Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/03/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Status
Claims 1-13 are pending with claims 1-13 being examined.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the elastic part must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference characters "10" and "40" have both been used to designate the moveable part. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In line 6, “an user” should read –a user--.
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In line 2, “form with a recess and a rib” should read –form a recess and a rib--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as failing to set forth the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant regards as the invention.
As to line 5 of claim 1, the “depression” lacks antecedent basis.
Claims 2-13 are rejected based on dependency on a rejected base claim.
As to line 2 of claim 7, the “elastic part” is unclear what Applicant refers to as there is no illustration of the elastic part.
As to line 2 of claim 8, the “moveable part” is unclear what Applicant refers to. Applicant illustrates moveable part fig. 4. 10 and fig. 6. 40 as disclosed in [0040] and [0054]. Applicant has not made a distinction as to what moveable part is being referred to as both moveable parts have a flat structure.
Claims 9-12 are rejected based on dependency on a rejected claim.
Appropriate action is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Yong (US 20060039833 A1; hereinafter “Yong) in view of Hadayer et al. (US 20140170644 A1; hereinafter “Hadayer”).
Regarding claim 1, Yong teaches a biological sample pretreatment device (Yong; fig. 1. 18), comprising:
a base body, formed with an elongated accommodation space (Yong; fig. 1. 22 and [0058] “fluid sample chamber”) and an arc-shaped depression (Yong; fig. 21. 84), wherein the accommodation space is configured to accommodate a sampling tube and a reaction tube aligned with each other (Yong; fig. 20. 94, 120 and [0073] “cavity 120 engaged with tube 94”), and the depression is configured to communicate with the accommodation space and exposed to one side of the base body (Yong; fig. 21. 84, 104 and [0015] “squeezable bulb disposed at an end of the chamber” ) for a user to press the sampling tube. Yong teaches the depression, what the depression is used for is a matter of intended use. When depressed, the bulb is capable of communicating with the accommodation space.
Yong fails to teach a moveable part, moveably connected to the base body for ejecting the reaction tube from the base body.
However, Hadayer teaches the analogous art of a sample pretreatment device (Hadayer fig. 1. 10 and [0071 “sterile sample injector”) that includes a base body (Hadayer; fig. 1. 5) and a moveable part, moveably connected to the base body (Hadayer; fig. 1. 7) for ejecting the reaction tube from the base body (Hadayer; [0075] “actuator pin (movable part) can be put in “E” ejection position to eject the probe (reaction tube)”).
To one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to modify Yong’s base body to include a moveable part, moveably connected to the base body for ejecting the probe (reaction tube) from the base body as taught by Hadayer because Hadayer teaches a movable part connected to the base body that is capable of ejecting the probe (reaction tube).
This modification allows for easy thumb operation of the movable part to eject the reaction tube.
Regarding claim 2, modified Yong teaches the biological sample pretreatment device as claimed in claim 1 (see above) to include a moveable part (see above).
Modified Yong fails to teach the moveable part has a sliding portion and a pressing portion connected with each other, the sliding portion is located in the accommodation space, the pressing portion is located on a top of the base body, and when the pressing portion is pressed by an external force, the sliding portion slides within the base body.
However, Hadayer teaches the analogous art of a sample pretreatment device (Hadayer fig. 1. 10 and [0071 “sterile sample injector”) that includes a moveable part (Hadayer; fig. 1. 7) wherein the moveable part has a sliding portion and a pressing portion connected with each other (Hadayer; [0088] “actuator pin 67 radially connected to the piston 9), the sliding portion is located in the accommodation space (Hadayer; fig. 4. 7), the pressing portion is located on a top of the base body (Hadayer; fig. 4. 9), and when the pressing portion is pressed by an external force, the sliding portion slides within the base body (Hadayer; [0071] “piston 9 is attached to actuator pin”, “the piston is axially displaceable within cylinder 5”).
To one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to modify Yong’s moveable part to have a sliding portion and a pressing portion connected with each other, wherein the sliding portion is located in the accommodation space, the pressing portion is located on a top of the base body, and when the pressing portion is pressed by an external force, the sliding portion slides within the base body as taught by Hadayer because Hadayer teaches a sample pretreatment device (Hadayer fig. 1. 10 and [0071 “sterile sample injector”) that includes a moveable part (Hadayer; fig. 1. 7) wherein the moveable part has a sliding portion and a pressing portion connected with each other (Hadayer; [0088] “actuator pin 67 radially connected to the piston 9), the sliding portion is located in the accommodation space (Hadayer; fig. 4. 7), the pressing portion is located on a top of the base body (Hadayer; fig. 4. 9), and when the pressing portion is pressed by an external force, the sliding portion slides within the base body (Hadayer; [0071] “piston 9 is attached to actuator pin”, “the piston is axially displaceable within cylinder 5”).
This modification will allow to have an optional way of sliding the piston in the chamber.
Regarding claim 3, modified Yong teaches the biological sample pretreatment device as claimed in claim 2 (see above) to include a sliding portion (see above).
Modified Yong fails to teach wherein an end of the sliding portion is configured to form a first opening, and the sampling tube is aligned with the first opening and the reaction tube.
However, Hadayer teaches the analogous art of a sample pretreatment device (Hadayer fig. 1. 10 and [0071 “sterile sample injector”) that includes a sliding portion (Hadayer; fig. 4. 9) wherein an end of the sliding portion is configured to form a first opening (Hadayer; fig. 4. 2, 23 illustrates the bottom portion of the base body (cylinder portion 5) where the sampling tube 23 passes through a first opening) and the sampling tube is aligned with the first opening and the reaction tube (Hadayer; fig. 4. 23).
To one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to modify Yong’s sliding portion to form a first opening wherein the sampling tube is aligned with the first opening and the reaction tube as taught by (Hadayer because Hadayer teaches a sliding portion (Hadayer; fig. 4. 9) wherein an end of the sliding portion is configured to form a first opening (Hadayer; fig. 4. 2, 23 illustrates the bottom portion of the base body (cylinder portion 5) where the sampling tube 23 passes through a first opening) and the sampling tube is aligned with the first opening and the reaction tube (Hadayer; fig. 4. 23).
This modification will allow to pass the reaction tube through the first opening when the sliding portion is pressed.
Regarding claim 4, modified Yong teaches the biological sample pretreatment device as claimed in claim 3 (see above), wherein the base body is configured to further form with a second opening (Yong; fig. 21. 112).
Modified Yong fails to teach when the pressing portion is pressed by the external force, the end of the sliding portion ejects the reaction tube out of the base body through the second opening.
However, Hadayer teaches the analogous art of a sample pretreatment device (Hadayer fig. 1. 10 and [0071 “sterile sample injector”) that includes a pressing portion (Hadayer; fig. 3. 9 flat top part of the plunger) and a second opening (Hadayer; fig. 3. 18) wherein when the pressing portion is pressed by the external force, the end of the sliding portion ejects the reaction tube out of the base body through the second opening (Hadayer; fig. 3. 9, 14).
To one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to modify Yong’s pressing portion so that when it is pressed by the external force, the end of the sliding portion ejects the reaction tube out of the base body through the second opening as taught by Hadayer because Hadayer teaches a pressing portion (Hadayer; fig. 3. 9 flat top part of the plunger) and a second opening (Hadayer; fig. 3. 18) wherein when the pressing portion is pressed by the external force, the end of the sliding portion ejects the reaction tube out of the base body through the second opening (Hadayer; fig. 3. 9, 14).
This modification allows to eject and retract the reaction tube.
Regarding claim 5, modified Yong teaches the biological sample pretreatment device as claimed in claim 2 (see above) to include a moveable part (see above).
Modified Yong fails to teach the moveable part is configured to form with a recess and a rib, the sampling tube is disposed in the recess and the rib is located at the bottom of the recess.
However, Hadayer teaches the analogous art of a sample pretreatment device (Hadayer fig. 1. 10 and [0071 “sterile sample injector”) that includes a moveable part (Hadayer; fig. 4. 7) wherein the moveable part is configured to form with a recess and a rib, the sampling tube is disposed in the recess and the rib is located at the bottom of the recess (Hadayer; fig. 4. 7, 9, 14 and 22 illustrates a recess and a rib formed in the plunger that includes the moveable part wherein the sampling tube (hollow needle 14) is disposed in the recess and the rib is located at the bottom of the recess.
To one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to modify Yong’s moveable part to form with a recess and a rib, the sampling tube is disposed in the recess and the rib is located at the bottom of the recess as taught by Hadayer because Hadayer teaches the moveable part is configured to form with a recess and a rib, the sampling tube is disposed in the recess and the rib is located at the bottom of the recess (Hadayer; fig. 4. 7, 9, 14 and 22 illustrates a recess and a rib formed in the plunger that includes the moveable part wherein the sampling tube (hollow needle 14) is disposed in the recess and the rib is located at the bottom of the recess.
Regarding claim 6, modified Yong teaches the biological sample pretreatment device as claimed in claim 2 (see above) to include a moveable part (see above).
Modified Yong fail to teach the moveable part slides in a direction that is parallel to a central axis of the accommodation space.
However, Hadayer teaches the analogous art of a sample pretreatment device (Hadayer fig. 1. 10 and [0071] “sterile sample injector”) that includes a moveable part (Hadayer; fig. 4. 7) wherein the moveable part slides in a direction that is parallel to a central axis of the accommodation space (Hadayer; fig. 1. 7 and [0075] “Actuator pin guided to one of the positions S, R or E, piston 9 is caused to displace axially” ).
To one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to modify Yong’s moveable part to slides in a direction that is parallel to a central axis of the accommodation space as taught by Hadayer because Hadayer teaches a moveable part (Hadayer; fig. 4. 7) wherein the moveable part slides in a direction that is parallel to a central axis of the accommodation space (Hadayer; fig. 1. 7 and [0075] “Actuator pin guided to one of the positions S, R or E, piston 9 is caused to displace axially” ).
This modification allows the moveable part to move in together with the sliding portion to engage in either start, retract or eject position (Hadayer; [0075]).
Regarding claim 7, modified Yong teaches the biological sample pretreatment device as claimed in claim 2 (see above).
Modified Yong teaches a pressing portion and a base body (see claim 1 above).
Modified Yong does not explicitly teach elastic part connected to the pressing portion and the base body.
It would have been obvious to include an elastic part such as a spring connected to the pressing portion and the base body to provide the movable part to automatically retract.
Regarding claim 8, modified Yong teaches the biological sample pretreatment device as claimed in claim 1 (see above) to include a moveable part (see above).
Modified Yong fails to teach the moveable part is configured to have a flat structure, and one side surface of the base body is configured to form a guiding hole, wherein the moveable part passes through the guiding hole and slides between an initial position and an extreme position relative to the base body.
However, Hadayer teaches the analogous art of a sample pretreatment device (Hadayer fig. 1. 10 and [0071] “sterile sample injector”) that includes a moveable part (Hadayer; fig. 4. 9) wherein the moveable part is configured to have a flat structure (Hadayer; fig. 9 top portion of plunger is flat. Examiner notes that Applicant illustrates in figure 4. 10 and discloses [0040] a flat moveable part 10), and one side surface of the base body is configured to form a guiding hole (Hadayer; fig. 1. 6), wherein the moveable part passes through the guiding hole and slides between an initial position and an extreme position relative to the base body (Hadayer; fig. 1. 6, 7).
To one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to modify Yong’s moveable part to have a flat structure, and one side surface of the base body is configured to form a guiding hole, wherein the moveable part passes through the guiding hole and slides between an initial position and an extreme position relative to the base body as taught by Hadayer because Hadayer teaches a moveable part (Hadayer; fig. 4. 9) wherein the moveable part is configured to have a flat structure (Hadayer; fig. 9 top portion of plunger is flat. Examiner notes that Applicant illustrates in figure 4. 10 and discloses [0040] a flat moveable part 10), and one side surface of the base body is configured to form a guiding hole (Hadayer; fig. 1. 6), wherein the moveable part passes through the guiding hole and slides between an initial position and an extreme position relative to the base body (Hadayer; fig. 1. 6, 7, 9). Examiner notes that Hadayer teaches moveable part 7 and 9 are connected with each other (see claim 2 above).
This modification will allow applying firm pressure to the flat surface of the moveable part and to be able to select positions displayed on the guiding hole (Hadayer; fig. 2. 6 and [0075]).
Regarding claim 9, modified Yong teaches the biological sample pretreatment device as claimed in claim 8 (see above) to include a moveable part (see above).
Modified Yong fails to teach the moveable part is configured to form a through hole and a groove, the groove extends from the through hole to an edge of the moveable part, and the width of the groove is less than the widths of the through hole and the reaction tube.
However, Hadayer teaches the analogous art of a sample pretreatment device (Hadayer fig. 1. 10 and [0071 “sterile sample injector”) that includes a moveable part (Hadayer; fig. 4. 9) wherein the moveable part is configured to form a through hole and a groove, the groove extends from the through hole to an edge of the moveable part, and the width of the groove is less than the widths of the through hole and the reaction tube (Hadayer; fig. 16C. 117, 121 illustrates the moveable part forming what appears to be a through hole and a groove, where the groove extends from the through hole to an edge of the moveable part and the width of the groove is less than the width of the through hole (Hadayer; fig. 16C red circle is the groove and blue circle is the through hole).
Hadayer; fig. 16C
To one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to modify Yong’s moveable part to form a through hole and a groove, wherein the groove extends from the through hole to an edge of the moveable part, and the width of the groove is less than the widths of the through hole and the reaction tube as taught by Hadayer because Hadayer teaches a moveable part that is configured to form a through hole and a groove, the groove extends from the through hole to an edge of the moveable part, and the width of the groove is less than the widths of the through hole and the reaction tube (Hadayer; fig. 16C. 117, 121).
This modification allows an abutting and slidable relation between the groove and the block.
Regarding claim 10, modified Yong teaches the biological sample pretreatment device as claimed in claim 9 (see above) to include a through hole (see above).
Modified Yong fails to teach the width of the through hole is greater than or equal to the width of the reaction tube, and when the moveable part slides from the initial position to the extreme position relative to the base body, the through hole is aligned with the reaction tube.
However, Hadayer teaches the analogous art of a sample pretreatment device (Hadayer fig. 1. 10 and [0071 “sterile sample injector”) that includes a through hole (see above), wherein the width of the through hole is greater than or equal to the width of the reaction tube, and when the moveable part slides from the initial position to the extreme position relative to the base body, the through hole is aligned with the reaction tube (Hadayer; fig. 16C. 117, 121 illustrates the width of the through hole (red circle) is greater than or equal to the width of the reaction tube (blue square), and it appears to be that when the moveable part slides from the initial position to the extreme position relative to the base body, the through hole is aligned with the reaction tube).
Hadayer; fig. 16C 117, 121
To one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to modify Yong’s through hole to be greater than or equal to the width of the reaction tube, and when the moveable part slides from the initial position to the extreme position relative to the base body, the through hole is aligned with the reaction tube as taught by Hadayer because Hadayer teaches a through hole (see above), wherein the width of the through hole is greater than or equal to the width of the reaction tube, and when the moveable part slides from the initial position to the extreme position relative to the base body, the through hole is aligned with the reaction tube (Hadayer; fig. 16C. 117, 121).
This modification will allows to have some sort of cushion between the reaction tube and the through hole when the moveable part slides from the initial position to the extreme position relative to the base body.
Regarding claim 11, modified Yong teaches the biological sample pretreatment device as claimed in claim 8 (see above) to include a moveable part (see above).
Modified Yong fails to teach the moveable part slides in a direction that is perpendicular to a central axis of the accommodation space.
However, Hadayer teaches the analogous art of a sample pretreatment device (Hadayer fig. 1. 10 and [0071 “sterile sample injector”) that includes a moveable part (Hadayer; fig. 4. 9) wherein the moveable part slides in a direction that is perpendicular to a central axis of the accommodation space (Hadayer; fig. 3. 6a and [0075] extending portion 6a extends in an oblique portion).
To one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to modify Yong’s moveable part to slide in a direction that is perpendicular to a central axis of the accommodation space as taught by Hadayer because Hadayer teaches a moveable part (Hadayer; fig. 4. 9) wherein the moveable part slides in a direction that is perpendicular to a central axis of the accommodation space (Hadayer; fig. 16B. 117 and B with pointing arrows).
This modification allows to select the position of the reaction tube between S, R and E (Hadayer; [0075]).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Yong (US 20060039833 A1; hereinafter “Yong) in view of Hadayer et al, (US 20140170644 A1; hereinafter “Hadayer”), further in view of Zappia et al. (US 20110152720 A1; hereinafter “Zappia”).
Regarding claim 12, modified Yong teaches the biological sample pretreatment device as claimed in claim 8 (see above) to include a base body (see above).
Modified Yong fails to teach the base body is configured to further comprise a first section and a second section pivotally connected to each other, and the accommodation space extends from the first section to the second section.
However, Zappia teaches the analogous art of a sample preparation system (Zappia; Title) that includes a body (Zappia; fig. 3. 300) having a first section (Zappia; fig. 3. 302) and a second section pivotally connected to each other (Zappia; fig. 3. 308) and the accommodation space extends from the first section to the second section (Zappia; fig. 3. 306, 308 round circle that extends to both sections).
To one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to modify Young’s base body to include a first section and a second section pivotally connected to each other, and the accommodation space extends from the first section to the second section as taught by Zappia because Zappia teaches a sample preparation system (Zappia; Title) that includes a body (Zappia; fig. 3. 300) having a first section (Zappia; fig. 3. 302) and a second section pivotally connected to each other (Zappia; fig. 3. 308) and the accommodation space extends from the first section to the second section (Zappia; fig. 3. 306, 308 round circle that extends to both sections).
This modification allows to accommodate the sample substrate between the substrate cover and the base body (Zappia; [0078]).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Yong (US 20060039833 A1; hereinafter “Yong) in view of Hadayer et al, (US 20140170644 A1; hereinafter “Hadayer”), further in view of Johnson et al. (US 20140050620 A1; hereinafter “Johnson”).
Regarding claim 13, modified Yong teaches the biological sample pretreatment device as claimed in claim 1 (see above) to include a reaction tube (see above).
Modified Yong fails to teach the reaction tube is a microtube, a molecular diagnostics tube, or a molecular diagnostic plastic capillary tube.
However, Johnson teaches the analogous art of a biological sample pretreatment device (Johnson; fig. 6. 6000) that includes a capillary tube (Johnson; fig. 6. 602).
To one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to modify Yong’s reaction tube to be a capillary tube as taught by Johnson because Johnson teaches a biological sample pretreatment device (Johnson; fig. 6. 6000) that includes a capillary tube (Johnson; fig. 6. 602).
The modification would allow to collect small amount of samples.
Conclusion
/A.R./Examiner, Art Unit 1798
/JILL A WARDEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1798