DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of the Claims
This office action is in response to Applicant’s amendment filed on 26 February 2026:
Claims 1 and 3-28 are pending
Claims 1 and 27-28 are amended
Claim 2 is cancelled
Response to Amendment
Applicant's amendments to the claims filed 26 February 2026 have been acknowledged.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 26 February 2026, with respect to the rejections of Claims 1, 27 and 28 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive.
On Pages 10-13 of Applicant’s Remarks, Applicant has amended the claims to further recite “wherein the heating film extends laterally within each of the plurality of first grooves and extends along a pore wall of each of the plurality of micropores”.
Applicant argues that Chen discloses the heating film over the micropores which is counter to the Applicant’s recitation of the heating film extending laterally within the grooves, and while modifying Chen with Lin would create a surface-conforming heating film (i.e., would imply extending laterally within each groove to be surface conforming), Lin does not disclose the heating film further extending into extend within the through hole of the vaporizing surface as would be required by the new recitation in the amended claims. Applicant further argues that even if one were to modify Lin’s film to extend into the holes, due to the micro-scale of the modification, it is unclear how the modification could be successful.
Examiner has reviewed the amendments and prior art, and agrees with the Applicant that Chen in view of Lin would not explicitly teach having the heating film reasonably extend into the through holes of the vaporizing surface and therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Duc et al (Publication No. US20170360100A1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 3-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 recites “the heating film…extends along a pore wall of each of the plurality of micropores”. However, it should be noted that in Applicant’s Specification, the specific wording states that a portion of the heating film “extends to a pore wall” [0094, 0098], which is not considered the same as “extends along a pore wall” as recited in Claim 1. This is because the former would reasonably be interpreted as an extension extending to a stopping point (i.e., the pore wall), whereas the latter indicates the extension corresponding to the pore wall itself.
Furthermore, when reviewing Figures 10-12 in Applicant’s Drawings, Examiner notes that the heating film 112 is distinctively shown to be layered on top of the substrate 111 and extending to cover the surfaces of the grooves 1116/1116a, but no such layer can be seen that continues to extend vertically downwards into the micropores 1113 themselves. Therefore, because Applicant’s specifications and drawings fail to explicitly describe or show a heating film that “extends along a pore wall” in a manner that one ordinarily skilled in the art can reasonably conclude that the disclosure contains such details, Claim 1 is considered as failing to comply with the written description requirement.
Claims 3-28 are also rejected by virtue of their dependency on Claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 7, 21-23 and 27-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al (Publication No. CN216019130U, see provided English translation) in view of Hoover (Patent No. US5045889A) and Duc et al (Publication No. US20170360100A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Chen discloses a heating body (i.e., atomizer core) for an electronic vaporization (i.e., atomization) device having an aerosol-generation substrate (i.e., atomized liquid) [0002-0004], the heating body comprising:
a heating film (2) (Fig. 12; [0086]);
a substrate (Body 1) comprising a liquid absorbing (i.e., conducting) surface (11) and a vaporization (i.e., atomizing) surface (12) arranged opposite to each other (Figs. 12-13; [0051, 0053]; liquid and vaporization surfaces are shown to be opposite each other);
the substrate (1) further comprising a plurality of micropores (Liquid guide holes 13) arranged through the liquid absorbing surface (11) and the vaporization surface (12) (Figs. 1, 12-13; [0081]);
wherein the heating film is arranged on the vaporization surface;
and wherein the vaporization surface (12) is in communication with the plurality of micropores (13) in a liquid guiding manner ([0046, 0051]; holes/micropores extend and communicates with the vaporization surface to conduct liquid);
Chen further discloses the vaporization surface (12) is treated with a surface coating to apply a heating element film [0086].
Chen does not explicitly disclose the following:
the vaporization surface comprises a first concave-convex structure to form the wetting structure;
the first concave-convex structure comprises a plurality of first grooves;
wherein the plurality of first grooves is in communication with the plurality of micropores in a liquid guiding manner.
and wherein the heating film extends from the vaporization surface to a bottom of at least one first groove of the plurality of first grooves;
so as to expose a micropore of the plurality of micropores that corresponds to the at least one first groove;
wherein the heating film extends laterally within each of the plurality of first grooves and extends along a pore wall of each of the plurality of micropores.
Regarding (I-III), Hoover, directed to a liquid applying wick (i.e., substrate), discloses that the wick comprises of a groove (34) (i.e., concave-convex structure) that extends into a plurality of distribution holes (32) (i.e., micropores) which helps distribute liquids such as oil if a distribution hole/pore is clogged (Figs. 3-4; Col. 2, Lines 20-38; Col. 4, Lines 4-13; groove extending into the holes/pores imply that they are in communication with each other).
Though Hoover does not explicitly disclose that there is a plurality of grooves (i.e., first grooves), Hoover does state that separate grooves can be provided for each distribution hole which implies that a plurality of grooves can be constructed. This can be seen when comparing Figures 3 and 4, wherein Figure 3 shows each distribution separated by what appears to be distinct grooves in comparison to Figure 4 wherein the groove indent seems to be a continuous spiral form.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art to construct a plurality of grooves for each distribution hole as disclosed by Hoover, and reasonably expect that the resulting liquid applying wick (i.e., wetting structure) would still be capable of distributing liquid across the wick structure and distribution holes/pores.
Additionally, though Hoover does not explicitly state that the grooves are located on the vaporization surface,, it should be noted that Chen discloses the vaporization surface (12) is utilized provided liquid from the liquid guiding surface (11) via micropores (13) to be atomized ([0046, 0051]]. In that regard, Hoover’s structure similarly guides liquid through the substrate via holes (22), wherein said surface is provided grooves to create the additional benefit of distributing liquid on the surface in case the pores/holes are clogged (Lines 20-38; Col. 4, Lines 4-13).
Since Chen and Hoover both disclose structures with surfaces and features that guide liquid, wherein Chen specifically has the liquid guiding features on the vaporizing surface,, it would be obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art that when modifying Chen with Hoover’s disclosure, the grooves can be specifically arranged on the vaporization surface of the substrate disclosed by Chen, as it will predictably result in said vaporization surface distributing liquid communicated from the micropores for vaporization while also providing the benefit of preventing said micropores from clogging (Lines 20-38; Col. 4, Lines 4-13).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the substrate vaporization surface disclosed by Chen to have a plurality of concave-convex groove structures in communication with holes/micropores as disclosed by Hoover, as both are directed to a liquid-applying/wetting structure, where Hoover teaches the advantage of using a groove structure to help provide good liquid distribution in case the pores/holes are clogged (Lines 20-38; Col. 4, Lines 4-13); this also involves applying a known technique/teaching to a similar device to yield predictable results.
Regarding (IV-VI), Duc, directed to a heater assembly for heating an aerosol-forming liquid substrate, comprising a glass substrate (i.e., atomizing core) and heater element, discloses that the glass substrate is perforated (i.e., has through holes) with widths ranging from 1 to 500 microns (Abstract, [0006]; the perforations are on the micro-scale and therefore considered equivalent to micropores). The heater element is further disclosed to be a thin heating film on the glass substrate [0010].
The thin heating film can be applied in many ways, wherein the film may extend within the periphery of the perforations, the full width of the glass substrate core, and/or provided inside the perforations of the glass substrate [0058, 0081-0082]. Variations of these heating film arrangements, such as having the film inside the perforations (i.e., extends along a pore wall), allows aerosol-liquid to be vaporized inside said perforations via exposed heating film portions ([0075]; pores are exposed with implies that the thin film is applied on the perforation walls).
It is noted that since Duc discloses the heating film surrounding the periphery of the perforations, when Duc’s disclosure is applied to Chen wherein the perforation/through holes are located within a groove, applying said heating film to the periphery of the through hole micropores would implicitly result in said heating film to extend downwards and laterally within each groove due to the default location of the through holes relative to the grooves.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the heating film disclosed by Chen to further extend downwards and laterally around the groove (i.e., subsequently the through holes), while additionally extending within said through holes as disclosed by Duc, as both are directed to a heating film for a heating/vaporizing substrate, where the known application of a heating film within one known heating substrate holes/perforations as disclosed by Duc, can be applied to another known heating substrate with perforations/through holes as disclosed by Chen, to predictably result in a substrate with a heating film applied on a vaporizing surface, groove and within perforation holes that is capable of heating liquid substrate guided to said surface, groove and perforation holes.
Regarding Claim 3, Hoover further discloses the plurality of first grooves are arranged in parallel to each other, and a length direction of each of the plurality of first grooves is in parallel to a first direction (see Fig. 3; Col. 3, Lines 34-43; the protruding surface sections are shown to be in parallel in the direction of their lengths);
and a first protruding bar (Exterior surface 20) is arranged between two adjacent first grooves (see Fig. 3; Col. 3, Lines 34-43; grooves are cut from the exterior surface which creates a protruding surface/bar).
Regarding Claim 7, Chen further discloses the heating film (2) is configured to heat and vaporize the aerosol-generation substrate [0083].
Chen does not explicitly disclose that the heating film exposes corresponding micropores/guiding holes on the surface.
However, it should be noted that Chen discloses that the heating film is coated on the substrate via a printing process and evaporated, which implies that the film would not be applied to the liquid guide holes (i.e., micropores) which does not have a surface for the coating to be printed on. Thus, it would imply that the heating film would not cover the micropores on the surface, leaving them exposed.
Regarding Claim 21, Chen does not disclose the liquid absorbing surface comprises a concave-convex structure; the concave-convex structure comprises a plurality of grooves, and the plurality of grooves are in communication with the plurality of micropores in a liquid guiding manner.
However, Hoover, directed to a liquid applying wick (i.e., liquid absorbing surface), discloses that the wick comprises of a groove (34) (i.e., concave-convex structure) that extends into a plurality of distribution holes (32) (i.e., micropores) which helps distribute liquids such as oil if a distribution hole/pore is clogged (Figs. 3-4; Col. 2, Lines 20-38; Col. 4, Lines 4-13; groove extending into the holes/pores imply that they are in communication with each other).
Though Hoover does not explicitly disclose that there is a plurality of grooves (i.e., first grooves), Hoover does state that separate grooves can be provided for each distribution hole which implies that a plurality of grooves can be constructed. This can be seen when comparing Figures 3 and 4, wherein Figure 3 shows each distribution separated by what appears to be distinct grooves in comparison to Figure 4 wherein the groove indent seems to be a continuous spiral form.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art to construct a plurality of grooves for each distribution hole as disclosed by Hoover, and reasonably expect that the resulting liquid applying wick (i.e., wetting structure) would still be capable of distributing liquid across the wick structure and distribution holes/pores.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the wetting structure disclosed by Chen to have a plurality of concave-convex groove structures in communication with holes/micropores as disclosed by Hoover, as both are directed to a liquid-applying/wetting structure, where Hoover teaches the advantage of using a groove structure to help provide good liquid distribution in case the pores/holes are clogged (Lines 20-38; Col. 4, Lines 4-13); this also involves applying a known technique/teaching to a similar device to yield predictable results.
Regarding Claim 22, Chen further discloses the substrate is made of ceramic or glass, and the plurality of micropores (i.e., guide holes) are ordered/uniformly arranged (see Fig. 1; [0075, 0078-0079]).
Regarding Claim 23, Chen further discloses the plurality of micropores are straight through holes (see Figs. 12-13; holes go straight through the substrate);
and an axis of each of the plurality of micropores is perpendicular to the substrate (Figs. 1, 12-13; [0047]).
Regarding Claim 26, Chen further discloses a plurality of transverse holes (Guide holes 14) are further provided in the substrate (Figs. 5-13; [0041, 0076-0078]);
the plurality of transverse holes (14) communicates with the plurality of micropores (13) (Figs. 5-13; [0050]);
and an axis of each of the plurality of transverse holes intersects with an axis of each of the plurality of micropores (see Figs. 5-13; holes are shown to extend and form channels along a central axis which intersects with each other to form a grid pattern).
Regarding Claim 27, Chen discloses a vaporizer ([0003]; atomizer), comprising:
a liquid storage cavity (Liquid storage channel 14) configured to store an aerosol-generation substrate (Fig. 7; [0004, 0064-0066]);
and a heating body (i.e., atomizer core) in fluid communication with the liquid storage cavity (Fig. 7; [0001-0004, 0064-0066]; fluid communication is implicit as the storage cavity is within the body 1 component of the atomizer core/heating body), the heating body comprising:
a heating film (2) (Fig. 12; [0086]);
a substrate (Body 1) comprising a liquid absorbing (i.e., conducting) surface (11) and a vaporization (i.e., atomizing) surface (12) arranged opposite to each other (Figs. 12-13; [0051, 0053]; liquid and vaporization surfaces are shown to be opposite each other);
the substrate (1) further comprising a plurality of micropores (Liquid guide holes 13) arranged through the liquid absorbing surface (11) and the vaporization surface (12) (Figs. 1, 12-13; [0081]);
wherein the heating film is arranged on the vaporization surface;
and wherein the vaporization surface (12) is in communication with the plurality of micropores (13) in a liquid guiding manner ([0046, 0051]; holes/micropores extend and communicates with the vaporization surface to conduct liquid);
Chen further discloses the vaporization surface (12) is treated with a surface coating to apply a heating element film [0086].
Chen does not explicitly disclose the following:
the vaporization surface comprises a first concave-convex structure to form the wetting structure;
the first concave-convex structure comprises a plurality of first grooves;
wherein the plurality of first grooves is in communication with the plurality of micropores in a liquid guiding manner.
and wherein the heating film extends from the vaporization surface to a bottom of at least one first groove of the plurality of first grooves;
so as to expose a micropore of the plurality of micropores that corresponds to the at least one first groove;
wherein the heating film extends laterally within each of the plurality of first grooves and extends along a pore wall of each of the plurality of micropores.
Regarding (I-III), Hoover, directed to a liquid applying wick (i.e., substrate), discloses that the wick comprises of a groove (34) (i.e., concave-convex structure) that extends into a plurality of distribution holes (32) (i.e., micropores) which helps distribute liquids such as oil if a distribution hole/pore is clogged (Figs. 3-4; Col. 2, Lines 20-38; Col. 4, Lines 4-13; groove extending into the holes/pores imply that they are in communication with each other).
Though Hoover does not explicitly disclose that there is a plurality of grooves (i.e., first grooves), it should be noted that Hoover does state that separates grooves can be provided for each distribution hole which implies that a plurality of grooves can be constructed. This can be seen when comparing Figures 3 and 4, wherein Figure 3 shows each distribution separated by what appears to be distinct grooves in comparison to Figure 4 wherein the groove indent seems to be a continuous spiral form.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art to construct a plurality of grooves for each distribution hole as disclosed by Hoover, and reasonably expect that the resulting liquid applying wick (i.e., wetting structure) would still be capable of distributing liquid across the wick structure and distribution holes/pores.
Additionally, though Hoover does not explicitly state that the grooves are located on the vaporization surface, it should be noted Chen discloses that the vaporization surface (12) is utilized provided liquid from the liquid guiding surface (11) via micropores (13) to be atomized [0046, 0051]. In that regard, Hoover’s structure similarly guides liquid through the substrate via holes (22), wherein said surface is provided grooves to create the additional benefit of distributing liquid on the surface in case the pores/holes are clogged (Lines 20-38; Col. 4, Lines 4-13).
Since Chen and Hoover both disclose structures with surfaces and features that guide liquid, wherein Chen specifically has the liquid guiding features on the vaporization surface, it would be obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art that when modifying Chen with Hoover’s disclosure, the grooves will be specifically arranged on the vaporization surface of the substrate disclosed by Chen, as it will predictably result in said vaporization surface distributing liquid communicated from the micropores for vaporization while also providing the benefit of preventing said micropores from clogging (Lines 20-38; Col. 4, Lines 4-13).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the substrate vaporization surface disclosed by Chen to have a plurality of concave-convex groove structures in communication with holes/micropores as disclosed by Hoover, as both are directed to a liquid-applying/wetting structure, where Hoover teaches the advantage of using a groove structure to help provide good liquid distribution in case the pores/holes are clogged (Lines 20-38; Col. 4, Lines 4-13); this also involves applying a known technique/teaching to a similar device to yield predictable results.
Regarding (IV-VI), Duc, directed to a heater assembly for heating an aerosol-forming liquid substrate, comprising a glass substrate (i.e., atomizing core) and heater element, discloses that the glass substrate is perforated (i.e., has through holes) with widths ranging from 1 to 500 microns (Abstract, [0006]; the perforations are on the micro-scale and therefore considered equivalent to micropores). The heater element is further disclosed to be a thin heating film on the glass substrate [0010].
The thin heating film can be applied in many ways, wherein the film may extend within the periphery of the perforations, the full width of the glass substrate core, and/or provided inside the perforations of the glass substrate [0058, 0081-0082]. Variations of these heating film arrangements, such as having the film inside the perforations (i.e., extends along a pore wall), allows aerosol-liquid to be vaporized inside said perforations via exposed heating film portions ([0075]; pores are exposed with implies that the thin film is applied on the perforation walls).
It is noted that since Duc discloses the heating film surrounding the periphery of the perforations, when Duc’s disclosure is applied to Chen wherein the perforation/through holes are located within a groove, applying said heating film to the periphery of the through hole micropores would implicitly result in said heating film to extend downwards and laterally within each groove due to the default location of the through holes relative to the grooves.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the heating film disclosed by Chen to further extend downwards and laterally around the groove (i.e., subsequently the through holes), while additionally extending within said through holes as disclosed by Duc, as both are directed to a heating film for a heating/vaporizing substrate, where the known application of a heating film within one known heating substrate holes/perforations as disclosed by Duc, can be applied to another known heating substrate with perforations/through holes as disclosed by Chen, to predictably result in a substrate with a heating film applied on a vaporizing surface, groove and within perforation holes that is capable of heating liquid substrate guided to said surface, groove and perforation holes.
Regarding Claim 28, Chen discloses a vaporization device ([0003, 0024]; electronic atomization device), comprising:
a main unit (i.e., power supply), configured to supply electric energy for operation of the vaporizer [0024, 0090];
and a vaporizer ([0003, 0023]; atomizer), comprising:
a liquid storage cavity (Liquid storage channel 14) configured to store an aerosol-generation substrate (Fig. 7; [0004, 0064-0066]);
and a heating body (i.e., atomizer core) in fluid communication with the liquid storage cavity (Fig. 7; [0001-0004, 0064-0066]; fluid communication is implicit as the storage cavity is within the body 1 component of the atomizer core/heating body), the heating body comprising:
a heating film (2) (Fig. 12; [0086]);
a substrate (Body 1) comprising a liquid absorbing (i.e., conducting) surface (11) and a vaporization (i.e., atomizing) surface (12) arranged opposite to each other (Figs. 12-13; [0051, 0053]; liquid and vaporization surfaces are shown to be opposite each other);
the substrate (1) further comprising a plurality of micropores (Liquid guide holes 13) arranged through the liquid absorbing surface (11) and the vaporization surface (12) (Figs. 1, 12-13; [0081]);
wherein the heating film is arranged on the vaporization surface;
and wherein the vaporization surface (12) is in communication with the plurality of micropores (13) in a liquid guiding manner ([0046, 0051]; holes/micropores extend and communicates with the vaporization surface to conduct liquid);
Chen further discloses the vaporization surface (12) is treated with a surface coating to apply a heating element film [0086].
Chen does not explicitly disclose the following:
the vaporization surface comprises a first concave-convex structure to form the wetting structure;
the first concave-convex structure comprises a plurality of first grooves;
wherein the plurality of first grooves is in communication with the plurality of micropores in a liquid guiding manner.
and wherein the heating film extends from the vaporization surface to a bottom of at least one first groove of the plurality of first grooves;
so as to expose a micropore of the plurality of micropores that corresponds to the at least one first groove;
wherein the heating film extends laterally within each of the plurality of first grooves and extends along a pore wall of each of the plurality of micropores.
Regarding (I-III), Hoover, directed to a liquid applying wick (i.e., substrate), discloses that the wick comprises of a groove (34) (i.e., concave-convex structure) that extends into a plurality of distribution holes (32) (i.e., micropores) which helps distribute liquids such as oil if a distribution hole/pore is clogged (Figs. 3-4; Col. 2, Lines 20-38; Col. 4, Lines 4-13; groove extending into the holes/pores imply that they are in communication with each other).
Though Hoover does not explicitly disclose that there is a plurality of grooves (i.e., first grooves), it should be noted that Hoover does state that separates grooves can be provided for each distribution hole which implies that a plurality of grooves can be constructed. This can be seen when comparing Figures 3 and 4, wherein Figure 3 shows each distribution separated by what appears to be distinct grooves in comparison to Figure 4 wherein the groove indent seems to be a continuous spiral form.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art to construct a plurality of distinct grooves for each distribution hole as disclosed by Hoover, and reasonably expect that the resulting liquid applying wick (i.e., wetting structure) would still be capable of distributing liquid across the wick structure and distribution holes/pores.
Additionally, though Hoover does not explicitly state that the grooves are located on the vaporization surface, it should be noted that Chen discloses that the vaporization surface (12) is utilized provided liquid from the liquid guiding surface (11) via micropores (13) to be atomized [0046, 0051]. Hoover’s structure similarly guides liquid through the substrate via holes (22), wherein said surface is provided grooves to create the additional benefit of distributing liquid on the surface in case the pores/holes are clogged (Lines 20-38; Col. 4, Lines 4-13).
Since Chen and Hoover both disclose structures with surfaces and features that guide liquid, wherein Chen specifically has the liquid guiding features on the vaporization surface, it would be obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art that when modifying Chen with Hoover’s disclosure, the grooves will be specifically arranged on the vaporization surface of the substrate disclosed by Chen, as it will predictably result in said vaporization surface distributing liquid communicated from the micropores for vaporization while also providing the benefit of preventing said micropores from clogging (Lines 20-38; Col. 4, Lines 4-13).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the substrate vaporization surface disclosed by Chen to have a plurality of concave-convex groove structures in communication with holes/micropores as disclosed by Hoover, as both are directed to a liquid-applying/wetting structure, where Hoover teaches the advantage of using a groove structure to help provide good liquid distribution in case the pores/holes are clogged (Lines 20-38; Col. 4, Lines 4-13); this also involves applying a known technique/teaching to a similar device to yield predictable results.
Regarding (IV-VI), Duc, directed to a heater assembly for heating an aerosol-forming liquid substrate, comprising a glass substrate (i.e., atomizing core) and heater element, discloses that the glass substrate is perforated (i.e., has through holes) with widths ranging from 1 to 500 microns (Abstract, [0006]; the perforations are on the micro-scale and therefore considered equivalent to micropores). The heater element is further disclosed to be a thin heating film on the glass substrate [0010].
The thin heating film can be applied in many ways, wherein the film may extend within the periphery of the perforations, the full width of the glass substrate core, and/or provided inside the perforations of the glass substrate [0058, 0081-0082]. Variations of these heating film arrangements, such as having the film inside the perforations (i.e., extends along a pore wall), allows aerosol-liquid to be vaporized inside said perforations via exposed heating film portions ([0075]; pores are exposed with implies that the thin film is applied on the perforation walls).
It is noted that since Duc discloses the heating film surrounding the periphery of the perforations, when Duc’s disclosure is applied to Chen wherein the perforation/through holes are located within a groove, applying said heating film to the periphery of the through hole micropores would implicitly result in said heating film to extend downwards and laterally within each groove due to the default location of the through holes relative to the grooves.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the heating film disclosed by Chen to further extend downwards and laterally around the groove (i.e., subsequently the through holes), while additionally extending within said through holes as disclosed by Duc, as both are directed to a heating film for a heating/vaporizing substrate, where the known application of a heating film within one known heating substrate holes/perforations as disclosed by Duc, can be applied to another known heating substrate with perforations/through holes as disclosed by Chen, to predictably result in a substrate with a heating film applied on a vaporizing surface, groove and within perforation holes that is capable of heating liquid substrate guided to said surface, groove and perforation holes.
Claims 4-6, 8 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al (Publication No. CN216019130U, see provided English translation) in view of Hoover (Patent No. US5045889A) and Duc et al (Publication No. US20170360100A1) as applied to Claims 3 above, and further in view of Ota et al (Publication No. US20250169041A1).
Regarding Claim 4, Modified Chen does not disclose the plurality of first grooves comprise a plurality of first and second sub-grooves, and the plurality of first sub-grooves cooperate with the plurality of second sub-grooves to form a plurality of bumps distributed in an array.
However, Ota, directed to a vapor chamber (i.e., heating body), discloses said chamber/body comprises a first sheet and second sheet on opposite surfaces with a liquid vaporization region (i.e., atomization surface) and condensation region (i.e., liquid absorbing surface) (Figs. 1-3, [0386-0390, 0546]). The condensation/liquid absorbing region may have a connection region comprising of intersecting grooves (67X/Y) that form a connection region (40) of multiple intersection protrusions (i.e., bumps) that form a lattice pattern/array that can distribute liquid back and forth uniformly (Figs. 13, 24; [0599-0601, 0674-0675, 0839-0840]; discloses multiple embodiments of the heating body structure that are considered equivalent).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the wetting structure first grooves as disclosed by modified Chen to have a plurality of first and second sub-grooves, to form a plurality of bumps distributed in an array as disclosed by Ota, as both are directed to a vaporizing/heating body, where Ota teaches the advantage of having the array groove design to allow liquid to be distributed uniformly back and forth [0674-0675]; this also involves applying a known surface groove design disclosed by Ota to a similar heating/vaporizing body disclosed by modified Chen to yield predictable results.
Regarding Claim 5, Hoover further discloses the plurality of first grooves include bottom surfaces have disposed thereon a plurality of end openings of the plurality of micropores (Holes 22) that are away from the liquid absorbing surface (see Figs. 3-4; Col. 3, Lines 34-50; holes/micropores are shown to be disposed inside of groove 24).
Regarding Claim 6, Modified Chen further discloses the plurality of end openings of the plurality of micropores that are away from the liquid absorbing surface are provided on the bottom surfaces of the plurality of first grooves (Hoover, see Figs. 3-4; Col. 3, Lines 34-50; holes/micropores are shown to be disposed on the bottom surface of grooves 24, between the protruding portions/sheath 26; the holes shown in Fig. 3 are considered equivalent to the end openings of the pores).
Modified Chen does not disclose the following:
the plurality of micropores is distributed in an array;
each of the plurality of first sub-grooves corresponds to one row of micropores;
each of the plurality of second sub-grooves correspond to one column of micropores;
a plurality of rows of bumps and a plurality of rows of micropores are provided alternately;
and a plurality of columns of bumps and a plurality of columns of micropores are provided alternately.
However, Ota, directed to a vapor chamber (i.e., heating body), discloses said chamber/body comprises a condensation/liquid absorbing region having a connection region comprising of intersecting grooves (67X/Y) that form a connection region (40) of multiple intersection protrusions (64X) (i.e., bumps) that form a lattice pattern/array that can distribute liquid back and forth uniformly (Figs. 13, 24; [0599-0601, 0674-0675, 0839-0840]; discloses multiple embodiments of the heating body structure that are considered equivalent).
The connection region further comprises a plurality of micropores (Through-holes 103) arranged in an array (see Figs. 24, 62; [0830]; intersection protrusions 64X and 104 are considered equivalent; holes/pores shown disposed in a grid array pattern);
each of the plurality of first sub-grooves corresponds to one row of micropores (see Figs. 62; [0830]);
each of the plurality of second sub-grooves correspond to one column of micropores (see Figs. 62; [0830]);
a plurality of rows of bumps and a plurality of rows of micropores are provided alternately (see Figs. 62; [0830]);
and a plurality of columns of bumps and a plurality of columns of micropores are provided alternately (see Figs. 62; [0830]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the sub-grooves and micropores/holes as disclosed by modified Chen to form an array of groove and hole/pore columns as disclosed by Ota, as both are directed to a vaporizing/heating body, where one ordinarily skilled in the art could modify the grooves and micropores/holes disclosed by modified Chen to have a specific array pattern as disclosed by Ota with a reasonable expectation of yielding a wetting structure with an alternating sub-groove and micropore/hole array capable of absorbing liquid.
Regarding Claim 8, Modified Chen further discloses the heating film (2) is arranged on a surface of the wetting structure (i.e., atomization surface with grooves) [0084, 0086], and configured to heat and vaporize the aerosol-generation substrate [0083].
Modified Chen does not explicitly disclose the following:
the heating film has a first part, a second part, a third part, and a fourth part;
wherein the first part is arranged on a side wall and a bottom wall of each of the plurality of first sub-grooves;
wherein the second part is arranged on a side wall and a bottom wall of each of the plurality of second sub-grooves;
wherein the third part is arranged on an end surface of each of the plurality of bumps that is away from the liquid absorbing surface;
and wherein the fourth part extends to a pore wall of a corresponding micropore.
Regarding (I-V), it should be noted that modified Chen discloses that the wetting structure has a plurality of first grooves (34) (i.e., concave-convex structure) that extends into a plurality of distribution holes (32) (i.e., micropores) (Hoover, see Figs. 3-4; Col. 2, Lines 20-38; Col. 4, Lines 4-13; groove extending into the holes/pores imply that they are in communication with each other);
and further comprising heating film (2) arranged on a surface of the wetting structure (i.e., atomization surface with grooves) (Chen, [0084, 0086]).
Since the heating film is applied to the surface of the wetting structure which has grooves formed on said structure, it is implicitly understood that the heating film covers all open surfaces of the groove, which can be correlated to a first, second, third, and fourth surface (see Hoover, annotated Fig. 3 below).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art to section the heating film into a first, second, third, and fourth surface to match with the various surfaces of the grooves constructed on the wetting structure as disclosed by modified Chen.
Regarding Claim 13, Chen further discloses the plurality of micropores are provided in an array having columns of micropore parallel to a first direction (i.e., left to right) (see Fig. 1; shows an array of micropores/holes 13 arranged in a column of three holes from left to right);
Chen does not disclose the wetting structure comprises a plurality of first sub-grooves each extending in parallel to the first direction; and each of the plurality of first sub-grooves at least corresponds to one of the columns of array parallel to the first direction.
However, Ota, directed to a vapor chamber (i.e., heating body), discloses said chamber/body comprises a first sheet and second sheet on opposite surfaces with a liquid vaporization region (i.e., atomization surface) and condensation region (i.e., liquid absorbing surface) (Figs. 1-3, [0386-0390, 0546]). The condensation/liquid absorbing region may have a connection region comprising of grooves in a first direction (67X) (Figs. 13, 24; 64; [0599-0601, 0674-0675, 0839-0840]; the first direction is equivalent to the x-direction; x-direction grooves in Fig. 24 are considered equivalent to the similar x-direction grooves in Fig. 64);
the connection region further comprises a plurality of micropores (Through-holes 103) arranged in an array (see Figs. 24, 62; [0830]; holes/pores shown disposed in a grid array pattern);
and each of the plurality of first sub-grooves at least corresponds to one of the columns of array parallel to the first direction (see Figs. 62; [0830]; the x-direction sub-grooves correspond to a column of through-holes in the x-direction).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the wetting structure first grooves as disclosed by modified Chen to have a plurality of first and second sub-grooves, to form a plurality of bumps distributed in an array as disclosed by Ota, as both are directed to a vaporizing/heating body, where one ordinarily skilled in the art could modify the grooves and micropores/holes disclosed by modified Chen to have a specific array pattern as disclosed by Ota with a reasonable expectation of yielding a wetting structure with an alternating sub-groove and micropore/hole array capable of absorbing liquid.
Regarding Claim 14, Chen further discloses the plurality of micropores are provided in an array having columns of micropore parallel to a second direction (i.e., up and down) (see Fig. 1; shows an array of micropores/holes 13 arranged in a column of seven holes from up and down);
Chen does not disclose the following:
the wetting structure comprises a plurality of second sub-grooves;
an extending direction of each of the plurality of second sub-grooves is parallel to the second direction;
each of the plurality of second sub-grooves at least corresponds to one of the columns of micropores parallel to the second direction;
and the plurality of first sub-grooves and the plurality of second sub-grooves are communicated in an intersecting manner to form a mesh structure.
However, Ota, directed to a vapor chamber (i.e., heating body), discloses said chamber/body comprises a condensation/liquid absorbing region (i.e., wetting structure having second sub-grooves (67Y) that form a connection region (40) with the first sub-grooves (67X) to form a lattice pattern/array (i.e., mesh) that can distribute liquid back and forth uniformly (Figs. 13, 24; [0599-0601, 0674-0675, 0839-0840]; discloses multiple embodiments of the heating body structure that are considered equivalent);
an extending direction of each of the plurality of second sub-grooves is parallel to the second direction (see Figs. 24, 62; [0830]; second sub-grooves are parallel in the Y-direction);
and each of the plurality of second sub-grooves at least corresponds to one of the columns of micropores parallel to the second direction (see Figs. 24, 62; [0830]; second sub-grooves correspond with a column of holes/micropores in the Y-direction);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the sub-grooves and micropores/holes as disclosed by modified Chen to form an array of groove and hole/pore columns as disclosed by Ota, as both are directed to a vaporizing/heating body, where one ordinarily skilled in the art could modify the grooves and micropores/holes disclosed by modified Chen to have a specific array pattern as disclosed by Ota with a reasonable expectation of yielding a wetting structure with an alternating sub-groove and micropore/hole array capable of absorbing liquid.
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al (Publication No. CN216019130U, see provided English translation) in view of Hoover (Patent No. US5045889A) and Duc et al (Publication No. US20170360100A1) as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view Wang et al (Publication No. US20210345670A1).
Regarding Claim 9, Modified Chen further discloses that the width of each first groove ranges from 0.04 to 0.05 inches (Hoover, Col. 4, Lines 33-36; 1016 to 2070 um). Modified Chen does not disclose the width of each groove ranges from 1 um to 100 um.
However, Wang, directed to an atomizer for an electronic cigarette (i.e., aerosol-generating device), discloses a heating assembly with an atomization (i.e., vaporization) surface, and a liquid absorption surface with grooves and apertures (i.e., micropores) that extends through to the atomization surface ([0006]; the grooves absorb liquid which is considered equivalent to a wetting structure). The grooves have a width of 50 to 500 um which overlaps with the claimed range of 1 to 100 um [0008].
The claimed range for the heating film thickness overlap with the range disclosed by Wang and are therefore considered prima facie obvious (see MPEP § 2144.05.I). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to construct the grooves disclosed by modified Chen to have a width matching the overlapping claimed range disclosed by Wang, as both are directed to an aerosol-generating (i.e., atomization) device, where one ordinarily skilled in the art could reasonable apply a known groove width range disclosed by Wang to a similar device as disclosed by Chen to predictably yield a heating element with a groove wetting structure capable of absorbing liquid, thus wetting the atomization surface.
Regarding Claim 10, Modified Chen further discloses that the width of each first groove ranges from 0.04 to 0.05 inches and the pore size (i.e., diameter) of each distribution hole is less than 0.01 inches (Hoover, Col. 4, Lines 18-36). Modified Chen does not disclose ranges such that the width of each groove is less than or equal to 1.2 times of a pore size of each hole/micropore.
However, Wang, directed to an atomizer for an electronic cigarette (i.e., aerosol-generating device), discloses a heating assembly with an atomization (i.e., vaporization) surface, and a liquid absorption surface with grooves and apertures (i.e., micropores) that extends through to the atomization surface ([0006]; the grooves absorb liquid which is considered equivalent to a wetting structure). Both the grooves and apertures have a width ranging from 50 to 500 um.
Though Wang does not explicitly disclose the width of the grooves are less than or equal to 1.2 times the pore size/width of the apertures, it should be noted that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation (see MPEP § 2144.05.II). In this case, since Wang discloses the same ranges for the grooves and apertures, one ordinarily skilled in the art could routinely experiment with the widths of the grooves and apertures such that the ratio between the two components is less than or equal to 1.2 times.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to construct the grooves and micropores/holes disclosed by modified Chen to have a width range as disclosed by Wang, as both are directed to an aerosol-generating (i.e., atomization) device, where one ordinarily skilled in the art could routinely experiment with the widths of the grooves and apertures within the disclosed range such that the ratio between the groove and aperture widths are less than or equal to 1.2 times.
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al (Publication No. CN216019130U, see provided English translation) in view of Hoover (Patent No. US5045889A) and Duc et al (Publication No. US20170360100A1) as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Alan et al (Publication No. US20210268209A1).
Regarding Claim 11, Modified Chen further discloses the depth of each first groove ranges from 0.02 to 0.03 inches deep (Hoover, Col. 4, Lines 33-36; 508 to 762 um). Modified Chen does not disclose the width of each first groove ranges from 1 um to 200 um.
However, Alan, directed to a nebulizer (i.e., aerosol-generating) device, discloses a solid substrate comprising a channel for containing liquid (i.e., wetting structure) to be atomized, wherein the channel (i.e., groove) has a depth ranging from 10.5 to 300 um ([0021, 0024-0025]; overlaps with the claimed range of 1 to 200 um).
The claimed range for the channel/groove depth overlap with the range disclosed by Beard and is therefore considered prima facie obvious (see MPEP § 2144.05.I). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to construct the grooves disclosed by modified Chen to have a depth matching the overlapping claimed range disclosed by Alan, as both are directed to an aerosol-generating (i.e., nebulizing) device, where one ordinarily skilled in the art could reasonable apply a known groove depth range disclosed by Alan to a similar aerosol-generating device as disclosed by Chen to predictably yield a device with a groove wetting structure capable of absorbing/containing liquid, thus wetting the atomization surface.
Regarding Claim 12, Alan further discloses the channel (i.e., groove) has a depth ranging from 10.5 to 300 um ([0021, 0024-0025]; overlaps with the claimed range of 1 to 50 um). The claimed range for the channel/groove depth overlap with the range disclosed by Beard and is therefore considered prima facie obvious (see MPEP § 2144.05.I).
Claims 15, 17, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al (Publication No. CN216019130U, see provided English translation) in view of Hoover (Patent No. US5045889A) and Duc et al (Publication No. US20170360100A1) as applied to Claims 7 above, and further in view of Wang et al (Publication No. US20210345670A1).
Regarding Claim 15, Chen further discloses that the heating body (i.e., atomization core) comprises a porous body and a heating element/film (2) that is connected to an electrode column that connects to the positive and negative poles/electrodes of a power supply [0001-0002, 0084, 0086, 0090].
Chen does not explicitly state that that the heating film is electrically connected to the positive and negative electrode at two ends respectively, wherein the first direction is a direction approaching the negative electrode and along the positive electrode.
However, Wang, directed to an atomizer for an electronic cigarette (i.e., aerosol-generating device), discloses a heating element (20) which can be prepared as a deposited surface layer (i.e., heating film), that comprises an electrode connection unit (22) that is used to connect to the positive and negative electrodes of a power supply [0048-0049]. Though Wang does not explicitly state that the connection is on two ends of the heating element, the connection unit appears to be the thicker end of the heating element, where two thick ends are illustrated (see annotated Fig. 1). As such, one ordinarily skilled in the art could reasonably assume that the other end is also a connection unit so that each unit can be connected to a positive/negative electrode of a power supply to power the heating element.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the heating body and element as disclosed by Chen to have a first and second end of the heating element/film connected to a positive and negative electrode end of a power supply as disclosed by Wang, as both are directed to a heating body for an electronic smoking/aerosol-generating device, where one ordinarily skilled in the art could reasonably modify the heating element structure disclosed by Chen with another known heating element structure as disclosed by Wang and predictably yield a heating element that is connected to the positive/negative electrodes of a power supply at two ends to generate power for the heating element.
Regarding Claim 17, Chen further discloses that the heating element/film can be constructed from nickel-chromium alloy, iron-chromium-aluminum alloy, or metal titanium [0085-0086]. Chen does not disclose the heating film has a thickness ranging from 200 nm to 5 ums.
However, Wang, directed to an atomization/heating assembly (i.e., heating body) for an electronic cigarette atomizer (i.e., vaporization) device, discloses said assembly/body comprises a porous body (i.e., substrate) and heating element, wherein the heating element is a layer (i.e., film) deposited on the atomization surface of the porous body/substrate with a preferable thickness of 1 to 30 um ([0023-0026]; disclosed range overlaps with the claimed range of 200 nm to 5 um).
The claimed range for the heating film thickness overlap with the range disclosed by Wang and are therefore considered prima facie obvious (see MPEP § 2144.05.I). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the heating film disclosed by Chen to have a thickness matching the overlapping claimed range disclosed by Wang, as both are directed to an aerosol-generating (i.e., atomization) device, where one ordinarily skilled in the art could reasonable apply a known heating film thickness range disclosed by Wang to a similar device as disclosed by Chen to predictably yield an aerosol-generating device capable of heating an aerosol-generating substance.
Regarding Claim 18, Chen further discloses that the heating element/film can be constructed from nickel-chromium alloy or stainless steel [0085-0086]. Chen does not disclose the heating film has a thickness ranging from 200 nm to 10 ums.
However, Wang, directed to an atomization/heating assembly (i.e., heating body) for an electronic cigarette atomizer (i.e., vaporization) device, discloses said assembly/body comprises a porous body (i.e., substrate) and heating element, wherein the heating element is a layer (i.e., film) deposited on the atomization surface of the porous body/substrate with a preferable thickness of 1 to 30 um ([0023-0026]; disclosed range overlaps with the claimed range of 200 nm to 10 um).
The claimed range for the heating film thickness overlap with the range disclosed by Wang and are therefore considered prima facie obvious (see MPEP § 2144.05.I). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the heating film disclosed by Chen to have a thickness matching the overlapping claimed range disclosed by Wang, as both are directed to an aerosol-generating (i.e., atomization) device, where one ordinarily skilled in the art could reasonable apply a known heating film thickness range disclosed by Wang to a similar device as disclosed by Chen to predictably yield an aerosol-generating device capable of heating an aerosol-generating substance.
Claims 16, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al (Publication No. CN216019130U, see provided English translation) in view of Hoover (Patent No. US5045889A) and Duc et al (Publication No. US20170360100A1) as applied to Claims 1 and 7 above, and further in view of Terai et al (Publication No. US20100269823A1).
Regarding Claim 16, Chen further discloses a heating film (2) arranged on a surface of the wetting structure (i.e., atomization surface with liquid-guiding holes) ([0082-0084, 0086]; liquid guide holes move liquid to the atomization surface via capillary action, causing the atomization surface to be wetted with liquid).
Chen does not disclose a surface of the heating film includes one of a lipophilic structure, a scrubbing structure, or a sandblasting structure.
However, Terai, directed to a heating element substrate, discloses said heat substrate (H1100) comprises a liquid supply port groove (H1102) (i.e., wetting structure) that can be formed using a sandblasting method (i.e., is a sandblasting structure) (Fig. 3; [0049]).
Though Terai does not explicitly disclose that the heating film surface is part of the sandblasted wetting structure, it should be noted that Chen discloses that the heating film is arranged on the wetting structure surface, which implies that the wetting structure and heating film surface are equivalent.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the heating body as disclosed by Chen, to include a sandblasted liquid groove/wetting structure as disclosed by Wang, as both are directed to a heating element, where one ordinarily skilled in the art could reasonably modify the wetting structure to be a structure formed via a known sandblasting method as disclosed by Terai, and predictably yield a sandblasted wetting structure capable of having a heating film applied to its surface (i.e., heating film surface is now the sandblasted surface) that can connect to a power supply and generate heat.
Regarding Claim 19, Chen does not disclose the wetting structure includes one of a scrubbing structure, or a sandblasting structure.
However, Terai, directed to a heating element substrate, discloses said heat substrate (H1100) comprises a liquid supply port groove (H1102) (i.e., wetting structure) that can be formed using a sandblasting method (i.e., is a sandblasting structure) (Fig. 3; [0049]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the wetting structure as disclosed by Chen, to include a sandblasted liquid groove/wetting structure as disclosed by Wang, as both are directed to a heating element, where one ordinarily skilled in the art could reasonably modify the wetting structure to be a structure formed via a known sandblasting method as disclosed by Terai, and predictably yield a sandblasted wetting structure capable of connecting to a power supply and generate heat.
Regarding Claim 20, Chen does not disclose the liquid absorbing surface includes one of a scrubbing structure, or a sandblasting structure.
However, Terai, directed to a heating element substrate, discloses said heat substrate (H1100) comprises a liquid supply port groove (H1102) (i.e., liquid absorbing surface) that can be formed using a sandblasting method (i.e., is a sandblasting structure) (Fig. 3; [0049]; the groove can contain liquid and has inner surfaces, therefore is considered equivalent to a liquid absorbing surface).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the liquid absorbing surface as disclosed by Chen, to include a sandblasted liquid groove (i.e., liquid absorbing surface) as disclosed by Terai, as both are directed to a heating element, where one ordinarily skilled in the art could reasonably modify the wetting structure to be a structure formed via a known sandblasting method as disclosed by Terai, and predictably yield a sandblasted liquid absorbing surface capable of connecting to a power supply and generate heat.
Claims 24 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al (Publication No. CN216019130U, see provided English translation) in view of Hoover (Patent No. US5045889A) and Duc et al (Publication No. US20170360100A1) as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Xie et al (Publication No. US20240389655A1).
Regarding Claim 24, Chen does not explicitly disclose the heating body further comprises a liquid guiding member, wherein the liquid guiding member and the liquid absorbing surface of the substrate are in contact with each or are spaced to form a gap.
However, Xie, directed to an atomizer (i.e., heating body) for an atomizing (i.e., aerosol-generating) device, discloses that the atomizer comprises a second liquid guiding element (30a) (i.e., substrate) with atomization/vaporization surface (31a/310a) and a second portion surface (32a) (i.e., liquid absorbing surface), wherein the second portion is in fluid communication (i.e., in contact) with a first liquid guiding member (50a) (i.e., liquid guiding member) to absorb and guide liquid to the atomization surface (Figs. 18-19; Abstract, [0158-0166]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the heating body disclosed by Chen to include an additional liquid guiding member as disclosed by Xie, as both are directed to a heating/atomizing body for an atomizing/aerosol-generating device, where one ordinarily skilled in the art could take the known teachings of adding additional liquid guiding members as disclosed by Xie, and apply it to a similar aerosol-generating/atomizing device disclosed by Chen, and reasonably expect to yield a device capable of guiding liquid from a liquid guiding member to a liquid absorbing surface to be atomized/aerosolized by the device’s heating element.
Regarding Claim 25, Xie further discloses that the first liquid guiding member comprises of fiber cotton ([0128]; comprising cotton implies the core is made of cotton; various embodiments of the first liquid guide element disclosed are considered equivalent).
Conclusion
/V.P./Examiner, Art Unit 1755 /PHILIP Y LOUIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1755