RS) representing the selected DL TX beam (by the gNB/NW)”). The gNB/NW selecting the DL RX beam indicating a reference RS, AP-CSI-RS, previously received by the UE directly correlates a beam indication and a reference signal and indicates that the UE can perform DL reception from the network node.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Zhang so that a reference signal corresponds to a CRI or SSBRI and wherein the CRI or SSBRI is associated with the AGC with the teachings of Rahman that a processor of the UE performs DL reception from the network node according to a reference signal and to have an AGC that indicates that the UE can perform DL reception from the network node as taught by Rahman. One would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the network node (gNB/NW) to select a DL RX beam for the UE (Rahman, [0106]).
Regarding claim 19,
Zhang does not disclose wherein the receiver receives a set of Transmission Configuration Indicator (TCI) states configured by the network node via a radio resource control (RRC) signaling, and wherein each TCI state associates with an AGC.
However, Rahman discloses:
wherein the receiver (Rahman, [0061, Fig. 3], “The RF transceiver 310 receives, from the antenna 305, an incoming RF signal transmitted by a gNB of the network 100”, The BRI of receiver include an apparatus that receives) receives a set of Transmission Configuration Indicator (TCI) states configured by the network node via a radio resource control (RRC) signaling (Rahman, [0208], “The k TCI states can be configured via higher-layer (RRC/L3) signaling”, The BRI of a set of Transmission Configuration Indicator (TCI) states includes a number of TCI states), and wherein each TCI state associates with an AGC (beam indication)(Rahman, [Abstract], “receiving a beam indication indicating a TCI state from the multiple TCI states”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zhang with a receiver that receives a set of Transmission Configuration Indicator (TCI) states configured by the network node via a radio resource control (RRC) signaling, and wherein each TCI state associates with an AGC as taught by Rahman. D One would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the network node (BS) to “indicate the UL TX and/or DL RX beam selection to the UE” (Rahman, [0209]).
Regarding claim 20,
Zhang further discloses,
wherein a transmitter (Zhang, [Fig. 10], Components #1004, #1006, #1008, and #1010) of the UE reports a panel-related capability to the network node (the UE may report), wherein the panel-related capability comprises at least one of a maximum number of active panels, a maximum number of panels, a maximum number of configured AGCs, a maximum number of ports or layers of a panel and a supported active panel state of a panel (activation or deactivation status of each of the one or more panels of the UE using a bitmap) (Zhang, [96], “In another embodiment, the UE may report the determined activation or deactivation status of each of the one or more panels of the UE using a bitmap”, The size of the bitmap described in Zhang indicates “a maximum number of panels” and the determined activation or deactivation status of each of the one or more panels indicates “a maximum number of active panels”).
Claims 7, 9, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of Rahman, and in further view of Cheng (US Patent US 10911201 B2, hereafter Cheng).
Regarding claim 7,
Zhang discloses:
an association between a CRI or SSBRI and an AGC (beam indication) (Zhang, [59], “the uplink beam indication may include an index of a reference signal resource (which belongs to the reference signal resources as transmitted by the AN 210 at 201), for example, a SSBRI or a CRI”).
Zhang and Rahman do not disclose CRIs or SSBRIs associated with different AGCs can be received simultaneously by the UE, and wherein CRIs or SSBRIs associated with a same AGC cannot be received simultaneously by the UE.
However, Cheng discloses:
CRIs or SSBRIs (CRI #1 and CRI #2) associated with different AGCs (TRP #1 and TRP #2) can be received simultaneously by the UE (Cheng, [89], “Non Zero Power (NZP)-CSI-RS resource #0 (e.g., the CRI #0) and NZP-CSI-RS resource #1 (e.g., the CRI #1) are both transmitted from the TRP #1, and the NZP-CSI-RS resource #2 (e.g., the CRI #2) and the NZP-CSI-RS resource #3 (e.g., the CRI #3) are both transmitted from the TRP #2”, [92], “the UE may calculate PMIs, CQIs, LIs, and RIs based on a condition of simultaneously receiving the NZP-CSI-RS resource #1 and NZP-CSI-RS resource #2 from the TRP #1 and the TRP #2”, NZP-CSI-RS resource #1 and NZP-CSI-RS resource #2 are also referred to as the CRI #1 (e.g. CRI #1) and the CRI #2 (e.g. CRI #2)(Cheng, [89]), therefore NZP-CSI-RS resource #1 and NZP-CSI-RS resource #2 being simultaneously received indicates CRI #1 and CRI #2 can be received simultaneously), and wherein CRIs or SSBRIs (CRI #0 and CRI #1) associated with a same AGC (TRP #1) cannot be received simultaneously by the UE (Cheng, [89, Fig. 3, Fig. 4], “With the TRP mapping table 302, the UE may know that the Non Zero Power (NZP)-CSI-RS resource #0 (e.g., the CRI #0) and NZP-CSI-RS resource #1 (e.g., the CRI #1) are both transmitted from the TRP #1, and the NZP-CSI-RS resource #2 (e.g., the CRI #2) and the NZP-CSI-RS resource #3 (e.g., the CRI #3) are both transmitted from the TRP #2. Furthermore, the UE may receive the NZP-CSI-RS resource #0 and the NZP-CSI-RS resource #1 through one spatial receiver filter, and receive the NZP-CSI-RS resource #2 and the NZP-CSI-RS resource #3 through another spatial receiver filter. This means that the NZP-CSI-RS resource #0 and the NZP-CSI-RS resource #1 may not be received at the same time, and the NZP-CSI-RS resource #2 and the NZP-CSI-RS resource #3 may not be received at the same time either”, Cheng’s “TRP mapping table contains multiple TRP indices and DL RS resource indices” (Cheng, [44]) where the “indices of DL RSs (e.g., CSI-RS indices or SSB indices) represent the DL beams of the TRPs” (Cheng, [44]). Cheng’s “TRP mapping table (Cheng, [Fig. 3]) contains multiple TRP indices” (TRP #1-4) “and DL RS resource indices” (Cheng, [44]) where the “indices of DL RSs (e.g., CSI-RS indices or SSB indices) represent the DL beams of the TRPs” (Cheng, [44]) and TRP’s “may include at least one antenna panel containing several antenna elements” (Cheng, [40]), therefore each row of the TRP mapping table corresponds to configuration information regarding a group of antennas).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zhang and Rahman to associate the CRIs or SSBRIs with the AGC, with the CRIs or SSBRIs associated with different AGCs can be received simultaneously by the UE, and wherein CRIs or SSBRIs associated with a same AGC cannot be received simultaneously by the UE as taught by Cheng. One would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the “UE [to] report and calculate the CSI for multiple TRPs” (Cheng, [86]).
Regarding claim 9,
Zhang further discloses:
CRIs or SSBRIs in beam reports (reference signal resource 0 (e.g., SSB=0) based on the reported beam information) associated with AGCs (beam indication) (Zhang, [59], “In another embodiment, the uplink beam indication may include an index of a reference signal resource as well as an index of an intended UE panel. For example, if UE Panel 1 has the optimal beam quality for reference signal resource O (e.g., SSB=O) based on the reported beam information, and the uplink beam indication may include only (SSB=O), or alternatively (SSB=O, panel=l )”) and wherein CRIs or SSBRIs in a same beam report cannot be received simultaneously by the UE (Zhang, [Fig. 3], [63] “At time t1, a UE (e.g. UE 101) reports first beam information to an AN (e.g., AN 111 or AN 112) . The first beam information indicates that for SSB=0, UE panel 0 (panel=0) should be used for uplink transmission, i.e., SSB=0, panel=0, for example.”, [64] “At time t2, the UE reports second beam information to the AN. The second beam information indicates that for SSB=0, UE Panel 1 (panel=1) should be used for uplink transmission, i.e., SSB=0, panel=1, for example.”, The BRI of CRIs or SSBRIs in the same beam report cannot be received simultaneously includes transmissions of reference signals associated with CRIs or SSBRIs within a beam report cannot be received at the same time. At time t1 (SSB=0, panel=0) and time t2 (SSB=0, panel=1) corresponds to receiving transmissions of the reference signals in a beam report at different times).
Zhang and Rahman do not disclose wherein CRIs or SSBRIs in different beam reports associated with different AGCs can be received simultaneously by the UE, wherein CRIs or SSBRIs in different beam reports associated with a same AGC cannot be received simultaneously by the UE.
However, Cheng discloses:
CRIs or SSBRIs in different beam reports (CRI #1 and CRI #2, Cheng, [89]) associated with different AGCs (TRP #1 and TRP #2, Cheng, [89], “Non Zero Power (NZP)-CSI-RS resource #0 (e.g., the CRI #0) and NZP-CSI-RS resource #1 (e.g., the CRI #1) are both transmitted from the TRP #1, and the NZP-CSI-RS resource #2 (e.g., the CRI #2) and the NZP-CSI-RS resource #3 (e.g., the CRI #3) are both transmitted from the TRP #2”, Cheng, [51], “In some other implementations, when a UE performs CSI reporting/measurement with multi-TRP transmission, the UE may include only one set of measurement results (e.g., only one PMI/CQI/RI/LI/CRI set) in a CSI report sent to the BS”, Cheng’s UE may only include one set of measurement results from one TRP in a CSI report at a time, which indicates that CRI #1 from TRP #1 and CRI #2 from TRP #2 are in different beam reports) can be received simultaneously by the UE (Cheng, [89], “Non Zero Power (NZP)-CSI-RS resource #0 (e.g., the CRI #0) and NZP-CSI-RS resource #1 (e.g., the CRI #1) are both transmitted from the TRP #1, and the NZP-CSI-RS resource #2 (e.g., the CRI #2) and the NZP-CSI-RS resource #3 (e.g., the CRI #3) are both transmitted from the TRP #2”, [92], “the UE may calculate PMIs, CQIs, LIs, and RIs based on a condition of simultaneously receiving the NZP-CSI-RS resource #1 and NZP-CSI-RS resource #2 from the TRP #1 and the TRP #2”), NZP-CSI-RS resource #1 and NZP-CSI-RS resource #2 are also referred to as the CRI #1 (e.g. CRI #1) and the CRI #2 (e.g. CRI #2)(Cheng, [89]), therefore NZP-CSI-RS resource #1 and NZP-CSI-RS resource #2 being simultaneously received indicates CRI #1 and CRI #2 can be received simultaneously.
wherein CRIs or SSBRIs (CRI #0 and CRI #1) in different beam reports associated with a same AGC (TRP #1) cannot be received simultaneously by the UE (Cheng, [89, Fig 3., Fig 4], “With the TRP mapping table 302, the UE may know that the Non Zero Power (NZP)-CSI-RS resource #0 (e.g., the CRI #0) and NZP-CSI-RS resource #1 (e.g., the CRI #1) are both transmitted from the TRP #1, and the NZP-CSI-RS resource #2 (e.g., the CRI #2) and the NZP-CSI-RS resource #3 (e.g., the CRI #3) are both transmitted from the TRP #2. Furthermore, the UE may receive the NZP-CSI-RS resource #0 and the NZP-CSI-RS resource #1 through one spatial receiver filter, and receive the NZP-CSI-RS resource #2 and the NZP-CSI-RS resource #3 through another spatial receiver filter. This means that the NZP-CSI-RS resource #0 and the NZP-CSI-RS resource #1 may not be received at the same time, and the NZP-CSI-RS resource #2 and the NZP-CSI-RS resource #3 may not be received at the same time either”, [51], “In some other implementations, when a UE performs CSI reporting/measurement with multi-TRP transmission, the UE may include only one set of measurement results (e.g., only one PMI/CQI/RI/LI/CRI set) in a CSI report sent to the BS”, Because CRI #0 and CRI #1 cannot be received at the same time, the CSI reporting/measurement would occur at different times and indicate that CRI #0 and CRI #1 are in different beam reports. Cheng’s “TRP mapping table contains multiple TRP indices and DL RS resource indices” (Cheng, [44]) where the “indices of DL RSs (e.g., CSI-RS indices or SSB indices) represent the DL beams of the TRPs” (Cheng, [44]). Cheng’s “TRP mapping table (Cheng, [Fig. 3]) contains multiple TRP indices” (TRP #1-4) “and DL RS resource indices” (Cheng, [44]) where the “indices of DL RSs (e.g., CSI-RS indices or SSB indices) represent the DL beams of the TRPs” (Cheng, [44]) and TRP’s “may include at least one antenna panel containing several antenna elements” (Cheng, [40]), therefore each row of the TRP mapping table corresponds to configuration information regarding a group of antennas).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zhang and Rahman wherein CRIs or SSBRIs in different beam reports associated with AGCs, and wherein the CRIs or SSBRIs in a same beam report cannot be received simultaneously by the UE, with the CRIs or SSBRIs in different beam reports associated with different AGCs can be received simultaneously by the UE, and wherein the CRIs or SSBRIs in different beam reports associated with the same AGC cannot be received simultaneously by the UE as taught by Cheng. One would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the “UE [to] report and calculate the CSI for multiple TRPs” (Cheng, [86]).
Regarding claim 18,
Zhang discloses:
A receiver (radio frequency (RF) interface, Zhang, [4], “a radio frequency (RF) interface to receive one or more reference signal resources from a next generation NodeB (gNB)”, The BRI of a receiver is an apparatus that receives) that can receive CRIs or SSBRIs associated with AGCs (beam indication) (Zhang, [59], “the uplink beam indication may include an index of a reference signal resource (which belongs to the reference signal resources as transmitted by the AN 210 at 201), for example, a SSBRI or a CRI”).
Zhang and Rahman do not disclose wherein the receiver can receive CRIs or SSBRIs associated with different AGCs simultaneously and wherein the receiver cannot receive CRIs or SSBRIs associated with a same AGC simultaneously.
However, Cheng discloses:
wherein the receiver (Part #1824, Cheng, [146], Fig. 18]) can receive CRIs or SSBRIs (CRI #1 and CRI #2) associated with different AGCs (TRP #1 and TRP #2) simultaneously (Cheng, [89], “Non Zero Power (NZP)-CSI-RS resource #0 (e.g., the CRI #0) and NZP-CSI-RS resource #1 (e.g., the CRI #1) are both transmitted from the TRP #1, and the NZP-CSI-RS resource #2 (e.g., the CRI #2) and the NZP-CSI-RS resource #3 (e.g., the CRI #3) are both transmitted from the TRP #2”, [92], “the UE may calculate PMIs, CQIs, LIs, and RIs based on a condition of simultaneously receiving the NZP-CSI-RS resource #1 and NZP-CSI-RS resource #2 from the TRP #1 and the TRP #2”, NZP-CSI-RS resource #1 and NZP-CSI-RS resource #2 are also referred to as the CRI #1 (e.g. CRI #1) and the CRI #2 (e.g. CRI #2)(Cheng, [89]), therefore NZP-CSI-RS resource #1 and NZP-CSI-RS resource #2 being simultaneously received indicates CRI #1 and CRI #2 can be received simultaneously), and wherein receiver cannot receive CRIs or SSBRIs (CRI #0 and CRI #1) associated with a same AGC (TRP #1) simultaneously (Cheng, [89, Fig. 3, Fig. 4], “With the TRP mapping table 302, the UE may know that the Non Zero Power (NZP)-CSI-RS resource #0 (e.g., the CRI #0) and NZP-CSI-RS resource #1 (e.g., the CRI #1) are both transmitted from the TRP #1, and the NZP-CSI-RS resource #2 (e.g., the CRI #2) and the NZP-CSI-RS resource #3 (e.g., the CRI #3) are both transmitted from the TRP #2. Furthermore, the UE may receive the NZP-CSI-RS resource #0 and the NZP-CSI-RS resource #1 through one spatial receiver filter, and receive the NZP-CSI-RS resource #2 and the NZP-CSI-RS resource #3 through another spatial receiver filter. This means that the NZP-CSI-RS resource #0 and the NZP-CSI-RS resource #1 may not be received at the same time, and the NZP-CSI-RS resource #2 and the NZP-CSI-RS resource #3 may not be received at the same time either”, Cheng’s “TRP mapping table contains multiple TRP indices and DL RS resource indices” (Cheng, [44]) where the “indices of DL RSs (e.g., CSI-RS indices or SSB indices) represent the DL beams of the TRPs” (Cheng, [44]). Cheng’s “TRP mapping table (Cheng, [Fig. 3]) contains multiple TRP indices” (TRP #1-4) “and DL RS resource indices” (Cheng, [44]) where the “indices of DL RSs (e.g., CSI-RS indices or SSB indices) represent the DL beams of the TRPs” (Cheng, [44]) and TRP’s “may include at least one antenna panel containing several antenna elements” (Cheng, [40]), therefore each row of the TRP mapping table corresponds to configuration information regarding a group of antennas).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zhang and Rahman to associate the CRIs or SSBRIs with the AGC, with the receiver can receive CRIs or SSBRIs associated with different AGCs simultaneously and wherein receiver cannot receive the CRIs or SSBRIs associated with the same AGC simultaneously as taught by Cheng. One would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the “UE [to] report and calculate the CSI for multiple TRPs” (Cheng, [86]).
Conclusion
/Moo Jeong/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2418